March 28, 2024, 09:50:59 AM

Author Topic: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.  (Read 59470 times)

Offline Dutty Love

Re: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.
« Reply #60 on: September 11, 2017, 12:46:01 PM »
Some players themselves have said that the league is stronger than some South American first tier leagues.

I have heard that also. Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia may have better better players. But  I have also read where some analysts go so far as to rate the Liga MX as the best organized football league in Latin America. And I believe it

Chile and Colombia first divisions are definitely below Liga MX. I think he was saying Ascenso MX may be better than Uruguay, Bolivia, Peru, Venezuela and maybe Ecuador first divisions.

Liga MX is indeed the best league top to bottom in America and the richest. I would say Brazilian Serie A is on par. Argentina top half of the table is as well.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #61 on: September 11, 2017, 12:50:11 PM »

Mexico is not a market to be mixed in with those. It's a top 10 market worlwide, number one in America.
True.  But not if players get signed to Mexican 2nd Division teams

Not even teams. Thus far, it has only been one team. That stated, we should present a fair picture of the Ascenso.

Some players themselves have said that the league is stronger than some South American first tier leagues.

In 2015 (apertura) they were 80 foreigners in the league (the figure includes 17 who had acquired Mexican citizenship. In the 2017 clausura the foreign presence was 94 players.

During 2016-17, 47 players in Liga MX were called up by various countries for national team duty (bear in mind that the Mexican national team has several foreign-based players). In the Ascenso MX all/most of the players called up for national team duty* were already national team players prior to arrival in Mexico.

EDIT: For 2016-17 in the Ascenso, that figure is ~10*.

The two players in Murcielagos this season are hardly playing btw

« Reply #62 on: September 11, 2017, 12:53:27 PM »
Mr In the fullnest of time..bad mind small mind and retarded mind
Now that our hopes for 2018 has been unrealized.What are your plans for getting us back to being respectable,not to long ago I am sure many here can remember when we were ranked 19th in the world,how we have fallen

« Reply #63 on: September 11, 2017, 01:06:47 PM »
Trust me pretty soon all of those players will be heading back to Tand T
Why you ask ... because the N T is not representing,all the good which came from the decent showing at the G C,which open the doors for the many who have signed is now slowly fading away,just take a close look at the many who have not suited up recently

« Reply #64 on: September 11, 2017, 01:19:09 PM »

I have heard that also. Brazil, Argentina, Chile, Colombia may have better better players. But  I have also read where some analysts go so far as to rate the Liga MX as the best organized football league in Latin America. And I believe it

Chile and Colombia first divisions are definitely below Liga MX. I think he was saying Ascenso MX may be better than Uruguay, Bolivia, Peru, Venezuela and maybe Ecuador first divisions.

Liga MX is indeed the best league top to bottom in America and the richest. I would say Brazilian Serie A is on par. Argentina top half of the table is as well.

In fact one of the Liga MX clubs owns a Chilean top flight club and sends players who can't get playing continuity in Liga MX to Chile.

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #65 on: September 11, 2017, 05:11:44 PM »
Trust me pretty soon all of those players will be heading back to Tand T
Why you ask ... because the N T is not representing,all the good which came from the decent showing at the G C,which open the doors for the many who have signed is now slowly fading away,just take a close look at the many who have not suited up recently

Boatswain didnt suit in the 18 again this past sunday and I don't see that changing. He is lucky to be in Costa Rica where they have some decency with contracts so they will wait December to release him. If he was in another of the Central America countries they would have already cut him like happened to Plaza in El Salvador and Britto in Guatemala, and both actually were playing more minutes.

Another one who is hardly playing is Darren Mitchell in Guatemala.

« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 05:14:30 PM by Dutty Love »

« Reply #66 on: September 11, 2017, 05:12:53 PM »
When your head is bigger than your body,you will continue to fall like Humpty Dumpty
You may think you are all of that,but the truth usually comes out when the onfield product comes up short,time and time again...talent what a joke
This is very evident in all facets of our lives...just be truthful

After we loss the game to Haiti in Panama for the right to go to the COPA, the bubble for this team buss. Then we could not even qualify for the last GC. That make things even worse. So despite gross TTFA mishaps(not given Hart the resources etc), this group of present players did not even have the collective talent to win the sub-regional tournament. We have seen past teams do well in spite of the bumbling TTFA. The very talented in this team are too few, and they cannot carry the team.  How can they win the GC or qualify for WC?

« Reply #67 on: September 11, 2017, 05:26:45 PM »
When your head is bigger than your body,you will continue to fall like Humpty Dumpty
You may think you are all of that,but the truth usually comes out when the onfield product comes up short,time and time again...talent what a joke
This is very evident in all facets of our lives...just be truthful

After we loss the game to Haiti in Panama for the right to go to the COPA, the bubble for this team buss. Then we could not even qualify for the last GC. That make things even worse. So despite gross TTFA mishaps(not given Hart the resources etc), this group of present players did not even have the collective talent to win the sub-regional tournament. We have seen past teams do well in spite of the bumbling TTFA. The very talented in this team are too few, and they cannot carry the team.  How can they win the GC or qualify for WC?
deeks why is it that the very first thing on Lawrence agenda after bowing out if the World Cup was to acquire a solid striker? I believe Dennis saw the very same thing that I have been observing since 2016 when the team adopted a losing streak, we played a few critical games without a bonified striker ( kenwin jones) away to haiti in panama where kenwin missed that game he also missed the martinique game and the gold cup play off round with surename and haiti to clinch the fifth play off spot where we lost the both games at home.

I don't have to tell you what happened in the World Cup qualifiers where we had no fire power vs Costa Rica honduras and panama where a kenwin jones was severely needed. don't misunderstand me Kevin molino and Jovin jones are very good footballers who could put goals in the back of the net, but in qualifying you need a striker who could rally upward of at least six goals if you are to qualify.

« Reply #68 on: September 11, 2017, 06:27:29 PM »
Pull stones I hear you. What you said is correct. But it really show how depleted the talent is. I know KJ's worth to the team. But jeez, one game we can't win without KJ. The results of that Haiti game blight we after that. We could not get not one thing right.
« Last Edit: September 11, 2017, 06:29:04 PM by Deeks »

Offline congo

« Reply #69 on: September 11, 2017, 08:11:10 PM »
Contro, you are crazy if you think that the Pro League, Super League players etc have any special talent that could make them world beaters.

Listen bro, this thing is about development. Development is a science. You need to accept the scientific approach in ensuring results. It hasn't been about "talent" for a long while. It's all about development. No one coming out of Trinidad and unto the National team experienced any major development. They just "played football".

SSFL can't develop anyone either. Not now, not never.

Our entire model needs to change but that is for the long run. In the short run we need to get TTFA commercially viable. We do that by putting butts in the stands. We do this by having players that are marketable and are of quality (John Bostock, Ryan Innis etc). Let Europe develop them and we utilise them. It really is that simple. A foreign born team can challenge for the Gold Cup etc. We need to recruit these players early.

Our next mission is to improve the u21-23 team/teams....Our assistant national mens coach should be the head coach of those teams. Let the philosophy go down the line. That coach should also be younger/youthful so that he's learning from the national mens coach etc. The other 23 team should always make up the bulk of your next round of qualification teams. Remember that players such as Gabriel Jesus playing for Brazil etc since 18 etc so u23 is already too old. People play at the world cup at 17-18 etc....But we need to place emphasis on this team because outside of the world cup, the olympics is the next big event. Our football needs that competition as well. 

The world doesn't want what we have to offer. We have players in India for goodness sake. India...Let that sink in.

We still using the National Team to "showcase" players. That is not what the National Team is for. It's up to the National player to showcase himself. The national team is to have players who possess the final product. Some of our players appear to be overweight whilst on national duty. Some are out of breath by the 70th minute. This is unacceptable.

« Reply #70 on: September 11, 2017, 11:23:48 PM »
Look we just need to form a West Indies Team and go win the World Cup.  Cause if we were to put our best foot forward on a team like that we could win it. 

That could have happened in the late 50s and possibly early 60s. Eh go happen now!

:beermug:   Why?  FIFA would love the idea. 

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #71 on: September 12, 2017, 06:29:44 AM »
Contro, you are crazy if you think that the Pro League, Super League players etc have any special talent that could make them world beaters.

Listen bro, this thing is about development. Development is a science. You need to accept the scientific approach in ensuring results. It hasn't been about "talent" for a long while. It's all about development. No one coming out of Trinidad and unto the National team experienced any major development. They just "played football".

Our entire model needs to change but that is for the long run. In the short run we need to get TTFA commercially viable. We do that by putting butts in the stands. We do this by having players that are marketable and are of quality (John Bostock, Ryan Innis etc). Let Europe develop them and we utilise them. It really is that simple. A foreign born team can challenge for the Gold Cup etc. We need to recruit these players early.

Our next mission is to improve the u21-23 team/teams....Our assistant national mens coach should be the head coach of those teams. Let the philosophy go down the line. That coach should also be younger/youthful so that he's learning from the national mens coach etc. The other 23 team should always make up the bulk of your next round of qualification teams. Remember that players such as Gabriel Jesus playing for Brazil etc since 18 etc so u23 is already too old. People play at the world cup at 17-18 etc....But we need to place emphasis on this team because outside of the world cup, the olympics is the next big event. Our football needs that competition as well. 

The world doesn't want what we have to offer. We have players in India for goodness sake. India...Let that sink in.

We still using the National Team to "showcase" players. That is not what the National Team is for. It's up to the National player to showcase himself. The national team is to have players who possess the final product. Some of our players appear to be overweight whilst on national duty. Some are out of breath by the 70th minute. This is unacceptable.

This post is spot on

Offline Dutty Love

« Reply #72 on: September 13, 2017, 12:16:23 PM »
Zacatepec from Ascenso MX beat Tigres 3-1 in an away match in Copa MX last night, something no MLS team has been able to accomplish

https://www.facebook.com/TelevisaDeportes/videos/10155801440992340/

« Reply #73 on: September 13, 2017, 01:14:34 PM »
Look we just need to form a West Indies Team and go win the World Cup.  Cause if we were to put our best foot forward on a team like that we could win it. 

That could have happened in the late 50s and possibly early 60s. Eh go happen now!

:beermug:   Why?  FIFA would love the idea. 

POLITICALLY, there's more power in each territory having a vote than as a single entity.

If 25 nations decide to become one....that's 25 votes versus 1 vote.

How yuh think CONCACAF came to be dominated by Jack and Blazer?  Prior to them, Mexico and Central America held full away in CONCACAF

USA was a minnow and not respected at all in football.....least of all by Mexicans and the Central Americans.   Truth be told...not by the likes of us either.

The caribbean nations were also held in contempt by the same countries.

Jack had the numbers (CFU).....Blazer had the potential infrstructure, financial wherewithal etc.

They struck a deal.  CFU and USA became the power brokers.  Mexico and Central America had to take a back seat.

A west indies football team not making any sense.  It MAY ONLY HAPPEN in an Olympics or some special event like that.  Similar to Great Britain in the Olympics.

But outside of that.....I can't see it,  It would be political suicide.

« Reply #74 on: September 13, 2017, 02:06:07 PM »

This post is spot on

Tell me something new, I pitched a new structure since 1999 when the old board started... youth teams need funding, they need coaches who actually know what they are doing.. the Belgium model could work in TT

There is immense talent in TT and it needs to be harnessed, if you don't believe in that, that's fine but we agree to disagree. If those same pro league and super league players had something to play for and a salary that would sustain them and their families. With coaches and intl experience and better training, we would walk over teams in the region...

You would see the dramatic difference in game play...

Offline congo

« Reply #75 on: September 13, 2017, 10:13:28 PM »
Funding will always be difficult because we simply lack the funds, will and commercial innovatory to make things happen. Our priorities and interests are different and even our consumption habits are weird in this country. People would happily pay 8000 tt for a new phone but never have money on their phone etc. Add to that the difficult economic times and you realise that funding football is simply not a priority for the state at this point of time or even in the future.

What we need to focus on in the short term is getting as much of our youth exposed to overseas academies and possibly retained by those academies. So we should focus on "developing" our youth to successfully make the transition necessary to gain entry to overseas academies. That may mean changing how we teach our youth. Scouts look for certain traits that identify a footballer's intelligence such as positioning and off the ball play etc. They are never looking for the finished product under the age of 16.

You still not getting it. A simple comparison is the MLS....Those guys getting good money...Some even on multi million dollar contracts etc but they are still not world beaters. It's not just about paying players better etc..If that was the case then the middle eastern owners would have just developed clubs in their own countries rather than purchase PSG and Man City etc. Competition occurs on a global scale. You need to test yourself against the best in the world.

Talent alone is nothing. Europe has a lot. I have watched a lot of football at all levels. I've visited different academies including Man City, Arsenal etc and I could tell you first hand that there is "talent" in those places. The reality is out of a class of 20, only 2 may be offered terms. The other 18 can easily end up in semi-pros and "sunday league" football within 2 years. That is the reality. Football is no jokey business.

« Reply #76 on: September 14, 2017, 08:26:30 AM »
Money is not the issue,it's hunger the passion that's missing
Them belly full but we the fans and supporters hungry,even the dam Waggonist hungry
How much money has has been thrown on  this and what do we have to show for it, one world cup appearance and a couple to the under' s
Dam administration wasteful and to be honest the players are not hungry enough
Man act and sound like money cure all the issues,how much has it solved to this day when you take into account how much has been given
We live in a time and as a society where everyone thinks he or she is entitled to more than we have earned and it's about time we try doing more with less
I have always prayed for the day to come when less revenue was available just to see how we would react and behave,that time is now,it's time to buckle up and adjust our collective belts ,for the days of plenty is no more...just reality

« Reply #77 on: November 14, 2017, 06:46:38 PM »
well yes

Offline ffisback

« Reply #78 on: November 14, 2017, 08:04:32 PM »
With out them English coach's helping him D Lawrence is just as bad as S Hart I hope DJW did not sign a long term contract with him.

« Reply #79 on: November 14, 2017, 08:19:02 PM »
His coaching reputation is slowly erasing the magic he produced in 2005. He is not to blame.. Thanks DJW.

Offline madness

« Reply #80 on: November 14, 2017, 11:37:05 PM »
the quality of the players is not good enough. We can hire Pep or Jose to coach Trinidad national team, the team will still fail. :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :pissedoff:

« Reply #81 on: November 15, 2017, 02:33:30 AM »
VERY responsible comments by Dennis during the post-match press conference. When asked about the composition of the teams he would field in October, Dennis noted that he would respect the integrity of the hex. Other teams still have much to play for, so Trinidad & Tobago would play its role in making teams fight for points.

And in the USA's departure, it came down to this.

While I have placed the defeat of the US in the restricted context it merits, it literally is one of those stories that caught people's attention around the world.

However, in the exchanges I've had, non-Trinis tend to think that victory over the US was also accomplished by generally positive performances (results) by the NT during WC qualifying (because they typically pay scant attention to CONCACAF qualifying) and that our football is in a better state than the facts bear out.

DL has been involved in at least two legacy events in T&T football history (Bahrain and this US loss) that place him in a narrow zone/special place. If he were to stick around and win the Caribbean Cup, he would also contribute to repairing/restoring an area of performance. Sticking around is one thing, winning the Cup is another.

Is winning CFU within his reach? I would say "yes". Could it be done convincingly?  Can't say "yes".

The "quality target" for a T&T NT coach (and in the selection of a NT coach) should now be at least getting to the semifinal round of the GC.

« Reply #82 on: October 14, 2018, 11:03:12 AM »

So how has this team improved since DL taking over at the coaching helm?

Any takers?

« Reply #83 on: October 14, 2018, 05:49:41 PM »

Any takers?

As much as coaches are to held accountable for teams results, I will give DL a pass for now. Only because of what he has to work with. But most important is the mass confusion in this TTFa organization.

« Reply #84 on: October 14, 2018, 06:49:56 PM »

Any takers?

As much as coaches are to held accountable for teams results, I will give DL a pass for now. Only because of what he has to work with. But most important is the mass confusion in this TTFa organization.

and when does your pass end? a week before World Cup qualification, or when the poor results continue during qualification?

« Reply #85 on: October 16, 2018, 05:21:43 AM »
Lawrence need to call Martinez and ask for a spot back now that Henry gone to Monaco...for his own sake. He is worth more to us out there than as national coach. Let him get back in the mix, get some experience, earn a reputation (even if it is just as an assistant coach) and come back when he is about 60 to deal with T&T.

« Reply #86 on: October 16, 2018, 05:07:29 PM »

Any takers?
I would NO, we haven't improved. Under Hart you could've seen we were developing an identity despite our shortcomings and we more appealing for the fans to watch. Now I think we're okay and haven't made any progress, in fact I'd say we regressed. Yea we had a big win over USA but we haven't took the next step to build on that.

« Reply #87 on: October 16, 2018, 05:48:42 PM »
here you guys go with the comparisons again. had he won this absurd thread would not submerge. how impatient could you be.

it's rather silly to compare the two when steven hart didn't win any of his last three world cup games while dennis actually won two and were very competitive in all but one of his games and suffered a barrage of very bad call by the officiating team which could have seen the pendulum easily swung in our favor.

i think we should reserve our comment until after thew gold cup, that would have given dennis enough time to stamp his authority on the team or show is incapability, but for now lets be patient and allow the team to build. boy you trinis have some very destructive tendencies when things are not going 100% your way.

« Reply #88 on: October 16, 2018, 05:51:59 PM »

Any takers?

We're not bad, but I have not seen any improvement in any area. I have not seen any meaningful unearthing of new faces. Our forwards are hardly scoring. It looks as though DL is trying to impose a style on the team, but I don't know exactly what it is.

Played: 19, Wins: 5, Losses: 10, Draws: 4

« Reply #89 on: October 17, 2018, 11:50:03 AM »

Any takers?

We're not bad, but I have not seen any improvement in any area. I have not seen any meaningful unearthing of new faces. Our forwards are hardly scoring. It looks as though DL is trying to impose a style on the team, but I don't know exactly what it is.

Played: 19, Wins: 5, Losses: 10, Draws: 4
remember dennis was thrown into a  qualifying situation in the middle of a campaign....not only that but there were disgruntled players in the mix who didn't like the coaches disciplinary actions particularly against mikel williams and kevin molino who subsequently threatened never to play for TT again.

there were also some salary issues and federation fall out from the firing of mr hart and all this happened in the middle of a qualifying campaign.

i do agree dennis needs to help his situation by putting more wins on the board, but how could he accomplish that when players who can actual score or help score either turn up lame or unable to travel for the games (levi garcia, kevin ,molino, jovin jones, atulla guerra,neval hackshaw), when critical pieces of your puzzle is missing then it makes it even more difficult to get positive results.

another thing to consider is that how many of these games were played at home? the federation have no money and players have to play away games from now until whenever simply because we can't afford to host due to financial restrains.

do fans really expect us to travel all the way across the globe and compete well vs teams playing at home in their back yard? the only reason why we beat UAE is because they were also travelling away to play this friendly.

now we're off to play IRAN in IRAN next month, do we realistically expect a positive result playing against a team that recently returned from the WC and did relatively well against two great world beaters?

no most likely we will lose, and i think the point of this exercise should be to lose well because sometimes there's no dishonor in losing, but rather lose with purpose should be the goal, and if we get something from this game, then that's gravy, but there should be absolutely no expectations from the fans what so ever.

i am also willing to wager that we will also be without quite a few of our best players, including jovin jones and levi garcia come next month.

these guys are not serious, and until these players get the gist that playing for your country is a huge honor in the footballing world, then we will always compete badly and losing will be part and parcel of the trinidad and tobago footballing experience.