March 28, 2024, 02:24:26 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Dominican Republic Game (5-Oct-2016)  (Read 9275 times)

Online gawd on pitch

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Dominican Republic Game (5-Oct-2016)
« Reply #30 on: September 30, 2016, 09:49:41 PM »
That is the team we shouldn't take lightly. Hence, why Hart called a strong team.

I guess the Bostock situation is what it is for now. I hope that changes by Nov 1st.

« Reply #31 on: October 01, 2016, 07:05:53 AM »
I surprise men getting released from club in US and europe?
is this an international break
would like to see some locals

need to keep bring young players through in games like these.

Online lefty

« Reply #32 on: October 01, 2016, 07:14:37 AM »

sad to say, but Local squads can't even be relied upon to secure CFU early round competitions now, that how badly we have regressed......when is d last time we cruise through early qualifiers without having to call foreign talent, that plus d first team have plenty rust to shake off before WCQ, if yuh forget

« Reply #33 on: October 01, 2016, 07:35:12 AM »
Ditto on the rust

« Reply #34 on: October 01, 2016, 07:42:10 AM »

Yes, it is an International break. Pro League only start yesterday. A bunch of locals were involved against Peru, Uruguay, and China.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2016, 07:56:29 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #35 on: October 01, 2016, 10:30:08 AM »
dominica republic is not the same as Uruguay and Peru but I understand men nervous.

« Reply #36 on: October 01, 2016, 11:55:43 AM »
Wait! Dominican Republic? What a f#%king powerhouse......

« Reply #37 on: October 01, 2016, 02:17:42 PM »
If one cannot understand the need to get the 1st team together in the only fifa break prior the start of the hex coupled with the fact that these games determine whether or not we play the GC next year then....

« Reply #38 on: October 01, 2016, 03:05:47 PM »
If one cannot understand the need to get the 1st team together in the only fifa break prior the start of the hex coupled with the fact that these games determine whether or not we play the GC next year then....
Thank you!

Warriors assemble for Caribbean Cup qualifier
« Reply #39 on: October 01, 2016, 06:38:37 PM »
Warriors assemble for Caribbean Cup qualifier
TTFA Media

Members of this country’s national senior team will assemble on Sunday evening and will engage in their first training session on Monday morning ahead of Wednesday’s Scotiabank Caribbean Cup qualifier against Dominican Republic at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva at 7pm.

Head Coach Stephen Hart is expected to have his full compliment of players available by Monday leaving him with two days of fine tuning before taking the field for the first of two games which includes a second outing versus Martinique in Stade-de-France on October 11th.

“It’s always a bit of a difficult situation where the players are in only two or three days before a match but we deal with it and we move on,” Hart told TTFA Media. “Our players have been through it before and unfortunately it’s the way the schedule is drawn up because of the dates and we simply deal with it accordingly.”

Among those returning is US-based forward Trevin Caesar who is coming off is “Player of the Week” performance in the United Soccer League (USL) for Orange County. Caesar scored a double last Saturday to lead his club to a 4-0 win over Colorado Springs Switchbacks FC 4-0, and advance to the USL Cup Playoffs.

Now Caesar is hoping to add some Caribbean success to his CV.

“It’s been a pretty decent season for me with Orange County. I’ve been working my legs off and seeing results with the goals coming by and of course we are into the playoffs which is a great accomplishment for the club,’”Caesar told TTFA Media.

“Now with the focus back on the national team, I am hoping to maintain my form. I haven’t tasted any success at the Caribbean Cup level for T&T so I am hoping to play a strong part in helping the team reach the finals and hopefully we can go a step further than we did last time,” Caesar added.

The Tobago-born player has scored three goals in ten appearances for T&T at the senior level and is eying a first appearance at the Concacaf Gold Cup next year.

“I think it’s very important for us to make to the Gold Cup especially as we will be involved in the World Cup qualifiers around the same time. These two games against Dominican Republic and Martinique are surely going to be tricky and difficult because one slip up and you can be out.

“It will be important for us to stay concentrated at all times and finish off the job in both games. Once we get to the next phase, it means we would be through to the Gold Cup and then we can focus on trying to win the Cup,” he added.

Tickets for Wednesday’s match are now on sale at all Sports and Games, Kenny’s Sports Shops, Ramsingh’s Sportworld in Couva and Heritage Sports in Tobago. Tickets cost $200 (covered) and $100 (uncovered). Gates open at 4pm on Wednesday.

Trinidad and Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:
Jan-Michael Williams (Central FC), Marvin Phillip (Morvant Caledonia United), Adrian Foncette (Police FC)

Defenders:
Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids), Aubrey David (FC Dallas), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Triston Hodge (Toronto FC II), Radanfah Abu Bakr ( FK Kruoja Pakruojis), Sheldon Bateau (FC Krylia Sovetov Samara)

Midfielders:
Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada), Neveal Hackshaw (Charleston Battery), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders), Cordell Cato (San Jose Earthquakes), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar), Kevin Molino (Orlando City SC), Jomal Williams (Murciélagos FC)

Forwards: Kenwyne Jones (Central FC), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues), Shahdon Winchester (Murciélagos FC)

« Reply #40 on: October 01, 2016, 11:08:34 PM »

Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles and the Blind Boysof Alabama could see this but the experts here cannot.

« Reply #41 on: October 02, 2016, 06:48:49 PM »
At this stage it is more about the first team getting matches to gel together. So these matches can be used as preparation for the WC qualifiers and at the same time understanding the importance of winning these matches because GOLD CUP qualification is at stake

« Reply #42 on: October 03, 2016, 06:33:16 AM »
Dominican Republic arrives for C/Cup qualifier.
TTFA Media.

Season passes go on sale from Tuesday

The TTFA/NLCB Season Pass which was launched last week will go on sale to the public at eight First Citizen’s Bank branches across the nation from Tuesday October 4th, 2016.

The new partnership with the National Lotteries Control Board (NLCB)  entails the introduction of a Season Pass Program for all of its official National Team Matches through to November 2017, inclusive of the five home games in the CONCACAF Final Round.

The Season Passes will be on sale at the following FCB branches : Independence Square, One Woodbrook Place, San Fernando, Gulf View,Tunapuna, Arima, Chaguanas and Scarborough.

There will be 5,000 season passes for the uncovered section and 1400 for the covered section.

The Season Passes cost $2,000 (Covered Section) and $1,000 (Uncovered Section).

Meantime, the focus shifts to  Scotiabank Caribbean Cup action with this country’s senior national men’s team taking on the Dominican Republic in a qualifier at the Ato Boldon stadium from 7pm on Wednesday. The Dominican Republic team is scheduled to arrive in the country from Santo Domingo at 4:15pm on Monday.

The Spanish-speaking Caribbean opponents are coming off a 1-0 victory over Puerto Rico in a friendly on August 30th. They progressed to the third round of the Caribbean Cup by way of 2-1 win over French Guiana in June, also defeating Bermuda 1-0 and Barbados 2-0.

Their team to face T&T is captained by ex-W Connection forward Jonathan Pena who now plays for Panamanian club Arabe Unido. The majority of their team comprises players based at home with the exception of a couple players based in Spain including defender Tano Bonnin who once played with the Real Madrid C team. He now plays for Spanish club CA Osasuna. Also in their side is defender Carlos Julio Martinez who plays for Spanish club Marbella FC and previously played for the Villarreal “B” team up to last season.

T&T’s US-based defender Aubrey David meantime, is expecting Wednesday’s affair to be nothing but challenging  for the hosts.

“These type of games are never easy because every team wants to come hard at us when it comes to the regional competition. This is Dominican Republic’s only real chance of making it to an international competition like the Caribbean Cup and then the Gold Cup, so for them it’s like a World Cup qualifier. We expect they will be coming with everything,” David told TTFA Media.

“But I think we are in a good shape at the moment having just come off our World Cup qualifiers and still very much in that frame of mind for the qualification with the hex starting next month. And with this all the players will be focused on the task ahead plus of course we know how important it is for us to move onto the Gold Cup next year,” added the Dallas FC defender.

« Reply #43 on: October 03, 2016, 02:41:11 PM »
WATCH: Caribbean Cup Preview - Trinidad and Tobago vs Dominican Republic

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/M7sIrw4VhuM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/M7sIrw4VhuM</a>

« Reply #44 on: October 03, 2016, 06:02:08 PM »
Bostock lose his passport again???

« Reply #45 on: October 03, 2016, 06:15:27 PM »
Bostock lose his passport again???

:)

« Reply #46 on: October 04, 2016, 03:56:13 AM »
T&T Senior Men look to take early control.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers will be cautious but will look to stamp their authority from early on when they begin their quest for qualification for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup against the Dominican Republic at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 7pm.

That will be the intent from the get go according to Russian-based defender Sheldon Bateau who is among a host of first team regulars recalled for duty by head coach Stephen Hart for one of two qualifying matches which includes an away fixture to Martinique in Stade-de-France on October 11th.

The winner of the three-team group will advance to the Scotiabank Caribbean Cup semi-finals as well as the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup. The runner up will make it to group comprising of the best second place finishers all vying for one final qualifying spot.

When both teams last met in Couva in 2014, Kevin Molino notched a hattrick while Kenwyne Jones scored a double and Trevin Caesar scored another in a 6-0 win for the hosts in what was another Caribbean Cup qualifying fixture. In 2012, T&T squeezed a 2-1 win in Antigua and have won all ten outings between the two.

“None of these matches are easy but of course if we are on top of our game on the day then we should be able to take charge and dictate the pace of the game,” Bateau told TTFA Media.

“On paper of course we are expected to come out on top but football is changing and teams like Dominican Republic are improving and they are very hungry for success as well. The important thing for us is to show our intentions from early to control the game and stamp our authority.

This game is not just a qualifying match for the Caribbean Cup and the Gold Cup but it is also a big part of our preparations for the World Cup qualifiers in November and obviously a lot of eyes will be on us. Coach Hart will also be looking to ensure that our game is tidy and that everything is in tune with his plans for the matches in November,” Bateau added.

T&T trained twice on Monday, a brief morning session followed by a late evening session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Tickets for Wednesday’s encounter are priced at $200 (covered) and $100 (uncovered) and are available at all Sports and Games outlets, Kenny’s Sports Shops, Ramsingh’s Sportworld in Couva and Heritage Sports in Tobago.

In related news, the Caribbean Football Union announced that the 2016/17 Caribbean Cup, third-round match scheduled for October 5 between host Jamaica and Suriname has been postponed due to safety concerns regarding Hurricane Matthew.

The Caribbean Cup is a biennial competition that crowns the region’s champion and qualifies at least four teams to the CONCACAF Gold Cup. In 2015, for the first-ever time, the Caribbean’s quartet of representatives – Cuba, Haiti Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago — advanced past the Gold Cup’s group stage.

« Reply #47 on: October 04, 2016, 06:51:08 AM »
WATCH: Soca Warriors seeking victory against Dominican Republic and Martinique

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/d9ECWls8u2k" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/d9ECWls8u2k</a>

« Reply #48 on: October 04, 2016, 10:17:48 AM »
WATCH: Midfielders Cordell Cato and Khaleem Hyland look ahead to the match against Dominican Republic

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4flZhni_x3E" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4flZhni_x3E</a>

Soca Warriors ready to face Dominican Republic in Caribbean Cup Qualifier
« Reply #49 on: October 04, 2016, 06:03:23 PM »
Soca Warriors ready to face Dominican Republic in Caribbean Cup Qualifier
TTFA Media

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team will be looking to secure their first win and set themselves up for a smooth passage into the Caribbean Cup Finals and the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup when they face off with Dominican Republic in their opening Scotiabank Caribbean Cup Group 4 qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 7pm on Wednesday.

The Jamaica versus Suriname encounter slated for Kingston on Wednesday has been postponed due to the passage of Hurricane Matthew while CFU will make a final determination on the Haiti vs French Guiana match scheduled for the Stade Sylvio Cator in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Curacao will host Antigua and Barbuda in the other fixture on the day.

T&T head coach Stephen Hart is banking on a potent line up to get the job done as T&T needs to top the three-team group in order to advance.

“The main focus now is qualification for the two tournaments but we also have the Hex to prepare for which gives us a good opportunity as a team to come together for these two games. Teams that do not have to play in competition that are in the hex are using the dates to play international friendlies so for us we have to use these two games in a similar way,” Hart said.

He wants to see T&T out of the blocks with more urgency.

“We have to be more focused on our tasks because we have a tendency to sort of start slow when the opposition does not really requires us to be quicker. It is something I would like to address and break out of. We are not in a situation where we always do that, for instance we weren’t doing that in the Gold Cup but for the last little period or so we have and I’d like to rectify it.”

San Jose Earthquakes midfielder Cordell Cato is aware that Caribbean opposition could pose surprising challenges from time to time.

“We know teams like Dominican Republic will not lie down but I think we are prepared for them. It’s good to have the majority of the squad available for this game. Everyone seems to be fit and ready to go so we’ll be looking to produce the kind of performance that will be satisfying and have us in a good position at the end of this round,” Cato told TTFA Media.

Belgium-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland is also hoping to see the hosts take care of matters on the evening.

“We know our downfalls from the last couple of games and we have to keep working on them in order to become a better team. These two games are important for us to get things right heading into the hex.

“We have played Dominican Republic on many occasions and once you give them time and space, they will be willing to put the ball down and play. They can be nippy, quick combination football so we will have to put our heads down and make it uncomfortable for them by dictating the pace of the game,” Hyland added.

Tickets are priced at $200 (covered) and $100 (uncovered) and are available at all Sports and Games, Kenny’s Sports Shops, Ramsingh’s Sportworld in Couva and Heritage Sports in Tobago. Tickets will also be available for purchase at the venue.

Round three matches are also scheduled for October 8 and 11.

The top four teams emerging from Round 3 will qualify to the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup while the fifth-placed team will advance to a play-off against a team from UNCAF in a bid to earn a Gold Cup berth.

Round 3 will be followed by a three-nation, Fifth-place Play-off of the best three second-placed finishers, from November 7-15, 2016.

According to the CFU, The finals of the Caribbean Cup will be played from June 22-25, 2017.

« Reply #50 on: October 04, 2016, 06:10:05 PM »
WATCH: Warriors determined to prevail against Dominican Republic

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/TiKbpk58H5s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/TiKbpk58H5s</a>

Molino’s hat-trick leads Trinidad and Tobago to a 4-0 win over Dominican Republic
By Nigel Simon (T&T Guardian)

Orlando City midfielder, Kevin Molino scored a second international hat-trick as T&T Soca Warriors strolled to a 4-0 win over a determined Dominican Republic in their Scotiabank Caribbean Football Union Cup Group Four qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva last night.

After enjoying the better of the early exchanges, T&T took the lead in the 16th minute through Molino who volleyed home on his left foot from less than five yards out. The move followed a Radanfah Abu Bakr header back across the goal from a corner taken by the left footed Joevin Jones on the right side.

Two minutes later, Molino made it 2-0 with another close range finish, this time with a header off an assist by captain Kenwyne Jones, following a neat and skillful build-up down the right side by Cordell Cato and Daneil Cyrus.

Cato made it 3-0 on the half-hour mark, when after a long clearance from goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams, who was making his first start since March, Kenwyne Jones flicked on the ball which caught goalkeeper Miguel Lloyd and his defence in two minds, and allowed the T&T winger an easy finish.

On the resumption, the sparse crowd of about 1,500 spectators that journeyed to the venue, would have expected T&T to double its tally, however the Soca Warriors only second-half success came in the 52nd minute when Molino completed his hat-trick, his second against the same opponents in as many outings.

This time, the USA-based T&T player was on spot for an easy tap in after an unmarked Kenwyne Jones saw his header from substitute Levi Garcia’s left sided centre, partially blocked by Lloyd.

In the end it was a well deserved win for coach Stephen Hart’s men who never got out of second gear against the Dominican Republic who return home to face Martinique on Sunday at the Estadio Panamericano, San Cristobal.

T&T will conclude group play away to Martinique on Tuesday at the end of which only the group winner will advance to the Caribbean Football Union Cup’s four-team final and also secure one of five CFU spots to next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Jan-Michael Williams (GK); 5.Daneil Cyrus, 4.Sheldon Bateau, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 18.Tristan Hodge; 19.Kevan George, 8.Khaleem Hyland (14.Andre Boucaud, 57’); 7.Cordell Cato, 10.Kevin Molino, 3.Joevin Jones (16.Levi Garcia 51 [11.Shahdon Winchester, 72’]); 9.Kenwyne Jones (captain).

Unused subs: 20.Adrian Foncette (GK), 2.Aubrey David, 12.Trevin Caesar, 17.Mekeil Williams.

Head Coach: Stephen Hart

Dominican Republic: 1.Miguel Lloyd (GK); 23.Carlos Martínez, 3.César Garcia, 4.Cayetano Bonnín, 2.Ernesto Trinidad (15.Luís Ismael Díaz 20’); 21.Rafael Flores; 8.Rony Beard (14.Jean Carlos López, 42’), 22.Wilman Modesta, 10.Eddipo Rodriguez (11.Domingo Peralta 62’); 9.Jonathan Faña, 7.Darly Batista.

Unused subs: 13.Odalis Báez (GK), 20.Luís Espinal.
Head Coach: Robert Diaz

Referee: Kimbell Ward (St Kitts and Nevis)

WATCH: Match Highlights

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/AM2AMIrkP2A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/AM2AMIrkP2A</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/0H0eWfOZMfg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/0H0eWfOZMfg</a>

« Reply #52 on: October 06, 2016, 10:39:20 PM »
WATCH: Post-match interview with hat-trick hero Kevin Molino

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VbaecoXybNY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VbaecoXybNY</a>

WATCH: Post-match interview with midfielder Kevan George

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/_Q9aPpnGHOE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/_Q9aPpnGHOE</a>

WATCH: Post-match interview with Captain Kenwyne Jones

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/oKw3ZHgzM-Y" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/oKw3ZHgzM-Y</a>

WATCH: Post-match interview with Coach Stephen Hart

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/ICq6wEqeEJ4" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/ICq6wEqeEJ4</a>

« Reply #53 on: October 06, 2016, 10:43:57 PM »
This thread was on life support.

« Reply #54 on: October 07, 2016, 08:50:09 AM »
Shudda been 6 Nil.

« Reply #55 on: October 07, 2016, 09:20:34 AM »
Congrats on the win. well done and it would surely build confidence. Let us finish the Job in Suriname.
 George / Hyland or George / Boucaud. Interesting as we go forward.  Happy for the win.

« Reply #56 on: October 07, 2016, 10:43:14 AM »
What is the deal with Bostock? Is he in as yet?

« Reply #57 on: October 07, 2016, 11:40:20 AM »
Nah Deeks still haven't been cleared by FIFA, Hart speak about it here last week when he made his selections.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=oY5j2V_F_BE#t=303

Offline Trin

« Reply #58 on: October 07, 2016, 12:06:26 PM »
Not the best game to gauge performance. DR were pretty bad.... we were still giving away the ball to much in transition. Hope to see improvement vs Martinique.

« Reply #59 on: October 07, 2016, 01:01:06 PM »
This DR team was much worse than I thought and after being 4 up after 53 mins it was disappointment to no score at least 2 more.The post above mine should looked at quite seriously, we lose  the ball too easily.We cannot do that against Martinique, they can match any team in the Caribbean.I hope we are at our best, if not we could drop a point, or dare I say, we could lose.