March 29, 2024, 09:55:05 AM

Author Topic: Jamaica pulls off 2-1 win as T&T made to rue missed efforts.  (Read 5521 times)

Jamaica pulls off 2-1 win as T&T made to rue missed efforts.
« on: August 25, 2017, 12:45:08 AM »
Jamaica pulls off 2-1 win as T&T made to rue missed efforts.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men had a combination of good and bad on Thursday night when they squared off with rivals Jamaica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Bad in the sense that the “Reggae Boyz” secured a 2-1 victory but good from the standpoint that the Gold Cup finalists provided the kind of exercise Dennis Lawrence was hoping for just a week from T&T’s crucial 2018 World Cup qualifier against Honduras.

Jamaica got the early go ahead goal in the sixth minute when Jamiel Hardware met a well directed long ball from the left from Ricardo Morris and set himself up nicely before unleashing a shot past goalkeeper Marvin Phillip.

It took only five minutes for T&T to get on level terms before a crowd of just over 4,000 when Kevon Villaroel went for goal from way out on the left and sent a neat lob into the net off the underside of the crossbar.

T&T settled further after the equaliser but would later rue a couple of decent changes.

Hughtun Hector fired wide from an Alvin Jones right side cross and Jared London hit over bar from atop the area.

Midfielder Ewan Grandson would score the eventual winner after the break with a free kick which flew past Phillip after defecting off the shoulder off a T&T player in the 56th.

T&T didn’t hang their heads and continued to press for something but it wouldn’t come. Hashim Arcia missed a glorious chance to level the scores again 65th when he found himself on the end of a solid build up by T&T but he opted for attempting to go around goalie Shaven Paul who managed to get his hand to ball in a flash.

San Jose Earthquakes’ Cordell Cato put in a good shift and probably thought his evening would end with a contribution towards a late T&T equaliser but Trinidadian assistant referee Kevin Lewis wasted no time in raising his flag to rule out a goal by Jones in the dying stages after Aubrey David’s header from Cato’s cross seemed sure to enter the goal before Jones got a late touch to help it over the line.

Jamaica is now out of the way and the focus shifts to the bigger outing – Honduras next Friday at the Ato Boldon Stadium. The T&T team will resume training on Saturday.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (capt); 2.Aubrey David, 16.Alvin Jones, 18.Triston Hodge, 3.Kevon Villaroel; 13.Hughtun Hector (10.Hashim Arcia 46), 19.Jared London; 7.Cordell Cato, 9.Marcus Joseph, 15.Curtis Gonzales (12.Neil Benjamin Jr 80);8.Nathan Lewis (11.Tyrone Charles 61).

Subs not used – 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 4.Taryk Sampson, 5.Julio Noel, 6.Akeem Benjamin, 14.Nathaniel Garcia, 17.Maurice Ford, 20.Rundell Winchester.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Jamaica: 23.Shaven Paul (GK); 3.Javain Brown, 2.Rosario Harriott, 4.Ladale Richie, 19.Ricardo Morris; 7.Jamiel Hardware (6.Kaheem Parris 80), 9.Ewan Grandison, 12.Michael Binns (capt), 18.Marvin Morgan (8.Alex Marshall 69); 20.Fabian Reid (15.Rondee Smith 85); 10.Shamar Nicholson (16.Jermaine Johnson 71).

Subs not used – 13.Amal Knight (GK), 11.Vishinul Harris, 14.Leonard Rankine.

Referee: Sherwin Johnson (Guyana)

Video - Post-Match Comments from Whitmore and Lawrence

Re: Jamaica pulls off 2-1 win as T&T made to rue missed efforts.
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 07:11:55 AM »
Any passport striker out there ??/

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2017, 02:50:05 PM »
WATCH: Post-match interview with Head Coach Dennis Lawrence

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/lMI7VFS1TKI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/lMI7VFS1TKI</a>

WATCH: Post-match interview with defender Kevon Villaroel

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/vbWqUvQBmAg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/vbWqUvQBmAg</a>

WATCH: Post-match interview with goalkeeper Marvin Phillip

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9Ud0MwBeyag" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9Ud0MwBeyag</a>

« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2017, 05:09:41 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago’s 2-1 loss to Jamaica

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/93hKCc2UOjc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/93hKCc2UOjc</a>

« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2017, 08:41:05 PM »
This coach suppose to be a big coach from Everton ..the quality of the passes no better than school boy football..
The type of runs ..one dimension..
The tactics ..no different from school boy football

« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2017, 09:03:02 PM »
At least they get a cobo sweat. From what I saw in the clips, TT missed some goals.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 09:05:53 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2017, 10:56:10 PM »
This coach suppose to be a big coach from Everton ..the quality of the passes no better than school boy football..
The type of runs ..one dimension..
The tactics ..no different from school boy football
disgruntled armchair trini coaches are the absolute worst fans i have ever encountered in all my years of following sports. sometimes I can't help but think that you actually want the team to do bad so you could have the opportunity to disgustingly bash the coach and the players in the most demoralizing fashion.

with all your silly babbling and nagative assinine comments about the coaches, have you ever stopped to think that these past coaches the like of Steve hart francisco maturana Otto fisher and presently Dennis lawrence actually make these players perform Obove and beyond their capacity given the fact that they came through a shabby local coaching system and an equally dirt poor make shift local league?

in case you haven't noticed our federation is operating and has been operating on fumes and are at the point  where they could hardly pay the players and coaching staff let alone make long term plans to improve the standard of football in this country. have you ever considered that our local private business sector does very little or nothing to support football in TT not even out of the perimeters of the ttfa? for example encourage and help to build private training camps or academies where the game could be taught correctly and efficiently in a professional environment?

we have been doing everything haphazardly and lobsided from the inception and expect positive results and that's madness taking into consideration We were doomed to fail from the onset. as it stands we have no standards for sports in TT and everything is done on the basis of hit or miss. there's no long term planning no future projection no sustainable investment, what else do you expect buster?

I think you and the bastards of your ilk should be happy with the way thing are because for what we put in, we are overachieving and the only victims I see here are the coaching staff who have to wait months to get paid and the lads who go out there and compete with their hearts but lack the basic training that would allowed them to compete far more efficiently. you should be ashamed of yourself putting the blame on all the wrong people, instead you should focus your attention where the blame truly belong, but considering whom I'm addressing, that might be wishful thinking on my part.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 11:22:15 PM by pull stones »

Hardware, Reid guide inexperienced Boyz past T&T
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2017, 08:18:04 AM »
By Sanjay Myers (Jamaica Observer)

Jamaica put in a disciplined performance to clip regional nemeses Trinidad & Tobago 2-1 in Thursday's friendly international football match here at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The Reggae Boyz wide attacker Jamiel Hardware opened the scoring in the sixth minute to temporarily silence the few thousand home supporters inside the venue.

However, Kevon Villaroel levelled for the Soca Warriors in the 11th minute after an error in judgement from Jamaica's goalkeeper Shaven Paul.

Fabian Reid, who has experience playing club football in the two-island republic, secured victory for Jamaica after he redirected a thunderous free kick from Michael Binns past Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Marvin Phillip in the 57th minute.

The hosts thought they had equalised in stoppage time, but one of the assistant referees from Trinidad and Tobago flagged for offside against Trinidad's wing back Alvin Jones, who had knocked the ball into the net virtually from the goal line.

It was a hard-earned victory for the Theodore “Tappa” Whitmore-coached outfit, in the midst of a rebuilding phase. The largely inexperienced Reggae Boyz squad comprised locally based players — some of whom debuted on Thursday.

For Trinidad, the loss represents a setback ahead of key 2018 World Cup qualifying games against Honduras and Panama next month. But Head Coach Dennis Lawrence could take solace from his team's control of the tempo for much of the encounter, and also for creating the greater number of goalscoring opportunities.

Heavy rainfall earlier in the day left the playing surface damp as both teams took the field in the late evening encounter.

The visitors were off to the perfect start when wing back Ricardo Morris whipped a deep, left-sided cross into Hardware, who was completely free at the Trinidad back post.

The wily player took the ball down gracefully and cut inside his marker before booting a left footer into the roof of the net from about 10 yards out.

Only five minutes later, Paul's blunder gifted Trinidad and Tobago the equaliser.

Paul, playing his first game for Jamaica, found himself flat-footed as an intended left-side cross from Villaroel floated beyond him and clipped the underside of the crossbar before going in.

By then Trinidad had already wrested more possession of the football and they forced Jamaica onto the back foot for the remainder of the half.

At about the 18-minute mark, Trinidad's Hughton Hector whistled a one-time effort from inside the 18-yard box past Paul's left-hand upright, after good work down the right by Alvin Jones.

Approximately 26 minutes in, the hosts' Jared London was teed up just outside the box after central defender Ladale Richie slipped and fell on the slick surface. Much to the Jamaicans' collective relief, London sailed his left-footed blast high.

Close to the half-hour mark, Reid fired a warning at the other end by shooting high from long range after he latched on to a loose ball.

The Reggae Boyz were generally tentative in the first half, but the second stanza saw them showing far more purpose.

In the 52nd minute, central midfielder Ewan Grandison drove Jamaica forward with a powerful run, but his low shot streaked wide of goal.

However, 12 minutes into the second period, Jamaica did take the lead under fortuitous circumstances.

Reid was perfectly placed to use his body and deflect Binns' left-footed effort beyond a wrong-footed Phillip.

Midway the second half, Paul, who was a picture of nerves in the opening half, rescued his team with an outstanding bit of goalkeeping.

After half-time substitute Hashim Arcia was put through on goal when the Jamaican defence for once was cut wide open, the young goalkeeper went down smartly to palm the ball away as the lanky midfielder tried to dribble by him.

As the end approached, the Trinidad and Tobago team mustered a few half chances but Jamaica, though showing signs of fatigue, mostly held firm.

The closest the hosts came was in the first of five minutes added for stoppages. However, offside was called just as home fans left their seats to celebrate what they had believed was the equaliser.

Teams: Trinidad & Tobago — Marvin Phillip, Aubrey David, Kevon Villaroel, Cordell Cato, Nathan Lewis (Tyrone Charles 62nd), Marcus Joseph, Hughton Hector (Hashim Arcia 46th), Curtis Gonzalez (Neil Benjamin 81th), Alvin Jones, Tristan Hodge, Jared London

Subs not used: Tayrk Sampson, Julio Noel, Akeem Benjamin, Nathaniel Garcia, Maurice Ford, Rundell Winchester, Adrian Foncette

Booked: Villaroel (55th), Jones (56th), London (71st)

Jamaica — Shaven Paul, Ladale Richie, Rosario Harriott, Ricardo Morris, Javain Brown, Michael Binns, Ewan Grandison, Marvin Morgan (Alex Marshall 71st), Jamiel Hardware (Kaheem Parris 81st), Fabian Reid (Rondee Smith 86th), Shamar Nicholson (Jermaine Johnson 73rd)

Subs not used: Amal Knight, Vishinul Harris, Leonard Rankine

Booked: Reid (73rd), Binns (88th)

Assistant referees: Caleb Wales (Trinidad & Tobago), Kevin Lewis (Trinidad & Tobago)

Fourth official: Cecile Hinds (Trinidad & Tobago)

Match commissary: Everton Alfred (Trinidad & Tobago)

Step in the right direction, but a lot more work to be done, says Whitmore
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2017, 08:38:22 AM »
Step in the right direction, but a lot more work to be done, says Whitmore

Lacking the core of players who marched to the final of the CONCACAF Gold Cup before going down 1-2 to the hosts United States earlier this summer, Jamaica's Head Coach Theodore Whitmore had to rely on a host of untried hands against Trinidad and Tobago.

And he was left mostly pleased after his young team battled to a 2-1 victory over their staunch Caribbean rivals, in a friendly international match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Thursday.

However, Whitmore noted areas of concern that he expects to improve as the squad develops greater fitness, chemistry, and understanding, and as players become more technically and tactically adept.

“Overall, it's a step in the right direction,” he told the Jamaica Observer after the game.

“But I have mixed reactions because I think physically we weren't up to par with the Trinidad team. You have to take into consideration that our players are still in preseason mode. Another point for me was the familiarisation with each other. But overall, I was pleased with the performance of the debutants and we need more games like this before the year ends.

“I think we held our own, but we have some areas to work on in terms of the communication in defence and the cohesiveness between the defence and [players in] the middle of the park,” the Reggae Boyz coach stressed.

“My concern again was technically... [executing] the fundamentals in terms of time, space ,and the first touch. With the passing there were too many unforced errors and turnovers. We still need to be more efficient in midfield and I think at times we were [guilty of] overthinking the game,” Whitmore continued.

The Boyz coach deployed a 4-2-3-1 formation with Rosario Harriott and Ladale Richie in central defence and the left-sided Ricardo Morris and right wing back Javain Brown on either side of them.

The robust pair of Ewan Grandison and Michael Binns took up deep-lying midfield positions, while Marvin Morgan and Jamiel Hardware were given wide attacking roles.

Fabian Reid roamed just behind centre forward Shamar Nicholson, while Shaven-Sean Paul stood in goal.

Hardware notched a brilliant opener for Jamaica in the sixth minute. But Kevon Villaroel levelled for the Soca Warriors in the 11th minute when out-of-position 'keeper Paul allowed an intended cross to sneak beneath his crossbar.

Reid deflected a 57th-minute free kick from Binns past Trinidad and Tobago custodian Marvin Phillip to again send the visitors into the lead.

Trinidad players appealed for handball, but the match officials waved off those calls.

The officials were vindicated when Dennis Lawrence, the Trinidad and Tobago head coach, conceded to reporters after the game that video review showed the ball came off Reid's shoulder and it was a “fair goal”.

Even under sustained pressure, especially in the first half and late in the second half, the inexperienced Reggae Boyz generally held their shape and made it hard for Trinidad to break them down.

Lawrence was especially disappointed with the space afforded to Hardware as he stroked home the opening goal.

“The first goal we conceded was too soft and too early in the game and was not what we are trying to do,” he said.

“At the end of the day, goals win matches. We were a bit unlucky to not get the second goal because we had the chances. The Jamaican team fought as we expected. Their team is built around being solid and being well organised and they did that tonight. They got the result that I don't think they deserved, but they got the result that they fought for,” Lawrence explained.

Whitmore stopped short of saying Trinidad and Tobago deserved more from the encounter.

“We scored against the run of play with Ricardo Morris crossing to Hardware, and his first touch and finish were superb. I think we sat back a bit and gave up a soft goal, but it's a learning process for the players.

“It was a superb result for us and unfortunately for the Trinidadians [they lost]. They are going into two massive games against Honduras and Panama and I think they would rather get a victory to boost their morale, but this is football,” said the former Reggae Boyz midfield star.

Re: Hardware, Reid guide inexperienced Boyz past T&T
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2017, 09:55:02 AM »

Jamaica put in a disciplined performance to clip regional nemeses Trinidad & Tobago 2-1 in Thursday's friendly international football match here at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

The Reggae Boyz wide attacker Jamiel Hardware opened the scoring in the sixth minute to temporarily silence the few thousand home supporters inside the venue.

However, Kevon Villaroel levelled for the Soca Warriors in the 11th minute after an error in judgement from Jamaica's goalkeeper Shaven Paul.

Fabian Reid, who has experience playing club football in the two-island republic, secured victory for Jamaica after he redirected a thunderous free kick from Michael Binns past Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper Marvin Phillip in the 57th minute.

The hosts thought they had equalised in stoppage time, but one of the assistant referees from Trinidad and Tobago flagged for offside against Trinidad's wing back Alvin Jones, who had knocked the ball into the net virtually from the goal line.

It was a hard-earned victory for the Theodore “Tappa” Whitmore-coached outfit, in the midst of a rebuilding phase. The largely inexperienced Reggae Boyz squad comprised locally based players — some of whom debuted on Thursday.

For Trinidad, the loss represents a setback ahead of key 2018 World Cup qualifying games against Honduras and Panama next month. But Head Coach Dennis Lawrence could take solace from his team's control of the tempo for much of the encounter, and also for creating the greater number of goalscoring opportunities.

Heavy rainfall earlier in the day left the playing surface damp as both teams took the field in the late evening encounter.

The visitors were off to the perfect start when wing back Ricardo Morris whipped a deep, left-sided cross into Hardware, who was completely free at the Trinidad back post.

The wily player took the ball down gracefully and cut inside his marker before booting a left footer into the roof of the net from about 10 yards out.

Only five minutes later, Paul's blunder gifted Trinidad and Tobago the equaliser.

Paul, playing his first game for Jamaica, found himself flat-footed as an intended left-side cross from Villaroel floated beyond him and clipped the underside of the crossbar before going in.

By then Trinidad had already wrested more possession of the football and they forced Jamaica onto the back foot for the remainder of the half.

At about the 18-minute mark, Trinidad's Hughton Hector whistled a one-time effort from inside the 18-yard box past Paul's left-hand upright, after good work down the right by Alvin Jones.

Approximately 26 minutes in, the hosts' Jared London was teed up just outside the box after central defender Ladale Richie slipped and fell on the slick surface. Much to the Jamaicans' collective relief, London sailed his left-footed blast high.

Close to the half-hour mark, Reid fired a warning at the other end by shooting high from long range after he latched on to a loose ball.

The Reggae Boyz were generally tentative in the first half, but the second stanza saw them showing far more purpose.

In the 52nd minute, central midfielder Ewan Grandison drove Jamaica forward with a powerful run, but his low shot streaked wide of goal.

However, 12 minutes into the second period, Jamaica did take the lead under fortuitous circumstances.

Reid was perfectly placed to use his body and deflect Binns' left-footed effort beyond a wrong-footed Phillip.

Midway the second half, Paul, who was a picture of nerves in the opening half, rescued his team with an outstanding bit of goalkeeping.

After half-time substitute Hashim Arcia was put through on goal when the Jamaican defence for once was cut wide open, the young goalkeeper went down smartly to palm the ball away as the lanky midfielder tried to dribble by him.

As the end approached, the Trinidad and Tobago team mustered a few half chances but Jamaica, though showing signs of fatigue, mostly held firm.

The closest the hosts came was in the first of five minutes added for stoppages. However, offside was called just as home fans left their seats to celebrate what they had believed was the equaliser.

Teams: Trinidad & Tobago — Marvin Phillip, Aubrey David, Kevon Villaroel, Cordell Cato, Nathan Lewis (Tyrone Charles 62nd), Marcus Joseph, Hughton Hector (Hashim Arcia 46th), Curtis Gonzalez (Neil Benjamin 81th), Alvin Jones, Tristan Hodge, Jared London

Subs not used: Tayrk Sampson, Julio Noel, Akeem Benjamin, Nathaniel Garcia, Maurice Ford, Rundell Winchester, Adrian Foncette

Booked: Villaroel (55th), Jones (56th), London (71st)

Jamaica — Shaven Paul, Ladale Richie, Rosario Harriott, Ricardo Morris, Javain Brown, Michael Binns, Ewan Grandison, Marvin Morgan (Alex Marshall 71st), Jamiel Hardware (Kaheem Parris 81st), Fabian Reid (Rondee Smith 86th), Shamar Nicholson (Jermaine Johnson 73rd)

Subs not used: Amal Knight, Vishinul Harris, Leonard Rankine

Booked: Reid (73rd), Binns (88th)

Assistant referees: Caleb Wales (Trinidad & Tobago), Kevin Lewis (Trinidad & Tobago)

Fourth official: Cecile Hinds (Trinidad & Tobago)

Match commissary: Everton Alfred (Trinidad & Tobago)
if I didn't know better i would think that I was reading an article from a yankee news blog because this is a one sided article if i've ever seen one and with sanjay myers attributing most the Jamaican success to their brilliance and smarts while ours were as a result of their slip ups and blunders.

and to my suprise describing their goal keeper paul with some outstanding goal keeping which was stretching it a bit wouldn't you think? while Marvin Phillips was caught flat footed........lord.....sigh. well I guess it's to be expected from the Jamaicans a people who are totally in love with themselves.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 10:41:03 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2017, 10:12:57 AM »
You all can take whatever you want from the game. It is not a setback as far as I am concern. The result just keep the pressure on the players that they are not there yet as they may think. Had they won the game they would be congratulating themselves and go into the real important game with a false sense of security. This was an important for our boys because they needed a game before next week game. Both team did not have all their players. I did not see the the game, only the highlights. We should have put away some of the chances we had, and the talk would have been different.

« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2017, 10:50:50 AM »
You all can take whatever you want from the game. It is not a setback as far as I am concern. The result just keep the pressure on the players that they are not there yet as they may think. Had they won the game they would be congratulating themselves and go into the real important game with a false sense of security. This was an important for our boys because they needed a game before next week game. Both team did not have all their players. I did not see the the game, only the highlights. We should have put away some of the chances we had, and the talk would have been different.
these are our future players and they need to do better. have you noticed that our second eleven with a few of our first team players has been falling to caribbean outfits far too often? we lose to surename haiti grenada martinique nicaragua and now a third string Jamaican team all the space of a year. losing to these teams has brought us from 49 to the high seventies and before you know it we would be back in the hundreds of the Fifa rankings if we keep this up.

« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2017, 11:01:55 AM »
and to add to this deeks. We should not be experimenting no bloody more. enough with the all local friendlies. from now on we should be playing quality friendlies with teams that are ranked higher than us from europe or africa with our first team players. it's not very often that you see the united states and england playing low ranked teams with their second eleven. when they play a friendly they play better opposition to create cohesion between their first team players and introduce new players alongside the first team players not an all out rookie friendly, that's wasting bloody time especially before competitive games.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 11:08:23 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2017, 11:31:08 AM »
You are well aware that we could not get our "first team" players because this match did not fall on a FIFA window. I don't think this game is counted as an official game. I am subjected to be corrected on this. Plus JA is ranked higher than us anyway. I am all for playing higher ranked teams, but that will only happen when you or I becomes prez. of TTFA. Look Jack was FIFA VP, and how often did we play top ranked teams. We never played Germany, Brazil,Colombia(Maturana was our coach), Italy, Argentina. And he was a vp for over 20 yrs. We only played England because  he was curryfavoring England for the WC that eventually went South Africa. Right now we dealing with an association that is moving all over the place. They can't even implement well intentioned programs that they present on paper to a dwindling football public.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2017, 11:32:57 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #14 on: August 26, 2017, 01:05:16 PM »
We lost but we looked really good, and of course the missed chances, hopefully the big boys will go one better.

« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2017, 01:55:04 PM »
It's amazing to me to see how many people on this forum see what they want to see.

We are a poor team. Period.

Very suspect goalkeeping
Disorganized, undisciplined, and technically deficient.

Doh even talk about work rate and playing without the ball.

Cordell Cato BY FAR and even further, was our best player.  Cordell Cato. That speaks volumes.

Offline congo

« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2017, 04:52:52 PM »
I think that at this point in time, our best hope for the future would be a clean slate and start over from scratch. Like West Indies cricket, we seriously need to pause and evaluate what it is we really doing. My solution would be for us to start to bleed youngsters. After this qualifying period over and WC2018 finish, we should seriously think about putting together a core under 23 team that would make up the squad for wc22.

It honestly not making sense so there would be no need for players over 25 years old because they not at any level to bring much significance to the program. Any overseas players should be in a first division or top 5 second division team seeking promotion. Those teams should also be vying for atleast Europa league competition. I honestly don't believe that these benchmarks too high for national team selection.

We could also have multiple teams, a, b and possibly c. These teams could play in various tournaments. Local Based could play caribbean cup only etc, foreign based could play gold cup and qualifiers. The C team could be local based, b team could be foreign based who don't meet the criteria I outlined above and the A team could be the under 23-25 that play the bulk of our qualifiers. Hopefully they would be seasoned professionals containing players like Levi Garcia etc...>Hopefully.

We have had players unattached playing world cup qualifiers and then complaining about players being unfit etc. How is this possible when we have an entire professional league with players in those same positions? Sighhhhh

« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2017, 05:32:03 PM »
From watching the highlights we didn't do too bad, we just squandered the opportunities that came our way. JA is takes pride in being rough and physical and we were able to exploit the gaps in their defense going forward. I will give the benefit of the doubt to those who were there and says otherwise but from the little I saw, our main problem was the final execution.
Why were we protesting on the 2nd goal. Was it a hand ball?

« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2017, 07:09:53 PM »
It's amazing to me to see how many people on this forum see what they want to see.

We are a poor team. Period.

Very suspect goalkeeping
Disorganized, undisciplined, and technically deficient.

Doh even talk about work rate and playing without the ball.

Cordell Cato BY FAR and even further, was our best player.  Cordell Cato. That speaks volumes.

Yup agree with all yuh saying, BUT this is not new, iz YEARS now I am hearing this, seem like we cannot get over the obvious hurdles

« Reply #19 on: August 28, 2017, 05:09:02 AM »
Watching highlights alone is not an indication of how well each team played. Did JA played better than TT? I can't tell. But from the highlights seen, it appears we had clear chances, and if they were taken, we could have won the game. But winning is one thing, team play is another. Most forumites know this group of guys are having a very hard time forming into a good squad. We are not that naive. We are hoping that they find the grit and determination of the past WC squad to bring us through.How many WC campaigns did Dwight and Latas had before they got it right?

Offline Tobago28

« Reply #20 on: August 28, 2017, 04:16:10 PM »
I think that at this point in time, our best hope for the future would be a clean slate and start over from scratch. Like West Indies cricket, we seriously need to pause and evaluate what it is we really doing. My solution would be for us to start to bleed youngsters. After this qualifying period over and WC2018 finish, we should seriously think about putting together a core under 23 team that would make up the squad for wc22.

It honestly not making sense so there would be no need for players over 25 years old because they not at any level to bring much significance to the program. Any overseas players should be in a first division or top 5 second division team seeking promotion. Those teams should also be vying for atleast Europa league competition. I honestly don't believe that these benchmarks too high for national team selection.

We could also have multiple teams, a, b and possibly c. These teams could play in various tournaments. Local Based could play caribbean cup only etc, foreign based could play gold cup and qualifiers. The C team could be local based, b team could be foreign based who don't meet the criteria I outlined above and the A team could be the under 23-25 that play the bulk of our qualifiers. Hopefully they would be seasoned professionals containing players like Levi Garcia etc...>Hopefully.

We have had players unattached playing world cup qualifiers and then complaining about players being unfit etc. How is this possible when we have an entire professional league with players in those same positions? Sighhhhh

CONGO

Doh come on here again and make perfect sense. We are not ready for dat.

« Reply #21 on: August 28, 2017, 06:50:24 PM »
Develop a squad for World Cup 2022?

The only developing going on is for players to get contract in mom descript leagues so that agents could make a lil change.

We football is a hustle.  DJW turn the national team into his personal hustle.  That's the only development that has taken Place in T&T football under this administration. And plenty people like it so

« Reply #22 on: August 28, 2017, 07:45:06 PM »
 That's the only development that has taken Place in T&T football under this administration. And plenty people like it so

How plenty people like it so?

Offline congo

« Reply #23 on: August 29, 2017, 07:48:56 PM »
What if our entire national team development model wrong? We keep trying to focus on the lower levels such as u15,17,u20 but what if in order to build a proper national team that can qualify for the hex we should aim to improve the Olympic team.

Think about it for a second.
Everyone at that age group(u23?), everyone on the team would be in some sort of professional environment, you shouldn't have to focus so much on the basic like you would have to at the lower levels.

If they not professionals then they could be "US college players", a lower level but still a decent level.

The olympics happens two years before the world cup. Qualifications for the olympics occur in the month of october the previous year. Our national team begin WC qualification in November.

At that point, we should be able to have players who have been playing together in a competitive environment for quite some time so they are able to gel better. In the event that we actually reach the world cup, we can have a group of players that were together for over 4 years.

If they do qualify for the Olympics then they get big tournament experience as well, add that to the Gold cup and caribbean Cup. I think qualifying for the Olympics or atleast coming close is a good benchmark that we can work with.

Remember, qualifying for the World Cup is a 3-4 year process. I think that gauging where we at with the olympic team would help us make adjustments sooner that can benefit our national team that aiming for world cup qualification. Also, as it's an olympic team, the government may quicker release funds and sponsors should get on board easier. This program might even fund itself.

Remember.....qualifying for the Olympics could be a goal that is completely separate from the National Team development and even the TTFF developmental goals. We could develop a program at that level that is strictly concerned with seriously attempting to qualify and even medal at the olympics. The added benefit ofcourse would be the experience that would be added to the national team from this experience. Qualifying for the olympics is no easy feat so if qualification occurs then we have plenty to work with. If not, then we reset. This team would allow for quicker adjustments and even experimental tinkering.

What do you guys think?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2017, 07:55:45 PM by congo »

« Reply #24 on: August 29, 2017, 08:36:05 PM »
we should aim to improve the Olympic team.

Congo, this is the smartest thing you present here. I can't understand why we can't put emphasis on the U-23. This is the next step to senior. But I do think we should pay less emphasis on development at the lower age group though. That is important. My only peeve with the lower age group is the tendency to over-coach the younger ones, leaving some promising but slower starters to be "burnt out". But getting back to the U-23s, will the TTFA change their strategy and increase emphasis on Olympic football. That is left to be seen. But excellent point.
« Last Edit: August 29, 2017, 08:37:58 PM by Deeks »

Offline congo

« Reply #25 on: August 29, 2017, 09:02:18 PM »
My thing with the younger ones like u20 and u17, you have to devote more resources and time with these players cause the majority of them would not be pros etc based on our developmental structure so the maturity and mentality would be missing. So you have to take years to select and sift out players etc then place in camp and probably coach the fundamentals etc.

The olympic team would be different. These are players you just bringing in and given them tactics etc. They already playing at a decent level(first team, reserve team, college) so it's less about coaching and more about getting a winning formation and tactics etc. So about a year or 2 before qualification you can have an idea of who would be on this team. There would be no need for tryouts and selections as the players and their performances will pick themselves.

The thing about this is that qualification for the olympics would be the main goal and that would occur in october but remember qualifications for world cup would begin in November. In the event that they qualify for the olympics then you have players in a competitive environment the next year at the olympics gaining this experience. Some of these players would also be available for the national team the following month for the wc qualifiers. Another possibility is that we would be able to attract the foreign born players earlier than the senior level and get them familiar with team TnT. Everyone wants a chance to go to the Olympics

If they don't qualify then we still take what's best and rest the clock. Remember, the good thing about this is that we are able to plan for the future based on the birthdate of players. This is not the same as getting ya first cap at 29 because ya bloom late. We would always have a snapshot of what is available at that level based on the birth date of the group of players.

TTFA would just have to add to its strategy. This is something that could really get sponsors on board. TnT likes Olympics and olympics related activity to be honest. We could possibly even bid to stage the qualifying tournament and all. I think this team if successful could easily rival and bypass the national team in terms of popularity. After the World Cup, the biggest tournament is Olympics.

« Reply #26 on: August 29, 2017, 09:46:25 PM »
Fine example is Mexico. They have so many good players, that it is not issue to field an Olympic that is just below par to their senior team. When you become prez. of TTFA, we expect that change from you. ;D

« Reply #27 on: August 30, 2017, 10:38:33 AM »
What if our entire national team development model wrong? We keep trying to focus on the lower levels such as u15,17,u20 but what if in order to build a proper national team that can qualify for the hex we should aim to improve the Olympic team.

The last time (2013) we made it to the final round of Olympic Qualifying, we had the likes of Sheldon Bateau, Curtis Gonzales, Mekeil Williams, Jomal Williams, Daneil Cyrus, Joevin Jones, Kevin Molino, Kevan George, Shahdon Winchester, Sean De Silva, and Trevin Caesar who are all part of our current senior team. Our fortunes still have not changed.

Focussing on U-23 means you're leaving the younger age groups to develop by chance. Also, the U-23 category in most countries is strictly for Olympics, so it's a very transient team.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2017, 01:46:27 PM by Tallman »

Offline congo

« Reply #28 on: August 30, 2017, 12:35:26 PM »
The only model I could see working out with the younger age groups is something like Clairefontaine in France. SSFL can't develop players and those clubs wouldn't develop players at a level that allow them to compete internationally. So we still stuck with teaching them the basics at u17 and u20 etc. If we reengineer the u23 team then maybe we could get luckier.

In most countries, they qualify for the world cup consecutively so qualifying for the olympics would never be given much thought or even priority. Also, remember that their players at that age group are seasoned professionals with 4-7 years of playing at the highest level at both club and international. We don't have that luxury.

At the olympic level, we would already have a good core of players to choose. from. We have to admit that those players that you mentioned may not have been mature at the time to handle that level. Lionel Messi, the year hewon his olympic gold scored 38 goals for Barca that season. Neymar just won gold for Brazil last year. We may just need to focus more on this level to see if it gives us an advantage.

« Reply #29 on: August 30, 2017, 01:43:36 PM »
congo, how do you view the absence of U-20/U-19 elite football?