March 28, 2024, 03:20:17 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)  (Read 25453 times)

Offline Adam Lake

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (11-Nov-2016)
« Reply #30 on: November 01, 2016, 01:19:22 PM »
Wdma I reading inside here boy..... Alyuh sure this is a Soca Warriors fan club...?

I agree C. Rica might seem better on paper, but dat don't mean Shit come gameday... Nobody expected the results against Mexico last year, but we pulled it off. No one expected the great showing we had in the Gold Cup but we pulled it off. No one expected that we would have qualified for Germany in 06, but we pulled it off... 

Our boys always find a way to rise to the occasion especially against better teams..  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: Win Lose or Fackin Draw.... We goin Russia!

« Reply #31 on: November 01, 2016, 05:44:54 PM »
WATCH: Promo for Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Y1orVhlvdjM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Y1orVhlvdjM</a>

Boucaud: We must regain our rhythm
« Reply #32 on: November 01, 2016, 06:25:45 PM »
Boucaud: We must regain our rhythm
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s English-based midfielder Andre Boucaud is coming to terms with the reality that this is his final chance to qualify and possibly play in a FIFA World Cup Finals.

And with that in mind, the 32-year-old player who was born in Enfield, is stressing the need for this country to make a strong start in the CONCACAF Final Round of qualifying which begins on November 11th against Costa Rica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. That encounter will be quickly followed by an away clash to Honduras.

The Costa Ricans are definitely one of the giants in the region, appearing in four FIFA World Cups, reaching the quarter-finals of the 2014 competition and boasting the likes of Real Madrid goalkeeper Keylor Navas, Sporting Lisbon duo Joel Campbell and Bryan Ruiz, Everton defender Bryan Oviedo, Deportivo La Coruna midfielder Celso Borges and Saprissa defender Francisco Calvo, former teammate of T&T defender Aubrey David.

“Have no two minds about it, we are playing one of the favourites and giants in CONCACAF on November 11th,” Boucaud told TTFA Media.

“Everyone’s maybe thinking oh well they’re not Mexico or USA, but they are right up there. Obviously we are not going to go into the match intimidated by them but we have to respect what they are capable of. And they will be coming here thinking that it’s not going to be their hardest away game based on history because we’ve never beaten them in Trinidad. It’s so important that we have our best game on the day and that the people come out and stand strongly behind the team,” Boucaud said.

Nine of his 42 appearances for T&T have been World Cup qualifiers including a 2-1 win over St Kitts/Nevis at Warner Park courtesy of a last gasp Stern John winner in a 2006 qualifier. Boucaud had a nine-year gap between his appearance in that semi-final round in 2004 and his next run out for T&T in 2013 against Romania in Bucharest. He has since made 36 appearances in T&T colours.

“I was part of the team in the 2006 campaign and I’m feel honoured about that but obviously I didn’t go on to play in the final round and so this ‘Hex” means a great deal to me and the rest of the guys in the squad. This is huge for us. To me it’s bigger than the Gold Cup and maybe even the Copa because it has more worth to us. If you do well here you get to go to the World Cup whereas the Copa and the Gold Cup are just one off tournaments unless of course you win the Gold Cup and get to the Confederations Cup.

“I think every player has come to realise that this is the real deal and if we can start well at home to Costa Rica and then go to Honduras and get a good result then things are going to begin look really good for us. The most important thing is that we pick ourselves up and return to the being the team we were over the past two years up until the USA game last year. Maybe we lost a bit of momentum this year but we’ve got to find our rhythm again from the next two games,” the 32-year-old Boucaud added.

Boucaud’s career in England spans over fourteen years including time at Reading FC, Peterborough, Luton Town, Notts County, Wycombe Wanderers, Aldershot Town, York City and Dagenham and Redbridge at present.

T&T head coach Stephen Hart is expected to name his final squad later this week with players beginning to arrive into camp from this coming weekend

Tickets remain on sale at all Lotto Locations with the early bird sale running until Friday. Those tickets currently cost $300 (covered section) and $160 (uncovered section). From November 5th until match-day, tickets will then cost $350 (covered) and $200 (uncovered).

Season Passes are available at all First Citizens Bank Branches nationwide. Fans can call the TTFA season pass hotline at 270-6868 for more information.

« Reply #33 on: November 02, 2016, 06:10:52 AM »

Sorry but people are convinced by performances. if the team has not been performing well then the most you can expect is for support in the form of 'hope'. Doh come with no chupid talk about weak heart like you know for sure T&T will beat a more talented team. How strong was your heart when we take four in we pweffen in America? How strong was your heart when we lose to Martinique with a number of top players in the team? Your heart saw how our defense has played in recent games? steupse

« Reply #34 on: November 02, 2016, 08:32:10 AM »

Sorry but people are convinced by performances. if the team has not been performing well then the most you can expect is for support in the form of 'hope'. Doh come with no chupid talk about weak heart like you know for sure T&T will beat a more talented team. How strong was your heart when we take four in we pweffen in America? How strong was your heart when we lose to Martinique with a number of top players in the team? Your heart saw how our defense has played in recent games? steupse

Doh take it so hard sorf prince

« Reply #35 on: November 02, 2016, 10:33:16 AM »

That was just ah small tap on yuh head old man palos

« Reply #36 on: November 02, 2016, 11:43:22 AM »

That was just ah small tap on yuh head old man palos

« Reply #37 on: November 02, 2016, 10:37:09 PM »
anybody thinking that we should play joevin at lb? just like his club football. it'll allow us to play levi from the start and help us to overload that left side attack and hopefully peg ruiz back a little. both players being quick also means that they can be expected to get back etc.

im hoping to see a relationship like that between spann and edwards  on the right side in the 05 hex. both skillful players really generated excitement and quality on that right side.

Costa Rica returns with full-strength lineup
« Reply #38 on: November 03, 2016, 05:02:12 AM »
Costa Rica returns with full-strength lineup in last step toward World Cup qualifying
By Michael Krumholtz (The Tico Times News)

To beat the best, you better bring your best.

For one of the first times under Óscar Ramírez’s regime, the Costa Rican national football team will have all of its top players available as they try to clinch a spot in the 2018 World Cup. In less than two weeks, Costa Rica will begin the final stage of CONCACAF’s World Cup Qualifying, known as the Hexagonal.

La Sele will first travel to Trinidad & Tobago on Nov. 11 before coming back home to take on the United States at the National Stadium on Nov. 15 to kick off the first part of the six-team round robin.

Ramírez announced his lineup at a Wednesday press conference at the Costa Rican Football Federation’s (FEDEFUTBOL) headquarters, listing the who’s who of Costa Rican football. Led by star goalie Keylor Navas, captain Bryan Ruíz, and midfielder Celso Borges, the lineup is as healthy as ever.

As usual, Ramírez’s selection includes a heavy reliance on defenders, with nine of the 23 call-ups being defensemen. Of course, the return of Navas will dominate headlines, but beyond the Real Madrid keeper lies proof of a strong overall lineup that should help La Sele get off to an important 2-0 start in the Hexagonal’s first stage.

Though the midfield will lack normal starters Giancarlo González and Óscar Duarte, and on paper looks to be the weakest part of this selection, there are still plenty of other players to rely on who have already played big minutes. Wingers Bryan Oviedo and Cristian Gamboa also give the team big-game experience, while Ramírez favorites such as Kendall Waston and Ronald Matarrita have proven their worth within “El Profe’s” five-man backline.

During his press conference, Ramírez mentioned how important it will be to counter Trinidad & Tobago’s speed in transition plays. Young Matarrita, though often defeated in one-on-one matchups, excels in transition by turning defense into immediate offense. He’s a sort of defense/midfield breed that acts as this team’s funnel and becomes invaluable for setting up plays against teams such as Trinidad & Tobago that want to rely on speed.

In the second leg, against a United States team that embarrassed La Sele 4-0 in June, it will be key for Costa Rica’s experienced midfield to impose its will on the U.S. and its historically shaky middle. Ruíz and Borges are the known commodities here, but they were also the two biggest culprits of atrocious play in Chicago. Those two leaders, along with the suddenly revived 32-year-old Christian Bolaños, will look to dictate pace against the U.S. in a section of the field where Costa Rica has the talent edge.

Another recently injured player who could have an impact going forward is striker Ariel Rodríguez. After missing June’s Copa América because of injury, the longtime Saprissa star, who’s now playing in Thailand, could provide this team with some much-needed consistency on offense.

Like Rodríguez, another potentially interesting addition is Rodney Wallace. Though it’s been four years since Wallace last competed for La Sele in a World Cup qualifying match, the forward who plays his club ball in Brazil could inject some life into an attack that too often seems passive with normal starters Marco Ureña and Joel Campbell.

Full 23-man roster below with clubs in parenthesis:

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense), Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Michael Umaña (Alajuelense)

Midfielders: Pablo Salazar (Herediano), David Guzman (Saprissa), Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo de La Coruña), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Christian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Forwards: Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodriguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Ureña (Brondby)

« Reply #39 on: November 03, 2016, 07:04:00 AM »
In this final round it's all about tactics, team selection and keeping clean sheets.

My hope is for more pragmatism than adventure in this round. When look at some video from 2005 key for us was Chris Birchall's work ethic in particular as defensive cover for the wing backs. Who can play a similar role in this round that will be tactically disciplined and have the engine to do that work in the current squad?

Offense may get us a few goals but defense will get us to the WC.

I still believe we need a sports psychologist.

« Reply #40 on: November 03, 2016, 07:35:45 AM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago vs Costa Rica (World Cup Qualifying Preview)

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BfNiSKbC2SM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BfNiSKbC2SM</a>

Hart to announce squad tomorrow
« Reply #41 on: November 03, 2016, 08:37:03 AM »
Hart to announce squad tomorrow
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

STEPHEN HART, the Trinidad and Tobago football team coach, will reveal on Friday whether midfielder Kevin Molino will be involved with the squad, for the forthcoming FIFA World Cup Qualifiers CONCACAF Final Round matches against Costa Rica (at home on November 11) and Honduras (away on November 15).

Molino was dropped by Hart for the October 11 Caribbean Cup qualifier away to Martinique — to qualify automatically for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup — for his second breach of team curfew.

The 26-year-old Orlando City SC midfielder subsequently announced his desire to take a year-long sabbatical from international future, a plan he quashed a week later.

Nonetheless, Hart stated in a telephone interview on Monday that he will have the final say whether or not Molino will be recalled to the team.

“It’s a decision that has been left with me,” said the TT coach.

“I’ll make that decision and everybody will find out about it when the squad is announced.” Concerning the technical staff’s preparations for the forthcoming qualifiers, Hart said, “things are fine.

I’ve been watching all the foreign-based and local (based) players that I think warrant selection.

And we have some players that have returned from their clubs early.

“We have them in training with various (local) clubs and with (TT team trainer) Tobias Ottley,” Hart continued. “From that standpoint, things are going well.” Hart, as is his custom, will be announcing a squad of 23 players, inclusive of three goalkeepers.

“You don’t want something to happen and you’re stuck away with just one goalkeeper (in reserve),” he noted.

Team captain Kenwyne Jones suffered a minor ligament tear to his knee against Martinique.

But Hart admitted that Jones has returned to full training with his loan club Central FC, though his parent club Atlanta United sent a special training programme for the 32-year-old striker.

Asked about the latest with English-born midfielder John Bostock, who is yet to be given clearance by FIFA to switch allegiances and represent the national squad, Hart said, “it’s with FIFA.” He stated, “we have sent in everything that FIFA has requested.

And we are just waiting for some kind of word from FIFA.”

« Reply #42 on: November 03, 2016, 09:36:44 AM »
Asked about the latest with English-born midfielder John Bostock, who is yet to be given clearance by FIFA to switch allegiances and represent the national squad, Hart said, “it’s with FIFA.” He stated, “we have sent in everything that FIFA has requested.

And we are just waiting for some kind of word from FIFA.”
:waiting:

« Reply #43 on: November 03, 2016, 11:37:19 AM »
So regarding bostock that means he not in the squad yet because FIFA dragging their balls

« Reply #44 on: November 03, 2016, 12:15:24 PM »

Goalkeepers: Keylor Navas (Real Madrid), Patrick Pemberton (Alajuelense), Esteban Alvarado (Trabzonspor)

Defenders: Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps), Bryan Oviedo (Everton), Cristian Gamboa (Celtic), Ronald Matarrita (New York City FC), Francisco Calvo (Saprissa), Johnny Acosta (Herediano), Jose Salvatierra (Alajuelense), Michael Umaña (Alajuelense)

Midfielders: Pablo Salazar (Herediano), David Guzman (Saprissa), Randall Azofeifa (Herediano), Celso Borges (Deportivo de La Coruña), Yeltsin Tejeda (Lausanne), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting Lisbon), Christian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps)

Forwards: Rodney Wallace (Sport Recife), Johan Venegas (Montreal Impact), Joel Campbell (Sporting Lisbon), Ariel Rodriguez (Bangkok Glass), Marco Ureña (Brondby)

Steups...

I respect Costa Rica, but T&T could more than beat that team.

Come on T&T, bull them hard !!!!!!

Campbell does play like he have no brian, running up and down, he have some toes yea.

Oviedo does do good going forward, but he slow, so we have to attack down where he defending.

Ruiz is good yea, but he weak, leggo George on he and keep him close, he cah go no where.

Guzman, Waston and Bolaños eh nothing special.

T&T have to play them like they play Mexico, rough they ass up and unsettle them.

We could do it if we players play like they should.

« Reply #45 on: November 03, 2016, 12:34:40 PM »
We should forget about Bostock. I don't feel he wants to play.
What so special, that it is taking this long. You would swear this man
applying for a CIA job. Frigg this bull crap.

« Reply #46 on: November 03, 2016, 01:30:38 PM »
We should forget about Bostock. I don't feel he wants to play.
What so special, that it is taking this long. You would swear this man
applying for a CIA job. Frigg this bull crap.

If it were Bostock i feel the TTFA management would have indicated such by now. I genuinely think this is a FIFA issue, I would want to understand what recourse do we have to get some action, Court of Arbitration for Sport? Are we afraid to rock the boat given that we only recently started back to get FIFA funding? Given the FIFA response and our own inaction maybe the team management is OK with the status quo.

« Reply #47 on: November 03, 2016, 02:19:20 PM »

Steups...

I respect Costa Rica, but T&T could more than beat that team.

Come on T&T, bull them hard !!!!!!

Campbell does play like he have no brian, running up and down, he have some toes yea.

Oviedo does do good going forward, but he slow, so we have to attack down where he defending.

Ruiz is good yea, but he weak, leggo George on he and keep him close, he cah go no where.

Guzman, Waston and Bolaños eh nothing special.

T&T have to play them like they play Mexico, rough they ass up and unsettle them.

We could do it if we players play like they should.

Yuh hit right in the head Sam. We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle. Plus it will throw them off their game. We playing at home, so we will get away with the rough play.

Hart said it the best " we usually play to the same quality as our opposition". Very true.

I say it coming down to two game plans:

- We either playing cagey
- Or open style like South America

Mayne we might need both

« Reply #48 on: November 03, 2016, 03:07:56 PM »
We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle.

Word of caution with this "rough them UP" talk. We need to be firm and resolute when playing. Especially in Central America. Their players are notorious submariners when touched on the shoulders with a feather. I think our guys need to do more gym work, more so for strength, and not some much for bulk. Now when  they get that strength, they should use it wisely. Not blade them at all cost.

« Reply #49 on: November 03, 2016, 04:24:50 PM »
We need to rough them up. That will not allow them to settle.

Word of caution with this "rough them UP" talk. We need to be firm and resolute when playing. Especially in Central America. Their players are notorious submariners when touched on the shoulders with a feather. I think our guys need to do more gym work, more so for strength, and not some much for bulk. Now when  they get that strength, they should use it wisely. Not blade them at all cost.

Me and Sam ain't calling for the blades. We calling for the shoulder charges and thing like that.. no need to skate on the ground

Levi: We must be disciplined but ruthless
« Reply #50 on: November 03, 2016, 05:22:58 PM »
Levi: We must be disciplined but ruthless
TTFA Media

Only once in all-time history has Trinidad and Tobago defeated Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match at any level. It occurred on Monday April 8th, 2013 in La Chorrera, Panama when this country’s national under 17 men’s team pulled off a 2-0 win over the Central Americans in a CONCACAF Final Round encounter, a result which helped push them through to the quarter final stage.

Netherland-based winger Levi Garcia played the match in its entirety and recalls it vividly. At 15 years, he was given the starting role by coach Shawn Cooper for a match that T&T needed to win after suffering a 2-0 loss to Canada in the opening match.

Now Garcia is hoping to play his part in spurring Stephen Hart’s team off to a winning start to the CONCACAF Final Round of qualification for the 2018 World Cup next Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

“Oh yes I remember that match. It was such a joy because we found out after that no national team had ever beaten Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifying match so it felt great to be part of that team,” Garcia told TTFA Media on Thursday.

“I remember we knew Costa Rica were a big team and we were a bit down after losing the first game against Canada. We played really well but we just couldn’t score and then we fixed that in the second game against them (Costa Rica). That was one of my most pleasing experiences as a national youth player,” he said.

Turning 19 on November 20th, Garcia knows that the responsibilities and the expectations are greater now. The stakes are much higher this time around.

“Yes. It’s a totally different stage. For me it’s very exciting. A year ago I maybe didn’t think that I would be on this stage with the senior team. It’s a lot more pressure but now pressure in the sense that it’s a big weight. I have grown and matured over the past year since I moved to Holland but I am still learning every day and the maturing process is continuing for me,” Garcia continued.

“I believe that this game is very important and it will take a big effort from every player from the entire squad, not just for this game but all of our matches in this round. I am confident that we can do it but we have to be smart and disciplined and of course ruthless when we are out there. Nothing must go past us easily and we have to make use of our chances on goal in the games,” he said.

« Reply #51 on: November 03, 2016, 05:49:57 PM »
Ah guess we know 2 names for sure on the team list that will be announced on Friday

« Reply #52 on: November 03, 2016, 06:16:15 PM »
garcia needs to learn how to share the ball and hold up his play to get support, too greedy against the US, the interplay between the front four that we used so effectively against mexico was nonexistent until he was taken off.

« Reply #53 on: November 04, 2016, 06:56:38 AM »
Squad announcing today. Can't see too many changes in the mix. Molino is expected to be recalled in light of the FA's position. Will Cummings get a recall after a long term absence? Any new faces expected or status quo?

« Reply #54 on: November 04, 2016, 07:47:38 AM »
I will like to see Molino back, considering of course he properly apologized to Hart, his teammates and the staff.

« Reply #55 on: November 04, 2016, 11:52:19 AM »
Squad announced. No molino, yes bostock

« Reply #56 on: November 04, 2016, 11:53:10 AM »
The 23-man Trinidad and Tobago Squad for this Friday's CONCACAF World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica has just been announced by Head Coach Stephen Hart.

Goalkeepers
Marvin Phillip,Jan-Michael Williams,Adrian Foncette

Defenders

Radanfah Abu Bakr, Sheldon Bateau, Yohance Marshall, Carlyle Mitchell, Aubrey David, Jelani Peters, Daneil Cyrus

Midfielders

Andre Boucaud, Khaleem Hyland, Neveal Hackshaw, Cordell Cato, Jomal Williams, Levi Garcia, Joevin Jones, John Bostock, Kevan George, Marcus Joseph

Forwards

Trevin Caesar, Willis Plaza, Kenwyne Jones

« Reply #57 on: November 04, 2016, 11:55:34 AM »
Well fellas...this is the warriors that going to open up our World Cup 2018 account. Good luck to the entire team. Rise to the occasion. Faith and trust is bestowed upon each and everyone of you guys. Red white and black alll the way!!

« Reply #58 on: November 04, 2016, 12:07:49 PM »
Plaza's back as well.

« Reply #59 on: November 04, 2016, 12:40:59 PM »