March 28, 2024, 07:36:12 AM

Author Topic: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea  (Read 80771 times)

Re: 2016 CFU Men's U-20 Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #300 on: October 22, 2016, 06:48:51 PM »
any coverage from panama

« Reply #301 on: October 22, 2016, 06:49:47 PM »
My nephew is playing on the team YEAAAAHHHH. Lucas Walker

Offline Toussaint

• ...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.
    • Haiti Spors
« Reply #302 on: October 22, 2016, 07:24:27 PM »
According to futbol24.com, Trinidad vs Cuba is currently 0-0 (2nd half). Haiti beat St Lucia 5-1 in the first match.
...l'arbre de la liberte des noirs.

« Reply #303 on: October 22, 2016, 08:11:56 PM »
FINAL: Trinidad and Tobago 0-0 Cuba

« Reply #304 on: October 23, 2016, 05:38:25 AM »
U-20 Men secure first point at CFU Finals.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s team secured a point when they played to a 0-0 draw with Cuba in their opening match of the Caribbean Football Union Final Round of qualification at the Ergilio Hato Stadium in Willemstad, Curacao on Saturday night.

The result followed an earlier 5-1 victory for Haiti over St Lucia, with Ronaldo Damus grabbing a hattrick in the earlier contest on the evening as action commenced in Group B of the eight-team championship.

In Friday’s Group A games, Antigua/Barbuda upset hosts Curacao 1-0 while Bermuda defeated St Kitts/Nevis 3-1.

T&T faces St Lucia on Monday at 6pm at Ergilio and will be hoping to achieve a win to boost their chances of advancing to the semi-final stage and the CONCACAF Final round in Costa Rica next year.

T&T had one decent scoring opportunity in the first half and W Connection’s Kori Cupid managed another chance in the second half but his header on goal was deflected out by a Cuban defender. Kathon St Hillaire was introduced later on in the half and added some zest to the T&T attack but there were to be no goals in the stalemate.

Head Coach Brian Williams later described the encounter as an even one and felt the point each was deserving for both teams.

“I think this was a good start for us. It was a difficult game, very physical and well contested by both sides,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“But our boys handled it very well. We knew it was going to be tough heading into the match and I think Cuba also had to put in a decent shift on the evening.

“The first half was pretty balanced. We had one good chance and Cuba also had a chance on goal after a defensive blunder on our part.

“We had three second half substitutes, Jarred Dass, Kathon St Hillaire and Kori Cupid all coming on and making a good contribution. There’s always room for improvement and we are still growing as a unit.

“The boys are in good spirit after the match and now we will be looking to have a strong showing against St Lucia and go all out for the win on Monday,” Williams added.

The former T&T defender also commented on the decision to have twenty- three players in the squad in Curacao despite only 20 players being eligible to play.

“We knew since last month that Jacob Sooklal suffered the concussion and his coach in Canada made a decision to sideline him from training which put him off a bit but he has been a part of this squad from the start and the other two players are also part of this squad. Jacob was back in training with us yesterday but we had to make that decision in advance to avoid the risk and go with another player.

“As a staff we also made a decision to have at least 22 players in camp in order to have  numbers to make up two teams for our training for scrimmage sessions and so on. We wanted to maintain a complete squad and to keep everyone involved for the duration of the tournament which is why we brought the 23 players here to Curacao,” Williams stated.

Team

T&T: - Denzil Smith (GK), 5. Taryk Sampson, 6. Noah Powder (8.Jarred Dass), 7. Isaiah Hudson, 9. Nicholas Dillon, 10. Jabari Mitchell (capt), 11. Kareem Riley, 12. Shane Sandy, 13. Isaiah Garcia (3.Kori Cupid), 14. Taofik Lucas-Walker (15.Kathon St Hillaire), 17. Keston Julien.

Subs Not Used: 2. Andrew Rullow, 4. Kierron Mason, 16. Micah Lansiquot, 18. Josh Toussaint, 19. Morgan Bruce De-Rouche, 20. Jabari Brice (GK)

Head Coach: Brian Williams

Referee – Javier Santos (Puerto Rico)

Offline Tobago28

Re: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea
« Reply #305 on: October 23, 2016, 05:02:30 PM »
Draw 0-0 with Cuba. Not an impressive match, some changes needed for St. Lucia.

Haiti beat St. Lucia 5-1 in early match, the same St. Lucia we drew 1-1 with in June.

« Reply #306 on: October 24, 2016, 03:30:24 AM »
Group A results from Sunday, October 23, 2016.

St. Kitts-Nevis 2 Antigua & Barbuda 2
Curacao 1 Bermuda 1

Based on both matchdays in Group A, Bermuda and Antigua & Barbuda remain undefeated. Hosts Curacao and SKN both hold a loss and a draw.

« Reply #307 on: October 24, 2016, 05:08:49 AM »
Annual MLS-CFU Combine merges with CFU U-20 Qualifiers.
cfufootball.org

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua (October 20, 2016) – MLS Scouts as well as recruiters from no fewer than three MLS clubs will be in Curacao from October 21-30, 2016 for the CFU Men’s U-20 Qualifiers, which will serve, concurrently, as the base for the annual MLS-CFU Combine.

This is the fourth edition of the Combine, which aims to have Caribbean players selected to attend the annual stateside adidas MLS Player Combine, which will be held from January 7-12, 2017 in Los Angeles.

The teams contesting the Qualifiers which will be played at Ergilio Hato, are, in Group A, Antigua and Barbuda, Bermuda, Curacao and St. Kitts and Nevis, and, in Group B, Cuba, Haiti, St. Lucia and Trinidad and Tobago.

CFU President Gordon Derrick said the decision to merge the two initiatives was a logical one, given that some of the region’s best young players would be gathered in a single space for the Qualifiers.

“The U-20 is a marquee competition for the CFU, and the players are from the same age category in which the MLS scouts are interested, so this creates an ideal opportunity for all parties involved. You will also notice that, this year, in addition to the MLS scouts, provisions were made for the MLS clubs to attend and do their own scouting,” Derrick said.

The MLS clubs that have confirmed attendance are Real Salt Lake, Seattle Sounders FC, and Philadelphia Union.

Five teams will advance from the Qualifiers to the final round of the CONCACAF Championship slated for February 17-March 5, 2017 in Costa Rica. There is, meanwhile, no quota on the number of Caribbean players that may be invited to  the MLS Player Combine in Los Angeles, from which  selected standouts will be eligible for the 2017 MLS SuperDraft presented by Adidas.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #308 on: October 24, 2016, 03:46:59 PM »
Trinidad leading 2-0 first half

Offline Bobdv

« Reply #309 on: October 24, 2016, 04:07:49 PM »
How are you following? Game finished by now ent?

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #310 on: October 24, 2016, 04:31:16 PM »
4-0 with 20 minutes left. No link.

« Reply #311 on: October 24, 2016, 04:53:41 PM »
FINAL: Trinidad and Tobago Men’s U-20 defeat St. Lucia 4-0. Goals scored in the 5th, 28th, 66th, and 71st minute.

« Reply #312 on: October 24, 2016, 05:12:45 PM »
Nicholas Dillon scored a hattrick and one for Noah Powder.

« Reply #313 on: October 24, 2016, 05:22:55 PM »
Any links to the next game? I presume it is double header?

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #314 on: October 24, 2016, 07:34:29 PM »
Haiti 2 Cuba 1 Final. With 6 pts and +5 goal, Haiti advances in the Concacaf final round.

« Reply #315 on: October 24, 2016, 08:15:44 PM »
Good win over St Lucia, now get the win next game against Haiti to ensure qualification. This is when we will know the mental strength of the team

Offline Tobago28

Re: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea
« Reply #316 on: October 24, 2016, 08:47:41 PM »
Haiti 2-1 vs. Cuba
TnT 4-0 vs St. Lucia

GROUP B
Haiti                        6
Trinidad & Tobago      4
Cuba                       1
St. Lucia                  0

Wednesday
Cuba vs. St. Lucia
Trinidad and Tobago vs. Haiti

GROUP A
Bermuda                 4
Antigua & Barbuda    4
Curacao                  1
St. Kitts & Nevis       1

Tuesday
Antigua & Barbuda vs. Bermuda
Curacao vs. St. Kitts & Nevis

« Reply #317 on: October 24, 2016, 09:09:16 PM »
I don't see us beating Haiti although I would love that.

If we draw against them, we should be through.

If we lose to them, it will come down to how much Cuba beats St Lucia by

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #318 on: October 25, 2016, 04:05:12 AM »
We beat St. Lucia by the same goal differential as Haiti.

Haiti needed a late winner to beat the Cuba team that we draw with. Frankly, we were terrible in the first game with Cuba.

Normally, I would not think we ready to beat Haiti but after beating a St. Lucia team 4-0 that we draw with a couple on months ago at Ato Bolden this team is improving and getting more confidence.

« Reply #319 on: October 25, 2016, 04:29:12 AM »
Haiti may just have the edge on us,but it doesn't mean we should lose,this TT team appears to have a good defense,something we always lack,so far we haven't let in a goal in 180 minutes of competitive football,you can't complain.Haiti will be physical against us as most Caribbean teams are when playing us,I'm sure our boys are aware and will adjust,hope we stop the Haitian juggernaut.
We always end up having to play Haiti in important matches.

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #320 on: October 25, 2016, 05:00:57 AM »

Our next match is not as important to us as it is to Trinidad. We are already qualified and there isn't a team in the other group that we are trying to avoid. So I think Montilas  may field some players from the bench.

Dillon hattrick leads T&T U-20s to 4-0 win over St Lucia
« Reply #321 on: October 25, 2016, 06:57:44 AM »
Dillon hattrick leads T&T U-20s to 4-0 win over St Lucia
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team secured their third victory of the 2017 FIFA Under 20 World Cup qualifying campaign when they hammered St Lucia 4-0 in their second match of Group B in the Caribbean Football Union Final Round at the Ergilio Hato Stadium in Willemstad on Monday evening.

Following Saturday’s 0-0 draw with Cuba, T&T needed to come away with a positive result and delivered the goods in dominant style with Central FC forward Nicholas Dillon leading the way with a hattrick and New York Red Bulls defender Noah Powder notching the other item to secure the three points for T&T. In the previous semi-final round, T&T beat Guadeloupe 1-0 and battered Turks and Caicos 11-0 in a match in which Dillon bagged five goals which sees his tally now at eight in the campaign

Haiti edged Cuba 2-1 in the second match to move to six points, setting up a crucial Group finale between T&T and Haiti on Wednesday in Willemstad. The top two teams will advance to the tournament semi-finals as well as the CONCACAF Final Round in Costa Rica next year towards the 2017 Under 20 World Cup in South Korea.

Dillon later described the hattrick moment as perhaps the highlight of his international career.

“It felt great to get three goals especially knowing that we needed to win this match to maintain a good chance of qualifying for the next round,” Dillon told TTFA Media.

“Scoring these three goals was just my pay back to the two national coaches (Brian Willams and Kerry Jamerson)working with me and believing in my potential. I knew I had to come good and lead the team to the win so I was also happy to deliver for my team” he added,

When both teams met in the semi-final phase in Trinidad back in June, they played to a 1-1 stalemate but this time T&T were not prepared to share the spoils.

“The difference today was were fitter than back then and we all had a better understanding of what the coaches wanted us to do,” Dillon said.

He later dedicated his three goals to his father Wayne, who celebrated his 58th birthday on October 10th.

T&T went ahead as early as the 5th minute when Kareem Riley played a ball over the top for W Connection’s Kori Cupid who played one in on the first post and Dillon ran in to side foot it into the net

Dillon would double the lead in the 28th minute when he flicked the ball into the goal from an Isaiah Hudson corner. St Lucia were left on the blackfoot with the fiery start by T&T.

T&T led 2-0 at the half-time break and as St Lucia tried to get themselves back into the game, T&T were patient and Powder punished the opposition in the 65th minute to push T&T3-0 ahead.

Dillon got his hattrick in the 71st minute when Keston Julien delivered into the box and he made no mistake with a header past St Lucian goalkeeper Vinnie George.

Head Coach Williams later expressed his satisfaction with the team and the way the players handled the responsibility of securing the result.

“I was pleased with respect to how the boys settled early and took control of the game. They went out there knowing that it would be up to them to make the game their own and the early goal from Dillon helped,” Williams told TTFA Media.

“We were up 2-0 at half time but we all know a 2-0 lead is a dangerous one to have it’s critical that you get that third goal and don’t give the team any hope of coming back into the match. We got that goal at a critical time in the match and then went on to finish them off. This was a pleasing display for us and now we have to focus on putting down a strong, positive performance on Wednesday against the Haitians so that we can go through to the next phase. Getting there is very important for us,” Williams added.

On Dillon’s display, Williams said: “I was happy for him. He’s been working hard and he came up strong today. His three goals helped cement the win for us and the players in their supporting roles around him also deserve credit.”

T&T line up

1. Denzil Smith (GK), 2. Andrew Rullow (19. Morgan Bruce de Rouche 60’), 3. Kori Cupid 5. Taryk Sampson, 6. Noah Powder, 7. Isaiah Hudson (15. Kathon St Hillaire 66’), 9. Nicholas Dillon, 10. Jabari Mitchell (16. Micah Lansiquot 79’), 11. Kareem Riley, 12. Shane Sandy, 17. Keston Julien.

Unused subs: 8. Jared Dass, 13. Isaiah Garcia, 14. Taofik Lucas-Walker, 18. Josh Toussiant, 20. Jabari Brice. – 4. Kierron Mason was out with injury.

Head Coach: Brian Williams

St Lucia Starting XI

1. Vinnie George (GK), 3. Keeroy Lionel 4. Zachemus Simon, 6. Melvin Doxilly, 7. Joshua Solomon, 8. Noah Nicholas, 9. Ryl Maryat (capt), 10. Cassius Joseph, 15. Cherdam Seraphin, 18. Gabriel Biscette, 19. Alvinus Myers

Head Coach: Albert St Croix.

Match Officials

Referee: Swayson Owen (Cayman Islands)
Assistant 1: Denroy Barker (St Vincent/Grenadines)
Assistant 2: Trevor Porter (Guyana)
Fourth Official: Wilson Da Costa (Cayman Islands)
Match Commissioner: Hubert Isenia (Curacao)

« Reply #322 on: October 25, 2016, 07:45:26 AM »
Toussaint,sometimes that works better for many teams,with benchers trying to make a name and become a regular,TT has everything to lose if they don't keep a level head.Imagine if Cuba beat St.Lucia by 4 or 5 nil,and that seems more than possible,we better don't lose 2-0.

« Reply #323 on: October 25, 2016, 11:38:52 AM »
The lesson here is that victory in the first and second matches of a group stage is the ONLY secure path to advancing. It matters not who the opponent is, whether it's raining, whether it's snowing or whether de sun stinging. Drawing with Cuba merely extended a lifeline.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #324 on: October 25, 2016, 01:29:11 PM »
100 % behind that, drawing with Cuba was not a good start. The only good start is a victory, a loss is a bad start and a draw is a satisfactory start but never good

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #325 on: October 25, 2016, 08:50:08 PM »
Group A results:
Antigua 3 Bermuda 2, Antigua wins group with 7 points, Bermuda finishes 2nd. with 4 pts , +1 goal

St kitts 3  Curacao 1, St kitts finishes third, with 4 pts. 0 goals

Curacao 1 pt, - 3 goals

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #326 on: October 26, 2016, 11:45:01 AM »
Tobago, the truth about the match Haiti vs Cuba is that the score is misleading. Haiti had 56% possession. According to some people in the stadium, it was a very controversial match. The CFU officials left the stadium very upset with the Dominican referee.

Today, I am hearing that the referee has apparently been told he was not going to take part in the rest of the tournament. He is accused of bias for allegedly killed most Haiti's attacks by calling phony fouls.

It is also rumored that CFU blamed the referee for Allowing Cuba's lone goal. Apparently the ball never crossed the line.

I wasn't at the game so I cannot tell whether any of the accusations can be justified.

« Reply #327 on: October 26, 2016, 02:17:52 PM »
Tobago, the truth about the match Haiti vs Cuba is that the score is misleading. Haiti had 56% possession. According to some people in the stadium, it was a very controversial match. The CFU officials left the stadium very upset with the Dominican referee.

Today, I am hearing that the referee has apparently been told he was not going to take part in the rest of the tournament. He is accused of bias for allegedly killed most Haiti's attacks by calling phony fouls.

It is also rumored that CFU blamed the referee for Allowing Cuba's lone goal. Apparently the ball never crossed the line.

I wasn't at the game so I cannot tell whether any of the accusations can be justified.
At least Hati didn't put the ball in the back of the net 5 times and end up losing 2-1

Offline Toussaint

• Haiti Spors
« Reply #328 on: October 26, 2016, 03:01:50 PM »
Keep hating, bro. I cannot help you with that.

Look if we had to hate on every nation whose citizens have done us wrong, real or mere perception, the whole world would have been our enemies.

Have a nice day.

« Reply #329 on: October 26, 2016, 03:52:47 PM »
Who hatin?  I look on de bright side and you come up with that.  Like it touch a nerve bro.

I cyah help you with that.