March 28, 2024, 08:34:28 AM

Author Topic: 2022 FIFA World Cup Thread  (Read 27850 times)

Re: 2022 FIFA World Cup Thread
« Reply #120 on: June 06, 2021, 05:27:28 PM »
That is the stark embarrassing reality of our performance.

« Reply #121 on: June 09, 2021, 03:16:57 AM »

« Reply #122 on: June 09, 2021, 07:13:03 AM »

« Reply #123 on: June 09, 2021, 09:01:48 AM »
The only unbeaten team in the group not going.

« Reply #124 on: June 09, 2021, 09:54:27 AM »
yet you all wants to fire a coach who lost one game to the regions power house, won 2 and drew 2.  I hope terry stays. we love to fire coaches in this country.

« Reply #125 on: June 09, 2021, 10:08:48 AM »
yet you all wants to fire a coach who lost one game to the regions power house, won 2 and drew 2.  I hope terry stays. we love to fire coaches in this country.

Accountability. Matters not that we were unbeaten in the series match by match because we were beaten to the next round.

Yuh never work a match problem, arrive at the correct answer and get the same # of points as "de dog ate my homework"? Nought is nought. Zilch is zilch. We get zought. So no blasted credit.

« Reply #126 on: June 09, 2021, 02:11:03 PM »

« Reply #127 on: June 09, 2021, 04:00:39 PM »
T&T’s failed World Cup campaign
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian).

So much is going on in the world of sport that the feeling of being spoiled for choice may seem borderline ridiculous. From athletics, tennis, cricket, golf and football - the FIFA World Cup 2022 qualifying games around the world and the Euro Championships get going tomorrow. To top it all off, at 10:00 am (Eastern Caribbean time) today, West Indies take on South Africa in the first test match at the Daren Sammy National Cricket Stadium (previously known as Beausejour Cricket Ground) in St. Lucia - one of my favourite grounds in the Caribbean. Quite literally, sport is on non-stop and so with the lockdown and curfew in T&T, sports fans must be thrilled and may not think of a better way to spend their time than watching their favourite sports.

Let’s kick off with World Cup qualifying and as someone mentioned to me, Trinidad and Tobago qualification for the 2022 FIFA World Cup ended before it started. T&T did not get out of the first round. One of the darkest days in the history of the sport, far less football in the country.

St Kitts & Nevis (who won the group) performed with heart, determination and exhibited their fighting qualities, something I thought T&T woefully lacked in the games they played. Even though defeating Guyana 3-0 looked good on paper, T&T did not exhibit the characteristics of a well-oiled machine but it was the only game in which the team grinded out a victory and the best teams when they are not playing well, it is their determination and fight that shines through.

Drawing with Puerto Rico after taking the lead against the run of play, one would have hoped for a similar fighting, plucky defensive performance ensuring the Puerto Ricans did not equalise and if T&T had to win ugly by 1-0, the important scenario was the three points. That was a minor setback I thought and with the Bahamas next, who conceded seven goals three days before T&T was up against them, it meant that St Kitts & Nevis match would have been the ultimate decider. The Bahamians made three changes to the team that was hit for more than half a dozen yet the T&T team, who knew full well the importance of this match, could not get the ball into their opponent’s net.

With that draw, T&T waved bye-bye until the next World Cup qualification campaign comes around in another four years. Expectedly, the blame game quickly began. The players were thrown under the bus by the coach for squandering chances, and they probably did, but the fact remains - they could not score a goal against a team that conceded seven goals three days before plus another eight in their two previous games. What a disaster of titanic proportions! Even the hollow victory in what looked like a practice match against a St Kitts and Nevis team in their final game of the round can’t remedy the disaster.

Unfortunately, the coach can say what he wants but ultimately, he is the one in charge; he is the one who makes decisions; he is the one who picks the team; he is the one who plans the tactics; he is the one who looks at the opposition and stops them from playing; he is the one who motivates the team and the buck stops with him. Ask the host of managers in the top leagues throughout the world, when results do not go their way, do the players get fired? No. But we have seen top managers part company with clubs. Coaches are hired to do a specific job and the job of T&T’s coach was to get the team into the next round of World Cup qualification and he failed. Indeed, it is a pity but now is the time to move on.

Football in this country requires a complete overhaul so what has transpired on the field is being mirrored off the field. The constant bickering and fighting among the stakeholders will never stop. There are people who are involved in football that seek their own self-interest. In other words, what can they get out of football? Few do it for the love of the beautiful game and the love of country. T&T’s young footballers are suffering. They don’t know what the next step is and where proper training and development will be coming from. Those charged with handling football in T&T should be looking at the next crop of young people to develop them for 2026 (which may be too soon) but some effort certainly has to be made.

I await the Normalisation Committee’s post mortem on T&T’s failed World Cup campaign. It should make for interesting reading but please, don’t wait with bated breath.

Editor’s note:

The views expressed in this column are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of any organisation of which he is a stakeholder.

RELATED NEWS

Time to do the honourable thing Terry Fenwick
By Andre E Baptiste (T&T Express).

When Trinidad and Tobago thought they could at least smile after Saturday's coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic Ministry of Health Press Conference, things got worse. Not because of what was said, but what came after.

With further restrictions in place on Weekends going forward, from Sunday. This Saturday afternoon into the night should have been one full of smiles, laughter, happiness, the usual banter among sports enthusiasts with anticipation for yesterday's (Tuesday 8th June) showdown with St Kitts & Nevis which is dubbed the Sugar Boyz.

However by 6.51 pm on Saturday, many were left speechless or dumbfounded by what had transpired between 5 pm mayhem.

If you are still wondering what, I am speaking of, then you are a lucky soul, that you did not have to endure watching the football match, between Trinidad and Tobago and the Bahamas and what had unfolded.

Bahamas lost their three previous World Cup qualification matches (7-0 to Puerto Rico, 4-0 to Guyana and 4-0 to St Kitts and Nevis) but managed with the aid of a purposefully lethargic T&T football team to draw 0-0 and end all dreams of qualifying for the Qatar World Cup in 2022.

I have three quick questions:

Was there ever a plan, Terry?

Was there a Plan B if Plan A failed, Terry?

What was the strategy, Terry?

What happened to many of the locally-based players who were training for over six months?

In all of this, just as in the previous matches, we must find out what sort of ideas arose at halftime in the T&T's dressing room, as we witnessed only one change, immediately after the interval. This may have suggested that to everyone else other than approximately 1.3 million citizens, everything was going to plan according to the management team.

Perhaps the main question is, should we have been surprised by all of this? the score lines, the pattern of play, the formations, the style of play, the general environment of the team, the Bahamas parking the bus and eventually the final result.

In William Shakespeare’s Hamlet “to be or not to be, that is the question", has now become more relevant than ever in T&T’s football.

Those that wanted Terrence Fenwick, as national coach, since over 18 months ago whether they are named William (Not Shakespeare), Keith (Not Brutus), Lasana (Not Lady Macbeth), Colin (Not Prospero) or Allan (Not Shylock), may all be planning exit clauses, but in the minds of many, it would certainly be too late, if indeed their support was fulsome and true.

Football in this country has always encapsulated controversy, and negativity but we never witnessed the level of animosity, diatribe and total abundance of hatred and divisiveness, a lot of it attributed to social media links, where identities are generally hidden.

Many have recommended a new beginning, but how will that work, if the atmosphere, which has been described as uneasy, unfriendly and downright fistful by those, closest to the players, is allowed to permeate.

There is in history, many versions of settings, that suggest, - no time is ever good enough or bad, for change - It is the events that follow the change which is critical to any progress or improvement, and therein is the “default”. In this beautiful twin-island republic, we have heard many promises become pipe dreams never to be fulfilled, because of hunger for power.

Trust is going to be critical going forward, and therefore what needs to happen, is that coaches, players and other officials need to work with the T&T Football Association (TTFA) management team to ensure, that there is – League Football – of some kind when the sport is allowed back on the field of play.

As many turn their collective tournament direction focus onto the Gold Cup in the USA, let us hope that a plan is not only hatched but implemented for local youth football, between Secondary School league and any new Unified league.

The fact is, that since the arrival of Fenwick our football has been further divided.

Fenwick has found out, that being a national coach is not as easy as he may have believed and in these circumstances, he has found himself, caught with his pants on fire at ever turn.

While there is little doubt that several of our players underperformed and look clueless at times, the buck begins and ends with the coach – Fenwick.

Unless he can prove, that he can perform miracles with the same players, then he should do the noble deed, and offer his resignation, if not, then there would be no alternative for the Normalisation Committee to terminate his services in the current environment.

And yes it will be costly, but no more, than the loss of confidence from players, the public and potential sponsors in the team, notwithstanding there is a raging school of thought that Fenwick has already lost the dressing room and when that happens is time to press the reset button.

« Last Edit: June 09, 2021, 04:03:00 PM by Flex »

« Reply #128 on: June 10, 2021, 02:55:22 AM »

Accountability. Matters not that we were unbeaten in the series match by match because we were beaten to the next round.

Yuh never work a match problem, arrive at the correct answer and get the same # of points as "de dog ate my homework"? Nought is nought. Zilch is zilch. We get zought. So no blasted credit.

Aaand! they go want to fire future coach or coaches to! Trust me.

« Reply #130 on: June 12, 2021, 03:32:38 PM »
i watched haiti dismantle the turks and caicos "bus" 10-0 a couple weeks ago while we were struggling with PR and BAH.
Rooting for them here against Canada but they collect 1 against the run of play - 1-0 Canada.

« Reply #131 on: June 12, 2021, 03:39:21 PM »
As i type st kitts and nevis is getting their asses handed to them, they're losing by 4-0 with less than 20 minutes left. canada leads haiti by 1-0 approaching half time.

2022 CONCACAF WC Qualifiers Thread
« Reply #132 on: September 04, 2021, 03:37:47 AM »
Judging by the results of the first matches played last night 03-09-21,Jamaica was the only team that lost to Mexico,their winner came in the 89th minute,a very surprising result was El Salvador v USA draw,all the rest were draws.These results are not surprising because slowly,but surely the weaker teams are catching up.
   I would just like to say, we didn't do too bad in our recent failures, when you consider all the upheavals our football has gone through over the last 5 years or more.It is also safe to say that we wouldn't have had a team good enough to beat any of those teams that are presently competing in the Hex,purely because of non football issues.We must try and put a great effort in our approach to the Caribbean ChampionsTrophy,this could be a new start.I am growing older with the thought of,"how the once best football team in the Caribbean can fall so far behind the the rest",that needs some serious explanation.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2021, 11:41:29 PM by Flex »

Re: CONCACAF WC Qualifiers 22.
« Reply #133 on: September 04, 2021, 09:51:19 AM »
I agree with you Frico.

El Salvador looking good. Hugo Perez doing a master job with them. JA was good. Unfortunately they could not hang in there. Sunday is their turn to do the flip on Mex. Good luck to them.

« Reply #134 on: September 05, 2021, 06:48:03 AM »
SAME stupid mindset we still have. Being best in the Caribbean do NOT mean much when there is a significant quality gap between the Caribbean and there Central Americans teams. How many Caribbean titles we won in the 90s and it DID not matter when facing central amaericans teams and US in world cup qualifying!
You want to beat up your little chest by saying what exactly? You better than shit teams in the Caribbean when the entire Caribbean playing shit? And as usual when you bounce up the Central teams with all this Caribbean trophy pedigree and you still end up getting your azz whopped!

The focus should be on playing teams better than Caribbean teams around the world and having our teams from (youth to senior) in touring camps in countries playing against top class football clubs to get prepared for important Concacaf tournaments and next Olympics qualifications.

But we have some old man in here who want to feel good by T&T winning a Caribbean title and really belive that will be a return to some type of 'greatness'  :D  real STUPID dinosaur old thinking mentality
« Last Edit: September 05, 2021, 06:59:40 AM by Sando prince »

« Reply #135 on: September 05, 2021, 04:32:39 PM »
SAME stupid mindset we still have. Being best in the Caribbean do NOT mean much when there is a significant quality gap between the Caribbean and there Central Americans teams. How many Caribbean titles we won in the 90s and it DID not matter when facing central amaericans teams and US in world cup qualifying!
You want to beat up your little chest by saying what exactly? You better than shit teams in the Caribbean when the entire Caribbean playing shit? And as usual when you bounce up the Central teams with all this Caribbean trophy pedigree and you still end up getting your azz whopped!

The focus should be on playing teams better than Caribbean teams around the world and having our teams from (youth to senior) in touring camps in countries playing against top class football clubs to get prepared for important Concacaf tournaments and next Olympics qualifications.

But we have some old man in here who want to feel good by T&T winning a Caribbean title and really belive that will be a return to some type of 'greatness'  :D  real STUPID dinosaur old thinking mentality

Sando, I really can't understand your issue with us winning the Caribbean tournaments. It is what it is. We in Caribbean. Why denigrate the Caribbean teams which lack the resources to compete against the Central Americans.The tournaments were  there for us to play among ourselves. And to give the younger players who did not play WC and concacaf nation league an opportunity to play regional football. AT least they were playing. We don't even play anymore. The regional tournament should return as a U23 format so the young player can get match practice for nations league, CAC, PanAm games,Olympic games, GC and WC.

« Reply #136 on: September 05, 2021, 06:14:41 PM »
Don't give that guy your energy Deeks. 

I just watched JA lose to Panama. Jamaica was missing many of their English boys. This tells me the depth of their pool is working against them. 3 - 0 loss at home is a hard one to swallow.

« Reply #137 on: September 05, 2021, 07:49:55 PM »
USA 1 - 1 CAN 77th min.

Alfonso Davies - Best player in Concacaf

« Reply #138 on: September 06, 2021, 06:51:44 AM »

Case and point big Caribbean team Jamaica get beat down at home by Panama.

Significant quality gap between Caribbean and rest of Concacaf has always existed. Caribbean tournaments have never been and continue to NOT be quality preparation for significant matches such as WC qualifying or Olympic qualifying.

As I have explained earlier T&T have won several Caribbean tournaments in the past then got our azz whipped when it matters the most in WC qualifying and Gold Cup against Central American teams and US

But continue using the same approach for preparation of our team for important Concacaf tournaments and you sure to expect the same failing results. Something these old men dinosaur heads seem to cannot understand.

But sit down and beat your little chests after winning some Caribbean tournament so you can brag to yourself  :D

« Reply #139 on: September 06, 2021, 07:25:26 AM »
JA would have at least gotten a point if they had their  players from the Gold cup. I think 6 key guys were missing, including Leon Bailey.

Since yesterday loss, they calling for Tappa head. Not an unusual reaction..

I picking these teams to go through:

MEX
USA
CAN

These teams will fight for .5 spot:

CR
HON
PAN
SAL

Jamaica has 3 of their home games at the end of the campaign. Meaning they will need to have at least 10 to 11 points before their final 3 home games to have a chance of fighting for that .5 spot.

« Reply #140 on: September 06, 2021, 08:44:43 AM »
I did not see the JA game. I was surprised at the score line at their national stadium. And indeed, it appears that the English contingent were not released by the clubs seeing the state of the covid situation in JA. The covid situation hampered our preparations more than anything. Terry Fenwick got the bad luck of the draw. JA appeared to have gotten a pass by their govt for preparations  and they were able to qualify for the hex. Now covid is causing real issues. It  is hitting home now. But they still got 12 games to play. If they win their 6 homes games. I think they will be sitting pretty to qualify or play the intercontinental play-offs.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2021, 08:57:11 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #141 on: September 06, 2021, 08:50:41 AM »

Case and point big Caribbean team Jamaica get beat down at home by Panama.

Significant quality gap between Caribbean and rest of Concacaf has always existed. Caribbean tournaments have never been and continue to NOT be quality preparation for significant matches such as WC qualifying or Olympic qualifying.

As I have explained earlier T&T have won several Caribbean tournaments in the past then got our azz whipped when it matters the most in WC qualifying and Gold Cup against Central American teams and US

But continue using the same approach for preparation of our team for important Concacaf tournaments and you sure to expect the same failing results. Something these old men dinosaur heads seem to cannot understand.

But sit down and beat your little chests after winning some Caribbean tournament so you can brag to yourself  :D

Sando, when was the last time TT win that tournament. It is over 10 years, breds. Of course we beating we chest. WE IS the Caribbean champs. When TKR win the cricket, aren't we Caribbean champions even though the team has foreigners on it. The tournament is non-functional and you still harping on it. You know how many times they try to restart it and they failed. Like I said, the tournament should be re-introduced so that the yutemen and them can get match practice.

« Reply #142 on: September 06, 2021, 08:54:12 AM »
USA 1 - 1 CAN 77th min.

Alfonso Davies - Best player in Concacaf

The Canadian team playing some real ball. Buchanan came on and was giving the US reall trouble. But there is plenty more football to play. Let us see how they, JA and El Salvador finish.

« Reply #143 on: September 06, 2021, 09:12:21 AM »

Deeks but sorry to say if thats all you can absorb from my previous two comments you are a big duncy head man. Sorry to say  :D

« Reply #144 on: September 06, 2021, 03:25:52 PM »

Deeks but sorry to say if thats all you can absorb from my previous two comments you are a big duncy head man. Sorry to say  :D

Cool, I appreciate you honesty!

« Reply #145 on: September 06, 2021, 03:35:00 PM »
Sando, I used to talk to the late Coops(Kenwyn Cooper). He coached the TT national in one of these Shell Cup and I think they won. He told me that he liked this tournament because it gave the younger players exposure. As a matter of fact they have lost some of the tournaments by using the B team. He was under no illusions that being Caribbean champion made them ready for the Central Americans. He bemoan the fact that they could not get some of the top English teams that used to come in the 60s and give us a run for we money. He would have liked to get South American opposition sometimes, but TTFA always had "other" plans. Which led to nowhere.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2021, 06:22:43 PM by Deeks »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #146 on: September 06, 2021, 03:42:02 PM »
Mexico is the only team that is guarantied a spot the other 2.5 spots is up for grabs.
Canada Honduras U S A will battle it out for the other spots with Costa Rica and Panama with a outside chance of taking a spot.
El Salvador coach has added some American steal to El Salvador but he has taken away there attacking flair they are going to struggle to score goals.
Once Jamaica and TT continue to hire a bunch of local coach's they will never qualify for a WC

« Reply #147 on: September 06, 2021, 06:28:29 PM »
Mexico is the only team that is guarantied a spot the other 2.5 spots is up for grabs.
Canada Honduras U S A will battle it out for the other spots with Costa Rica and Panama with a outside chance of taking a spot.
El Salvador coach has added some American steal to El Salvador but he has taken away there attacking flair they are going to struggle to score goals.
Once Jamaica and TT continue to hire a bunch of local coach's they will never qualify for a WC

Quite true. But They still have 12 more games to play. They need their foreign stars badly. Another the next WC after Qatar will be extremely difficult to qualify. Three teams have already qualify because they will be hosts. US, Mexico an Canada will be hosting the tournament. So that means only 2 spots or 1.5 spots will be available. The NC better get their act together.

« Reply #148 on: September 06, 2021, 06:43:53 PM »
Sando, I used to talk to the late Coops(Kenwyn Cooper). He coached the TT national in one of these Shell Cup and I think they won. He told me that he liked this tournament because it gave the younger players exposure. As a matter of fact they have lost some of the tournaments by using the B team. He was under no illusions that being Caribbean champion made them ready for the Central Americans. He bemoan the fact that they could not get some of the top English teams that used to come in the 60s and give us a run for we money. He would have liked to get South American opposition sometimes, but TTFA always had "other" plans. Which led to nowhere.

« Reply #149 on: September 06, 2021, 06:44:20 PM »

When did they have that?