March 28, 2024, 12:44:01 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Japan Game (05-Jun-2019)  (Read 7575 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Japan Game (05-Jun-2019)
« on: April 05, 2019, 10:34:12 PM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Japan game at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi Prefecture on the 05th of June 2019 will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Adrian Foncette (Police FC).

Defenders:

Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Mekeil Williams (OKC Energy FC—USA), Alvin Jones (OKC Energy FC—USA), Daneil Cyrus (Al Orobah FC—Saudi Arabia).

Midfielders:

Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly FC—Saudi Arabia), Judah Garcia (Unattached), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC), Duane Muckette (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven FC—USA), Nathan Lewis (Lansing Ignite—USA), Jomal Williams (W Connection FC), Lester Peltier (Al-Orobah FC—Saudi Arabia), Levi Garcia (Beitar Jerusalem FC—Israel).

Forwards:

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection).

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

Japan Squad

Goalkeepers

KAWASHIMA Eiji (RC Strasbourg/France), GONDA Shuichi (Portimonense S.C./Portugal), SCHMIDT Daniel (Vegalta Sendai), OSAKO Keisuke (Sanfrecce Hiroshima)*.

Defenders

NAGATOMO Yuto (Galatasaray S.K./Turkey), MAKINO Tomoaki (Urawa Red Diamonds), SAKAI Hiroki (Olympique de Marseille/France), SHOJI Gen (Toulouse Football Club/France), MUROYA Sei (F.C. Tokyo), UEDA Naomichi (Cercle Brugge K.S.V./Belgium), HATANAKA Shinnosuke (Yokohama F・Marinos), NAKAYAMA Yuta (PEC Zwolle/Netherlands)*, TOMIYASU Takehiro (Sint-Truidense V.V./Belgium).

Midfielders

KAGAWA Shinji (Besiktas J.K./Turkey), HARAGUCHI Genki (Hannover 96/Germany), KOBAYASHI Yuki (SC Heerenveen/Netherlands), SHIBASAKI Gaku (Getafe C.F./Spain), ITO Junya (K.R.C. Genk/Belgium), HASHIMOTO Kento (F.C. Tokyo), NAKAJIMA Shoya (Al Duhail SC/Qatar), MINAMINO Takumi (FC Red Bull Salzburg/Austria), MORITA Hidemasa (Kawasaki Frontale), DOAN Ritsu (FC Groningen/Netherlands), KUBO Takefusa (F.C. Tokyo)*.

Forwards

OKAZAKI Shinji (Leicester City Football Club/England), OSAKO Yuya (Werder Bremen/Germany), SUZUKI Musashi (Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo).

Coach - Hajime Moriyasu (JAP).

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

« Last Edit: May 31, 2019, 06:43:12 PM by Flex »

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Japan Game (05-Jun-2019)
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2019, 10:34:49 PM »
WATCH: The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association today announced two international friendlies against Japan and Venezuela at the Media Briefing at the Home of Football in Couva

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/UqXaNTme4sI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/UqXaNTme4sI</a>

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2019, 07:32:46 AM »
Japan to play friendly vs Trinidad and Tobago on June 5th
Kyodo News

The Japan national men’s team will host an international friendly against Trinidad and Tobago on June 5, the Japan Football Association said Friday.

The friendly at Toyota Stadium in Aichi Prefecture is likely to be the Samurai Blue’s last match before departing for the Copa America in Brazil.

Japan will be making its second guest appearance at the South American continental tournament running from June 14 to July 7.

Trinidad and Tobago, currently 93rd in the FIFA rankings, will use the match as a tune-up for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which starts on June 15.

RELATED NEWS

T&T to face Japan and Venezuela in Gold Cup warm ups.
TTFA Media.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association has secured two international friendlies against Venezuela in Sabana Grande on May 29th and Japan at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi on June 5th.  These games will serve as part of the build up to the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup

Head coach Dennis Lawrence is al­so eye­ing a cou­ple of friend­ly match­es with Caribbean op­po­si­tion to cater specif­i­cal­ly for the lo­cal play­ers to get the op­por­tu­ni­ty to make the team.

How­ev­er, he made it clear that match­es against re­gion­al teams will on­ly be known af­ter the CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup draw on April 10 in Los Angeles which he is attending along with team manager Richard Piper.

Com­ing on the  end of the re­cent friend­ly match against Wales on March 20, Lawrence said the games were se­cured in line with their over­all prepa­ra­tion for the Qatar World Cup, for which the Gold Cup is a cru­cial hur­dle.

Ac­cord­ing to Lawrence, “One of the things we tried to en­sure hap­pen, as we play an in­ter­na­tion­al friend­ly at every win­dow, which we have man­aged to do, through the good works of the TTFA and the pres­i­dent. The next thing we de­cid­ed to do was to up the ante, in terms of the op­po­si­tion, and if you look back at the last six games, we played against coun­tries in the top 50 of the FI­FA rank­ings, which is of good cred­it to what the pres­i­dent has done.”

“We now head in to the last stage, go­ing in­to the Gold Cup and a big part of it is that with the ab­sence of the League at the mo­ment, we have got to find a way in par­tic­u­lar for the lo­cal play­ers, be­cause if we don’t do some­thing they will be at a very big dis­ad­van­tage. With these games we have arranged against Venezuela and Japan, that should take care of our Gold Cup prepa­ra­tion. From a fi­nan­cial point of view, the ben­e­fits are vi­tal for us, it will help us from that as­pect, so now we can say how will go about prepar­ing for the Gold Cup.”

« Last Edit: April 07, 2019, 05:25:57 AM by Flex »

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2019, 12:35:52 AM »
T&T set for Japan friendly, TTFA board member claims Warriors schedule has become DJW’s exclusive business.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

The Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Team will travel to Japan for an international friendly at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi Prefecture on 5 June, one week after the Soca Warriors play Venezuela in Caracas.

The two outings are part of head coach Dennis Lawrence’s warm-up for the 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup, which kicks off on 15 June. Venezuela and Japan are preparing for the 2019 Copa America tournament which starts on 14 June in Brazil. Japan and Qatar both appear in the South American competition as guest nations.

Lawrence will not have his full team for the Venezuela friendly as it falls outside the FIFA international match window but should have no problem in getting his best players to face Japan.

The Warriors, who are ranked 93rd in the world, are on a three match losing streak at present, after friendly losses against Wales, Iran and Thailand. Their last win came on 6 September 2018 when they downed the United Arab Emirates 2-0 in Spain.

Lawrence’s troops will not have an easy time against Japan and Venezuela either with their upcoming sparring partners ranked 26th and 29th in the world respectively. Trinidad and Tobago have played only once on home soil in the last 17 months, which was a 1-0 loss against Panama at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva on 17 April 2018.

There was a note of concern sounded by Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) board member Keith Look Loy, who revealed that the Warriors’ international schedule has become the exclusive business of president David John-Williams with games announced without any discussion at board level.

“The board knew nothing at all about the games,” Look Loy told Wired868. “For instance, who knows if the board may have decided that Venezuela is too unstable and volatile at the moment and we don’t want our players to travel there—but we never had the chance to discuss it.

“When the national coach can be talking about a game being financially beneficial to us and the board knows nothing about it, it shows that there is an inner circle running football and the board has no real power and is nothing but an encumbrance.”

Last month, Look Loy won a High Court judgment against John-Williams, which ordered the TTFA president to make the financial information of the football body immediately available to the dissatisfied board member.

John-Williams did not respond to a query from Wired868 on why the TTFA board continues to be omitted from negotiations on the booking of national football matches.

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2019, 08:28:48 PM »
Kevin Molino made his first start in over a year as he completes his recovery from ACL surgery.

He went 60 mins in a 0-0 draw with LA Galaxy

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2019, 07:33:12 AM »
Kevin Molino made his first start in over a year as he completes his recovery from ACL surgery.

He went 60 mins in a 0-0 draw with LA Galaxy
Good news!

« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2019, 02:41:07 PM »
WATCH: Shaka Hislop comments on Japan and Venezuela friendlies for Trinidad & Tobago

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/r0pN7WiAiEk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/r0pN7WiAiEk</a>

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2019, 03:47:01 PM »
Lawrence provides update ahead of Japan friendly and Gold Cup 2019.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Men’s Senior team head coach Dennis Lawrence met with the media today to provide an update on the team’s preparations for the June 5th international friendly against Japan and the 2019 CONCACAF Gold Cup which commences for T&T on June 18th against Panama in Minnesota.

Lawrence disclosed that Norway-based defender Sheldon Bateau will not be in the squad for Concacaf’s premier event due to club matters. The Norwegian league will be ongoing during the break and Bateau has not been released by the club for the period. Bateau explained in a written statement below that he runs the risk of not only falling out of favour with his club but also facing further challenges in securing a new contract in July.

‘The idea was to try and get as close as possible to take the Gold Cup squad to Japan. Visa issues has hampered some of the decision making with the squad that goes to Japan. Sheldon Bateau will not be available for selection for the Gold Cup for personal reasons in regards commitments he had with his club. We had a long discussion about it,” Lawrence said.

Costa Rican-based defender Aubrey David is also without a US Visa at this time along with team physio Dave Isaac.

“The ones that are here at the moment have been working hard and all in all the boys are in good spirits. We leave on Friday for Japan. The preparations have gone to plan,” Lawrence added.

The team departs local shores on Friday for Aichi, Japan. The roster for the June 5th friendly will be announced on Thursday.

Sheldon Bateau Statement

I’m a firm believer of giving priority to my country. It has and always will be an honour for me to represent Trinidad and Tobago. I’ve been looking forward to the Gold Cup like everyone else and I’ve been in constant contact with coach Dennis over the past few months and weeks about my current situation at Sarpsborg.

As it stands, the Gold Cup dates are clashing with my club schedule. While, I have a great desire to battle for my country now, as I’ve done in the Gold Cup 2015 campaign, I am very aware of the effects  not playing at club level can have on my ability to effectively represent my country in future tournaments and campaigns such as the World Cup 2022 Qualifying campaign. My decision will allow me to satisfy contractual obligations but also secure the possibility of honoring my commitment to the national team in the future. As much as I want to be side by side with the boys battling for my country, it saddens me to opt out of this year’s Gold Cup Campaign.

Update ahead of Japan friendly and Gold Cup 2019 with Dennis Lawrence

« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2019, 12:37:56 AM »
Japan head coach names squad for T&T Friendly.
TTFA Media.

Japan head coach Hajime Moriyasu has named a potent squad to face Trinidad and Tobago in the international friendly in Aichi on June 5th. The game will be the first of the 2019 Kirin Challenge Cup which also involves El Salvador.

The squad includes seventeen European-based players including Leicester city forward Shinji Okazaki and Werder Bremen frontman Yuya Osaka. Also on the roster is German-based midfielder Genki Haraguchi of Hannover 96, Shinji Kagawa of Turkish club Besiktas, Gaku Shibasaki of Spain’s Getafe, Junya Ito of KRC Genk, defender Naomichi Ueda of Belgium’s Cercle Brugge, Yuto Nagatomo of Galatasaray and fellow defender Hiroki Sakai of Olympique Marseille as well as goalkeeper Eiji Kawashima of French club RC Strasbourg.

Moriyasu also called up 17-year-old midfielder Kubo Takefusa of FC Tokyo. He became the second youngest player ever to be selected to the Japan National Team, second only to Daisuke Ichikawa. Kubo has been a highly anticipated prospect coming out from the youth system of FC Barcelona. More recently, he has been playing as one of the key players of F.C. Tokyo to propel his side to the league lead with his goal scoring abilities.

The game against T&T takes place on June 5th at 730pm Japan time at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi. The hosts then face El Salvador on June 9th as they prepare for the 2019 Copa America. Japan will begin its 2022 World Cup qualifying campaign in September this year.

Moriyasu spoke about the upcoming matches against T&T and El Salvador, saying “They are strong teams who are preparing themselves for the Gold Cup, so they will come out with a strong intention to win. Through these two matches, we will strive to deepen the strategical understandings among the team and prepare ourselves ahead of the upcoming qualifiers for the World Cup.”

“It is our mission to win through the competition in Asia to earn our spot into the World Cup.Through each of our activities, we must build our team strengths and strive to win out of the qualifiers,” he added.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence will announce his squad on Thursday with the team scheduled to have just a couple more sessions on home soil before departing for Japan via New York on Friday.

Defender Carlyle Mitchell, one of the surviving members of the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign, said he expects the upcoming match to be a tough but valuable exercise for T&T.

“It’s going to be a very tough game for us but it will serve us well heading into the Gold Cup. We know Japan to be a solid and technically sound team. We saw them at the last World Cup. I’ve played in a similar league before in South Korea which is their main rivals and over there they are extremely serious and passionate about their football. This will be a great experience for our team but we must go there and be prepared to compete well and give a strong showing,’ Michell told TTFA Media.

“So far our preparations have been good. The guys are coming along and we are pacing ourselves with the intentions of getting to a satisfactory level in time for the Gold Cup. These two games against Japan and Canada will be a good test for us in time for the Panama opener on June 18th,” Mitchell added.

Japan Squad

GK

KAWASHIMA Eiji (RC Strasbourg/France)
GONDA Shuichi (Portimonense S.C./Portugal)
SCHMIDT Daniel (Vegalta Sendai)
OSAKO Keisuke (Sanfrecce Hiroshima)*

DF

NAGATOMO Yuto (Galatasaray S.K./Turkey)
MAKINO Tomoaki (Urawa Red Diamonds)
SAKAI Hiroki (Olympique de Marseille/France)
SHOJI Gen (Toulouse Football Club/France)
MUROYA Sei (F.C. Tokyo)
UEDA Naomichi (Cercle Brugge K.S.V./Belgium)
HATANAKA Shinnosuke (Yokohama F・Marinos)
NAKAYAMA Yuta (PEC Zwolle/Netherlands)*
TOMIYASU Takehiro (Sint-Truidense V.V./Belgium)

MF

KAGAWA Shinji (Besiktas J.K./Turkey)
HARAGUCHI Genki (Hannover 96/Germany)
KOBAYASHI Yuki (SC Heerenveen/Netherlands)
SHIBASAKI Gaku (Getafe C.F./Spain)
ITO Junya (K.R.C. Genk/Belgium)
HASHIMOTO Kento (F.C. Tokyo)
NAKAJIMA Shoya (Al Duhail SC/Qatar)
MINAMINO Takumi (FC Red Bull Salzburg/Austria)
MORITA Hidemasa (Kawasaki Frontale)
DOAN Ritsu (FC Groningen/Netherlands)
KUBO Takefusa (F.C. Tokyo)*

FW

OKAZAKI Shinji (Leicester City Football Club/England)
OSAKO Yuya (Werder Bremen/Germany)
SUZUKI Musashi (Hokkaido Consadole Sapporo)

« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2019, 12:18:01 AM »
Lawrence selects 19-man Roster for Japan friendly.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago head coach Dennis Lawrence today announced a 19-man squad that will travel to  face Japan in the upcoming international friendly on June 5th at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi.

The home-based players along with the technical staff will depart T&T on Friday evening and will have a lay over in New York before arriving in Japan on Saturday night.

The squad is led by Saudi Arabia-based midfielder Khaleem Hyland and  includes US-based pros Duane Muckette, Kevan George, Mekeil Williams, Nathan Lewis, Alvin Jones, Leston Paul and Neveal Hackshaw while Israel-based forward Levi Garcia, Daneil Cyrus, Carlyle Mitchell and W Connection duo Shahdon Winchester and Jomal Williams as well as youngster Judah Garcia are among the other names in the mix.

Minnesota United midfielder Kevin Molino is carrying a slight hamstring strain and Lawrence did not see the need to risk him for the clash with Japan. Seattle Sounders’ Joevin Jones, who had been in training with the local-based team over the past two weeks, is  out as he awaited US work permit and travel documents this week. He only returned to Seattle on Wednesday. Costa Rican-based defender Aubrey David also misses out as he awaits his US travel documents.

Cyrus, who has 78 appearances for T&T, said he expects the assignment in Japan to be a stern test for T&T.

“We know it is going to be a very difficult match for us but also a good test that we need right now ahead of the Gold Cup,” Cyrus told TTFA Media.

“We are missing a couple players but like coach continues to say, this is just an opportunity for other players to step up and prove they deserve to be in the squad and try to seal their place with a strong contribution. It is about grabbing opportunities and pulling your weight in international football.

“Japan has a good squad with a lot of experience but we also have players who have played at a good level with a lot of experience and I think once we stay focused and adapt to the environment quickly then we can put in a good performance and just basically continue focusing on the Gold Cup which is the most important thing for us right now,” Cyrus said.

“I have played in two Gold Cups and the feeling of being there is something I relish and look forward to again. It doesn’t come much better for us in the Concacaf region so it is important we are comfortable and focused to just put out the work that will have us ready for the matches against Panama, USA and Guyana and then look to take care of anything that comes our way after that,” Cyrus added.

T&T will face Canada in Los Angeles in its final Warm-up match on June 10th before taking on Panama in its opening 2019 Concacaf Gold Cup encounter on June 18th in Minnesota.

Trinidad and Tobago squad to face Japan

Goalkeepers:

Marvin Phillip (Central FC), Adrian Foncette (Police FC);

Defenders:

Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Terminix La Horquetta Rangers), Mekeil Williams (OKC Energy FC—USA), Alvin Jones (OKC Energy FC—USA), Daneil Cyrus (Al Orobah FC—Saudi Arabia);

Midfielders:

Khaleem Hyland (Al-Faisaly FC—Saudi Arabia), Judah Garcia (Unattached), Kevan George (Charlotte Independence), Akeem Humphrey (Club Sando), Leston Paul (Memphis 901 FC), Duane Muckette (Memphis 901 FC—USA), Neveal Hackshaw (Indy Eleven FC—USA), Nathan Lewis (Lansing Ignite—USA), Jomal Williams (W Connection FC), Lester Peltier (Al-Orobah FC—Saudi Arabia), Levi Garcia (Ironi Kiryat Shmona—Israel);

Forwards:

Shahdon Winchester (W Connection).

(Remaining available players on Gold Cup shortlist)

Goalkeepers:

Nicklas Frenderup (HB Koge—Denmark), Gregory Ranjitsingh (Orlando City—USA), Jan-Michael Williams (FC Halifax Town—Canada);

Defenders:

Leland Archer (Charleston Battery—USA), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica), Justin Garcia (Unattached), Ross Russell Jr (La Horquetta Rangers), Keston Julien (AS Trencin—Slovakia), Kareem Moses (FC Edmonton—Canada);

Midfielders:

Cordell Cato (Oklahoma City Energy FC—USA), Kevin Molino (Minnesota United—USA), Reon Moore, Dylon King (both Defence Force), Kathon St Hillaire (SKF Iclinic Sered—Slovakia), Joevin Jones (Seattle Sounders—USA);

Forwards:

Willis Plaza (Churchill Brothers—India), Marcus Joseph (W Connection), Akeem Roach (Mosta FC—Malta).

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2019, 08:36:10 AM »
I absolutely refuse to believe that marvin phillip and andrian foncette is actually better than this Canadian goalie who had nothing but praise heaped on him from his inception to the USL and now the MLS. I refuse to believe that and is now beginning to believe that lawrence is nursing bollocks in his heart towards this kid. Just my belief because I can’t think of any other reason why this lad keeps getting over looked for these two very basic local leaguers who lack so very much in the goal tending department.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2019, 08:40:08 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2019, 09:54:42 PM »
Like Dennis thinks this is a charity or exhibition match. There are names on this list that should be nowhere near the airport.

« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2019, 12:18:44 PM »
Just called the official distributor of T&T kits in Trinidad and they 'haven't released' the new kit and 'sold out' of the old one. Anybody who tried to buy a T&T kit recently would realize that that is the official song, and T&T fans can't even buy our own kit. This is not a real team we supporting. This is a shell business for marketing certain pro league players (akin to how certain people who cyah drive no ass does pass the drivers' test). Imagine things so bad we looking back at the Tim Kee reign as the good old days.

« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2019, 02:18:22 PM »
Like Dennis thinks this is a charity or exhibition match. There are names on this list that should be nowhere near the airport.
I absolutely refuse to believe that marvin phillip and andrian foncette is actually better than this Canadian goalie who had nothing but praise heaped on him from his inception to the USL and now the MLS. I refuse to believe that and is now beginning to believe that lawrence is nursing bollocks in his heart towards this kid. Just my belief because I can’t think of any other reason why this lad keeps getting over looked for these two very basic local leaguers who lack so very much in the goal tending department.

Better believe it buddy. They haven't played a competitive league match for the whole year. There was even talk that players from Minor Leagues locally should be considered. That is depth, the lowest ebb that our National Football Program has reached. I've played minor league football, good heavens.
I'm hoping this is simply the squad available for the Japan match. Dennis Lawrence has a special place in the heart of fans for his contribution as a player but surely decisions like will eat away at that legacy.

« Reply #14 on: June 03, 2019, 04:32:57 PM »
Just called the official distributor of T&T kits in Trinidad and they 'haven't released' the new kit and 'sold out' of the old one. Anybody who tried to buy a T&T kit recently would realize that that is the official song, and T&T fans can't even buy our own kit. This is not a real team we supporting. This is a shell business for marketing certain pro league players (akin to how certain people who cyah drive no ass does pass the drivers' test). Imagine things so bad we looking back at the Tim Kee reign as the good old days.

It looks like theres a new sponsor, called Capelli sport. Looks like a company out of Germany. Just saw a post from the TTFA with Capelli sport tagged.

« Reply #15 on: June 04, 2019, 12:02:33 AM »
Putting in the Work – T&T senior men prepare on Japanese turf.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago Senior Men’s Team touched down in Tokyo around 9pm on Sunday night, 8am Sunday TT time and settled in before undergoing its first training session at the Paloma Mizuho Stadium on Monday evening. The Mizuho stadium is one of the venues for the 2020 Summer Olympics and the home venue of J1 League football club Nagoya Grampus.

T&T head coach Dennis Lawrence put his players through their paces for 90 minutes under relative cool conditions. US-based trio Mekeil Williams, Neveal Hackshaw and Alvin Jones arrive on Tuesday ahead of the final session at the Toyota Stadium. Kick off time on Wednesday is 7:30pm (6:30am TT time). The game will be broadcast live on I95.5FM

T&T skipper Khaleem Hyland spoke about the team’s current mindset saying that the players were ready to withstand the pressure of facing a potent host team which is preparing for the 2019 Copa America and 2022 World Cup qualifiers which begin them for them this September.

“After a tough trip to get to Japan, to now be here  is great. We were welcomed with open arms by the Japanese Football Association. Hopefully the camp can be a great one for us for the couple days” Hyland told TTFA Media.

“Everyone knows Japan is a great team they have great players who play at top clubs. They work their socks off and hopefully we can go into this game with confidence like we did in most of our recent games and get a good result. This is preparation for us for the Concacaf Gold Cup and hopefully we can get a good showing with no injuries,” said the former Racing Genk player.

With T&T set to face Panama in its Gold Cup opener on June 18th in Minnesota, the Saudi Arabia-based midfielder said it was crucial for the T&T squad to let the preparation take its rightful course over the next three weeks.

“We are taking it day by day. Right now we have to focus on the training pitch. We have to the work against Japan firsrly. We’ve got to work on our strong points, fix our weak points and hopefully we can be ready for our first game on June 18th. Our group is difficult we know but in this time of football anyone can beat anyone and we have proven this before,” he said. “We did pretty much good in the last two Gold Cups and I think we have a youth in the squad and they are hungry. I am here with my experience with a couple of the guys from the past Gold Cups to share our experience to give them that confidence and belief. There is nothing better than playing and doing something you love.”

The former San Juan Jabloteh player is carrying big responsibilities as team captain but he’s wearing the armband determined as ever to lead the team.

“It’s great for me to be captain of the national team. It has always been my dream. I’ve worked my way up the ladder. It’s a honour and pleasure to wear the armband and represent my country. Hopefully i can achieve something as the captain of Trinidad and Tobago. I am just looking forward to give all that I have for my country and hopefully I can share a lot of my experience with the younger ones,” Hyland continued.

He also spoke about preparing for international football with the current technical staff.

“It’s great working with these guys. I worked with Dennis and Stern (John) playing together and I learned a lot from them in the past because I rubbed shoulders with them. It is a honour to have coaches you played with and you know they respect you and you respect them. We have one goal and everyone knows Stuart (Fevrier) knows the game inside out. We have a lot of experience and they always share information with the younger ones and make them believes in themselves. For footballers it is great to have people like this in our staff to help you and make you believe in yourselves to go out and do the job on the day,” Hyland concluded.

Hyland anticipates tough contest against Japan

T&T Senior Men's team first training day in Aichi, Japan

« Reply #16 on: June 04, 2019, 01:49:21 AM »
Abu Bakr couldn't make this squad seeing that we dont have Bateau and Hodge?

« Reply #17 on: June 04, 2019, 03:23:38 AM »

It looks like theres a new sponsor, called Capelli sport. Looks like a company out of Germany. Just saw a post from the TTFA with Capelli sport tagged.

Steups them from NY/NJ

That is a small time company. Good for them if they expanding but we is a joke

« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2019, 09:27:31 AM »

Steups them from NY/NJ

That is a small time company. Good for them if they expanding but we is a joke

Lol I had no idea, their website wasnt loading up and according to their Facebook page, theyve signed contracts with german teams in the lower tiers. I really liked the jerseys from joma smh.

« Reply #19 on: June 04, 2019, 09:03:41 PM »
so ...so many midfielders...let's see how direct they play

« Reply #20 on: June 04, 2019, 09:37:49 PM »
WATCH: Soca Warriors' final training session before facing Japan in an International Friendly

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/hYcr5aT6jic" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/hYcr5aT6jic</a>

« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2019, 06:03:21 AM »

« Reply #22 on: June 05, 2019, 06:31:05 AM »
Verdict? Conclusions?

Offline noize

« Reply #23 on: June 05, 2019, 07:27:15 AM »
We can't put together more than 2 passes to save our life. We hustled and closed down well. No midfield possesion, disjointed, no real movement off the ball. We got lucky to end in a draw. No real improvement overall.

« Reply #24 on: June 05, 2019, 07:59:02 AM »
^^^What he said. I saw the last 20 mins and as usual we were chasing and scrambling for dear life. Happy we didn't lose.

« Reply #25 on: June 05, 2019, 08:08:18 AM »
We can't put together more than 2 passes to save our life. We hustled and closed down well. No midfield possesion, disjointed, no real movement off the ball. We got lucky to end in a draw. No real improvement overall.
I really can't see how a 0-0 draw against a team rated as 26 in the world is not an improvement,If it was a a small Caribbean nation then you can say that,but this is Japan on home soil.TT give worse teams a head start in most matches with an early goal or 2,this was Nil Nil for the entire match,i will say improvement.

« Reply #26 on: June 05, 2019, 08:22:31 AM »
Is improvement a one match thing or is it to be based on a series of consistent outings?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 08:24:04 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #27 on: June 05, 2019, 08:27:23 AM »
Japan comes up empty in scoreless draw with Trinidad and Tobago
The Japan Times

Japan showed plenty of attacking energy but was foiled by Trinidad and Tobago ‘keeper Marvin Phillip in Wednesday’s scoreless draw.

Although fans at Toyota Stadium were denied a national team debut from 18-year-old wunderkind Takefusa Kubo, who was left off the bench, Japan, ranked 26th in the world, attacked relentlessly but could not get onto the scoreboard against 93rd-ranked Trinidad.

With Japan completely dominant in midfield, the visitors were unable to maintain possession for long throughout the first half. Although Japan failed to score, it was not from lack of trying.

Phillip repeatedly turned away first-half shots set up by a steady salvo of deadly accurate crosses into the penalty area.

Portimonense midfielder Shoya Nakajima sniped away at the goal, while FC Groningen midfielder Ritsu Doan wreaked havoc up the middle, often in concert with Marseille defender Hiroki Sakai coming up the right flank.

In the 24th minute, a Doan through pass unleashed Sakai down the right. Werder Bremen forward Yuya Osako found space in front of Phillip’s goal and stung the ‘keeper’s hands after a well-timed cross from Sakai.

That ushered in nearly 20 minutes of non-stop pressure from the Japanese that included a Nakajima missile blocked by Phillip, and a free kick from the Japanese midfielder that came off the bar.

Starved of the ball while his teammates were under pressure, Trinidad forward Levi Garcia had the best chance of the first half but was blocked by Japan’s Daniel Schmidt. The American-born Vegalta Sendai goalkeeper then stopped a point-blank header off the ensuing corner.

Phillip was once more put to the test in a 30-second rush in that saw him deflect an 85th-minute strike from Japan captain Gaku Shibasaki, tip away a roller seconds later and then stop a shot from Sho Genji.

Japan will face El Salvador at Hitomebore Stadium Miyagi on Sunday before leaving for the Copa America, which gets under way on June 14 in Brazil.

RELATED NEWS

T&T Men deny Japan with gutsy performance in Aichi.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago will be heading to the United States on Thursday morning on the back off a 0-0 draw with Japan at the Toyota Stadium in Aichi. It was a result that would leave Dennis Lawrence and his men with a lot to feel good about as they held their nerves as they frustrated the hosts before 38,000 odd fans in an exercise which both countries used to prepare for upcoming international competitions. T&T opens its 2019 Gold Cup account on June 18th against Panama while Japan will contest the Copa America where they will field a largely under 23 team before commencing its 2022 Qatar World Cup qualifiers in September.

Japan showed a lot of energy in attack but couldn’t breakdown a stubborn T&T defence as goalkeeper Marvin Phillip pulled off a number of good stops to deny the hosts who piled on the pressure in the second half.

Portimonense midfielder Shoya Nakajima sniped away at the goal, while FC Groningen midfielder Ritsu Doan wreaked havoc up the middle, often in concert with Marseille defender Hiroki Sakai coming up the right flank.

Alvin Jones had T&T’s best first half attempt when his free kick was saved by the Japanese custodian.
In the 24th minute, a Doan through pass unleashed Sakai down the right. Werder Bremen forward Yuya Osako found space in front of Phillip’s goal and stung the ‘keeper’s hands after a well-timed cross from Sakai.
That ushered in nearly 20 minutes of non-stop pressure from the Japanese that included a Nakajima missile blocked by Phillip, and a free kick from the Japanese midfielder that came off the bar.

Starved of the ball while his teammates were under pressure, T&T forward Levi Garcia had the best chance of the first half but was blocked by Japan’s Daniel Schmidt. The American-born Vegalta Sendai goalkeeper then stopped a point-blank header  by Kevan George off the ensuing corner. Garcia also played one in from the right which just beat a lunging Nathan Lewis inside the box.

Phillip was once more put to the test in a 30-second rush in that saw him deflect an 85th-minute strike from Japan captain Gaku Shibasaki, tip away a roller seconds later and then stop a shot from Sho Genji.  Lawrence gave 18-year-old Judah Garcia a run out late in the second half as T&T continued to press on. Jones was forced to leave the field with a strained hamstring but is expected to be ready for the Gold Cup.

The match had earlier kicked off in style both on and off the field as the stadium lights were lowered prior to the teams’ entrance onto the pitch with only the lights of the fans’ mobile phones and the digital screen illuminating the venue along followed by an eight second countdown before the teams came out. There was also small Japanese contingent of around thirty persons playing steel pan and outfitted in carnival wear in the stands.

Lawrence later credited his team for a gutsy performance.

“In terms of the game obviously we had to dig deep because we played an exceptional team in Japan. They moved the ball well. They tried to get the ball in wide areas, create the width and get a lot of crosses in which we expected and we had to defend. On the other side I was really, really proud of my boys tonight, Lawrence said.

“It was a long journey to get here. The boys did us proud and it was really the type of test we needed going into competition like the Gold Cup. I was really pleased for the boys. I couldn’t name one particular player because I thought they all stood up to be counted. Obviously in the end Japan really pushed us back and our ‘keeper had to pull off some incredible saves but that is what he’s there for ,” Lawrence added.

Goalkeeper Phillip also spoke about the result and performance on the night.

“We knew the game would have been tough. We tried to go out there and stick to the game plan. During the game I had to make a couple saves and I came up big for the team on the night. That’s a goalkeeper’s job. I had been putting in a lot of work since we started the training camp. All of this didn’t come by guess. It came by putting in a lot of work with the goalkeeper coach Ross Russell,” Phillip said.

The T&T goalkeeper mentioned that Lawrence’s ability to prepare his team on what to expect from the opponent has been critical.

“Right now the team under good guidance under the coach. We understand what he wants. It’s jus for us to go out there and execute and turn the 1-0 losses we’ve had in the last couple games into positive results going into the Gold Cup. I knew I needed to remain solid for the closing minutes of the match because the guys were getting tired also because a few of them having been active for a while,” he said

“We have a few things to work on still and to fine tune but the next week will be important and should be really good for us going into the opener against Panama.”

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Marvin Phillip (GK);  12.Carlyle Mitchell (15.Curtis Gonzales 89), 5.Daneil Cyrus , 3.Mekeil Williams; 19.Kevan George,16.Alvin Jones (14.Akeem Humphrey, 67′), 23.Leston Paul; 13.Nathan Lewis (6.Duane Muckette 78′),11.Levi Garcia (18.Lester Peltier 71). 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain) (4.Neveal Hackshaw 84′), 20.Jomal Williams (2.Judah Garcia 89);

Unused substitutes: 22.Adrian Foncette (GK); 9.Shahdon Winchester.

Head Coach: Dennis Lawrence

Japan: 23.Daniel Schmidt (GK); 22.Shinnosuke Hatanaka, 3.Gen Shoji, 16.Takehiro Tomiyasu; 19.Hiroki Sakai (2.Sei Muroya 61′), 24.Hidemasa Morita (25.Yuki Kobayashi 61′), 7.Gaku Shibasaki (captain), 5.Yuto Nagatomo (8.Genki Haraguchi 79′); 11.Shoya Nakajima (9.Takumi Minamino 71′),21.Ritsu Doan (14.Junya Ito 21), 15.Yuya Osako,

Unused substitutes: 12.Shuichi Gonda (GK), 28.Keisuke Osako (GK), 4.Ryosuke Yamanaka, 6.Kento Hashimoto, 10.Shinji Kagawa, 13.Kensuke Nagai, 20.Tomoake Makino.

Head Coach: Hajime Moriyasu

Japan v Trinidad and Tobago 0-0 (HIGHLIGHTS) 日本 v トリニダードトバゴ Friendly Match

« Last Edit: June 05, 2019, 04:29:04 PM by Flex »

Offline noize

« Reply #28 on: June 05, 2019, 08:33:17 AM »
Considering the past few matches we have not really progressed IMO.But with that said we were missing Molino & Joevin in the midfield. If Phillips didnt have a fantastic game it could have easily been 3-0 then everyone would have said how much we lacking a consistent flow and lack of composure.Count how may times we had consistent possession going and how many times the log ball from the back was our option for attack and tell me how we have shown progression.

« Reply #29 on: June 05, 2019, 09:22:45 AM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 0-0 draw with Japan.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/p9zFTiKOAmk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/p9zFTiKOAmk</a>