March 28, 2024, 09:34:46 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Panama Game (18-Jun-2019)  (Read 17557 times)

Re: Thread for T&T vs Panama Game (18-Jun-2019)
« Reply #90 on: June 18, 2019, 08:05:06 PM »
Panama was a must win game, and judging by this performance there no way in hell we are beating the USA again, not in America,. let’s face it this team doesn’t inspire any confidence in me or anyone. I declare it’s over, stick a fork in us we’re done.

« Reply #91 on: June 18, 2019, 08:09:52 PM »
One thing for sure D. Lawrence has been found wanting as he doesn't know the difference between strategy and tactics.

« Reply #92 on: June 18, 2019, 08:19:59 PM »
Lemme take some positives yes (a la Dreamer): I like how Cyrus play. He step up. Alvin Jones might be faulted with that 1st goal (he wasn't even in the frame), and he gave up a lot of errant passes, but I get the feeling that if he settle into this level of play he will become a better player. Levi I thought had a decent game compared to his games in the past. He got the freedom to express himself, and he took on players, but the system he playing in nobody up top with him as a foil so he can't do it on his own, but I hope he continues to settle and grow. I always like Nathan Lewis' shift, to me he does be all over the pitch. Joevin show he have the confidence at this level, but to me it look like no strategy to utilize his talents in place (or no clear instructions on his role) -- still good crosses - but no forwards on the other end; he dribbles nice in the middle too, but I dunno.

okay daiz it. I would love to see Dennis Lawrence post match interview b/c it never look to me like there is a well thought-on plan on how to score. Just 10 men behind the ball all the time.
what game you watched mate? the names you mentioned were the biggest impediments all game long. Someone needs to tell Garcia and Lewis that they are not pele and instead of beatsing their way into a wall of players since the hex and losing the ball on every attempt, they need to realize that passing the ball and making runs in the box yields better results.

As for Cyrus, that boy needs to grow bunions on his ass from sitting on the bench. he had no clue what to do with the ball tonight and often logs the ball up field for a turn overand, he’s at best an emergency option. IMO dennis got it way wrong tonight. there’s no way you play molino as a striker he’s more effective playing from behind. Curtis gonzales and mikiel Williams should have started in the center with Cyrus on the bench. Oh well panama did it to us again.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2019, 08:22:13 PM by pull stones »

Offline Trini boi

« Reply #93 on: June 18, 2019, 08:41:54 PM »
It seemed like no one wanted the ball. Our movement off the ball was atrocious, and the passing was despicable.  Open passes being missed all game; players hiding behind Panama players and not being open; continuous back passing; no midfield; Joevin not starting.  It all boils down to coaching.  Firing Hart was the biggest mistake Trinidad football ever made (that led to Jones retirement).

« Reply #94 on: June 18, 2019, 08:52:52 PM »
It seemed like no one wanted the ball. Our movement off the ball was atrocious, and the passing was despicable.  Open passes being missed all game; players hiding behind Panama players and not being open; continuous back passing; no midfield; Joevin not starting.  It all boils down to coaching.  Firing Hart was the biggest mistake Trinidad football ever made (that led to Jones retirement).
I think injuries really led to Jones retirement tbh.

« Reply #95 on: June 18, 2019, 09:09:34 PM »
Honest question: When last we score a goal?

We have been scoreless in the last six games. The last time we scored was against UAE last September.

« Reply #96 on: June 18, 2019, 09:18:22 PM »
Honest question: When last we score a goal?

We have been scoreless in the last six games. The last time we scored was against UAE last September.
Gracias.

« Reply #97 on: June 18, 2019, 09:32:20 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago's 2-0 loss to Panama

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Tt5z78W_r0o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Tt5z78W_r0o</a>

« Reply #98 on: June 18, 2019, 09:33:39 PM »
It became quite clear while watching this game tonight that this team has no quality none at all. We actually struggle to put a string of attacking passes together and Panama wasn’t even that good a team. and I just don’t understand lobbing the ball in the opponent’s box hoping for a miracle, IMO that tantamount to giving the ball away. that happened with hart and now with Lawrence, that’s a total waste of a good possession.

« Reply #99 on: June 18, 2019, 09:41:26 PM »

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/Tt5z78W_r0o" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/Tt5z78W_r0o</a>
shameful bloody performance. look how Cyrus escorted the attacker instead of putting a body on him or putting in a tackle giving him the opportunity to shoot at the keep the ball watched while the goal scorer got two shots, what a disgusting display,ay of football. I guess the draw with Japan went to their heads.

« Reply #100 on: June 18, 2019, 09:54:14 PM »
A whole lot of presumptuous passing over beatsing and running into defensive human walls, that’s what I have been seeing on the attacking end of this team. Anyway the Guyana keeper had a right to save that 4th goal, that goal was quite savable.

« Reply #101 on: June 18, 2019, 10:02:54 PM »
Maybe we should get some of the Venes who have been regularized and who can play football to rep T&T in our next game?!

As an incentive any Vene player that scores for us gets instant T&T citizenship!  ;)

And btw I don't care if our Trinvene football players can't speak English as I can't handle witnessing another awful T&T performance like we had against Panama last night.
« Last Edit: June 18, 2019, 10:04:31 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #102 on: June 19, 2019, 12:11:49 AM »
T&T starts Gold Cup 2019 with 2-0 defeat.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s 2019 Gold Cup campaign got off to a disappointing start in Minnesota on Tuesday night as they went down 2-0 to Panama at the Allianz Field.

T&T actually had the first real attack on goal with a play down the right but couldn’t finish off as they would have hoped. Levi Garcia has a couple good moments in attack but had nothing to show for it.

Moments before half time skipper Khaleem Hyland saw volley flash inches wide of the upright as both teams laboured to a 0-0 scoreline going into the break.

The breakthrough for Panama came in the 53rd minute. Panama had possession in the final third where Gabriel Torres sent a delicate pass through to Armando Cooper. The veteran attacking  midfielder  calmly cut by onrushing Trinidad and Tobago  goalkeeper Marvin Phillip, before slotting home to put his side ahead. The play started when Hyland gave up possession in his team’s half.

Fifteen minutes later, after a phenomenal double-save from Phillip, a third Panama chance fell to Edgar Barcenas. Phillip managed to get a hand to the close-range effort, but could not prevent Panama from doubling their tally.

Head Coach Dennis Lawrence introduced Joevin Jones in the second half as T&T tried to get themselves back into the game. Jones’ delivery from the left caused problems in the box for Panama but they then broke away leading to the second goal. Kevin Molino came close late on but couldn’t get the final touch right as Luis Mejia raced off his line to stop the effort.  Next up on Saturday, T&T will face United States which got past Guyana 4-0 in Tuesday’s second match.

Lawrence said after the match that T&T paid the price by conceding two goals due to lapses.

“I didn’t feel it was much in the game. The two critical moments in the game – Our effort, we gave the ball and we got caught and the second one us is almost scoring and then getting done in transition,”Lawrence said in the post-game press conference.

“So two soft goals to give away. We have dug ourselves in a bit of a hole now which means we have to start thinking about getting two wins from the next two games. That’s international football. If you don’t take your chances and you give away sloppy possession you can get hurt. Panama has got quality players that can do that to you. We now need to recover very quickly. Pull away from all the negatives and go onto to the next game.”

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago:  1.Marvin Phillip (GK); 16.Alvin Jones, 2.Aubrey David, 5.Daneil Cyrus, 17.Mekeil Williams; 19.Kevan George (23.Leston Paul 65′), 8.Khaleem Hyland (captain);  10.Kevin Molino, 20.Jomal Williams (3.Joevin Jones 65′); 11.Levi Garcia,13.Nathan Lewis (7.Cordell Cato 82′),

Subs not used –  21.Greg Ranjitsingh (GK), 22.Adrian Foncette (GK), 4.Neveal Hackshaw, 6.Duane Muckette, 9.Shahdon Winchester, 12.Carlyle Mitchell, 14.Akeem Humphrey, 15.Curtis Gonzales, 18.Lester Peltier.

Head coach: Dennis Lawrence

Panama (4-4-2): 1.Luis Mejia (GK); 23.Michael Murillo, 3.Harold Cummings, 5.Roman Torres (captain), 15.Eric Davis, 4.Fidel Escobar, 19.Albert Quintero (21.Omar Browne 88′), 10.Edgar Barcenas, 11.Armando Cooper, 17.Jose Fajardo (20.Ernesto Walker 78′), 9.Gabriel Torres (18.Abdiel Arroyo 84′);

Unused substitutes: 12.Jose Calderon (GK), 22.Orlando Mosquera (GK), 2.Francisco Palacios, 6.Kevin Galvan, 7.Jose Rodriguez, 8.Marcos Sanchez, 13.Adolfo Machado, 14.Valentin Pimentel, 16.Rolando Blackburn.

Head coach: Julio Valdes

Post Match Press Conference - Lawrence speaks after Panama loss

Panama (2) vs. Trinidad and Tobago (0) - Gold Cup 2019

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
USA  1  1  0  0  4  0  3
Panama  1  1  0  0  2  0  3
T&T  1  0  0  1  0  2  0
Guyana  1  0  0  1  0  4  0

RELATED NEWS

Panama outplays Soca Warriors 2-0.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Two sec­ond-half goals by Ar­man­do Coop­er in the 52nd and Edgar Barce­nas in the 68th minute for Pana­ma, con­fined T&T to its first de­feat 2-0 in Group D of the CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup in the Unit­ed States on Tues­day night.

The re­sult now means that the So­ca War­riors will have to get a re­sult each when they face the host in their sec­ond match on Sat­ur­day, and then four days lat­er when they take on re­gion­al ri­vals Guyana.

De­spite a quick start by the T&T team at the Al­lianz Field in Min­neso­ta, USA, in the ear­ly mo­ments, the re­sult ap­peared to have been on­ly a mat­ter of time, once the Pana­ma­ni­ans set­tled and dom­i­nat­ed the match.

Nathan Lewis twice in the first half used his speed to telling ef­fect down the right flank, but on both oc­ca­sions his at­tempt to pick out Jo­mal Williams was bro­ken down by the quick in­ter­ven­tion of de­fend­er Fi­del Es­co­bar. Soon af­ter, Levi Gar­cia, on one of his sweep­ing runs at the Pana­ma de­fence, tried to thread one to Lewis, but it was again in­ter­cept­ed by the steady de­fence. Pana­ma's in­abil­i­ty to hit the tar­get pre­vent­ed any chance they had of tak­ing the ad­van­tage at the half and the teams went to the break with the scores at 0-0.

How­ev­er, at the re­sump­tion the Pana­ma­ni­ans quick­ly picked up from where they left off and were re­ward­ed for their pos­ses­sion.

Coop­er found him­self at the end of an­oth­er neat build-up in­side the T&T penal­ty area and de­spite the chal­lenge by skip­per Khaleem Hy­land, Coop­er raced past the ad­vanc­ing TT goalie Mar­vin Phillips, be­fore slot­ting the ball in­to an emp­ty goal for the lead.

Mo­ments lat­er, the Pana­ma­ni­ans were un­lucky not to score again in the 61st minute from an­oth­er sweep­ing build-up that saw Gabriel Tor­res re­lease to an un­marked Es­co­bar. But Es­co­bar's thump­ing shot from some 20 yards out was pushed wide by Philips.

T&T, who were bogged down by the mid­field­ers' in­abil­i­ty to be cre­ative in the cen­tre, cou­pled with the de­fend­ers' re­luc­tance to sup­ply the pass­es when they were in pos­ses­sion of the ball, cre­at­ed lit­tle goal-scor­ing op­por­tu­ni­ties.

Still, Gar­cia had the Pana­ma de­fence back­ing when he cut in from the left side on to his un­favourable right foot, be­fore hit­ting high over the bars.

But the Pana­ma­ni­ans lat­er sealed the win de­spite the bril­liance of Philips. Tor­res, who was picked out un­marked on the left side, elud­ed his mark­er and re­leased a thun­der­ous right-foot­er that Philips some­how dived low to keep out. He then kept out a blis­ter­ing dri­ve from Coop­er on the re­bound, but could not stop Barce­nas from putting the ball in­to an open net be­fore the re­ac­tion of any T&T de­fend­er.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 12:32:23 AM by Flex »

« Reply #103 on: June 19, 2019, 12:14:20 AM »
Some of y'all ah little to rough..y'all does TALK ah damn good game doh..Not saying the team was not bad, but to say the boys played total garbage is just not true. Lawrence has to work with what he sees and has, and the players have to work with what they have and get..I feel many ah y'all should be players and coaches, cause y'all real know this game from in front the tv.
 Anyway I also have criticism and a suggestion(might be totally wrong and probably not worth anything), 4, 1 depth/width space1 ,2 width space, 1 depth space,1 is not a proper formation for full field...
                          G
                 CB
                                    CB             
RB                                                LB
          DM        Space                 DM

RM               Space         Space          LM

Space                F
        Space                   F                 Space

might be good for half field practice, as the spaces won't seem that big..What I don't understand doh, is we played big field warm-up games , it must have been evident in our lack of numbers on attack and opposing midfield attacks on our defence.  The 2 wingers have to come back on possession to get the ball from wingbacks and sometimes to assit in coverage, otherwise the defensive mids have to much ground to cover, leaving our whole defensive players overwhelmed and late, whenever a team attacks with numbers.  Of Course the guys would have to play better, but I saw what they tried to do and not do, and Panama was having none of it. They attacked the spaces and killed us on adjustments with numbers, and defended with numbers..For me, it's their mids that had us in a mess..our mids was trying to cover to much ground...to repeat, IMO, we need our wingers to come in and back more and our central mids to be not as defensive, or play 1 defensive mid.
Good luck next game guys. Go T&T.

« Reply #104 on: June 19, 2019, 01:30:12 AM »
That defending... Damn...

« Reply #105 on: June 19, 2019, 01:30:38 AM »
What coach in this world will just allow his team to play this type of unproductive, unattractive football?

At least go out fighting and take risks, play attacking football, if its not sabotage, its just a poor coaching choice..

We had so many other choices much better after Hart was fired by the dictator and they choose the worse one that is controlled and in the house.. smh

« Reply #106 on: June 19, 2019, 04:22:46 AM »

Rare that you see highlights that only show the kick-off from the 1st half and nothing else of interest from that half. Telling?

" Criminal defending" ... Quote, unquote is that what the commentator said? Wow.

« Reply #107 on: June 19, 2019, 06:36:51 AM »
One thing for sure D. Lawrence has been found wanting as he doesn't know the difference between strategy and tactics.

Yuh go leave it like that?

« Reply #108 on: June 19, 2019, 06:37:49 AM »
Lemme take some positives yes (a la Dreamer): I like how Cyrus play. He step up. Alvin Jones might be faulted with that 1st goal (he wasn't even in the frame), and he gave up a lot of errant passes, but I get the feeling that if he settle into this level of play he will become a better player. Levi I thought had a decent game compared to his games in the past. He got the freedom to express himself, and he took on players, but the system he playing in nobody up top with him as a foil so he can't do it on his own, but I hope he continues to settle and grow. I always like Nathan Lewis' shift, to me he does be all over the pitch. Joevin show he have the confidence at this level, but to me it look like no strategy to utilize his talents in place (or no clear instructions on his role) -- still good crosses - but no forwards on the other end; he dribbles nice in the middle too, but I dunno.

okay daiz it. I would love to see Dennis Lawrence post match interview b/c it never look to me like there is a well thought-on plan on how to score. Just 10 men behind the ball all the time.
what game you watched mate? the names you mentioned were the biggest impediments all game long. Someone needs to tell Garcia and Lewis that they are not pele and instead of beatsing their way into a wall of players since the hex and losing the ball on every attempt, they need to realize that passing the ball and making runs in the box yields better results.

As for Cyrus, that boy needs to grow bunions on his ass from sitting on the bench. he had no clue what to do with the ball tonight and often logs the ball up field for a turn overand, he’s at best an emergency option. IMO dennis got it way wrong tonight. there’s no way you play molino as a striker he’s more effective playing from behind. Curtis gonzales and mikiel Williams should have started in the center with Cyrus on the bench. Oh well panama did it to us again.

I disagree with some of this. If you have one or two forwards and everybody else in their own half, I don't think what you talking about could ever possibly happen. There was one time Levi end up on the right side near the corner flag after he used his speed to break forward, he was isolated shielding off and eluding 3-4 Panamanians for a good 10-15 seconds till Cyrus eventually run up to provide an outlet.
I am no Cyrus fan, but what you talking about is a CB bringing the ball forward under pressure (like Hector for Jam down, who plays for chelsea?) and making a nice pass forward. I don't think Trini ever had a CB that could do that. (Under Leo that was one of Dwight's main jobs).

« Reply #109 on: June 19, 2019, 06:48:34 AM »

shameful bloody performance. look how Cyrus escorted the attacker instead of putting a body on him or putting in a tackle giving him the opportunity to shoot at the keep the ball watched while the goal scorer got two shots, what a disgusting display,ay of football. I guess the draw with Japan went to their heads.
I think angles and highlights can be deceiving. Cyrus was coming from the left to cover for the missing man on the right (Alvin Jones) and got there late. The highlights pick up at the end of play. To me what is shameful is Dennis post-match comments. He took no blame/responsibility for the toots that went on structurally, and even though I going to the USA game, I really could only see lix on we horizon...or a completely parked bus 0-0. shameful.

« Reply #110 on: June 19, 2019, 06:54:44 AM »

I disagree with some of this. If you have one or two forwards and everybody else in their own half, I don't think what you talking about could ever possibly happen. There was one time Levi end up on the right side near the corner flag after he used his speed to break forward, he was isolated shielding off and eluding 3-4 Panamanians for a good 10-15 seconds till Cyrus eventually run up to provide an outlet.
I am no Cyrus fan, but what you talking about is a CB bringing the ball forward under pressure (like Hector for Jam down, who plays for chelsea?) and making a nice pass forward. I don't think Trini ever had a CB that could do that. (Under Leo that was one of Dwight's main jobs).
  hello we played with no foward Levi is a winger .
Winchester is the only striker there.

Offline noize

« Reply #111 on: June 19, 2019, 07:49:21 AM »
I just looked at DL post match interview. No disrespect to him as a person but is he delusional ? Was he watching the same game ? This team looks dismal, no cohesion, lack of confidence and clueless going forward. Time for DL to move on, this is the worst I've seen this team look in donkey years..Ridiculous..Grow some balls and understand that your slow defensive style of football does not work  :frustrated:

« Reply #112 on: June 19, 2019, 08:29:39 AM »
The team had no idea how to mount a productive attack to finish with a shot on goal. Lawrence stood on the sideline looking dumbfounded and clueless WTF!. We need to play 4-4-2 ;

WINCHESTER          LEVI

JONES      HYLAND     MOLINO   CATO/LEWIS

WILLIAMS   DAVID   CYRUS       JONES

Levi would be deadly coming in with his left foot from the right side
By the way what happen to Bateu

« Reply #113 on: June 19, 2019, 08:33:21 AM »
This is all wishful thinking of course. If the players not up to the task no formation would make a difference, US would crush us plain and simple

« Reply #114 on: June 19, 2019, 08:36:27 AM »
Barring injuries, barring visa issues, barring other obstacles ... the back four would likely have been Hodge, Bateau, Cyrus and David. Only one of those players played in his likely assigned role.

Discuss.

« Reply #115 on: June 19, 2019, 08:39:38 AM »
This is all wishful thinking of course. If the players not up to the task no formation would make a difference, US would crush us plain and simple

It's not that the players are not up to the task. If we look at the starting XI, we didn't play an inexperienced squad at this level of competition. There are items that need to be reinforced that do seem to not have been emphasized.

It's also a bit baffling that there is a central defender as boss and a heralded forward as an assistant coach and we are seeing the ball being distributed in ways that neither one of them would prefer as a player on the field.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 08:43:22 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #116 on: June 19, 2019, 08:46:38 AM »
I just looked at DL post match interview. No disrespect to him as a person but is he delusional ? Was he watching the same game ? This team looks dismal, no cohesion, lack of confidence and clueless going forward. Time for DL to move on, this is the worst I've seen this team look in donkey years..Ridiculous..Grow some balls and understand that your slow defensive style of football does not work  :frustrated:

I agree that the post-match comments seem not to have absorbed the entire picture. The match was more than just about two critical moments. The goals were about two critical moments but the match turned on much more than merely the goals. Yuh takeaway hadda be more than the goals. What about the body of work?

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/azmKEjSQfGA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/azmKEjSQfGA</a>
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 08:49:19 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #117 on: June 19, 2019, 08:50:32 AM »
Seeker, on another note. Did Panama fire the previous coach? The one who coached them at the WC.

« Reply #118 on: June 19, 2019, 08:54:19 AM »
Seeker, on another note. Did Panama fire the previous coach? The one who coached them at the WC.

He left voluntarily.

P.S. And now he's being accused of having a lack of ideas after Uruguay smashed Ecuador 4-0.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2019, 08:57:13 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #119 on: June 19, 2019, 09:01:26 AM »
hello we played with no foward Levi is a winger .
Winchester is the only striker there.

So, if you put Cyrus to play in central midfield, he's not a CM ... on the day?