March 28, 2024, 05:44:02 AM

Author Topic: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea  (Read 80768 times)

Offline Tobago28

Re: 2017 FIFA U-20 World Cup held in South Korea
« Reply #510 on: February 16, 2017, 09:15:17 PM »

Bermuda U20s taking it one step at a time

http://www.concacaf.com/article/bermuda-u20s-taking-it-one-step-at-a-time

HAMILTON, Bermuda – There’s a lot of excitement surrounding Bermuda’s first participation in the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship since 1992.

Despite all the adulation, head coach Kyle Lightbourne is focused on keeping his team grounded ahead of Sunday’s opener against Group C rival Trinidad & Tobago. The sides met in Caribbean qualifying’s match for third place, with the Bermudians emerging victorious, 2-1, on goals by Knory Scott and Mikiel Thomas.

“This is not a holiday camp,” Lightbourne stressed to CONCACAF.com. “This is an opportunity to put Bermudian football more on the map. I have made It clear to our players that we are now coming up against the best in the region, so it is imperative that they focus on improving.

“This is the tournament we would really love to do well in and, for us, as coaches and all the staff that’s going down there, our job is to push these guys to get the best out of them that we can.”

Bermuda is also slated to face El Salvador (February 22) and host Costa Rica (February 25) in group play.

Lightbourne, who played in the English Premier League with Coventry City during the 1997/98 season, believes the U-20 tournament is about experience and helping his players grow into professionals.

“We have a squad that is capable of achieving great things in this tournament,” finished the 48-year-old. “However, we are taking it one step at a time. Our first objective is the three games we have to play in nine days. Wherever we are after that, we take it from there.

“We shocked the Caribbean in being one of the best five U-20 teams last year. Well, now, we want to grow in pedigree in CONCACAF. That is our goal.”

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #511 on: February 16, 2017, 09:36:46 PM »
Canada U20s aim to end 10-year wait

http://www.concacaf.com/article/canada-u20s-aim-to-end-10-year-wait

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica -- A decade has passed since Canada last took part in a FIFA Under-20 World Cup, and that was when it hosted the 2007 edition.

On the eve of the 2017 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship, the players that make up the 20-man squad in Costa Rica understand there’s a lot of pressure on their young shoulders to disrupt that trend.

But they’re focusing on the present and that starts with Friday’s opener against Honduras.

“It’s been mentioned a little bit,” said midfielder Tristan Borges of the 10-year dry spell.  “But we try to focus on the things that we can control and I think that’s the most important thing.  We just focus on ourselves and reach the goal that we all want to achieve.”

Borges was also part of the Canada under-17 team that fell one-game short of qualifying for the 2015 FIFA Under-17 World Cup.  That near-miss is serving as special motivation for Borges and the others who took part in that tournament in Honduras.

Also, at the 2015 CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in Jamaica, a highly-rated Canadian team got off to a strong start by beating Haiti in its first game, only to lose its next four.

Head coach Rob Gale, in his second tournament in charge of the under-20 team, hopes to apply some lessons learned from that first venture.

As a result, he had his team train in the hotter environments of Panama and Mexico in the run-up to the tournament to improve conditioning.

“It’s the off-season for our North American-based players and it’s very tough for players to get fit and ready,” said Gale.  “It’s so hard for them to be match ready when they haven’t played a competitive game in over two months so what we’ve done this time it back end the projects and give ourselves a chance to work with the North American player pool.”

After Honduras, Canada will complete Group A play against three-time defending champion Mexico (February 20) and Caribbean runner-up Antigua & Barbuda (February 23).  A positive result against the first-place side from Central American qualifying will set a positive tone, possibly banishing the burden of past tournaments

« Reply #512 on: February 17, 2017, 05:18:21 AM »
U-20 captain says T&T in good spirits ahead of Concacaf opener.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team arrived in San Jose and begun the settling process there ahead of their opening CONCACAF Championship game against Bermuda on Sunday at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium.

The T&T team is coming off a lengthy training camp in Cali, Colombia during which they played five training games, winning their closing two, losing one and drawing two.

Team captain Jabari Mitchell relayed that his troops were ready to fire in San Jose.

“We are in great mood right now following the Colombia training camp. We arrived in Costa Rica and settling in before the first game. During the camp, our team chemistry improved both on and off the field,” Mitchell told TTFA Media.

“Our football in general took a boost during the camp. We are looking forward to the players coming into the squad now. Nicholas Dillon is our main goalscorer and it’s good to have him involved now. We are staying focused and I think once we can start well, settling early and apply what the coaches have taught us and instructed us to do, then we should be able to pull off a good performance and result on Sunday,” Mitchell added.

Following the opener versus Bermuda, T&T takes on Costa Rica at the National Stadium in San Jose  on February 22nd and El Salvador at the same venue on February 25th.

Under the new format for the Under 20 qualifiers, designed to increase the number of meaningful, competitive matches, the top two teams from Groups A, B, and C will advance to the Classification Stage, where the Confederation’s four tickets to the World Cup at this level will be determined in round robin play among two groups of three teams each.

The top two teams of each of the two Classification Stage groups will qualify as CONCACAF representatives to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.

Video - Brian Willams and Jabari Mitchell comments as T&T settle in Costa Rica

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #513 on: February 17, 2017, 04:38:40 PM »
Antigua & Barbuda U20s have eyes set on Mexico

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Antigua & Barbuda’s first game in the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship since 1986 couldn’t be more demanding. On Friday, the Benna Boys open play in the 2017 edition with a meeting against three-time defending champion Mexico at the Estadio Ricardo Saprissa.

Regardless of that challenge, the Caribbean runner-up is in Costa Rica to compete for honors, not just to make up the numbers.

“We are in this tournament for a reason,” defender Vashami Allen told CONCACAF.com. “We have earned the right to be here from the CFU (Caribbean Football Union) qualifiers and as we prepare to face Mexico, I am confident we will do our best on Friday evening.

“We have worked hard in training and looked at video footage, so I feel we will work together as a team.”

Allen, who has already played for the senior squad, was key to Antigua & Barbuda earning a second-place finish in last year’s Caribbean qualifying competition, where it fell to powerful Haiti in the final. Along the way, he helped the Benna Boys post two shutouts during the final round.

Although Antigua & Barbuda is taking another step up the competitive ladder at the CONCACAF event, Allen is confident of making mark.

“Canada, Honduras and Mexico are all tough opponents, all teams who have experience in this tournament and all who have played at FIFA U-20 World Cups,” he finished. “But, as a team, we are working well and gelling together nicely, so we are looking to impress in Costa Rica.

“It won’t be easy, but we will do our best.”

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #514 on: February 17, 2017, 07:17:28 PM »
http://www.topdrawersoccer.com/

Noah Powder cited as 1 of 12 players to watch

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #515 on: February 17, 2017, 07:56:10 PM »
Honduras 1-0 Canada Final

Looking at the clubs below for some of those youngsters, the coach must get blamed.

CANADA
1- GK- Dayne St. Clair | USA / University of Maryland
2- FB- Zachary Brault-Guillard | FRA / Olympique Lyonnais
3- FB- Gabriel Boakye | GER / Energie Cottbus U-19
4- CB- Kosovar Sadiki | ENG / Stoke City U-23
5- CB- Thomas Meilleur-Giguère | CAN / Impact Montréal FC
6- M- Liam Fraser | CAN / Toronto FC II
7- M- Diego Gutiérrez | CHI / CD Palestino
8- F- Luca Uccello | CAN / Toronto FC II
9- F- Dario Zanatta | SCO / Heart of Midlothian FC
10- M- Tristan Borges | NED / sc Heerenveen
11- W- Kris Twardek | ENG / Millwall FC
12- F- Shaan Hundal | CAN / Toronto FC II
13- M- Dante Campbell | CAN / Toronto FC II
14- M- Aidan Daniels | CAN / Toronto FC II
15- CB / FB- Kamal Miller | USA / Syracuse University
16- CM- Emmanuel Zambazis | GRE / Iraklis 1908 FC
17- F- Aymar Sigue | USA / Penn State University
18- GK- Thomas Hasal | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC U-18 Residency
19- F- Liam Millar | ENG / Liverpool FC U-18
20- FB / RW- Kadin Chung | CAN / Vancouver Whitecaps FC 2

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #516 on: February 17, 2017, 08:53:20 PM »
Mexico 3-0 Antigua & Barbuda at Half

« Reply #517 on: February 18, 2017, 05:51:14 AM »
T&T Charge d’affaires meets Under 20 Team in Costa Rica.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Under 20 Team received a visit from Ms Nireen Jasper, Charge d’affaires Trinidad and Tobago Embassy in Costa Rica on Friday.

Ms Jasper had lunch with the team and extended best wishes to the members as they look ahead to the opening match of the CONCACAF Under 20 Championship against Bermuda on Sunday at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men’s Team arrived in San Jose and begun the settling process there ahead of their opening game.

The T&T team is coming off a lengthy training camp in Cali, Colombia during which they played five training games, winning their closing two, losing one and drawing two.

Team captain Jabari Mitchell relayed that his troops were ready to fire in San Jose.

“We are in great mood right now following the Colombia training camp. We arrived in Costa Rica and settling in before the first game. During the camp, our team chemistry improved both on and off the field,” Mitchell told TTFA Media.

RELATED NEWS

Bermudans make changes before facing T&T U20s
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Reports out of Bermuda suggests that mystery surrounds the reasons behind three last-minute changes to the Bermuda under 20 team prior to their opening CONCACAF qualify­ing match against T&T tomorrow in San Jose, Costa Rica

Bermuda made three changes to the original squad submitted to CONCACAF, with North Vil­lage pair Azende Furbert and Rai Sampson, and Dandy Town’s Jahtino Richardson-Martin being replaced with Somerset Eagles’ Nathan Rego, Jahnazae Swan, of Dandy Town, and Village’s Zenawi Bowen.

Mark Wade, the Bermuda Football Association president, declined to explain the reasons behind the late changes.

“From our perspective we with­drew three players, the reasons for that are an internal matter and we don’t comment on that,” Wade said.

Bermuda’s squad boasts 14 players who are based overseas in England and the United States. Among the overseas players are Bristol City forward Osagi Bascome and Walsall midfielder Kacy-Milan Butterfield, who captained the team at the Car­ibbean Under-20 Championship in Curaçao last October.

T&T’s under 20 squad arrived in San Jose on Wednesday ahead fol­lowing a training camp in Colombia.

« Last Edit: February 18, 2017, 05:59:59 AM by Flex »

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #518 on: February 18, 2017, 02:04:23 PM »
St. Kitts Nevis 1 - 5 Haiti Final

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #519 on: February 18, 2017, 02:09:39 PM »
Despite the fact that 6 Players couldn't get visa from DR TO COSTA RICA, HAITI had 13 players, half of them made it to Costa Rica with no sleep this morning, With No training, no sleep, BARELY A BENCH TO COUNT ON WITH NO BACK UP GOALIE and still manage to take care of the Sugar boys 5-1..Congrats Haiti.. BRING ON THE US
« Last Edit: February 18, 2017, 02:13:24 PM by truehaitian »

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #520 on: February 18, 2017, 02:33:30 PM »
Watch the US VS Panama at this link
http://www.tdmascr.com/

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #521 on: February 18, 2017, 02:35:49 PM »
TrueHaitian, why always these visa problems?

« Reply #522 on: February 18, 2017, 03:23:59 PM »
With all those players from the UK and dem still down 3 nil at half time,sometimes it's not worth having them...more problems than it's worth.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #523 on: February 18, 2017, 03:25:45 PM »
Watch the US VS Panama at this link

Panama 1-0 HT though they playing with 10 men

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #524 on: February 18, 2017, 04:33:29 PM »
Panama 1-0 USA FT

Offline truehaitian

« Reply #525 on: February 18, 2017, 04:55:02 PM »
With all those players from the UK and dem still down 3 nil at half time,sometimes it's not worth having them...more problems than it's worth.

TrueHaitian, why always these visa problems?

The Trinis gave us the same visa problem most of the time.. a lot of time we arrive on the same day that tournaments are being held in Trinidad. These countries don't trust us and always think we're looking to stay their Countries. Haitians mostly like the US and Canada and only looking to stay in these countries..not Costa Rica for sure..I was there last summer and believe me I couldn't see a lot to cheer about..

« Reply #526 on: February 19, 2017, 05:56:31 AM »
U-20s face Bermuda in opening CONCACAF qualifier.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 20 Men team will kick off their CONCACAF Final round quest for World Cup qualification against Bermuda at the Ricardo Saprissa Stadium Costa Rica 1pm  TT time (11am Costa Rican) on Sunday.

The Team, under head coach Brian Williams will be looking to qualify this country to a third Under 20 World Cup following appearances in 1991 and 2009. T&T progressed to the CONCACAF final phase but failed to advance out of the competition in Kingston, Jamaica.

This time around the dream is alive and the squad is ready to conquer their opponents.

“I think right now we are fired up and ready to take on our opponents from the opening whistle.” team captain Jabari Mitchell told TTFA Media. “We have a strong desire to represent the country to our best ability and the players understand what it means doing well in a tournament like this and going on to qualify for a World Cup. The main thing is for us to apply ourselves well and go out there and get the job done,” added the W Connection midfielder.

Williams is optimistic of a good start but also mindful of the opponents as T&T lost 2-1 to the Bermudans at the CFU qualifiers last year.

“We have a good understanding of the Bermudan team. We know what happened the last time these two countries met at the CFU level and I think the players will remember that going into the game. We are focused on the task at hand and we know a good performance and winning start will be a huge boost to our chances of advancing to the World Cup,” Williams said.

“We maintain our objective and we remain humble. We did a a lot of mental preparations. We worked on team building during the Colombia training camp.

“We had a very good session yesterday. All our players are fit and available for selection on Sunday. I am pleased with the way things are at this point in time.

“We have our first striker Nicholas Dillon back from Belgium and he is looking very fit and sharp in the sessions and that is a boost for us. He missed the last game against Bermuda and I am expecting us to have a better game than last time around,” Williams said.

Dillon joined the team in Costa Rica after completing a successful trial in Belgium where he signed Second Division club, K.Patro Maasmechelen.

One of Bermuda’s key players is forward Osagi Bascome who recently signed an extension to his contract with English Championship Division club Bristol City.

The Championship opened on Friday with Honduras defeating Canada 1-0 and Mexico overcoming Antigua/Barbuda 3-0.

T&T faces hosts Costa Rica in their second game at the National Stadium on February 22nd and El Salvador at the same venue on February 25th.

The National Stadium and Estadio Ricardo Saprissa will both be used for the tournament, to be played in a new format consisting of a group stage, a classification phase, and the grand final.

Under the new format, designed to increase the number of meaningful, competitive matches, the top two teams from Groups A, B, and C will advance to the Classification Stage, where the Confederation’s four tickets to the World Cup at this level will be determined in round robin play among two groups of three teams each.

The top two teams of each of the two Classification Stage groups will qualify as CONCACAF representatives to the FIFA U-20 World Cup Korea Republic 2017.

Videos

Highlight Video of Men's Under 20s Training in Costa Rica

Head Coach Williams looks ahead to U-20 opener vs Bermuda on Sunday

« Reply #527 on: February 19, 2017, 07:14:00 AM »

Doh matter who they had.

« Reply #528 on: February 19, 2017, 01:11:05 PM »
those guys playing wild

« Reply #529 on: February 19, 2017, 01:15:32 PM »
Any streaming links?

« Reply #530 on: February 19, 2017, 01:24:11 PM »
Link Score is 0-0 after 18 mins

« Reply #531 on: February 19, 2017, 01:30:22 PM »
T&T lead 1-0 22nd min by #15 Kathon St Hillaire

« Reply #532 on: February 19, 2017, 01:55:56 PM »
ahhh

« Reply #533 on: February 19, 2017, 02:08:33 PM »
The chemistry of this team still needs work but individually they are better than Bermuda. Which means nothing because its Bermuda. 8 years ago we would have demolished them. Their game has risen dramatically. Us....not so much. If by some miracle they actually qualify they could be decent at full strength if handled properly. 

« Reply #534 on: February 19, 2017, 02:21:26 PM »
this #11 doing the full back what he want... the final pass is nuh the best tho

« Reply #535 on: February 19, 2017, 02:28:49 PM »
The chemistry of this team still needs work but individually they are better than Bermuda. Which means nothing because its Bermuda. 8 years ago we would have demolished them. Their game has risen dramatically. Us....not so much. If by some miracle they actually qualify they could be decent at full strength if handled properly. 
AGREED 100% They need to step up BIG TIME vs CR on Wednesday in very HOSTILE stadium...and we should be aiming to score as many goals as possible TODAY because goal-difference could be a factor

« Reply #536 on: February 19, 2017, 02:32:23 PM »
Complete f*up by #4 and the keeper. Score 1-1

« Reply #537 on: February 19, 2017, 02:36:07 PM »

chemistry eh and williams had them guys training together  for how long ???

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #538 on: February 19, 2017, 02:46:14 PM »

chemistry eh and williams had them guys training together  for how long ???
exactly. Coach is the main problem

« Reply #539 on: February 19, 2017, 02:49:37 PM »
AGREED 100% They need to step up BIG TIME vs CR on Wednesday in very HOSTILE stadium...and we should be aiming to score as many goals as possible TODAY because goal-difference could be a factor

Patriot, it saddens me to say these fellas not ready for CR. We are not nearly as prepared as CR physically and certainly not mentally. Nor do they have experience in hostile territory. They are working well with what they have been given. But playing U-20 club teams in Colombia with a heavily depleted squad is not enough to compete in CONCACAF.

That said, I would be very happy to choke on my words. Even a draw with CR wiould be a major accomplishment at this point.