March 28, 2024, 05:25:15 AM

Author Topic: Inniss considers T&T but wants Birchall to help with transition.  (Read 6158 times)

Inniss considers T&T but wants Birchall to help with transition.
By Inshan Mohammed.

On-loan Port Vale central defender Ryan Inniss wouldn't mind suiting up for Trinidad and Tobago but wants Christopher Birchall alongside him to help make the transition a comfortable one.

The towering 6-5 defender has been training with the Valiants for three weeks after recovering from a shoulder injury but has had to come through a number of training sessions to satisfy his parent club Crystal Palace.

Soca Warriors Online (SWO) caught up with former T&T midfield sensation Christopher Birchall who revealed some mix news for the Soca Warriors team manager to chew on: “I've spoken to Inniss before and continue to try and influence him to play for T&T but he needs time as it's a huge decision for him.”

“He also has strong interest from Ireland U-21s. Just like me, it's a daunting prospect, as he's never stepped foot in the country. He loves trying to find and learn all about the T&T culture and the memories of the World Cup that he's learned through my eyes and my journey has made him feel closer.”

“I know there's a new president there now, maybe he could make things possible for Inniss because he's a good player and would surely add some stability to the T&T team for many years to come because he is still very young and must be groomed the right way.”

“He said if he was to come over to Trinidad he'd want me to come along with him and shadow him and make that transition a little easier, but would surely consider giving T&T a try if this becomes a reality.”

“I had Clayton Ince and Carlos Edwards when I first arrived and without then there's no way I would have settled in and I know having someone around is a small thing but massive in the scheme of things.”

“Just that I feel like If the opportunity came up I'd love to give back to Trinidad and Tobago football and help with the national team in whatever capacity if wanted, added Birchall.”

Meanwhile, Port Vale manager Rob Page told the Sentinel: “He was swayed by the fact that Inniss has only played one reserve game for Vale since his return from injury, because last Wednesday's fixture against Wrexham was washed out. Also, we were off the back of two wins and two clean sheets. So, it was a little bit hard for him, but he is a great lad.”

“He was in there with the boys before and after the game, and on the bench with us. He is a terrific character, ended Page.”

Copyrights of the Soca Warriors Online - Any press using the following article written by Inshan Mohammed are welcome to do so providing they reveal the source and writer. Furthermore, no portion of this article may be copied without proper credit as well.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 07:39:21 AM by Flex »

Re: Inniss considers T&T but wants Birchall to help with transition.
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2016, 08:51:59 AM »
Flex, you on a role, like you working for the TTFA now? You more effective that all of them there.

I hope we do all in our power to get this kid.

He seems like a good prospect and still only 20 years old.

« Last Edit: January 21, 2016, 08:55:47 AM by Star Child »

Offline jason23

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2016, 08:57:06 AM »
i would glad welcome back memum
and this inniss guy..!! hope he is talented as everyone is rating him 2be

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2016, 09:24:33 AM »
How good is this player? Don't tell me he good because he playing overseas. Any videos of him playing? How is he performing for his club for the season thus far? Does he deserve an automatic spot in the T&T roster?

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2016, 10:18:29 AM »
Seems to be very young in terms of his  career stages but could be one that we can develop in the future and add to our backline

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2016, 10:39:10 AM »
A 6' 5" centre back sounds like a good thing to have. Even if just as a squad player. I'm assuming of course that he's good at handling crosses into the area.  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2016, 10:47:21 AM »
How good is this player? Don't tell me he good because he playing overseas. Any videos of him playing? How is he performing for his club for the season thus far? Does he deserve an automatic spot in the T&T roster?

He's only 20, come on, he can develop into a top player under Hart.

« Reply #7 on: January 21, 2016, 12:37:15 PM »

Is that an appropriate benchmark?

« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2016, 12:39:56 PM »

In what capacity?

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2016, 02:36:28 PM »
what about his dad .....does he have family on the island ???

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2016, 02:46:06 PM »
Doubt it. And if he does, it's probably not anyone that he knows well enough to feel comfortable with. Otherwise he wouldn't be looking to Birchall for company.

« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2016, 03:38:25 PM »

Just the other day I was telling Pat, Birchall should train with the team. He can play a solid mid def. role, is good on the right, can shoot and once again we have depth in defence.

He is playing a higher lever of football than half the players presently on the NT.

« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2016, 04:38:08 PM »
I totally agree with VB.

Birchall is the same age as Kenwyne and can still add a lot to this team, he have de experience and the attitude to help them on and off the field and even in training.

Birchall and Inniss should both be called for T&T next set of games.

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2016, 04:44:16 PM »

Just the other day I was telling Pat, Birchall should train with the team. He can play a solid mid def. role, is good on the right, can shoot and once again we have depth in defence.

He is playing a higher lever of football than half the players presently on the NT.

Birchall is currently sidelined with a knee injury. In any event, what we really need is creativity in the midfield. We already have Hyland, Boucaud, George, and young Hackshaw on defensive duty.

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2016, 07:07:35 AM »
Birchall retired.

But he is willing to pay his way as an escort for Inniss because I can't see the TTFA doing it, then why not.

I say this kid is a very good prospect and have a long future.

Time to cap him.

« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2016, 02:19:30 PM »
it would be nice to see him in a friendly. Why not ask Shabazz for a friendly? Bring this kid and Deleon to see what they got. Birchall gave TT his best. I think he can contribute a lot in the future. Coaching, scouting, management. But to say he can play in the middle, is not wise. We have defensive and holding mids already. We need offensive midfield-forwards badly. Allyuh did not see the last game against Haiti?
« Last Edit: January 22, 2016, 02:26:08 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2016, 02:34:59 PM »
Birchall retired.

But he is willing to pay his way as an escort for Inniss because I can't see the TTFA doing it, then why not.

I say this kid is a very good prospect and have a long future.

Time to cap him.

But this is based on what? Any video? Did you see him play, tell us what he is good at specifically?

« Reply #17 on: September 18, 2017, 05:10:04 AM »
English-born Inniss makes solid return for Colchester.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

English-born defender Ryan Inniss, who is eligible to play for T&T through his father being a T&T-born, has made a solid return from injury during his loan spell at English League Two club Colchester United. The former England Under 17 player stated “It’s great to be considered by Trinidad,” Inniss said recently.

The 22-year-old, on loan from Crystal Palace for the rest of the season, mastered his team’s three-man defence in the 3-1 win over Crawley Town on Saturday.

“I’m so excited about this season,” said. Inniss.

“I think the club is in a false position. Once you get a run of games, confidence grows, especially in young lads. When we get on a run, I’m sure that we will feel unbeatable.

“Playing like we did in the first half (against Crawley), this club should be at a higher level than this. And we need to rectify that.” Innis added. He relished his new role as a sweeper, a position he could well make his own this season. “It’s new to me, playing there, but it saved my legs a little, although perhaps we dropped a little too deep in the second half.

« Reply #18 on: September 19, 2017, 02:20:10 AM »
Lord knows we need a solid central defender.

« Reply #19 on: September 19, 2017, 03:42:38 PM »
Lord knows we need a solid central defender.
A......solid central defender how about A whole back line. that defense we have is a big joke and on any of those five teams in the hex those guys would not even make the bench squad not even bateau and mikeil who happens to be our best defenders.

No hunger in Paradise Doc. (while it's still available)
« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2018, 11:26:14 AM »
Here's the link

https://www.footbie.com/video/no-hunger-in-paradise-documentary-bt-sport-films-2018

Got taken down from youtube this week.
Not sure how long it will last on this site

Nice doc on the sharks of youth football who snap up players way too young

Ryan Inniss is featured in it around the 46min mark

he's only 22 and on loan from crystal palace.
We ever had feedback from him ? just curious

Online maxg

« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2018, 12:49:36 PM »
Here's the link

https://www.footbie.com/video/no-hunger-in-paradise-documentary-bt-sport-films-2018

Got taken down from youtube this week.
Not sure how long it will last on this site

Nice doc on the sharks of youth football who snap up players way too young

Ryan Inniss is featured in it around the 46min mark

he's only 22 and on loan from crystal palace.
We ever had feedback from him ? just curious
Very interesting piece. Thanks for the link

« Reply #22 on: May 30, 2019, 09:42:05 AM »
Do we know if Ryan is still interested in playing for us? With Bateau out he is a viable option.

« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2020, 07:12:43 AM »
Ryan Inniss: Hoping to play for Trinidad and Tobago after Covid-19 is over
By Ryan Inniss (pushinglimits.net)

The Trinidad and Tobago gaffer reached out to me over the past two months while I had been playing at Newport County on loan from Crystal Palace.  I was over the moon really because this link is obviously dated back a few years stemming from Chris Birchall finding out about my nationality when I was on loan at Port Vale. He had been telling me all about the history of the nation and the history of him playing and this sounded fantastic. It was something I was always interested in but hadn’t reached around to actually looking into it.

I had played in the England youth teams when I was younger but I knew the possibility of playing for Trinidad and Tobago was there. I was always open minded. Over the seasons that followed the interest from previous managers of Trinidad was a bit stop start for me and then I had injuries and loan spells here and there. I wasn’t playing regularly but of course the possibility remained on my mind.

I was definitely over the moon when the new gaffer contacted me this time around. Now the ball has been in motion and it’s been rolling with a lot more momentum. In regards to the passport I think we’re nearly over the line. Obviously with everything going on at the moment I’ve just got to put that to the back burner realising that everyone’s health and safety comes first.

Playing for Trinidad and Tobago is something that I’m really excited about. There is a massive project on the way from what I’d gathered from the manger. I feel privileged to even be considered because even though things haven’t been great with the team in recent times, the fact is they are a country that has gone to a World Cup and have produced some great players over the years who’ve played in the Premiership. Hopefully I can feature for Trinidad and Tobago which will definitely make my family proud.

On a personal level it has also brought me and my grandad closer which is something I will cherish because that side of my family has been a little bit disjointed. My grandad has been talking to me about the history of the nation and how he grew up and things like that.

It’s something that I’ve wanted to explore but never really had the courage to  do or should I say  it just didn’t happen earlier. I was available for the games in Canada and I was really excited about it. I was disappointed to not getting around for those if I had been selected and then get the chance to play once my passport allowed it to happen.

The Covid period has been difficult for all footballers to take and then the added loss of the chance to link up with Trinidad and Tobago on an international call up has made it an even tougher one.

I’m working hard and I’m using the exercise time we are allowed here in the UK to get some runs in and a little bit of cycling. I’m trying to vary up the runs because it can get a bit boring just running at a steady pace. So I’ve added some sharp stuff in there with some box to box pitch runs. I’m quite fortunate to have a park nearby that is regularly maintained with lines painted so I can measure out my box to box runs. I’ve tackled a few hills which have been tough but I’m enjoying it and working has hard as I can.  You just have to keep on top of things because if you have a few days off then it becomes tough to get back into it.

My season so far before the lock down has been somewhat turbulent. It is something I’m trying to ride out of my game in terms of discipline. I’ve had a yellow cards and a couple of red cards, one which I felt was fairly harsh but that’s the game. Definitely being around the gaffer and some of the pros in the Trinidad and Tobago team is definitely something I can learn from with more bodies, more minds and more brains to pick. The different cultures that will be culminated together hopefully can be another great part of this. The gaffer has got a wealth of experience and I’ll be looking forward to pick his brain also and he will obviously be looking to test us.

The Covid period has been difficult for all footballers to take and then the added loss of the chance to link up with Trinidad and Tobago on an international call up has made it an even tougher one.

I’m working hard and I’m using the exercise time we are allowed here in the UK to get some runs in and a little bit of cycling. I’m trying to vary up the runs because it can get a bit boring just running at a steady pace. So I’ve added some sharp stuff in there with some box to box pitch runs. I’m quite fortunate to have a park nearby that is regularly maintained with lines painted so I can measure out my box to box runs. I’ve tackled a few hills which have been tough but I’m enjoying it and working has hard as I can.  You just have to keep on top of things because if you have a few days off then it becomes tough to get back into it.

My season so far before the lock down has been somewhat turbulent. It is something I’m trying to ride out of my game in terms of discipline. I’ve had a yellow cards and a couple of red cards, one which I felt was fairly harsh but that’s the game. Definitely being around the gaffer and some of the pros in the Trinidad and Tobago team is definitely something I can learn from with more bodies, more minds and more brains to pick. The different cultures that will be culminated together hopefully can be another great part of this. The gaffer has got a wealth of experience and I’ll be looking forward to pick his brain also and he will obviously be looking to test us.

« Reply #24 on: May 13, 2020, 11:15:27 AM »
Could be a handy option on the wing.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #25 on: May 14, 2020, 04:04:58 PM »
isn't he a centre back?

« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2020, 11:00:14 AM »
isn't he a centre back?

Yes, I am particularly thick, as I mixed him with Ryan Telfer.

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2020, 06:42:29 PM »
isn't he a centre back?

Yes, I am particularly thick, as I mixed him with Ryan Telfer.
lol okay. Telfer is already on the team