March 29, 2024, 01:06:58 AM

Author Topic: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea  (Read 80803 times)

Offline Tobago28

Re: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea
« Reply #210 on: July 01, 2016, 04:41:08 AM »

Wins for Bermuda and Haiti in CFU Men's Under 20 Group 3

http://www.cfufootball.org/index.php/men-s-u20/9844-wins-for-bermuda-and-haiti-in-cfu-men-s-under-20-group-3

St. John's, Antigua - Group 3 of the CFU Men's Under 20 competition kicked off Bermuda and host Haiti grabbing opening victories.

Bermuda 3 - 0 Cayman Islands
Liam Evans 20', 89', Jaz Ratteory 53',

The Cayman Islands fell 3 - 0 to Bermuda in the group's opening match. Liam Evans opened the scoring for Bermuda in the 37th minute of play giving Bermuda a 1 - 0 advantage into halftime. The Cayman Islands were unable to reply when Jaz Ratteory added a second for Bermuda in the 53rd minute of play. The final goal of the match was scored by Liam Evans who would add to his first half strike.

Haiti 8 - 0 Anguilla

Kenly Dede 21', Keanu Richardson (OG) 29', Leverton Pierre 36', Roberto Louima 45', 50',  Ronaldo Damus 48', 77', Odilon Jerome 90 + 2'.

Group 3 host Haiti defeated Anguilla 8 - 0 in the night's feature encounter. grabbing goals for the host were Kenly dede 21st minute, Keanu Richardson of Anguilla scored an own goal in the 26th, Leverton Pierre in the 36th minute, Roberto Louima 45th and 50th minute, Ronaldo Damus 48 and 77th minute and finally Odilon Jerome two minutes into extra time 

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #211 on: July 03, 2016, 05:44:00 AM »
Wins for Cayman Islands and Haiti in CFU Men's U20 Group 3

Day 2 Group 3 action in the 2016 CFU Under 20 qualifiers

Day 2 group 3 action in the 2016 CFU Under 20 qualifiers continued with host Haiti assuring themselves a spot in the finals and Cayman Islands topping Anguilla.

Cayman Islands 4 - 1 Anguilla

Zachaary Scott 25', Sebastian Martinez 31', Michael Martin-Cruz 39', Leighton Thomas 62' (Cay).

Tyrique Lake 90+3 (Ang)

Haiti 3 - 0 Bermuda

Roberto Louima 24', Stevenson Guillaume 34', Miche Chary 83'

« Reply #212 on: July 03, 2016, 06:05:44 AM »
GROUP B
October 22-26
Winner Group 2---------Trinidad and Tobago
Winner Group 3---------Haiti most likely
3rd   Best Runner-up--- Cuba or Domincan Republic as of now
Best Runner-up---------St. Lucia as of now

We have to wait until July 3rd to know the CFU Final Groups for A & B. One thing is for sure we can not take Dominican Republic lightly or anyone for that matter

Brian Williams better start working and scout players ... he cannot be satisfied with this bunch ...

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #213 on: July 03, 2016, 06:08:10 AM »
Plenty of serious planning needed

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #214 on: July 03, 2016, 08:04:59 PM »
Group  3 U-20 final standings and overall results

Day I
Haiti 8 Anguilla 0
Bermuda 3 Cayman Island 0

Day II

Haiti 3 Bermuda 0
Cayman Island 4 Anguilla 1

Day III
Haiti 5 Cayman Island 0
Bermuda 7 Anguilla 0

Haiti 9 pts+ 15 GOALS
Bermuda 6 pts  + 7 goals
Cayman Island 3Pt + 5 goals
Anguilla 0pt - 18 Goals

« Last Edit: July 03, 2016, 08:12:17 PM by truehaitian »

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #215 on: July 03, 2016, 08:36:43 PM »
Thanks TrueHaitian

The probable groups for Curacao are:

GROUP A                      GROUP B
Curacao                                         Trinidad and Tobago
Antiqua and Barbuda                        Haiti
St. Kitts and Nevis                           St. Lucia
Bermuda                                        Cuba

If the groups are as I project we have a serious battle ahead of us. Jamaica not qualifying really leave the CFU finals wide open. 

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #216 on: July 04, 2016, 07:47:51 AM »
I really think it's going to come down to T&T and Haiti just like it was two years ago in the final CFU round. I pick T&T and Haiti to finish first and second in their group. The first in our group will more like beat the first in the Curacao group and the second in our group will more likely to beat the second in their group. Observe that Curacao fixed the group to avoid T&T and Haiti...

« Reply #217 on: July 04, 2016, 09:40:49 AM »
I really think it's going to come down to T&T and Haiti just like it was two years ago in the final CFU round. I pick T&T and Haiti to finish first and second in their group. The first in our group will more like beat the first in the Curacao group and the second in our group will more likely to beat the second in their group. Observe that Curacao fixed the group to avoid T&T and Haiti...

will Jean kevin Agustin ever play for haiti ? he can play for the under 20

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #218 on: July 04, 2016, 11:15:12 AM »

I like that what you are saying because it benefits us, however I am cautious of St. Lucia and St. Kitts and Nevis. What have you seen on these other teams that makes you think Haiti and T&T will progress to finals?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #219 on: July 04, 2016, 11:23:53 AM »
Haiti finishes perfect in Group 3 in Under 20 Qualifiers

The final match day of group 3 action in the 2016 CFU Under 20 qualifiers see host Haiti assuring themselves a spot in the finals after defeating the Cayman Islands, while Bermuda defeat Anguilla.

Bermuda 7 - 0 Anguilla

Jaz Retteray Smith 2', 28', Paul Douglas 13', Jahwaz Swan 54', Osagi Bascome 59', David Jones 86', Jahkari Furbert 90 +1'

Haiti 4 - 0 Cayman Islands

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #220 on: July 06, 2016, 05:20:31 PM »
It's Official CFU Finals Groups are out

Group A
Bermuda
Antigua and Barbuda
Curacao
St. Kitts & Nevis

Group B
Trinidad & Tobago
Haiti
Cuba
St.Lucia

« Reply #221 on: July 10, 2016, 03:44:22 PM »
Honduras v El Salvador about to kick off in 15'. UNCAF U20 tourney. Panama-Guatemala a lil later.
« Last Edit: July 10, 2016, 03:49:34 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #222 on: July 11, 2016, 01:11:36 PM »
Honduras v El Salvador about to kick off in 15'. UNCAF U20 tourney. Panama-Guatemala a lil later.

Honduras followed up their 2-2 opening match encounter versus Guatemala ... with a 2-1 defeat of El Salvador. They face Nicaragua tomorrow. Should be a relative walk in the park.

Having trounced Nicaragua 6-0 in their opening match of the tournament on Friday, hosts Panama lost 1-0 to Guatemala courtesy of a penalty. Guatemala plays El Salvador tomorrow.

:puking: Yet another U20 cycle. Waiting for the coaching staff to say they know little to nothing about the Central American opposition. ::)

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #223 on: July 12, 2016, 12:06:18 PM »
STANDINGS

G      GD    PTS
Honduras            2      1         4
Guatemala           2      1        4
Panamá            2       5         3
El Salvador            1    -1       0
Nicaragua            1      -6       0

« Reply #224 on: July 13, 2016, 09:01:14 AM »
Honduras 2 Nicaragua 0
Guatemala 2 El Salvador 2.

Honduras qualify for Costa Rica. Pipino and Panama need to step it up.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2016, 09:06:52 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline madness

« Reply #225 on: July 14, 2016, 06:53:35 PM »
i hope the u20 coach can give the Burnetts http://www.ussoccerda.com/1718-semifinals-preview?sf30959565=1

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #226 on: July 15, 2016, 01:55:27 AM »
Both Burnett's deserve consideration. Chaz will certainly be interested, not sure about Josh as he was recently in US U18 but we should try for both.

Of note is that Jerron Nixon, Jr. was not on the Philadelphia Union roster in that game versus PDA with the Burnetts. Anyone know why?

Offline madness

« Reply #227 on: July 15, 2016, 05:33:13 AM »
watch the burnett;s playing here https://www.youtube.com/ussoccer/featured

Offline madness

« Reply #228 on: July 15, 2016, 06:00:35 AM »
Ernest who plays with the Burnetts is always Trinidadian parents is playing sweeper position.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #229 on: July 15, 2016, 04:07:31 PM »
Madness,

You are right...Ernest Mitchell

Offline madness

« Reply #230 on: July 15, 2016, 07:50:50 PM »
we all play for trinjersey club house in orange nj and those r the young ones... we have more kids coming up the pipeline. my son is 14teen. coming soon to trinidad

http://www.soccerwire.com/news/clubs/youth-boys/burnett-brothers-helping-lead-pda-u-18s-to-ussda-dominance/

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #231 on: July 16, 2016, 03:52:30 AM »
Current standings in UNCAF:

1      Honduras   4   3   8
2      Guatemala   3   1   5
3      Panamá   3   5   4
4      El Salvador   3   3   4
5      Nicaragua   3   -12   0

Two games remaining, only 2 teams advance to CONCACAF, three teams still alive

16 Jul. 2016 - 17:00 hrs.
Nicaragua      Vs.       Guatemala

16 Jul. 2016 - 20:00 hrs.
Panamá      Vs.       El Salvado

Hope coaching staff scouting these games

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #232 on: July 16, 2016, 11:34:19 PM »
UNCAF complete, I think top 3 qualify.

1      Honduras   4   3   8
2      El Salvador   4   5   7
3      Guatemala   4   0   5
4      Panamá   4   3   4
5      Nicaragua   4   -11   3

CONCACAF will include Costa Rica(host), USA, Mexico, Canada, Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala and 5 teams from CFU Finals in October

« Reply #233 on: July 17, 2016, 07:14:48 AM »
Nicaragua exits the tournament with three points with an 'unexpected" win over Guatemala. They leave the tournament with encouragement to keep building. During the pre-tournament friendlies, they had defeated one of the bigger guns but couldn't make that happen during the tourney. Still some way to go. Nicaragua 1 Guatemala 0.

Panama will be bitterly disappointed not to have built on qualification from the preceding cycle. Panama 0 El Salvador 2.

« Reply #234 on: July 18, 2016, 01:47:12 AM »
Portugal and Italy progress to Korea
FIFA.com

Portugal and Italy have become the latest sides to qualify for the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017 after they secured semi-final spots at the UEFA Under-19 European Championship.

Portugal came from behind to earn a 1-1 draw against the Azzurri after Aurelio Buta’s 86th-minute equaliser cancelled out defender Federico Dimarco’s penalty on 15 minutes, ensuring the two-time U-20 World Cup champions finished top of Group A, pipping second-placed Italy.

Both Portugal and Italy will join hosts Korea Republic at the global tournament next year, as well as England, who became the first European team to book their place on Friday.

The final Group B matches on Monday will see who joins Portugal, Italy and England in the UEFA Under-19 European Championship semi-finals and at the World Cup, while Germany, who recorded a 3-0 win over Austria in Sunday's other Group A fixture, will meet the third-placed side of Group B in a play-off to decide the fifth qualifier on Thursday.

The FIFA U-20 World Cup kicks off on 20 May next year, where some of the world’s most talented young footballers will convene in Korea Republic.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #235 on: July 19, 2016, 09:51:15 AM »
UNCAF U-20: El Salvador, Guatemala claim CONCACAF spots

PANAMA CITY, Panama – The Central American qualifying tournament for the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship came to an exciting conclusion Saturday as the region’s final pair of berths were decided.

After Guatemala (5 points, GD 0) fell 1-0 to Nicaragua in the opener of a doubleheader at the Estadio Maracana, a draw between host Panama and El Salvador – both on four points and possessing positive goal differentials -- would have been enough to see both progress.

The Salvadorans, however, had different ideas, scoring a goal in each half through Denilson Rosales (16’) and Roberto Dominguez (59’ pen) to finish in second place with a 2-0 win. That result eliminated Panama, which ended the encounter with 10 players following the ejections of Cesar Blackman (51’) and Adalberto Carrasquilla (87’), and saw Guatemala grab the third spot.

Idle and unbeaten Honduras topped the five-team table with eight points.

The next CONCACAF Under-20 Championship will be held in Costa Rica February 17-March 5, 2017, at the Estadio Nacional and the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa Ayma. The field will consist of twelve teams – host Costa Rica; Central American qualifiers El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras; automatic North American entrants Canada, Mexico and the United States; and five teams yet to be determined from the Caribbean.

2016 UNCAF UNDER-20 QUALIFYING
Estadio Maracana – El Chorrillo, Panama City, Panama
July 8–16, 2016

Team    GP    W    D    L    GF    GA    P
 xHonduras    4   2     2    0   7    4     8
 xEl Salvador    4   2     1    1   9    4    7
 xGuatemala   4     1    2    1   5    5    5
 Panama    4   1     1   2    7     4   4
 Nicaragua   4    1    0    3    1    12    3 

« Reply #236 on: July 19, 2016, 12:19:44 PM »
What will happen is this current group of T&T youth players will play good enough to progress from the CFU, then we will pat our back and say good job, then as usual we will get plenty licks at the CONCACAF level because we still do not understand the big competitive gap between the region and Central America, then after we get licks then we will ask 'what happened?'.. yuh know how we do

They better understand a successful run is dependent on how they compete at CONCACAF level.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #237 on: July 19, 2016, 01:23:37 PM »
What will happen is this current group of T&T youth players will play good enough to progress from the CFU, then we will pat our back and say good job, then as usual we will get plenty licks at the CONCACAF level because we still do not understand the big competitive gap between the region and Central America, then after we get licks then we will ask 'what happened?'.. yuh know how we do

They better understand a successful run is dependent on how they compete at CONCACAF level.

Sando Prince your historical commentary is accurate. I am not 100% sure we getting out of CFU, I am about 90% so I give you that.

What do we need to do to prepare for CONCACAF? How can we influence better preparation?

I totally agree

« Reply #238 on: July 22, 2016, 12:03:29 PM »

Sando Prince your historical commentary is accurate. I am not 100% sure we getting out of CFU, I am about 90% so I give you that.

What do we need to do to prepare for CONCACAF? How can we influence better preparation?

I totally agree

I am still predicting us progressing out of CFU, not based on superior play but based on the regional teams being even worse than this current T&T youth team. I have seen some of their games.

Preparation is always the key, not just for improved play but team chemistry. And who you are playing against when preparing for a tournament is also very important. Team has to prepare by playing quality opposition. Maybe arrange a tour in Brazil, US, Mexico where the T&T youth team can play various youth teams from top clubs in those countries. Preparation by playing T&T clubs is NOT good enough.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2016, 10:22:59 PM by Sando prince »

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #239 on: July 22, 2016, 07:25:33 PM »
Playing T &T Pro Clubs is a total waste of time