March 28, 2024, 06:30:48 PM

Author Topic: Reyes scores, Mexico tops T&T to stay unbeaten in WCQ.  (Read 5888 times)

Reyes scores, Mexico tops T&T to stay unbeaten in WCQ.
« on: March 29, 2017, 01:43:50 AM »
Reyes scores, Mexico tops T&T to stay unbeaten in WCQ.
CONCACAF.COM.

Mexico (3W-1D-0L, 10 points) remained on course for a berth at Russia 2018 with a 1-0 win over host Trinidad & Tobago (1-0-3, 3) in a CONCACAF final round qualifier on Tuesday.

Diego Reyes struck for the only goal in the second half, meaning that the Tricolor will finish the evening atop the six-team table regardless of the Panama-USA result later in the evening.  T&T is in the last place and won’t have another opportunity to climb the ladder until the schedule resumes in June.

Fans at Hasely Crawford Stadium reveled in the 32nd minute, when T&T’s Joevin Jones fired the ball into the back of the net from 10 yards.  The celebrations were cut short, however, after the goal was disallowed for offside.

A right-footed blast from outside the box by Hector Herrera nearly gave Mexico the lead two minutes into the second half, but the ball ricocheted off the right post.

That miss led to Reyes’ first-ever international goal in the 58th minute. Miguel Layun delivered an out-swinging corner kick from the right that the 24-year-old center back headed home authoritatively off the lifted left hand of goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams.

Mexico is only unbeaten team in CONCACAF qualifying with an overall record of 8-2-0, while T&T was shutout for third time in its last five WCQ outings.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 21.Jan-Michael Williams; 2.Aubrey David, 25.Curtis Gonzales, 5.Daneil Cyrus, 17.Mekeil Williams; 19.Kevan George, 8.Khaleem Hyland (14.Andre Boucaud 65th); 7.Cordell Cato (15.Willis Plaza 80th), 10.Kevin Molino (Yellow55), 3.Joevin Jones; 9.Kenwyne Jones (capt) (20.Jamille Boatswain 65th).

Unused substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 22.Glenroy Samuel (GK), 4.Sheldon Bateau, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 11.Carlos Edwards, 12.Hashim Arcia, 13.Hughtun Hector, 16.Levi Garcia, 23.Leston Paul.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Mexico: 12.Alfredo Talavera; 3.Carlos Salcedo (Yellow 62) (17.Jesus Gallardo 66th), 2.Nestor Araujo, 15.Hector Morena (capt), 22.Luis Reyes (Yellow 80); 5.Diego Reyes (21.Orbelin Pineda 74th), 23.Jesus Molina; 9.Raul Jimenez (11.Carlos Vela 56th), 16.Hector Herrera, 7.Miguel Layun; 14.Javier Hernandez.

Unused substitutes: 1.Jesus Corona (GK), 13.Guillermo Ochoa (GK), 6.Oswaldo Alanis, 8.Jonathan Dos Santos, 10.Luis Nontes, 18.Elias Hernandez, 19.Oribe Peralta, 20.Jesus Duenas.

Coach: Juan Carlos Osorio

Referee: Valdin Legister (Jamaica).

Hex Results

Honduras 1 v Costa Rica 1.
Trinidad and Tobago 0 v Mexico 1.
Panama 1 v USA 1.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts - (+)
Mexico  4  3  1  0  5  1  10  (+4)
Costa Rica  4  2  1  1  7  3  7  (+4)
Panama  4  1  2  1  2  2  5  (0)
United States  4  1  1  2  8  7  4  (1)
Honduras  4  1  1  2  4  9  4  (-5)
Trinidad & Tobago  4  1  0  3  2  6  3  (-4)

Upcoming Games

8 June 2017 (home team listed first)

United States v Trinidad & Tobago, TBA
Costa Rica v Panama, Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica
Mexico v Honduras, Estadio Azteca

11 June 2017 (home team listed first)

Mexico v United States, Estadio Azteca

13 June 2017 (home team listed first)

Panama v Honduras, Estadio Rommel Fernández
Costa Rica v Trinidad and Tobago, Estadio Nacional de Costa Rica

RELATED NEWS

Soca Warriors fade.
T&T Guardian Reports.

A single goal from defender Diego Reyes in the 57th minute earned Mexico all three points on the road against a fighting T&T Soca Warriors in their FIFA/Concacaf World Cup qualifier at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, last night.

But T&T may feel cheated by a dubious offside call by Jamaican referee Valdin Legister that prevented them from going ahead in the first half of the match, and perhaps a possible win or at least a share of the points.

After absorbing relentless Mexican pressure, midfielder Khaleem Hyland, the architect of a neat T&T build-up, found Joevin Jones unmarked in the area and he made no mistake, beating goalkeeper Afredo Talavera with a powerful left-footed drive that nestled into the roof of the Mexico net. But Legister spoiled the party by blowing offside.

Instead, it was Mexico who were later celebrating early in the second half when Reyes raced inside the T&T area to meet a left-side corner sweetly on the head and steer the ball past Jan-Michael Williams into the top left corner.

The Mexicans expectedly settled early and felt they should have scored when Caros Salcedo lifted a pin-point pass to captain Hector Herrera inside the area in the eighth minute and with only the keeper to beat, Herrera hit a weak header to the outstretched arms of goalkeeper Williams.

When the hosts found their confidence, a neat build-up from the right-side by Hyland found Jones on the left, but the speedy player cut inside and hit a weak shot that failed to trouble the Mexico custodian in the 15th minute. As play continued the teams traded opportunities, but both defences proved equal to the task as the teams closed the first session of play without a goal to show for their efforts.

At the resumption, Mexico continued their dominance with the ball and really should have scored when Javier Hernandez was fed a through ball inside the box. But he lost his footing as a sliding Williams put in a strong challenge.

Hernandez was guilty of many missed chances from similar plays in the time that followed.

Coach Dennis Lawrence later brought on Jamille Boatswain and Andre Boucaud as replacements for skipper Kenwyne Jones and Hyland in an attempt to salvage a point from the contest, but a steady Mexican defence prevented all attacks at goal.

Only Jones (Joevin) was given a last-ditch chance from a free kick at the top the box, but his attempt deflected off the wall before being cleared to safety.

Going into the back-to-back matches against Panama and the Mexicans, coach Lawrence had aimed at four points, but he got three from Friday’s 1-0 victory against Panama at the same venue.

« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 05:11:19 AM by Flex »

Re: Reyes scores, Mexico tops T&T to stay unbeaten in WCQ.
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2017, 03:12:06 AM »
Bad officiating

No Bateau? No Levi? Tallest showed desperation with his subs after mexicos goal

Absorbing pressure from Mexico was ill advised and the wrong approach, Tallest showed his inexperience tonight

Very little shots on goal and as a defender,  not implementing the press Hart had used to throw Mexico off made a difference

Tallest is too conservative of a coach to be our national team coach, we have regressed severely and will continue to do so under his leadership, this style of football he is implementing is putting us back  years ago when we were struggling to find our style of play and couldn't score goals with very little shots on goal... not to mention his choices and selection...

« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2017, 04:30:06 AM »
Oh God. Go and propose to Hart den nah, Contro. Geez an.

« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2017, 04:41:49 AM »
Hart is the new Hardest.

What an unforeseen fate

« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2017, 05:18:14 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago’s 1-0 loss to Mexico

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/73SB56ql4rs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/73SB56ql4rs</a>

« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2017, 05:28:49 AM »
I hate that f00cking Jamaican referee, bastard f000cking dog, bitch mudda cunny....cheap, lying, no good, snake licking, low life, ignorant, dog kissing, dickless, hopeless, jealous, heartless, dog shit, pussy farting, cat vomit, asshole crepsole, kakahole licking, bastard.

Ah like how de team fight.

Everybody real try.

De only gripes I have is, Boucaud shoulda start, he came on and made some good passes and good impression and ah feel we shoulda left Kenwyne on de field and sacrifice a defender, maybe Gonzales for a Garcia.

Garcia for Gonzales
Boatswain for Cato
Boucaud for Hyland

We can't afford to lose we home games, now we have to hope a results vs USA in USA and Panama in Panama and a bonus vs Costa Rica in Costa Rica, which would be hard.

Yesterday results work out perfect for T&T, to bad we lose.

But ah happy with what ah saw from de players.

« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 05:35:57 AM by Sam »

« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2017, 05:33:45 AM »
WATCH: Post-match reaction from Captain Kenwyne Jones

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/7hPSuS8US1A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/7hPSuS8US1A</a>

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/QG3A1SetTR0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/QG3A1SetTR0</a>
« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 06:02:53 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #7 on: March 29, 2017, 06:03:46 AM »
WATCH: Post-match reaction from Goalkeeper Jan-Michael Williams

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/8XK1Jh-_3z8" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/8XK1Jh-_3z8</a>

« Reply #8 on: March 29, 2017, 06:09:24 AM »
Hart is the new Hardest.

What an unforeseen fate

Lawd ah guh dead  :rotfl:

« Reply #9 on: March 29, 2017, 07:04:07 AM »
Did K jones have a shot on goal ... .Jamille Boatswain  not proven at this level yet

« Reply #10 on: March 29, 2017, 07:54:23 AM »
Bad officiating

Absorbing pressure from Mexico was ill advised and the wrong approach, Tallest showed his inexperience tonight

Very little shots on goal and as a defender,  not implementing the press Hart had used to throw Mexico off made a difference

Tallest is too conservative of a coach to be our national team coach, we have regressed severely and will continue to do so under his leadership, this style of football he is implementing is putting us back  years ago when we were struggling to find our style of play and couldn't score goals with very little shots on goal... not to mention his choices and selection...
And you have more experience than Dennis, right? Why yuh not coaching somewhere, brother. Ah know is just fan talk so doh bodda wid me, ok?

« Reply #11 on: March 29, 2017, 08:10:27 AM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/73SB56ql4rs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/73SB56ql4rs</a>
that referee and his who crew got it so wrong yesterday. imagine the man brought down molino a blatant foul yet the idiot ref gave molino the yellow, Lawrence should protest that yellow. just when you thought there could not be anything worst than English referees who for the most part is rubbish.......these referees in concacaf gave me a whole new prospective on terrible officiating........the worst I have ever seen to be truthful.

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2017, 08:35:21 AM »
Did K jones have a shot on goal ... .Jamille Boatswain  not proven at this level yet

The lack of shots on goal is a collective problem, rather than an individual one.

How does one become proven without playing?

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2017, 08:57:52 AM »
Very disappointed with the ref and his lines man.

T&T team improved defensively a whole lot.

The T&T team showed they could win even on the road.

Have fate guys.

I hope the TTFA line up a few games before June.

« Reply #14 on: March 29, 2017, 09:01:56 AM »
Robbery on the road - Mexico fortunate to escape T&T with 3 points.
By Jon Arnold (Goal.com).

Juan Carlos Osorio's changes from the win over Costa Rica were unimpressive, and a key call went El Tri's way as they took the away win.

Earlier this week, a Honduras player said his team wasn't going to hide after a poor result. In his mind, that would only be necessary if he'd committed a robbery or other crime.

Mexico may want to lay low for a while.

The 1-0 victory over Trinidad and Tobago in Port of Spain wasn't a smash-and-grab result, but it may have been petty theft. The team definitely escaped with a result — one it might not have earned. Luck, or the assistant referee, smiled on El Tri and the team leaves with six points from this window's two matches. Mexico's 10 points also keep the team atop the Hexagonal stage of World Cup qualifying.

"Today was a game where we had to roll up our sleeves and work for it, and the guys understood that," Osorio said at his postmatch news conference. "All in all, I think the plan gave us really good results. The national team continues winning, the guys continue contributing and we continue putting together a really good team that in every scenario shows that it deserves to win."

Joevin Jones had the ball in Alfredo Talavera's net in the 32nd minute but was ruled offside, though it appeared he was at worst level with Nestor Araujo when the pass was struck. Mexico got a break with its goal as well. That's not to take anything away from Miguel Layun's gorgeous service or Diego Reyes' header to score, but other chances in the match were few and far between.

There are going to be matches like this in the Hex, in which playing surfaces and conditions and atmospheres in the stadiums can create uncomfortable situations for visiting sides. However, in many ways, Mexico coach Juan Carlos Osorio brought this difficulty upon himself.

Worried about the Soca Warriors' height and speed, Osorio put out a conservative lineup with Diego Reyes and Jesus Molina in the middle and dropped Carlos Vela, one of the team's sparks.

And after praising Hector Herrera for being able to play centrally, he moved him up, between the defensive midfielders and the forwards. The player never plugged into the match, hitting the post with an individual effort but failing to create the same chances for others that he did as Mexico comprehensively topped Costa Rica four days earlier.

We know Osorio has faith in his methods, but at times he needs to put more faith in his players. The result was earned either way, but it could've come easier had Mexico simply rolled out and played the same brand of soccer it did at home. The coach is right to respect every opponent, and his preparation that goes into each game is admirable. But sometimes in CONCACAF, you really can ride your talent advantage to three points.

"It's really tough to play pretty football on these types of fields and these types of opponents," center back Hector Moreno said after the game. "I think the team tried to do it, but also you have to be ready because because, it's happened to us in the past, the last games against Trinidad and Tobago were 3-3 and 4-4. So we knew that it was important to keep a clean sheet and after that look for a goal on a play, and we got it."

Mexico is sitting pretty at the moment. The type of crisis that plagued the team in the last cycle has been averted. Osorio has led the team to seven points in three away matches. El Tri will qualify for the World Cup — that much seems clear. But a better team than a Trinidad and Tobago side still getting accustomed to new coach Dennis Lawrence would've been able to see out a result Tuesday.

Mexico will be facing those teams in Russia. Mexico will be facing those teams in June when it hosts Honduras and the United States.

Osorio has plenty to think about before then, though he may not want to overthink things. Many of his critics have charged him with that "crime" before, but Tuesday night they were right.

« Reply #15 on: March 29, 2017, 09:22:59 AM »
I sad that Mexico scored a header on we, this probably never happen before.

Cyrus, Kenwyne (who was defending), Mekeil and David all taller that 6 feet.

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #16 on: March 29, 2017, 09:46:30 AM »

that referee and his who crew got it so wrong yesterday. imagine the man brought down molino a blatant foul yet the idiot ref gave molino the yellow, Lawrence should protest that yellow. just when you thought there could not be anything worst than English referees who for the most part is rubbish.......these referees in concacaf gave me a whole new prospective on terrible officiating........the worst I have ever seen to be truthful.

We supposed to be the home team playing with the home advantage...from what I seen in these last 2 games with the officiating.... is like we were the "away" team... some real bad officiating all against TNT
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #17 on: March 29, 2017, 09:48:02 AM »
I sad that Mexico scored a header on we, this probably never happen before.

Cyrus, Kenwyne (who was defending), Mekeil and David all taller that 6 feet.

Reyes (the goalscorer) is not short (approx. 6' 3") and was put in the starting squad specifically to deal with T&T's height. Both of the Mexican centerbacks were.

« Reply #18 on: March 29, 2017, 09:49:21 AM »

We supposed to be the home team playing with the home advantage...from what I seen in these last 2 games with the officiating.... is like we were the "away" team... some real bad officiating all against TNT

Nah. We get way with a offside call on a Panama goal late in that game.

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2017, 09:58:00 AM »

And Panama get away from a penalty..when homeboy push down Kenwyne in the box..right dey for everybody to see...A Mexican slide into Molino... and Molino gets the Yellow.....I mean we could go tit for tat..but TNT got the worst end of the calls period
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #20 on: March 29, 2017, 10:12:10 AM »
whats the goal of all the short corners? And the subs.. I believe the Cap had more to offer and being down, I would have liked to see Garcia on the field. Personally I'm not convinced with Jamille..  yet!

We need to get the coach and players as many friendlies as possible, as it showed last night that he may not know them as individuals/team and what they can offer in a particular situation, as he should yet.

« Reply #21 on: March 29, 2017, 11:20:20 AM »
whats the goal of all the short corners? And the subs.. I believe the Cap had more to offer and being down, I would have liked to see Garcia on the field. Personally I'm not convinced with Jamille..  yet!

We need to get the coach and players as many friendlies as possible, as it showed last night that he may not know them as individuals/team and what they can offer in a particular situation, as he should yet.

He has video archives, I'm sure he saw the previous matches..

To me that is lack of experience...

« Reply #22 on: March 29, 2017, 11:32:34 AM »
Bad officiating

And you have more experience than Dennis, right? Why yuh not coaching somewhere, brother. Ah know is just fan talk so doh bodda wid me, ok?

No I don't have more experience than Tallest, but I've been around football from a very early age and know when a team is not playing well and when a coach put of desperation starts throwing on subs that make no sense...

Ff and the other idiots above are good at deflecting instead of addressing what happened..

We struggled in the offensive Dept last night, Bateau, Boucaud and Levi was left on the bench, our mid looked weak, weakest I've seen in a while.. We had very little attempts at goal and he subbed Jones at the 65' minute? He brings on Boucaud late which added a small spark but not enough time, hyland was invisible most of the match, fading in and out.. we actually saw some cohesiveness when Boucaud came on..

Why is no one observing these things? Cummings to this day is a better mid for national football than Molino, we started playing better football with Cummings in the mid than when Molino was there and that trend is continuing...

« Reply #23 on: March 29, 2017, 11:35:53 AM »
Hart is the new Hardest.

What an unforeseen fate

Lawd ah guh dead  :rotfl:

Allyuh keep on deflecting from our loss at home and the poor performance... at least hardest can pass a football and maintain possession under pressure, the poor first touch of Cato created opportunities for Mexico and we turned over the ball because of bad passing..

Keep deflecting and not addressing what really happened, that will continue to regress our football smh

« Reply #24 on: March 29, 2017, 11:42:23 AM »

The lack of shots on goal is a collective problem, rather than an individual one.

How does one become proven without playing?

I know but as a striker how much did he have and how many saves has he forced

« Reply #25 on: March 29, 2017, 11:55:28 AM »

And Panama get away from a penalty..when homeboy push down Kenwyne in the box..right dey for everybody to see...A Mexican slide into Molino... and Molino gets the Yellow.....I mean we could go tit for tat..but TNT got the worst end of the calls period

Not trying to go tit for tat. Not counting. Just pointing out that the fact that Panama got a bad call renders your previous statement incorrect.

« Reply #26 on: March 29, 2017, 12:07:33 PM »
Was the flag raise for Kenwyne perhaps?

« Reply #27 on: March 29, 2017, 12:15:55 PM »
Was the flag raise for Kenwyne perhaps?

Couldn't be. The pass was obviously intended for Joevin. Kenwyne had no part to play in that and should not have even been considered as he was not interfering in the play. I considered that last night and also if it might have been an issue at the time Joevin took the shot but at that point Kenwyne wasn't in the keepers line of sight so, again, should not have been considered to be interfering in the play.

Also that line makes the call look worse than it actually was. Still a bad call though.

« Reply #28 on: March 29, 2017, 12:38:29 PM »
oh I'm glad somebody posted it...clearly wasn't offside....at that point too the AR should not be running forward as he is ahead of the play but should be square so he has an entire view of the field.

doh worry somebody will handle pussyrito soon enough...
« Last Edit: March 29, 2017, 12:45:41 PM by MEP »

« Reply #29 on: March 29, 2017, 12:45:27 PM »
WATCH: Post-match press conference with Head Coach Dennis Lawrence

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/rFK_e0HNIQY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/rFK_e0HNIQY</a>