April 17, 2024, 06:28:01 PM

Author Topic: Foreign coaches lining up after Hart’s firing.  (Read 5186 times)

Foreign coaches lining up after Hart’s firing.
« on: November 26, 2016, 12:47:32 PM »
Foreign coaches lining up after Hart’s firing.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Local coaches are not surprised by the decision of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) to sever ties with senior men’s national coach Stephen Hart. Coaches Ron La Forest and Angust Eve explained that all coaches operate in a results-oriented world, but they have also expressed concerns on who the next coach will be.

Hart’s dismissal, among other things, has left concerns over who the T&T Football Association will employ as his replacement and whether they are financially stable to do so. It is expected that his successor could also come from abroad as the Trinidad Guardian has learnt that the TTFA office has been bombarded by calls from coaches from Mexico, England and Germany among other countries enquiring about the top position.

Hart commanded a salary of US$20,000 monthly and is due to collect a handsome departing package of close to TT$3 million, but TTFA is likely to fork out much more if it decides to recruit an international coach, said coaches Ron La Forrest and Angus Eve yesterday.

According to La Forrest, he believes the TTFA has the financial capability to hire an international coach as they receive subventions from the FIFA. “But if the TTFA appoints a local coach, I hope they will surround him with a team of technically strong local coaches such as Everald ‘Gally’ Cummings, Angus Eve, Anton Corneal and me, to provide much needed assistance” La Forrest said.

Hart was fired for a poor start to the Final Round of the World Cup Qualifiers in which the team was beaten in its opening two matches by Costa Rica 2-0 and Honduras 3-1 which has left them second from bottom on the standings.

La Forrest said while he feels sad for Hart, he believes the TTFA decision was influenced by the USA’s move to sack its coach German Jurgen Klinsman for poor results in their first two matches also and while his overall record is very good, the World Cup qualifiers are most important.

“It is sad, yes, but the job is result-oriented, meaning if you do not get the results necessary, then you will lose your job. That is just how it is,” La Forrest said.

He noted the team’s losing results was a consequence of Hart’s defensive style which prevented the Soca Warriors from capitalising on their home games. Hart’s persistent use of lanky striker Kenwyne Jones was particularly singled out as a major blunder. He pointed out that Hart failed to utilise a more attacking approach and implement a plan ‘B’, adding that while the team was not outclassed by its opponents, it lacked the firepower up front to get goals.

La Forrest, considered one of the country’s most effective strikers, also believes Hart gave his job away by not maintaining the discipline and respect which he commanded when he took over the team.

Meanwhile, Eve, a former national captain, said Hart was a victim of a predictable style of football that became easy for opposing teams to get results from. He pointed out that while the coach did an excellent job in stabilising our game over the years, his career path is one that demands results.

He said, “Hart was not the TTFA’s guy from the start, which has been added to the fact that he has not won a Caribbean Cup in a while, not reached the quarter-final round of the Concacaf Gold Cup and beyond, he has lost two matches in the final round of the World Cup Qualifiers and the USA’s coach was just fired” Eve said.

Since his inception as T&T coach, Hart has led the country to positive results in 28 out of 43 matches, which comprise a second place finish at the Caribbean Cup and the quarter final rounds of the Concacaf Gold Cup. He also did well to take the Soca Warriors to the current Final Round of the qualifiers.

« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 01:33:08 PM by Flex »

Re: Foreign coaches lining up after Hart’s firing.
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2016, 01:38:05 PM »
La Forrest said while he feels sad for Hart, he believes the TTFA decision was influenced by the USA’s move to sack its coach German Jurgen Klinsman for poor results in their first two matches also ....

He said, “Hart was not the TTFA’s guy from the start, which has been added to the fact that he has not won a Caribbean Cup in a while, not reached the quarter-final round of the Concacaf Gold Cup and beyond, he has lost two matches in the final round of the World Cup Qualifiers and the USA’s coach was just fired” Eve said.

what this mean? spell it out for me.

« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2016, 03:34:53 PM »
La Forrest- I hope the TTFA will surround the New- Local Coach with a set  of technically sound coaches, including himself- Really. Someone  remarked on this Forum that Hart had reached his level of Competence . Thus far and no further. I tend to agree based on his outing with Canada and Now T&T .
 A Honduran said to me today - Honduras is his nemesis. We did it before let us hope it can be done again. Hope is the eternal flame that burns in the Human heart.

Offline ON DE BLOCK

« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2016, 04:44:11 PM »
  talk bout eat ah food, DJW an Latapy  last seen heading to Ruby Tuesday...

« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2016, 04:49:27 PM »
  talk bout eat ah food, DJW an Latapy  last seen heading to Ruby Tuesday...

They en route with Jamal Shabazz as the choiffeur

« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2016, 06:43:21 PM »
so how dat headline fitting with de article  ???

« Reply #6 on: November 26, 2016, 06:50:03 PM »
The Guardian standard woefully poor these days.

Imagine Latapy get put as coach...and Molino break camp...and bounce up the coach in the dance.

As it is..thats the height of my expectations if they put Latapy
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2016, 09:07:57 PM »
I guess jamal shabazz is ah international coach too

« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2016, 09:40:45 PM »
so how dat headline fitting with de article  ???
Maybe dey mean foreign to football coaching?

« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2016, 09:59:39 PM »
There is no basis to hire Latas as coach. He just recently failed miserably with the U-17 team and has not one achievement since last time he was national coach. Back then he was hired based on his player stature and it did not turn out well, seems like this will be the same reasoning to hire him again. There is NO local coach in T&T with the combined experience, football IQ and proven record to coach T&T at this critical moment. NOT ONE!

Imagine we actually talking about Shabazz as part of a coaching team  :rotfl: only in Trinidad
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 11:11:05 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #10 on: November 26, 2016, 10:53:17 PM »
Louis Van Gaal, Guus Hiddink, Marcelo Bielsa, Frank de Boer, Dennis Lawrence, Dale Saunders all available.

Leh we see who go get de call
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 11:02:08 PM by palos »

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2016, 01:47:59 AM »
Come nah man allyuh doh do we dat nah....there is no way in dis world that Latas could coach the men's senior team... so quit talking as if that is even ah remote possibility...NO WAY IN THIS WORLD! Trust me on this.

Offline Father Abraham

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2016, 08:57:21 AM »
The truth of the matter and let's be real, TNT can bring in whoever as Coach, any big name coach..... we players are not competent enough. Just look at the games, every game there are very simple basic mistakes that are made that costs us.....Not one player plays in any high-level league and it shows. A new coach can bring their own identity but the players have to execute and this is the issue we face.

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2016, 12:15:48 PM »
The truth of the matter and let's be real, TNT can bring in whoever as Coach, any big name coach..... we players are not competent enough. Just look at the games, every game there are very simple basic mistakes that are made that costs us.....Not one player plays in any high-level league and it shows. A new coach can bring their own identity but the players have to execute and this is the issue we face.

Bull the players talented enough and the lack of performance was due to many factors outside the football field ...

« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2016, 12:39:23 PM »
Louis Van Gaal, Guus Hiddink, Marcelo Bielsa, Frank de Boer, Dennis Lawrence, Dale Saunders all available.

So TTFF has the type of money to pay for them foreign coach you named? Keep in mind Hart is yet to get all his money, so that leaves me to believe they are strained in money

« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2016, 01:02:14 PM »

So TTFF has the type of money to pay for them foreign coach you named? Keep in mind Hart is yet to get all his money, so that leaves me to believe they are strained in money

That's what they want you to believe... they were strained for money because they wanted to get rid of Hart and his team, but now that he is gone, they will have or find money to fund their choice..

« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2016, 01:08:55 PM »

That's what they want you to believe... they were strained for money because they wanted to get rid of Hart and his team, but now that he is gone, they will have or find money to fund their choice..

Ah was being sarcastic when I said "so that leaves me to believe they are strained in money".  Sure they will find the money in the secret cabinet to fund a foreign established coach, ah hope they know foreign coaches do not play when it comes to being paid on time.

As for local coach, like I said earlier, there is no local coach in T&T with the combined experience, football IQ and proven record to take on this post at this critical moment. NONE!

« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2016, 04:22:57 PM »

Bull the players talented enough and the lack of performance was due to many factors outside the football field ...

Faddah Ab have a point. Talent there no doubt but technique is inconsistent.

« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2016, 04:35:38 PM »

Faddah Ab have a point. Talent there no doubt but technique is inconsistent.

Technique inconsistent because the man that paying wages don't want Hart to be there... divisive techniques allyuh talking about

« Reply #19 on: November 27, 2016, 05:31:53 PM »
One of DJW's "rum buddies" will become coach..

« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2016, 06:40:19 PM »
Corbeaux swarming around the carcas

« Reply #21 on: November 27, 2016, 07:19:34 PM »

I could promise yuh the first and third ones go hit the TTFA their language's equivalent of "HYMC" if they had to deal with them for a week.

All dat nice eh..buh how much would it cost and can we afford it? We fire a coach that was basically working for free for about 6 months...it have any cheaper than that? If there is then we cant get vex when we get what we pay for.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2016, 01:04:45 AM »
We cyah play Bielsa football even if we try hard. It would be frustrating for Bielsa even if he got paid on time. The only intriguing element would be his player selection from the domestic league. Horses for courses.

I listened attentively when I heard a technical director from a CFU member association ask someone from the JFF what was the point of paying Winnie Schaffer $50,000. The question came minutes after the JFF official lamented not having a facility of the quality of the questioner's federation. He thought it would be instrumental in player development (note, this is Jamaica the land of the imported and the naturalized player: a model that has endured to varying degree across all those WC cycles).

If that discussion had occurred in 1996, that would have been one thing, but the discussion occurred five WC qualification cycles following France 1998. We too are on that continual death march if we think throwing money at the problem is the solution.

« Last Edit: November 28, 2016, 01:13:28 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2016, 09:33:27 AM »
I listened attentively when I heard a technical director from a CFU member association ask someone from the JFF what was the point of paying Winnie Schaffer $50,000. The question came minutes after the JFF official lamented not having a facility of the quality of the questioner's federation. He thought it would be instrumental in player development (note, this is Jamaica the land of the imported and the naturalized player: a model that has endured to varying degree across all those WC cycles).
Iceland invested in facilities and development of coaches before throwing money at a coach and it turned out pretty well for them in the long run.

« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2016, 10:51:15 AM »
Iceland invested in facilities and development of coaches before throwing money at a coach and it turned out pretty well for them in the long run.

Exactly. I was there in April and stayed in a hotel across from the national stadium. Their facilities are top notch and well taken care of. On top of that their coach is a part time dentist. They needed those facilities with the brutal winters and 20 hours of darkness. It's real rough for them so there's really no excuse for T&T to get things right.

« Reply #25 on: November 28, 2016, 03:12:46 PM »
We cyah play Bielsa football even if we try hard.

Honest question.

You feel dem fellas even know who Bielsa is?

« Reply #26 on: November 28, 2016, 06:21:06 PM »

Honest question.

Sure they do! It have wikipedia!

« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2016, 06:05:08 AM »

Honest question.

Most, probably not.

« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2016, 07:16:29 AM »
A good coach like Bielsa can get the best out of his players . Look at what has happened to Moses at Chelsea. Fitness and the ability to work hard with the right kind of motivation can lift the level of our players even though at the moment on a scale of one to Ten they are about 5.

« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2016, 08:09:53 AM »

Exactly. I was there in April and stayed in a hotel across from the national stadium. Their facilities are top notch and well taken care of. On top of that their coach is a part time dentist. They needed those facilities with the brutal winters and 20 hours of darkness. It's real rough for them so there's really no excuse for T&T to get things right.

pacho? ???