March 28, 2024, 03:47:00 PM

Author Topic: Ecuador beat T&T 3-1 in Guayaquil.  (Read 2119 times)

Ecuador beat T&T 3-1 in Guayaquil.
« on: July 27, 2017, 01:36:39 AM »
Ecuador beat T&T 3-1 in Guayaquil.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men conceded goals on either side of the half as they went down 3-1 to hosts Ecuador in Wednesday’s International Friendly at the Estadio Banco del Pacifico in Guayaquil.

With both teams using their encounter as preparation for their upcoming World Cup qualifying assignments, T&T looked the part in a first half which saw the teams taking a 1-1 scoreline to the dressing rooms at the half. T&T had two debutants in their starting team with Santa Rosa FC forward Keron Clarke cutting his teeth in T&T colours and defender Kevon Villaroel coming in for the first time.

Juan Luis Anangonó punished T&T for a defensive lapse with the go ahead goal in the 21st minute and Carlyle Mitchell, captaining the national team for the first time, rose to head home the equaliser for the visitors in the 40th minute from a Hughtun Hector right side free kick. But Ecuador turned on the pressure after the break, backed by their boisterous home fans, going on to add goals in the 73rd minute through a penalty by Fernando Gaibor before substitute Jacob Murillo sealed the win with a goal in stoppage time.

T&T had their fair share of moments in front of goal with Mexican-based winger Jomal Williams lashing one over bar from the left of the goal in the 27th minute and Clarke’s right footed effort which goalkeeper Esteban Dreer blocked with his legs after Hector slipped one through for the Santa Rosa man.

T&T gave up a penalty after soaking up pressure from the hosts as they searched for the go ahead item. Alvin Jones was adjudged to have fouled Ayrton Preciado and the resulting penalty was properly dispatched for a 2-1 lead.

Before Ecuador go their third item, substitute Willis Plaza had an effort blocked from close range.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence spoke after the match, saying that both teams were evenly matched in the first 45 but the momentum swung in the home team’s favour after the break.

“I thought the first half was well contested by both teams and a little more even, especially in terms of how we got on the ball and how we played. There were some good moments for us but Ecuador produced a much better performance in the second half and they put us under some pressure. They took control of the game. We kept ourselves in the game but they got the penalty and of course a late goal. For us, the idea is to have the local players together and give them the opportunity to come to a place like Ecuador which has a very good team and make sure we get the experience.

“We used this game as preparation for our upcoming World Cup qualifier and we’ll leave here with that in mind and obviously continue to do our work in relation to what is ahead of us,” Lawrence said.

The T&T squad will return home on Thursday and Lawrence will resume preparations in August ahead of the September 1st World Cup qualifier against Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 15.Alvin Jones (Yellow 72), 5.Carlyle Mitchell (capt) (Yellow 38) (8.Nathaniel Garcia 46), 3.Triston Hodge, 2.Kevin Villaroel; 6.Curtis Gonzales (Yellow 41); 7.Nathan Lewis (20.Tyrone Charles 84’), 23.Leston Paul (Yellow 4) (17.Jared London 83’), 13.Hughtun Hector (14.Hashim Arcia 83’), 9.Keron Clarke, (19.Willis Plaza 71’).10.Jomal Williams (11.Sean De Silva 64’)

Unused substitutes: 22.Andre Marchan (GK), 18.Maurice Ford, 12.Neil Benjamin Jr.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Ecuador: 12.Esteban Dreer (GK), (22.Hamilton Piedra [GK] 81); 6.Pedro Velasco, 14.Darío Aimar, 5.Fernando León (Yellow 49), 4.Christian Cruz; 15.Pedro Quiñónez (capt) (16.Francisco Cevallos 63’); 8.Fernando Gaibor (20.Jordan Sierra 80), 10.Gabriel Cortéz (11.Matías Oyola 46’), 7.Ayrton Preciado (9.Jacob Murillo 80’); 19.Erick Castillo, 13.Juan Luis Anangonó.

Unused substitutes: 1.Máximo Banguera (GK), 2.Luis Cangá, 3.Luis Segovia, 8.Luis Ayala, 17.Romario Caicedo.

Coach: Gustavo Quinteros

Highlights: - Ecuador vs Trinidad y Tobago 3-1 RESUMEN y GOLES (Amistoso 2017)

RELATED NEWS

T&T fall 3-1 to Ecuador amid general apathy; local tv stations snub game.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago were well beaten but not disgraced in Guayaquil tonight as the Soca Warriors were undone by two late strikes in a 3-1 loss to South American hosts Ecuador.

Ecuador scored first through forward Juan Luis Anangonó in the 21st minute only for Carlyle Mitchell to equalise with a brilliant header in the 41st minute. Midfielder Fernando Gaibor put the home nation back in the driver’s seat with a successful penalty kick in the 73rd minute before substitute Jacob Murillo settled the friendly contest with a stoppage-time insurance item.

It was the third straight loss and fifth successive outing without a win for Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team head coach Dennis Lawrence although he is likely to see the bright side of a loss away to a nation ranked 31st in the world by FIFA—47 places higher than the two-island republic.

Both teams were not at full strength as the exhibition game was played outside the FIFA international match window although Ecuador used four players from their last Russia 2018 World Cup qualifying match.

The Ecuadorians are sixth in CONMEBOL at present and two points shy of a FIFA Play-off berth. They next travel to Brazil on 31 August before hosting Peru on 5 September.

The Warriors host Honduras on 1 September and then head to Panama on 5 September—although Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams suggested there might be two more friendlies before then.

John-Williams has already confirmed that their upcoming World Cup qualifier against Honduras will be played at the smaller Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva and pointed to diminishing enthusiasm from local fans as the main reason for ditching the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain.

The local football body might find further justification for the venue change in the local television stations’ apparent lack of interest in broadcasting tonight’s match even at an alleged cut-price deal that would have seen them only concede airtime—rather than cash—to the TTFA.

In Trincity Mall, for instance, the Bootleggers Sports Bar management refused to allow even one screen to show the Trinidad and Tobago contest, all five of their television sets instead beaming a pre-season friendly between Manchester United and Barcelona.

DirecTV did offer the game on its own channel 617 after it turned out that—despite an earlier Wired868 report—Flow Sports had not committed to broadcast the friendly.

The Warriors had their own problems as they fell behind after just 21 minutes, Mitchell failing to decisively deal with a cross and Anangonó pouncing on his loose touch to open the scoring.

Unsurprisingly, Trinidad and Tobago spent long periods chasing the ball but midfielders Jomal Williams and Nathan Lewis did offer an attacking threat in the first half and the former player almost conjured up an equaliser with an outrageous curling effort in the 27th minute after eluding one defender.

Mitchell, who was also booked in the first half, then atoned for his earlier error with a splendid flicked header off a Hughtun Hector free-kick that zipped into the corner for the equaliser.

The India-bound defender was replaced at half-time—and it is worth remembering that tonight’s affair in Guayaquil was his first high-level game since a muscular injury five months ago.

The young men in red, white and black gear might have conjured up an unlikely go-ahead item in the 66th minute, when striker Keron Clarke reacted smartly to latch on to a clever Hector pass only to be denied by the legs of Ecuador custodian Esteban Dreer.

A full-time employee at WASA and lower-league player with FC Santa Rosa, Clarke has already caught the attention of the football public after his assertion that, as a Seventh Day Adventist, he would rule himself out of the Honduras qualifier which it is carded to be played on the Sabbath.

Clarke struggled at times tonight—as did most of the squad with the possible exceptions of Hector, utility player Curtis Gonzales and defender Triston Hodge—but there were some glimpses of the sharpness of body and mind that earned him a starting place ahead of India-based striker Willis Plaza.

At 1-1, though, the scoreline did flatter Trinidad and Tobago as Ecuador created at least two clear scoring opportunities before they were offered a late penalty kick. Right-back Alvin Jones complained bitterly that he had got the ball but he took a piece of opposing attacker Ayrton Preciado as well.

And Phillip, who was not blameless in the sequence that led to the spot kick, was well beaten by Gaibor.

Lawrence made four late changes to give his bench a taste of the atmosphere but Ecuador benefitted as Murillo blasted home from inside the area after a dizzying exchange of passes.

The friendly affair was followed by the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup final, which pitted T&T’s Caribbean rivals Jamaica against tournament hosts the United States. Jamaica eventually succumbed 2-1 after a 88th minute winner by US midfielder Jordan Morris.

Trinidad and Tobago did not even qualify for the competition. But then it is the Warriors and not Jamaica who are four games away from a possible World Cup place—even though the ‘bandwagonists’ might have already averted their attention.

(Teams)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-1-4-1): 1.Marvin Phillip (GK) (captain); 15.Alvin Jones, 5.Carlyle Mitchell (8.Nathaniel Garcia 46), 3.Triston Hodge, 2.Kevon Villaroel; 6.Curtis Gonzales; 7.Nathan Lewis (20.Tyrone Charles 84), 23.Leston Paul (17.Jared London 83), 13.Hughtun Hector (14.Hashim Arcia 83), 10.Jomal Williams (11.Sean De Silva 64); 9.Keron Clarke (19.Willis Plaza 71).

Unused substitutes: 22.Andre Marchan (GK), 18.Maurice Ford, 12.Neil Benjamin Jr.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Ecuador (4-1-3-2): 12.Esteban Dreer (GK), (22.Hamilton Piedra [GK] 81); 6.Pedro Velasco, 14.Darío Aimar, 5.Fernando León, 4.Christian Cruz; 15.Pedro Quiñónez (captain) (16.Francisco Cevallos 63); 8.Fernando Gaibor (20.Jordan Sierra 80), 10.Gabriel Cortéz (11.Matías Oyola 46), 7.Ayrton Preciado (9.Jacob Murillo 80); 19.Erick Castillo, 13.Juan Luis Anangonó.

Unused substitutes: 1.Máximo Banguera (GK), 2.Luis Cangá, 3.Luis Segovia, 8.Luis Ayala, 17.Romario Caicedo.

Coach: Gustavo Quinteros

« Last Edit: July 28, 2017, 04:42:25 AM by Flex »

Re: Ecuador beat T&T 3-1 in Guayaquil.
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2017, 07:13:59 AM »
WATCH: Goals from Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-1 loss to Ecuador

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/BZCkOmNaB6I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/BZCkOmNaB6I</a>

WATCH: Extended highlights of Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-1 loss to Ecuador

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/nxV8XhNz9IE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/nxV8XhNz9IE</a>

« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2017, 10:04:24 AM »
Tallest and the technical team need to find a way to make our team more than just a first half team. Our WC campaign has mostly been a tale of 2 halves. The second halves have mostly been detrimental. Apart from the play-up for the first goal by Ecuador, our guys was in most part going toe-to-toe with Ecuador.

« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2017, 10:22:38 AM »
Tallest and the technical team need to find a way to make our team more than just a first half team. Our WC campaign has mostly been a tale of 2 halves. The second halves have mostly been detrimental. Apart from the play-up for the first goal by Ecuador, our guys was in most part going toe-to-toe with Ecuador.

Deeks, wha game you was watching?

StatisticEcuadorTrinidad and Tobago
Possession67%33%
Corners142
Shots on Goal73
Shots Wide92
Fouls1810
Offsides20

« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2017, 10:26:30 AM »

Deeks, wha game you was watching?

StatisticEcuadorTrinidad and Tobago
Possession67%33%
Corners142
Shots on Goal73
Shots Wide92
Fouls1810
Offsides20

He was watchin W TV

« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2017, 10:34:32 AM »
Stats for the first half alone?

« Reply #6 on: July 27, 2017, 11:11:39 AM »
I just watched the first goal we conceded and got mad right away. How can that defender try to chest the ball in the position??? That is a school boy mistake. Get that ball out of danger! That right there is the difference between us and JA when it comes to defending  :pissedoff:

« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2017, 12:05:49 PM »
Excellent prep for our next world cup qualifier

Perhaps we can get a team made up entirely of Super Leaguers to play the next prep match.  Our players need all the experience and exposure they can get

« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2017, 12:12:52 PM »
I just watched the first goal we conceded and got mad right away. How can that defender try to chest the ball in the position??? That is a school boy mistake. Get that ball out of danger! That right there is the difference between us and JA when it comes to defending  :pissedoff:

I have a slightly different take on it. Have a look again. At Alvin Jones. Tell me what you think. Anybody.

« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2017, 12:18:11 PM »

I have a slightly different take on it. Have a look again. At Alvin Jones. Tell me what you think. Anybody.

Nice hair?

« Reply #10 on: July 27, 2017, 12:38:10 PM »

He got caught ball watching and his man was able to pounce on that ball. As I look at it more, the keeper came off his line and got caught in no man's land as well but the defender did the right thing to attack the ball but he should've headed it out. He shouldn't have taken it on his chest inside the six yd box, get it out from pressure.

« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2017, 03:07:58 PM »

STATIC! As ah matter of fact, if de ball didn't go in de goal, there was another player already ghosting in behind Alvin,  and he would have been presented with an empty net.

« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2017, 03:10:34 PM »

He got caught ball watching and his man was able to pounce on that ball. As I look at it more, the keeper came off his line and got caught in no man's land as well but the defender did the right thing to attack the ball but he should've headed it out. He shouldn't have taken it on his chest inside the six yd box, get it out from pressure.

Definite case of ball-watching. The other question to ask is once Anangonó moved to challenge Mitchell AND Marvin came off his line ... did Jones not drop to cover the goal line?

By the way, Mitchell's first touch took the ball away from the goal. Have seen pro defenders do this multiple times ... off the chest and then play it long. He may not have headed it because he may have felt it wouldn't carry.

Pounced is right. Anangonó is gifted at two things : (1) scoring with his head in all sorts of situations and (2) being a pest in that area of the field. The file on him is thick with this stuff. And, there's a 30 minute promo video of him on YouTube widely available. That he pounces should have been no surprise.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2017, 03:19:38 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #13 on: July 27, 2017, 03:26:56 PM »

STATIC! As ah matter of fact, if de ball didn't go in de goal, there was another player already ghosting in behind Alvin,  and he would have been presented with an empty net.

Yes. Jones did not seem to be aware or attentive to him. And the player he was clearly mindful of, he ignored.

When players go on trial, things of this sort help in not sealing the deal. The issue here is decision-making, failure to read space and responsibilities. And what and whom to prioritise quickly.

So while Carlyle had a technical issue, he could certainly have expected help in some form.

« Reply #14 on: July 27, 2017, 03:52:24 PM »
Pounced is right. Anangonó is gifted at two things : (1) scoring with his head in all sorts of situations and (2) being a pest in that area of the field. The file on him is thick with this stuff. And, there's a 30 minute promo video of him on YouTube widely available. That he pounces should have been no surprise.

Unless is de same trusted scout dat went Mexico to scout Mexico prior to our home game against them this year

« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2017, 06:16:13 PM »
WATCH: Comments from Head Coach Dennis Lawrence after Trinidad and Tobago’s 3-1 loss to Ecuador.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/5zwtNnFsCZw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/5zwtNnFsCZw</a>

« Reply #16 on: July 27, 2017, 07:37:10 PM »

We've always been known for lapses in concentration but hopefully it can be used as a teachable moment. I like the various perpestives though :beermug:
« Last Edit: July 27, 2017, 07:42:35 PM by soccerman »

« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2017, 05:42:29 AM »

« Reply #18 on: July 29, 2017, 03:24:08 AM »
Mitchell, Williams remain upbeat after Ecuador experience.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago captain in Wednesday night’s international friendly with Ecuador, defender Carlyle Mitchell is maintaining high spirits as this country looks ahead to its two crucial World Cup qualifying matches in early September against Honduras and Panama.

The upcoming period of just over a month will be as vital as any as head coach Dennis Lawrence attempts to get the best out of his squad in search of much needed points in order to keep the Russia 2018 qualifying chances alive.

Mitchell, returning from injury after a six-month lay off and wearing the captain’s armband for the first time, described Wednesday’s encounter played in front of just over 20,000 fans at the Estadio Banco del Pacifico, as useful for the T&T team.

“It felt great for me personally to get back out there for the national team. Captaining the team was no doubt a great honour and I was happy to put one in the net on the night especially against a team like Ecuador and we were playing away from home,” Mitchell told TTFA Media.

“I thought we were organised and compact in the first half and we matched them for some periods. But unfortunately we didn’t maintain that and they (Ecuador) began to pressure us and they got a lucky penalty which they put away and then we gave up another goal late in the match. But overall I thought we looked decent and it was a great opportunity for some of the new boys to get a taste of high level international football,” Mitchell said.

Mexican-based winger Jomal Williams also made good of his opportunity before Lawrence after missing out on the two recent qualifiers against Costa Rica and United States because of injury. Williams put in a good shift and had a near miss on goal in the first half after Ecuador had taken a 1-0 lead.

“The game wasn’t bad by any means. Yes there were some parts where we let ourselves down and they took advantage especially with a large crowd behind them but I thought our boys handled it well. We had a couple really good chances to score again, including the one I put wide and maybe if we got the goals at those points in the match then things may have turned out differently,” Williams said.

“But now we have to look ahead to the Honduras game and I feel very good about the direction we are heading in. I think the coach has a good idea of what level the players are on after this last game and he will now sit and assess things and come up with the best formula for the next game against Honduras. I think we will be ready and with strong preparations we will be looking to get the win on September 1st,” Williams added.

Mitchell, who is off to India to play with East Bengal FC alongside forward Willis Plaza, will be hoping to return to qualifying action after last appearing in the qualifiers in the 3-1 defeat to Honduras in November in which he also scored with a header.

“My last qualifier was against Honduras and I scored. I am definitely looking forward to making a return against them and hopefully make a solid contribution to the team. Everything we do between now and September will be critical both on and off the field and I know the boys are all looking forward to the occasion,” Mitchell said.

T&T will face Honduras at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 8pm on Friday September 1st before traveling to meet Panama four days later. The Senior Team will resume training on August 14th.