April 23, 2024, 10:15:44 PM

Author Topic: Where is best small goal sweat in Trinidad?  (Read 2988 times)

Offline amwood

Where is best small goal sweat in Trinidad?
« on: February 16, 2013, 10:53:14 PM »
Grew up on small goal, wondering after all these years where men going for a pound? Curious to see if there are "small goal champs" like there were back in the day...

Re: Where is best small goal sweat in Trinidad?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 11:37:08 PM »
Check behind the OWTU hall Circular Rd in San Fndo ball for days

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 11:39:42 PM »
Pleasantville Secondary.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2013, 12:26:29 AM »
Nobody could beat Psyco 5

« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2013, 12:29:42 AM »

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2013, 12:38:09 AM »
One of best small goal sides in the 80s and 90s from St Joseph.

Offline amwood

« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2013, 01:48:02 AM »
Feel like Point had some of the best small goal players I have ever seen...

« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2013, 08:23:42 AM »

OWTU small goal was a circuit in the early 80's, big ballers, teams like Freedom from Laventille were even involved. Lots of betting involved.
Irving Park was another good sweat with high standards.
They also had a place call the "swing" in Mon Repos

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2013, 09:20:08 AM »

OWTU small goal was a circuit in the early 80's, big ballers, teams like Freedom from Laventille were even involved. Lots of betting involved.
Me and meh bredren dem from Fyzo used to be in de OWTU sweat and I remember Freedom, Cocoyea Black September and others :) When ah back home, ah does hit the Pleasantville Secondary sweat, niceness!!!!

« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2013, 12:09:02 PM »

Me and meh bredren dem from Fyzo used to be in de OWTU sweat and I remember Freedom, Cocoyea Black September and others :) When ah back home, ah does hit the Pleasantville Secondary sweat, niceness!!!!

Yes Fyzoman, I played with Black September we won out in OWTU vs La Romain in the final and then we won in Laventille against Freedom. Like we taste the same babagreen ;D

PS: Did you play on a youth team with trevor Federicks, bede Archibal, a player they call Brains, etc
« Last Edit: February 17, 2013, 12:12:33 PM by Observer »

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2013, 06:14:58 PM »

Yes Fyzoman, I played with Black September we won out in OWTU vs La Romain in the final and then we won in Laventille against Freedom. Like we taste the same babagreen ;D

PS: Did you play on a youth team with trevor Federicks, bede Archibal, a player they call Brains, etc
Ahhh boy, Black September!!!

Nah, we had ah lil team from my lil village in Fyzo used to come up and do we thing.

Ah know dem fellahs too and I didn't realize Brains was in dat sweat, years later I got to know him as as ah po po.

Ah does sweat with Philo when ah come home in PVille, but yeah same barber green :)

« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2013, 06:54:22 PM »

Ahhh boy, Black September!!!

Nah, we had ah lil team from my lil village in Fyzo used to come up and do we thing.

Ah know dem fellahs too and I didn't realize Brains was in dat sweat, years later I got to know him as as ah po po.

Ah does sweat with Philo when ah come home in PVille, but yeah same barber green :)

I knew Patrick Geoffroy very well and you must have played with Bertrand Noel

« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2013, 07:20:44 PM »
I knew Patrick Geoffroy very well and you must have played with Bertrand Noel

Yeah boy I was younger than Pato in high school and learn sooooo much football from dat fellah eh,it eh even funny...and Bertie living inside by me. Two rel ball jumbie yuh call dey :)

Ah feel ah could post dis here, we used to play small goal under Bertie house at one time, round the concrete post dem everything, serious har sweat too...ah sure we could have ah whole next post bout locations for sweat :)

Offline amwood

« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2013, 01:25:50 AM »
So ah man talk about the PVille sweat and guess what? We have some footage, Sunday's is the old timers night and I have to tell you that some of these men in dey younger days must have been worries because they still moving very well for 50, 55 etc. One or two youngsters always come thru but is primarily the old heads on Sundays. Nuff respect to these cats!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DuWaQuxrCrw

« Reply #14 on: February 18, 2013, 06:29:59 AM »
Man bring back memories, that is my old school..

P'Ville !!!!

« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2013, 08:50:55 AM »
So ah man talk about the PVille sweat and guess what? We have some footage, Sunday's is the old timers night and I have to tell you that some of these men in dey younger days must have been worries because they still moving very well for 50, 55 etc. One or two youngsters always come thru but is primarily the old heads on Sundays. Nuff respect to these cats!

\

real nice!

In OWTU there use to be a semi circle infront the small goal, where man could not stand inside and just cover up the goal. Nice rule! You had to know your angles to cover the goal.

« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2013, 09:43:54 AM »
Plex used to have a real nice sweat (Barataria opp George's)

Offline amwood

« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2013, 12:11:31 PM »

\

real nice!

In OWTU there use to be a semi circle infront the small goal, where man could not stand inside and just cover up the goal. Nice rule! You had to know your angles to cover the goal.

Like that rule!

« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2013, 04:41:26 PM »

Niceness!!!! This is meh sweat whenever ah back home.

« Reply #20 on: November 25, 2017, 03:50:34 PM »
Aye look Prokie boy. Ah eh know he still around and involved in the game. Nice.

« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2017, 05:56:14 PM »
Used to be on Las Cuevas beach back in de day.

Men used to come from all over to sweat and swim dey.  Real ballad pass tru AND GET LIKK UP TOO...on dat beach

Cuevas beach was long and WIDE wit firm sand sah

Exodus pan yard not during panorama was also a hotbed for small goal and windball cricket too
« Last Edit: November 25, 2017, 05:57:51 PM by palos »