March 28, 2024, 04:30:50 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)  (Read 25467 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)
« on: September 07, 2016, 05:40:32 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying T&T vs Costa Rica game in T&T on the 11th of November 2016 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

BeIN Sports (5:30 EST).
NBC Universo (5:30 EST).

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders

Jelani Peters (W Connection), Aubrey David (FC Dallas), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Kruoja Pakruojis), Sheldon Bateau (FC Krylia Sovetov Samara), Yohance Marshall (Murciélagos FC).

Midfielders

Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada), Neveal Hackshaw (Charleston Battery), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar), Marcus Joseph (Central FC), Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC), Ataulla Guerra (Charleston Battery).

Forwards

Kenwyne Jones (Central FC), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues), Willis Plaza (San Juan Jabloteh).

Coach - Stephen Hart.

Costa Rica Squad

Goalkeepers

Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense) Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor).

Defenders

Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Michael Umana (Alajuelense) Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic) Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense) Pablo Salazar (Herediano).

Midfielders

Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruna), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), David Guzman (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Cristian Bolanos (Vancouver Whitecaps), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Rodney Wallace (Recife).

Forwards

Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodríguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Uren (Brondby).

Coach - Oscar Ramírez.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: November 11, 2016, 02:51:35 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2016, 08:56:47 AM »
We know game time for this yet?

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2016, 04:23:34 PM »
Navas gets Costa Rica call up
CONCACAF.com

Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas may pull on a Costa Rica jersey for the first time since March, when the Central American champion faces host Russia in an international friendly on October 9 in Krasnodar.

The 29-year-old -- winner of the 2014 CONCACAF player of the year award -- had been out of action for three months while recovering from left-heel surgery, which caused him to miss the Copa America Centenario.

Navas was one of 23 players called up by head coach Oscar Ramirez, who kept a majority of the squad that topped the table of its fourth-round CONCACAF qualifying group for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

"The friendly will be of very good quality,” said Ramirez.  “Russia is a very dynamic team.  They do quite a lot work on combinations and it will demand a lot of us.”

Costa Rica is preparing for the final round World Cup Qualifying, which will open November 11 with an encounter at Trinidad & Tobago.

ROSTER

GOALKEEPERS:
Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor/Turkey), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid/Spain), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense)

DEFENDERS: Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Óscar Duarte (Espanyol/Spain), Giancarlo Gonzalez (Palermo/Italy), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC/USA), Jhamir Ordain (Santos), Bryan Oviedo (Everton/England), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada)

MIDFIELDERS: Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Cristian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps/Canada), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruña/Spain), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon/Portugal), David Guzman (Saprissa), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne Sports/Switzerland), Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife/Brazil)

FORWARDS: Yendrick Ruiz (Herediano), Marcos Ureña (Brondby/Denmark), Johan Venegas (Impact de Montreal/Canada)

« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2016, 03:40:06 AM »
Costa Rica beat Russia yesterday 09-10-16 away in Russia 3-4,how are we planning to put a couple pass them without answer.

Online soccerman

« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2016, 08:29:55 AM »
Saw the CR result yesterday and was a little surprised to see them pull it off, let's see how we do on the road tomorrow. We'll need to be consistent in terms of quality performances throughout the HEX because in the words of buju "it's not an easy road"

« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2016, 05:59:19 PM »
Tickets for Trinidad and Tobago versus Costa Rica on sale from Monday October 17th
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association is pleased to announce the sale of tickets for the upcoming CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica will begin on Monday October 17th, 2016 at Lotto locations nationwide.

There will be early bird tickets on sale from Monday  until November 4th. Those tickets will cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered). The tickets are available exclusive through Suntixx Caribbean Limited at all Lotto locations in Trinidad and Tobago.

The TTFA introduced a new ticketing system for its events through an affiliation with Sun Tixx Caribbean Limited and G Tech which allowed fans from far and wide to access tickets for the match through the country’s 900 Lotto outlets. And final reports indicated that supporters from 100 plus areas, comprising of towns, villages and boroughs including the cities of Port of Spain and San Fernando as well as Tobago had easy access to tickets which were purchased at the various outlets.

Sales were recorded in areas such as Barrackpore, Caparo, Caroni, Cedros, Chatam, Cumuto, La Brea, Laventille, Sangre Grande, Toco, Los Iros, Santa Flora, Talparo, Tableland, Sea Lots, Williamsville, Wallerfield, Mt Lambert and Lopinot among other places which in the past would not have been the case.

The TTFA also wishes to remind fans that the Season Passes remain on sale and are now available at all First Citizen’s Bank branches across the country. Season passes cost $2000 (covered) and $1000 (uncovered). These Season passes will allow the patron entry to all home matches in the CONCACAF final round and all official national teams (men and women, senior and youth teams) matches through to November, 2017.

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11/12-Jun-2017)
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2016, 07:16:17 PM »
Any idea what time this match on November 11 at HC Stadium is scheduled for?

« Reply #8 on: October 14, 2016, 01:54:25 AM »
Tickets for T&T versus Costa Rica on Sale from Monday October 17th.
TTFA Media

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association is pleased to announce the sale of tickets for the upcoming CONCACAF Final Round World Cup qualifier between Trinidad and Tobago and Costa Rica will begin on Monday October 17th, 2016 at Lotto locations nationwide.

There will be early bird tickets on sale from Monday  until November 4th. Those tickets will cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered). The tickets are available exclusive through Suntixx Caribbean Limited at all Lotto locations in Trinidad and Tobago.

The TTFA introduced a new ticketing system for its events through an affiliation with Sun Tixx Caribbean Limited and G Tech which allowed fans from far and wide to access tickets for the match through the country’s 900 Lotto outlets. And final reports indicated that supporters from 100 plus areas, comprising of towns, villages and boroughs including the cities of Port of Spain and San Fernando as well as Tobago had easy access to tickets which were purchased at the various outlets.

Sales were recorded in areas such as Barrackpore, Caparo, Caroni, Cedros, Chatam, Cumuto, La Brea, Laventille, Sangre Grande, Toco, Los Iros, Santa Flora, Talparo, Tableland, Sea Lots, Williamsville, Wallerfield, Mt Lambert and Lopinot among other places which in the past would not have been the case.

The TTFA also wishes to remind fans that the Season Passes remain on sale and are now available at all First Citizen’s Bank branches across the country. Season passes cost $2000 (covered) and $1000 (uncovered). These Season passes will allow the patron entry to all home matches in the CONCACAF final round and all official national teams (men and women, senior and youth teams) matches through to November, 2017.

« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2016, 02:44:43 PM »
The way things are looking at the moment,it is quite possible we won't qualify for the Caribbean Cup,so no Gold Cup either,what is worse there's nothing to suggest that we will beat anybody in the Hex,so no Russia 2018.
WE BLIGHT!

« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2016, 05:26:11 PM »
doom and gloom.. I rather wait for the final whistle of the last game,, even if we have 0 points after the 1st 5, and even after that, I bawlin Let's go T &T..ah vex, but ah have nobody else to back

« Reply #11 on: October 17, 2016, 05:33:26 PM »
You waving that white flag to early......natty :devil:

« Reply #12 on: October 18, 2016, 03:56:27 AM »
Costa Rica have a good squad make no mistake about it.

On paper their players are better than us.
They are currently in better form
They are better prepared.
They have more experience.

Make no mistake about this we will be defending for most of the game.

The good thing is that we at home and we always see to play better at home.
Everyone will be motivated
This is a chance to go to the world cup and we in with a chance.

Hopefully we can keep it close and pull out a win.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2016, 09:11:52 PM »
 OK guys, this is as simple as it gets, on the 11th day of the 11th month 2016, if we could beat costa rica we could win the world cup...

« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2016, 05:30:44 AM »
In football 2 plus 2 isn't always 4. Most of the times it's either 3 or 5

Never forget.

« Reply #15 on: October 21, 2016, 08:27:37 AM »
My hope...CR plays their worst match and we play the best we have played for a while,we stick a cheeky one on them in the last 5 minutes and end up with a 1-nil win. :)

« Reply #16 on: October 21, 2016, 11:56:19 AM »
11 vs 11. With the home crowd and the way we [played against Mexico twice. We can pull a win at home. The key to getting to Russia is not to lose at home. O ye of little faith

« Reply #17 on: October 26, 2016, 03:02:08 AM »
It is important for us to not surrender 3 pts at home. Every match in the final round is very important. I am hoping for a win altho CR is the better team on paper

Like Benjai say here, win lose or draw ah will still support  :beermug:
https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/posts/1178340332240826

« Reply #18 on: October 28, 2016, 12:12:19 AM »
Last time I check, costa didn't beat a full strength Mexico team or give them trouble like our side.. so I can't agree with everybody doom and gloom bullshit that they preaching...

Pound for pound we are a more talented team, just because their players are playing for better clubs don't mean they are more talented... we have more talent but it's sad that we don't have good agents from Trinidad, language and other factors contribute to our players not going to bigger clubs... and it's not about our lack of talent..

« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2016, 03:11:45 AM »
@Contro you think CR will beat a team like Martinique? ;D last time I checked we get our ass whipped from Martinique  :D

Anyway T&T has to play one of their best games to get a result, that is just the reality. Whether they do it or not is left to be seen

« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2016, 02:00:35 PM »
On a very bad day CR will still beat Martinique, the little I saw of Martinique....they look like ah bunch of ruffians, that may be the reason we lost.We got ruffed up, but the injury to Jones and Molino saga played against us.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2016, 05:47:13 PM by Tallman »

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #21 on: October 28, 2016, 05:01:12 PM »
Last time I check, costa didn't beat a full strength Mexico team or give them trouble like our side.. so I can't agree with everybody doom and gloom bullshit that they preaching...

Pound for pound we are a more talented team, just because their players are playing for better clubs don't mean they are more talented... we have more talent but it's sad that we don't have good agents from Trinidad, language and other factors contribute to our players not going to bigger clubs... and it's not about our lack of talent..

😂😂😂

« Reply #22 on: October 30, 2016, 03:17:57 PM »
Bostock playing?

Offline Trin

« Reply #23 on: October 30, 2016, 11:30:10 PM »

Who is that?

« Reply #24 on: October 31, 2016, 06:17:51 AM »
At least Bobby Zamora did not show up.

« Reply #25 on: October 31, 2016, 12:50:59 PM »

😂😂😂

Men on here suffering from an inferiority complex, which is laughable...

If you have no confidence in the team stop posting, since plenty men on here predict a loss.. because of a loss to Martinique...which a lot of factors came into play there..

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #26 on: October 31, 2016, 03:00:27 PM »

😂😂😂

Men on here suffering from an inferiority complex, which is laughable...

If you have no confidence in the team stop posting, since plenty men on here predict a loss.. because of a loss to Martinique...which a lot of factors came into play there..

It's no inferiority complex is being realistic. can you explain to me where T&T would be more talented than Costa Rica?

Let's take some of their likely starters

Navas - Real Madrid vs Williams Really?
Gamboa - Celtics - vs Cyrus at W Connection,failed twice in MLS plus numerous trials...Really?
Gonzalez - Palermo - vs Bateau off and on starter in Russia lower table team
Duarte - Espanyol vs Abu Bakr playing in Estonia a semi pro league ?
Matarrita (best MLS left back by a long shot or Oviedo (Everton) and another back up Junior Diaz at Mainz in Bundesliga

Bryan Ruiz - Best player at Sporting Lisboa
Celso Borges - Dep La Coruna

Joel Campbell vs Shahdon Winchester or Trevin Cesar

T&T has to play the perfect game because the odds are in Costa Rica favor by a long long shot. The beauty of the game is that anything can happen like Costa Rica topping Italy, Uruguay and England's group in 2014 is an example. But for sure they didn't prepare for it thinking they had more talent than Italy!
« Last Edit: October 31, 2016, 03:06:07 PM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #27 on: October 31, 2016, 05:41:45 PM »
I don't care who they have written down.  The more stars they got the more they have to prove. 

T&T vs Sweden.   T&T vs Mexico   We can play them and win. 

« Reply #28 on: October 31, 2016, 06:02:28 PM »
It have some major weak heart in here sah

Wheeeyyysss  ???

« Reply #29 on: November 01, 2016, 05:43:23 AM »
It have some major weak heart in here sah

Wheeeyyysss  ???

To be fair a TT Football fan is a labour of love. Over the years we have generally under performed. Deep down everybody wants the team to do well but I get a feeling most on this board and outside just know the cycles we go through so not much optimism given the quality of opposition in this round.

I still feel we good enough with this group. The team will get the public behind them if they really have a good game on the 11th, if we can manage a clean sheet that will be excellent.

By the way, what is the status of Kenwyne Jones? 10 days before the match, is the recovered from injury? I havent seen him for Central FC since.