March 28, 2024, 05:18:46 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Suriname Game (04-Jan-2017)  (Read 20288 times)

Thread for T&T vs Suriname Game (04-Jan-2017)
« on: November 15, 2016, 01:11:54 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifying Caribbean playoffs game vs Suriname on the 4th of January 2017 at the Ato Boldon Stadium will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars).

Defenders

Carlos Edwards (Ma Paul Stars), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land—Korea Republic), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sillamae Kallen—Estonia), Maurice Ford (W Connection), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica).

Midfielders

Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—England), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Aikim Andrews (W Connection), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Tyrone Charles (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards

Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC—Mexico), Cornell Glen (Ozone FC Bengalaru—India).

Coach - Tom Saintfiet.

Suriname Squad

Goalkeepers

Claidel Kohinor (SV Robinhood), Sersinio Benefit (SV Leo Victor).

Defenders

Saverio Adenie (SV Robinhood), Andwello Baja (SV Robinhood), Miquel Darson (Inter Moengotapoe), Gilberto End (SV Robinhood), Gillermo Faerber (SV Nishan 42), Guno Kwasie (Walking Boyz Company).

Midfielders

Bruce Diporedjo (Walking Boyz Company), Sercinio Eduard (Inter Moengotapoe), Sorencio Julian (SV Transvaal), Mitchell Kisoor (SV Robinhood), Gillian Maatrijk (Walking Boyz Company), Sylvion Sedney (SV Leo Victor), Galgyto Cuttings (Inter Moengotapoe).

Forwards

Dimitrie Apai (W Connection/TRI), Roxey Fer (SV Robinhood), Ivanildo Petal (SV Robinhood).

Coach - Roberto Gödeken.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 01:04:24 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Suriname Game (04-Jan-2017)
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2016, 05:56:28 AM »
Gold Cup playoffs takes the spotlight first on 2017 calendar.
TTFA Media.

International football takes the spotlight again as the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association and the Caribbean Football Union hosts the first set of matches for 2017.

Fans can come see Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team go after a place in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup with a two matches in the CFU fifth place playoffs at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

T&T faces Suriname from 7pm on Wednesday January 4th and then the hosts take on Haiti on Sunday January 8th at 5pm. Suriname squares off with Haiti on January 6th from 7pm.

Every game must have a winner and the top team advances to play the fifth best placed team of Central America in a playoff for the final Gold Cup spot.

There are three in one season tickets for the three matches costing $$100 for adults and $45 for children. Single match tickets cost $50 for Adults and $20 for children. TTFA Season Pass holders can access the games at no additional cost. All tickets are available at the NLCB Lotto outlets nationwide on the VIA network. Log on to TTFootball.Org for further updates.

Support Tom Saintfiet and his T&T squad in their quest for Gold Cup qualification.

« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2016, 09:38:34 AM »
Guys, this round about to GC might be the best thing for TT football right now. After seeing the way we have from the Guat. game to the one vs Nic recently, it surely shows our lack match fitness. If they can't beat those two team, then they don't deserve to be in the GC.

Offline madness

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2016, 11:08:03 AM »
i hope the coach can now bring in Kevin | Jones | Cato on the squad now

« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2016, 12:33:43 PM »
Williams | Garcia | Hyland | Bateau | K9 | JMW | Hoyte | Boucaud. .

We need all the firepower. Haiti will be looking to repeat last year.

« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2017, 06:10:35 AM »
Forumites, all yuh help mih out. 

I was real out of it last year so clearly I missed something.  We battling for a 5th place spot to qualify for the Gold Cup in 2017 after we qualified and did so well in 2015??

How dat happen??  ???

So who are the Caribbean teams that qualified already? 

« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2017, 07:14:54 AM »

I was real out of it last year so clearly I missed something.  We battling for a 5th place spot to qualify for the Gold Cup in 2017 after we qualified and did so well in 2015??

How dat happen??  ???

We didn't qualify for anything last year, we won one game in the Caribbean Cup against DR 4-0 and lost to Martinique, because the better looser in our group we have to play the same from the other groups, Haiti and Suriname and if we beat them we have to play a 5th place team from Central America to qualify for this year's gold cup.

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=65602.msg962965#msg962965

« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2017, 09:28:55 AM »

How dat happen??  ???

We didn't qualify for anything last year, we won one game in the Caribbean Cup against DR 4-0 and lost to Martinique, because the better looser in our group we have to play the same from the other groups, Haiti and Suriname and if we beat them we have to play a 5th place team from Central America to qualify for this year's gold cup.

If we were to beat all them teams to get the 5th place, then we might to ready. ???????

« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2017, 11:10:11 AM »

How dat happen??  ???

Wait, wait, wait....we still have to beat a Central American team before we reach de Gold Cup??  Ent we does normally qualify for that without jumping through all these hoops??.....ah wha going orn??

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2017, 09:06:06 PM »

How dat happen??  ???

Wait, wait, wait....we still have to beat a Central American team before we reach de Gold Cup??  Ent we does normally qualify for that without jumping through all these hoops??.....ah wha going orn??
it had some real good boat rides this year
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2017, 11:56:01 AM »
WATCH: Monday’s training session in preparation for Suriname

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/U7Yovs7_Dzg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/U7Yovs7_Dzg</a>

« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2017, 11:58:19 AM »
WATCH: Preview of Trinidad and Tobago vs Suriname

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/6NRA4iebUuU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/6NRA4iebUuU</a>

« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2017, 06:26:50 PM »
WATCH: Saintfiet looks ahead to opening CFU Gold Cup playoff match vs Suriname

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/OOXLHt2CqEE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/OOXLHt2CqEE</a>

WATCH: Captain Carlos Edwards looks ahead to Suriname clash

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/VxCVeVs_uTM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/VxCVeVs_uTM</a>

Offline madness

« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2017, 12:53:01 AM »
are there any links to show the game tomorrow? i live in the states

« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2017, 01:17:00 AM »
WATCH: Suriname's final training session prior to departing for Trinidad and Tobago.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/cRyejnTafSE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/cRyejnTafSE</a>

« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2017, 01:26:00 AM »
WATCH: Round 1, The Crossbar Challenge.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/h3WhftuwTbw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/h3WhftuwTbw</a>

« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2017, 05:35:52 AM »
Ah hearing the game showing live on local TV here in T&T....local based, all yuh know about that??  Holla....

« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2017, 06:11:53 AM »
Soca Warriors get Suriname test tonight.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Soca Warriors will go in search of three valuable points when they take on Suriname tonight in the first of two matches in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) Gold Cup play-off matches at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva from. Kick-off time is 7 pm.

Three teams including Haiti, will be batting each other for one spot for the upcoming Gold Cup play-off with the fifth place from central America. The Gold Cup Tournament takes place later this year.

Latapy was named as assistant coach to Saintfiet last month and joined the team for the first time on the weekend after returning from Portugal.

T&T’s head coach Tom Saintfiet announced his 20-man squad for the two matches. The only addition to the list that was in the squad for the recent Nicaragua matches is English-based midfielder Andre Boucaud, who is expected to join the team in time for Sunday’s match against Haiti.

Saintfiet revealed that he took a decision to omit Daneil Cyrus and Jomal Williams from the 20-man squad due to both players arriving to a residential camp at Cara Suites Hotel more than an hour after the scheduled time. US-based player Joevin Jones was also in the initial 20-man squad but was also released after the player failed to report to camp. The players recalled are Trevin Caesar, Curtis Gonzales and Akeem Roach.

Tickets for the upcoming Gold Cup playoff matches are now on sale at all Lotto Locations nationwide.There are three in one season tickets for the three matches costing $$100 for adults and $45 for children. Single match tickets cost $50 for Adults and $20 for children. TTFA Season Pass holders can access the games at no additional cost. Those TTFA Season Passes which includes access to the World Cup qualifiers also, are available at First Citizen’s Banks nationwide.

RELATED NEWS

Saintfiet: Winning alone matters.
T&T Newsday Reports.

HEAD coach Tom Saintfeit said he is not concerned about the final scoreline tonight in the national football team’s Gold Cup qualifier tonight, as he simply wants the victory.

T&T will face Suriname tonight at 7 pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium, before playing Haiti in another Gold Cup qualifier on Sunday at 5 pm at the sam venue. Suriname and Haiti play on Friday.

Speaking to TTFA Media yesterday, Saintfeit said he just wants to get the win today.

“(An) ideal (result) is a win, if it is a 1-0 win, a 2-0 win or 3-1, it does not matter. I am not a coach who focuses too much on how many goals we score. We need to learn to be professional and this professional level we play is winning every match and if we win every match 1-0 we qualify for the tournaments and we achieve a lot.”

The head coach added, “we have to learn to play to the basics, not concede goals and score at least one more goal than the opponent so I do not want to say what is the ideal result. If we can win against Suriname I would be a satisfied coach and it is one step taken and we still have two to go. We have to win against Haiti and also in the last playoff match later this year.”

Many of the national players have been in and out of the squad but Saintfeit said he is happy the squad of players. “I think we have a fantastic group. The players are one team, are proud to be here and honoured to be here and they work very hard. It is a time to smile and laugh and there is a time to work.

I think everybody is highly motivated to defend the country tomorrow (today) and to go for a good result.” Saintfeit is calling on the TT public to attend the match and show their support.

“We hope naturally that the stadium will be filled of people who support the national team because we need all the support around us to get that right result because it is not one person or 11 people who would make the result. All together 1.3 million people have to support the national team tomorrow (today).”

T&T captain Carlos Edwards believes the team is now beginning to gel under their new coach and incorporating his tactics.

“Obviously we’re now starting to get into our stride. Coming back from the 3-1 victory over Nicaragua.

The guys are now starting to feel what the coach is trying to build. They’re not taking anything likely over Suriname. We’re going there with everything to play for.

The boys and them are ready for the task and we just hope things go well,” he said. He added that the distractions of players being dropped for reaching late to camp is behind them and they are all focussed on their goal of securing victory today.

« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2017, 01:13:44 PM »
Surprised Suriname didn't call up Stefano Rijssel.

Suriname Squad

Goalkeepers

Claidel Kohinor (SV Robinhood), Sersinio Benefit (SV Leo Victor).

Defenders

Saverio Adenie (SV Robinhood), Andwello Baja (SV Robinhood), Miquel Darson (Inter Moengotapoe), Gilberto End (SV Robinhood), Gillermo Faerber (SV Nishan 42), Guno Kwasie (Walking Boyz Company).

Midfielders

Bruce Diporedjo (Walking Boyz Company), Sercinio Eduard (Inter Moengotapoe), Sorencio Julian (SV Transvaal), Mitchell Kisoor (SV Robinhood), Gillian Maatrijk (Walking Boyz Company), Sylvion Sedney (SV Leo Victor), Galgyto Cuttings (Inter Moengotapoe).

Forwards

Dimitrie Apai (W Connection/TRI), Roxey Fer (SV Robinhood), Ivanildo Petal (SV Robinhood).

« Reply #19 on: January 04, 2017, 01:49:26 PM »
Going to be a good match, Suriname aren't a pushover and will be a good test of he new regime and system

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

« Reply #20 on: January 04, 2017, 02:58:37 PM »
Good luck to the team tonight

Nice to see the clubs like Robin Hood, Transvaal, and Leo Victor still around.

The equivalent of Malvern, Colts, PFCC (ah know they make a comeback recently) etc.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 03:03:24 PM by palos »

« Reply #21 on: January 04, 2017, 03:15:26 PM »
Good luck to the team tonight

Nice to see the clubs like Robin Hood, Transvaal, and Leo Victor still around.

The equivalent of Malvern, Colts, PFCC (ah know they make a comeback recently) etc.

I was just saying so. The Surname teams are legendary. They have fallen a bit in the past  decades. At one point RH and Transavaal were Kings of the Caribbean. But thru thick and thin they have survived. The sad thing about  TT football is that the older clubs had failed to adapt to changes in football club management.

« Reply #22 on: January 04, 2017, 03:23:04 PM »
I was just saying so. The Surname teams are legendary. They have fallen a bit in the past  decades. At one point RH and Transavaal were Kings of the Caribbean. But thru thick and thin they have survived. The sad thing about  TT football is that the older clubs had failed to adapt to changes in football club management.

Robin Hood vs Defence Force games were battle royale back in the day. 

Robin Hood used to have a left footed defender who also captained Suriname by the name of Olmberg.  What a forkane player!  I also remember players like Entingh and Garden and as a yute, dey really captured my imagination

« Reply #23 on: January 04, 2017, 03:53:43 PM »
HOLD THEM AND WUK THEM!!!!

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/yd8_zvKhtN8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/yd8_zvKhtN8</a>
« Last Edit: January 04, 2017, 04:08:07 PM by davyjenny1 »

« Reply #24 on: January 04, 2017, 04:25:55 PM »

Robin Hood vs Defence Force games were battle royale back in the day. 

Robin Hood used to have a left footed defender who also captained Suriname by the name of Olmberg.  What a forkane player!  I also remember players like Entingh and Garden and as a yute, dey really captured my imagination

Yeah Rene Olmberg was a boss. Wicked left foot. They also captured my imagination. The games I saw TT played Suriname were always keen contest. Mostly even, but contrasting styles. Suriname short passes vs TT fast-break football.

« Reply #25 on: January 04, 2017, 04:37:01 PM »
Any links?

Offline andremartinsc

« Reply #26 on: January 04, 2017, 05:02:50 PM »
no streamings?  :(

« Reply #27 on: January 04, 2017, 05:06:52 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago Starting XI:
1. Adrian Foncette (GK); 11. Carlos Edwards (captain), 6. Radanfah Abu Bakr, 12. Carlyle Mitchell, 2. Aubrey David; 19. Kevan George, 15. Hughtun Hector; 8. Nathan Lewis, 5. Hashim Arcia, 7. Tyrone Charles; 9. Akeem Roach.

Substitutes: 21. Glenroy Samuel (GK), 4. Curtis Gonzales, 10. Shahdon Winchester, 14. Andre Boucaud, 16. Alvin Jones, 18.Aikim Andrews, 20. Trevin Caesar.

Injured: 13. Cornell Glen, 17. Maurice Ford.

Offline andremartinsc

« Reply #28 on: January 04, 2017, 05:20:55 PM »
I downloaded Flow Sports but I guess it doesn't work in Brazil lol

« Reply #29 on: January 04, 2017, 05:22:18 PM »
Depressing dat poorer countries like nicaragua could provide stream for friendlies