March 28, 2024, 12:23:15 PM

Author Topic: The little magician waving his magic-wand once more.  (Read 3379 times)

The little magician waving his magic-wand once more.
« on: September 07, 2017, 04:56:46 AM »
The little magician waving his magic-wand once more.
By Inshan Mohammed.

The job that keeps on giving.

Russell Latapy, no doubt he was a T&T football legend on the field. Capable of ripping through any defences on his day for both club and country. He was the smallest player on the field with the biggest boot and a football IQ that would win over any pundit.

His vision was like no other and could thread a pass through the eyes of a needle. The player was so good he inherited the name "the little magician" an alias he rightfully lived up too in his playing days. However, some still prefer to use the name "Latas".

Now that he has hanged up his boot for the badge, the diminutive maestro is once more weaving his magic, this time he seemed to have found an admirer on the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) administration board. For your information, Latapy's brother Justin Latapy-George is also employed by the TTFA as General Secretary. A sporting association that's being run like a family business.

Russell, despite not being able to foster his magic and experience with both the Under-17 and Under-15 Men's National teams, seem to have found a new home in T&T football once more and is enjoying his role without agonise.

Former T&T senior team head coach Stephen Hart didn't find such luxury and was sent packing after just 15 games under the current administration. Current T&T senior team head coach Dennis Lawrence is already up to 10 games since replacing Hart with 2 wins, 1 draw, 7 losses and a failed 2018 World Cup campaign to get to Russia, he too is still at large.

While Carolina Morace and her staff were given a more austere lesson. The Italian and her staff had to walk out after a few months in charge of T&T women's team programme and two international friendly games because of non-payment.

Meanwhile, history always find a way to repeat itself. In 2009 Latapy had a brief stint as interim-head coach/player of T&T's senior team, replacing Colombian Francisco Maturana before becoming a permanent fixture a year later.

The former T&T player refused any friendly games after being offered by then TTFF advisor Jack Warner in preparations for T&T's 2010 FIFA World Cup qualifying game against Costa Rica (The Tricolor). Instead he wanted to just train the players and get them fit and ready for the Central Americans.

T&T did manage to score 2-goals but ran out of breath letting the Costa Ricans breeze pass them 3-2 as T&T lungs had collapsed after minute 65. The Tricolor took every advantage and trampled over them at the Dwight Yorke Stadium. Current senior team head coach Dennis Lawrence was on the field that day.

Latapy, was given the position of being permanent head coach in 2010 and continued where he left off. He had some relatively decent games in-charge but bowed out as head coach just after one year.

The straw that broke the camel's back was being eliminated from the 2010 Digicel Cup in the group stage in a 1-0 loss to rank underdogs Grenada. The resulted meant T&T were also eliminated from the 2011 CONCACAF Gold Cup which obviously did not go down well with his employers.

Today, the pattern continues. Russell Latapy took charge of the T&T Under-17 Men's team back in August 2016 and has had little to brag about. He was given the responsibility to lead his team through the Caribbean Football Union Final round of qualification in route to the FIFA Under 17 World Cup finals in India.

A month on the job, Latapy refused any friendly games from the TTFA and wanted to just train his new team. Heading into an all important Caribbean Football Union (CFU) U-17 Men’s Qualifiers at home without a single international friendly.

His team got its first tutorial when the Haitians blew them down 2-0 in the tournament's opener. They did got a lifeline with a come from behind 3-2 victory over Bermuda next.

But then Jamaica appeared, the twin island-republic was sent packing out of the tournament as they fell 3-2 to the young Reggae Boys and their 2017 World Cup dreams were put to bed. It was the first time in Trinidad and Tobago’s history an Under-17 Men's team had failed to get among the Caribbean’s top five countries.

Let it be noted that Latapy did have very little time and no one could really have expected much in just a couple of months.

For his troubles, Latapy was quickly given another assignment, and in April 2017 he took charge of T&T's Under 15 Men's team. Again, with an eyesight to qualify for the 2019 FIFA Under 15 Men’s World Cup.

Latapy were a bit fortunate this time around. He had more time to prepare his team and were given more preparatory games than his previous charge.

His first game where against a Republic Bank Invitational XI on April 15th, 2017, at the Ato Boldon Stadium to marked the opening of the 2017 Republic Bank-sponsored National Youth League. Latapy's men strode to an entertaining 3-1 win against the Republic Bank Invitational XI all-stars.

Two months later, in May, they pulled off a surprising 2-2 tie to Manchester City in the 2017 Cayman Airways U-15 Invitational Youth Football Cup opener. A tournament which Manchester City had won the previous year.

They then suffered a 3-1 defeat to a Houston Dynamo Academy team, drew DC United 1-1 before closing off the tournament with an emphatic 6-0 victory over the Cayman Islands National U-15.

Three months later, in August, the U-15s flew off to Florida to participate in the CONCACAF 2017 Under-15 Championship in Florida.

Before the tournament started, T&T came up against the Tampa Bay United U-17 team in a friendly match in which they drew 1-1.

But then the chips started falling as Latapy's men got a sound beating when they fell 4-0 to Costa Rica in the tournament opener. They then got hammered 6-0 by the United States. A further 3-0 loss to Canada and if that wasn't enough, a whopping 8-1 pounding by Jamaica to finish last in CONCACAF tournament.

Like Latapy's Under 17 team, Jamaica again proved to be a menace and now the U-15 team could very well kiss their 2019 FIFA Under 15 Men’s World Cup dreams goodbye.

Lets see what the TTFA would conjure up next for the little magician.

Rounding up Latapy stats as youth coach.

T&T's Under-17s

T&T 0 v Haiti 2
T&T 3 v Bermuda 2
T&T 2 v Jamaica 3

P  W  D  L  G  A  Dif
3  1  0  2  5  7  -2

T&T's Under-15s

T&T 3 v Republic Bank Invitational XI 1
T&T 2 v Manchester City 2
T&T 1 v Houston Dynamo Academy 3
T&T 1 v DC United 1
T&T 6 v Cayman Islands 0
T&T 0 v Costa Rica 4
T&T 0 v USA 6
T&T 0 v Canada 3
T&T 1 v Jamaica 8

P  W  D  L  G  A  Dif
9  2  2  5  14  28  -14

Overall (2 teams combined)

P  W  D  L  G  A  Dif
12  3  2  7  19  35  -16

« Last Edit: June 10, 2018, 08:26:30 AM by Flex »

Re: The little magician waving his magic-wand once more.
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 07:23:31 AM »
Every team failing under the current admin.

Latapy, Shabaaz, Lawrence, Isa, Stuart Charles, Stern, Ross you name it, these guys are terrible.

Nice write up Flex.

Latapy never believed in friendly games, I remember that Costa Rica game.

« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 01:46:45 PM »
Next T&T head coach soon.

« Reply #4 on: September 09, 2017, 01:48:29 AM »
4/5 years in a row Jabloteh youth coaches won every youth tournament and award, you would think they would be considered for national coaching.

So I guess the under 15 and under 20 team have gone back into submission until 2 weeks before the next tournament.

And the women team are also inactive.

« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2017, 03:23:39 PM »
4/5 years in a row Jabloteh youth coaches won every youth tournament and award, you would think they would be considered for national coaching.

So I guess the under 15 and under 20 team have gone back into submission until 2 weeks before the next tournament.

And the women team are also inactive.

dais what to expect from d DJW era.....regression

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2017, 08:20:40 AM »
Wonder if Latapy still collecting paid and where he is coaching now seeing that both his teams inactive now?

I bet you he will join some Pro League team.

Stern John coaching Central

Stuart Charles coaching W Connection

Shabaaz coaching Morvant.

« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2017, 07:12:06 AM »
So Latas still in T&T or he gone back Scotland?

Ah hope he gone because as a coach, he stinks.

« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2018, 04:56:35 PM »
Latapy’s Under 20s focus on Concacaf qualifiers scheduled for November.
TTFA Media.

A squad of National Under 20 players is currently in training under head coach Russell Latapy as this country focuses on the 2018 CONCACAF Under 20 World Cup qualifiers scheduled to take place in November.

The current pool comprises of players from the previous Under 17 National Team as well as other players who have come into the fray over the past few months. Latapy and his staff have been conducting sessions for over six months and currently meet once per week.

The thirty-player pool includes names such as Che Benny, Judah Garcia, Tyrel Emmanuel, goalkeepers Denzil Smith and Emmanuel John, John-Paul Rochford, Jordan Riley, Mark Ramdeen, Jayden Prowell, Kishon Hackshaw and Brandon Semper among others

“What we have tried to do as a staff is keep the team together and make sure they stay active. What happened before is that we had a lot of long breaks and stoppages, but what we are doing with this team, is having them train at least once a week. We still have to incorporate some of the overseas based players who we think are good enough to get onto this team,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“What we are trying to enhance in these players is their game awareness, their tactical awareness and obviously their fitness levels. We have a good bunch of players here that we think we can work with. But in comparison wit the teams that we are going to be competing against, we will be coming up against young players who are already playing first team football in top professional leagues. But we have a good bunch of young men who are taking on a lot of information and are willing to work hard and that’s a good place to start,” Latapy added.

Latapy says there are intentions to enter the team into one of the local leagues to assist with game preparation, considering that international matches may be difficult to come by in good numbers.

“It is always a massive challenge. For most coaches ideally what you will really like before any tournament, and this is being kind, is six to eight international matches. We know that because of the financial constraints of the Association at this point it’s difficult to get these international games. So therefore what we are trying to do is attempting to play in the local league, either the Pro League or the Super League,

We are hoping that we will get the support for it not only from the Association but also from the Super League or the Pro League. It has happened in the past before where we’ve seen when the national teams play in the local league then it has an impact on the way they perform in terms of game preparation,” Latapy stated.

« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2018, 06:18:03 AM »
T&T U-20s prepare for November qualifiers; Latapy set for fifth tourney as head coach.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Former Trinidad and Tobago football icon Russell Latapy will face his fifth tournament as national coach in November when he takes the National Under-20 Team into their FIFA 2019 Under-20 World Cup qualifying series.

The National Under-20 squad began preparations six months ago, according to the TTFA Media, and currently trains at least once a week.

“What we have tried to do as a staff is keep the team together and make sure they stay active,” said Latapy. “What happened before is that we had a lot of long breaks and stoppages. But what we are doing with this team is having them train at least once a week.

“We still have to incorporate some of the overseas-based players who we think are good enough to get onto this team.”

Latapy’s present 30-man training squad includes the Shiva Boys Hindu College pair of goalkeeper Denzil “Peng” Smith and midfielder Tyrel “Pappy” Emmanuel, who were both members of the last Under-20 squad under coach Brian Williams—although Emmanuel was eventually left out for disciplinary reasons.

The St Anthony’s College sextet of goalkeepers Jabari Graham and Elijah Shade, defender Jessie Williams, midfielders Jordel Brown and Che Benny and forward Jayden Prowell as well as the Trinity College East quartet of goalkeeper Emmanuel John, defender Kernel Sween and attackers Nickel Orr and Kishon Hackshaw are among the players who have graduated from Latapy’s last Under-17 squad.

Among the new inclusions are Presentation College (San Fernando) winger Jordan Riley, St Anthony’s College defender Derron John, St Augustine Secondary attacker Anthony Samuel and Shiva Boys left-back Matthew Beal.

Shiva Boys playmaker and SSFL 2017 MVP Judah Garcia and Naparima College flanker Mark Ramdeen, who both missed out on the last Under-17 squad for varying reasons, are also in the current 30-man pool.

“What we are trying to enhance in these players is their game awareness, their tactical awareness and obviously their fitness levels,” Latapy told the TTFA Media. “We have a good bunch of players here that we think we can work with. But in comparison with the teams that we are going to be competing against, we will be coming up against young players who are already playing first team football in top professional leagues.

“But we have a good bunch of young men who are taking on a lot of information and are willing to work hard and that’s a good place to start.”

Benny and Williams represented St Ann’s Rangers in the Pro League last season while attacker Nion Lammy, a former Presentation (San F’do) schoolboy, played for Point Fortin Civic. Otherwise, the majority of players have featured in either adult zonal competitions or in the Pro League Youth League.

Latapy said he hopes to get his squad registered in either the Pro League or the Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) with a view to providing them with match practice before they enter the Caribbean phase of their World Cup campaign.

“For most coaches ideally what you will really like before any tournament—and this is being kind—is six to eight international matches,” said Latapy. “We know that because of the financial constraints of the Association at this point, it’s difficult to get these international games. So therefore what we are trying to do is attempting to play in the local league—either the Pro League or the Super League.

“We are hoping that we will get the support for it not only from the Association but also from the Super League or the Pro League. It has happened in the past [and] we’ve seen [its] impact on the way they perform in terms of game preparation.”

Latapy, who wore the number 10 shirt for Portugal and Scotland giants FC Porto and Glasgow Rangers respectively and for Trinidad and Tobago at the Germany 2006 World Cup, is considered one of the country’s greatest ever players. His coaching record is less illustrious.

In four tournaments at senior and youth level—the 2010 World Cup qualifiers, the 2010 Caribbean Cup, the 2017 Under-17 World Cup and the 2017 CONCACAF Under-15 Championships—Latapy managed three wins from 16 matches with one draw and 12 losses, exclusive of Caribbean Cup qualifiers. His teams scored 14 goals while conceding 47.

There are mitigating circumstances as Latapy took up the Under-17 team with roughly six weeks to go before the CFU competition on home soil. He also won all three qualifying matches for the 2010 Caribbean Cup.

Brian Williams, Latapy’s predecessor as Under-20 coach, took Trinidad and Tobago into the CONCACAF stage two years ago so the current head coach will be hoping that November turns out to be a case of fifth time lucky.

Thus far, Latapy has never managed to advance a team beyond the Caribbean stage and Trinidad and Tobago were either already qualified or automatic qualifiers for any CONCACAF tournament at which he served as coach.

Latapy’s Coaching Record

(2010 World Cup qualifiers, CONCACAF Hex)

2-3 (Costa Rica)

1-2 (Mexico)

1-0 (El Salvador in T&T)

1-4 (Honduras)

0-1 (USA in TT)

0-4 (Costa Rica)

2-2 (Mexico in T&T)

(2010 Caribbean Cup qualifiers)

6-2 (St Vincent and the Grenadines in T&T)

2-1 (Guyana in T&T)

4-0 (Haiti in T&T)

(2010 Caribbean Cup)

0-2 (Cuba)

0-1 (Grenada)

1-0 (Martinique)

(2016 Caribbean U-17 Championship)

0-2 (Haiti in T&T)

3-2 (Bermuda in T&T)

2-3 (Jamaica in T&T)

(2017 CONCACAF U-15 Championship)

0-4 (Costa Rica)

0-6 (USA)

0-3 (Canada)

1-8 (Jamaica)

« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2018, 11:09:08 AM »
Latapy said he hopes to get his squad registered in either the Pro League or the Trinidad and Tobago Super League (TTSL) with a view to providing them with match practice before they enter the Caribbean phase of their World Cup campaign.
So yuh just can pull players away from their current clubs and have them play for you against said clubs for free future cutass ? "Yuh looking for Horn boy, plenty plenty Horn boy"

« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2018, 12:42:48 PM »
Latapy's youth coaching record:

6 wins
13 losses
1 draw

In the last 2 years

1 win
6 losses

goals for: 6
goals against: 28

« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2018, 02:05:53 PM »
So yuh just can pull players away from their current clubs and have them play for you against said clubs for free future cutass ? "Yuh looking for Horn boy, plenty plenty Horn boy"
he was warned
Doh do dat, Doh back back on me, doh back back

he should call Shaggy. "it wasn't me"

https://wired868.com/2018/02/28/national-u-17s-play-caledonia-utd-coaches-clubs-parents-arms-officials-bullying/

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2018, 01:46:18 AM »
Russell Latapy on the attack.
By Andrew Gioannetti (Newsday).

T&T youth coach hits ‘unprofessional’ TTFA boss

UNDER-17 men’s national coach Russell Latapy has accused TT Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams of behaving in an unprofessional manner as it related to a lack of communication and non-payment of salaries and perks owed to him and the management team.

Newsday was forwarded an email issued yesterday by Latapy which was addressed to John-Williams. The email was copied to the TTFA technical director, general secretary and board members. In the email, Latapy queried the TTFA chief’s failure to address the matter of unpaid salaries during his tenure as head coach of the U-17 team.

“I write again in regard to the outstanding salary and car allowance payments. I’ve been emailing and calling you daily, with little or no response,” the former T&T and FC Porto midfielder wrote.

“This is unprofessional and unacceptable at best, as you have not acknowledged any communications regarding team matters, nor outstanding salaries and allowances. On the rare occasion you have accepted my call, it is brief with the promise to return the call to address my outstanding payments and matters pertaining to my team, which to date I still await,” he added.

In April, John-Williams injured himself after falling and hurting his ribs. Newsday was told by the TTFA that the accident took place at John-Williams’ home. The TTFA head has been recovering at his home, and with a medical clearance, he has since missed an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM), where he was expected to be questioned by board members about the TTFA’s financial statements, his involvement in the Home of Football project, the financial status of the project and other matters. The rescheduled EGM is carded for next Wednesday.

“This has been occurring before your unfortunate incident, and now you have left me with little recourse, but to copy the Technical Director, General Secretary and Board members in this communication to you,” Latapy wrote.

Latapy could not be reached for further comment yesterday.

However, Newsday contacted National Super League president and board member Keith Look Loy, who has been vocal in asking for transparency in financial matters of the TTFA. He also said if information is not forthcoming he would seek assistance from the police. Asked what steps the board will take if John-Williams fails to attend the EGM, Look Loy said: “We will elect a chairperson and proceed with business. Motions on a range of financial issues will be tabled.” He added that there may be a motion of no confidence calling on John-Williams and his officers to resign.

“Where is the FIFA and sponsorship money going?” Look Loy asked.

RELATED NEWS

Latapy: “This is unprofessional and unacceptable!” T&T U-20 coach urges DJW to address debts to technical staff.
Wired868.com

“I write again in regard to the outstanding salary and car allowance payments. I’ve been emailing and calling you daily, with little or no response.

“This is unprofessional and unacceptable at best…”

The following email was sent by Trinidad and Tobago National Under-20 Team coach Russell Latapy to Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams on 8 June 2018:

Good Morning David,

I write again in regard to the outstanding salary and car allowance payments. I’ve been emailing and calling you daily, with little or no response.

This is unprofessional and unacceptable at best, as you have not acknowledged any communications regarding team matters, nor outstanding salaries and allowances.  On the rare occasion you have accepted my call, it is brief with the promise to return the call to address my outstanding payments and matters pertaining to my team, which to date I still await.

This has been occurring before your unfortunate incident, and now you have left me with little recourse, but to copy the Technical Director, General Secretary and Board members in this communication to you.

I await your feedback as it relates to my team members and myself.

Regards,
Russell Latapy.

Editor’s Note: Wired868 contacted TTFA president David John-Williams for response to Russell Latapy’s letter. We also asked for details on how many technical staff members are owed by the TTFA at present, the reason for the financial issues and how the local football body plans to address them.

Up to the time of publication, we had not received a response.

« Last Edit: June 12, 2018, 04:55:10 AM by Flex »

« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2018, 01:43:16 AM »
DJW: Latapy’s letter doesn’t “reflect our efforts”; Latapy: “We have differing perceptions”
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) president David John-Williams has promised to honour the local body’s debt and outstanding salary payments to National Under-20 Team coach Russell Latapy.

However, the beleaguered president has suggested that the former football icon and 2006 World Cup player did not properly reflect the communication between the pair in an email last Friday, which was leaked to Wired868.

“Disparaging excerpts of your communication to the Board has [sic] now made its way into the public domain,” John-Williams wrote to Latapy, in an email on Sunday, “which in no way reflects our efforts to date and sheds a less than favourable light on both myself and the TTFA.”

Latapy, in his own response, stood by his initial email but expressed hope “that these issues are addressed and resolved as soon as possible.”

The tense exchange is a spin-off from the TTFA’s current economic issues, which are believed to be linked to John-Williams’ failure to have his 2016 financial statement approved—his first year in office as football president.

At present, the football body can receive up to TT$9.7 million a year from FIFA, which is an unprecedented largesse from the world governing body. It is uncertain whether such funding has been halted due to an impasse between John-Williams and the TTFA membership over his financial stewardship and inability to provide detail on several projects including the Home of Football—a technical development centre and hotel, adjacent to the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva.

According to information that John-Williams forwarded to the TTFA Board on Sunday, the local football body is eligible to receive up to:

- US$750,000 per year for football projects such as pitches, competitions and women’s football.

- US$500,000 per year for running costs in areas including administration and governance and football programmes.

- US$175,000 per year to cover travel cost, so its various national teams can compete in international games and competition.

- US$100,000 over four years as an equipment solidarity fund, which can only be used, for equipment as stated.

- None of this money can be used to service debts.

Three years ago, then TTFA general secretary Sheldon Phillip gave a budget of TT$10 million to run the entire football body with all teams in training at once. At present, the TTFA can access most of that money from FIFA funding alone, without counting a NLCB contract for another TT$2 million annually or gate receipts, television rights and other sponsorship options.

Yet, the John-Williams-led body has racked up a considerable debt to technical staff and players during his two and a half year term so far.

Eight months after the biggest result of his tenure, Wired868 understands that the TTFA has still not paid players their bonuses for a shock 2-1 win over the United States in Couva, which eliminated the North American giants from the Russia 2018 World Cup campaign.

And the Women’s National Senior Team are believed to have had a debt settled in mid-tournament last month, after threatening to strike.

Latapy’s own frustration bubbled over last Friday, when he emailed John-Williams and copied in the entire TTFA Board.

“I write again in regard to the outstanding salary and car allowance payments,” said Latapy. “I’ve been emailing and calling you daily, with little or no response. This is unprofessional and unacceptable at best, as you have not acknowledged any communications regarding team matters, nor outstanding salaries and allowances.

“On the rare occasion you have accepted my call, it is brief with the promise to return the call to address my outstanding payments and matters pertaining to my team, which to date I still await.

“This has been occurring before your unfortunate incident, and now you have left me with little recourse, but to copy the Technical Director, General Secretary and Board members in this communication to you. I await your feedback as it relates to my team members and myself.”

John-Williams’ response was swift—on this occasion—but the president said only that he spoke to Latapy just two days earlier.

“Your email in noted. For the record I did speak to you by telephone on Wednesday,” said John-Williams.

Latapy replied again to stress that their midweek phone call did not negate his concerns about their supposedly poor communication.

“As mentioned in my previous email,” Latapy said, “we briefly spoke: ‘On the rare occasion you have accepted my call, it is brief with the promise to return the call to address my outstanding payments and matters pertaining to my team, which to date I still await’.

“You requested documents which were sent. I am still awaiting your acknowledgment of receipt and feedback regarding the monies owed as you promised in that said conversation on Wednesday morning.

“The promise you made for feedback by Wednesday night I still have not received. This continues to be unresolved.”

John-Williams’ initial response to Latapy was despatched just five minutes after Wired868 published the coach’s grouse. By the following day, the letter had also hit the mainstream media.

The TTFA president contacted his national youth team coach again to express his disappointment at that fact.

“Firstly, I acknowledge receipt of the documents requested on June 6th 2018,” said John-Williams. “I note the position that you have now taken since our last conversation on June 6th and I respect your decision.

“In my capacity as President of the TTFA, while not happy, I am very comfortable that the TTFA has made all reasonable efforts to address your situation, and of which we frequently keep you appraised.

“Disparaging excerpts of your communication to the Board has now made its way into the public domain  which in no way reflects our efforts to date and sheds a less than favourable light on both myself and the TTFA.

“Notwithstanding the foregoing we wish to assure you that this Administration will continue to pursue every effort to honour the large debt we inherited, and your outstanding salary.”

On Monday morning, Latapy accepted John-Williams’ olive branch but stressed that he did not believe he misrepresented their previous communication.

“Your email is acknowledged,” stated Latapy. “It is apparent, based on the statements in your last email, that we have differing perceptions of this situation.

“My hope is that these issues are addressed and resolved as soon as possible.”

According to another John-Williams’ release on the weekend, the TTFA owed Latapy over TT$7 million for his previous stint as National Senior Team head coach during the tenure of president Oliver Camps and special advisor Jack Warner.

It is uncertain how much of that figure was reduced during John-Williams’ tenure.

At present, the TTFA is facing over TT$10 million in lawsuits from former employees like coaches Stephen Hart, Carolina Morace and Clayton Morris—all related to decisions made by the John-Williams-led body.

« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 01:46:31 AM by Flex »

« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2018, 12:49:04 AM »
Latapy: Let me do my job.
By Stephon Nicholas (Newsday).

T&T U-20s stalled amid non-payment of salaries

NATIONAL Under-20 men’s coach Russell Latapy is pleading with the TT Football Association (TTFA) to “just let me do my job.”

Latapy, in an interview with Newsday on Tuesday to discuss the preparation of the team for the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 Championship in November in Florida, shockingly revealed no training has been held since the team was eliminated from the group stage of the Central America and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Colombia on July 24.

With just over two months to go to battle for a spot in the CONCACAF Men’s U-20 Championships semi-finals, and more importantly one of the top four spots to the 2019 FIFA U-20 Men’s World Cup in Poland, the team is at a standstill.

Latapy said he and his technical staff are frustrated and unable to work as non-payment of salaries is beginning to affect morale and their ability to work properly.

“Some of my staff have not been paid for almost a year,” Latapy revealed.

The legendary former attacking midfielder said he has held discussions with the TTFA on the issues affecting the team and they have promised to work on it but still no relief has been forthcoming.

Latapy said the situation has seriously affected their preparation for the Under-20 Championships.

At the CAC Games he said he and his technical staff identified areas of weakness that needed to be addressed but have been able to do so as time continues to be wasted.

Asked what is the mood of the camp, Latapy said he and his staff are all committed to the team but need the required support.

“The only reason I haven’t quit the job yet is because I believe in these boys,” Latapy said. The 50 year old said he accepts that wins and losses will enhance or tarnish his resume, but said it is unfair that other factors might affect his team’s performance on the field.

He revealed he is not currently on speaking terms with TTFA president David John-Williams but said it is still possible to have a good working relationship. “My brother (Justin Latapy-George) is the secretary of the FA, I get along well with certain members but I haven’t spoken to David John-Williams in a long time,” Latapy said.

The youth coach said, however, a professional relationship is more important than a personal one and he sees no reason why their lack of communication should affect the team as both parties should be interested in the good of the game.

Salaries not being paid on time is nothing new to the TTFA as several past coaches – including Latapy – have had to sue the local football association to get their just due.

The list of coaches and administrators who’ve sought legal action in the past includes Stephen Hart (ex-TT coach), Wim Rijsbergen (ex-TT coach), Anton Corneal, Kendall Walkes and Sheldon Phillips (administrators).

If Latapy walks away, he will be the second national coach to quit in recent times.

Earlier this month, women’s coach Jamaal Shabazz walked away from the job less than three weeks before the final round of the Caribbean Women World Cup qualifiers which begins on Saturday.

Just recently, another national youth team’s training and preparation went to naught as the TTFA failed to get US visas on time for the CONCACAF Under 15 Girls Championship in Florida.

The TTFA president refused to take the blame for his organisation’s tardiness in attempting to secure the visas and hinted that it was possibly time CONCACAF identifies different venues other than the US to host these tournaments.

US Embassy Chargé d’Affaires John McIntyre rebuked John-Williams publicly for that remark, saying the situation arose because of “poor planning” and the TTFA “dropping the ball” in conducting their duties.

TTFA mum on U-20 coaches’ salary woes
« Reply #16 on: August 25, 2018, 09:01:06 AM »
TTFA mum on U-20 coaches’ salary woes
By Joel Bailey (T&T Newsday)

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) have remained mum on the issue regarding the non-payment of salaries for the technical staff of the national men’s Under-20 team.

Coach Russell Latapy, who was dubbed ‘the Little Magician’ during his decorated playing career, is being asked to work another piece of magic as he prepares the team for the CONCACAF Men’s Under-20 Championship in Florida, United States in November.

He revealed in an interview with Newsday earlier this week that the team has not had a training session since their participation at the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games in Barranquilla, Colombia in July.

According to the former men’s team playmaker, captain and coach, “Some of my staff have not been paid for almost a year.”

TTFA general secretary, Justin Latapy-George, offered no comment when contacted yesterday while repeated efforts to reach TTFA president, David John-Williams, proved futile up to press time last evening.