April 27, 2024, 12:45:09 AM

Author Topic: They call it "World Music"  (Read 3684 times)

Offline Sentinel

• Adapt, Improvise and Overcome
They call it "World Music"
« on: October 27, 2005, 01:56:29 PM »
Can anyone tell me why it is that Soca is not categorized as a stand alone genre in music?

Are there special prerequisites to "qualify" as such?

Just curious....does anyone have an answer?

Luv U T&T!

Offline Israel

Re: They call it "World Music"
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2005, 02:11:05 PM »
not sure, but rumour has it that there is a soca grammy slot from next year but i can't confirm it.
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2005, 01:23:16 PM »
When they want to keep your music in the 3rd world bracket they class it as world music.

We need to educate these people who trying to keep our music back that its called soca, ah we christen it so and ah soca its called, we do not accept other names for our music sorry!

Maybe our artist need to keep emphasising the name soca in interviews and in their songs to eductae these people! They also try to class it as dancehall and reggae when they are ready and we should keep correct them rather than accepting these oppressive labels.  8)

« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2005, 07:05:40 PM »
IF ANYBODY HAS AN IPOD THERE IS A RADIO STATION AND ITS CALLED SOCA.NICE MUSIC TOO

JUST DOWNLOAD I-TUNES ON APPLE.COM

« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2005, 12:27:22 PM »
big up to morvant man for knowing things bout i pod :devil:

« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2005, 04:02:20 PM »
IF ANYBODY HAS AN IPOD THERE IS A RADIO STATION AND ITS CALLED SOCA.NICE MUSIC TOO

JUST DOWNLOAD I-TUNES ON APPLE.COM

oh really...now that i didn't know.
thanks sir

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2005, 04:22:38 PM »
sound like yuh being sarcastic family