March 28, 2024, 06:36:00 AM

Author Topic: 2022 FIFA World Cup Thread  (Read 27846 times)

Offline ABTrini

Re: 2022 FIFA World Cup Thread
« Reply #210 on: November 27, 2022, 10:23:07 PM »
  Teams  I would love to see go down-
- All European Teams
- Argentina- most racist South American  Country
- USA

Great to see that the first 5 goals for England  in its first game- Five different black players- Yeah
 Love the defeat  that Germany- Argentina Belgium suffered
 Love the fact that the less physical teams  like Japan and South Korea bringing pace
 African nations need to step up
Ecuador- nice surprise

What's your yardstick? Rigorous examination may lead you to revisit support for Brazil or reconsidering exclusion of Brazil from the list.

Let me add some fuel: you mentioned Ecuador. Compare Ecuador to Brazil and ask consistently how come the most afro-populated nation on the continent has a relative paucity of black players in its ranks?

The supposition is that this is based purely on an ethnic representation-  I do welcome the European teams with diverse players. However I am  more  in objection to the ' Eurocentric'  bias and alleged soccer/ foot ball supremacy as touted by many media and  followers who absolutely  glorify  and  to some extend nullify that football supremacy is a given to European teams.

« Reply #211 on: November 28, 2022, 04:29:37 AM »
There was no supposition (I asked what the yardstick was). The mention of ethnic representation was a layer I added ('let me add some fuel').

You also stated you wanted ALL European teams to go down (without having referenced ethnic diversity, but now you seem to be walking that back).

Anyway, I addressed Brazil specifically, not the Europeans. Your response doesn't treat Brazil.

Those clarifications aside, I understand your perspective. Just cautioning that the thought that Argentina gets the gold medal for racism isn't necessarily the comprehensive gold medal winning performance you suggest it is.
« Last Edit: November 28, 2022, 04:31:55 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #212 on: November 28, 2022, 05:50:58 AM »
Serbia Cameron is a serious boxing match right now

« Reply #213 on: November 28, 2022, 08:30:18 AM »
Lawd these gamed today Ghana S. Korea is fire right now 3-2

« Reply #214 on: November 28, 2022, 08:50:59 PM »
That was an interesting offside call against Brazil today. Sorry Vini goal got chalked off, man plays at high speed and taking the softest of touches to keep the ball close.  That's why yuh can't be lazy coming back from an offside position, Richarlison.
Brazil could play a little better, Paqueta didn't look like the man to fill Neymar shoes.
Portugal Uruguay was good too. Good day of football.

« Reply #215 on: November 28, 2022, 09:06:18 PM »
Cameroon was lucky today though, Abu even thought he was offside and chip dat shot for kicks....they will get skinned by Bra' if they defend like dat against dem....

« Reply #216 on: November 28, 2022, 09:15:32 PM »
That was an interesting offside call against Brazil today. Sorry Vini goal got chalked off, man plays at high speed and taking the softest of touches to keep the ball close.  That's why yuh can't be lazy coming back from an offside position, Richarlison.
Brazil could play a little better, Paqueta didn't look like the man to fill Neymar shoes.
Portugal Uruguay was good too. Good day of football.

Lawd these gamed today Ghana S. Korea is fire right now 3-2

agree!!

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #217 on: November 30, 2022, 10:39:45 AM »
 Brazil- Take it all

« Reply #218 on: November 30, 2022, 11:10:59 AM »
Tunisia with a valiant effort, bravo. They take it to the French scrubs all game. Varane defending on the goal was atrocious.

Entertainment boy, Mexico, Saudi and Argentina did plenty today. They say the difference between Poland and Mexico was down to yellow cards for a lil while.
A lot of weaker teams having a good tournament.
« Last Edit: November 30, 2022, 03:57:09 PM by Peong »

« Reply #219 on: December 04, 2022, 05:16:17 AM »
Brownsugar, while yuh sort out that BIG RED ITEM for JW, ah have ah ORANGE someting fuh yuh:

https://twitter.com/OnsOranje/status/1599131205701496832?t=tpu3LGXy44pxzuw8Ikeytw&s=19

« Reply #220 on: December 05, 2022, 09:09:22 PM »
Was sure it would have a ton of post on ‘ Joga Bonito’ after today’s display.   ???

« Reply #221 on: December 07, 2022, 07:20:13 AM »
Brazil playing with style. Can they also be ruthless. Harder tests ahead if they want to win it but that was enjoyable.
I guess they were ruthless in the first half.
What allyuh think about all the dancing. I see Paqueta dance, celebrate with teammates, go down on his knees and pray, get up and dance some more.

Ronaldo still trying to figure out how to take a free kick
« Last Edit: December 07, 2022, 07:52:19 AM by Peong »

« Reply #222 on: December 07, 2022, 10:03:31 AM »
Brazil playing with style. Can they also be ruthless. Harder tests ahead if they want to win it but that was enjoyable.
I guess they were ruthless in the first half.
What allyuh think about all the dancing. I see Paqueta dance, celebrate with teammates, go down on his knees and pray, get up and dance some more.

Ronaldo still trying to figure out how to take a free kick

yeah, Brazil are a joy to watch and the ramp up in competition I find is favorable for them. Serious, serious contenders for the cup if not favorites at this point IMO. Don't follow social media too much but you think the dancing is related to the Vinny criticism earlier this year or last year was it?

« Reply #223 on: December 07, 2022, 12:26:23 PM »
The criticism I read was from Roy Keane who was grumpy as a young man and extra grumpy as an older fellah. I hope Brazil pay dem no mind. For the Vinicius critics I glad he give dem a goal and a sweet assist to grind dey teet over

« Reply #224 on: December 07, 2022, 04:16:44 PM »
Going forward in this tournament all the current teams in the last eight are dangerous and I don't think Brazil winning anything

« Reply #225 on: December 09, 2022, 09:39:14 AM »
Brazil not dealing with Croatia's possession and passing in the midfield. They also building out too slowly, croatia marking well. Danilo and Brozovic on yellows. They both make plenty tackles so they hadda watch it

« Reply #226 on: December 09, 2022, 11:15:56 AM »
wow. ..and I was wondering why Neymar playing this long into the game.

on  a sidenote https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/6732271/croatia-fans-water-polo-world-cup-final-france-hats/

« Reply #227 on: December 09, 2022, 12:06:05 PM »
If yuh can't bury a penalty it will cost you. It shoulda never come down to penalties. Tite fault it reach pens, he didn't adjust anything. Isolated wing play all day which croatia handled well.

« Reply #228 on: December 09, 2022, 02:08:07 PM »
If yuh can't bury a penalty it will cost you. It shoulda never come down to penalties. Tite fault it reach pens, he didn't adjust anything. Isolated wing play all day which croatia handled well.

Brazil really best on the counter-attack -- b/c 1v1 or even 2v4 they likely to score and Croatia keep the 10 in the box. I think Argentina will struggle similarly and fall to the same fate.

« Reply #229 on: December 13, 2022, 06:46:05 AM »
wow. ..and I was wondering why Neymar playing this long into the game.

on  a sidenote https://www.thesun.co.uk/sport/6732271/croatia-fans-water-polo-world-cup-final-france-hats/

Thanks for clarifying that.

« Reply #230 on: December 13, 2022, 06:47:22 AM »
Going forward in this tournament all the current teams in the last eight are dangerous and I don't think Brazil winning anything

Well, since you on ah roll ... drop some more weight.

« Reply #231 on: December 13, 2022, 06:49:11 AM »
Ah hope there isn't 120 minutes of football today.

« Reply #232 on: December 13, 2022, 08:22:33 AM »
Ah hope there isn't 120 minutes of football today.
Who you think winning this game? Not necessarily who you would like .

I thinking Argentina. Though I would have liked a Finals repeat.

« Reply #233 on: December 13, 2022, 02:44:38 PM »
Not at all the 90 minutes I envisioned.

« Reply #234 on: December 13, 2022, 03:16:31 PM »

« Reply #235 on: December 13, 2022, 06:01:28 PM »
Exactly as I feared. Dem fellas toting.

« Reply #236 on: December 14, 2022, 05:19:28 AM »

How so?

« Reply #237 on: December 14, 2022, 08:05:31 AM »

How so?
After consulting my private inside sources (wifey) and finally my crystal ball, I believe the answer lies in the failure of previous campaigns especially involving a GOAT, the pressure and wake up call from Saudi, and the high demands of a major fanbase. They have shored up their defensive strategies and are giving their all physically and emotionally. They would not lose to Morocco and France will have to bring their best game ever to beat them. Btw, I think France today, but won’t be surprised at a upset  by Morocco - similar to the Argentines vibes.
Loved that game yesterday doh. Hope for a good battle today as well.

« Reply #238 on: December 15, 2022, 12:26:46 AM »

How so?
After consulting my private inside sources (wifey) and finally my crystal ball, I believe the answer lies in the failure of previous campaigns especially involving a GOAT, the pressure and wake up call from Saudi, and the high demands of a major fanbase. They have shored up their defensive strategies and are giving their all physically and emotionally. They would not lose to Morocco and France will have to bring their best game ever to beat them. Btw, I think France today, but won’t be surprised at a upset  by Morocco - similar to the Argentines vibes.
Loved that game yesterday doh. Hope for a good battle today as well.

Well, France-Africa grinded out a victory today. They did not dominate. They only had 39% possession. But they scored 2 goal. What can we say about Morocco. A SocaWarriors performance. This Sunday, I say France. Again they will have to grind out a victory.

« Reply #239 on: December 15, 2022, 12:40:16 AM »
I did not realize that Upemacano and Dialot did not play. No wonder they were under sustained pressure. They have to be real sick to not have played in this game.