April 26, 2024, 08:04:24 PM

Author Topic: T&T go down to USA in Denver.  (Read 2732 times)

T&T go down to USA in Denver.
« on: June 09, 2017, 01:44:41 AM »
T&T go down to USA in Denver.
TTFA Media.

Kenwyne Jones saw a first half header crash off the cross bar and a Nathan Lewis strike was ruled a close offside as Trinidad and Tobago suffered a 2-0 defeat to the United States in a loss which T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence said was caused by individual errors in World Cup qualifying action at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park on Thursday night.

US head coach Bruce Arena later credited T&T for being a well prepared and organised team which made the game difficult for his side.

Christian Pulisic scored twice, in the 52nd and 62nd minutes to close off T&T which held its own and frustrated the hosts for long periods before a sold out crowd of just around 19,100.

After a quiet opening few minutes, Clint Dempsey fired a warning shot in the 15th minute, receiving at the top of the box but shooting just high of the bar with a curled, left-footed shot.

T&T goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams was in fine form on the night. John Brooks called him into action with right-footed shot from just outside the box in the 25th minute, but Williams did well to get down and keep the ball out.

Jozy Altidore forced a save moments later after a fine move down the left found the burly forward making a late run into the box.

Jones nearly put the visitors in front on 33 minutes, beating Tim Howard to Khaleem Hyland’s lofted ball into the area before firing his powerful header off the crossbar and back into play.  Before that, Hyland had a long range effort go inches wide of the right post after a turnover by the Americans.  And Carlos Edwards also got into a good position on the right of goal but opted to shoot, hitting over bar, instead of playing into the box for Kevin Molino or Lewis.

Williams made an impressive double save three minutes later, first defending a long drive from Jorge Villafana before denying Altidore’s header from close range moments later.

Howard palmed away Hyland’s low shot from outside of the box in the 42nd minute, showing quick reflexes to get down after seeing the ball late.

After the break, the United States finally found their opener seven minutes in. Darlington Nagbe’s one-two with Dempsey played the Portland Timbers midfielder to the goal line, where he fed a pass out to DeAndre Yedlin who found a sliding Pulisic at the goalmouth to give the U.S. a 1-0 lead.

T&T looked to have an immediate equaliser when Nathan Lewis volleyed home a pinpoint cross from the right, but the goal was whistled for offsides.

Pulisic added his second of the match 10 minutes later — the Dortmund teenager receiving a ball from Altidore down the right channel and squeezing his right-footed shot past Williams at the near post with only the keeper to beat.

T&T had a couple decent chances in the second half but could not get on the scoresheet.

Head coach Lawrence said he could not fault his players for their efforts on the night.

“I thought we were well organised and I cannot fault the players for effort tonight. Our own individual errors cost us the two goals and the match,” Lawrence said in the post-match press conference.

“I felt the game was a very close game. There was hardly any difference between both teams, especially in the first half of the game. I think the altitude affected the tempo of the game, both teams were struggling with it. Our individual errors is probably what cost us. Us in possession, giving away the ball unnecessarily which we left us exposed. the US took advantage of it. Our goalkeeper had to make a couple saves every now and again which obviously he is there for. We have to think about the next game now,” Lawrence added.

“We were unlucky Kenwyne hit the bar from a cross. I thought Nathan’s goal was very, very close and could have gone either way. Unfortunately it went against us again.”

US Head Coach Arena added “Well it was not an easy game. I think Trinidad was well prepared for the match, had a good tactical game and played well. On the other hand we played a solid 90 minutes. Some mistakes in the first half defensively, on a couple crosses, giving them a bit too much room to cross the ball. We missed a couple good opportunities but got a little bit better in the first half. We had two good goals by Christian.. I think there were other  chances we could have finished. Their ‘keeper did well. But I thought they (T&T) did a terrific job. The games are tough.”

“I was frustrated. I think we were frustrated going in at half time,” Arena added.

T&T now sit on three points in the cellar position while the win gives Bruce Arena’s side, who came into the night in fourth place, seven points from five matches.  Mexico moved to thirteen points with a 3-0 win at home to Honduras while Panama picked up a point in Costa Rica with a 0-0 draw.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago (3-4-2-1): 21.Jan-Michael Williams (GK); 5.Daneil Cyrus, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 17.Mekeil Williams; 11.Carlos Edwards, 19.Kevan George, 8.Khaleem Hyland (23.Leston Paul 75th - Yellow 76), 3.Joevin Jones (12.Shahdon Winchester 67th); 10.Kevin Molino, 7.Nathan Lewis; 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (20.Jamille Boatswain 81st).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 13.Hughtun Hector, 14.Andre Boucaud, 15.Curtis Gonzales, 16.Alvin Jones, 18.Hashim Arcia.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

United States (4-1-3-2): 1.Tim Howard (GK); 2.DeAndre Yedlin, 17.Geoff Cameron, 6.John Brooks, 21.Jorge Villafana; 4.Michael Bradley (capt); 15.Darlington Nagbe, 10.Christian Pulisic, 23.Fabian Johnson (11.Alejandro Bedoya 73rd - Yellow 85); 8.Clint Dempsey (16.Kellyn Acosta 60th), 17.Jozy Altidore (9.Bobby Wood 82nd).

Unused substitutes: 12.Brad Guzan (GK), 22.Nick Ramando (GK), 3.Omar Gonzales, 5.Tim Ream, 7.DaMarcus Beasley, 13.Dax McCarty, 14.Paul Arriola, 18.Jordan Morris, 19.Graham Zusi.

Coach: Bruce Arena

Referee: Oscar Moncada (Honduras).

Dennis Lawrence at Post Match Press Conference - T&T vs USA

CONCACAF Results

United States 2 (Christian Pulisic 52, 62) v Trinidad and Tobago 0

Costa Rica 0 v Panama 0

Mexico 3 (Alanis Oswaldo 35, Hirving Lozano 63, Raul Jiminez 66) v Honduras 0.

Standings

# - P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts - (-/+)
1. Mexico  5  4  1  0  8  1  13  (+7)
2. Costa Rica  5  2  2  1  7  3  8  (+4)
3. United States  5  2  1  2  10  7  7  (+3)
4. Panama  5  1  3  1  2  2  6  (0)
5. Honduras  5  1  1  3  4  12  4  (-8)
6. Trinidad & Tobago  5  1  0  4  2  8  3  (-6)

RELATED NEWS

Pulisic scores two goals as U.S. soccer team tops Trinidad and Tobago.
By Associated Press.

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. | Christian Pulisic rescued the United States with a pair of second-half goals, and the Americans beat Trinidad and Tobago 2-0 on Thursday night to move into third place at the halfway point in the final round of World Cup qualifying.

Pulisic, an 18-year-old phenom from Hershey, Pennsylvania, ended a frustrating start for the U.S. offense with a goal in the 52nd minute, then added another in the 62nd.

“It just took us a little while to get going,” Pulisic said.

Pulisic made his international debut 15 months ago and has seven goals and five assists in 15 appearances, including four goals and three assists in his last four contests.

“He’s having fun,” U.S. coach Bruce Arena said. “He’s a natural for the game. He sees the game very well.”

After crashing to an 0-2 start in the hexagonal of the North and Central American and Caribbean region, the U.S. is back among the top three, which earn berths at next year’s tournament in Russia. Mexico leads with 10 points, followed by Costa Rica, which has seven and is ahead of the U.S. on goal difference. Panama (five), Honduras (four) and Trinidad (three) trail.

The fourth-place team advances to a playoff against Asia’s No. 5 nation.

The Americans have three wins and three draws since Arena replaced Jurgen Klinsmann as coach in November. The team’s biggest test in Arena’s second stint comes Sunday at Mexico.

“It’s going to be a tough one down there,” Pulisic said.

Kenwyne Jones nearly put the Soca Warriors up in the 33rd minute, beating goalkeeper Tim Howard to a cross but putting a header off the crossbar. Clint Dempsey John Brooks and Jozy Altidore all had good chances, but T&T keeper Jan-Michael Williams made several sprawling saves.

After helping Borussia Dortmund win last month’s German Cup final, becoming the youngest American to earn a medal for a European club, Pulisic had another breakthrough moment with his second two-goal game for the U.S.

Michael Bradley forced a turnover, DeAndre Yedlin recovered the ball and passed to Darlington Nagbe, who went around a defender and dribbled upfield. He passed to Clint Dempsey, who sent the ball back wide to Yedlin. He crossed to Pulisic, who slid and scored from 4 yards with his left foot, then sprinted for a corner and slid on both knees to celebrate.

Trinidad’s Nathan Lewis beat Howard off the ensuing kickoff, but Yedlin had stepped up, causing an offside call that disallowed the goal.

Pulisic started the run that led to the second goal, passing to Yedlin, who sent the ball to Altidore, Pulisic burst past Kavan George and slotted in a right-footed shot from about 10 yards to Williams’ short side.

“He’s a fantastic player,” Trinidad coach Dennis Lawrence said.

Bobby Wood nearly got a third goal, hitting a post shortly after replacing Altidore in the 83rd.

The U.S. is unbeaten against Trinidad in home qualifiers, winning nine matches and drawing one and outscoring the Soca Warriors 21-2 — including 17 in a row since 1989.

The game at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park is at about 5,200 feet, which will prepare the Americans for Sunday night’s qualifier at Mexico City’s Azteca Stadium, which is around 7,820 feet above sea level.

This time, there was no need for snow shovels in Denver. The weather was partly cloudy and 82 degrees, a contrast for the Snow Classico in March 2013, a 1-0 win over Costa Rica.

Pulisic scores twice to lead US to 2-0 win over Trinidad and Tobago.
By Steven Goff (mercurynews).

COMMERCE CITY, COLO. — This was supposed to be the lighter assignment in a compact stretch of 2018 World Cup qualifiers, a home task undertaken by a full-strength lineup tangling with a last-place foe before venturing into an archrival’s den this weekend.

But as Thursday’s match crept into the second half and a sellout crowd at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park fidgeted, the U.S. men’s national soccer team found itself locked in a scoreless duel with Trinidad and Tobago.

It didn’t stay that way much longer.

The ringleader was, to the surprise of fewer and fewer observers here and abroad, the unit’s youngest member, 18-year-old Christian Pulisic, who scored twice in a 10-minute span for a 2-0 victory.

The Hershey, Pennsylvania, midfielder was the benefactor of elegant work by teammates in the 52nd minute and finished an angled opportunity in the 62nd to continue a spellbinding start to his international career.

Pulisic, who plays professionally for German titan Borussia Dortmund, has scored four goals in his past four U.S. appearances and seven in 15 matches since joining the senior squad 15 months ago.

With a victory at the midway point of the schedule, the United States (2-2-1, seven points) moved into the thick of things in CONCACAF’s six-nation final round, pending the outcome of Thursday’s other matches: Mexico vs. Honduras and Costa Rica vs. Panama. Three teams will earn automatic berths in next summer’s World Cup in Russia, with a fourth entering a playoff.

By dodging a scare against Trinidad and Tobago (1-4-0, three points), the Americans will feel a whole lot better about their visit to Azteca Stadium on Sunday to face front-running Mexico.

On Pulisic’s first goal, Darlington Nagbe unlocked T&T’s midfield with tight footwork and played a combination with Clint Dempsey at the top of the box. Nagbe tracked the return pass and touched the ball to DeAndre Yedlin, for a piercing cross into the six-yard box. A sliding Pulisic guided it into the net from four yards.

A moment later, T&T’s Nathan Lewis was ruled offside on an apparent equalizer.

On the second goal, Pulisic led the charge out of the U.S. end before connecting with Yedlin, who supplied Jozy Altidore. The big striker’s one-timed through ball met Pulisic in stride on the right side of the box. Jan-Michael Williams cut down the angle, but Pulisic beat him to the near post.

Coach Bruce Arena’s lineup and formation mirrored the set-up for the Venezuela friendly last weekend, with one exception: Altidore, a late arrival to training camp. He partnered up front with Dempsey.

The only injury concern was John Brooks, but after resuming regular workouts this week, he paired in central defense with Geoff Cameron. They were flanked by Yedlin and Jorge Villafaña.

Pulisic reprised the playmaking role in front of captain Michael Bradley, with Nagbe and Fabian Johnson on the wings. Tim Howard, performing in his MLS home stadium, was in goal for the 115th international match.

With the onus on his team to win at home, Arena fielded a proactive lineup. Given the difficult circumstances in Mexico, he plans to make several changes and probably install a more defensive alignment.

Hanging by a thread in the CONCACAF race, the visiting Soca Warriors hoped to catch the Americans on the counterattack with Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders) or through set pieces or crosses with striker Kenwyne Jones (Atlanta United).

It took less than two minutes for T&T to go after Pulisic, just as Panama did in a punishing March qualifier. Khaleem Hyland grabbed him by the shoulders in the center circle and swung him to the grass.

The visitors put nine players behind the ball, clogged the central artery and challenged the Americans to solve the puzzle. They began to find their way: Dempsey missed by a whisker; Villafaña combined with Altidore for a close-in header; and Altidore liberated Pulisic for a long run and high effort.

The best opportunity, however, belonged to the Soca Warriors as Kenwyne Jones beat Howard to a high ball and headed off the crossbar in the 33rd minute.

Williams made consecutive quality saves on Villafaña and Altidore, and with T&T gaining confidence going forward, Howard had to turn away Hyland’s low bid, leaving the match alarmingly scoreless for the Americans.

Then the second half began, and Pulisic and Co. got started.

« Last Edit: June 09, 2017, 05:06:05 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T go down to USA in Denver.
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2017, 02:39:51 AM »
Coach Lawrence seriously needs to get some efficient subs off the bench if he's to be successful as a national team coach because his three subs tonight offered absolutely nothing in the way of impact in an attempt to lift the team. those guys were nothing but laborers (definitely no skill involved).

Cummings needs to get back in shape and Neville hackshaw needs to be invited to train, but Winchester, plaza, boatswain, leston Paul, and all these other pro league players need not be on the national team, these guys are rubbish with zero impact.

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2017, 04:46:40 AM »
De team eh play to bad, but seriously, them subs was real shit.

Nathan Lewis and Carlos Edwards shoulda been sub out early, especially Lewis, man take off Joevin and Hyland.

Hyland was we best player and he get sub, real shit.

Two easy goals score on we.

Ah mean Christian Pulisic is a good fast player, but we give them to much respect.

Carlos played decent, but he coulda been sacrifice for a striker.

Winchester came in and give a good hustle.

Molino was just a ghost on de field, he shoulda come off instead of Kenwyne.

Lawrence crazy we.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2017, 05:53:00 AM »
I think we had 4 players on cards as well so that may have played a part in the subs.

Joevin was on short rest as well. Once the second goal was scored it looked like we conceded the game as it would have been too much to come back from that at altitude. We have no depth in the squad, the subs are a testament

I wouldn't give Lewis too much stick, he had decent work rate and he has some speed and skill but the composure and decision making not there yet which is the same assessment as a Cato.

Costa Rica was not very impressive vs Panama at home. They will try to come at us as well but we will get our chances. The game is about scoring goals, I always compare our successful WCQ against all others before and after including this, and note the differences. in 2005 we had a player that scored 12 goals in that run. I counted 6 chances/half chances last night for T&T away from home. I not sure if we can ask for more than that at this level but something has to go in by luck or skill to give us a fighting chance.

I must admit I like the 3-5-2 formation but it will take time to settle, for the most part we were able to keep the US in front of us as 3 CBs can cover each other in 1 on 1 situations There were at least 4 times the first CB got beaten but the covering defender was able to sweep and clear the danger. If we only had 2 CBs there would be too much space with no cover. It's only when we made our own mistakes or got caught up the field we lost our shape and got punished.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2017, 06:07:54 AM by g »

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2017, 06:41:24 AM »
I think we had 4 players on cards as well so that may have played a part in the subs.

I wouldn't give Lewis too much stick, he had decent work rate and he has some speed and skill but the composure and decision making not there yet which is the same assessment as a Cato.

not there yet ?? he is 27 in 1 month ..g come on man

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2017, 06:45:00 AM »
De team eh play to bad, but seriously, them subs was real shit.

Nathan Lewis and Carlos Edwards shoulda been sub out early, especially Lewis, man take off Joevin and Hyland.

Hyland was we best player and he get sub, real shit.

Two easy goals score on we.

Ah mean Christian Pulisic is a good fast player, but we give them to much respect.

Carlos played decent, but he coulda been sacrifice for a striker.

Winchester came in and give a good hustle.

Molino was just a ghost on de field, he shoulda come off instead of Kenwyne.

Lawrence crazy we.

hyland came off leston paul came on  ;D

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2017, 09:54:11 AM »
If as d report say we play 3-4-2-1 why we play joevin at wingback when we knew he didn't have enough time to get used to d attitude. ......or is it dat d report wrong and it was indeed 3-5-2........don't agree with d people dat cry down d formation on d game thread .....i thought we showed signs of increased solidity and dat work going forward would improve we play.....d fault for d second goal in my humble  opinion started with KJ, as are striker in dat formation yuh can't jus stop playing when yuh lose d ball, yuh hadda apply pressure on d back line and not gih dem time to tink......take ah tame shot and jus stand up after it get blocked steups

But yeah I think d formation can work given time and drilling

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk

« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2017, 10:57:46 AM »
The 4th spot is still in striking range.

« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2017, 11:15:01 AM »
We need super subs and we need them now. last night was a testament of how fragile our league is since those local nots offered nothing coming off the bench. subs are suppose to create instant impact and bring magic to the team's dynamic but instead we got hatchet men with zero brilliance.

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2017, 12:47:29 PM »

27 but only making his first WCQ appearance. Consider Akhenanton Edwards is 38 and showed more condition and composure, Lewis still has time.

« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2017, 01:42:29 PM »

27 but only making his first WCQ appearance. Consider Akhenanton Edwards is 38 and showed more condition and composure, Lewis still has time.
This is the 2nd time you call Carlos that, where you get that name from?

« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2017, 01:55:48 PM »
Dais de man name dread, middle name is Carlos

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2017, 02:08:10 PM »

This is the 2nd time you call Carlos that, where you get that name from?
Carlos come like the TT version of "The Mummy returns"   :devil:

Despite loss, Trinidad and Tobago's MLSers take positives from US match
« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2017, 08:56:20 PM »
Despite loss, Trinidad and Tobago's MLSers take positives from US match
By Marco Cummings (MLSsoccer.com)

Thursday night’s CONCACAF World Cup qualifier between the United States and Trinidad and Tobago was a showcase of MLS talent, with 11 MLS players logging minutes in the match between both sides.

The result was a 2-0 win in favor of the USA, but the Soca Warriors, featuring MLS players Kenwyne Jones, Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino and Mekeil Williams, put in a strong shift against the Americans.

“I think Trinidad was well prepared for the match, had a good tactical plan, and played well,” US coach Bruce Arena said after the match.

With Colorado Rapids defender Williams slotting in at central defense, the Soca Warriors weathered an onslaught of 10 shots (five on target) from the Yanks to keep things scoreless at the half.

“I think the team played well,” Williams said postgame. “We were unfortunate not to take some of our chances. The US came out in the second half and they took their chances, unfortunately we didn’t”

Arena acknowledged a bit of frustration from the Americans at halftime having failed to convert chances, but he gave credit to what the opponents were able to achieve offensively in the first half.

“We were rather surprised how advanced five players were when they got the ball,” Arena said. “They put our back line under pressure.”

Kenwyne Jones nearly put the visitors ahead in the 33rd minute. The Atlanta United forward went toe-to-toe with Tim Howard and beat him to a cross, but saw his point-blank header bounce off the crossbar. It wasn’t all positive, of course. Reflecting on what was overall a mixed bag performance from the striker, Jones’ loss of possession helped lead to the US’ second goal.

“Obviously, he can to a bit better at times, but in general he brings poise and commitment,” said Trinidad and Tobago manager Dennis Lawrence. “It was our own individual errors that cost us the game, Kenwyne included.”

Molino was extremely active in ball distribution for Trinidad in the No. 10 shirt, with the Minnesota United midfielder at times setting things up from the right side of the field.

“I asked Kevin to play in a wider position and he did the best that he could distributing the ball,” Lawrence explained. “From that point of view, I was happy.”

On the left side, Seattle Sounders wing back Joevin Jones was also an active passer, but was subbed off early in the 68th minute due to fitness issues.

“Joevin arrived very late to camp,” Lawrence explained. “He didn’t have enough time to get adjusted to the altitude. So I think from that point of view, it would have been unfair for him to play 90 minutes.”

It was all fair play at the end of the match however, with Colorado teammates Williams and Howard exchanging shirts in their club’s home stadium. With the US taking home the win, Williams will now have to pay up on a pre-match bet made with Howard, and move his locker closer to the toilets in the Rapids locker room.

“It will go into effect when he gets back,” Howard said of the bet. “But it’s a great sign of respect to battle with somebody and then exchange shirts. It’s such an incredible gesture throughout sports and he’s a guy who I love as a teammate and as a brother.”

Moving forward, the USMNT will hope for more good vibes from Trinidad and Tobago, who, despite currently sitting at the bottom of the CONCACAF Hexagonal table, could help the third-place Yanks with a result at second-place Costa Rica on Tuesday.

“I’m hoping now that they can knock off some other guys in the competition,” said Arena.

« Last Edit: June 10, 2017, 02:02:40 AM by Flex »

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2017, 11:05:12 PM »
I saw the 2nd half on a replay today. The glass half-full or half empty. The team looked a bit more composed in the half I saw. But they still gave the ball away unnecessary. The team had some chances. Nathan was off by a shoulder. But if the US had scored like that it would have been goal. KJ header was  good but not good enough. We just lack about 3 dynamic players who could raise the level of play for  our team. Unfortunately, I see none on the horizon. If this was the 1st or 2nd game, I would not be worried but we in a deep hole. Panama, CR and Mex. away does not bode well. I want to be optimistic, but ....................

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2017, 01:43:54 AM »
Lawrence stays positive after loss to US.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach  was not displeased by the overall showing of the national football team in a high-altitude 0-2 defeat to the United States in Thursday’s CONCACAF zone final-round 2018 World Cup qualifier in Colorado, USA. But the T&T head coach felt individual errors cost his team the match.

“Our individual errors is probably what cost us,” Lawrence declared. “Giving the ball away unnecessarily, which left ourselves exposed, and the U.S. took advantage of it,” the T&T head coach said in the post-match press conference.

“Obviously, we can do a bit better at times but in general, I was pleased with the boys and the commitment that they gave,” Lawrence said.

He was also high in praise for the work of Carlos Edwards and Joevin Jones, whose crosses kept the USA defenders occupied.

“The idea was, as soon as we get the ball, before they (USA) could turn back and set (up), we needed to get the ball in the box,” Lawrence explained. “We had a bit of joy in it. We were unlucky. Kenwyne hit the bar from a cross and I though Nathan’s (Lewis) goal was very, very close and it could have gone either way. Unfortunately, it went against us again.”

The former T&T defender also explained it would have been “unfair” to have Seattle-based Joevin Jones play a full 90 minutes; Jones was substituted in the second half because the player came last to camp last and had the least time to adapt to the extreme altitude.

“We lost the game because we gave away the ball cheaply twice, leaving ourselves exposed,” he declared.
Hyland forced USA keeper Tim Howard with a couple of first half shots from long range but carelessly lost the ball, leading to the first goal. And Kenwyne Jones did the same on the USA’s second item, although earlier putting a header onto the crossbar, just past the half-hour mark.

“We want Khaleem to have a go at the goal. What we don’t want is for Khaleem to give away the ball cheaply, in the middle of the park. So from that point of view, he did what I asked him to do; he just needs to execute better.” the coach said.

Lawrence added: ”It’s our own individual errors, Kenwyne included in the second one. We gave the ball away sloppy, left ourselves exposed, and from there we couldn’t recover.”

Lawrence also explained his switch to the 3-5-2 system, where he used three centre-backs—Sheldon Bateau, Daniel Cyrus and Mekeil Williams.

“I think we needed to be safe in the back. We played an extra defender because the U.S. play with two strikers, so I thought we would play with three centre backs.”

Lawrence also gave kudos to Nathan Lewis, the inexperienced locally-based winger who began his football playing for Valtrin in the TTFA’s East Zone, before moving to the Pro League with Caledonia AIA and San Juan Jabloteh. Lewis had a second half equalising goal disallowed, when filling the role of USA-based Cordell Cato who was dropped for indiscipline. Lewis’ shoulder was barely and inch ahead of USA right-back DeAndre Yedlin when he volleyed Kevin Molino’s cross past Tim Howard a minute after Christian Pulisic’s opening goal, but an offside flag denied him success.

“Nathan Lewis, since the period he came over here, has shown good energy. He showed good commitment and he’s done well,” coach Lawrence said. “He just played in the CFU Championships in Trinidad. He had a very good tournament and from that point, I thought he deserved it and he didn’t let me down. So I was pleased with that.”

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2017, 01:49:14 AM »
Look Loy thinks 2018 World Cup still possible
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

KEITH LOOK LOY, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Super League and coach of 2016 Premiership winners FC Santa Rosa, is not giving up on the national men’s football team who suffered another hurdle in their Road to Russia campaign.

Trinidad and Tobago fell to a 2-0 loss to the United States on Thursday night, in their 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round Qualifier in Denver, Colorado.

Teenage midfielder Christian Pulisic scored both goals for the hosts, who moved up to third place, in the six-team group, with seven points, while T&T are rooted to the bottom with three points.

After five games, Mexico lead with 13 points, with Costa Rica in second spot with eight. Panama (six) and Honduras (four) are the other teams in the group.

The top three teams will earn automatic spots at the World Cup in Russia, while the fourth-placed team will meet the fifth-placed team from the Asia group, in a home-and-away playoff, for a berth in Russia.

During a telephone interview yesterday, Look Loy noted, “It might sound funny but I’m not too worried by the loss because we were never competing with the United States, Mexico and Costa Rica, for a place in Russia. We were never competing with them. We are competing with Honduras and Panama for the fourth-placed team. It was always so, from Match One.” He continued, “We beat Panama in (Mucurapo) and now we have to go to Panama and beat them.

We lost to Honduras but I always think Honduras (are) within Trinidad and Tobago’s reach, and I think we could beat them here. And then you still have to hope, by the grace of God, and a prayer, because we still have to play for something in Mexico City.

“I haven’t given up the ghost yet but if we win against Panama and Honduras, and other results go our way, perhaps something is still possible.” Asked for his opinion on Thursday’s game, Look Loy replied, “I was happy with the fact that we came off the field in a nil-nil (scoreline at halftime). I thought they tried to control the pace of the game, tried to maintain some possession.

They did allow some penetration but Jan-Michael Williams was very well in goal, he did his job.

“But, in the second half, I was a bit perplexed by the fact that (coach Dennis) Lawrence chose to play with three defenders. That left Joevin Jones who was non-existent and 38-year-old Carlos Edwards who (have) 38-year-old legs alone to patrol the flanks, in attack and in defence.” Look Loy went on to state, “As the game wore on, we started to see spaces opening up in the defence because the defence was stretched, we were not defending the flanks well and they got their goals.” This coming Tuesday, the T&T team will tackle Costa Rica (who were held to a goalless draw by Panama on Thursday), at San Jose.

“I saw Costa Rica against Panama and let me tell you (that) the intensity and technical level in that match, played in San Jose, was chalk and cheese with our match against the United States,” Look Loy admitted. “We’re going to San Jose and they’re going to coming for us with all guns blazing. And they will not allow us to play with that very sedate pace that we got away with (against US).”

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2017, 05:55:21 AM »
8 games since we eh score one single goal vs USA, we that fo0cking shittie.

Stern John, wha yuh doing?

At least de defence looks better.

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2017, 06:11:20 AM »
That being the case regarding JJ, should he have been introduced later in the match rather than at the beginning?

I’m not let down
« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2017, 01:37:06 PM »
I’m not let down
By Alvin Corneal (T&T Guardian)

Due to their pre-game preparations, the Soca Warriors appeared to have been more than ready for what the USA could produce, in terms of high altitude, increased ball speed and troublesome respiratory issues for the players. T&T went down 2-0 in a very tough, but competitive match-up.

Both teams recognised that any increased velocity during the early stages of the game may incite physical discomfort. After the first five minutes, which was filled with slow methodical build-up by both teams within their portions of the field, the quality of the game during that period appeared to demonstrate their intention of caution before aggression. But as time passed the USA recognised that coach Dennis Lawrence decided upon a “wait and see pattern” by rotating passes laterally and causing the opponents to chase from side to side.

There was good chemistry in the process as the back three of Daniel Cyrus, Sheldon Bateau and Mekeil Williams, showing a pattern of play which could have allowed five midfield players to combine ball possession and extra defensive strength.

Tactically, our system seemed to have been lopsided with Nathan Lewis, Mekiel Williams and Joevin Jones being left sided players. This was well done in defense, but the attacking process did not materialise. I was hoping and praying that the coaching staff made the decision to use a solid defender to mark the young German American Pulisic, whose goal scoring success over the past five matches should have invited the thought.

However, Hyland seemed to have been the player to do the job, but his first tackle on the youngster brought a serious warning from the referee early in the first half, a factor which would have received the signal to the former Mucurapo dynamo to transfer the responsibility to his defensive midfield partner Kevon George.

The plan did not work as Pulisic has a tremendous work rate and his blindsided runs towards the T&T goal, attracted the attention to the entire defense, causing space and time for Dempsey and Altidore to fire seven shots at Jean Michel Williams, whose brilliance showed up seven time in the first half alone, and if we understood the extra speed of the ball through the air space, you will appreciate the keeper’s brilliance even more.

It actually work as a challenge to keeper Tim Howard and as competent as he was in his career, he was forced into error when Hyland missed the target by centimetres, Edwards made him bungle a diving save, and misread Joevin Jones’ impeccable cross to Kenwyne Jones’ header. It was the gift of the night which may have turned the game the way of the visitors.

Unfortunately, two tactical errors brought victory for the USA. The both goals came from the right side for the USA with Nagbe making full use of the distorted defence line which Williams attempted to drift in central defence to offer some assistance. Pulisic’s blindsided run saw him rushing between two defenders and sliding the cross into the net. The second portion of his brace cam from the same position, but has tap in was much easier.

The statistics will show a two-nil victory, but the consolatory picture was a possible three goal opportunities for the Warriors and two of them before the Americans had scored. Possession percentage was almost equal, but an 8-5 advantage of goal chances gave the USA the victory they had worked for. Tough game, but home teams usually end up with a two-goal advantage if the teams are equal in strength.

Tuesday is another day and although Costa Rica was held to a draw by Panama the same night, our task is now more difficult, but not impossible. The game will be more exciting because both these teams will make use of skill and creativity rather than the robotic methods of the USA. God luck Warriors.

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2017, 02:15:08 PM »
Corneal is a hypocrite, he wasn't happy when Hart was winning but now he's okay with losing again?  :bs:

« Reply #22 on: June 27, 2017, 08:47:12 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/3yQaDM2HFK8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/3yQaDM2HFK8</a>