March 28, 2024, 02:42:45 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (8-Jun-2017)  (Read 53243 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T vs USA Game (8-Jun-2017)
« Reply #120 on: May 29, 2017, 11:36:55 AM »
So what's the tactical plan for Michael Bradley? He is pretty much the engine room of the USMNT, key on both sides of the ball for them.

I figure if we could shut him down tactically we will be in a good place come June 8th.

Thoughts???

« Reply #121 on: May 29, 2017, 01:54:25 PM »
T&T Senior Men win training match in Colorado.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men were 1-0 winners over Colorado-based club FC Boulder in a training match at Prentup Field in Colorado on Sunday evening.

A 51st  minute goal by Mexican-based forward Shahdon Winchester separated the teams as head coach Dennis Lawrence used the opportunity to see how the current players in camp responded to a game situation at high altitude following five of days at training ahead of the World Cup Qualifier against the United States on June 8th at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

The goal came from a good build up stemming from a pass by Daneil Cyrus to Nathan Lewis on the right side as he cut inside the Boulder defence before playing into the box for Akeem Roach to square for Winchester to slot home from close range.

Boulder campaigns in the Premier Development  League (PDL) and provided a good exercise for Lawrence’s men. In the first half, T&T maintained better possession with Hashim Arcia and Roach both having decent chances on goal. Midfielder Jomal Williams saw a right footed free kick from 20 metres out crash off the cross bar while substitute Jamille Boatswain went close late in the match with an effort which went inches past the upright.

T&T will continue preparations on Tuesday with Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland both joining the camp.

T&T Senior men defeat PDL Team FC Boulder 1-0

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-3Dc28JSJrw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-3Dc28JSJrw</a>
« Last Edit: May 29, 2017, 02:37:24 PM by Flex »

« Reply #122 on: May 29, 2017, 03:13:02 PM »
So what's the tactical plan for Michael Bradley? He is pretty much the engine room of the USMNT, key on both sides of the ball for them.

I figure if we could shut him down tactically we will be in a good place come June 8th.

Thoughts???

Bradley was largely ineffective in their away match at our place. We could deem that a bad day at the office or we could view it as a beacon of light. That match had no Dempsey (among others). I not losing sleep over Bradley, but point taken.

« Reply #123 on: May 29, 2017, 03:29:50 PM »
for me our fellaz should be confident facing most of these men week in week out in the MLS. as a fan without deep tactical knowledge it hard to say where the threat will come from as the US just have a bunch of 'good' players right across the board..and pulisic who a cut above. their good players could have a step up game - dempsey, nagbe the whole lot, any of them could step up.  we have a couple very good players - molino & joevin and a few good who could step up maybe - levi? cato? kenwyn? if given the right formation to sneak up on them...but we also have somebody in the back who could step down. [cyrus again?] Is a tough one. I excited and will be there givin 110% support and hope for the best. definitely can't play the match on paper. Go warriors!! You all have it! train hard & work hard to make mistake-free fast movement second nature. you fully capable and with a little luck we could pull it.

« Reply #124 on: May 29, 2017, 04:44:20 PM »
Hearing on the radio this morning that MLS released all the US players called up for national team almost 2 weeks ahead of the WCQ on June 8. Our 5 MLS players have not yet been released. The TTFA has written to MLS for equal treatment for our players to be released.

The official release date for players is June 3rd as per normal FIFA rules.

Art of War in full effect.

I see a two of our international players in Trinidad...congratulations to Hyland...he got married this weekend in Trinidad...joevin in Trinidad as well...was on a boat ride today...I'm not joking...idk about Molino tho...he didn't line up for MU...Sheldon in Colorado already...didn't see skipper on the roster for his game yesterday either!

« Reply #125 on: May 29, 2017, 05:29:09 PM »

« Reply #126 on: May 29, 2017, 06:51:48 PM »

Thoughts???

Bradley was largely ineffective in their away match at our place. We could deem that a bad day at the office or we could view it as a beacon of light. That match had no Dempsey (among others). I not losing sleep over Bradley, but point taken.

Bradley might not play. Arena don't want him to get a consecutive yellow. Another yellow will suspend Bradley for the game at Azteca. Arena has already hinted at that.

Offline isaachunt

« Reply #127 on: May 29, 2017, 08:11:05 PM »
We go bull them Thursday, man. And bull does feel worse in altitude will no humidity and no grease. 4-2 Warriors.

« Reply #128 on: May 29, 2017, 08:22:43 PM »
Hearing on the radio this morning that MLS released all the US players called up for national team almost 2 weeks ahead of the WCQ on June 8. Our 5 MLS players have not yet been released. The TTFA has written to MLS for equal treatment for our players to be released.

The official release date for players is June 3rd as per normal FIFA rules.

Art of War in full effect.

I see a two of our international players in Trinidad...congratulations to Hyland...he got married this weekend in Trinidad...joevin in Trinidad as well...was on a boat ride today...I'm not joking...idk about Molino tho...he didn't line up for MU...Sheldon in Colorado already...didn't see skipper on the roster for his game yesterday either!

Both Hyland and Bateau with the team in Colorado now. Joevin wasn't in trini, but he was on a boat ride somewhere in the states, his Caribbean club mates were with him. Kenwyne get his usual corbeaux sweat yesterday. Molino in Minnesota playing Xbox as usual, he was reported sick over the weekend, dunno his status currently.

« Reply #129 on: May 30, 2017, 01:42:05 AM »
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men were 1-0 winners over Colorado-based club FC Boulder in a training match at Prentup Field in Colorado on Sunday evening.

Hold on dey, ah thought we was supposed to be playing the Colorado Rapids?  ???

« Reply #130 on: May 30, 2017, 01:53:31 AM »
This is a joke prep...

What was Tallest hoping to achieve with such weak opposition

« Reply #131 on: May 30, 2017, 02:48:37 AM »
This is a joke prep...

Mexico played Croatia lossed 2-1, and USA played Venezuela, idk the result of that game though.

Offline Thomo

« Reply #132 on: May 30, 2017, 06:56:47 AM »
Our biggest concern should be the gross disadvantage that we've been put at by the collusion of the MLS and the US Federation by not releasing our players early for the game like our American counterparts.

« Reply #133 on: May 30, 2017, 09:29:46 AM »
This is a joke prep...

Mexico played Croatia lossed 2-1, and USA played Venezuela, idk the result of that game though.

Unless there was more than one match scheduled between the teams, the US hosts Venezuela on June 3.

« Reply #134 on: May 30, 2017, 10:47:26 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vskTAwdqz24" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vskTAwdqz24</a>

« Reply #135 on: May 30, 2017, 10:58:58 AM »
good interplay but dey not ruthless in front of goal at all...sometimes ah man jus need to to shoot

« Reply #136 on: May 30, 2017, 11:25:23 AM »
TTFA Media.

a good little extra scrimmage for the boys. Hopefully they could line up the USL team - colorado switchbacks - who in full season before the pro league boys go home.

« Reply #137 on: May 30, 2017, 01:53:42 PM »
TTFA Media.

a good little extra scrimmage for the boys. Hopefully they could line up the USL team - colorado switchbacks - who in full season before the pro league boys go home.

Dat was a showcase for players (really the players "agent") to show their value to a USL team

The T&T Mens National team is now the personal property of one "agent" to showcase his players for sale.

The national team prep for a WCQ is incidental

« Reply #138 on: May 30, 2017, 08:53:34 PM »
TTFA Media.

Dat was a showcase for players (really the players "agent") to show their value to a USL team

The T&T Mens National team is now the personal property of one "agent" to showcase his players for sale.

The national team prep for a WCQ is incidental

sometimes we does have to watch the timing of the criticism so we don't come across as complaining all the time.  but this time, that FC Boulder team is one level below USL level so probably not directly the most efficient way to go about sales to the USL. Also from the 17-man squad listed, only 3 look like "the agent property"....not saying that what you saying can't be the case, but it mightn't be so this time.

« Reply #139 on: May 30, 2017, 10:13:57 PM »
I didn't know USL teams had money to pay players..anyway a warmup against some College kids.. I wonder
what positives could be taken away from that experience?

I am not convinced.

« Reply #140 on: May 31, 2017, 12:32:57 AM »
Like I said, Tallest towing the line, qualifying for the wc is not key, the dictator has completed his sabotage

Allyuh buying cat in bag with this nonsense.. I don't even know who the hell this team is that we played tbh

Our opponents playing nations and we playing a juco team from the mountains

« Reply #141 on: May 31, 2017, 01:15:05 AM »
Definitely cant please Trinis, lol.   

Contro, do yourself and the rest of this website a favor..............give TT football a rest and recharge and comeback again for the next Gold Cup campaign or 2022 WCQs.

The level of doom and gloom you heaping on this side continues to soar and soar. 

Meanwhile, i will be in Denver supporting the warriors!!

« Reply #142 on: May 31, 2017, 01:53:17 AM »
TTFA Media.

A 51st  minute goal by Mexican-based forward Shahdon Winchester separated the teams as head coach Dennis Lawrence used the opportunity to see how the current players in camp responded to a game situation at high altitude following five of days at training ahead of the World Cup Qualifier against the United States on June 8th at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

The goal came from a good build up stemming from a pass by Daneil Cyrus to Nathan Lewis on the right side as he cut inside the Boulder defence before playing into the box for Akeem Roach to square for Winchester to slot home from close range.

Boulder campaigns in the Premier Development  League (PDL) and provided a good exercise for Lawrence’s men. In the first half, T&T maintained better possession with Hashim Arcia and Roach both having decent chances on goal. Midfielder Jomal Williams saw a right footed free kick from 20 metres out crash off the cross bar while substitute Jamille Boatswain went close late in the match with an effort which went inches past the upright.

T&T will continue preparations on Tuesday with Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau and Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland both joining the camp.

T&T Senior men defeat PDL Team FC Boulder 1-0<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/-3Dc28JSJrw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/-3Dc28JSJrw</a>

So I guess the warm up with Colorado Rapids never happened.

« Last Edit: May 31, 2017, 01:53:56 AM by Flex »

« Reply #143 on: May 31, 2017, 05:33:02 AM »
Geoff Cameron, Fabian Johnson and John Brooks is solid defenders, Cameron will man mark Kenwyne and knowns him very well from Stoke City.

Nagbe, Pulisic, Wood and Altidore have lots of pace.

Bradley and Beasley little old, so they might be easy to contain.

Yedlin is fast but his final play is poor.

Clint Dempsey is very good, but he can be temperamental, we could bait him so he can be caution early in the game.

Tim Howard is still very good.

We have a good fight in our hands.

T&T must not overplay the ball especially in defence.

USA don't know much about Nathan Lewis, Jomal Williams, Hashim Arcia, Akeem Roach and Jamille Boatswain, so they can be of some use.

« Reply #144 on: May 31, 2017, 06:01:49 AM »
Timothy Chandler has withdrawn from the United States national team roster with a hamstring injury. No replacement was named to the squad.

« Reply #145 on: May 31, 2017, 07:41:46 AM »
Geoff Cameron, Fabian Johnson and John Brooks is solid defenders, Cameron will man mark Kenwyne and knowns him very well from Stoke City.

Clint Dempsey is very good, but he can be temperamental, we could bait him so he can be caution early in the game.

USA don't know much about Nathan Lewis, Jomal Williams, Hashim Arcia, Akeem Roach and Jamille Boatswain, so they can be of some use.

except for Jamal Williams   nothing much to fear   with the rest

« Reply #146 on: May 31, 2017, 01:42:15 PM »

except for Jamal Williams   nothing much to fear   with the rest

I find Lewis have something about him, raw but has dribbling ability at speed, just need better decision making on the final pass.

« Reply #147 on: May 31, 2017, 02:36:34 PM »
Senior Men enter final week of build up to WCQ with USA in Colorado.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team continued their build up towards next Thursday’s World Cup qualifier against the United States with two more training sessions in the morning period of Tuesday and Wednesday at Prentup Field in Colorado as the group of players entered the final week of preparations under the watchful eyes of head coach Dennis Lawrence and his backroom staff.

Lawrence’s pool increased with the arrival of European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Sheldon Bateau while Colorado Rapids defender Mekeil Williams also joined the camp to begin training with the squad. Lawrence is expected to name his final squad on the weekend for the encounter at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

Williams, based in Colorado is at home as his club plays their home matches at the venue for Thursday’s qualifier and he was in high spirits upon joining the camp on Tuesday.

“Joining the camp was a good feeling for me. I haven’t see the boys in a while and having them come to Colorado where I am based was a joy and pleasure for me and I am enjoying it so far. When they showed up at the game last week was a great feeling, a special moment for me. I felt that joy and passion from the moment I saw them in the stands and it was an experience I would remember,” Williams told TTFA Media.

About the conditions in Colorado, he continued: “Playing at altitude is difficult but you have to push through with it with a few sessions and then you are ready for it. I think we will be ready for the game come June 8th. I know the boys here have been putting in the work and when the other players come into camp everyone will be putting in the effort to get there by game time.

“Joining in the sessions from today was a joy for me. That is my comfort zone… being with my boys in the national team in training and being around the coaching staff and preparing for matches is something I always look forward to,” added the former W Connection defender.

Williams’ teammate on the Colorado team is US goalkeeper Tim Howard and both men have already placed a bet on the match. Bruce Arena confirmed to the media on Monday that Howard remains his number one choice.

“We actually made a bet on the game a couple days ago. If we win the game I get to keep my place in the dressing room and if they lose he has to sit wit the rookies for the rest of the season,” Williams added with a bit of laughter.

Meantime,  Eintracht Frankfurt defender Timmy Chandler has withdrawn from the U.S. national team ahead of two World Cup qualifiers because of a hamstring injury. On Sunday, he was among 27 players named to the squad, which gathered in the Denver area for preparations on Monday.No replacement was named right away, and it’s unclear whether Arena will fill the slot before Saturday’s friendly against Venezuela in Utah.

On the goalkeeper choice, Arena said “As of now it’s Tim Howard,” Arena said Monday. “He had two good games (in March) and we’ll have to see how these guys look over the next couple of weeks. We have good goalkeepers here so that’s the least of my worries.”

Arena also spoke about USA’s upcoming game against Venezuela, saying:  “It’s part of our preparation for the games against Trinidad & Tobago and Mexico, and we get to play a South American opponent with some very good players. They’re bringing in a number of their first team players, so it should be a real plus. We get a little bit of a taste of playing a game in altitude, and no question about it, it’s low altitude in comparison to Denver and Mexico City, but it’s a starting point.”

« Reply #148 on: May 31, 2017, 04:42:16 PM »
Senior Men enter final week of build up to WCQ with USA in Colorado.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team continued their build up towards next Thursday’s World Cup qualifier against the United States with two more training sessions in the morning period of Tuesday and Wednesday at Prentup Field in Colorado as the group of players entered the final week of preparations under the watchful eyes of head coach Dennis Lawrence and his backroom staff.

Lawrence’s pool increased with the arrival of European-based duo Khaleem Hyland and Sheldon Bateau while Colorado Rapids defender Mekeil Williams also joined the camp to begin training with the squad. Lawrence is expected to name his final squad on the weekend for the encounter at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

Williams, based in Colorado is at home as his club plays their home matches at the venue for Thursday’s qualifier and he was in high spirits upon joining the camp on Tuesday.

“Joining the camp was a good feeling for me. I haven’t see the boys in a while and having them come to Colorado where I am based was a joy and pleasure for me and I am enjoying it so far. When they showed up at the game last week was a great feeling, a special moment for me. I felt that joy and passion from the moment I saw them in the stands and it was an experience I would remember,” Williams told TTFA Media.

About the conditions in Colorado, he continued: “Playing at altitude is difficult but you have to push through with it with a few sessions and then you are ready for it. I think we will be ready for the game come June 8th. I know the boys here have been putting in the work and when the other players come into camp everyone will be putting in the effort to get there by game time.

“Joining in the sessions from today was a joy for me. That is my comfort zone… being with my boys in the national team in training and being around the coaching staff and preparing for matches is something I always look forward to,” added the former W Connection defender.

Williams’ teammate on the Colorado team is US goalkeeper Tim Howard and both men have already placed a bet on the match. Bruce Arena confirmed to the media on Monday that Howard remains his number one choice.

“We actually made a bet on the game a couple days ago. If we win the game I get to keep my place in the dressing room and if they lose he has to sit wit the rookies for the rest of the season,” Williams added with a bit of laughter.

Meantime,  Eintracht Frankfurt defender Timmy Chandler has withdrawn from the U.S. national team ahead of two World Cup qualifiers because of a hamstring injury. On Sunday, he was among 27 players named to the squad, which gathered in the Denver area for preparations on Monday.No replacement was named right away, and it’s unclear whether Arena will fill the slot before Saturday’s friendly against Venezuela in Utah.

On the goalkeeper choice, Arena said “As of now it’s Tim Howard,” Arena said Monday. “He had two good games (in March) and we’ll have to see how these guys look over the next couple of weeks. We have good goalkeepers here so that’s the least of my worries.”

Arena also spoke about USA’s upcoming game against Venezuela, saying:  “It’s part of our preparation for the games against Trinidad & Tobago and Mexico, and we get to play a South American opponent with some very good players. They’re bringing in a number of their first team players, so it should be a real plus. We get a little bit of a taste of playing a game in altitude, and no question about it, it’s low altitude in comparison to Denver and Mexico City, but it’s a starting point.”

So essentially Lawrence will hv 3 days with the full compliment of players before a crucial game...this not making any sense...and everybody have boss friendlies but we playing a PDL team...better than that TTFA...all yuh on shittt. Keeping my fingers crossed and look forward to the game with optimism and hope!

« Reply #149 on: May 31, 2017, 05:26:18 PM »
Has the TTFA made public the correspondence it reportedly sent in protest to MLS, US Soccer, CONCACAF and FIFA regarding the pre-window release of American players to the US national team?