April 26, 2024, 07:43:23 PM

Author Topic: Might have an opportunity to meet with an EPL scout, suggestions forward  (Read 1429 times)

Afternoon people,

Sorry I've been absent for a while - school tends to bury me for periods of the year.

Basically I might get an opportunity to talk to scouts based at an EPL team, who would be interested in hearing my suggestion of players from the Caribbean. I'd like/need your opinions on any of the créme de la créme of the Pro League and Super Leagues (both of them). SSFL wouldn't hurt either.

Obviously I have some ideas myself as I try to keep abreast of things from afar (still keeping T&T up-to-date in Football Manager), but tbh there are a whole bunch of well-informed people on the forum who see and know a hell lot more than me, so it'd be nice to have some ideas and discussion.

Side note: this thread could double as players we expect to make an impact in the next 5/8 years.

Call your selections, Tiresais. Even non-Trinbagonians. Who yuh like?

Sorry for late come-back. Due to WP regulations, not sure I have anyone who could clear that hurdle yet, but if the U20 team do well there could definitely be some movements on that front.

Here's a scatter-gun approach - players I'm loosely tracking progress-wise.

John-Paul Rochford (my knowledge in SSFL is poor)
Tyrel Emmanuel
Levi Garcia (obviously)
Devaughn and Donovan Williams (Bahamas)
Nickensen Paul (Aruba)
Nicholas Dillon
Nathaniel Garcia
Alvin Jones
Jomal Williams
Kadeem Corbin (Obviously)
Brent Sam
Dimitri Apai (Surinam)
Neil Benjamin Jr.
Ranaldo Bailey (Barbados)
Anfernee Frederick (Dominica)
Otev Lawrence (Lucian)
Jabari Mitchell
Shannon Gomez (now on loan at NYC)
Matthew Woo Ling (been on watch list for years)

Lots of Jamaicans, but there's a specialist Jamaican scout heading there and he'd know a hell of a lot more.

Really, the best prospects have been nicked up by the MLS in the past year. Shannon Gomez was gonna be my strongest pick.

P.S.
Maybe Isaiah Hudson?
« Last Edit: April 21, 2016, 01:10:10 PM by Tiresais »

Won't potentially meet scouts until Saturday afternoon, so any suggestions or incredulity at names are absolutely welcome

I'll put in a plug for Ricardo John, he's a forward at Central. Not only he's still young but he's very disciplined as well, you can keep an eye on him as a striker who can develop from the exposure.

Will watch!

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Update from the field - man city's training ground is insane. Ultra up to date. Stoke deserved something from the game.

Their scouting set up seems excellent. Lots of use of data. Confirmed what I expected - we don't even have the simplest info available for scouts so we will rarely get looked at. We need publicly published biographical data and appearances for all products league games. Youth leagues would also help. They need to be accurate and up to date.

Can't say too much as it was confidential stuff, but in regions out if their focus they use data to identify is its worth sending a scout there. Shannon gomez was found the old fashion way and his personality, character and attitude to the game are what drew the coach in, but in my opinion he might have been picked up within a couple months of his debut if we had published and reliable data. They scout for all 4 city teams (Manchester, Melbourne, NYC and yokohama) so there's real potential for our players if we can take the data step.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: April 23, 2016, 11:07:40 AM by Tiresais »