March 29, 2024, 02:26:15 AM

Author Topic: Freddy Adu Thread  (Read 119126 times)

Re: Freddy Adu Thread
« Reply #570 on: February 09, 2017, 02:24:36 PM »
Sad to see how things turned out for Freddy after so much promise....best he go play with Central, he'll at least get to play in the Champions league.
The way it looking, he eh sure to make Central either.
What cause his issues anyway,  strings of injuries or just an overhyped quantity dat get found out

Sent from my SM-J105B using Tapatalk

« Reply #571 on: February 09, 2017, 04:50:17 PM »
What cause his issues anyway,  strings of injuries or just an overhyped quantity dat get found out

All of the above.

« Reply #572 on: February 09, 2017, 04:54:23 PM »

All of the above.
thanks.....could remember d media buzz lil bit, but never pay it no mind

« Reply #573 on: February 09, 2017, 05:21:53 PM »

All of the above.
thanks.....could remember d media buzz lil bit, but never pay it no mind

I living in DC. Yes, he was the buzz around the metro area at the time. He did have all the potential, etc at the time. The coach at DC U wanted to bring him up gradually. But there were those who were pressuring him to let him loose. They felt, in their wisdom, he was the bright new face of the MLS. There was the potential moneys involved. There were Euro teams trying to woo him. Plus the Ghanian national were also trying to woo him. All the whirlwind was spinning him, his fans, agent and mother in one way, his "opponents" and 'naysayers" the other way. In the long run it did not work out. My thought was, for his size,  he still needed to work on his physique, speed and stamina. He had very good first touch and skills. But he was not as wilely as a Messi or even Latapy. He used to get some good jamming. In the end it did not work out, unfortunately.

« Reply #574 on: February 10, 2017, 11:57:22 PM »
I saw him in 2010 playing for the US vs TT in a WC qualifier.

The US had already qualified and were letting fellows on the periphery of the team get a run.

Freddy did not look out of place. I am surprised he can't even get a regular MSL contract.

Tough luck indeed.

« Reply #575 on: February 11, 2017, 06:20:06 AM »
I have no basis for this, but when I see such a rapid personal decline...when even the people who like yuh won't give you a bligh, I always suspect some manner of substance abuse.

Even if he was overhyped, the player that he was shouldn't have trouble finding a decent level of club. All them short stints at clubs of decreasing pedigree, he was obviously good enough to sign. But, once he sign, something turn out to be rotten.

Me eh know. Sound like drink, drogas or mental unwellness to me. Not talent.

« Reply #576 on: February 11, 2017, 08:35:10 AM »
Freddy Adu is 35. Allyuh really believe he was 14 when he get sign?

« Reply #577 on: February 11, 2017, 03:37:57 PM »
Freddy Adu is 35. Allyuh really believe he was 14 when he get sign?
saw him with the US team in the U20 World Cup in 2007. This guy definitely was NOT overhyped on a football level. On the day he scored a hat trick, and then next game, wuk-up Brazil, btw, Altidore scored twice, wiki say Adu assisted on both, but I don't remember that, I just remember he had the Brazilians in ah mess.
 Adu was real good, so up to this day, Like Dinner Mints, I baffled as per the professional club career.
nb: Argentina won with then young men Ageuro and Di Maria, I ddidn't get to see them then, but heard about them a lot, and even more now.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2017, 03:45:13 PM by maxg »

Offline raj

« Reply #578 on: February 12, 2017, 04:32:17 PM »
http://www.byfarthegreatestteam.com/posts/much-adu-nothing/

Posted By: Lee Spencer February 12, 2017
Back in 2004 there was a lot of noise from America, as D.C. United had signed an unknown 14-year-old in the MLS Super Draft. Fast forward three months and the same young player made his debut, becoming the youngest ever to play in the MLS. Two weeks later, another record broken as he became the youngest ever player to score in the MLS.
Here was a player who was already being touted as a United States future star. Mentions of being the next Pele seemed farfetched, but for those that had watched him he seemed the real deal.
Yet for a player that had the world at his feet, young Fredua Koranteng Adu became a journeyman of the footballing world. For those with a Football Manager background this name will mean a lot. For those who haven’t played the game, this is the story of potential super star and his dramatic fall. The young American was Freddy Adu.
In his first season, he appeared in all 30 games for D.C. United, although many were as a substitute, but as first seasons go it was a decent start. His second season he was even invited over for a trial with Manchester United, although they decided not to take on the young American.
That season however, Adu started in majority of the games for D.C. United with Adu now playing in midfield. At the end of the season he was traded to Real Salt Lake. Then, after three seasons in the MLS and having scored 11 in 87 appearances for D.C. United and 1 goal in 11 for Real Salt Lake, Benfica secured the rights from the MLS for a fee of 2 million dollars in 2007.
Finally, Adu had his big money move to Europe, albeit in the Portuguese league. Benfica were playing Champions League football, which was Adu’s dream. and he made his debut against Copenhagen in the qualifying match.
The move soon turned sour as the following season Adu was loaned out to Monaco, the French Ligue 1 club. Monaco had the option to buy him at the end of the season long loan, but Monaco turned down the chance to sign him.
Next came another season loan to Portuguese club Belenenses. Adu got injured on his first league start they quickly ended his season long loan. In 2010 another season loan came about, this time to Greek side Aris. Adu played 5 times and scored once during his time in Greece but the season didn’t work out well.
His final year with Benfica was again spent on loan, this time with Turkish second division club Caykur Rizespor where Adu played between the first team and the second team. Again, he returned to Benfica, who had seen enough.
In August 2011 he was back playing in the MLS, as he signed for Philadelphia Union. After two season,s having scored only 7 times in 35 matches, he found himself in a swap deal. Kleberson moved to Philadelphia Union and Adu moved to Brazilian club Bahia. He lasted 7 months before being released by the club.
Then came trials all over Europe for Freddy. In 2014 he even started training with Blackpool, however he failed to impress the club and they decided against offering him a contract.
Adu finally signed for Jagodina on a 6 month contract. After one appearance, the Serbian club decided not to renew his contract. Next came KuPS in 2015, he lasted 4 months before leaving the club.
His final club was Tampa Bay Rowdies. Adu played for the Rowdies for two seasons in the North American Soccer League. His contract expired in December 2016 with Adu citing to be sorting things out and hoping to take the next step soon.
More recently however he had a trial with Portland Timbers in 2017 but once again a contract failed to materialize, apparently he had not done enough to warrant a contract.
Adu is the first to admit he never dedicated his time to the sport. He openly admits his career failing is down to him.
Yes, he has had some bumps along the way. Not being paid by Serbian club Jagodina and Bahia in Brazil has not helped. Yet even earning a move to Philadelphia Union, with a large contract, Adu still was unable to stay focused with too many distractions.
Of course at 27 time is still on his side, just. But he needs to find his way soon as well as a new club.
Freddy Adu always had the talent just unfortunately not the commitment to make it to the top. Maybe someone, somewhere, will take one final gamble at the player people dubbed the next Pele.
For Freddy Adu it would really be last chance saloon.

« Reply #579 on: February 12, 2017, 04:55:32 PM »
thanks raj

sound like a boat-ride specialist  ;D

« Reply #580 on: August 01, 2017, 06:28:14 AM »
Freddy Adu joins Polish club Sandecja Nowy Sacz on trial against manager's wishes
By James Kilpatrick (Sky Sports)

Former USA international Freddy Adu has joined newly-promoted Polish club Sandecja Nowy Sacz on trial, despite the manager not wanting him there.

Adu was once regarded as one of the world's brightest young talents; aged 14, he was dubbed "the next Pele" by the Brazilian legend. Now 28, he is continuing his globe-trotting career in eastern Europe and was announced as a trialist by Sandecja on Twitter.

Should he join the Ekstraklasa side on a permanent basis, it will be the 14th club he has turned out for, and in a ninth different country.

Adu was most recently on trial with Portland Timbers earlier this year, but failed to earn a contract with the MLS outfit. He has not been attached to a club since he was released by NASL side Tampa Bay Rowdies at the end of 2016.

Despite Adu's vast experience, Sandecja manager Radoslaw Mroczkowski is far from happy that he is on trial with his squad.

"It's a joke," Mroczkowski told Polish website Sportowefakty.pl.

"I read in the media about his trial. I asked the sporting director, [Arkadiusz Alexander] why he did not tell me anything [about Adu]. After all, he sent me a text message that there "will be a player on trial" and that they all knew.

"Marketing knew, the staff at the club knew... only the coach did not know who the trialist was."

Adu has already landed in Poland ready for a trial, but Mroczkowski insists he does not want anything to do with the American.

He added: "Whoever invited him, let him trial him. What is the point of having such a player?

"The CEO says that it's marketing. We may as well have Janusz Chomontek [a Polish football freestyler]."

« Reply #581 on: August 01, 2017, 09:24:42 AM »
Just now Freddy might end up in the Pro League

« Reply #582 on: August 01, 2017, 11:27:04 AM »
Sad how this man end up and I can't understand why.

I saw him around 210 playing for a US A team after they had already qualified for the WC - vs TT.

He was around 20 and held his own easilly.

The man not that shtty. Even if people chose to overhype him, the man like he just CAN'T get a contract at any level.

« Reply #583 on: August 01, 2017, 12:06:03 PM »
Because he is really 35 and over the hill

Offline raj

« Reply #584 on: August 01, 2017, 08:30:24 PM »
FROM ESPN:
Freddy Adu rules out Polish club move after manager labels transfer 'a joke'

Freddy Adu
Freddy Adu has been without a club since being released by Tampa Bay Rowdies in 2016.
Former U.S. international Freddy Adu has pulled out of a move to Polish team Sandecja Nowy Sacz, after their manager called the transfer "a joke."

Adu, 28, was regarded as one of the game's brightest talents as a teenager but has since struggled to establish himself, playing for 13 different clubs in eight different countries.

Sandecja, however, will not be added to that list, with Adu taking to Twitter in a series of tweets to explain his situation.

Follow
Freddy Adu ✔ @FreddyAdu
Just wanted to let everyone know that I will not be signing with sandecja. I have been in a situation like this before in Monaco and it ...
4:31 PM - Aug 1, 2017
 20 20 Replies   55 55 Retweets   81 81 likes
Twitter Ads info and privacy
"Just wanted to let everyone know that I will not be signing with Sandecja. I have been in a situation like this before in Monaco and it ended badly," he said.

"I havnt had a chance to train or do anything with the team but I have to find the best situation for my career.

"It is important to have everyone on board before signing and that's not the case here so I've decided to wait for a better situation!

"Thanks for the continued support!

"In the past I would sign and never get a chance to play. I do not want to make that mistake again!

"Some people might try and spin this as a bad thing but I see it as a good decision because I do not want to be in the middle of this!

"Definition of insanity is when you keep doing the same thing and expecting different results. At some point you gotta learn from mistakes!

"Just when you think you have seen it all!!! Man lol it feels like I can't catch a break! Was excited about the opportunity but it wasn't meant to be. Hopefully a better opp comes!

"I've been used by too many people over the years for publicity and exposure and I am determined not to let that happen anymore!"

Earlier on Tuesday, manager Radoslaw Mroczkowski said he was not happy about the prospect of Adu joining the club.

"It's a joke," Mroczkowski told Polish website Sportowefakty.pl. "I read in the media about his trial. I asked the sporting director [Arkadiusz Alexander] why he did not tell me anything [about Adu]. After all, he sent me a text message that there 'will be a player on trial' and that they all knew. Marketing knew, the staff at the club knew... Only the coach did not know who the trialist was."

But Mroczkowski added: "Whoever invited him, let him trial him. What is the point of having such a player? The CEO says that it's marketing. We may as well have Janusz Chomontek [a Polish football freestyler]."

According to Sportowefakty.pl, Sandecja had wanted to sign Adu in the winter, but Mroczkowski did not approve of the move.

Adu, who has been without a club since being released by NASL side Tampa Bay Rowdies in 2016, was on trial with Portland Timbers earlier this year but failed to win a contract with the MLS club.