April 24, 2024, 12:49:00 AM

Author Topic: T&T go down in opening Gold Cup playoff.  (Read 3176 times)

T&T go down in opening Gold Cup playoff.
« on: January 05, 2017, 05:41:05 AM »
T&T go down in opening Gold Cup playoff.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago have found themselves with a mountainous task to advance to the final playoff spot for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup after suffering a 2-1 defeat after extra time to Suriname in their opening CFU fifth place playoff encounter at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Wednesday night.

Despite a cracker of a strike by midfielder Tyrone Charles in the 81st minute to level the scores at 1 apiece after Guno Kwasie put the visitors ahead in the 76th, T&T failed to gather momentum from there and conceded in the 109th minute as Ivanildo Rozenblad snatched the winner to give Suriname the win.

T&T suffered an early blow when forward Cornell Glen suffered a hamstring injury in the warm up and had to be replaced in the starting team by Akeem Roach while defender Maurice Ford was also ruled out of the 18-man team for the match through injury.

Despite settling before the visitors, T&T failed to capitalise on a couple early looks on goal. And moments before the break, Suriname’s Sorencio Juliaans  almost punished the home team with an effort which forced custodian Adrian Foncette to push out for a corner.

Dimitrie Apai then caused an anxious moment for T&T when his shot bounced off the upright in the 54th minute after he was sent through by Juliaans.

Charles had a close try for T&T in the 56th minute and Hughun Hector blasted over soon after.

But with the clock winding down and goals seeming difficult to come by for both sides, Suriname snatched the lead when Kwasie’s shot took a deflection and beat Foncette for a 1-0 lead. Just before substitute Shahdon Winchester got a sniff at goal by his effort was blocked by defender Guillermo Faerber following a delivery by Charles.

Charles would bring the hosts back into the contest. In the 2-1 loss to Nicaragua his free kick from a similar position, just to the top left of the box crashed off the cross bar but time he got it right as his right footed cracked dipped nicely and went in off the underside of the crossbar for a 1-1 scoreline.

Neither team could get the go ahead goal and skipper Carlos Edwards, for all his efforts alongside the likes of Radanfah Abu Bakr and Carlyle Mitchell, were forced to endure another 30 minutes of football.  Mitchell would later suffer what turned out to be a MCL injury but laboured on for the remaining minutes after re-entering the field as T&T had already made its three substitutes. He has already been ruled out of Sunday’s contest with Haiti.

T&T did manage a couple further looks at goal but only Rozenblad would get it right as he unleashed a beauty from the edge the area that gave Foncette no chance for the winner.

Abu Bakr had a couple decent tries with the head but without any luck as Suriname held on for the victory.

The result now puts T&T in not only a must win situation against Haiti on Sunday but must also hope that Haiti defeats Suriname on Friday and not by a handsome margin. The playoff winner is determined by the following order –

1.Most Points
2.Best Goal Difference
3.Most Wins
4.Most Wins in regulation time,
5.Most goals scored in regulation time
6.Goals scored away from a designated home game count double between the teams concerned
7.Drawing of Lots

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Adrian Foncette; 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 11.Carlos Edwards (capt),12.Carlyle Mitchell, 2.Aubrey David; 5.Hashim Arcia (10.Shahdon Winchester 60th),19.Kevan George, 15.Hughtun Hector; 8.Nathan Lewis (18.Aikim Andrews 68th), 7.Tyrone Charles (4.Curtis Gonzales 91st); 9.Akeem Roach (14.Andre Boucaud 78th).

Subs not used: 21.Glenroy Samuel (GK), 16.Alvin Jones, 20.Trevin Caesar.Injured Out 13.Cornell Glen, 17.Maurice Ford.

Head Coach: Tom Saintfiet.

Suriname: 1.Claidel Kohinor; 15.Miquel Darson, 4.Gilberto Eind (capt), 3.Gillermo Faerber, 5.Guno Kwasie; 7.Mitchell Kisoor (9.Gillian Maatrijk 56th), 14.Sergino Eduard, 8.Bruce Diporedjo (19.Silvion Sedney 107th); 12.Sorencio Juliaans (16.Ivanildo Rozenblad 71st); 10.Roxey Fer (18.Galgyto Talea 83rd), 11.Dimitrie Apai.

Subs not Used –  22.Sersinio Profijt (GK), 2.Saverio Adenie, 6.Andwele Baja.

Head Coach: Robert Godeken.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Suriname  1  1  0  0  2  1  3
Haiti  0  0  0  0  0  0  0
T&T  1  0  0  1  1  2  0

Video - Saintfiet's Post-Match Comments after 2-1 defeat to Suriname

Re: T&T go down in opening Gold Cup playoff.
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2017, 09:17:22 AM »
Well, we just have to expect that Haiti beats Suriname 2-1 and we beat Haiti 1:0. Easy pickins!  :pissedoff: :pissedoff:

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2017, 09:24:16 AM »
So many injuries for this match. Mitchell "fall bad" Charles pull up after running less than 90. Anybody care to / have access to  ask the highly opinionated Dr on his speculation / what advice he h=gave during training? or was that only for Jan?

« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2017, 09:24:38 AM »
I think this coach is a good coach but he has been set up unintentionally by his advisors and is now doomed to fail. the fact that kenwin of all people are out of contention for a spot on the team sounds to me like an outside influence was whispering in his ear rather than ole santafiet's undoing.

This DJW bloke has not put one foot right since he took over from timkee and it has shown in the result for the simple fact that most our teams has failed mainly in part because of his overbearing and dominant style and wanting to make drastic changes to formulas that was actually working just to put his own seal on the teams and the administration.

« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2017, 10:21:44 AM »
Saintfete is good. But not for this level of football. He will probably be good for a semi pro or college, or maybe the pro league. But not at this level. Saintfete hasn't had ANY success at this level. Still needs to get his ducks in a row. I'm sure all of his other employers will agree.

DJW has been riding on the coat tails of Hart.. But the reality is that the DJW monkey crew set up Hart so they can control the show.

My predictions:

- They go change the national anthem to the Benny Hill song when the national team play their next game

« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2017, 11:24:45 AM »
Come een ffsback

« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2017, 11:36:01 AM »
I think this coach is a good coach but he has been set up unintentionally by his advisors and is now doomed to fail. the fact that kenwin of all people are out of contention for a spot on the team sounds to me like an outside influence was whispering in his ear rather than ole santafiet's undoing.

This DJW bloke has not put one foot right since he took over from timkee and it has shown in the result for the simple fact that most our teams has failed mainly in part because of his overbearing and dominant style and wanting to make drastic changes to formulas that was actually working just to put his own seal on the teams and the administration.

De man eh tellin we anything that precious coaches haven't told us which in a nutshell is the following:

Pro League players level of fitness, speed of play, and tactical discipline not good enough for international football. 

This is NOT a secret.

It's a fact.  Yet...there are those with power and influence who believe that all we have to do is give these players a chance.

People who talking about building a local based squad to truly compete with, and beat the best in CONCACAF, SEVERELY out to breakfast, lunch, dinner, AND doubles .

The only reason for that talk is so that they could make $$$ off of selling players to foreign minor league clubs.

Improve the standard of the Pro League.  To do so, means improving players fitness levels, speed of play, nutrition etc.  In other words....become PROFESSIONAL.  Then you can stand a chance with that "local based" strategy.  Until then, you use those who playing at a higher level which currently and for some time by definition....is outside of T&T

The reality is....if the football world is a treadmill, we done fall off long time.....at level 2.

We have players who can run and keep up on that treadmill at level 5....but the vast majority of them play outside of T&T.

Forget bout level 8 and above

« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 11:48:46 AM by palos »

« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2017, 11:43:16 AM »
btw: were any forumites at the post-match conference? ???

« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2017, 11:45:09 AM »
btw: were any forumites at the post-match conference? ???

Andre Samuel was most present..

« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2017, 12:39:44 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago’s 2-1 loss to Suriname

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/4zEqqrBa1Ps" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/4zEqqrBa1Ps</a>

« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2017, 01:09:41 PM »
PRO LEAGUE =...a comfort zone for football players....stagnate...lazy...plateau

« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2017, 01:12:42 PM »
Tyrone Charles and Akeem Roach looked good.

Winchester boy, how he make national?

Glen was always an injury prone player, hope he recovers for Haiti though.

Lets see if de coach will bring in any reinforcement?

Surprised he only named 20 players, why didn't he name 23? At least more to draw from incase on injuries like we are seeing now.

« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2017, 01:53:29 PM »
Tyrone Charles and Akeem Roach looked good.

Winchester boy, how he make national?

Glen was always an injury prone player, hope he recovers for Haiti though.

Lets see if de coach will bring in any reinforcement?

Surprised he only named 20 players, why didn't he name 23? At least more to draw from incase on injuries like we are seeing now.

He going lean...

Too bad Shabazz and the big belly dictator can't follow his lead

« Reply #13 on: January 05, 2017, 02:26:52 PM »
@Sando: CFU rules.  Regarding # of players.

« Reply #14 on: January 05, 2017, 02:31:26 PM »
Whatever happens with Glen, I hope the coaching staff pays heed to the advice of the medical staff and physio this time.

Ah mean...we don't want a repeat of what happened previously where the integrity of the doc and physio was compromised
« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 02:33:30 PM by palos »

« Reply #15 on: January 05, 2017, 03:23:40 PM »
Whatever happens with Glen, I hope the coaching staff pays heed to the advice of the medical staff and physio this time.

Ah mean...we don't want a repeat of what happened previously where the integrity of the doc and physio was compromised
True talk!

« Reply #16 on: January 05, 2017, 09:40:15 PM »
adrian foncette is a bloody liability. the five goals he has conceded in the last three games could have been easily avoided if he trusted his defenders and stayed on his line. that last goal was a frank give away because the boob was off his line again like the novice that he is. good grief why do our coaches stick it out with players who have no blasted hope of being an efficient solid asset to the team?
« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 10:14:57 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #17 on: January 05, 2017, 10:10:35 PM »

De man eh tellin we anything that precious coaches haven't told us which in a nutshell is the following:

Pro League players level of fitness, speed of play, and tactical discipline not good enough for international football. 

This is NOT a secret.

It's a fact.  Yet...there are those with power and influence who believe that all we have to do is give these players a chance.

People who talking about building a local based squad to truly compete with, and beat the best in CONCACAF, SEVERELY out to breakfast, lunch, dinner, AND doubles .

The only reason for that talk is so that they could make $$$ off of selling players to foreign minor league clubs.

Improve the standard of the Pro League.  To do so, means improving players fitness levels, speed of play, nutrition etc.  In other words....become PROFESSIONAL.  Then you can stand a chance with that "local based" strategy.  Until then, you use those who playing at a higher level which currently and for some time by definition....is outside of T&T

The reality is....if the football world is a treadmill, we done fall off long time.....at level 2.

We have players who can run and keep up on that treadmill at level 5....but the vast majority of them play outside of T&T.

Forget bout level 8 and above
say what you will but this coach has more experience and is way more qualified than steven hart. let me ask you a question, apart from canada who has steven hart coached? this coach may not have achieved much success in his endeavors but he still has room for improvement and from what i can see the only mistake he made after taking this job was the fact that he dropped kenwin jones and i am sure that was not all his decision.

maybe you was asleep for the better part of a year, but just in case you weren't, steven hart has lost seven games last year including the three serious competitive games at that. we almost lost to st. vincent when they went up on us twice and had it not been for the tenacity of young levi garcia we would not be in a hex to talk about.

my point is that steven hart wasn't exactly on fire here and was losing very important games, he was in the weakest group of the semifinal round and barely made it out. he lost to haiti and was demolished by a weak usa team without dempsey and was beaten by martinique in the same manner we lost to haiti. steven hart was getting quite predictable and haiti gave everyone the blue print on how to beat us.

teams allowed us to run at them then in the closing stages of the game they poison us and allow us to run at them and patiently wait for for the opportunity to kill off the game with a second on the counter attack.

i like hart just as much as the next bloke but he did himself no favors by being so predictable and very seldom having an alternate plan when thing go wrong.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2017, 11:09:02 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2017, 10:55:40 PM »
 :bs:  Time fuh Latapy to suit up yes..

how yuh could lose match in yuh own home ..wah kind a ting is dat?

:bs: anyway like I said before..dis is  :bs:

« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2017, 11:50:49 PM »
Ah does promise meh self not to respond to de dotishness eh but Jah Rastafari.  Man putting ah journeyman career loser over Hart who get undermined and sabotage fuh an whole year.  Even going so far as to hold wins against him too.  We'll if this eh de greatest pile ah bullshit on de forum I eh know what is nah smh

« Reply #20 on: January 06, 2017, 01:40:09 AM »
Ah does promise meh self not to respond to de dotishness eh but Jah Rastafari.  Man putting ah journeyman career loser over Hart who get undermined and sabotage fuh an whole year.  Even going so far as to hold wins against him too.  We'll if this eh de greatest pile ah bullshit on de forum I eh know what is nah smh

Trust me brother it's about to get worse..

I don't know why our people are so damn ignorant and destructive

« Reply #21 on: January 06, 2017, 05:57:52 AM »
say what you will but this coach has more experience and is way more qualified than steven hart. let me ask you a question, apart from canada who has steven hart coached? this coach may not have achieved much success in his endeavors but he still has room for improvement and from what i can see the only mistake he made after taking this job was the fact that he dropped kenwin jones and i am sure that was not all his decision.

maybe you was asleep for the better part of a year, but just in case you weren't, steven hart has lost seven games last year including the three serious competitive games at that. we almost lost to st. vincent when they went up on us twice and had it not been for the tenacity of young levi garcia we would not be in a hex to talk about.

my point is that steven hart wasn't exactly on fire here and was losing very important games, he was in the weakest group of the semifinal round and barely made it out. he lost to haiti and was demolished by a weak usa team without dempsey and was beaten by martinique in the same manner we lost to haiti. steven hart was getting quite predictable and haiti gave everyone the blue print on how to beat us.

teams allowed us to run at them then in the closing stages of the game they poison us and allow us to run at them and patiently wait for for the opportunity to kill off the game with a second on the counter attack.

i like hart just as much as the next bloke but he did himself no favors by being so predictable and very seldom having an alternate plan when thing go wrong.

1. How do you come to the conclusion that Saintfiet is more qualified than Hart? You can say that he is more certified (because of his UEFA PRO License), but saying more qualified is more than debatable.

2. Saintfiet's experience is more varied than Hart, but exactly what kind of experiences does Saintfiet have? As a matter of fact, what are his most recent (before taking over T&T) international experiences like?
Bangladesh (3 months, 3 matches, 0 wins, 2 losses, 1 draw)
*Togo (9 months, 9 matches, 2 wins, 5 losses, 2 draws)
Malawi (3 months, 5 matches, 1 win, 4 losses, 0 draws)
Yemen (6 months, 11 matches, 0 wins, 11 losses, 0 draws)
Ethiopia (5 months, 4 matches, 1 win, 1 loss, 2 draws)

* Does not include a friendly draw against Mauritius where he was appointed as caretaker/interim coach.

No doubt Hart had a bad year results-wise in 2016, but look at Saintfiet's results.

« Reply #22 on: January 06, 2017, 06:09:04 AM »
T&T coach explains confrontation with fourth official.
By Ian Prescott (Express).

TOM SAINTFIET admits to being no saint.

With his Trinidad and Tobago team losing 2-1, the men's national senior team head coach had a heated verbal confrontation with Aruban fourth official Ricandel de Leca near the end of Wednesday night's Caribbean fifth place CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

Saintfiet felt the fourth officials was incorrect to give just one minute of added-on time, but did not think that as coach he acted wrongly.

“In 20 years coaching I was never in my life sent away from the neutral area but I am always acting like this because I want to win,” Saintfiet said. “I have to try to influence people.”

Saintfiet said his challenge to the officials was for not following the rules.

“The first period he gave two minutes extra. The second time the medical staff came on to carry off their player and he gave one minute. There are rules in football and it was ridiculous that he gave one minute,” he said. “We expected three, four minutes extra time because the goalkeeper was down, the player was down and had to be carried off. When that not happen, I try to influence people like a professional coach who wants to win.”

Saintfiet set back by Suriname loss

There was disappointment all around on Wednesday night.

Tom Saintfiet expected to win, while the man who led Suriname to a 2-1 extra-time victory over Trinidad and Tobago in Wednesday's 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup playoff expected more from the former multiple Caribbean football champions.

Belgian Saintfiet, in charge of the Trinidad and Tobago senior men's team for the first time in an international match, expected victory. He also anticipated a sleepless night after his team's defeat to Suriname.

“I am surprised about the result because I expected to win today, but I am not surprised about the quality of Suriname,” Saintfiet said. “So I won't sleep tonight. I am sure I will repeat a lot of the match in my mind.”

Meanwhile, Suriname head coach Roberto Godeken was surprised by how little T&T offered.

Suriname celebrated like they had won the World Cup after Wednesday night's victory at the Ato Boldon stadium.

Godeken's plan was largely to contain, be patient and wait for opportunities. But his players reacted positively to the timid T&T performance and got brave after the first half.

« Reply #23 on: January 06, 2017, 06:49:50 AM »
We are a classic case of what is known as the Dilbert Principle, the author of this principle had T&T  football in mind. Just look at what has been happening , we keep recycling the same ole- same - ole and then we bring back some tired legs in Glen and Edwards . Latapy may have been a better option. Unless we get the right driver to drive the bus and ask some folks to get off the bus , we will continue to be a one time wonder for a world cup place. :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead

« Reply #24 on: January 06, 2017, 10:42:58 AM »
This man serious? Re: the US demolishing us in September after we was already qualified.

The last game before DJW era, just for some perspective

This excerpt is from an MLS article this week concerning the US call ups

also can't stress enough how important Darlington Nagbe as a pinched in right midfield can (and hopefully will) be in possession, and how that will affect both the quality and volume of shots the US create and concede. The best example would be the World Cup qualifier at Trinidad & Tobago back in October of 2015, in which the Soca Warriors battered the US for the first 70 minutes, outshooting us 13-6.

« Reply #25 on: January 06, 2017, 11:18:20 AM »
This man serious? Re: the US demolishing us in September after we was already qualified.

The last game before DJW era, just for some perspective

This excerpt is from an MLS article this week concerning the US call ups

also can't stress enough how important Darlington Nagbe as a pinched in right midfield can (and hopefully will) be in possession, and how that will affect both the quality and volume of shots the US create and concede. The best example would be the World Cup qualifier at Trinidad & Tobago back in October of 2015, in which the Soca Warriors battered the US for the first 70 minutes, outshooting us 13-6.

SANTHIEF won't touch results before the dictators era ... he's a con man