March 28, 2024, 06:16:24 AM

Author Topic: Tobago's contribution to our football  (Read 6379 times)

Tobago's contribution to our football
« on: April 17, 2016, 07:59:38 AM »
Why is there not a consistent formal protest from the TFA concerning Tobago's marginalization in football? This has been going on for donkey years, and other than grumbling on the ground level, I have not heard or seen any constructive attempts to solve this dilemma. I think the treatment is cruel for aspiring Tobagonian footballers, and truly deprives our nation from strengthening our local player pool. From what I've heard, some of this is self-inflicted, at least with Tobago's non-participation in the Pro League, but at the national level, Tobago never seems to be given adequate consideration in terms of scouting.

I know we have some people on here who are formally involved with football in Tobago, so maybe you all can shed some light.

Re: Tobago's contribution to our football
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2016, 08:23:32 AM »
Absolute travesty. Defies common sense and conventional wisdom.

Offline Gazza

« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2016, 11:34:36 AM »
 >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( Just as i read the article on the national u 17. i was about to comment and saw this post.  So there are no Bagonians on that team. Hmm SMH. That always happens when there is a local coach at the helm at youth level. Only execption is Anton Corneal. The majority of Trinidadian coaches are simply incompetent and biases

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2016, 12:23:09 PM »
Tobago is responsible for the condition of Tobago Football. A group is not allowing younger energetic and knowledge people to move into leadership, the old boy network killing Tobago Football.

Regarding the U-17, 26 players the Coach have a lot of work ahead of him. There are some exceptional players in the 26 selected but too many of them have poor first touch requiring serious technical deficiencies. I hope the Coach consults with past U-17 Coaches to get a clear understanding of the technical and tactical requirements at CFU and CONCACAF level.

Offline Richard G.

• Ah en new...jus doh post as often as oda people
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2016, 05:17:08 PM »
There are a numerous reasons Tobago's football product has been in such poor condition. It would take too long to go over all the issues. What I can say is many of these issues are being addressed...it will take some time but I do expect Tobago's (youth in particular) football to demand more respect in the coming years.

Lots of work to be...and is being done.

T&T first. Any other country comes a very distant 2nd.

www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg2
www.soundcloud.com/dcoachg3

« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2016, 05:54:31 PM »
cause we iz ah set ah ass....

« Reply #6 on: April 17, 2016, 06:15:46 PM »
There are a numerous reasons Tobago's football product has been in such poor condition. It would take too long to go over all the issues. What I can say is many of these issues are being addressed...it will take some time but I do expect Tobago's (youth in particular) football to demand more respect in the coming years.

Can you state exactly what is the work you are talking about?

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #7 on: April 17, 2016, 06:48:58 PM »

Girls U-15
Boys U-17 and U-20 preparations.

The fact that there is training going on for these age groups (not so much the U-20 with the limited time) is a significant departure from the norm. Continued training at the 'highest level' of youth football on the island for 20-25 players should start to bring about some hint of a mental change from what is normal to something more 'professional'. Just remember...these things take time.

There are other things happening behind the doors.

« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2016, 07:15:42 PM »

Girls U-15
Boys U-17 and U-20 preparations.

The fact that there is training going on for these age groups (not so much the U-20 with the limited time) is a significant departure from the norm. Continued training at the 'highest level' of youth football on the island for 20-25 players should start to bring about some hint of a mental change from what is normal to something more 'professional'. Just remember...these things take time.

There are other things happening behind the doors.
Thanks! Good to hear that!

« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2016, 07:57:25 PM »
Soccer in Tobago is on a path that leads nowhere. We're losing players faster than we can find/make them. Don't have a solution, but there needs to be a foundation i.e. opportunities for youths in a formal setting as youth league(s) for starters

« Reply #10 on: April 17, 2016, 08:11:07 PM »
Soccer in Tobago is on a path that leads nowhere. We're losing players faster than we can find/make them. Don't have a solution, but there needs to be a foundation i.e. opportunities for youths in a formal setting as youth league(s) for starters

Meaning what? They're abandoning the game or going elsewhere?

« Reply #11 on: April 17, 2016, 08:19:40 PM »

Meaning what? They're abandoning the game or going elsewhere?
Yep. They're leaving the game and falling into a black hole.

« Reply #12 on: April 18, 2016, 12:08:14 AM »
I've always believed that every year we should have a local derby. Trinidad vs Tobago.

Have the game alternate from both islands from year to year.

It would be a kind of quasi national training session, opportunity for scouting and some money at the gate.

« Reply #13 on: April 18, 2016, 04:54:31 AM »
Trinidad v Tobago on the field is a distractor. It's also not training. Unless the idea is an exhibition match (different purpose).

Players from all over the country should be integrated into all elements of squad selection and preparation ... without reference to geography. Otherwise, lehme go from Mayaro to Princes Town and pick an XI to play "Trinidad". How useful would that be bearing in mind the ultimate objective?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #14 on: April 19, 2016, 07:28:40 AM »
Asylumseeker you are totally correct, TvT as an exhibition has value but his completely useless to evaluate players for a national team. All boys/gorls should be afforded the equal access, opportunity and procedure. The existence of this TvT as a mechanism is inherently biased.

Offline Jay10

« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2016, 07:13:54 AM »
A national league will solve this. There was an article some time before about this.

How difficult is it for us to have zonal u15 and u17 teams with competent coaches in training year round?

« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2016, 09:23:06 AM »
A national league will solve this. There was an article some time before about this.

How difficult is it for us to have zonal u15 and u17 teams with competent coaches in training year round?

Everything in TNT difficult

« Reply #17 on: April 21, 2016, 09:36:35 AM »
Ent they hire Bertille St Clair for this.

Or he just scratching he toetie in Pigeon Point.

« Reply #18 on: April 21, 2016, 09:49:06 AM »
Ent they hire Bertille St Clair for this.

Or he just scratching he toetie in Pigeon Point.

« Reply #19 on: April 21, 2016, 12:10:54 PM »
Tobago needs a youth league.....winners play Trinidad winners(north,south,east and west) similar but Apart from school football. Plus zonal reams picked and playing against each other. Thais will fuel senior competition in the same format.

« Reply #20 on: April 23, 2016, 09:22:53 PM »
With u20and17 coaches preparing to come to Tobago to scout players. A practice match between the u17 and u20 was today cancelled because the car park of the Dwight Yorke stadium was rented out for model car racing 😞😞😞😞😞

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2016, 07:07:34 AM »
Rastaman

The match was played in Bon Accord, U20 won.

« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2016, 08:04:44 AM »
Rastaman

The match was played in Bon Accord, U20 won.

Tobago under 20 ???

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2016, 09:13:04 AM »
With u20and17 coaches preparing to come to Tobago to scout players. A practice match between the u17 and u20 was today cancelled because the car park of the Dwight Yorke stadium was rented out for model car racing 😞😞😞😞😞

Hardgo dey Rastaman. I was to call you and got caught up in waiting, relocating and refereeing the match.

TFA U-20 3 vs TFA U-17 2

« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2016, 02:39:34 PM »

Hardgo dey Rastaman. I was to call you and got caught up in waiting, relocating and refereeing the match.

TFA U-20 3 vs TFA U-17 2

if that is the score ..... the  Tobago under 17 may have a few good players
« Last Edit: April 24, 2016, 03:19:51 PM by Trini _2018 »

« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2016, 01:56:45 PM »

TFA U-20 3 vs TFA U-17 2

if that is the score ..... the  Tobago under 17 may have a few good players
Yes there are good players. if they do get a proper chance to impress the National Coach is the real question..has not happened yet.

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2016, 06:00:01 PM »
The Tobago U20 supposed to play the boys from Trinidad this weekend. Is it confirmed?

Offline Richard G.

« Reply #27 on: April 26, 2016, 06:56:08 AM »
As far as I know....yes. Venue TBD

« Reply #28 on: April 26, 2016, 06:59:35 AM »
Confirmed game without a venue?

« Reply #29 on: April 26, 2016, 08:20:48 AM »
Confirmed game without a venue?

this is football in trinidad