March 18, 2024, 08:35:57 PM

Author Topic: U.S. World Cup hopes end after shambolic loss to T&T.  (Read 6282 times)

U.S. World Cup hopes end after shambolic loss to T&T.
« on: October 11, 2017, 01:52:52 AM »
U.S. World Cup hopes end after shambolic loss to T&T.
By Jeff Carlisle (espnfc).

COUVA, Trinidad -- With World Cup qualification seemingly in their grasp, the Americans lost 2-1 to Trinidad and Tobago on Tuesday night. Coupled with Honduras' 3-2 victory over Mexico and Panama's 2-1 victory over Costa Rica, the U.S. finished fifth in CONCACAF's Hexagonal round, out of the running to qualify for Russia 2018.

Here are three thoughts on a humiliating night in Trinidad.

1. World Cup dream is over

There's no other way to describe it: This was a debacle on a countless number of levels.

The task seemed straightforward enough -- avoid defeat and you're in. But as it has so often during this World Cup cycle, the U.S. insisted on making life as difficult as possible and now has paid the ultimate price, failing to qualify for the World Cup for the first time since the 1986 cycle.

The Americans fell behind in the 17th minute on an own goal by Omar Gonzalez. Alvin Jones doubled the home side's advantage 20 minutes later with a 30-yard blast that cleanly beat U.S. keeper Tim Howard.

Even worse was that Trinidad and Tobago was fully deserving of its lead. U.S. striker Jozy Altidore missed a massive opportunity in the seventh minute when he blasted a shot over the crossbar, but after that, the Soca Warriors were stringing passes all over the Ato Boldon Stadium pitch, making the U.S. chase. The home side was also finding opportunities in transition, which was the last thing the U.S. wanted given T&T's speed and athleticism.

The Americans looked slow and lethargic and showed none of the energy that characterized their 4-0 hammering of Panama four days earlier. Certainly, the sparse crowd meant there was little atmosphere in the stadium initially, though it grew more lively as the game wore on. But with a World Cup berth on the line, one would have expected more urgency from the U.S. players, yet not enough was on display.

Manager Bruce Arena brought on Clint Dempsey for the disappointing Paul Arriola, and the U.S. was soon back in the match as Christian Pulisic's drive from distance in the 47th minute halved the deficit.

The game became a track meet thereafter, with the U.S. pressing and T&T trying to strike on the counter. Howard kept the U.S. in the match, saving Shahdon Winchester's shot midway through the second half. Dempsey hit the post in the 77th minute with a shot from distance. Bobby Wood was denied late on a fine save by T&T keeper Adrian Foncette.

That was as close as the U.S. got. Now it will have the coming months to contemplate how this World Cup qualification got away.

2. The most embarrassing performance in U.S. history?

No doubt, yes.

Heading into the match, everything was lining up for the U.S. to qualify; only a massive collapse would prevent qualification. A win would clinch the third and final qualification spot, while the colossal U.S. advantage in goal differential over Panama (seven) and Honduras (12) meant a tie would almost certainly do the trick.

Only a loss and an outright win by either the Canaleros or the Catrachos could knock the U.S. out of third place. T&T, meanwhile, was already eliminated, with manager Dennis Lawrence opting mostly for younger players in a bid to build for the future.

Yet the U.S. somehow contrived to blow this opportunity. Yes, the Americans have suffered humbling defeats before. Heck, the 1980s were littered with them. But this defeat stands alone.

Yes, the U.S. has lost to T&T before, but that was during the 2010 cycle when progress from the semifinal round was already assured. This time the U.S had everything to gain. But it also had plenty to lose, and evidently that was too much of a burden for an emotionally fragile team to carry.

3. Arena's legacy will be tarnished

As brutal as this is on the players, it is also a humiliating moment for Arena. Yes, he took over this team when it was already in a two-game hole in the Hex, but looking at the totality of his tenure, he was no more effective in inspiring this squad than predecessor Jurgen Klinsmann.

At least Klinsmann could take solace in the fact that, against Mexico and in Costa Rica, he lost two games that are among the three most difficult in the Hex (only away to Mexico is tougher). Arena oversaw a loss to Costa Rica at home and this embarrassment to Trinidad and Tobago.

And for all the talk of the U.S. being unable to take care of business at home, the road did them no favors either. Arena has built an impressive legacy for himself over the years, but that will be dwarfed in many ways by this team's failure to qualify.

RELATED NEWS

Perfect Storm of Hex Results Eliminates USA from 2018 World Cup Contention After 2-1 Loss in T&T.
USSOCCER.COM

COUVA, Trinidad & Tobago (Oct. 10, 2017) – With an unlikely combination of results in the final Matchday of CONCACAF Qualifying, the U.S. Men’s National Team was eliminated from contention for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

After falling 2-1 to Trinidad & Tobago, the doomsday combination of a Honduras victory against Mexico (3-2) and a Panama win over Costa Rica (2-1) dropped the U.S. from third to fifth place in the Hexagonal. Panama qualified directly with its third place finish, while Honduras will face off against Australia in the intercontinental playoff.

A pair of improbable goals from the Socca Warriors in the first half gave the hosts a 2-0 lead and put the USA in the difficult position of needing to break down an opponent that kept 10 men behind the ball in the second half.

Christian Pulisic cut the deficit in half just minutes into the second stanza when his strike from the top of the box in the 47th minute found the back of the net. The U.S. continued to push forward and created numerous quality chances, but Trinidad goalkeeper Adrian Fonette was up to the task as he pulled off impressive saves to keep the lead.

Pulisic, Omar Gonzalez, Bobby Wood, and Darlington Nagbe all saw chances denied at the last moment by Fonette, while half-time substitute Clint Dempsey saw one of his two great chances hit the post flush and bounce out as time wound down.

Goal Scoring Rundown:

TRI – Omar Gonzalez (own goal), 17th minute: A Trinidad & Tobago attack down the USA’s left flank resulted in a fluke own goal when Alvin Jones centered a ball for Shahdon Winchester that was beyond his reach but ricocheted off Omar Gonzalez’s outstretched foot, looping into the top right corner of U.S. goalkeeper Tim Howard’s net for the shock lead.
USA 0, TRI 1

TRI – Alvin Jones (Nathan Lewis), 36th minute: Receiving a pass from Nathan Lewis, Jones took a touch before unleashing a speculative drive nearly 30 yards out from goal. The shot from the right side of the field swerved wildly away from the center of goal, finding the left side netting. USA 0, TRI 2

USA – Christian Pulisic (Darlington Nagbe), 47th minute: Nagbe won the ball just outside the Socca Warriors’ box and played a quick pass to Pulisic, whose first touch set him up to rip a shot through traffic from just outside the top of the penalty arc across the face of goal into the top left corner. USA 1, TRI 2

Key Saves and Defensive Stops:

USA – Tim Howard, 44th minute: Having found his luck with one long-distance strike already, Jones sent a free kick from 40 yards out near the right sideline blistering toward the U.S. goal. The shot dipped just inside the six-yard box and took a nasty bounce off the choppy turf, nearly wrong-footing Howard, who held up just enough to get his shoulder to the ball and keep it out. His job not done, Howard tracked the rebound as it rolled to the left of the goal, knocking it away from Winchester with a well-executed sliding tackle.

USA – DeAndre Yedlin, 49th minute: A Trinidad attack up the right wing worked its way into the USA box but was snuffed out at the last minute by a sliding block from Yedlin to deny Nathan Lewis at the left post from four yards out with Howard down.

USA – DeAndre Yedlin, 58th minute: It was a great recovery by Yedlin to chase down Nathan Lewis and get in a last-minute sliding tackle to deny a point blank shot on goal after the speedy Socca Warriors’ attacker had gotten free down the U.S. left flank.

USA – Tim Howard 63rd minute: As the game opened up with the U.S. pushing forward for an equalizer, the ball was lifted into the U.S. box for a shot from the middle of the penalty area that Howard got down well to kick away.

TRI – Adrian Foncette, 69th minute: A well-executed set play by the USA saw Michael Bradley play the ball toward the top of the Soca Warriors’ box. Dempsey met the pass and sent a chipped shot toward the top left corner but Foncette just got a hand to tip it over the bar.

TRI – Adrian Foncette, 77th minute: As the U.S. carved out another attack, Foncette was finally beaten by a low effort from the top of the box by Dempsey. As it was headed for the lower left corner, a sprawling Foncette made a fingernail save down to his left to deflect the shot onto the post.

TRI – Adrian Foncette, 88th minute: With its last best chance to knot the score at 2-2, Bobby Wood evaded his marker and met Pulisic’s cross to send a downward header bouncing toward the right side of goal, but Foncette got down quick to push the point blank header around the post.

NOTES:

The U.S. MNT moved to 18-3-4 all-time vs. Trinidad & Tobago, 13-2-3 in World Cup Qualifying and 4-2-2 in away qualifiers.

Altidore and Michael Bradley appeared in 15 of the team’s 16 CONCACAF qualifiers for Russia 2018.
    The Toronto FC pair also joined left back Jorge Villafaña in making their team-leading 14th appearances of 2017.

While he recorded five goals and four assists in qualifying matches this year, in one way or another, Christian Pulisic has been involved in 12 of the 17 goals scored by the U.S. during the Final Round of 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying.

In order to get the gameday roster down to 23 players, defender Michael Orozco and midfielder Juan Agudelo did not dress for tonight’s match.

- U.S. Men’s National Team Match Report -

Match: U.S. Men’s National Team vs. Trinidad & Tobago

Date: Oct. 10, 2017
Competition: 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifying – Final Round
Venue: Ato Boldon Stadium; Couva, Trinidad
Kickoff: 8 p.m. ET
Attendance: TBC
Weather: 80 degrees; mostly clear

Scoring Summary:

TRI – Own Goal (Omar Gonzalez) 17th minute
TRI – Alvin Jones (Nathan Lewis) 37
USA – Christian Pulisic  47

Lineups:

USA: 1-Tim Howard, 2-DeAndre Yedlin, 3-Omar Gonzalez, 5-Matt Besler, 15-Jorge Villafaña (23-Kellyn Acosta, 72), 4-Michael Bradley (capt.), 21-Paul Arriola (8-Clint Dempsey, 46), 10-Christian Pulisic, 6-Darlington Nagbe (16-Benny Feilhaber, 84), 9-Bobby Wood, 17-Jozy Altidore

Subs not used: 12-Brad Guzan, 22-Nick Rimando, 7-DaMarcus Beasley, 11-Alejandro Bedoya, 13-Dax McCarty, 14-Tim Ream, 18-Chris Wondolowski, 19-Graham Zusi, 20-Geoff Cameron

Head coach: Bruce Arena

TRI: 22-Adrian Foncette, 5-Daneil Cyrus, 7-Nathan Lewis, 8-Khaleem Hyland (capt.), 9-Shahdon Winchester (20-Trevin Caesar, 78), 13-Curtis Gonzales, 16-Levi Garcia (3-Joevin Jones, 72), 17-Alvin Jones, 18-Triston Hodge (4-Kevon Villaroel, 81), 19-Kevan George, 23-Leston Paul

Subs not used: 1-Glenroy Samuel, 21-Gregory Ranjitsingh, 2-Kareem Moses, 6-Josiah Trimmingham, 10-Karl Duane Muckette, 11-Neil Benjamin, 12-Kathon St. Hillaire, 14-Akeem Roach, 15-Jared London

Head coach: Dennis Lawrence

Stats Summary: USA / TRI

Shots: 15 / 11
Shots on Goal: 6 / 5
Saves: 3 / 5
Corner Kicks: 5 / 2
Fouls: 18 / 11
Offside: 3 / 3

Misconduct Summary:

TRI – Triston Hodge (caution)  68th minute
USA – Omar Gonzalez (caution)  90+1
TRI – Joevin Jones (caution)  90+3
USA – Matt Besler (caution)  90+5

Referee: Juan Carlos Guerra (GUA)

USA's Haunting World Cup Qualifying Failure Emits Blame, Shock and Calls for Change.
By Grant Wahl (si.com).

COUVA, Trinidad and Tobago — Let’s be perfectly clear: The most embarrassing failure in U.S. Soccer history was consummated on Tuesday night in a near-empty stadium in the Caribbean tropics, culminating in a soul-crushing 2-1 defeat to a last-place opponent in which the U.S. men’s national team had only needed a win or a tie to qualify for World Cup 2018.

But this miasma of futility—causing the U.S. to miss the World Cup for the first time since 1986—was only the endpoint of a long series of felonies and misdemeanors over the last 12 months in Columbus, Ohio, and in San Jose, Costa Rica; in Harrison, N.J., and in San Pedro Sula, Honduras. The dateline for the autopsy of this U.S. team may read Couva, a tiny town that no U.S. soccer fan will ever forget, but the seeds for this dark day were planted in several locations.

When it comes down to it, CONCACAF is a frighteningly forgiving region for World Cup qualifying. Mexico qualified for Brazil 2014 after winning just two of 10 Hexagonal games. The U.S. was eliminated from Russia 2018 after just three victories in 10 qualifiers. The Americans started with a giant margin for error and then proceeded to whittle it down, in chunks large and small, from two opening defeats to last month’s home loss to Costa Rica to the finishing blow on Tuesday—a catastrophic capitulation to a team that had lost six straight Hexagonal games.

Afterward, players fought back tears. One of them was defender Omar Gonzalez, who saw the hosts’ first goal bounce off his shin and into the U.S. net for an own goal.

“It’s one that will haunt me forever,” he said. “I never thought I would see this day. It’s the worst day of my career … What was supposed to be a celebration is now … I don’t even know what to say. It’s terrible. I just want to say sorry to all the fans that were pulling for us, that wanted to go to Russia, that believed in us. We let down an entire nation today.”

Another player who was disconsolate was forward Jozy Altidore, who made little impact on the game.

“If you don’t look at yourself after this individually,” he said, “I think you’re f---ed up in the head.”

U.S. captain Michael Bradley had 90 minutes by himself in doping control after the game to digest the doomsday scenario that had just played out; a U.S. loss combined with Panama and Honduras wins was the only way the Americans could be eliminated.

“It was a perfect storm kind of night,” he said after emerging. “Everything that could have possibly gone wrong did, in this stadium and in two other stadiums across the region. To give away the first goal like that [on an own goal] is a killer. It comes from nothing and it ultimately gives them life, gives them energy. It means that all of the sudden they believe, that there’s something there for them. The second goal, the guy [Alvin Jones] hits a great shot that flies into the far corner … We got back to 2-1 and at that point couldn’t make a play to unlock them, couldn’t get the final pass, the final shot, the final action. You can go around in circles a million times over again. But the reality is it was all there for us, and we have nobody to blame but ourselves.”

He’s right. The U.S. deserved to drop all the points it did during this miserable qualifying campaign. There were no horrible referee calls that changed results, no bad bounces that somehow rolled into the goal. Trinidad and Tobago, like Costa Rica before it, realized that this U.S. team could be beaten if you sat back, soaked up pressure and picked the right spots to move forward and threaten the goal. The U.S. proved time and again that it didn’t have the ability to break down a team defending that way. You can’t ask 19-year-old Christian Pulisic—who scored the U.S. goal on Tuesday—to do everything.

“Teams certainly have shown they’re going to sit back and frustrate us,” said U.S. goalkeeper Tim Howard. “So you’re probably going to need to break some teams down. Until we do that, teams won’t come out of their shell.”

Under Arena, the U.S. had appeared to recover much of its old identity—namely, being hard to play against as a unit—between March and June. But that identity mysteriously disappeared again in three of the last four qualifying games over the past month.

“Collectively one through 11, we weren’t able to defend well enough,” said Altidore. “You can’t go and score four or five goals every game. We have to be able to be hard to play against. We weren’t hard enough to play against too many times.”

Most of the U.S. players appeared shellshocked. When the Netherlands was eliminated from the World Cup on Tuesday, the Dutch players knew it was coming, since they had to win by an unrealistic seven goals over Sweden. But the Americans fully expected to qualify for Russia on Tuesday, and at the very least they thought they’d be heading to the intercontinental playoff against Australia. Full elimination wasn’t in the picture, and their dazed looks suggested they were having trouble processing it.

A full reckoning will now have to take place by U.S. Soccer. Arena’s days are numbered, for one thing. He took responsibility for the failure after the game, as he should have: The home loss to Costa Rica and Tuesday’s fiasco were inexcusable.

“I’m clearly very disappointed,” he said. “We had everything there for us today … We should not be staying home from this World Cup.”

But Arena wouldn’t go so far to say that major changes should take place in U.S. Soccer.

“There’s nothing wrong with what we’re doing,” he argued. “Certainly, I think if our league continues to grow it benefits the national team program. We have some good players coming up. Nothing has to change. To make any kind of crazy changes I think would be foolish. We’re building a consistent professional league. We have players playing abroad of a certain quality. There’s enough there. There’s no excuses for us to not qualify for the World Cup.”

As Arena spoke, U.S. Soccer president Sunil Gulati sat nearby with a blank look on his face, as if he didn’t know what had hit him.

“Extremely disappointed,” he said. “We certainly expected to qualify throughout the process and especially after Friday night [a 4-0 win over Panama]. So it’s a huge disappointment for everybody: The players, the staff, the coaches, for the federation. It’s not good enough, obviously.”

But when Gulati was pressed on whether wholesale changes were necessary after this debacle, he shook his head.

“So wholesale changes aren’t needed if the ball that hits off the post [from Clint Dempsey] goes in?” he said. “You don’t make wholesale changes based on the ball being two inches wide or two inches in. We’ll look at everything, obviously, and all our programs, both the national team and all the development stuff. But we’ve got a lot of pieces in place that we think are very good and have been coming along. Tonight obviously wasn’t what we hoped for.”

Yet this American failure wasn’t due to one shot hitting the post. It was due to repeated fatal flaws that were exposed time and again over the last 12 months. If you can’t qualify from one of the easiest and most forgiving regional competitions on Earth, how are you going to compete at a World Cup? It remains to be seen now whether Gulati will run for reelection in February—and whether he’ll have a chance to win if he does. The drumbeat for change, real change, will ring loudly now.

At the same time, be wary of those who promise easy answers for complex problems. Too many people in the U.S. soccer community think there are lightning-bolt answers—Promotion and relegation! Send all the youngsters to Europe!—that will solve everything. They won’t. There should be an honest discussion, though, of the factors that led to this day that will live in infamy. It will take some time.

On Tuesday night, though, everyone was still processing the shock and what had led to it.

“We dropped too many points on too many days,” Bradley said. “We put ourselves at a disadvantage from the very beginning when we lost the first two games. When you lose the first two games and drop points on too many days, your margin for error goes. So you know you’re at the mercy of a night like this where everything possible goes against you, both here and in the two other games.

“That’s just reality. That’s on us.”

And then Bradley walked away, by himself, into the darkness and an uncertain future for U.S. Soccer.

USMNT's failure to make the World Cup is the biggest embarrassment in U.S. sports history
By: Andrew Joseph (usatoday).

It’s been 31 years since May 31, 1986 — the last World Cup that didn’t feature the United States. That’s 11,456 days of progress for a sport that’s come so far in a country that still hasn’t fully embraced it.

All of that gone.

With U.S. soccer’s dreadful 2-1 loss to Trinidad and Tobago on the final day of CONCACAF’s qualifying hexagonal for the 2018 World Cup, next summer’s tournament will not feature the USMNT. No Christian Pulisic. No Tim Howard. No Michael Bradley. With that loss, the USMNT gave a nation the lowest point in its sporting history, and it’s not really close.

CONCACAF is a grind, but compared to the other qualifying regions, the 3.5 World Cup spots out of six teams mean that the United States should be a lock to qualify. When it beat Panama, 4-0, on Friday, the U.S. put itself in position to escape a lackluster qualifying round with a spot in the tournament. All it really needed to do was take care of business at lowly Trinidad and Tobago.

They couldn’t even do that. With no sense of urgency, USMNT players and coaches had to watch as their CONCACAF counterparts did them no favors. Four years after the USMNT saved Mexico’s World Cup dreams, El Tri instead blew a lead to Honduras and helped seal the USMNT’s fate. Costa Rica also blew a lead to Panama on a goal that shouldn’t have counted and gave up a late winner as the U.S. decided to score-watch rather than take matters into its own hands. A mostly empty stadium in Couva, Trinidad and Tobago, felt even emptier on this night.

It’s really difficult to quantify how bad this loss was for U.S. Soccer. Sunil Gulati and Bruce Arena should both be gone. Tim Howard, whose last World Cup appearance was a legendary performance, will likely leave U.S. Soccer with the lasting image of his worst performance with the national team. As bad as things got for the USMNT, the possibility of missing the World Cup didn’t actually seem real. It’s that arrogance that likely brought the team to where it is right now — out of the World Cup. When U.S. soccer legend Alexi Lalas called out the USMNT, its biggest star, Pulisic, laughed off the attempted gut-check rant.

But when it comes down to it, though, the sport of soccer in the U.S. is going to feel the lasting effects the most. Every World Cup is an opportunity to grow the sport on the biggest stage.

Even the growth from 2010, to 2014, to now has been tremendous. A nation went crazy when Landon Donovan sent the USMNT into the Round of 16 with his late winner in 2010 (a loss would have meant an early trip home). A nation went crazy when John Brooks put the U.S. ahead against Ghana in 2014, as he ran around not fully processing what he had done.

Those moments forge memories and make lifelong fans of the sport. It creates momentum that makes it possible for an MLS team to draw 71,000 fans for a regular season match. Those moments inspire a young fan to kick around a soccer ball rather than throw a football. Those moments make it possible for a 19-year-old wonderkid to break through into the next level of international stardom.

That’s not happening anymore. It’s five years — at best — of the USMNT out of the forefront of American sports. All because U.S. soccer let 95 minutes of arrogance erase 31 years of progress.

And that is truly a shame.

Video - Trinidad and Tobago vs USA 2-1 ● Goals & Highlights Goles y Resumen ● 10 October 2017 HD

« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 05:46:17 AM by Flex »

Re: U.S. World Cup hopes end after shambolic loss to T&T.
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2017, 03:03:35 AM »

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 03:07:45 AM »
All because U.S. soccer let 95 minutes of arrogance erase 31 years of progress.

Overblown. Allyuh just got beat. Change is needed. Just like change is needed in the TTFA.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 03:09:18 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 03:24:15 AM »
But honestly speaking, the Panama-CR game is real fishy. That Panama goal appeared not to have gone in. The US might have reason to complain.

« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2017, 05:29:59 AM »
But honestly speaking, the Panama-CR game is real fishy. That Panama goal appeared not to have gone in. The US might have reason to complain.
Blame    a. Obama b. Jack Warner c. Concacaf corruption  d. Commentator calling Couva, Cove- R  e. Hurricane Jones f. All of the above

« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2017, 05:34:12 AM »
None of the above. The goal eh score. But until the bring goal-line tech. to the game, Panama win by "scoring a goal". But I glad for Panama, the messed up the last time around.

« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2017, 07:51:56 AM »
I was very impress with  Foncette, Gonzales, Hodge, Alvin and especially Winchester, I love his mobility, his runs in the box and how he can break behind defence,, he impove a lot in Mexico.

Alvin Jiones nearly score de two same goals from free kick, ah couldn't believe he was going for another one and Levi coulda get a penalty to. Alvin know that field well.

If Hyland copuld play like he did vs Mexico and USA in de last two games, we good.

Nathan Lewis is a decent player going forward, but play a dunce brand, he gives away the ball to many time and Cyrus to, even though Cyrus was tops yesterday defensively.

Good brand of football, by Lawrence, no setta high ball, we knock, but to all fairness, USA wasn't them self, cause we backline still suspect.

USA.....  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 08:03:16 AM by Sam »

« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2017, 08:20:56 AM »
This man gone off he head

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tgFh729L2oA#action=share

Good going T&T

« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2017, 09:50:54 AM »
George is we most intelligent player.  Ah forgot to mention him.

Paul was decent to.

« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2017, 10:25:05 AM »

« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2017, 01:20:01 PM »
you want to know what is the most disheartening thing about this victory? the fact that no one including our own fans gave the coach and the lads any credit for the result. the yanks went on and on about how it was their inherent right to defeat us, even when the record showed that they don't travel well and how they have never beaten us at home by more that a one goal margin with a dog fight on their hands yet twellman bob lee and all the other pundits never said kudos to Dennis Lawrence and his staff for cooking up a well thought out plan.

if they had done their home work then they would have seen that it took Mexico till the 88th minute to take the lead from this team on friday and would not have waltz in expecting to clubber us in our own back yard, but no such luck this time and it couldn't come any more convenient time than at this juncture. they underestimated us for far too long, I bet now that they would handle us with better care in the future even though we never get another victory over them.

« Reply #12 on: October 11, 2017, 01:28:43 PM »
Ps. and all the dennis lawrence naysayers who thought that he should have been fired or replaced for a better coach, I hope you enjoyed your plate of crow. the ones who claimed we were good for 3 4 and 5 goals, remember I pull stones told you it would never happen at least not at home because I watch every game and we were never dominated under dennis lawrence like we had in previous times and was very unlucky not to get many calls in this whole hex that could have changed the results drastically.

keep on working hard coach lawrence the best man for the job, you have my full support. and one more thing, where's the conspirators who said that the federation president is being paid to sell out to the usa and mexico, some selling out he did last night.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2017, 01:49:23 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #13 on: October 11, 2017, 01:42:19 PM »
Omar 'OG' 'Own Goal' Gonzalez   :devil:

« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2017, 01:51:53 PM »

Look at Twellman meltdown after USA loss  :rotfl: 

https://twitter.com/ESPNFC/status/918110211667140608?s=07

« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2017, 02:20:34 PM »
the man said Belgium played bosnia on a cow pasture.  :rotfl:

Jack feels like partying
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2017, 03:20:20 PM »
Jack feels like partying
By Susan Mohammed (T&T Express)

I WANTED TO PARTY.

This was the reaction of former FIFA Vice President and former CONCACAF President Jack Warner Trinidad and Tobago extermination of the US soccer team's chance at qualifying for World Cup 2018 in Russia.

Warner in an interview on radio on Wednesday said that it was correct to say that Tuesday night's win was “sweet revenge”, in reference to Trinidad and Tobago's loss to USA in 1989, crushing local hopes of qualifying for World Cup 1990 in Italy.

“I have not been in better spirits. This is the happiest day of my life”, said Warner. “It (the win) couldn't have given me great joy”.

The former CONCACAF President said that the US had “reduced football in CONCACAF to a nightmare”.

“They have used their Government to help to dismember FIFA in a way that is unimaginable. And last night on the field of play Trinidad and Tobago reduced them to their knees” he said.

Warner said that the US team was feeling the pressure to qualify for World Cup 2018 in Russia.

“They will continue to undermine (the World Cup in) Qatar for 2022, but they will not succeed. As far as I am concerned this is the beginning of the end for US football”, he said. “Nobody in CONCACAF likes the US.”

He said other teams within the CONCACAF sought to “help one another” but the US team sought to “embarrass them”.

Warner said however that for there to be more football success team coach Dennis Lawrence should rely more and more on local players since the time has come where they can no longer depend on overseas players.

“They (local players) have the commitment and know how to push us forward”, he said.

He added that the team should focus now on building their game towards World Cup 2022 in Qatar.

Warner also said that the win for him was personal payback.

“And for me personally, it has reduced the US to a laughing stock. Last September 27 when the judge ruled against Jack Warner there was a party in the US, they were quite happy”, he said.

“”Knowing that this has happened I wanted to go out and party as they partied last September when a judge ruled against me. I wanted to party. This was my personal feeling”.

RELATED NEWS

Warner: USA has paid a price.
By Shaliza Hassanali (Guardian).

T&Ts victory over the United States is “the best day” of Jack Warner’s life. The former FIFA Vice President, who is facing extradition charges to the United States, described it as a “glowing achievement” and a “feather in the cap” of the team to beat the Americans.

“At the end of the day, after 28 years we have now settled the score with the USA for the first time. You know something, we have beaten them when it hurts the most that they cannot qualify to go to Russia,” Warner said as he weighed in on T&T’s 2-1 victory that ultimately ended all hopes of the USA qualifying for next year’s World Cup.

He said T&T had nothing to gain by beating the USA, “but you know what, God don’t sleep, and they have paid a price for what they have done to football in FIFA, CONCACAF and in the Caribbean.”

The former CONCACAF head also dismissed the ‘River to Russia’ statement, posted by the US Men’s National team Twitter page, as “foolish.” He said he was sure that American players who practiced on the stadium’s saturated grounds on Monday had experienced similar conditions back home. Warner told the T&T Guardian: “We have been blessed. Rain has fallen in Houston, Miami and Dominica and all over the Caribbean and Central America. We have a little flood at the Ato Boldon Stadium and we are taking that as embarrassing ourselves to the world with River to Russia.”

“We make a mountain out of a molehill,” he added.

Warner was also full of praise for head coach Dennis Lawrence, saying T&T needed to rely heavily on its local players, “as you would have more to gain while they are more committed.”

Extradition proceedings are set to resume in the Port-of-Spain Magistrate’s Court after Warner lost his lawsuit challenging his extradition to the United States. He was indicted by US authorities over allegations of racketeering, wire fraud and money-laundering conspiracies spanning 24 years.

« Last Edit: October 12, 2017, 02:09:35 AM by Flex »

« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2017, 09:43:04 PM »
Can't blame the US for the shock.

They have been achieving and overachieving for almost 30 years. Gone are the days when people laughed at US soccer in the 70s and 80s.

They have a multi million dollar league and are simply used to a level of success we in TT know very little of. OUr only victory previous to this in a WC qualifier was when they had already qualified.

I felt like that 25 odd years ago when J'ca eliminated us from the qualifiers. It was worse when in less than one week we lost to Bermuda AND Guyana and again got kicked out. In recent years, we can't even make the top two in the C'bbn and struggle vs Martinique and Haiti. We even getting C'bbn cut tail at Jr. level. We have become food for our C'bbn rivals instead of instilling fear and respect.

I stopped ranting long time. Got used to the underachievement.

The US obviously are not and they have to go through a period of closure and recovery. Make no doubt they will recover. Teams like France, England and Holland have failed to qualify for the WC in the last 25 years and come back. The US will as well.

We on the other hand, have to worry about not self destructing against opposition like Guyana, Bermuda and Haiti.

But on Tuesday night, I put all that aside. I urged my Warriors on for no other reason than pride. That game WAS my World Cup.

Thanks for putting a smile on my face.

Offline Kingk

• Warriors 4ever
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2017, 10:17:17 PM »
 Leaders of T&T football why can't we see all the shit talking at these Americans are doing and get our act together and prove to them that this was not a fluke by consistently winning

« Reply #19 on: October 11, 2017, 10:33:41 PM »
Like I said, I don't feel this victory was revenge for 1990. That feeling gone when we won in Qatar. This victory was whether these guys had heart and tenacity. They could have laid down and get 6, and everybody would have said, "told you so, TT eh have heart. They let US walk all over them.  The Central Americans would have said,  TT is cannon fodder for everybody and they sell out to the US so that Panama and Honduras can't go to the WC. Then the US pundits would say, Arena is a genius. He brought them from the brink, etc,etc. I have no illusions about our football. Our football is weak for Concacaf. The only way this victory could be the rule, rather than the exception is for a change in TTFA and some input from the private sector(those who are willing to be patient with development). We need better local coaches. They need more coaching development courses, etc, etc.

« Reply #20 on: October 11, 2017, 10:35:57 PM »
I hope last night's game was a "shot in the arm" for local football. Hope the fans come out  and support the respective leagues.

« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2017, 01:38:29 AM »
Skeene proud of Soca Warriors but calls for full commitment towards Qatar 2022.
ttproleague.com.

Dexter Skeene, chief executive officer of the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, says he is proud of the recent effort of the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Team and by extension head coach Dennis Lawrence and his technical staff and the players and management.

Skeene, an ex-Trinidad and Tobago forward, said T&T’s historic 2-1 win over the United States on Tuesday night at the Ato Boldon Stadium in their closing World Cup 2018 Qualifier of the CONCACAF Hexagonal represents hope for the future of the twin-island republic.

Skeene, though, believes that Trinidad and Tobago can only realise its full potential through the dedication of all stakeholders. He urged that “we must all work together.”

“The Pro League through its players, coaches, management and by extension the clubs, makes a major contribution to the National effort,” Skeene added.

“Against the U.S. it was very rewarding to see nine players coming out of our local TT Pro League and performing credibly at the international level. It is clear the Pro League and by extension professional football is critical to the development of football and for Trinidad and Tobago to qualify for a World Cup on a regular basis. We at the Pro League are dedicated to do our part with Qatar 2022 now the focus.”

Skeene also thanked the clubs’ owners for making the financial investment and for being resolute, committed and for having the vision to understand the role of professional football.

Trinidad and Tobago finished bottom of the CONCACAF Hex, and though the Soca Warriors’ Road to Russia ended three Qualifying games ago – due to points -- Lawrence’s men had the last laugh.

Trinidad and Tobago’s win against the United States, combined with Honduras’ victory against Mexico (3-2) and Panama’s win over Costa Rica (2-1), saw the US dropped from third to fifth place in the Hexagonal and out of the World Cup for the first time since 1986.

Mexico, Costa Rica and Panama qualified automatically for the World Cup 2018, while Honduras will face off against Australia in the intercontinental play-off next month.

Tuesday's win also represented the end of a 28-year-wait to exact revenge over the United States who needed just a draw -- just as T&T needed only a draw in 1989 to qualify for the Italy World Cup but lost 1-0 to the Americans.

« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2017, 01:50:30 AM »
Dad, I did it: Strike Squad member’s son scores revenge on US.
T&T Newsday Reports.

Alvin Jones has paid tribute to the 1989 Strike Squad team, in which his father Kelvin was a member, after he played a key role in Trinidad and Tobago football team’s 2-1 victory over the United States in their 2018 FIFA World Cup CONCACAF Zone Final Round qualifier at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva

After US defender Omar Gonzalez scored an own goal after 16 minutes of action, Jones unleashed a thunderous 40-yard shot, in the 37th minute, to gave the hosts a 2-0 halftime lead. Teenaged US midfielder Christian Pulisic netted in the 47th but the Dennis Lawrence-coached TT outfit held firm until the final whistle.

That result ended the United States’ hopes of reaching the 2018 World Cup in Russia and, on the flip side, earned a measure of revenge. The Strike Squad, on November 19 1989, were beaten 1-0 by the United States, at the then National Stadium (now Hasely Crawford Stadium) in Mucurapo to qualify for the 1990 World Cup in Italy – at the expense of the Strike Squad.

Jones said that Tuesday’s victory will serve as sweet redemption of the ghost of 1989.

“Yeah, I think it was,” he said, during a telephone interview yesterday. “From (1989) it was something that they lived (with) for the rest of their lives, getting knocked out. And I think that (Tuesday) we displayed as a team that finally, after so many years, they’ll put this to bed, they can live comfortable now and I think that the Strike Squad got justice.

“I’m happy for them, I’m happy for the players and also I’m happy for our team.”

Jones’ right-footed blast, which flew past the outstretched right hand of goalkeeper Tim Howard, will live long in the memory of the minds of the estimated 3,500 fans in attendance, as well as the millions who watched the game live, both on television and via online streams.

Asked how he felt when he scored, Jones replied, “Words can’t explain. If you know me, that’s one of my strengths, to kick the ball. I just gave it a try and it finally paid off.”

Was he surprised that he had no challenge from any US player before he took that kick? “I think the system they started off playing was the diamond in the middle,” he replied. “So we had plenty room on the flanks so they were giving me the opportunity to push high into the midfield. So that’s how I got the opportunity to shoot.”

Jones also had a chance to score from a freekick in the 44th minute which was fumbled by Howard.

“That’s a strength I have also,” said the 23-year-old, who is the younger brother of midfielder Joevin. “I had scored from 30 yards so I said that my confidence is high. The freekick that we (got) I wanted to take it because my confidence was high and I (thought) that Tim Howard’s own was low from that goal. So I just made use of the opportunity.”

The W Connection defender is keeping his fingers crossed that he can earn an overseas contract in the immediate future.

“I didn’t get any (offers as) yet. It was only (on Tuesday). But I’m hoping that something happens.”

He added, “The whole world watched it. It’s just not about the goal. I think my performance was one of the best on the day. I’m just hoping that one or two clubs come behind me. Hopefully my club and their club can agree to some kind of contract, and I can take it.”

« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2017, 05:16:08 AM »
We didn't make Russia, won a game on an own goal and this fella talking bout DL is ah bess coach. GTFOH Will this win have any affect on the team, admin, fan support etc going forward? I doubt it. Just a bunch of memes and news bites for our entertainment.

The lil victory sweet and respect to the fellas, but we eh really achieve anything.

Congrats first, review next
« Reply #24 on: October 12, 2017, 05:58:06 AM »
Congrats first, review next
T&T Express

It has taken more than a quarter century for Trinidad and Tobago to savour the sweet taste of revenge with Tuesday night’s 2-1 victory over arch footballing nemesis, the United States.

The goals by Shahdon Winchester (17th minute) and Alvin Jones (36th minute) rescued some of the dignity of the national team which had been lost over the course of a lacklustre campaign for next year’s World Cup finals in Russia.

Goal for goal, however, the victory is hardly enough to erase the burning memory of T&T’s November 19 defeat against the US in 1989 which put to sudden death the nation’s hope to finally make it onto football’s world stage.

Having lost the chance, it would take another 16 years for T&T to realise its World Cup ambition after Dennis Lawrence’s magical header against Bahrain catapulted the Soca Warriors into the 2006 World Cup finals in Germany.

On Tuesday night, the stakes were nowhere as high for the national team, which has struggled throughout the 2018 World Cup campaign. By kick-off in the final match at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, heart-broken fans had already deserted their team in droves.

By contrast with the teeming thousands that had turned up to support the team early in the campaign, Tuesday night’s match got little fanatic energy from the stands. It took only a scent of victory, however, to bring fans rushing back in an explosion of overdue joy as the final whistle was blown.

In defeating the US and blocking its path to Russia, the national squad has lifted afresh the hope for a future beyond Russia. Before all of this, however, the process of honest review and evaluation must be engaged.

The hard truth is that T&T football is exactly where thinking minds feared it would be after Germany 2006. Having worked the odds to get there, successive teams of football administrators have failed to lay down the infrastructure for sustained development of national football.

Even as the faces change, football’s legacy of highly centralised, ad hoc and arbitrary management has continued to promote an unstable and antagonistic environment which has taken a tremendous toll on our football talents.

Once again, we have been given the chance to learn that excellence cannot be achieved by cutting corners or by taking short cuts. There is no alternative to the systematic and strategic planning needed to lift our football from the doldrums in which it now languishes and put it on a path to Qatar 2022.

While one expects the T&T Football Association to conduct an exhaustive review of the now completed campaign, the TTFA cannot be left to review itself. If national football is to move forward on a solid basis, an independent review of the TTFA’s management of the campaign is required.

The T&T public has a vested interest in the future of our football. We are thankful that coach Lawrence and his team have given us something to smile about. Let’s celebrate today for tomorrow the work must begin anew.

Soca Warriors close off in style
« Reply #25 on: October 12, 2017, 06:00:02 AM »
Soca Warriors close off in style
By Colin Murray (T&T Guardian)

The shame and embarrassment when I saw photos of the river that was flowing through the running track when the USA team went to practice at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva before the World Cup qualifier against T&T soon turned to ecstasy on Tuesday night as the USA were dealt a significantly crushing defeat by the Soca Warriors.

After that, the only river that flowed was from the tears of the USA team as they failed to qualify for the World Cup for the first time since 1986. Before we go into the superb performance of the T&T team, I sincerely hope that the Ministry of Sport and the chairman of the Sports Company launch a thorough investigation into the state of that running track that bears the name of one of our best athletes.

Yes, I agree the Americans played on it but to simply dismiss it in the arrogant way that an official of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) did, is as ridiculous as they behaved.

How did they do it? Firstly, the support was woeful. Someone said to me he thought the Americans had more support. Be that as it may, these boys showed heart, spirit, tenacity and real attitude that finally brought a smile to Dennis Lawrence’s face. I have said it before, and will continue to say that in Stephen Hart and now Dennis Lawrence, we have had two excellent coaches.

Dennis’ philosophy is simple - work hard, be disciplined, have a good attitude and show some pride when representing the red, white and black; believe me the 11 players and the three substitutes all showed those qualities and more.

You could have seen it coming. They played well in Costa Rica, looked good for 78 minutes against Mexico, but faulted badly against Honduras and Panama. However for the first time the team fought with grit and determination for 95 minutes. Lawrence did point out it was the first time he got a full solid performance from his team.

The burning question remains - now that the World Cup dream is over where do we go from here? The coach says he needs to continue working with these boys and he wants to get many international friendlies as his dream is to make T&T the No 1 team in the Caribbean. However, he needs support.

We as a people tend to bask in the euphoria of victory (especially against the USA) and two weeks down the road revert to the past. Dennis - my advice to you is break down whosoever door you need to. You need to carry on this momentum and do not, I repeat do not, let anyone stand in your way of achieving your goals.

You have won over the support of the nation and trust me, if the team continues to play good football, the crowds will return. You do need some marketing support and I really hope you get it. Good luck Dennis and to you and the players, thank you for the memory of Tuesday October 10, 2017 which will go down as the day the often forgotten little twin island Caribbean nation of 1.3 million people prevented the USA of 323.1 million from qualifying for football’s biggest tournament.

Revenge can strike a devastating blow as I am sure many of you were in the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port-of-Spain on November 19, 1989.

On another positive note let’s all journey in our thousands down to the Queen’s Park Oval in St Clair on Saturday from 7.30 pm to see the Red Force united again to oppose a Caribbean Select XI in a charity game for our Caribbean neighbours who were so badly affected by two of the worst hurricanes in recent history.

To hear Dominican West Indies selector Lockhart Sebastien describe the devastation was heart-wrenching. The hurricane relief Twenty20 (T20) game should be full of excitement with all the top stars back together again. Pollard, the Bravo brothers Dwayne and Darren, Sunil Narine, Kevon Cooper, Samuel Badree and the latest batting sensation Evin Lewis to name a few, taking on the best of the Caribbean.

Unfortunately, Chris Gayle is recuperating from injury and can’t play but it should be a cracker of a game and even though it’s for a great cause, the Red Force don’t like to lose when they are playing at home in a T20 game.

Let’s get there in our numbers and support the Red Force but equally as important, support the Hurricane relief effort.

USA suffer a heartbreak all too familiar to Soca faithful
« Reply #26 on: October 12, 2017, 06:19:49 AM »
USA suffer a heartbreak all too familiar to Soca faithful
FIFA.com

“We were so close to reaching the World Cup and then we all woke up the next morning to realise our dreams had been dashed,” said one player, looking ahead to a narrowly missed chance to live out a FIFA World Cup™ fantasy.

“The disappointment was almost too much to bear,” said another.

These could so easily be the words of USA’s stars today, knowing that just a point in Trinidad and Tobabo would have taken them to Russia 2018. In fact, they are those of the Soca Warriors' own Russell Latapy and Dwight Yorke who, 28 years ago, saw their dreams shattered by the Stars and Stripes in an eerily similar manner to the USA’s 2-1 defeat on Tuesday night.

History tells the story of Paul Caligiuri’s goal catapulting the USA to Italy 1990 on the final day of qualifying – when only a win would do – into a run of seven successive appearances at the finals after a 40-year absence. The flip side of that tale then was that T&T's legendary ‘Strike Squad’, a team arguably not even matched by the one that made their World Cup debut 17 years later, missed out in heartbreaking style.

The young stars of that team, Latapy and Yorke, would go on to finally live out their dreams at Germany 2006, but the parallels of their near-miss to the USA’s today are striking. Just like the Soca Warriors that day, all Bruce Arena’s side needed was a point to stamp their World Cup ticket and, ultimately, a thunderous goal from distance was what inflicted defeat - though last night's Couva reboot occurred 40 minutes drive south of the Port of Spain original.

While Alvin Jones’s screamer will not be heralded in the same way as Caligiuri’s, having not brought the joy of a finals to a nation, his name may well go on to bring shudders down the spines of USA fans for years to come, just as the California native’s did for the Caribbean island’s football faithful.

What is certain is the reactions to the defeat are very reminiscent to the words uttered by the vanquished side almost three decades ago. None more so than those of Omar Gonzalez, whose own goal set the American nightmare rolling after just 17 minutes.

“I just want to say sorry to the fans. We let down an entire nation,” the defender, who appeared at Brazil 2014, reflected. “It's one of the most unlucky goals ever, I think, for myself. It will haunt me forever. I never thought that I’d see this day. This is the worst day of my career.”

Conspiring fate
A goal that was as farcical as it was horrendously unfortunate, slicing wildly off the outside of his boot to loop over Tim Howard, it was a strike – as with Jones’ top-drawer effort – that seemed to point squarely to it not being USA’s night.

“It was kind of like fate, having it come down to that last game,” Mike Windischmann, captain of the side that would go on to appear at Italy 1990, told FIFA.com on their island triumph. Following a disjointed qualifying campaign, some may view the defeat in a similar, albeit less rosy, manner.

Inconsistency punctuated by moments of brilliant cohesion on their Russia-targeting journey, namely putting ten past Panama and Honduras on American soil, means there will be plenty of questions asked as a generation of USA fans must watch a World Cup without a home side to get behind.

However, few will envisage the likes of Christian Pulisic, USA's young starlet and last night's standout performer, will have to wait as long as Yorke to taste a trip to the finals. But in the immediate aftermath of defeat, there will have been plenty on hand in Couva who could easily empathise with the pain of missing out this way.

« Reply #27 on: October 12, 2017, 08:25:22 AM »
Like I said, I don't feel this victory was revenge for 1990. That feeling gone when we won in Qatar. This victory was whether these guys had heart and tenacity. They could have laid down and get 6, and everybody would have said, "told you so, TT eh have heart. They let US walk all over them.  The Central Americans would have said,  TT is cannon fodder for everybody and they sell out to the US so that Panama and Honduras can't go to the WC. Then the US pundits would say, Arena is a genius. He brought them from the brink, etc,etc. I have no illusions about our football. Our football is weak for Concacaf. The only way this victory could be the rule, rather than the exception is for a change in TTFA and some input from the private sector(those who are willing to be patient with development). We need better local coaches. They need more coaching development courses, etc, etc.

« Reply #28 on: October 12, 2017, 08:31:51 AM »
Alvin Jones lost he chance to ever play in de MLS now....

« Reply #29 on: October 12, 2017, 08:42:06 AM »
Fox Projects Up to $20 Million in Lost World Cup Ad Sales
By Lucas Shaw, Eben Novy-Williams and Ira Boudway (bloomberg)

Without the U.S. team in the 2018 World Cup, Fox Sports projects it will lose $10 million to $20 million in advertising sales, according to a person close to the company.

The projection is lower than some outside estimates. Fox has already sold about 75 percent of its advertising inventory, which will mitigate the absence of the U.S., said the person, who asked not to be identified discussing private information. The broadcaster paid $400 million for the English-language U.S. rights to broadcast the next two editions of the soccer tournament.

Another person familiar with Fox Sports said the number will probably turn out to be higher, at around $50 million.

Shares of parent company 21st Century Fox Inc., which had dropped on the U.S. team’s failure to qualify for the tournament Tuesday night, inched higher on Bloomberg’s report. They were down 2.2 percent to $26.18 at 3:04 p.m. in New York.

Fox’s acquisition of World Cup rights, a deal announced in 2011, seemed like a sure thing at the time. Soccer continues to get more popular in the U.S., and live sports content has been one of the few areas of programming keeping viewers tuned in to live television.

Fox also had no reason to think the U.S. team would fail to qualify for the first time since 1986. Even after a few stumbles in the early rounds of qualifying, the U.S. team entered the last round of games with a 93 percent chance to qualify. But a shocking loss to Trinidad on Tuesday, paired with wins by Panama and Honduras, knocked the U.S. out of the running.

The World Cup’s popularity in the U.S. is deeply tied to the performance of the men’s national team. In the 2014 tournament, an early-stage match between the U.S. and Portugal drew more viewers than either semifinal. Two of the three most-watched matches that year featured the U.S., and though the team was eliminated before the quarterfinals, its games made up 20 percent of the U.S. viewership.

“Last night’s World Cup qualifying results do not change Fox Sports’ passion for the world’s biggest sporting event,” Fox said in a statement. “While the U.S. was eliminated, the biggest stars in the world from Lionel Messi to Cristiano Ronaldo stamped their tickets to Russia on the same day, and will battle teams ranging from Mexico to England that have massive fan bases in America.”

Without the U.S., early-stage games on Fox will probably draw about half the audience, according to independent media consultant Brad Adgate. It’s like having the small-market Minnesota Twins and Colorado Rockies playing in the World Series, he said: “I just don’t think it resonates with anyone but the most hardcore fans.”

The absence of the U.S. team will drive away casual viewers and the advertisers that want their money. Because Russia is hosting, games will air at what for a U.S. audience will be odd hours.

“The one thing that Fox has done is they have locked in some advertisers earlier in the sales process than I know ESPN historically would have,” said John Guppy, founder of Gilt Edge Soccer Marketing. “The fact that they have been able to get commitments earlier, I think is going to help them in the sales goals that they are trying to hit.”

In addition to adjusting its marketing to emphasize the appeal of soccer’s biggest global stars, Fox will feature Mexico, Argentina, and Colombia in an appeal to Hispanic viewers. Unfortunately for Fox, many of those viewers may opt to watch on Comcast Corp.’s Telemundo, the broadcaster that paid $600 million for the Spanish-language U.S. rights to the next two Cups.

The lack of U.S. participation in 2018 compounds problems Fox is facing with the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, which was moved to winter to avoid the Middle Eastern country’s harsh summer temperatures. That change means the tournament will compete for viewers with the NFL, NBA and NHL, another bad result for Fox.

Fox will have a chance to make up some of those losses in 2026, which has a lot going for it: It’s a bigger tournament and North America is likely to be the host. What’s more, the company agreed in a closed bidding process to pay $300 million for the games (with a $180 million bonus if the U.S. hosts), a price discounted by as much as $500 million to compensate for the Qatar schedule change.