March 28, 2024, 06:24:37 AM

Author Topic: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.  (Read 59460 times)

Offline ffisback

Re: Fire Dennis Lawrence Thread.
« Reply #120 on: November 18, 2018, 06:36:00 AM »
How could you with a straight face say he doesn"t bring younger players into the team?
Giving a man a 5 minute sweat then not using him again is not giving somebody a chance that means DL does not know what he's doing that's why he should be fired.

« Reply #121 on: November 18, 2018, 07:48:18 AM »
How could you with a straight face say he doesn"t bring younger players into the team?
Giving a man a 5 minute sweat then not using him again is not giving somebody a chance that means DL does not know what he's doing that's why he should be fired.

How many players fall into that category? Who and when? Or is that you have one particular player in mind?

But let me play, five (5) minutes in football could make or break you, not so? And, 5 minutes on the pitch doesn't happen in isolation from 80 minutes of practice, ent?

Truth is, yuh touching on something I've been thinking about as well, but it likely indicates not that he doesn't know what he is doing, but that he knows what he needs NOW. Up to those players to find a place to improve in the meantime. If I'm reading you correctly, yuh might have to consider the position the player plays.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #122 on: November 18, 2018, 10:40:33 AM »

How many players fall into that category? Who and when? Or is that you have one particular player in mind?

But let me play, five (5) minutes in football could make or break you, not so? And, 5 minutes on the pitch doesn't happen in isolation from 80 minutes of practice, ent?

Truth is, yuh touching on something I've been thinking about as well, but it likely indicates not that he doesn't know what he is doing, but that he knows what he needs NOW. Up to those players to find a place to improve in the meantime. If I'm reading you correctly, yuh might have to consider the position the player plays.

Once the WCQ was over it was time for the rebuilding phrase the truth is DL is to scared to give the younger players a chance that's why he is only giving them 5 minutes a game its a waste of time having him around any longer.

« Reply #123 on: November 18, 2018, 10:49:00 AM »
Yuh still eh call names.

« Reply #124 on: November 18, 2018, 10:50:46 AM »
It is unfortunate that the national team does not have another friendly in this fifa time window. They need more games to asses new and fringe players. It would have been nice to have a game where Greg and the new keeper split time. England, US, Mexico all playing 2 games. We played one game we were on the back foot for the most. We need more games.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2018, 10:52:22 AM by Deeks »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #125 on: November 19, 2018, 01:13:29 AM »
Yuh still eh call names.
M W Ling , K Julien , J Garcia , C Benny , T Emmanuel and S Gomez

Offline ffisback

« Reply #126 on: November 19, 2018, 01:18:27 AM »
It is unfortunate that the national team does not have another friendly in this fifa time window. They need more games to asses new and fringe players. It would have been nice to have a game where Greg and the new keeper split time. England, US, Mexico all playing 2 games. We played one game we were on the back foot for the most. We need more games.
It does not matter how much friendly's DL get he is not going to play the younger players because he is to scared to use them DL is a waste of time.

« Reply #127 on: November 19, 2018, 08:15:58 AM »
Quick Question:

Has any Trinidadian coached or been involved in coaching at a level similar or even close to what Dennis Lawrence was exposed to at Wigan, Everton and Belgium?

Canadian national football is higher than Wigan and Everton.... beligium of course is higher than Canadian but Hart is far better

Canadian Football is what? Higher than Wigan or Everton? Ok cool......this not even worth continuing

« Reply #128 on: November 19, 2018, 04:08:53 PM »
It does not matter how much friendly's DL get he is not going to play the younger players because he is to scared to use them DL is a waste of time.

ffisback, DJW running(ruining) football at this moment. This is going to be the way until elections. DL is trying his best with a diabolical situation. Until we get a new president, and get some people with deep pockets to support him, nothing will change. So if DL leave who do you think will coach the team? You think he will bring back Hart?

Offline ffisback

« Reply #129 on: November 20, 2018, 01:04:19 AM »

ffisback, DJW running(ruining) football at this moment. This is going to be the way until elections. DL is trying his best with a diabolical situation. Until we get a new president, and get some people with deep pockets to support him, nothing will change. So if DL leave who do you think will coach the team? You think he will bring back Hart?
Anybody who thinks getting rid of DJW is going to solve TTFF problems is living in a dream world anybody who takes over TTFF is going to have the same problem the federation is broke .Atleast he could get other country's federations to pay for our friendly's the problem is much bigger than DJW.

Bringing back SH is a backward step the team would go back to playing scramble football under DL the team is playing much better defensively the problem is the team is still playing scramble football. I would not hire a Trinidadian to coach the team it will have to be somebody that we can afford I think Z Vanes and F Maturana was good.

« Reply #130 on: November 20, 2018, 06:19:18 AM »
I was reading yuh till that last post. Kinda loss some credibility dey. Shouldn’t post when yuh high.

« Reply #131 on: November 20, 2018, 08:51:49 AM »

Anybody who thinks getting rid of DJW is going to solve TTFF problems is living in a dream world anybody who takes over TTFF is going to have the same problem the federation is broke .Atleast he could get other country's federations to pay for our friendly's the problem is much bigger than DJW.

Bringing back SH is a backward step the team would go back to playing scramble football under DL the team is playing much better defensively the problem is the team is still playing scramble football. I would not hire a Trinidadian to coach the team it will have to be somebody that we can afford I think Z Vanes and F Maturana was good.

Vranes and Maturana??? How may times has Vranes coached our team. He has always run against the TTFA president.  Jack always used him as care taker. Maturana was TT coach. He was a patient guy. He tried to instill some discipline structure. But again when is time to get friendlies, Jack always come up with something to full his pocket. At the same time we never played Colombia. He was a former coach there. He never tried to get Ven. or Ecuador. I have nothing against foreign coaches, but I think if you could bend backward to give a foreign coach all the resources that he demands, why the hell you can't do it for a local coach.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #132 on: November 20, 2018, 01:11:49 PM »

Vranes and Maturana??? How may times has Vranes coached our team. He has always run against the TTFA president.  Jack always used him as care taker. Maturana was TT coach. He was a patient guy. He tried to instill some discipline structure. But again when is time to get friendlies, Jack always come up with something to full his pocket. At the same time we never played Colombia. He was a former coach there. He never tried to get Ven. or Ecuador. I have nothing against foreign coaches, but I think if you could bend backward to give a foreign coach all the resources that he demands, why the hell you can't do it for a local coach.
[/b]The realty is only Vanes and Maturana would put up with the BS that goes on in TT another foreign coach would tell them idiots to like there balls and with no money I don't think we have much of a choice. J Warner used Vanes because he was able to get decent results with out spending much money which is something he could not get with local coach's and when TT finally defeated the U S A in a WCQ in 2008 that was 1 of the best moments as a TT football fan Maturana record speak for itself.

People in TT continue use this false notion that instead of spending money and resources on a foreign coach they could get the same result if they spend on a local coach that could not be furthest from the truth coach's  like B ST Clair and S Hart got more friendly's and financial support than the foreign coach's and they still got there buts kick.

« Reply #133 on: November 20, 2018, 03:51:03 PM »
Yuh still eh call names.

Pappy has been in and around (training, Tallman?). Julien is in the mix. Judah Garcia merits being in and around as often as possible. For Woo Ling it is a question of career management. He needs to do more and in the right environments to merit a senior national team call up. Ah not giving him even ah "in and around" rating. Plain talk.

Regarding Shannon Gomez, it might not hurt DL to ask Patrick Viera a few questions and then place that conversation against what he sees currently. Definitely merits inquiry.

Che Benny? Not yet.

Yuh left out some other names doh. Dem fellas not yuh friends?
« Last Edit: November 20, 2018, 03:55:55 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #134 on: November 20, 2018, 04:16:17 PM »
People in TT continue use this false notion that instead of spending money and resources on a foreign coach they could get the same result if they spend on a local coach that could not be furthest from the truth coach's  like B ST Clair and S Hart got more friendly's and financial support than the foreign coach's and they still got there buts kick.

There is no false notion here. We have had foreign coaches into TT from the 60s to just recently with Sainfeit. Only one has been successful. Beenie Man.  Gally was the only local coach on the brink of taking the national team to the WC. That is another story. But sometimes a foreign coach is good. Sometime a local coach is good. We eh doing anything different from what the US is doing in terms of selecting a coach. They have local local coaches and they have had foreign coaches. What the US has over us is an abundance of resources. Resources that they can have a fulfledged  academy. You don't hear coaches not getting paid and all that non-sense.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2018, 04:20:00 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #135 on: November 20, 2018, 06:00:03 PM »

There is no false notion here. We have had foreign coaches into TT from the 60s to just recently with Sainfeit. Only one has been successful. Beenie Man.  Gally was the only local coach on the brink of taking the national team to the WC. That is another story. But sometimes a foreign coach is good. Sometime a local coach is good. We eh doing anything different from what the US is doing in terms of selecting a coach. They have local local coaches and they have had foreign coaches. What the US has over us is an abundance of resources. Resources that they can have a fulfledged  academy. You don't hear coaches not getting paid and all that non-sense.
:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

« Reply #136 on: November 20, 2018, 06:07:49 PM »
Yuh still eh call names.

Pappy has been in and around (training, Tallman?).

He was called into a senior team camp earlier this year. However he has had some injury setbacks since then.

« Reply #137 on: November 20, 2018, 06:09:17 PM »

Where are the facts to support these assertions?

« Reply #138 on: November 20, 2018, 06:51:13 PM »
ffisback can't be serious.  You really said bringing back SH is a backward step?  You really rating DL over SH???  Nah man you can't be serious.  D best football dis nation ever play in d history of d game is under SH.  Hart is d man who made us a competitive nation again.  People who actually play fitball would understand d brand.  Fans who never kick ah lime in dey life might mirror your sentiments

« Reply #139 on: November 20, 2018, 09:31:39 PM »
ffisback can't be serious.  You really said bringing back SH is a backward step?  You really rating DL over SH???  Nah man you can't be serious.  D best football dis nation ever play in d history of d game is under SH.  Hart is d man who made us a competitive nation again.  People who actually play fitball would understand d brand.  Fans who never kick ah lime in dey life might mirror your sentiments

kiffy, SH had the team playing some very good ball especially in the Gold cup. The 4-4 tie with Mex and 3-3 tie with Mex were some of the best ball since the  Strike Squad and the Warriors. But when we lost to Haiti 1-0 in Panama for the spot in the Copa America, SH days were numbered. Then the incident with DJW, where SH did not want the team to go to Equatorial Guinea after a very recent tour to Asia. That was it. I was real disappointed that we did not go to the COPA.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #140 on: November 21, 2018, 12:35:27 AM »
Yuh still eh call names.

Pappy has been in and around (training, Tallman?). Julien is in the mix. Judah Garcia merits being in and around as often as possible. For Woo Ling it is a question of career management. He needs to do more and in the right environments to merit a senior national team call up. Ah not giving him even ah "in and around" rating. Plain talk.

Regarding Shannon Gomez, it might not hurt DL to ask Patrick Viera a few questions and then place that conversation against what he sees currently. Definitely merits inquiry.

Che Benny? Not yet.

Yuh left out some other names doh. Dem fellas not yuh friends?
Once DL gives a player like N Lewis who is riding pine in the USL playing time he has shown that he does not know what he is doing and he should be fired all the players who name I called should be given playing time.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #141 on: November 21, 2018, 02:28:04 AM »

There you go again with your false notion people come to America and see how successful they are with all that  money and confuse the 2 and say if TT had all that money we will be successful too  :bs: All that oil money TT had and what they have to show for it "nothing" Jamaica will always outshine TT on the world stage because they are organized and they strive for profection  the U S A have something that TT does not have professionalism the league may not be that good but it is a professional league the coach's may not be that good but he's a professional coach the players may not be that good but they are professional players TT is run by amateurs the players the coach's the administration is all a bunch amateurs giving a TT coach money etc is a waste of time they could only screw it up because they are amateurs look at all the money that was spent on B St Clair and S Hart and look how much licks we got from that G Cummings had a good football philosophy but because he was a amateur he failed.

« Reply #142 on: November 21, 2018, 07:45:01 AM »

There you go again with your false notion people come to America and see how successful they are with all that  money and confuse the 2 and say if TT had all that money we will be successful too  :bs: All that oil money TT had and what they have to show for it "nothing" Jamaica will always outshine TT on the world stage because they are organized and they strive for profection  the U S A have something that TT does not have professionalism the league may not be that good but it is a professional league the coach's may not be that good but he's a professional coach the players may not be that good but they are professional players TT is run by amateurs the players the coach's the administration is all a bunch amateurs giving a TT coach money etc is a waste of time they could only screw it up because they are amateurs look at all the money that was spent on B St Clair and S Hart and look how much licks we got from that G Cummings had a good football philosophy but because he was a amateur he failed.

Breds, you so anti Trini, is a waste of time trying to argue with you. Our priority is to see about the locals first. Players and coaches. That does not mean we  should not include our foreign-born children. We have been doing it in the past.We will continue to do it in the future.  Who do you think contacted Birchall to play for Trini. It was DL. And we have used others since then. Some have rejected us(Bobby Zamora and Bostock). Hooray for Jamaica if they outshine us. I give them their dues. We have lot's in common but we are  two different peas in a pod. We think one way, they think the other. All of us don't think and do things the same. Right now the number ONE priority is to get rid DJW. People at home who could influence the stakeholders in TT football should not wait for election to influence the outcome. They should be doing it now.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2018, 07:48:29 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #143 on: November 21, 2018, 09:16:25 AM »
I think Z Vanes and F Maturana was good.

Once DL gives a player like N Lewis who is riding pine in the USL playing time he has shown that he does not know what he is doing and he should be fired all the players who name I called should be given playing time.

Wait, so you championing Maturana who gave Hyland among others numerous caps while "unattached" but taking issue with DL capping Lewis?.  How is it not worse to call up players not signed to any club at all than calling up Lewis who is attached to a club and practicing within a structured football environment?

« Reply #144 on: November 21, 2018, 09:25:32 AM »

Put yourself as the TT coach in this present situation. Do you think you can do any better? Imaging you presenting short term and long term strategies for TT national team. Just think about that.

From the time the world cup qualifiers were done, I would have gone with a team to qualify for the Olympics 2020. Leave Levi Garcia and Joevin Jones to establish themselves professionally. Keep Bateau to help with the younger defenders coming through and maybe Hyland for his experience, and Molino when the next world cup campaign come around.

We really have nobody so great that younger players can't supplant them in preparation for the future.
I agree with you 100% but it seems as if DL has not gotten the message so it is better we get rid of this guy while we ahead of the game.

I agree with that also. TTFA should have two senior teams. The U-23 being the B team. They should have the local U-23 play against Caribbean opposition or any  CA or SA team that will schedule a game with us. TTFA is unable to multitask. The leader has on blinders. The blinders is focusing on the construction of the hotel. DL could only go so far with DJW without him being fired.
That's not DJW job that's the coach's job I remember when G Cummings and Z Vanes had the team they used to bring younger players into the team DL does not do that because he does not know what he is doing that's why he should be fired.
DJW is the one who is telling DL which players he should pick, DJW did it to Hart, and Hart refused which resulted him getting fired.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #145 on: November 21, 2018, 12:26:22 PM »

Breds, you so anti Trini, is a waste of time trying to argue with you. Our priority is to see about the locals first. Players and coaches. That does not mean we  should not include our foreign-born children. We have been doing it in the past.We will continue to do it in the future.  Who do you think contacted Birchall to play for Trini. It was DL. And we have used others since then. Some have rejected us(Bobby Zamora and Bostock). Hooray for Jamaica if they outshine us. I give them their dues. We have lot's in common but we are  two different peas in a pod. We think one way, they think the other. All of us don't think and do things the same. Right now the number ONE priority is to get rid DJW. People at home who could influence the stakeholders in TT football should not wait for election to influence the outcome. They should be doing it now.
While I agree that DJW must go you are missing the big picture changing the president is not going to solve the problem not paying players and coach's is been going on for donkey years not getting teams prepared for tournaments is nothing new the problem is much bigger than DJW nobody is going to spend there money on failing organization that has no accountability .

Offline ffisback

« Reply #146 on: November 21, 2018, 12:33:56 PM »
I think Z Vanes and F Maturana was good.

Wait, so you championing Maturana who gave Hyland among others numerous caps while "unattached" but taking issue with DL capping Lewis?.  How is it not worse to call up players not signed to any club at all than calling up Lewis who is attached to a club and practicing within a structured football environment?
Apples and grapes Hyland was a young 19 year old player who was on the verge of signing a contract in Europe and needed the caps N Lewis is 28 years old no club in Europe will sign a unproven player that age.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #147 on: November 21, 2018, 12:38:49 PM »

Put yourself as the TT coach in this present situation. Do you think you can do any better? Imaging you presenting short term and long term strategies for TT national team. Just think about that.

From the time the world cup qualifiers were done, I would have gone with a team to qualify for the Olympics 2020. Leave Levi Garcia and Joevin Jones to establish themselves professionally. Keep Bateau to help with the younger defenders coming through and maybe Hyland for his experience, and Molino when the next world cup campaign come around.

We really have nobody so great that younger players can't supplant them in preparation for the future.
I agree with you 100% but it seems as if DL has not gotten the message so it is better we get rid of this guy while we ahead of the game.

I agree with that also. TTFA should have two senior teams. The U-23 being the B team. They should have the local U-23 play against Caribbean opposition or any  CA or SA team that will schedule a game with us. TTFA is unable to multitask. The leader has on blinders. The blinders is focusing on the construction of the hotel. DL could only go so far with DJW without him being fired.
That's not DJW job that's the coach's job I remember when G Cummings and Z Vanes had the team they used to bring younger players into the team DL does not do that because he does not know what he is doing that's why he should be fired.
DJW is the one who is telling DL which players he should pick, DJW did it to Hart, and Hart refused which resulted him getting fired.
If S Hart was picking his own team and still getting his but kick he deserved to get fired.

« Reply #148 on: November 21, 2018, 02:32:47 PM »
What if I say. Hart had a similar record to BeenHakker. What if I say, from 2013 to 2015, during Hart's tenure (2013-2016), BeenHakker was the football director and adviser. What if I say a coach with the best record was a local coach. Would you take the blue pill or the red pill ?

Either way. Hart, BeenHakker, Maturana, ain't coming back..no foreigner worth there salt would take the job - that includes many coaches on this shit-talk board right here..Vranes has not built any strong resume ( a la a Fenwick) by being a multiple snr winner in the local leagues. I suggest, be glad we have Dennis Lawrence who has some measure of experience, local and international, as both a player and a coach, and we should try keeping him as long as possible as he works to get things right. On the job training yes, but with our Team, administration and supporters, it will always and forever be a work in progress. We never really consistently win anything. Always if, coulda and woulda.
Try to keep the somebody on a long term, so they can develop and build something instead of breaking down and starting over everytime a cold breeze blow, or a heat wave pass. It's normal weather for our region, especially these days.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #149 on: November 21, 2018, 04:14:54 PM »
What if I say. Hart had a similar record to BeenHakker. What if I say, from 2013 to 2015, during Hart's tenure (2013-2016), BeenHakker was the football director and adviser. What if I say a coach with the best record was a local coach. Would you take the blue pill or the red pill ?

Either way. Hart, BeenHakker, Maturana, ain't coming back..no foreigner worth there salt would take the job - that includes many coaches on this shit-talk board right here..Vranes has not built any strong resume ( a la a Fenwick) by being a multiple snr winner in the local leagues. I suggest, be glad we have Dennis Lawrence who has some measure of experience, local and international, as both a player and a coach, and we should try keeping him as long as possible as he works to get things right. On the job training yes, but with our Team, administration and supporters, it will always and forever be a work in progress. We never really consistently win anything. Always if, coulda and woulda.
Try to keep the somebody on a long term, so they can develop and build something instead of breaking down and starting over everytime a cold breeze blow, or a heat wave pass. It's normal weather for our region, especially these days.
What if I say I had the winning lotto numbers I would be rich today now back to realty SH has done nothing to prove that he is a successful coach he could not even win the Caribbean cup something ZV who you don't much of has won what made SH such a successful coach to the people of TT is something i cannot comprehend.
What made Beenhakker successful was R Latapy comming out of retirement if R Latapy never came back Beenhakker would have been another failed foreign coach I would never hire him to take TT football into the future and i believe Vanes and Maturana is more suitable for the job and will give TT a chance again.

And after nearly 2 years its plane to see that DL does not have what it takes to take this team into the futeur .