April 29, 2024, 09:53:32 AM

Author Topic: W/Cup ban threat facing TTFA over Pellerud.  (Read 1813 times)

W/Cup ban threat facing TTFA over Pellerud.
« on: December 01, 2015, 02:56:24 AM »
W/Cup ban threat facing TTFA over Pellerud.
T&T Express Reports.

FIFA Manager of Member Associations, Luca Nicola has warned the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association they must off its debt to former women's team coach Even Pellerud or face disqualification from the qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

Nicola, who was in T&T to observe the TTFA elections on Sunday, told the Annual General Meeting there was a decision taken by the FIFA disciplinary committee on July 23 that said if the TTFA does not settle the outstanding debt with Pellerud w, which he said was about US$200,000, within 120 days, T&T will be disqualified from the qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar. Pellerud coached here from 2008-2012.

“There is too much talent in this country so we don't want to have that,” Nicola said.

“The TTFA has to understand that this debt has to be settled immediately. The deadline has already passed on the 23rd of November, so the TTFA will have to find a solution and settle the debt with former national coach Pellerud as soon as possible to avoid any repercussions on the World Cup qualifiers for Qatar,” he explained.

He further stated that, “as far as I was informed, the disciplinary committee said the deadline is set but the suspension for the qualifiers for 2022 will only take effect if coach Pellerud requires such. The coach has not requested the disciplinary committee to take the measure of suspending T&T from the qualifiers for 2022.”

Another concern FIFA has with the TTFA is the organisation's lack of audited accounts.

“One concern is the accounts that have not been audited as yet. We understand there are a lot of challenges relating to having audited accounts but for TTFA to be eligible for FIFA development programmes, meaning FIFA money. We have new compliance criteria meaning we need the audited accounts of the member association of the TTFA and the minutes of last congress,” Nicola said.

“For the time being they are not eligible for FIFA money. There is debt so FIFA money becomes very important so I will encourage the incoming leadership to provide us with the audited account as soon as possible,” he added.

« Last Edit: January 26, 2016, 05:01:30 PM by Flex »

Re: Re: TTFA News Thread.
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2015, 06:20:30 AM »
Not paying Latas didn't come with the prospect of no WC participation ... and that involved significantly more $££$$.

But for the self-inflicted gunshot wound it would be for unpaid ex-NT players/coaches to exercise the kind of discretion said to be in Pellerud's hands, we should be thankful to be in this qualifying campaign?!

Sort out Pellerud quick. 200K is a high price to pay for waiting til 2026, assuming reporting accuracy.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 06:23:00 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2015, 04:40:40 PM »
Not paying Latas didn't come with the prospect of no WC participation ... and that involved significantly more $££$$.

Why are you people always quick to make these shallow comparisons?  The only reason Latas' situation was different was because he didn't take the dispute before FIFA's Disciplinary Committee... he went straight to court.

« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2015, 07:30:07 PM »

Why are you people always quick to make these shallow comparisons?  The only reason Latas' situation was different was because he didn't take the dispute before FIFA's Disciplinary Committee... he went straight to court.

FULLY AWARE!!! Try reading between the lines paragraphs from your diving board at the 'deep' end.

The underlying point of significance is that the debt most pernicious and inimical to the federation's interest stands unsatisfied and unresolved. Even in ankle-deep water, this reality stands to drown football's future.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2015, 07:36:13 PM by asylumseeker »

Re: W/Cup ban threat facing TTFA over Pellerud.
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2016, 05:12:59 PM »
Keeping an eye on this.

Hoping the government helps out.

« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2016, 09:49:15 AM »
Audited accounts!! Umm hmm.
No accounts, then no FIFA funds. No funds then no payment of Pellerud, no payment then T&T banned!
The final true existential threat to TTFA, & by extension, T&T football . After several years of this white collar crime, if no honest accounts produced in the next few days, in February, then it's all over for T&T, for TTFA, for BraveHart, for Barber, for Anton, for Field of Dreams productions, for all those owed money by Jackulito, Scampito & uncle Tim, for the Proleague, for socawarriors.net, for Flex, Tallman, Sam, and all those who do really care about the football
Meanwhile we raising money for Scampito's house. Nice eh?
All over, period. Reflect deeply people how this came to pass as we prepare to witness the meltdown of many posters here.
Sam, get ready as I worry most for you.
Folks, let me say in advance, it was nice knowing you all.

To BraveHart,

Thanks for letting us live the dream and good luck with your future coaching endeavors. You were right not sign a contract with this bacchanal.

Yours respectfully,

Dreamer
« Last Edit: January 27, 2016, 04:40:41 PM by dreamer »

Online Tallman

Pellerud paid
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2016, 05:35:46 AM »
Pellerud paid…John-Williams confident things will improve financially for TTFA
TTFA Media

Former National Women’s Coach Even Pellerud has been paid in full by the new TTFA administration so this country no longer faces sanctions which would have prevented the Men’s Senior National Team from participating in the 2022 World Cup qualification. Pellerud received his final sum of US$160,146 (one hundred and sixty thousand and one hundred and forty-one), yesterday.

FIFA had threatened sanctions against the TTFA for monies owed to Pellerud outstanding three years now. The new administration paid fifty thousand (US) dollars to Pellerud within two months of assuming office, TTFA president David John-Williams said.

“The Pellerud debt is out of the way, we started to address Anton Corneal’s situation and most importantly we have done the audits so that the TTFA is now compliant with FIFA funding rules, so we can access FIFA funds again,” John-Williams said.

“Every day we receive new letters from old debts but we continue to ask for patience and understanding from our creditors as we strive to clear our debt”.

While the TTFA strives to get back on its feet, John-Williams insisted that football will not be a burden to the Government as it was in the past.

“We have arranged three high level international matches without asking Government for one cent to fund them. The opponents we have lined up should make the National Coach very happy,” stated John-Williams.

Some months ago Men’s Senior Team Head Coach Stephen Hart queried the lack of high level international matches. With games lined up against Peru (May 23), Uruguay (May 27) and China (June 3), John-Williams has delivered in a big way.

“With us missing out on Copa America Centenario, there was a need for quality warm up games. The fact that we have been able to negotiate the trips without being a burden on tax payers brings a certain level of pride to our efforts,” he added.

Referring to the financial situation that his Executive met when they took office, the TTFA President was confident that better days are ahead.

“We met a number of financial arrangements, without documentation to support the commitments, but what baffled us the most was the absence of any projected income to sustain said commitments.

“While we welcome Government’s help we strongly believe football has the ability to sustain itself.

John-Williams continued, “While the National Men’s Senior team is the focus of attention, within the next few months, we want to do some very big things for women’s football, youth football and coach education. Thus the TTFA is currently engaging some major sponsors to address the whole question of youth development on a national scale.

“Football provides a positive, alternative for the development of our youth, male and female, not just as players but also as fully rounded citizens,” the TTFA President ended.

« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2016, 08:15:44 AM »
" Pellerud received his final sum of US$160,146 (one hundred and sixty thousand and one hundred and forty-one), yesterday."
  :laugh:
No wonder we have so much money problems.

ps: Yes I liking the process, even if there might be disagreements on a few fronts, as long as we moving forward.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2016, 08:18:38 AM by maxg »

« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2016, 08:52:15 AM »
" Pellerud received his final sum of US$160,146 (one hundred and sixty thousand and one hundred and forty-one), yesterday."
  :laugh:
No wonder we have so much money problems.

ps: Yes I liking the process, even if there might be disagreements on a few fronts, as long as we moving forward.

;D ... Keep the change.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2016, 09:36:55 AM »
This is great news, pleased to hear Anton is next.

Of most importance is the audits are complete, have they been published? Are they on the website?

« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2016, 05:15:49 AM »
DJW handling his business very well I must say.

« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2016, 10:44:19 AM »
from what I was told, it was Fifa which paid the money. It appears that fifa may be releasing monies that they held back from ttfa.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2016, 10:45:51 AM by Deeks »