March 28, 2024, 03:28:42 PM

Author Topic: 2016 Caribbean Cup  (Read 22373 times)

2016 Caribbean Cup
« on: January 13, 2016, 05:39:25 AM »
Antigua to host 2016 Caribbean Cup draw
Antigua Observer

Sixty representatives from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) will attend the draw for the 2016 Men’s Caribbean Cup to be held in Antigua on Saturday.

The draw, which will be streamed live on cfufootball.org, will be staged at Jolly Beach Resort & Spa at 9pm. Twenty-six countries will contest the 2016 edition, which is sponsored by Scotiabank.

The competition is scheduled to take place during officially sanctioned FIFA international match periods, giving member associations the opportunity to select their best-possible teams. The event kicks off in March. Haiti, Jamaica, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago will not take part as they are participating in FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

Round two is scheduled for May; round three in October; the fifth place play-off in November, and the finals in May 2017. The top four teams will qualify to the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

In addition to the 2016 Men’s Caribbean Cup draw, the CFU member associations will gather for a general meeting over a long weekend that opens on Friday with a cocktail reception hosted by Antigua & Barbuda Prime Minister Gaston Browne.

The general meeting will be held through the day on Saturday. Between Saturday and Monday morning, the CFU delegates will hear from FIFA presidential candidates Jérôme Champagne, HRH Prince Ali Al Hussein and Gianni Infantino, three of the five candidates who accepted the invitation to present their programmes and answer questions posed by CFU member associations.

Sheikh Salman Bin Ebrahim Al Khalifa, whose schedule did not permit his presence at the meeting, has submitted a letter to be shared at the session.

Re: 2016 Caribbean Cup
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 07:09:47 AM »

Wait! The finals of the 2016 Caribbean Cup is in May 2017?

« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2016, 09:02:34 AM »
what do they mean when they said that we will not take part because of world cup qualifying, isn't jamaica and haiti involved as well in world cup qualifying?

and didn't they just kept a caribbean cup finals in antigua the just before they had it in jamaica, while we haven't host the darn thing since 2007 and with the best facilities added to that, what is really going on with CFU are they for real?

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2016, 09:21:31 AM »
This is a mess. There's no way we not involved.
Maybe they talking about some teams having a bye for the early rounds. We need a more knowledgable report.

« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2016, 09:58:52 AM »
This is a mess. There's no way we not involved.
Maybe they talking about some teams having a bye for the early rounds. We need a more knowledgable report.

I feel there is some misreporting here. If they don't participate in the CFU, how are they going to qualify or the next GC?

« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2016, 10:05:01 AM »
what do they mean when they said that we will not take part because of world cup qualifying, isn't jamaica and haiti involved as well in world cup qualifying?

and didn't they just kept a caribbean cup finals in antigua the just before they had it in jamaica, while we haven't host the darn thing since 2007 and with the best facilities added to that, what is really going on with CFU are they for real?

Umm... they did say that Jamaica and Haiti won't be involved in round 1... also they never said that the tournament is playing in Antigua, just the draw.  ::)

« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2016, 10:08:15 AM »

I does really feel sorry for you yes. Yuh may want to read the original post again

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #7 on: January 13, 2016, 10:14:32 AM »
Surely it means the 4 involved will get a bye to the later rounds.

I really hope the TTFA are doing everything in their power to host the tournament. We've been to the last 2 finals and it's our time to host it now. We have the best facilities in the Caribbean..that pitch in Jamaica was a total joke in 2014.

« Reply #8 on: January 13, 2016, 11:45:17 AM »

I really hope the TTFA are doing everything in their power to host the tournament. We've been to the last 2 finals and it's our time to host it now. We have the best facilities in the Caribbean..that pitch in Jamaica was a total joke in 2014.

You mean to say we have to host it in order to win. We that bad?
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 12:07:26 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #9 on: January 13, 2016, 12:04:18 PM »

You to say we have to host it in order to win. We that bad?

We that bad.When last we win?

Offline Banter Banton

« Reply #10 on: January 13, 2016, 12:34:49 PM »
No it's just about time for us to host it. We have not since 2007. We've been to two consecutive finals and we also have the best facilities to host it.

Get it done TTFA.

« Reply #11 on: January 13, 2016, 01:27:02 PM »
No it's just about time for us to host it. We have not since 2007. We've been to two consecutive finals and we also have the best facilities to host it.

Get it done TTFA.

We should be able to win at home and away. Every time this tournament comes around, is something or the other. Injuries, can't get overseas players because the clubs don't want them to play in a shit arse tournament, players reaching  less than 5 days before tournament,  players not being paid. Change of coaches at the last minute, lack of sponsors to defray the cost, team reaching late for tournament, etc. Allyuh can add some more.

« Reply #12 on: January 14, 2016, 01:24:17 AM »

I does really feel sorry for you yes. Yuh may want to read the original post again
thanks for your concern.

« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2016, 08:08:04 PM »
LIVE STREAMING of the 2016 Caribbean Cup draw

« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2016, 08:32:11 PM »

« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2016, 04:41:59 PM »
T&T gets Caribbean Cup first round bye.
By Shaun Fuentes (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team has received a first round bye for the 2016 Caribbean Cup.

T&T, along with the other three countries still involved in 2018 World Cup qualifier, Jamaica, Haiti and St Vincent/Grenadines, all received byes. T&T were runners up in 2012 and 2014.

The Draw for the competition was held poolside at Sugar Ridge Resort in Antigua on Saturday. Veteran sportscaster Lance Whittaker from SportsMax and Kirsy Rijo Charles Kullman, who performed bilingual duties, presided over the draw,  the CFU official site stated.

The seven-group Round 1 is as follows:-

Group 1 Antigua and Barbuda, St Kitts and Nevis and Aruba

Group 2 Grenada, St. Maarten and United States Virgin Islands (USVI)

Group 3 Cuba, Bermuda and French Guiana

Group 4 Barbados, Curacao and the Dominican Republic

Group 5 Guyana, Puerto Rico and Anguilla

Group 6 Guadeloupe, St Martin and Suriname

Group 7 Martinique, British Virgin Islands and Dominica

Round 1 will be played from March 21-29; Round 2 May 15-21; Round 3 October 3-11; Fifth Place Playoff November 7-15; and the finals are scheduled for May 2017.

Veteran sportscaster Lance Whittaker (left) and co-host Kirsy Rijo-Charles Kullman (right) are assisted with the Round 1 draw by FIFA Executive Committee Officer and CFU Executive Member Sonia Bien-Aime (second from left).

CFU General Secretary Neil Cochrane showed off his lighter side as the master of ceremonies for an audience that included TTFA President David John-Williams, CONCACAF Acting General Secretary Ted Howard, CFU President Gordon Derrick and his Executive Committee Members, as well as the presidents and general secretaries of the CFU Member Associations, Hon. Minister of Sports in Antigua and Barbuda EP Chet Greene, Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministry of Sports Senator Colin James and FIFA presidential candidates Jérôme Champagne and HRH Prince Ali Al Hussein.

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua (January 17, 2017) – The Caribbean Football Union (CFU) ended the two-day General Meeting in Antigua on Sunday with a commitment to regroup in the coming weeks, ahead of the CONCACAF Extraordinary Congress on February 25 and the FIFA Extraordinary Congress a day later.

The next CFU general meeting was occasioned by a motion from the floor on Saturday, which had the support of the membership, for a meeting to consider the draft of the FIFA/CONCACAF Statue Reforms to ensure that the membership comprehends the proposals and to seek consensus.

This came after a discourse and robust debate on aspects of the proposed reformation. CFU President Gordon Derrick later said, “The CFU is in support of the reforms. We want that to be clear. It is just one or two specific areas with which we have questions, and we will meet and discuss amongst our membership how we will address these.”

The January 16-17 meeting in Antigua also heard from three FIFA presidential candidates, Jérôme Champagne and Prince Ali Bin Al-Hussein on Saturday, and Gianni Infantino on Sunday.

« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2016, 04:50:09 PM »
Steeups. they should  not give we no friggin bye. We need to toil to earn we place. Where is the final being held?

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #17 on: January 18, 2016, 05:21:48 PM »
Finals going to be held in the US.

St. Lucia out of Caribbean Cup
« Reply #18 on: January 18, 2016, 05:34:08 PM »
St. Lucia out of Caribbean Cup
By Terry Finisterre (stlucianewsonline.com)

Saint Lucia is one of six Caribbean Football Union member territories not participating in the 2016-2017 Scotiabank Men’s Caribbean Cup.

A total of 25 regional teams are set to do battle starting in March 2016, with four receiving byes to the second round.

The draw for the qualification competition was held this weekend in Antigua-Barbuda, with fireworks, dancers, a fire-throwing limbo dancer and soca artiste Tian Winter. This tournament will determine which teams can play in the 2017 Caribbean Cup proper.

No official reason has been given from the Caribbean Football Union or the Saint Lucia Football Association. The Bahamas, Bonaire, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands are the other territories which will be absent from this competition.

Contested since 1989, the Caribbean Cup has only ever had five champions. Jamaica won the 2014 title, beating Trinidad and Tobago on penalties after a 0-0 draw in the final. Saint Lucia made the second round in 2014. The national team’s best-ever finish was in 1991, when a team including Earl Jean, Victorin Weeks and Trevor Cadette was third, beating Guyana in a playoff in Kingston, Jamaica.

« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2016, 05:43:06 PM »

where you get that from? I did not see anything written that it will be held in US.

Offline Trinidogg

« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2016, 07:09:28 PM »

where you get that from? I did not see anything written that it will be held in US.

Check here, the first photo has the draw, the dates, and the location for the finals. Not sure how to post the photo on here o else I would of.

https://twitter.com/caribbeanfooty

« Last Edit: January 18, 2016, 09:57:28 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2016, 05:28:15 AM »
May 18-24 will be in the US.

More info to come.

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2016, 01:19:14 PM »
why they change the format again???

« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2016, 07:56:36 PM »
Why the mc should it be held in the us?

« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2016, 08:23:09 PM »
Why the mc should it be held in the us?

So that we in foreign can see the games. And spend we hard earn money, so the CFU can make money, and then steal it.

« Reply #25 on: January 21, 2016, 06:09:36 PM »
Nowak brushes aside claims of disloyalty
By Neto Baptiste, Antigua Observer.

The former technical director for the Antigua & Barbuda Football Association (ABFA), Piotr Nowak has shot down claims made by his successor Rolston “Debu” Williams that he and other technical directors only sought to use the country as an opportunity to advance their careers.

Williams, following his appointment last week, praised the FA for promoting him, a local coach, to the top position. He added that for too long, national coaches have “worked our socks off” only to be overlooked in favour of outside applicants whose “hearts were not in Antigua’s football”.

But according to the former Polish professional player, he too worked his socks off and believes having a neutral coach better serves the national programme.

“When I started, I coached five or six teams by myself including on Saturdays with the grassroots girls and he (Rolston Williams) wasn’t there. The only coaches who helped me from the beginning were Pop-T (Vaughn James) and Three-fives (Rowan Isaac),” Nowak said.

“I think we should be proud of the ABFA. I think they made the right move in taking the guys (technical directors) because you have to be neutral and you have to be the liaison between them; you can’t take sides. Being the coach of one of the league teams, you basically fuel the speculations and rumours that you’re taking your better (club) players and some of the other players were left off.”

Nowak, who said he left on good terms, added that he enjoyed his stint with the ABFA.

Nowak: ABFA always supported me
By Neto Baptiste, Antigua Observer.

Former Technical Director Piotr Nowak said the Antigua & Barbuda Football Association (ABFA) always provided him with the tools needed to get the job done.

The Polish former professional player, who resigned as the association’s technical director over a week ago, said he was supported in all aspects of the job.

“The ABFA gave me everything I needed in terms of the love, the support and the belief about what we can do and, when I met with Mr President (Everton Gonsalves) and Mr Gordon Derrick the first time, the contract wasn’t even mentioned in the first round of the Caribbean Cup in Antigua two years ago,” he said.

“The first thing they asked me to look at was the players’ discipline, the commitment, the liaison between those two groups (local and overseas-based players) as well as increase the base players and look at the broader side of Antigua’s football,” he added.

Nowak, who has taken up duties with a professional club in Poland, said although they didn’t always agree, the coaching staff always found a way to work as a unit.

“I loved to work with them. We all had different ideas, but we always tried to find the better platform to work. I had great help from the manager Fernando Abraham, (who) was my right-hand (man). I could confess anything and talk to him, and we would always try to find the best solutions with Mr Derrick, the President, the board and the rest. Today it doesn’t matter,” he said.

The FA named national coach Rolston “Debu” Williams Acting Technical Director as they look towards the first round of the CFU senior men’s tournament slated to start in March.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 06:13:58 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #26 on: January 21, 2016, 10:37:34 PM »
CFU brings in penalty shoot outs in group games for its top Cup competition
Paul Nicholson, InsideWorldFootball

With FIFA election candidates lobbying for votes and a flamethrower as entertainment for the assembled, the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) focused on its own football activity at the weekend, for the first time holding a 'public' draw ceremony for the 2016 CFU Men's Caribbean Cup in Antigua.

CFU members had been invited for a series of confederation meetings with the highlight being the draw event for the revamped competition which will qualify four Caribbean teams for the 2017 Gold Cup – CONCACAF's blue riband event for national men's teams.

The CFU have significantly changed the competition structure that, for the first time, will see all matches played to a winning result. Teams that are tied at the end of extra time will go to penalty shoot-out.

CFU president Gordon Derrick said: "This is an important event for us. It will show how we are progressing across our whole region and how committed our people are. We have kept the competition within the international dates in the FIFA calendar and to do this we have created seven groups of three teams. Each country will have one home game and no-one will have to play more than twice in that international window."

The importance of the home game is that it allows member associations to make money from hosting a game in their own market with their own ticket sales and sponsors. Often the financial burden of one nation hosting a group has proved too great in a market desperate to increase its international match opportunities.

The first round will see the seven groups qualify 15 teams to a further five groups of three, with the introduction of St Vincent and the Grenadines at this stage. This second round will qualify five teams for a third round of eight with the introduction of Jamaica, Haiti and Trinidad and Tobago.

With every match having a winner the likelihood of teams being level on points and any measure of goal differentiation are unlikely, hence avoiding the need for any tie-breakers in qualification stages.

The top four teams qualify for the 2017 Gold Cup with the fifth placed team winning a play off with Central America's sixth placed team for a further Gold Cup place.

« Reply #27 on: January 21, 2016, 11:14:49 PM »
Bermuda chasing West Ham forward
By Stephen Wright, The Royal Gazette.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BW3fajjU8lg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BW3fajjU8lg</a>

Bermuda still hope West Ham United’s Djair Parfitt-Williams will choose to play for his country of birth and boost their Caribbean Cup qualification chances.

Andrew Bascome’s side have been drawn alongside Cuba and French Guiana in group three in the first round, which starts in March, and would love to include Parfitt-Williams in their squad.

The forward has featured twice for West Ham’s first team against Lusitanos of Andorra in the Europa League qualifiers last July, and was an unused substitute away to Aston Villa in the Barclays Premier League on Boxing Day.

Still only 19, Parfitt-Williams moved to California when he was eight and has previously indicated he would be keen to play for the United States rather than Bermuda.

Should he have a change of heart, Maurice Lowe, the Bermuda Football Association technical development director, said Parfitt-Williams would be “welcomed with open arms”.

“We wish Djair all the best and he has to make the best decision for his career,” Lowe said.

“But should he choose us then we would be tickled and enjoy that very much.

“We would love for him to opt to play for Bermuda, but he has to make the best and most-informed decision for his future.”

Parfitt-Williams has played a key role for West Ham’s development team this season and scored in their 3-2 win at home to Fulham in the Under-21 Premier League Cup last week.

Considered one of West Ham’s most exciting talents, he signed a two-year deal at the club after finishing as the top scorer for their under-18 side with nine goals last season.

He was playing for the San Jose Earthquakes academy when he was recommended to West Ham by Bermuda legend Clyde Best, who played for the East London club between 1968 and 1976.

Best, who had been contacted by the player’s grandfather Lynn Wade, said he immediately spotted something special in Parfitt-Williams, who was then aged 14, during a Somerset Trojans training session.

“He’s a good little player and West Ham rate him highly,” Best said.

“It’s only a matter of time before he gets a [Premier League] game for them. As long as he’s patient and hangs in there he will be OK.”

Asked whether he hoped Parfitt-Williams would pledge his international allegiance to Bermuda, Best said: “I try not to get involved in that sort of stuff. He would have to make that decision for himself. I’m not going to make it for him.”

The first-round qualifiers of the Caribbean Cup, featuring home and away legs, will be played between March 21 and 29, with the top two teams of the seven groups, plus the next best team, advancing to the second round in May.

The third round will take place in October, when Jamaica, Haiti, St Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago join the competition. The fifth-place play-off will be in November, with the finals to be held in May 2017.

The top four Caribbean teams will qualify for next year’s Concacaf Gold Cup, which will be held from July 9 to 30.

All qualifying matches will take place on Fifa calendar dates, which means Bermuda will have the availability of their top players Nahki Wells, Rai Simons and Reggie Lambe, whose clubs are obliged to release them for international duty.

Bermuda have not competed in the Caribbean Cup since 2012 when Bascome’s side, without several of their key players, failed to qualify from their group, losing 2-1 to Puerto Rico, 3-1 to host nation Haiti before finishing off with an 8-0 thrashing of St Martin.

« Reply #28 on: January 22, 2016, 05:53:21 AM »
Wright toTrain With Jamaican National Team
ScarletKnights.com

Rutgers forward Jason Wright will join the Jamaican national team for its team training camp being held January 18-24, 2016.

We are happy for Jason. He's a very hard working player and anyone loves the chance to represent their country,” said Rutgers head coach Dan Donigan. “We wish him well and we are very proud of his progress as a player. It's great for guys to represent their youth national teams, but every player wants to represent their full national team, it says a lot about his abilities as a player.”

Wright has been a member of both Jamaica's national U17 and U20 programs prior to arriving “On the Banks”. With the U20 program, he participated at the 2012 CFU Championships while as a member of the U17 team, Wright was the top scorer at the 2011 U17 CONCACAF Championships and played in the U17 World Cup in Mexico.

The Scarlet Knight leading scoring also joined the Jamaican national team last March as they took on the Cayman Islands National Senior Team in a friendly game in its preparation for qualifying for the 2016 Olympics in Rio.

Wright was the unanimous selection as Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year leading Rutgers with 31 points (13G, 5A). A Second Team All-American by the National Soccer Coaches of America Association (NSCAA), Third Team All-American by College Soccer News and Third Team Best XI honoree by TopDrawerSoccer, Wright topped the Big Ten stats and ranked among the top 10 nationally in goals (13), total points (31) and game winners (5).

Among the sophomore Scarlet Knights’ 2015 season highlights were RU's first hat trick since 2013, kicking off a streak of six consecutive matches in finding the back of the opponent net, and game-winning goals against three nationally ranked squads. Among his game-winning goals were No. 22 Indiana (Sept. 20), a golden goal at No. 25 Michigan (Oct. 10) and vs. No. 16 Ohio State (Oct. 25), which put Rutgers into first place in the Big Ten standings for the first time in school history.

Guyanese Head Coach Shabazz eager to get going for new season
« Reply #29 on: January 22, 2016, 07:27:44 AM »
Guyanese Head Coach Shabazz eager to get going for new season
By Franklin Wilson (Kaieteur News)

“I am very excited to get back on the field. So excited if I get a passport I might register myself as a player who knows.” The words of Head Coach of the Guyana Football Federation (GFF) Jamaal Shabazz who spoke with Kaieteur Sport on his plans for the new season.

The former Trinidad and Tobago National Player who is on his third stint – a two-year contract which was signed in March 2015 – as Head Coach of Guyana’s flagship senior team, the Golden Jaguars is anxiously awaiting the recommencement of training for the senior team.

Guyana has been drawn in Group 5 of the Caribbean Football Union 2016 Men’s Caribbean Cup which also features Puerto Rico and Anguilla.

Shabazz noted that it is important for the national team to get back into a training routine whilst playing matches against regional and international teams since it’s the only way they can develop and be competitive.

He shared his view on the Men’s Caribbean Cup draw: “I like the draw. Puerto Rico is a tricky bunch whose programme is emerging well and we must ensure a good preparation. While Anguilla is lesser known but I remember when Guyana was little known as well.”

In order to put together a well oiled unit, Shabazz informed that training will commence next week.

“We plan to start training next week and the door is open again to everyone once they are prepared to be disciplined and conform. The only idiot in the squad must be me and everyone knows I can be quite stupid at times I will not tolerate anyone trying to be disruptive. But all is starting on a clean sheet again.”

Zooming in on advancement to the later rounds of the Caribbean championship, the no-nonsense Shabazz posited that progression in the group depends on the level of preparation the team is afforded.

“We must have facilities and equipment; you cannot put the cart ahead of the horse. If you want to make an omelette you need eggs.”

Round 1 of the CFU competition will be contested from March 21-29; Round 2 May 15-21; Round 3 October 3-11; Fifth Place Playoff November 7-15; and the finals are scheduled for May 2017.

The inaugural Stag Elite League sponsored by Ansa McAl saw the Genesis (first half) contested in the latter part of 2015 and was won by Slingerz FC, the youngest of all the competing clubs. The second half, called the Finale is expected to kick off shortly.

Shabazz offered his take on the importance of the Stag Elite League: “The Elite League is the most vital part of our preparation for CFU. It gives the staff a window to shop and the players an avenue to showcase themselves. I can only wonder what IF, if we had this Stag Elite League two years ago.”