March 29, 2024, 09:11:46 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Game (25-Mar-2018)  (Read 4397 times)

Thread for T&T vs Martinique Game (25-Mar-2018)
« on: February 09, 2018, 04:50:02 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Martinique game at the Stade P Aliker De Dillon Stadium in Martinique on the 25th of March 2018 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Marvin Phillip (Point Fortin Civic).

Defenders:

Daneil Cyrus (Juticalpa FC/Honduras), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Joevin Jones (SV Darmstadt/Germany), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Kareem Moses (unattached), Mekeil Williams (Richmond Kickers/USA), Triston Hodge (W Connection).

Midfielders:

Leston Paul (Pasaquina FC/El Salvador), Khaleem Hyland (Al Faisaly/Saudi Arabia), Reon Moore (Defence Force), Neveal Hackshaw (Charleston Battery/USA), Levi Garcia (Excelsior Rotterdam/Holland), Nathan Lewis (Indy Elevel FC/USA), Nathaniel Garcia (Point Fortin Civic), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence/USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force).

Forwards:

Akeem Roach (Unattached), Marcus Joseph (W Connection).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence.

Martinique Squad

Goalkeepers

Emmanuel Vermignon (Club Colonial), Loïc Chauvet (Golden Lion FC).

Defenders

Gérald Dondon (Club Colonial), Audrick Linord (Club Colonial), Jérêmy Lienafa (Golden Lion FC), Karl Vitulin (AS Samaritaine), Sébastien Crétinoir (Golden Lion FC).

Midfielders

Jordy Delem (Seattle Sounders), Jean-Emmanuel Nédra (Aiglon du Lamentin), Kévin Tresfield (Aiglon du Lamentin), Rodrigue César (Club Colonial), Christof Jougon (Club Franciscain), Stéphane Abaul (Club Franciscain), Yordan Thimon (Club Franciscain), Yann Thimon (Club Franciscain), Daniel Hérelle (Golden Lion FC), Andy Marny (AS Samaritaine).

Forwards

Kévin Parsemain (Golden Lion FC), Johnny Marajo (Club Franciscain), Thierry Catherine (Golden Lion FC), Romario Barthelery (Golden Lion FC), Gregory Pastel (RC Rivière-Pilote), Joan Franciette (RC Riviere-Pilote).

Coach - Louis Marianne (FRA).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: March 26, 2018, 02:00:36 AM by Flex »

Re: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Game (25-Mar-2018)
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2018, 12:17:35 PM »

« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2018, 01:03:03 PM »
MARTINIQUE SQUAD

Goalkeepers:
Emmanuel Vermignon (Club Colonial), Loïc Chauvet (Golden Lion FC)

Defenders:
Gérald Dondon (Club Colonial), Audrick Linord (Club Colonial), Jérêmy Lienafa (Golden Lion FC), Karl Vitulin (AS Samaritaine), Sébastien Crétinoir (Golden Lion FC)

Midfielders:
Jordy Delem (Seattle Sounders), Jean-Emmanuel Nédra (Aiglon du Lamentin), Kévin Tresfield (Aiglon du Lamentin), Rodrigue César (Club Colonial), Christof Jougon (Club Franciscain), Stéphane Abaul (Club Franciscain), Yordan Thimon (Club Franciscain), Yann Thimon (Club Franciscain), Daniel Hérelle (Golden Lion FC), Andy Marny (AS Samaritaine)

Forwards:
Kévin Parsemain (Golden Lion FC), Johnny Marajo (Club Franciscain), Thierry Catherine (Golden Lion FC), Romario Barthelery (Golden Lion FC), Gregory Pastel (RC Rivière-Pilote)

« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2018, 08:33:05 AM »
WATCH: Trinidad and Tobago’s Head Coach Dennis Lawrence looks forward to facing Martinique today

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/UngXQyYBI78" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/UngXQyYBI78</a>

« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2018, 03:51:36 PM »
Look a present for allyuh ..

Scroll down

Stream
https://youtu.be/l3HsnHmqwe8

« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2018, 04:10:17 PM »
 :beermug: thanks brother man

« Reply #6 on: March 25, 2018, 04:17:56 PM »
I thought the game was supposed to start at 6? Those guys still warming up.

Offline bingie man

« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2018, 04:20:01 PM »
thanks 4 the link :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2018, 04:21:48 PM »
np brothas.

Who get injured?

Offline bingie man

« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2018, 04:28:31 PM »
look like Garcia

« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2018, 04:31:48 PM »
look like Garcia

Damn. Hope it aint serious. This is the same pitch and team that did K9 in.

I seeing how this team missing K9. Sad that he retire early.

« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2018, 04:32:42 PM »
Martinique is understrength. No foreign born frenchmen

« Reply #12 on: March 25, 2018, 04:48:23 PM »
look like Garcia

They say it's Hodge

« Reply #13 on: March 25, 2018, 05:09:39 PM »
Looks like match just start!

« Reply #14 on: March 25, 2018, 05:14:24 PM »
Looks like match just start!

2nd half

« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2018, 05:54:54 PM »
T&T men held to goalless draw by Martinique.
T&T Newsday Reports.

THE TRINIDAD and Tobago men’s football team were unable to make it two wins in as many matches as they were held to a goalless draw by hosts Martinique last evening, in their friendly international, at the Stade P Aliker De Dillon, Fort-de-France.

On Friday, the Dennis Lawrence-coached outfit edged hosts Guadeloupe 1-0 at the Pierre Antonius Stadium in Pointe-a-Pitre, courtesy of a 29th minute goal from defender/midfielder Joevin Jones.

Lawrence will now turn his attention towards an April 17 friendly, against World Cup-bound Panama, at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva. That game will not fall on a FIFA-window, therefore Lawrence will have to resort to a predominantly home-based team for that encounter.

FINAL: Martinique 0-0 Trinidad and Tobago.

(Team)

Trinidad and Tobago (4-2-3-1): 22.Adrian Foncette (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 26.Daniel Cyrus, 15.Curtis Gonzales, 18.Triston Hodge (17.Mekeil Williams 20), 23.Leston Paul, 13.Neveal Hackshaw (19.Kevan George 77), 7.Nathan Lewis (10.Marcus Joseph 79), 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain) (20.Nathaniel Garcia 68), 3.Joevin Jones, 11.Levi Garcia,

Substitutes: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK), 2.Kareem Moses, 9.Akeem Roach, 12.Reon Moore, 14.Hashim Arcia.

Coach: Dennis Lawrence.

Martinique: Loïc Chauvet; Karl Vitulin, Sébastien Crétinoir (captain), Audrick Linord; Andy Marny, Daniel Hérelle, Jordy Delem, Stéphane Abaul, Yann Thimon; Gregory Pastel, Joan Franciette.

Coach: Louis Marianne (FRA).

RELATED NEWS

T&T and Martinique draw 0-0 in Fort-de-France.
By Wayne Cunningham (TTFA).

Trinidad and Tobago’s Senior Men stretched their unbeaten run to five matches dating back to last October’s 2-1 win over the United States with a solid performance in Sunday’s 0-0 draw with Martinique in Fort-de-France last night.

Following up Friday’s 1-0 win over Guadeloupe, the Dennis Lawrence-coached outfit turned in a good all-round performance against a compact and organized Martinique side.

T&T had the ideal opportunity to go ahead in the 37th minute when Levi Garcia’s header missed the target from a Mekeil Williams delivery. Tristo Hodge was substituted in the 20th minute with an ankle injury.

Goalkeeper Adrian Foncette kept a clean sheet but had to make a couple vital saves, including a header late in the match as the hosts piled on the pressure in search of a winning item.

Next up, T&T will host Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium, Couva on April 17th.

In related news, following a rocky arrival due to an unforeseen circumstance with the team liaison officer, the Martinique football federation appointed Trinbago born Carl Jaikaran as team liaison which improved operations. The experience and know how of the man known as the unofficial “T&T ambassador” were appreciated by the team staff.

Video - Lawrence's Post-Match Reactions after 0-0 draw with Martinique.

Soca Warriors hold Martinique at 0-0 draw.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T’s senior men's football team stretched its unbeaten run to five matches dating back to last October’s 2-1 win over the United States with a 0-0 draw on Sunday against Martinique in Fort-de-France.

Only Friday the Soca Warriors edged Guadeloupe 1-0 with a 26th minute Joevin Jones item for maximum points.

And on Sunday Dennis Lawrence's men turned in a solid performance that earned them a share of the points. T&T could have won it in the 37th minute when Levi Garcia was served a pin-point Mekeil Williams cross, but his header missed the target.

On the other side T&T goalkeeper Adrian Foncette had to make two diving saves to keep out the home team late in the game and preserve a clean sheet.

Also in the match Tristo Hodge, the Toronto FC defender was substituted in the 20th minute after picking up an ankle injury.

T&T will next face Panama in another international friendly on April 17 at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Balmain Couva.

Lawrence said after the game that he was generally pleased with the overall performances of his team in both matches as he focuses on creating a competitive team which may have 90 percent local players on it. Against the Martinicans the lanky coach, who once represented T&T as a defender, said he used players in different positions Sunday, in an attempt to find the right blend.

Lawrence and his troops will go after a win against the Panamanians at home, after which Lawrence promises to focus on getting the Pro League up and running. This he believes is critical as the League has been a huge help to the selection of national teams.

The League has been uncertain as organizers struggle to secure funding from both the private and public sector.

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith was scheduled to seek Cabinet's approval for funding for the 10-team tournament.

In related news, following a rocky arrival due to an unforeseen circumstance with the team liaison officer, the Martinique football federation appointed Trinbago born Carl Jaikaran as team liaison which improved operations. The experience and know how of the man known as the unofficial “T&T ambassador” were appreciated by the team staff.

« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 01:42:56 AM by Flex »

« Reply #16 on: March 25, 2018, 06:25:45 PM »
Martinique sound like they played with a 7 2 1, in other words they parked the bus.

« Reply #17 on: March 25, 2018, 06:37:36 PM »
We didn't play bad and deserved the win but considering we played 2 days ago and had to deal with travel and off the field logistical issues, not a bad performance.

« Reply #18 on: March 25, 2018, 06:39:05 PM »
look like Garcia

They say it's Hodge

Looked like Levi to me but whoever it is I hope it's not too serious.

« Reply #19 on: March 26, 2018, 03:10:16 AM »
look like Garcia

They say it's Hodge

Looked like Levi to me but whoever it is I hope it's not too serious.
it was hodges.

« Reply #20 on: March 26, 2018, 09:38:03 AM »
Red cards don't carry over in international friendlies?

« Reply #21 on: March 26, 2018, 01:54:52 PM »
Martinique sound like they played with a 7 2 1, in other words they parked the bus.

Far from it. They created quite a few chances especially in the second half.

« Reply #22 on: March 26, 2018, 02:19:43 PM »
WATCH: Post-match comments from Dennis Lawrence

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/R9lhOAPEJPI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/R9lhOAPEJPI</a>

« Reply #23 on: March 26, 2018, 08:18:12 PM »
No MLS boys anymore. I hope one of the positives of being in the USL is more playing time for our players.

I hate to say this, but from what I seen yesterday, that team does not look like they will make an impact at next year's Gold cup. Tallest trying he best. But the quality of football we playing is well below our potential. No K9, Molino, and core group of MLS boys is not going to make us stronger than we were 2-3 years ago. Hope and faith is all we have now.

« Reply #24 on: March 27, 2018, 12:10:18 AM »
No MLS boys anymore. I hope one of the positives of being in the USL is more playing time for our players.

I hate to say this, but from what I seen yesterday, that team does not look like they will make an impact at next year's Gold cup. Tallest trying he best. But the quality of football we playing is well below our potential. No K9, Molino, and core group of MLS boys is not going to make us stronger than we were 2-3 years ago. Hope and faith is all we have now.
common mate i think you’re being a little too harsh on the lads not to mention hasty and presumptious in your assessment. you must take into account that the team did not play one game for the whole year at full strength, the domestic league is on hold, and to compound on the issue we were without our best goal threat (Molino) and without a proper striker (goals scorers) for the two counters (no winchester, boatswain, ceaser).

another thing to consider is that we played martinique after no rest day where one was spend traveling and the other settling in, as the coach mentioned their accommodations were not ready until hours later not to mention we only had one change to the squad from the game before. I actually think we did did quite well considering the circumstances. let’s be patient shall we.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 02:55:24 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #25 on: March 27, 2018, 02:02:37 AM »
Whilst the stats might suggest Martinique aren't very good, they are one of the better teams in the Caribbean. home players or not. As pull stones said, a draw after such disruption, youthful team, and no time to effectively train tactics and/or rest after travel isn't a bad result at all. Martinique had the home advantage, ample preparation time, and local players vying to get into the team - their domestic league is well run and consistent in structure and promotion/relegation filters out clubs well.

« Reply #26 on: March 27, 2018, 06:19:17 AM »
@Pullstones, you raised some good points. My question to you is, did you watch the full game? And if you did, can that current team make an impact at next year's Gold cup?

I watched the full game. The team lacked bite and creativity. And we were almost at full strength. Even if we had more rest and more games under our belt, I don't think the result would have been anything to write home about. Martinique was missing their overseas players. I think when all these teams get their overseas players for us, we will be in hot water. Fuh real..

I still hope that we can get it together. We got 14 months. Hopefully Molino is back and in good form  by then. And we at least scouted 2 or 3 overseas players by then. Because we need all the help we can get.

The positives, it wasn't a loss and we have a good idea of where we are at. That's all I can take from that match. Still a lot of work to do to catch up to the Jamaicas, Curacaons and even the Haitis.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 06:23:24 AM by gawd on pitch »

Offline Thomo

« Reply #27 on: March 27, 2018, 02:08:19 PM »
In order to catch up with other teams in the Caribbean we have to scout overseas born players...by the dozens. The talent pool is shallow and needs to be addressed. For some reason we are always hesitant about mirroring the scouting network as Jamaicans do. We need to change the approach and become more aggressive. Sadly, some of these players out there are bang average, have reached their peak which ain't good enough when coming up versus better quality opposition. We love to harp on about the abundance of talent available but there is no structure to it and with things as they are we are leagues behind it Caribbean counterparts. We need about 2 players in every position and I don't mean from the pro league to improve intensity and competition among personnel. At the minute we're going no where fast. Dale Bennet, Halam Hope, John Bostock, Sheannon Williams, Daniel Carr, Nick De Leon are players we should be begging literally to link up. Need to step our game up alround
« Last Edit: March 27, 2018, 02:38:10 PM by Thomo »

« Reply #28 on: March 27, 2018, 03:36:08 PM »
In order to catch up with other teams in the Caribbean we have to scout overseas born players...by the dozens. The talent pool is shallow and needs to be addressed. For some reason we are always hesitant about mirroring the scouting network as Jamaicans do. We need to change the approach and become more aggressive. Sadly, some of these players out there are bang average, have reached their peak which ain't good enough when coming up versus better quality opposition. We love to harp on about the abundance of talent available but there is no structure to it and with things as they are we are leagues behind it Caribbean counterparts. We need about 2 players in every position and I don't mean from the pro league to improve intensity and competition among personnel. At the minute we're going no where fast. Dale Bennet, Halam Hope, John Bostock, Sheannon Williams, Daniel Carr, Nick De Leon are players we should be begging literally to link up. Need to step our game up alround
the thing is that people get panicked and riled up here way too easily. truth is we struggle tremendously with caribbean opponents and we always have and always will, not to mention that we are marginally one or two goals better than these teams at best especially on their turf.

in the semis we almost lost to st Vincent in st vinvent with them taking the lead twice even when steve hart was coach and at full strength. we had to pull a rabbit out of a hat to mount a come back to get a result but it wasn’t the case when we beat guatemala at home very easily, and that’s my point. we struggle with caribbean opponent because they play an English type physical game, just ask mexico who catch hell to beat TT and JA with that style of play a fast physical brand of football that technical mexico struggle with.

it’s been years since we beat haiti, we struggle with jamaica constantly, same with martinique, bermuda, guyana, grenada, antigua barbuda, and are only two goals better than barbados at best. yet we are able to beat the usa and almost beat the mexicans in mexico while matching the costa ricans on their home turf and beating panama at home, and mind you, I say we could have done much better in the hex had it not been for the unfavorable officiating by these bribe taking concacaf officials who clearly didn’t favor us over the rest.

yes we didn’t look impressive, and why should we? this is our first game for 2018 so you could look at this as a pre season tour where we’re gathering momentum and are in the rebuilding stages. we also had a few players out like boatswain- winchester -molino -glenn-cato- ceaser- players who all know how to put the ball in the back of the net, and when marcus joseph is your only striker then you’re definitely in for a drought.

so let’s be patient. I think under the circumstance we did quite well, all things considering.

« Reply #29 on: March 27, 2018, 06:42:47 PM »
We need players who play at a higher level than the USL to raise the game, tempo and quality of football for the rest of the team.

In the past we seen how the MLS and foreign based players did that for the team. So I think the missing ingredients are more good players from the MLS and good foreign leagues. The current team can only train so hard. And the administration can only prepare the team so much.

Getting all 5 of those players that Thomo mention will help a lot.