March 28, 2024, 12:31:15 PM

Author Topic: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea  (Read 80784 times)

Offline Tobago28

Re: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea
« Reply #270 on: September 22, 2016, 07:54:55 AM »
It's less than 30 days from the tournament, a list of players had to be sent to FIFA(CONCACAF/CFU). Anyone see a list of Williams final selections yet?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #271 on: October 03, 2016, 07:43:22 PM »
TnT play Cuba on October 22nd but the team not named

TnT play Cuba on October 22nd, they announce a Panama camp but no details yet

TnT play Cuba on October 22nd?? WTF

Is the same old planning with DJW and crew.....lawd

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #272 on: October 07, 2016, 10:52:52 PM »
U-20 Warriors leave for Panama camp

T&T’s Under 20 Men’s Team will depart for Panama City, Panama today for their final training camp ahead of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 qualification in Curacao later this month.

Commenting on his 23-man team selected T&T coach Brian Williams said he has selected what at this time he believe is the best selection of players for the tournament.

“We’ve seen some new players since the last tournament and the majority of the squad has been recalled and we have a couple additions. We have assessed the readiness of the players, obviously some of the guys went back to their teams in North American and the United Kingdom and the local boys have been with their clubs and colleges,” Williams said.

While in Panama, T&T will play two training matches against local teams on October 13 and 17 ahead of the CFU tournament where they meet Cuba in their opener on October 22 in Curacao.

T&T, the CFU defending champions will next face St Lucia on October 24 before ending Group B round-robin play versus Haiti on October 26 at the Stadio Ergilio Hato. Group A comprises of hosts Curacao, Bermuda, St Kitts/Nevis and Antigua/Barbuda.

At the end of the round-robin series, the top two teams in each group will advance to the semi-finals as well as gain automatic passage to the Concacaf  Final round which will be played in Costa Rica, next February.

The semi-finals will be played on October 28 and the final and third place match will take place two data later. In addition to the semifinalist, the bets third placed team in the round-robin series will also qualify to the Concacaf stage.

Under-20 T&T squad
CFU Under-20 Championship October 21–30:
Goalkkeeper: Jabari Brice (St Anthony’s), Denzil Smith (Shiva Boys)
Defenders: Taryk Sampson (Ma Pau Stars), Keirron Mason (Marabella Family CC), Kori Cupid ( Presentation, San F'do), Isaiah Garcia (W- Connection), Keston Julien (San Juan Jabloteh), Andrew Rullow  (University of Charleston), Noah Powder (New York Red Bulls), Rondell Payne (Naparima College), Jacob Sooklal (University of Ontario Institute of Technology).
Midfielders: Jabari Mitchell (W Connection), Morgan Bruce De Rouche (KRC Genk), Kareem Riley (Presentation, San F'do), Shane Sandy (Naparima ), Micah Lansiquot (East Mucurapo), Moses Jaikeran (Harlem Strikers)
Forwards: Nicholas Dillon (Central FC), Taofik Lucas Walker (DC United), Jarred Dass (Stony Brook University), Isaiah Hudson (Naparima), Kathon St. Hillaire (St Anthony’s), Josh Toussaint (St Ann’s Rangers.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #273 on: October 07, 2016, 10:59:18 PM »
T&T U-20 MEN OFF TO PANAMA FOR TRAINING CAMP AHEAD OF CFU FINALS

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team will depart for Panama City on Friday for a training camp in Panama prior to contesting the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 qualification in Curacao later this month.

T&T U-20 head coach Brian Williams has finaized a 23-man squad.

“We’ve selected what at this time we believe is the best selection of players for the tournament,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“We’ve seen some new players since the last tournament and the majority of the squad has been recalled and we have a couple additions. We have assessed the readiness of the players, obviously some of the guys went back to their teams in North American and the United Kingdom and the local boys have been with their clubs and colleges. But the preparation has gone on quite well and I am looking forward to this training camp in Panama which I believe will be a really critical and much needed time together for the squad before we go over to Curacao,” Williams said.

While in Panama, T&T will play two training matches against local teams on October 13th and 17th.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men under 20 Footballers will face off with Cuba in their opening match of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 World Cup qualification on October 22nd in Curacao.

T&T, the CFU defending champions, have been grouped with previous runners up Haiti, Cuba and St Lucia in Group B which will be contested at the Ergilio Hato.
Following their opening game with Cuba, T&T then faces St Lucia on October 24th and Haiti on October 26th.
Group A comprises of hosts Curacao, Bermuda, St Kitts/Nevis and Antigua/Barbuda.
The top two teams will advance to the semi finals as well as gain automatic passage to the CONCACAF Final round which will be played in Costa Rica in February. The semi-finals will be played on October 28th and the final and third place match will take place on October 30th. The top five teams from the CFU Final round will advance to the CONCACAF stage.

T&T Under 20 Men’s Roster

C.F.U. FINAL CURACAO

OCTOBER 21ST – 30TH, 2016
• Jabari Brice (GK) – St. Anthony’s College
• Denzil Smith (GK)- Shiva Boys Hindu College

• Taryk Sampson – Defender – Ma Pau Stars
• Keirron Mason – Defender – Marabella Crisis Center
• Kori Cupid- Defender- Presentation College, San Fernando
• Isaiah Garcia- Defender- W- Connection FC
• Keston Julien- Defender – Jabloteh FC
• Andrew Rullow – Defender – University of Charleston
• Noah Powder – Defender – New York Red Bulls
• Rondell Payne- Defender- Naparima College
• Jacob Sooklal – Defender- University of Ontario Institute of Technology
• Jabari Mitchell – Midfielder – W-Connection FC
• Morgan Bruce De Rouche – Midfielder –KRC Genk
• Kareem Riley – Midfielder- Presentation College, San Fernando
• Shane Sandy – Midfielder – Naparima College.
• Micah Lansiquot –Midfielder – Mucurapo East Secondary
• Moses Jaikeran- Forward- Harlem Strikers
• Nicholas Dillon – Forward – Central FC
• Taofik Lucas Walker – Forward – DC United
• Jarred Dass- Forward – Stony Brook University
• Isaiah Hudson – Forward- Naparima College
• Kathon St. Hillaire- Forward- St. Anthony’s College
• Josh Toussaint- Forward – St. Ann’s Rangers

« Reply #274 on: October 08, 2016, 12:59:55 PM »
The players listed as SSFL players hold no club affiliations?

« Reply #275 on: October 08, 2016, 02:11:45 PM »
Most of them if not all belong to clubs as well (don't know if Denzil Smith is attached to a club).  W Connection (Cupid, Hudson), Central FC (Riley), St Anns Rangers (St Hillaire, Lansiquot ), North East Stars (Sandy), Jabloteh (Brice), etc.

« Reply #276 on: October 08, 2016, 02:22:17 PM »
Appreciate it, RM. Anyone else who can confirm other club affiliations, please doh hesitate.

« Reply #277 on: October 09, 2016, 12:41:24 PM »
No Chaz burnett wow ...

Offline madness

« Reply #278 on: October 09, 2016, 05:59:10 PM »
wow wow no chad

« Reply #279 on: October 11, 2016, 03:29:37 PM »
This thread will soon become the epicenter ...

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #280 on: October 11, 2016, 03:49:09 PM »
Who's really behind these scheduling. An independent scheduler with common sense should take charge of the CFU  when it comes to fixing the group. T&T Haiti finished first and 2nd in the previous tournament , shouldn't they be rewarded by placing them in different groups. I think its unfair to T&T and Haiti to  be placed in the same group. Each team should be leading either group A or B. That was the same case last time for the u-17 round. T&T, Haiti, Jamaica in the same group, now it's T&T, Haiti and Cuba. The 3 best teams of the tournament in the same group.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #281 on: October 11, 2016, 09:03:47 PM »
UNDER 20 MEN WIN TRAINING MATCH IN PANAMA

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team, preparing for their upcoming Caribbean Football Union final round in Curacao, won their opening practice match of their training camp in Panama City on Monday.

The Brian Williams-coached team defeated Panama First Division club Leones de America Reserves 2-1 at the Maracana Stadium.

In the match played on artificial surface, T&T got goals from captain Jabari Mitchell in the 9th minute and Kathon St Hillaire struck the winner in the 72nd minute.

Following the match, head coach Williams credited his side for their efforts.

“It was a good test for us. We have been here for the past couple of days, settling in and really getting down to some solid work before we head over to Curacao,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“The conditions here are good for the preparations. Being able to play on the artificial surface at the Maracana is a big plus for us because our games in Curacao will be on a similar surface. And the venue here is pretty decent. I know the national senior team trained here last year as well.

“The match itself turned out to be competitive. We got on the scoresheet early and then we were able to get the winner in the second half for a needed confidence booster. The opposition gave us a good, competitive match which is welcomed at this time of our preparations,” Williams added.

Three members of the final squad selected for the tournament will join the contingent in Curacao and they include North American-based trio Jacob Sooklal, Jarred Dass and Andrew Rullow.

T&T will face off with Cuba in their opening match of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 World Cup qualification on October 22nd in Curacao.

T&T, the CFU defending champions, have been grouped with previous runners up Haiti, Cuba and St Lucia in Group B which will be contested at the Ergilio Hato.

Following their opening game with Cuba, T&T then faces St Lucia on October 24th and Haiti on October 26th.

Group A comprises of hosts Curacao, Bermuda, St Kitts/Nevis and Antigua/Barbuda.

The top two teams will advance to the semi finals as well as gain automatic passage to the CONCACAF Final round which will be played in Costa Rica in February. The semi-finals will be played on October 28th and the final and third place match will take place on October 30th. The top five teams from the CFU Final round will advance to the CONCACAF stage.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #282 on: October 11, 2016, 09:24:03 PM »
Who's really behind these scheduling. An independent scheduler with common sense should take charge of the CFU  when it comes to fixing the group. T&T Haiti finished first and 2nd in the previous tournament , shouldn't they be rewarded by placing them in different groups. I think its unfair to T&T and Haiti to  be placed in the same group. Each team should be leading either group A or B. That was the same case last time for the u-17 round. T&T, Haiti, Jamaica in the same group, now it's T&T, Haiti and Cuba. The 3 best teams of the tournament in the same group.

Truehaitian,

There was a group level before the finals stage, the groups were:

Group 1                    Group 2                    Group 3                    Group 4
St. Maarten               Trinidad and Tobago   Haiti                         Dominican Republic
Cuba                        Turks and Caicos       Cayman Islands          Jamaica
Antigua & Barbuda      Guadeloupe              Bermuda                   Dominica
Puerto Rico                St. Lucia                  Anguilla                    St. Kitts & Nevis

Group A-comprise of                    Group B comprise of
Curacao-host                              Winner Group 2
Winner Group 1                           Winner Group 3
Winner Group 4                           3rd Best Runner-up
2nd Best runner up                      Best Runner up

I see nothing wrong with this format, its rather fair and lacks "selection" which to me implies bias though I am sure that is not your intention.

Secondly, the group of boys that won the last U20 is not the same group of boys that are currently playing, previous results have little bearing since it is a total different team.

I think what shocked most is that a Jamaica U17 team that was a penalty away from eliminating the USA and going to a World Cup, two years ago at CONCACAF could not get out of Group 4. While St. Kitts and Nevis won Group 4. Also Antigua & Barbuda won group 1.

It's possible that the quality of some of the smaller countries is rising within the region. One thing I am certain of is that Haiti is showing some tremendous consistency at the U17 and U20 level that will yield some positive results in the near future.

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #283 on: October 11, 2016, 10:20:19 PM »
Thanks for clarifying

« Reply #284 on: October 12, 2016, 02:34:11 AM »
Under 20 men win training match in Panama.
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team, preparing for their upcoming Caribbean Football Union final round in Curacao, won their opening practice match of their training camp in Panama City on Monday.

The Brian Williams-coached team defeated Panama First Division club Leones de America Reserves 2-1 at the Maracana Stadium.

In the match played on artificial surface, T&T got goals from captain Jabari Mitchell in the 9th minute and Kathon St Hillaire struck the winner in the 72nd minute.

Following the match, head coach Williams credited his side for their efforts.

“It was a good test for us. We have been here for the past couple of days, settling in and really getting down to some solid work before we head over to Curacao,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“The conditions here are good for the preparations. Being able to play on the artificial surface at the Maracana is a big plus for us because our games in Curacao will be on a similar surface. And the venue here is pretty decent. I know the national senior team trained here last year as well.

“The match itself turned out to be competitive. We got on the scoresheet early and then we were able to get the winner in the second half for a needed confidence booster. The opposition gave us a good, competitive match which is welcomed at this time of our preparations,” Williams added.

Three members of the final squad selected for the tournament will join the contingent in Curacao and they include North American-based trio Jacob Sooklal, Jarred Dass and Andrew Rullow.

T&T will face off with Cuba in their opening match of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 World Cup qualification on October 22nd in Curacao.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #285 on: October 14, 2016, 09:30:46 AM »
The U20's playing Panama U17 today in training match

Men’s U-20 win final training match in Panama
« Reply #286 on: October 18, 2016, 04:29:57 PM »
Men’s U-20 win final training match in Panama
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Men’s Under 20 Team closed off it’s three-match training camp in Panama with a 3-1 victory over local club San Francisco FC at the Estadio Agustin Sanchez in La Chorrera on Monday evening.

The win was set up with goals by Central FC forward Nicholas Dillon in the 2nd minute and a double by DC United’s Taofik Lucas-Walker in the 21st and 34th minutes.

The result against the First Division Reserve League champions followed a 2-0 defeat to Panama’s Under 17 Men’s team a couple days earlier. T&T started the camp with a 2-1 win over Leones de America Reserves last Monday at the Maracana Stadium.

Team head coach Brian Williams later commented on the performance of his side, describing the third match as a proper test for his bunch.

“It was a pleasing way to end the training camp. What I saw today was satisfying in many regards. We started off quickly with the early goal from Dillon and we kept our composure and intensity level up for a great part of the match,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“It was a good result for the team as well to come back from the loss to the Panama Under 17s on Saturday. For that match, I used the opportunity to give some of the non-starters and those who haven’t been getting much playing time the chance to get a run. We missed a penalty and a few decent chances on goal,” Williams added.

“But then the boys picked up their game and pulled off a much better performance today. We have a couple days left before we head to Curacao and we will use this time to work on a couple things before the opening game against Cuba. We’ve worked on our shape and our organisation and the way we in which we’d like to defend as a team and move forward in attack as a unit. This training camp has definitely given us much needed time to get in the work before we head into the tournament,” Williams added.

The team will arrive in Curacao on Thursday and will be joined there by North American-based trio Jacob Sooklal, Jarred Dass and Andrew Rullow.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #287 on: October 18, 2016, 09:05:59 PM »
UNDER 20 MEN WIN FINAL TRAINING MATCH IN PANAMA

Trinidad and Tobago’s National Men’s Under 20 Team closed off it’s three-match training camp in Panama with a 3-1 victory over local club San Francisco FC at the Estadio Agustin Sanchez in La Chorrera on Monday evening.

The win was set up with goals by Central FC forward Nicholas Dillon in the 2nd minute and a double by DC United’s Taofik Lucas-Walker in the 21st and 34th minutes.

The result against the First Division Reserve League champions followed a 2-0 defeat to Panama’s Under 17 Men’s team a couple days earlier. T&T started the camp with a 2-1 win over Leones de America Reserves last Monday at the Maracana Stadium.

Team head coach Brian Williams later commented on the performance of his side, describing the third match as a proper test for his bunch.

“It was a pleasing way to end the training camp. What I saw today was satisfying in many regards. We started off quickly with the early goal from Dillon and we kept our composure and intensity level up for a great part of the match,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“It was a good result for the team as well to come back from the loss to the Panama Under 17s on Saturday. For that match, I used the opportunity to give some of the non-starters and those who haven’t been getting much playing time the chance to get a run. We missed a penalty and a few decent chances on goal,” Williams added.

“But then the boys picked up their game and pulled off a much better performance today. We have a couple days left before we head to Curacao and we will use this time to work on a couple things before the opening game against Cuba. We’ve worked on our shape and our organisation and the way we in which we’d like to defend as a team and move forward in attack as a unit. This training camp has definitely given us much needed time to get in the work before we head into the tournament,” Williams added.

The team will arrive in Curacao on Thursday and will be joined there by North American-based trio Jacob Sooklal, Jarred Dass and Andrew Rullow.

Re: 2016 CFU Men's U-20 Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #288 on: October 19, 2016, 12:17:42 PM »
St. Lucia's Ryi Maryat says hard work will pay off ahead of CFU Under 20 Finals
Terry Finisterre and the Caribbean Football Union

The Saint Lucia National Under-20 football team leaves the island on Wednesday 19 October, travelling to Curacao for the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) age group finals in Curacao, the second step in their campaign to qualify for the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup.

Last weekend, the team welcomed captain Ryi Maryat back into the fold. A defensive midfielder, Ryi anchors the team tactically and psychologically. In one exchange, you can overhear two of the boys talking about how the team can play "the way we're supposed to" with the inclusion of their captain. Elsewhere, you hear how well-spoken he is, or what a good football brain he has. But as someone who characterises himself as one of the most serious players on the team, he lets none of it get to his head.

In 2015, Ryi was recognised as Saint Lucia's top high school student athlete, with the student and athlete aspects in balance. At the time, he expressed his desire to get a scholarship to a university or college in the United States, but as fortune would have it, he found himself closer to home. In August, Ryi left Micoud, where he also attended high school, to take up a sports scholarship at the University of the West Indies (Cave Hill). He is studying accounting and training with the Cave Hill football team.

"The decision came about," he explains, by the fact that the scholarship was a chance for me to further my education, but more importantly give me an opportunity where I can enhance my football, and play and train on a more regular basis. The decision was difficult, but before I left Saint Luciam I found out that i would be capable of leaving school in Barbados, to come back and represent my country in World Cup Qualifiers. From the time that was confirmed, it was easy to go to Barbados. It's just been different adjusting, since I have to provide for my own rather than being with my family."

With the football season in Barbados not yet imminent, Ryi has been training with the Cave Hill squad, but he is delighted to be back with the national team. In Curacao, they face a real group of death, Haiti, Trinidad and Tobago, and Cuba. Cuba and Haiti are almost certainly the top two teams in the Caribbean, and whereas Saint Lucia has fared relatively well of late against Trinidad and Tobago, they are tough opposition. The other group, by comparison, includes Curaçao, Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, and Bermuda.

Ryi is actually one of the youngest players on Team Saint Lucia, turning 18 on the day of the opening match against Haiti, 22 October. He is keenly aware of the challenge that lies ahead of his unit, especially playing without United Kingdom-bound striker, Nyrone Winter. But he says that he has maintained close contact with his teammates, and he knows that they've been hewing close to his principal axiom: Hard work is the most important thing.

"What I've been hearing from the guys is that everyone has been putting in some serious work," he says. "And I'm happy for that. I expect that we go out there in Curaçao, and just... we have three tough games, no game is an easy game, three tough games, so we just go out there and do what we are capable of doing, fight for one another, put in the effort and God willing we get the results needed to go to the third round in Costa Rica."

Whatever the outcome of the CFU tournament, this bright young man from New Extension, Micoud is maintaining a great outlook, and he is poised to excel.

U-20 captain Jabari Mitchell says team bond is strong as squad heads to Curaçao
TTFA Media

As Trinidad and Tobago’s National Under 20 Men prepare for their arrival into Curaçao ahead of the Caribbean Football Union Under 20 Championship, team captain Jabari Mitchell says  there is an upbeat feeling in the camp.

Mitchell was speaking ahead of Saturday’s opening match against Cuba, describing the training camp in Panama as useful towards the team’s preparations. The team arrives in Curaçao on Thursday afternoon following a three-match series in Panama in which they won two games and lost one.

“ The training camp was really positive. It helped us to build a stronger bond as we lived together for a decent enough period and the vibes within the camp built a nice atmosphere heading into the competition in Curaçao,” Mitchell told TTFA Media.

“The team is full of confidence at the moment. Everybody’s fit and all working with and for each other,” he added.

He said the key to a good opening result would be playing without fear and dictating the pace of the game from early on.

“Everyone is really confident and anxious to show what we can do in this tournament and therefore we have to take on the Cubans in a fearless approach. We know they are a good team but we are also confident in what we can do. We are the defending champions and we need to defend that title with everything we have,” he added.

“Concentration will be key for us in this tournament, capitalizing on our chances and taking good care of the ball in possession.”

Mitchell was one of the younger members of the Derek King-coached outfit that captured the 2014 title with a commanding 3-0 victory over Haiti in the final in Port of Spain, going on to contest the CONCACAF Final round in Jamaica where T&T missed out on progressing to the FIFA Under 20 World Cup.

“I’m even hungrier now and more focused than I was last time around because I’ve been there before. I have an idea what to expect and I know every team will be coming at us. I try to encourage everyone in training to push and try my best to lead by example in terms of my work ethic and leadership on and off the field. The technical staff has also been keeping us in a gear and trying to ensure we are ready for the battles ahead,” Mitchell added.

T&T will face off with Cuba in their opening match of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of Under 20 World Cup qualification on October 22nd in Curaçao.

« Reply #290 on: October 20, 2016, 03:49:28 PM »
Ah would appreciate confirmation of the match kick-off times. Please and thanks!

« Reply #291 on: October 21, 2016, 04:45:15 AM »
Bermuda depart for Concacaf qualifiers
By Lawrence Trott, The Royal Gazette.

The Bermuda Under-20 side will head to Curaçao for the final round of the Caribbean Under-20 Championship qualifiers today.

Bermuda qualified for the final phase of qualifying after finishing up as the second best runner-up from first round matches summer.

The 17-man squad includes several players who are based overseas in the United States and England.

Bermuda are in group A and face St Kitts and Nevis on Friday at 6pm. They then face Curacao at 7.30pm on Sunday before closing out their matches next Tuesday against Antigua and Barbuda.

All matches will be played at the Stadion Ergilio Hato in Brievengat, Willemstad.

The group winners and runners-up will remain in Curaçao to play in the Caribbean Football Union Under-20 semi-finals and final.

Five teams from the Caribbean will advance to the Concacaf Under-20 Championships in Costa Rica in March.

Squad: Jaquill Hill, Knory Scott, Zenawi Bowen, Paul Douglas, Rai Sampson, Mikiel Thomas, Amar Lewis, Jahtino Richardson-Martin, David Jones, Jaz Ratteray-Smith, Tehvan Tyrell, Diondre Dowling, Kacey Butterfield, Vance Wall-Brown, Osagi Bascome, Mazhye Burchall, Ajai Daniels. Officials: Kyle Lightbourne (head coach), Maurice Lowe (technical development director), Dashun Cooper (goalkeeper coach), Amori Venter (physio), Charysse Bean (head of delegation).

NOTE: It will be intriguing to see whether Osagi Bascome makes a dent or an impression on this tournament.

St. Kitts-Nevis, Bermuda's opening match opponent, held a pre-tournament training camp in St. Martin from Wednesday last week to Tuesday of this week.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2016, 04:56:51 AM by asylumseeker »

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #292 on: October 21, 2016, 02:51:53 PM »
Any links for tonight?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #293 on: October 21, 2016, 02:52:43 PM »
Anybody have a link?

T&T U-20 men battle Cuba in CFU Final round opener
« Reply #294 on: October 21, 2016, 07:29:42 PM »
T&T U-20 men battle Cuba in CFU Final round opener
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Men’s Under 20 team will commence its final competition in the quest to qualify for the 2017 FIFA Under 20 World Cup in South Korea with a contest against Cuba on Saturday night from 8:15pm at the Ergilio Hato stadium in Willemstad, Curacao.

T&T’s match will be the second of a double header with fellow Group B opponents Haiti and St Lucia meeting in the earlier encounter.

The T&T team arrived in Curacao from Panama on Thursday following a training camp in the Central American destination. And now the team, under head coach Brian Williams is set to engage the Cubans.

“We are as ready as can be at this stage,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“We knew for some time now that Cuba would be our opening game and we have prepared with that in mind. I am pretty pleased with the way the team responded in Panama, there was a nice bonding period and the guys worked very hard on the training pitch. Now it is their time to go out and show it on the field,” he added.

“Cuba as we know are tricky opponents. We saw how well they looked in the Under 17 series last month in Trinidad and I expect they will have a similar kind of approach at this level. We will need to prevent them from getting on top of us and we must in fact try to steady our game and get ourselves ahead as early as possible, meaning too that we need to settle early and control the match. We need to narrow down on our errors and stay compact for the entire match and of course take advantage of our strengths in the attacking third and finish the chances,” Williams added.

The team was joined by North American-based duo Jacob Sooklal and Jarred Dass in Curacao while US-based Andrew Rullow is scheduled to arrive in Curacao on Saturday afternoon. There will be a 23-man squad in Curacao but CFU tournament rules state only 20 players can be registered to play. Therefore, the three players that will not be in the final 20 include Moses Jaikeran, Rondell Payne and Sooklal, who according to team manager Dunstan Williams, was out for the past seven days after suffering a mild concussion on the field while playing for his College team in Ontario,  Canada.

On the overall team ranking list of CONCACAF Under 20 qualifying action, which also include games played at the CFU competition, T&T stands in 8th position with a total of 65 points from 74 matches, while Cuba are tenth with 53 points from 53 matches. Mexico (219 pts from 116 matches), United States (169 pts from 107), Honduras (12 its from 82), Canada, Costa Rica, Guatemala and El Salvador hold the top seven positions in that order.

Cuba, which qualified for the 2013 FIFA Under 20 World Cup, finished second in their CFU First round group behind Antigua/Barbuda and qualified for the final round as one of the best three second placed teams alongside St Lucia and Bermuda.

T&T, the CFU defending champions, have been grouped with previous runners up Haiti, Cuba and St Lucia in Group B of this year’s CFU Finals.

Trinidad and Tobago 20-man squad

Jabari Brice (GK) – St. Anthony’s College
Denzil Smith (GK)- Shiva Boys Hindu College
Taryk Sampson – Defender – Ma Pau Stars
Keirron Mason – Defender – Marabella Crisis Center
Kori Cupid- Defender- Presentation College, San Fernando
Isaiah Garcia- Defender- W- Connection FC
Keston Julien- Defender – Jabloteh FC
Andrew Rullow – Defender – University of Charleston
Noah Powder – Defender – New York Red Bulls II
Jabari Mitchell – Midfielder – W-Connection FC
Morgan Bruce De Rouche – Midfielder –KRC Genk
Kareem Riley – Midfielder- Presentation College, San Fernando
Shane Sandy – Midfielder – Naparima College.
Micah Lansiquot –Midfielder – Mucurapo East Secondary
Nicholas Dillon – Forward – Central FC
Taofik Lucas Walker – Forward – DC United
Jarred Dass- Forward – Stony Brook University
Isaiah Hudson – Forward- Naparima College
Kathon St. Hillaire- Forward- St. Anthony’s College
Josh Toussaint- Forward – St. Ann’s Rangers

« Reply #295 on: October 22, 2016, 03:07:48 AM »
GROUP A results from Friday, October 21, 2016.

Bermuda 3 St. Kitts-Nevis 1
Curacao 0 Antigua & Barbuda 1

Subject to confirmation by CFU.
« Last Edit: October 22, 2016, 03:14:42 AM by asylumseeker »

Annual MLS-CFU Combine merges with CFU U-20 Qualifiers
« Reply #296 on: October 22, 2016, 07:44:57 AM »
Annual MLS-CFU Combine merges with CFU U-20 Qualifiers
cfufootball.org

MLS Scouts as well as recruiters from no fewer than three MLS clubs will be in Curacao from October 21-30, 2016 for the CFU Men’s U-20 Qualifiers, which will serve, concurrently, as the base for the annual MLS-CFU Combine.

This is the fourth edition of the Combine, which aims to have Caribbean players selected to attend the annual stateside adidas MLS Player Combine, which will be held from January 7-12, 2017 in Los Angeles.

The teams contesting the Qualifiers which will be played at Ergilio Hato, are, in Group A, Antigua and Barbuda, Bermuda, Curacao and St. Kitts and Nevis, and, in Group B, Cuba, Haiti, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

CFU President Gordon Derrick said the decision to merge the two initiatives was a logical one, given that some of the region’s best young players would be gathered in a single space for the Qualifiers.

“The U-20 is a marquee competition for the CFU, and the players are from the same age category in which the MLS scouts are interested, so this creates an ideal opportunity for all parties involved. You will also notice that, this year, in addition to the MLS scouts, provisions were made for the MLS clubs to attend and do their own scouting,” Derrick said.

The MLS clubs that have confirmed attendance are Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC, and Philadelphia Union.

Five teams will advance from the Qualifiers to the final round of the CONCACAF Championship slated for February 17-March 5, 2017 in Costa Rica. There is, meanwhile, no quota on the number of Caribbean players that may be invited to  the MLS Player Combine in Los Angeles, from which  selected standouts will be eligible for the 2017 MLS SuperDraft presented by Adidas.

« Reply #297 on: October 22, 2016, 03:05:46 PM »
We gehhin close to kick-off ...

« Reply #298 on: October 22, 2016, 03:16:55 PM »

« Reply #299 on: October 22, 2016, 05:58:33 PM »

Go for the win Young Warriors!