March 28, 2024, 03:43:07 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (13-Jun-2017)  (Read 18233 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (13-Jun-2017)
« on: September 07, 2016, 05:49:24 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying T&T vs Costa Rica game at the Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica Stadium on the 13th of June 2017 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Jan-Michael Williams (Juticalpa FC—HON), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic Centre FC), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders:

Carlos Edwards (Central FC), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings—FIN), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Sūduva Marijampolė—LTU), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids—USA), Triston Hodge (W Connection), Sheldon Bateau (Krylia Sovetov Samara—RUS), Daneil Cyrus (Unattached), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force).

Midfielders:

Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders FC—USA), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—ENG), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo—BEL), Leston Paul (North East Stars), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United FC—USA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards:

Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC—MEX), Jamille Boatswain (Defence Force), Kenwyne Jones (Atlanta United—USA).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence.

Costa Rica Squad

Goalkeepers

Keylor Navas (Real Madrid FC—ESP), Danny Carvajal (Albacete Balompié—ESP), Patrick Pemberton (Liga Deportiva Alajuelense), Leonel Moreira (C.S. Herediano).

Defenders

Kenner Gutiérrez (Liga Deportiva Alajuelense), Bryan Oviedo (Sunderland AFC—ENG), Ronaldo Matarrita (New York City FC—USA), Francisco Calvo (Minnesota United), Yeltsin Tejeda (FC Lausanne-Sport—SUI), Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Johnny Acosta (C.S. Herediano), Christian Gamboa (Celtic FC—SCO), Giancarlo González (U.S. Città di Palermo—ITA), Michael Ureña (A.D. Municipal Liberia).

Midfielders

Randall Azofeifa (C.S. Herediano), David Guzmán (Portland Timbers—USA), Christian Bolaños (Vancouver Whitecaps FC—CAN), Joel Campbell (Arsenal FC—ENG), Daniel Colindres (Deportivo Saprissa), Celso Borges (Deportivo La Coruña—ESP), Bryan Ruiz (Sporting CP—POR), Rodney Wallace (New York City FC—USA).

Forwards

Johan Venegas (Minnesota United—USA), David Ramirez (Moreirense FC—POR), Marco Ureña (San Jose Earthquakes—USA), Ariel Rodriguez (Bangkok Glass—THA).

Coach - Óscar Ramírez.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: June 18, 2017, 03:31:39 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Costa Rica Game (13-Jun-2017)
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2017, 02:05:08 PM »

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2017, 11:09:04 AM »
are we going back home or straight to Costa Rica?

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2017, 11:34:41 AM »

Why would we go back home?

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2017, 01:07:54 PM »

Boatride.....must have one going on somewhere this weekend...dem fellas need to relax after that stellar effort last night

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2017, 01:22:23 PM »

Boatride.....must have one going on somewhere this weekend...dem fellas need to relax after that stellar effort last night

Allyuh relentless sah  :rotfl:

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2017, 01:42:47 PM »

« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2017, 01:56:59 PM »
 :rotfl: needed that, was cussing KJ, Hyland and the linesman last night

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2017, 05:49:36 AM »
:rotfl: needed that, was cussing KJ, Hyland and the linesman last night

Breds, that is a strange combination, but true.

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2017, 02:29:08 PM »
Watching this game is purely for enjoyment and looking at it as a fete match

Tallest and the dictator needs to stop this charade, we all know they not aiming to qualify so who are they trying to fool?

Tallest is using our national team to springboard his coaching career and don't want to step on any toes on the way, so he have no problem with selling out and towing the line, especially what the dictator has set out
« Last Edit: June 10, 2017, 02:36:19 PM by Controversial »

« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2017, 02:39:31 AM »

Tallest and the dictator needs to stop this charade, we all know they not aiming to qualify so who are they trying to fool?

Tallest is using our national team to springboard his coaching career and don't want to step on any toes on the way, so he have no problem with selling out and towing the line, especially what the dictator has set out

If he wasn't trying to qualify then how is he forwarding his coaching career?? Ya think by staying close with "the dictator" he might cop a job coaching Caledonia AIA before moving onto the San Siro? Hush your ass Gino. Each post I read from you is more ridiculous than the last. What the ass he have to gain from sucking up to DJW??

We can agree that DJW is ah clown, but why do you have it out on Tallest? The man is a national hero and hasn't shown anything but dignity and persistence. He did not fire Hart, and was not the reason for the sacking of Hart. Stop being such an insufferable f**ker and support ya goddamn team na.

« Reply #11 on: June 11, 2017, 08:28:48 AM »

Contro, how can this be a charade. Granted the side not up to scratch and we all are disappointed to say the least. But them men bussin' their arse to make something out of nothing, and you calling it a charade. best you doh watch the rest of their games. If it is a charade why waste your time.

Tallest is using our national team to springboard his coaching career.

Breds, show us a coach who don't refer to their first and to their last outing to further their career. You really believe Dennis "kicks-in" on his job. Okay, he may not be a good as Hart as far as YOU may want to think, but I beg to differ with your reasoning. This squad eh ready, Breds. Plain and simple. Blame it DJW! I will agree with you on that one. But like I have said before, I hope your group of people who want to challenge DJW for the next election better be out in the football fraternity grassroots to make the case why allyuh better than DJW. Footbal is politics.

« Reply #12 on: June 11, 2017, 10:07:05 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ah gone with this one.....

« Reply #13 on: June 11, 2017, 01:35:23 PM »

If he wasn't trying to qualify then how is he forwarding his coaching career?? Ya think by staying close with "the dictator" he might cop a job coaching Caledonia AIA before moving onto the San Siro? Hush your ass Gino. Each post I read from you is more ridiculous than the last. What the ass he have to gain from sucking up to DJW??

We can agree that DJW is ah clown, but why do you have it out on Tallest? The man is a national hero and hasn't shown anything but dignity and persistence. He did not fire Hart, and was not the reason for the sacking of Hart. Stop being such an insufferable f**ker and support ya goddamn team na.

If you actually understood how politics worked or functioned, you wouldn't be asking foolish/ignorant questions...

Being a national team coach and facing the opposition he has in our region, should he leave will garner him better club opportunities outside of our shores.. maybe even national team opportunities as well.. his political affiliations will put in a good word for him, anywhere..

So to preserve that referral and privelige, he will tow the line..

But I don't expect you to understand this because you have no inkling of sense when it comes to intl relations or politics for that matter

« Reply #14 on: June 12, 2017, 12:22:51 AM »

If you actually understood how politics worked or functioned, you wouldn't be asking foolish/ignorant questions...

Being a national team coach and facing the opposition he has in our region, should he leave will garner him better club opportunities outside of our shores.. maybe even national team opportunities as well.. his political affiliations will put in a good word for him, anywhere..

But I don't expect you to understand this because you have no inkling of sense when it comes to intl relations or politics for that matter
mister man I often get the feeling that you are just another major bloody troll simply looking to rile up the crowd but if that is not the case then why don't you forget this campaign, better yet forget trinidad and tobago football until you get the federation president and a coach of your liking and leave the rest of us to support the dictator and the idiot coach. it don't even make sense that you watch our games or make comments anymore if you don't approve of what's taking place. have some balls and walk away, it would be the only sensible thing to do.

« Reply #15 on: June 12, 2017, 01:59:04 AM »

mister man I often get the feeling that you are just another major bloody troll simply looking to rile up the crowd but if that is not the case then why don't you forget this campaign, better yet forget trinidad and tobago football until you get the federation president and a coach of your liking and leave the rest of us to support the dictator and the idiot coach. it don't even make sense that you watch our games or make comments anymore if you don't approve of what's taking place. have some balls and walk away, it would be the only sensible thing to do.

I'm sure he can defend himself or maybe not, maybe he can't fight his own battles..

I didn't read your diatribe so I just responded accordingly knowing fully well the rubbish you would most likely say  :D

« Reply #16 on: June 12, 2017, 03:02:03 AM »
Look if the soldier was going to toe the line..he would have accepted his fate when the prez tried a fast one with his initial contract...so at this time I give him the benefit of the doubt...he could have capitulated then ..but he stood his ground....true
Rastafari

« Reply #17 on: June 12, 2017, 03:54:17 AM »
T&T Senior Men brace for tough Costa Rica conditions.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men will take to the Estadio Nacional on Monday night for their lone practice on the match surface ahead of Tuesday’s 2018 World Cup Qualifier against Costa Rica in San Jose.

The T&T team underwent one final training session at Prentup Field in Denver on Sunday morning before a heading off to the Denver Airport to catch its flight to Houston onwards to San Jose on Sunday evening.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence opted to stay back in Denver following Thursday’s match against the United States due to the fact that he was familiar with the training facilities and felt it would be a more comfortable environment for the team.

Defender Aubrey David, who played last year with Costa Rican club Deportivo Saprissa, will be familiar with the conditions in San Jose and it is expected to be a hostile one as the hosts are desperate for a win after being held 0-0 in San Jose by Panama last Thursday and the fans are expected to be on the backs of the players. By last Tuesday, already 25,000 tickets were sold for Tuesday’s match and the Costa Rican Football Federation was expecting a sold out house by Gameday.

“Knowing the Costa Rican fans and how important football and the national team is to them, they will be out in their numbers to drive the team on Tuesday,” David told TTFA Media.

“The people are very, very passionate and they will be looking to spur the team on against us. But having played here and knowing what to expect, I don’t think our boys need to be intimidated as once we settle and we get the fans out of our minds and play the game,then we should be able to cope with things,” David said.

“We have players who have faced very hostile conditions in countries like Mexico, Honduras. Guatemala and El Salvador so it’s not going to be an eye opener on Tuesday. And the head coach is capable to preparing the players mentally for the challenge ahead. The most important thing will be for us to settle and not let the Costa Ricans get on top of us from early and hopefully we can stick together and grind it out,” David added.

T&T have never beaten Costa Rica in a World Cup qualifier and its best result in San Jose was a 1-1 draw in 1989. In twenty five meetings between both countries in all types of senior team matches, T&T have won three, drawn four and lost 18 with the most recent defeat being a 2-0 loss in March in Port of Spain. One of the memorable wins for T&T was a 2-1 win at the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup quarter finals courtesy of goals by Arnold Dwarika and the deceased Mickey Trotman. T&T have beaten Costa Rica only once in any form of World Cup qualification, that being a 2-0 win for the Under 17 Men’s team in World Cup qualifying final round in Panama in 2013.

T&T footballers off to Costa Rica tomorrow.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men’s Team will arrive in San Jose, Costa Rica on Sunday evening ahead of Tuesday’s 2018 World Cup qualifying encounter against the Central Americans at the Estadio Nacional.

The T&T team remained in Denver, Colorado following Thursday’s 2-0 defeat to the United States to continue preparations before departing the US with head coach Dennis Lawrence overseeing three training sessions at the Colorado Rapids training pitch located near to Dick’s Sporting Goods Park.

With the US match out of the away, Lawrence has emphasised that the focus now must be on Costa Rica.

“The US match is gone, it’s out of the way and now we’ve got to look ahead to the next one which is Costa Rica. We have got to pick up and go again,” Lawrence said.

Veteran Carlos Edwards said it was a situation now where “We’ve got to roll our sleeves up and move onto the next one.

“It’s no sense dwelling on the game with the US,” Edwards told TTFA Media.

“We missed out on a chance to secure at least a point.Obviously after a day we’ve reflected and the coach has gone over the clips for us, showing us the positive side of things and to be honest, we did have some very good moments in the game where we showed good shape and organisation. But the two goals came at crucial moments where we slipped up. What we’ll do now is try to react as best as possible, work on some of the areas and just focus on what is ahead which is Costa Rica on Tuesday,” Edwards added.

Goalkeeper Jan Michael Williams, meantime, completed a new one-year transfer to Honduras top flight club Juticalpa FC on Friday. Williams, who made a recent switch to North East Stars from Central FC, is expected to fly out to Honduras later this month for preseason training. Williams produced a solid showing between the sticks on Thursday night against the Americans, saying he was now focusing on Costa Rica.

“I think the team has shown since Dennis Lawrence and the rest of the staff came on board, the ability to adapt and learn quickly and grow under him. We have only had Dennis for two months but we want to push all the excuses aside and we really need to buckle down and get some more points on the board,” Williams said.

“The camp is a bit quiet now because obviously we are very disappointed with the result against the US but we’ve had a couple training sessions since the match and the focus is coming back and we have to push on from here.

“We just have to go in and do exactly what the coaching staff is asking us to do. We need to be confident, eliminate our errors and get on with the task at hand in Costa Rica,” Williams said.

Regarding the new deal, he added: “Finally I think I have been trying for some time to go back outside and play at a higher level. The call came from Honduras and I’ve already signed the contract so it’s just about getting out there and starting preseason with the club. I am looking forward to it and it’s a good opportunity for me to continue my career outside and continuing to grow. The deal has been on the table for a while now and they made the offer a couple weeks ago,” Willliams added.

« Reply #18 on: June 12, 2017, 05:37:51 AM »
Latest Standings.

# - P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts - (-/+)
1. Mexico  6  4  2  0  9  2  14  (+7)
2. Costa Rica  5  2  2  1  7  3  8  (+4)
3. United States  6  2  2  2  11  8  8  (+3)
4. Panama  5  1  3  1  2  2  6  (0)
5. Honduras  5  1  1  3  4  12  4  (-8)
6. Trinidad & Tobago  5  1  0  4  2  8  3  (-6)

« Reply #19 on: June 12, 2017, 08:29:52 AM »
Three points will give us a chance at 4th place playoff. The manager should tell the players Thursday is a holiday and there is a Boat Ride on Thursday and he has reserved seats as a bonus-   Now what better motivation than that .

« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2017, 09:25:10 AM »
Nah then you have players looking forward to Thursday and overlooking Tuesday
My thoughts would be...do you want to play on the biggest stage...I have the captain has and Carlos...do you want to join that elete group ...then it's time to step up...win the rest of our games and ensure your immortality.....only a select group​ has and you can apply for membership

« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2017, 08:46:12 PM »
Play de Fitabll

yes Just Cool...and others..i said it (again)

maybe you do..or do not know..but i am an award winning football journalist...

a CONCACAF licensed football coach..actually screened and coached some of the present national team players...

did national team opponents scouting reports for world cup qualifying matches

did tnt player scouting reports for Foreign clubs

but i just say " play de fitball".. there is some depth there you know..( do you ??)

i will leave all the big deep posts to the EXPERTS...

come on tnt...play de fitball.

« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2017, 09:54:58 PM »
What time is the match TT time?

« Reply #23 on: June 12, 2017, 10:24:00 PM »
Play de Fitabll

yes Just Cool...and others..i said it (again)

maybe you do..or do not know..but i am an award winning football journalist...

a CONCACAF licensed football coach..actually screened and coached some of the present national team players...

did national team opponents scouting reports for world cup qualifying matches

did tnt player scouting reports for Foreign clubs

but i just say " play de fitball".. there is some depth there you know..( do you ??)

i will leave all the big deep posts to the EXPERTS...

come on tnt...play de fitball.

Nice one BM.  Respeck!  :beermug:

Open Letter to National Team Ahead of CR
« Reply #24 on: June 12, 2017, 10:51:31 PM »
Not sure if this will get to you fellas but I wanted to at least try. 

Firstly, thank you for getting into the colors.  As a player I know T&T fans can be the worst combination of dunce and unappreciative.  I guess you can say it's in our culture, to pull down and never build up, to lambaste and wound.  It seems as if somewhere in the recesses of our minds we expect things to fall apart.  Some might argue that as a people we have a history of losing and some would say that we've gotten accustomed to it. 

I disagree.  I believe our country has been winning for a very long time.  We don't see the wins because we are aiming at the wrong values.  We measuring the wrong things.  What can a country of 1.3 mill. people offer international football?  A damn lot for two islands.  We've just been measuring the wrong values.

The true value of the game may not always be on the scoreboard.  The true value is in the guy next to you. 
How would you play with Stern John, Dwight or Latas knowing that you would never see them again in your
generation?  The value is in your people, the value is in your brother, it always has been and always will be.  If we were to understand this we will never loose.  My team(business) never looses regardless of the score.
The integral factor in winning is what can be done together.  And it's always more that we can do by ourselves.

Do you think you'll see a Dwight again after his season has past?  When?  All of our moments are right now, in this space.  Time ticking and at the end, the real value isn't even the games.  It's in your brother.  Allyuh big head Trinis.   ;D

Take off the head phones fellas, share a lil joke, share a compliment, an encouragement, even a prayer. 
Find a player and tell him all the nice things you want the press to say about you.  That stuff is hard but it's the healing you need. 

I know because:
1. The most dangerous aerial threat in Concacaf get maybe one or two crosses in a whole game.  One he out jumped a goalkeeper.   :o
2. We bring on a fast forward and he ain't get no ball.  How?

The true value is in your people, the guy next to you.  So take a bow to your brother, make space for him to succeed, do unto others as you'll like done to you.  If you do this you'll have great victory in the game and in life.  The true value of winning that exist beyond the scoreboard. 

Great success tomorrow fellas.

Closing Tip: If KJ succeeds everyone will.  Play for each other's success.
« Last Edit: June 12, 2017, 11:05:49 PM by Preacher »

« Reply #25 on: June 13, 2017, 01:46:16 AM »
T&T and Costa Rica tussle in San Jose.
TTFA Media.

For the second time in less than a week, this country’s senior footballers will enter the field with the odds stacked firmly against them as they try to steal points in Tuesday night’s 2018 World Cup qualifier against Costa Rica at the National Stadium in San Jose.

Not only have T&T never beaten the Costa Ricans in a World Cup qualifier either at home or away but the home-team is coming off for what for them, is a disappointing 0-0 draw with Panama at home last Thursday and is desperate to take three points as they stand in second placed on the six-team table. But for T&T, the thinking of “impossible is nothing” must mean something tomorrow night as skipper Kenwyne Jones and his teammates know that they must pull out all the stops to get to a favourable position on the six-team table. Having already lost the home match 2-0 under Stephen Hart in November, T&T will be looking to now salvage something on the road.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence conducted the official one-hour training session at the match venue on Monday night in what has so far been cool and slightly windy conditions in San Jose since the team arrived the previous evening from Colorado.

“We don’t expect any favours nor any easy moments because we have always found ourselves in a position where we have to pull ourselves out from difficult situations and it’s no different at the moment,” team skipper Jones said. “We have to make it right for ourselves.”

“History shows that we never get anything when we play here but history is the past and we have to focus on pulling out everything for a chance of taking away at least a point from here. But winning is the main thing of course,” added the Atlanta United forward.

Christian Bolaños scored the opener and then set up the second item late the match for Ronald Matarrita when the both teams met in November.

This time T&T will be hoping to stay sound in every area of play for as long as possible.

“It’s going to be another match where we have to stay focused for every moment and try to break them down when we can. We must believe from now and for every minute during the game that we can get this done,” US-based midfielder Kevan George said.

“We know what to expect as it’s not like we are playing in these kind of conditions for a first or second time. The coach has prepared us once again to face the challenge and we will go out there and try to execute it with a certain drive, determination and also be clever when it is required of us in key moments of the game.”

Costa Rican head coach Oscar Ramirez told the press on Sunday that nothing but a win for his team would be satisfying.

“This second round is always important. The only way is to win. We have to think about nothing else at this stage,” Ramirez said.

Francisco Calvo, a current member of the team and former teammate of Aubrey David at Saprissa, added: “ “Trinidad and Tobago has players fast and strong and they know what they are going to play. We cannot take anything for granted against this team.”

The other match on tonight (Tuesday) pits Honduras away to Panama while the US and Mexico battled to a 1-1 draw at the Azteca on Sunday.

At the moment, only three points separates cellar placed T&T (3pts) from fourth placed Panama who are at home to fifth placed Honduras (four points) on Tuesday. The top three sees Mexico on fourteen points followed by Costa Rica (8.), ahead of the US (8 pts) by a better goal difference of one.

T&T’s best result in San Jose was a 1-1 draw in 1985, losing 1-0 in 1989 and then drawing 1-1 that same year in Port of Spain.

In twenty five meetings between both countries in all types of senior team matches, T&T have won three, drawn four and lost 18 with the most recent defeat being a 2-0 loss in March in Port of Spain. One of the memorable wins for T&T was a 2-1 win at the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup quarter finals courtesy of goals by Arnold Dwarika and the deceased Mickey Trotman.

T&T have beaten Costa Rica only once in any form of World Cup qualification, that being a 2-0 win for the Under 17 Men’s team in World Cup qualifying final round in Panama in 2013.

Offline Thomo

Re: Open Letter to National Team Ahead of CR
« Reply #26 on: June 13, 2017, 01:57:28 AM »
Wise words Preacher. Blessings to the fellas putting on the national colours and fighting for the pride of 1.3 million people. Most may not appreciate or recognise your efforts but the few that do, really do.

Re: Open Letter to National Team Ahead of CR
« Reply #27 on: June 13, 2017, 05:30:07 AM »
I love this! This is the truth!

« Reply #28 on: June 13, 2017, 05:46:27 AM »
Best of luck today fellas. Believe!

« Reply #29 on: June 13, 2017, 05:51:33 AM »
What time is the match TT time?

10PM TT Time