March 28, 2024, 10:56:00 PM

Author Topic: You're down a goal....how come no Levi Garcia?  (Read 8868 times)

Offline Dutty Love

Re: You're down a goal....how come no Levi Garcia?
« Reply #60 on: March 31, 2017, 06:06:19 AM »
Dwane James is much much more technical than Cyrus. And Jamal Jack had very good performances as box to box midfielder. https://youtu.be/W_6kZF-9C8I

« Reply #61 on: March 31, 2017, 12:04:04 PM »
Dwane James is much much more technical than Cyrus. And Jamal Jack had very good performances as box to box midfielder. https://youtu.be/W_6kZF-9C8I

Nice video case for Jamal Jack, D. Looks like a good prospect to me.

« Reply #62 on: April 02, 2017, 01:13:37 AM »
Noticed pittsburgh has him(Jamal Jack ) as Central Defender
http://www.uslsoccer.com/pittsburghriverhounds-fccincinnati-905451

« Reply #63 on: April 02, 2017, 07:02:08 AM »
A.S
We splitting hairs here my brother...Every member of that team is a defender..True...The situation will arise where it will come into play as the game plays out..Be it a concept of team defence or one and one defending....I want the best talent on the field to maximize all opportunities
You cannot deny the fact yes fact ..That Cyrus is  more talented than George and by extension much more versatile
No coach thus far has been able to find his true position on the field,looked very solid in central defence...It's my opinion ...Only an opinion he will serve this team best occupying a spot in midfield

« Reply #64 on: April 02, 2017, 09:43:06 AM »
A.S
We splitting hairs here my brother...Every member of that team is a defender..True...The situation will arise where it will come into play as the game plays out..Be it a concept of team defence or one and one defending....I want the best talent on the field to maximize all opportunities
You cannot deny the fact yes fact ..That Cyrus is  more talented than George and by extension much more versatile
No coach thus far has been able to find his true position on the field,looked very solid in central defence...It's my opinion ...Only an opinion he will serve this team best occupying a spot in midfield

Cyrus played in central midfield versus Nicaragua, under Saintfiet. Prior to that happening, several posters were curious about how Cyrus would do in that role. I can tell you how Cyrus was "discovered" and by whom. From what I gather, Daneil was capable of playing anywhere on the pitch (including in goal) as a young player coming up. As such, I'm aware of his versatility. And indeed, I was among those curious as to how he would perform in an advanced area of the field, other than the flank.

You'll recall that a bone of contention between SH and the brain trust at W Connection was that DC was playing CB for club, but out on the flank for country. There was the thought that he should be used with consistency as a CB on the NT, just as he was deployed by clubs at home and abroad. It was Hart's prerogative to make the contrary determination; however this far, after two outings, for the first time in a long time, Cyrus has not invoked the ire of posters (not even sub1 has appeared to call for the hangman).

In professional football, utility players struggle more to establish a defined role than do players with defined, established positions. I do not think it is a case of "no coach thus far has been able to find his true position". Fevrier would argue otherwise. And, SH might argue otherwise. However, even if Saintfiet were to weigh in (and our fellow posters), do you actually believe that at the age of 26, that center mid is Daneil's true position? I think most who proposed him at CM proposed that route as a temporary or exigent solution to a problem we face or faced. Also, I doubt that the player views playing at CM helps his cause on the international market (and Cyrus wants to return to club football abroad), but he would do it for the shirt. His best bet for doing so is to assert a case of stability in position and execute with best performances. Clubs are not purchasing on various rolls of the die.

You chose not to answer some of what I asked, but I'll overlook that for the purpose of this response (with the option to return to what you neglected).

Replacing George with Cyrus doesn't get you to where you want to get because you are seeking to stoke creativity, but George serves another purpose on the field. What I'm suggesting is that you should turn your attention to where the creative failure stems, not George. Flat out, Cyrus CYAH do what George offers. Examine their styles of play and answer my questions. I would go so far as to say that George has shown a modfication in his play (fewer to almost no short lateral passes as previously seen). Rasta, I gave you homework for a reason.

Regarding the issue of who is a defender ... That's not splitting hairs. If the splitting passes dissect opposing midfielders and arrive at the feet of our forward, George is doing his job ( he certainly isn't sending KJ on another 20 meter sprint a la Cato).

Coaches think highly of George in his specified role. If you doubt me, see what would have happened had he a different passport. I've had two authoritative figures within CONCACAF ( neither of whom coached him) sing his praises. One told me the story of going to scout another player and seeing him play.

At issue here, is the type of player we like in local football. Yeah, George isn't Kante, buh he doh need to be Cyrus either.

Having stated all of that, ah still waiting to hear who would accompany Cyrus in midfield and what sort of midfield you would play him in. Why? Because I think you might be able to get away with it if you choose carefully. However, ask yourself is it a solution for 6 WC quals or even the next two opponents.

More homework.

And, inherently what we are saying is that a Cyrus who plays in a Back Four for club and country is better or is a better or preferred candidate to other players who actually play CM in the Pro League or abroad?

« Last Edit: April 02, 2017, 10:03:54 AM by asylumseeker »

Online lefty

« Reply #65 on: April 02, 2017, 10:20:12 AM »
seeker boy I still doh understand how people could dismiss specialist ball winners as people who do nothing.....even kante only recently started passes greater than 3-4ft into his game....and that was at conte's insistence and drilling....cyrus is not ah ball winner, his almost complete lack of position sense is testament to that....for all d benefits he will bring to the position, he will present even more drawbacks.......he seems to be doing well it CB let him stay there.....if we ever balls up and play ah 3CB system....could join bateau as ball playing CB

« Reply #66 on: April 02, 2017, 05:40:14 PM »
A S
Must admit that I have not figured it all out
Just an idea
He looked very  comfortable in central defence

« Reply #67 on: April 02, 2017, 10:47:39 PM »

So if this guys is so good, how come he is not in the mix for our current campaign?

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #68 on: April 03, 2017, 06:59:07 AM »

So if this guys is so good, how come he is not in the mix for our current campaign?

Since when the national team has called the right players?

« Reply #69 on: April 03, 2017, 07:41:50 AM »

Since when the national team has called the right players?
ok..let's be real doh. He maybe should have been called in the past, I dunno

At present he's 29, playing as a defender in USL (some consider 2nd/3rd tier US). His past experience are
Wiki
Years   Team   Apps   (Gls)
2009   Tobago United   2   (0)
2010–2011   San Juan Jabloteh   18   (1)
2012   St. Ann's Rangers   10   (1)
2013–2016   Central   6   (1)
2013   → Alpha United (loan)      
2016   Dragón[1]   19[2]   (2)
2017–   Pittsburgh Riverhounds

He has not been quite stable with any team or played a lot of high profile football. Teams seem to allow him to move on, doh not necessarily up.
Part of his or any player issue for selection, is who are they replacing. If you have been working with a selectee for awhile, he knows what you want, he tries to execute to best of his ability. You may be able to replace with someone new, who you have had access to, and you are able to train regularly eg. a past or present local, but to bring a guy from away, without some outstanding record or real major positive mark on his resume, or maybe some serious and excellent references or recommendations, does not make a solid based decision. So who in Coach Lawrence present team you would replace at this point. IMO, no one. Although, yes, I will try to keep an eye open, in case of some unexpected condition and just being aware of who might be available.

Defenders:
Radanfah Abu Bakr (FK Sūduva Marijampolė—LTU), Aubrey David (PS Kemi Kings—FIN), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Sheldon Bateau (Krylia Sovetov Samara—RUS), Daneil Cyrus (W Connection), Mekeil Williams (Colorado Rapids—USA), Tristan Hodge (W Connection), Carlos Edwards (Ma Pau Stars), Alvin Jones (W Connection).

Midfielders:

Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—ENG), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders FC—USA), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Khaleem Hyland (KVC Westerlo—BEL), Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United FC—USA), Leston Paul (Central FC), Levi Garcia (AZ Alkmaar—NED).
« Last Edit: April 03, 2017, 07:45:03 AM by maxg »