March 28, 2024, 02:43:22 AM

Author Topic: Stars Lineup for Friday’s “Football for a Cause” relief match.  (Read 2067 times)

Stars Lineup for Friday’s “Football for a Cause” relief match at Hasely Crawford Stadium.
TTFA Media.

The interest continues to grow towards Friday’s “Football for a Cause” flood relief football match hosted by Dennis Lawrence and Friends. The match takes place at the Hasely Crawford Stadium with a kick off time of 7:30pm.

Several of this country’s top national team players of the past as well as guest personalities have made themselves available to participate in the match including Kenwyne Jones, Stern John, Cyd Gray, Dennis Lawrence, Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow, Ansil Alcock, Anthony Wolfe, Clayton Ince, Clint Marcelle, Wesley Webb, Kevin Ollivierre and Earl Jean. Among those from the Strike Squad era who will line up include Michael Maurice, Floyd Lawrence, Clayton Morris, Marvin Faustin, Larry Joseph, Hutson Charles, Kerry Jameson and Brian Williams along with Russell Munroe, Adarryl John and Keyeno Thomas. Some of this country’s women footballers will also be on show including Tasha St Louis, Mariah Shade, Janine Francois, Ayanna Russell and Karyn Forbes among others as well as Netball personalities Anika La Roche-Brice, Tia Bruno, Fiona Holder and Sue Anne Cordner and cricketer Kevon Cooper.

Other local sporting bodies have also accepted the invitation to join in support including Cricket, NAAA, Swimming Association, Rugby, Netball and Volleyball.

Maximus Dan and Ultimate Rejects are also on board to provide entertainment on the night.

Former Trinidad and Tobago topscorer John, currently a National Team assistant coach added, “The response has been very encouraging so far. It’s all for a great cause and we’re gathering any amount of support that we can to reach people as far and wide as possible. I know a lot of the guys are really looking forward to the event and the match to come out and put on a good show of football and humanity for our fellow citizens.”

Fans are  asked to contribute relief items upon their entry to the stadium or make a financial contribution. There is no  set ticket purchase option or admission fee for the event.  Persons can also drop off items at all Healthnet Locations nationwide at Saddle Road in Maraval, Eastern Main Road, Barataria, Eastern Main Road in Tacarigua, Munroe Road, Cunupia, JTA Plaza in Couva and South Coast at Princess Margaret street in San Fernando as well at Lounge 63 on Ariapita Avenue or TTOC headquarters.

Shaka endorses Football For a Cause Relief match

RELATED NEWS

Strike Squad,Soca Warriors play for flood victims.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

Shaka ‘heartbroken’ as…

PAST men’s national players and a group of current female players are expected to feature in a charity football match, Football For A Cause, on Friday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

The game is a flood-relief match, organised by national men’s team coach Dennis Lawrence and Friends, with the proceeds going towards assisting those affected by Friday’s flooding throughout Trinidad.

Among the players who are set to don their boots are Lawrence and his former 2006 FIFA World Cup team-mates Stern John, Kenwyne Jones, Cyd Gray, Anthony Wolfe and Clayton Ince.

Ex-T&T players Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow, Ansil Elcock, Clint Marcelle, Wesley Webb, Russell Munroe, Adarryl John, Keyeno Thomas and former St Lucia striker Earl Jean are also expected to roll back the clock, for a worthy cause.

A number of ex-Strike Squad players will line up in the match – captain Clayton Morris, Michael Maurice, Floyd Lawrence, Marvin Faustin, Larry Joseph, Hutson Charles, Kerry Jameson and Brian Williams.

T&T women’s team skipper Tasha St Louis and her team-mates Mariah Shade, Janine Francois, Ayanna Russell and Karyn Forbes, cricketer Kevon Cooper, and netballers Anika La Roche-Brice, Tia Bruno, Fiona Holder and Sue Anne Cordner are listed to feature too.

Stern John, who is currently an assistant T&T men’s team coach, said, “The response has been very encouraging so far. It’s all for a great cause and we’re gathering any amount of support that we can to reach people as far and wide as possible.

“I know a lot of the guys are really looking forward to the event and the match to come out and put on a good show of football and humanity for our fellow citizens.”

John’s ex-World Cup team-mate Hislop also expressed his support, via a video post on the TT Football Association (TTFA) website.

“Sitting here in the US, seeing what’s been going on, it’s been simply heartbreaking,” said the former national goalkeeper. “I’ve been buoyed by the fact that we’ve shown as a people we’re better when we’re pulling for each other, when we’re supporting each other.

“As hard as it’s been to witness, and as much destruction as has happened, and as long as the rebuilding process will take, we’ve shown that we have the character, we have the personalities, we have the love, we have the support of each other to get through this. Good luck to everybody, keep strong.”

The local governing bodies for cricket, track and field, swimming, rugby, netball and volleyball have all offered their support for the venture, while 2017 Road March champions Maximus Dan and Ultimate Rejects will provide entertainment on the evening.

Tickets for the match can be bought at the venue on the day and patrons are encouraged to contribute items at the venue (on game day only) or any of the Healthnet clinics nationwide at Saddle Road in Maraval, Eastern Main Road in Barataria, Eastern Main Road in Tacarigua, Munroe Road in Cunupia, JTA Plaza in Couva and South Coast at Princess Margaret Street in San Fernando, as well at Lounge 63 on Ariapita Avenue, between now and Saturday.

« Last Edit: October 23, 2018, 02:43:21 AM by Flex »

Re: Stars Lineup for Friday’s “Football for a Cause” relief match.
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2018, 06:55:44 PM »
WATCH: The teams for Friday’s Football For A Cause charity event at the Hasely Crawford Stadium have been named, with a host of former National footballers and other icons from other disciplines set to take the field.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/9F_qmXlnMMI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/9F_qmXlnMMI</a>

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2018, 12:51:54 AM »
Team Hope v Team Relief.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

'Con­tribute what you can,' mem­bers of the or­ga­niz­ing com­mit­tee of the 'Foot­ball For a Cause' that in­clude na­tion­al foot­ball coach Den­nis Lawrence, Kyle Lequay, Na­dine Khan and MX Prime, are urg­ing peo­ple, ahead of tonight's char­i­ty foot­ball match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um, Mu­cu­rapo.

The match, la­belled 'Foot­ball For a Cause' kicks off at 7:30pm be­tween Team Hope and Team Re­lief, and will fea­ture some of the best foot­ballers ever to have graced the foot­ball field for T&T, as well as many top ath­letes in their re­spec­tive dis­ci­plines, such as crick­et, bas­ket­ball, rug­by, net­ball, ta­ble ten­nis, hock­ey, swim­ming and horse rac­ing, all in an ef­fort to pro­vide much need­ed as­sis­tance to thou­sands of peo­ple af­fect­ed by mas­sive flood­ing over the past week.

The coun­try's first Olympic Gold medal­list Hase­ly Craw­ford will at­tempt to roll back the years, not on the tracks but on the foot­ball field, along­side Rus­sell Lat­apy, cap­tain Lawrence, Staci Ann King (crick­et) and Aasan Lewis (rug­by) among oth­ers. They will be up against a star-stud­ded team that in­cludes Com­mis­sion­er of Po­lice Gary Grif­fith, NAAAs pres­i­dent Ephraim Ser­rette, Aleena Ed­wards (ta­ble ten­nis) and Akim Tou­s­saint (hock­ey).

Lawrence said they have, on many oc­ca­sions, called on the pub­lic for sup­port for dif­fer­ent sport­ing events, but this time the call is for the peo­ple of T&T.

"When you look around and see what has hap­pened over the past cou­ple days, we need to pull to­geth­er and help our broth­er and sis­ters, and we need to do it in the most pos­i­tive way. So far the pos­i­tiv­i­ty has been bril­liant, so we need to con­tin­ue it," Lawrence said.

Carib Brew­ery, the main spon­sors of the event has agreed to do­nate 100 per cent of the pro­ceeds to­wards those af­fect­ed, while oth­er cor­po­rate part­ners such as Na­tion­al Lot­ter­ies Con­trol Board (NL­CB) etc will con­tribute in oth­er ways.

Lequay, an ex-man­ag­er of the coun­try's beach foot­ball team, al­so act­ing as a cor­po­rate part­ner, said the game is more of a pas­sion­ate ini­tia­tive, say­ing as soon as they were called to ac­tion, they act­ed im­me­di­ate­ly. "Not on­ly from the busi­ness com­mu­ni­ty but peo­ple who are un­der­stand­ing of what's hap­pen­ing in T&T."

Lequay be­lieves tonight will be the cul­mi­na­tion of four days of plan­ning and will com­prise en­joy­able foot­ball, en­ter­tain­ment from var­i­ous so­ca and dub artists, and oth­er forms of ex­cite­ment for the pub­lic.

"Bring any­thing and help those in need," Lequay said.

Teams

TEAM RE­LIEF

Akim Tou­s­saint, Aleena Ed­wards, An­cil El­cock, An­tho­ny Wolfe, Arnold Dwari­ka, Clay­ton Ince, Clay­ton Mor­ris, Clint Mar­celle, Di­nanath Ram­nar­ine, Ephraim Ser­rette, Fiona Hold­er, Franz Hug­gins, Gary Glas­gow, Gary Grif­fith, Ja­nine Fran­cois, Jef­frey Har­ris, Jer­wyn Balt­haz­ar, Karyn Forbes, Keyeno Thomas, Kirth Davis, Lamani Clarke, Brent San­cho, Renice Boyce, Reynold Car­ring­ton, Rhea Bel­grave, Ron Alexan­der, Rus­sel Mon­roe, Stern John, Tasha St Louis, Tia Bruno, Ty­ronne Charles, Rayshawn Mars.

TEAM HOPE

Aasan Lewis, Adaryll John, Ah­keela Mol­lon, Ani­ka Brice, Trevor Not­ting­ham, Cherelle Thomp­son, Cyd Gray, De­von Jorsling, Floyd Lawrence, Den­nis Lawrence, Hase­ly Craw­ford, Hud­son Charles, Joseph Quashie, Kelvon Charles, Ken­wyne Jones, Ker­ry Jamer­son, Kevin Ol­livier­ra, Kevon Coop­er, Lar­ry Joseph, Mar­vin Faustin, Mikhail Williams, Natasha St Louis, Leon­son Lewis, Pe­ter Granville, Ross Rus­sell, Rus­sell Lat­apy, Shawn Pouchet, Solomon Ec­cles, Staci Ann King, Sue Anne Cord­ner, An­tho­ny Streete

« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 02:01:23 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2018, 12:48:57 AM »
Relief items, cash for charity football match.

WHEN LAST have you been to a star-filled football event without having to purchase a ticket?

Tomorrow, fans can head to the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo to show their support to the “Football For a Cause” relief football match in aid of flood victims by showing their generosity.

It was confirmed on Tuesday that there will be no ticket purchase or admission fee required for entry when the gates open at 5.30 pm. All fans will need to do is bring their relief items or a cash contribution to access entry to the event, which is generating tremendous support and excitement since its launch on the weekend.

There will be a number of former national footballers as well as local sporting personalities and entertainers on show. TT’s first Olympic gold medallist Hasely Crawford and NAAA president Ephraim Serrette have both pledged their support to the venture and will take part in the evening’s activities.

Other past and present national sporting personalities who will be involved include organisers Dennis Lawrence and Stern John, Clayton Morris, Brian Williams, Kenwyne Jones, Angus Eve, Arnold Dwarika (football), Kevon Cooper, Dinanath Ramnarine (cricket), Aleena Edwards (table tennis), Jeffrey Harris, Mikhail Williams (basketball), Joseph Quashie and Aasan Lewis (rugby).

A host of groups are also supporting the cause, such as Carib, Sports and Games, 63 Lounge, Healthnet Caribbean Limited, PressPlay Jukebox, TTRN, TTen, Wack Radio, Boom Champions and Power 102, Flow TV, the Defence Force, the Police Service, Sport Company of TT and the TT Olympic Committee (TTOC).

Cooper, a member of the back-to-back Caribbean Premier League (CPL) champion team Trinbago Knight Riders, said he was in high anticipation of tomorrow’s event as he sees it as a most fitting way for athletes and others to make their contribution to the cause.

“This has been a great idea and gesture and I’d like to compliment the men behind it such as Dennis Lawrence and Stern and everyone who has been on board so far,” said Cooper.

“I am really happy to have this opportunity to take part in it and I am appealing to all of Trinidad and Tobago to come to the Hasely Crawford Stadium on Friday and be part of a very significant event. Last year, we contributed through the cricket match to our Caribbean neighbours and now it is our turn to come together and give whatever we can to our own countrymen, our family and our friends to help them get back on their feet again,” Cooper said.

Those interested can also drop off items at any Healthnet Location nationwide, the TTOC headquarters on Abercromby Street, Port of Spain or 63 Lounge on Ariapita Avenue.

RELATED NEWS

Lawrence: Let’s help our brothers and sisters.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

Football For a Cause match tonight…

TT men’s football coach Dennis Lawrence said that people of T&T have always supported national athletes and entertainers, and now it is time for the roles to be reversed.

Lawrence was speaking at the Football For a Cause media briefing at the #63 Bar at Ariapita Avenue in Woodbrook, yesterday. Local celebrities including present and past national athletes, and entertainers, will take part in a football match at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo for those affected by the recent flooding at 7.30 pm today.

People are asked to bring relief items or cash donations to enter the Stadium to see Team Relief play Team Hope. Gates will open at 5.30 pm. Team Relief will be led by former Strike Squad captain Clayton Morris and will be coached by former national skipper Angus Eve, who is also expected to play.

Team Hope will be captained by former national footballer and current national coach Lawrence and will be coached by former Strike Squad defender Brian Williams.

At the briefing yesterday Lawrence said, “We have asked T&T to come out on many occasions whether it be for football, basketball, events that MX Prime would be having. We have asked T&T to come out and support us. Now I think it is our time to come out and support T&T.”

Lawrence, one of the main organisers of the event, urged the public to support the venture.

“We have managed to pull this together with a fantastic group...we are looking out for T&T to come and support what we are trying to do and we are looking forward to T&T to come and enjoy a fantastic event. We want it to be enjoyable, but most importantly we need to understand why we are doing this. We are doing this for a fantastic cause. When you look around and see what is happening over the last couple days, we need to pull together and help our brothers and sisters and we need to do this in the most positive way we could find.”

Soca artiste MX Prime, along with reggae artiste Isasha and the Laventille Rhythm Section are expected to perform at the event. MX Prime said he felt he needed to get involved as a citizen of T&T. “When I was called by Dennis I knew what he was asking of me to be a citizen of the Republic of T&T,” MX Prime said.

“This country has done so much for all of us in this room, and we are extremely grateful to be representing the red, white and black especially in this particular initiative.”

MX Prime said everyone in T&T was impacted in some way by the flooding. “It does not matter if you have been affected by what took place, whether your place was flooded out or not, whether your property was destroyed or not. We all feel this because many of us who are thanking God nothing happened went into their pockets, went to the various supermarkets and groceries and they gave.”

Team Relief: Angus Eve (coach/player), Clayton Morris (captain), Clayton Ince (goalkeeper), Akim Toussaint, Aleena Edwards, Ancil Elcock, Anthony Wolfe, Arnold Dwarika, Clint Marcelle, Dinanath Ramnarine, Ephraim Serrette, Fiona Holder, Franz Huggins, Gary Glasgow, Gary Griffith, Janine Francois, Jeffrey Harris, Jerwyn Balthazar, Karyn Forbes, Keyeno Thomas, Kirth Davis, Lamani Clarke, Brent Sancho, Reneice Boyce, Reynold Carrington, Rhea Belgrave, Ron Alexander, Russell Munroe, Stern John, Tasha St Louis, Tia Bruno, Tyrone Charles, Rayshawn Mars.

Team Hope: Brian Williams (coach), Dennis Lawrence (captain), Ross Russell (goalkeeper), Aasan Lewis, Adarayll John, Ahkeela Mollon, Anika Brice, Trevor Nottingham, Cherelle Thompson, Cyd Gray, Devon Jorsling, Floyd Lawrence, Hasely Crawford, Hutson Charles, Joseph Quashie, Kelvon Charles, Kenwyne Jones, Kerry Jamerson, Kevin Ollivierra, Kevon Cooper, Larry Joseph, Marvin Faustin, Mikhail Williams, Natasha St Louis, Leonson Lewis, Peter Granville, Russell Latapy, Shawn Pouchet, Solomon Eccles, Stacy-Ann King, Sue Ann Cordner, Wesley Webb, Anthony Streete.

« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2018, 12:50:41 AM »
Team Hope win Football For A Cause 2-1.

TEAM HOPE, coached by Brian Williams, defeated Team Relief, which included player/coach Angus Eve, 2-1 at the Football For A Cause charity match, which took place, on Friday evening, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

The event featured ex-national footballers, current national women players, as well as members of the hockey, table tennis, cricket and swimming fraternity.

Swimmer Cherelle Thompson and TT women’s footballer Natasha St Louis scoring for Team Hope, while current Central FC coach Stern John replied for Team Relief.

However, the loudest cheers of the night occurred when former Minister of National Security and current Police Commissioner Gary Griffith made a pair of cameo appearances for Team Relief.

National men’s coach Dennis Lawrence, who was one of the chief organisers for the charity match, described the event as “fantastic”.

“I think the most important thing was the cause,” he said. “The reports I’m getting is that we’ve got a room absolutely ram-packed and the donations (were) very good. And everybody came out and enjoyed themselves. From that point of view, I’m delighted.”

Asked if another charity game could be staged in a few weeks’ time, to garner greater public support, Lawrence replied, “Obviously. The idea is the try to have some continuity because we need to always keep coming together, unite, and try to help.”

He continued, “So, we’ll sit down, have a chat because I think (Friday) was a good example for Trinidad and Tobago about when people come together, what (they) can achieve.”

Lawrence was pleased with the positive responses he got from his former TT teammates and members of the sporting fraternity who took part in the charity match.

“It was just one phone call and everybody was on board straight away,” he said.

“That was the easiest part. In terms of the logistics, that would have been the more difficult part, because when you have the Commissioner of Police involved in anything, you need to be very secure.

“All and all, we were pleased, everybody enjoyed themselves. The sponsors, the people that turned up and the media, I want to say thank you very much.”

He ended, “It was on short notice. We weren’t expecting it to be great but we were going to do it anyhow.”

RELATED NEWS

Football For A Greater Cause.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

In the af­ter­math of the dev­as­tat­ing floods in parts of our coun­try, or­di­nary cit­i­zens, with­out be­ing told what to do by those in au­thor­i­ty, col­lab­o­rat­ed in a re­mark­able team ef­fort to try and bring some lev­el of re­lief to those af­fect­ed. Mod­ern com­mu­ni­ca­tions tech­nol­o­gy and so­cial me­dia made it pos­si­ble for in­di­vid­u­als and groups to self-or­gan­ise with­out need­ing in­struc­tions from some sort of cen­tral con­trol.

The strand­ed, res­cuers, those in shel­ters and or­gan­is­ers were us­ing dig­i­tal plat­forms to keep in touch with each oth­er. What has been ob­vi­ous is how the tra­di­tion­al T&T “can-do” spir­it took over de­spite be­ing in a time where our so­ci­ety seemed to have been tak­en over by an en­vi­ron­ment that has been re­lent­less­ly and ap­par­ent­ly pur­pose­ly neg­a­tive al­most as if de­signed to di­vide and de­mor­alise us. The nat­ur­al events of the past week have re­mind­ed me that the force of Moth­er Na­ture is ab­solute and even with all the con­ve­niences of mod­ern life, the im­pact can be dev­as­tat­ing. I am heart­ened to see how peo­ple have been com­ing to­geth­er to sup­port each oth­er dur­ing this cri­sis.

It of­ten takes a tragedy to gain true per­spec­tive. Den­nis Lawrence led the charge on the week­end to bring to­geth­er a group of pow­er­ful, self­less in­di­vid­u­als who have served sport in the coun­try, to find some means of gath­er­ing all the sup­port pos­si­ble to as­sist the flood vic­tims. Let’s be bru­tal­ly hon­est here, I for one, and I am sure some of you out there, com­ing from the en­vi­ron­ment here in T&T in re­cent his­to­ry, have had times when per­son­al­ly it felt that re­al good­ness is noth­ing but a mere façade, a mask be­hind which op­por­tunist souls are plot­ting to pound on you. But fol­low­ing a mere five days of putting minds and hearts to­geth­er and the stag­ing of “Foot­ball for a Cause” on Fri­day night, I have re­newed hope. While as a na­tion we may be em­broiled in all kinds of neg­a­tiv­i­ty, re­cov­ery from which seems an oner­ous task, that does not ne­ces­si­tate that there is a dearth of God-fear­ing, hum­ble souls in the land of the pure. There are still peo­ple out there who are ren­der­ing vol­un­teer ser­vices, mak­ing it a point to serve hu­man­i­ty, charg­ing noth­ing in re­turn.

To the count­less cit­i­zens who turned up at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo just to drop off re­lief items be­fore go­ing about the rest of their evening’s sched­ule, we ex­tend a heart­felt thank you. And to those who re­mained with us to wit­ness the foot­ball match filled with spir­it, ca­ma­raderie and love, you have demon­strat­ed where your heart is. All the play­ers from the Strike Squad era, the 2006 World Cup squad mem­bers and the ath­letes from the var­i­ous sport­ing dis­ci­plines who walked out on­to the pitch to form the love cir­cle be­fore kick off, you all were sim­ply be­ing hu­man in the best pos­si­ble way—by com­ing to­geth­er for a no­ble cause to try and im­prove the cur­rent state of af­fairs for so many we may not even know in our coun­try.

"I think we all came to­geth­er for a greater cause. The con­tri­bu­tions made tonight are all for the flood vic­tims and I think we scored a vic­to­ry tonight as one peo­ple com­ing to­geth­er for such an event. This was us giv­ing back to the peo­ple af­fect­ed who have been there sup­port­ing us ath­letes over the years," Lawrence said.

It was spe­cial to see 1989 Strike squad team­mates such as Rus­sell Lat­apy, Hut­son Charles, Leon­son Lewis, Ker­ry Jamer­son, Michael Mau­rice, Floyd Lawrence and Mar­vin Faustin on the pitch to­geth­er again. Then the likes of Lawrence, Brent San­cho, Stern John, Ken­wyne Jones, Cyd Gray An­tho­ny Wolfe and Clay­ton Ince from the '06 squad, not to for­get Arnold Dwari­ka, An­gus Eve, An­sil El­cock, Clint Mar­celle, Gary Glas­gow and John who at one point were putting on a dis­play in the fi­nal pe­ri­od so rem­i­nis­cent of when they played to­geth­er more than a decade ago.

Po­lice Com­mis­sion­er Gary Grif­fith's cameo was en­cour­ag­ing and well re­ceived by the fans while the likes of na­tion­al bas­ket­baller Jef­frey Har­ris, crick­eters Kevon Coop­er and Di­nanath Ram­nar­ine, for­mer goal­keep­er Ross Rus­sell, na­tion­al in­door hock­ey cap­tain Solomon Ec­cles and team­mates, Rug­by play­er As­san Lewis, women foot­ballers led by Tasha St Louis, Women's crick­eter Staci-Ann King, Net­baller Sue-ann Cord­ner and a host of oth­ers all put on an en­joy­able show. De­Fos­to, Anslem Dou­glas, Isas­ha, Pred­dy, Laven­tille Rhythm Sec­tion and Max­imus Dan and Ul­ti­mate Re­jects all kept the evening abuzz with en­ter­tain­ment while the many vol­un­teers and ser­vice providers en­sured the pro­ceed­ings flowed. To cor­po­rate T&T who joined us at late no­tice and the many mem­bers of the lo­cal me­dia, your gen­eros­i­ty and con­sis­tent sup­port were had a sig­nif­i­cant im­pact.

This char­i­ta­ble event could now be­come an an­nu­al one with the pri­ma­ry ob­jec­tives of an an­nu­al cam­paign be­ing to ac­quire, re­new and up­grade donors, con­tin­ue rais­ing aware­ness and cul­ti­va­tion. There are al­ways peo­ple in need more than we can pos­si­bly imag­ine.

There is a long road to re­cov­ery ahead, but I am in­spired by the heart, com­pas­sion, and grit dis­played by all us I am con­fi­dent that we can be­come stronger than we were be­fore. It needs to be du­ly re­alised that a pro­jec­tion of such hum­ble so­cial en­deav­ours such as Fri­day’s match host­ed by Den­nis and Friends needs to be ren­dered for they are the pos­i­tive shades that or­na­ment the face of Trinidad and To­ba­go, man­i­fest­ing the preva­lence of hu­man­i­ty in the hearts and minds of Trin­bag­o­ni­ans.

« Last Edit: October 28, 2018, 01:51:08 AM by Flex »

« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2018, 08:34:41 AM »
WATCH: On Friday evening, members of the local sporting fraternity came together for "Football for a Cause". A game held to raise funds for those affected by the flood. Despite a small turnout, those who showed up donated handsomely to those in need of help.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/d6HypkOVmKs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/d6HypkOVmKs</a>

« Reply #6 on: October 28, 2018, 01:21:28 PM »
Good leadership by Dennis! Hats off to all those involved! Positive.

Football For A Greater Cause.
By Shaun Fuentes (Guardian).

Let’s be bru­tal­ly hon­est here, I for one, and I am sure some of you out there, com­ing from the en­vi­ron­ment here in T&T in re­cent his­to­ry, have had times when per­son­al­ly it felt that re­al good­ness is noth­ing but a mere façade, a mask be­hind which op­por­tunist souls are plot­ting to pound on you. But fol­low­ing a mere five days of putting minds and hearts to­geth­er and the stag­ing of “Foot­ball for a Cause” on Fri­day night, I have re­newed hope. While as a na­tion we may be em­broiled in all kinds of neg­a­tiv­i­ty, re­cov­ery from which seems an oner­ous task, that does not ne­ces­si­tate that there is a dearth of God-fear­ing, hum­ble souls in the land of the pure. There are still peo­ple out there who are ren­der­ing vol­un­teer ser­vices, mak­ing it a point to serve hu­man­i­ty, charg­ing noth­ing in re­turn.

To the count­less cit­i­zens who turned up at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo just to drop off re­lief items be­fore go­ing about the rest of their evening’s sched­ule, we ex­tend a heart­felt thank you. And to those who re­mained with us to wit­ness the foot­ball match filled with spir­it, ca­ma­raderie and love, you have demon­strat­ed where your heart is. All the play­ers from the Strike Squad era, the 2006 World Cup squad mem­bers and the ath­letes from the var­i­ous sport­ing dis­ci­plines who walked out on­to the pitch to form the love cir­cle be­fore kick off, you all were sim­ply be­ing hu­man in the best pos­si­ble way—by com­ing to­geth­er for a no­ble cause to try and im­prove the cur­rent state of af­fairs for so many we may not even know in our coun­try.

Shaun, resonant stuff in your voice. :applause: Much better than the propaganda pieces.  :)
« Last Edit: October 28, 2018, 01:23:28 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2018, 05:40:35 AM »
$66.5k raised at Football For A Cause.

A SUM of $66,458 has collected, by way of financial contributions, from the Football For A Cause charity football match, which took place at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo on October 26.

A number of past national footballers, as well as national players from various sporting disciplines, were openly supportive of the venture, which saw fans either donating cash or items to persons affected by the nationwide October 19 floods.

However, there was a poor turn-out on the evening, with an estimated 2,000 persons witnessing Team Hope defeat Team Relief 2-1.

In a media release, the organisers, Dennis Lawrence and Friends, revealed the cash donations gathered at the gates, as well as relief items - toiletry items (1500), cases of water (110), cleaning agents (200), food items (3,000) and clothes.

"Through use of cash collected from the event, appliances will be purchased and distributed to homes in the affected areas," the media release said. "The organisers of Football For a Cause collaborated with ITNAC Trinidad for the distribution of the items on October 27 in several of the affected areas including Greenvale, Congo, Sangre Grande, Ascot, Kelly Village, Couva, Las Lomas, Warrenville, Oropune, El Socorro and Tobago."

Some of the ex-national footballers who featured in the charity match spoke about their experiences...

Stern John – “It was good. It was really organised properly. We tried to plug it as much as we can with the media. But I think it could have been a better turnout, to be quite frank. I think it was for a good cause and to help the people who were struggling with the floods. If I had to be a bit critical, the turnout was a bit disappointing. Nevertheless, the ones who came out and support, we have to thank them.

Arnold Dwarika – “It was nice. It was for a cause but, all and all, it was enjoyable. I’m sorry that we have to come together to play in this crisis. It was all for a cause. It was a bit disappointing with the turnout. On the field, and the camaraderie that we had, it was a good effort with the boys. I applaud them for that."

Gary Glasgow – “The turnout was not what we wanted but the end-result, I think, was positive. The goal is what we set out for, and its what we achieved. The camaraderie, and the stuff that we got from people. It’s always nice to be back with the boys. (There are) men who you haven’t seen for a bit. It’s always nice to come together and hang with the guys."

Kenwyne Jones – “(I'm) happy to see the players that turned out, a lot of past national footballers, the cricketers, the netballers, all the hockey players, the Commissioner of Police (Gary Griffith), it was great to see them. It was good to play against people who I grew up watching and actually played with, on the national team. The game itself went off really well. The entertainers they had (were) really well. But we were probably expecting a little bit more from the public, with the turn-out. Hopefully, with things coming up in the future, we could be able to raise awareness."

Kerry Jamerson – “I think the event was very much organised, at a short notice. (It) was very nice to see a lot of sporting bodies (come) out and support the event, and the cause. It was a good gesture (from) Dennis Lawrence to come up with that so quickly. I thought it should have had more people supporting the cause. Anything like that, once they ask, we will come forward."

Russell Latapy – “I thought it was a fantastic effort from all my ex-teammates and the sports personalities, and people that I admire. I have to say one thing that I was disappointed with was the turn-out of the crowd. I thought that, as Trinbagonians, we are there to support each other and we had a disaster a few days ago. This (event was organised) in a short space of time. The fans who were there created a good atmosphere so it was really a fantastic (evening) and, most importantly, for a great cause."

Video - SPORT: Football For A Cause

« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2018, 11:30:04 AM »
Football For a Cause...Greenvale residents get Christmas gifts
T&T Guardian

Mem­bers of the Foot­ball For A Cause com­mit­tee which host­ed the re­cent char­i­ty foot­ball match for flood vic­tims at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um, Mu­cu­rapo paid a vis­it to res­i­dents in Green­vale and Orop­une on Sat­ur­day to present gro­cery and oth­er house­hold items to some fam­i­lies that were still re­cov­er­ing from the trag­ic flood­ing events of Oc­to­ber.

Na­tion­al Team head coach Den­nis Lawrence whose brain­child it was to stage the “Foot­ball for a Cause” match was joined by mem­bers as they made a sec­ond round of vis­its to the af­fect­ed fam­i­lies. Among the items al­so pre­sent­ed were re­frig­er­a­tors, stoves and beds.

One res­i­dent, wheel­chair-bound grand­moth­er An­nette Git­tens, ex­pressed her ela­tion up­on the ar­rival of the group on Sat­ur­day.

“Right now I am so elat­ed. I am hum­bled and I thank you all so much be­cause I got more than I ex­pect­ed. I know God is awe­some and I know that he al­ways gives. So when I got the call from Den­nis I said ‘what?’ and then I un­der­stood about Foot­ball for a Cause. Den­nis and Friends, you all have made my day and I thank you so much,” Git­tens said.

Re­call­ing the or­deal in Oc­to­ber, she added, “That was a jour­ney. At first, I thought what I am go­ing to do. Where I am go­ing to get the things from. We did get a $20,000 grant from the Gov­ern­ment and while it may not be enough, I still thanked God for it. But we need­ed a lot of stuff still. And then when you all called, I said ‘Lord I got all that I am pray­ing for’. I didn’t have a fridge, I didn’t have a stove and now I do. I didn’t have that much hope but I have faith in God.”

Git­ten’s grand­daugh­ter Shayanne has been at her side and was al­so grate­ful for the sup­port. “I’d nev­er been through any­thing like that so it was re­al­ly tir­ing and dif­fi­cult. That was the most fright­en­ing night of my life. We didn’t know what our next step would be. There were a lot of sleep­less nights and days be­cause we were not sure what to­mor­row would bring. But now we are com­ing along and we will hope­ful­ly get there.”

Git­tens is look­ing for­ward to a brighter hol­i­day than she would have an­tic­i­pat­ed a week ago. Among oth­er res­i­dents vis­it­ed on Sat­ur­day in­clud­ed Dwight Roach who is still un­able to move back in­to his home for the Christ­mas. Roach's ini­tial plea for as­sis­tance got the at­ten­tion of Lawrence who then ini­ti­at­ed pro­ceed­ings for the foot­ball event.

“Christ­mas is look­ing much bet­ter, I love to cook even though I am on a wheel­chair. I am a bad granny in the kitchen. Now I can bake my sweet­bread and I can drink cold juice. I am not ashamed to say I was drink­ing hot juice be­fore. The on­ly thing I told them I re­al­ly need­ed at first was an iron be­cause I need to iron my clothes to look pre­sentable. Thank you so much to Foot­ball for a Cause, Den­nis and Friends like Richard (Piper) and Na­dine (Khan), you all have re­al­ly come for­ward and done a great deal for us.”

Through the use of cash col­lect­ed from the event, ap­pli­ances were pur­chased and dis­trib­uted to homes in the af­fect­ed ar­eas. The or­gan­is­ers of Foot­ball For a Cause dis­trib­uted in sev­er­al of the af­fect­ed ar­eas in­clud­ing Green­vale, Con­go, San­gre Grande, As­cot, Kel­ly Vil­lage, Cou­va, Las Lo­mas, War­renville, Orop­une, El So­cor­ro and To­ba­go.

Foot­ball For a Cause wish­es to ex­tend its ap­pre­ci­a­tion to the fol­low­ing part­ners - Carib, NL­CB, Health­net Caribbean, De­fence Force Mas­ters, SM Jaleel, An­gos­tu­ra, Guardian Me­dia Lim­it­ed, 96.1 and Star 94.7 FM (TTRN), I95.5FM and Red 96.7, 107.1FM, WACK 901.1,Boom Cham­pi­ons 94.1, Flow Trinidad, Caribbean Lifestyle Com­mu­ni­ca­tions, TTFA, Sports and Games, Lounge 63, Trinidad and To­ba­go Olympic Com­mit­tee, Sportt, Jo­ma, Domi­no’s, Trinidad and To­ba­go Po­lice Ser­vice, Trinidad and To­ba­go Fire Ser­vice, Trinidad and To­ba­go De­fence Force, The Me­dia, All Play­ers, Sup­port Staff and Vol­un­teers.

« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2018, 12:57:16 PM »
:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

@Dennis and Friends  :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Offline Thomo

« Reply #10 on: December 25, 2018, 02:28:52 PM »
How come the TTFA doesn't see it fit to do similar to raise funds for themselves?

« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2018, 01:52:37 PM »
Good stuff by DL and all involved.

« Reply #12 on: December 26, 2018, 07:49:57 PM »
Congrats for a worthy cause.