March 28, 2024, 10:49:16 AM

Author Topic: 2019 Outdoor Season Featuring T&T Athletes  (Read 23510 times)

Re: 2019 Outdoor Season Featuring T&T Athletes
« Reply #60 on: July 28, 2019, 08:22:56 PM »
I don't believe MLA is on the decline I just think that she has had a lot going on behind the scenes this year. If KAB can get into sub 11 form before October she too stands a chance at making the final.

Please note that KAB's 100m PB of 11.14 so far this season is quicker than MLA's SB of 11.18.

The fact that MLA has been running much more often on the circuit than KAB this season and yet KAB still has a faster 100m SB than MLA this season should be worrying for those who are expecting MLA to make the World Champs 100m Final and to place anywhere inside the top 6 in the final.
I doubt that anyone who wants to place in the top 6 come the Women's 100m Final at World Champs in Doha will be able to do so without going sub-11 and MLA is yet to go sub-11 this season.   

Lets hope both MLA and KAB can go sub-11 and be in sub-11 form by Doha.

On the bright side Kamaria Durant is looking in the best shape I've seen her in for a while and ran a new 100m PB of 11.17 in the 100m Semis at Senior Open Champs and placed 3rd in the 100m Final. In addition KD also won the 200m Final in a respectable time of 22.96 so a TTO Women's 4x100m relay team of Durant to MLA to (Semoy or Prieto) to KAB can make the World Champs Final and could even place in the top 5 with enough baton practice but they will have to be prepared and able to lower our 4x100m relay NR of 42.03 if they plan to be anything other than lane-fillers in the Final. 
« Last Edit: July 28, 2019, 08:33:51 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #61 on: July 28, 2019, 08:46:04 PM »
Allyuh PanAm Games going on?

« Reply #62 on: July 28, 2019, 09:10:25 PM »

Yeap it start this weekend but the athletics segment don't start till next weekend.

« Reply #63 on: July 29, 2019, 06:17:15 AM »

Yeap it start this weekend but the athletics segment don't start till next weekend.

They did the marathon already.  I just happen to flick ah channel and realized that the games start.

« Reply #64 on: July 29, 2019, 06:35:29 AM »
these are the senior level results you get when you don't develop talent on a consistent basis at the youth level. now you end up having to depend on the same senior athletes for five, six years and hope they can bring home medals at world champs and olympics

Offline Trini1

« Reply #65 on: July 29, 2019, 04:35:12 PM »
Yes that's the problem, not much in the way of new talent. I don't see much on the development of the sport either.

« Reply #66 on: August 03, 2019, 02:09:21 PM »

On a side note we have been winning medals in other sports in the ongoing Pan American games. I created a thread here https://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=66445.msg987233#new

Don't think the track and field portion of the games have started.

« Reply #67 on: August 07, 2019, 04:50:41 PM »
Michelle-Lee Ahye came in second to claim her first medal at the Pan American Games in the Womens 100m Final with a time of 11.27 seconds!
Congratulations 🎉 🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹🇹
🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈🥈
See this link: https://www.facebook.com/TTOlympic/posts/2347361105310346

#Lima2019 #LetsAllPlay #JugamosTodos #Peru 🇵🇪 #PanAmSports #TeamTTO🇹🇹#Juegoespanamericanos2019

« Reply #68 on: August 07, 2019, 06:38:51 PM »
Congrats. Well done.Continued success at the games. She and Tenil Campbell are the most consistent TT female athletes at the moment. I don't think Cedenio made it to the final. Hope Portius Warren makes it to the final.  Teneil Campbell copped silver in cycling. Not bad. Go Ladies! Tyra Gittens is looking pretty good to medal. Good Luck.
« Last Edit: August 07, 2019, 07:00:50 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #69 on: August 07, 2019, 07:00:14 PM »

Happy for Ahye but my only wish is for faster times. Far behind if she want to compete for a medal at Worlds in Doha

« Reply #70 on: August 07, 2019, 07:03:22 PM »

Happy for Ahye but my only wish is for faster times. Far behind if she want to compete for a medal at Worlds in Doha

That would be nice. But it cold up in Lima. It is their winter at the moment. She probably don't want to pull a muscle to jeopardize her chances in Doha.

« Reply #71 on: August 07, 2019, 07:16:36 PM »

That would be nice. But it cold up in Lima. It is their winter at the moment. She probably don't want to pull a muscle to jeopardize her chances in Doha.

forget Lima, how many sub 11's she run for the entire season thus far?

« Reply #72 on: August 07, 2019, 11:55:04 PM »

Keston Bledman performance in the men 100m final was terrible and Kelly Ann Baptiste in the women final was just as terrible. Now you see the state of our track and field (especially in the sprints) when we are still depending on these athletes who are clearly past their prime to win us medals. The younger athletes should be running faster than these two so they can compete at these games

« Reply #73 on: August 08, 2019, 03:27:37 PM »

Keston Bledman performance in the men 100m final was terrible and Kelly Ann Baptiste in the women final was just as terrible. Now you see the state of our track and field (especially in the sprints) when we are still depending on these athletes who are clearly past their prime to win us medals. The younger athletes should be running faster than these two so they can compete at these games

man this is disappointing. It appears that Richards did not make the 200 finals. I hope I am wrong when I checked the schedule.

Actually, I was wrong. I checked another site which said he qualified. Am I glad on that error.

https://wrsd.lima2019.pe/PAG2019/en/results/athletics/result-200m-m-sfnl-000100-.htm
« Last Edit: August 08, 2019, 03:39:09 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #74 on: August 09, 2019, 04:48:05 PM »
Silver for Jareem! Congrats!!!

« Reply #75 on: August 10, 2019, 04:34:29 PM »
Bronze for men 4c400.

« Reply #76 on: August 11, 2019, 05:40:01 AM »
Forumites, what is allyuh opinion on the TT performance at the games. I think Weknow how Sam feel already.

« Reply #77 on: August 11, 2019, 12:48:51 PM »
Forumites, what is allyuh opinion on the TT performance at the games. I think Weknow how Sam feel already.

Not really anything great from our Track and Field athletes. Good to see us collecting medals but based on the times they are running cannot say they are now more ready to medal at Doha than before the Games. Look at our men 100m sprinters, surely easy to say we will be lucky to even have finalist in Doha. Looking back at the world relays from earlier this year I was expecting better from our men 4x400 relay team and now I am skeptical about their chances of winning Gold in Doha, but they still remain our best hope for Gold at the Worlds. Also wanted Keshorn to win gold and improved on his season PB, and Ahye to improve on her times, as she is still running too slow to challenge for a medal. NO Gold medals from any of our Track and Field athletes at the Pan Am. But I am willing to be patient with our top T&F athletes and see what happens as the season continue to progress.

In other sports especially cycling we have done really well. So from a T&T team perspective we have done good, we even improved on our medal count from last Pan American Games but in Track and Field in particular I don't see any major improvements.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 08:03:06 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #78 on: August 11, 2019, 12:50:22 PM »

« Reply #79 on: August 13, 2019, 01:18:59 PM »
is cedenio 100 %  he cannot regain his form from 2016 at all   they ran past him in the  4x 400 and he did not even make the final 400

« Reply #80 on: August 13, 2019, 05:59:27 PM »
is cedenio 100 %  he cannot regain his form from 2016 at all   they ran past him in the  4x 400 and he did not even make the final 400

In the relay, he did not have the typical last 200 burst. And he did not make the 400 final. So something is wrong. Better now than Tokyo time. He has time to recover from what ever ailments that is bothering him.

« Reply #81 on: August 13, 2019, 07:55:26 PM »
Cedenio, Lendore and St Hillaire are sub 45 runners. And all of them are struggling.. Yes. Better now than Qatar or Tokyo.

What's the deal with Lalonde? He didn't run at the National Championships. Maybe he is resting for Tokyo. .

« Reply #82 on: August 14, 2019, 01:46:26 PM »
Men's 100m finalist???

Right now we don't have a single M100m dash worlds qualifier!

I think the last time that's been the case was like 1991.

I love the optimism in here, but trust and believe...

WINTER IS COMING....

With very few exceptions, all there is is a decline in our established stars, and NOTHING coming through the youth ranks makes me think "future prospect".

It's the usual, where one year some very young upstart runs well and is hailed as one to watch, only to disappear soon after.

I tried for a decade to avoid this by calling out the flaws in our system and the removal of the jokers running it, as well as changes in how we prepare our teams, but here we are.

« Reply #83 on: August 14, 2019, 04:47:13 PM »
Yeap is dry season for our sprints. It reminded me the gap after Crawfie time went. It took a long time before we get Ato. And Ato was pure luck for us. Out of the blue Ato just appeared. At least for me. I had never heard of him before the World Junior Championship. We would not be that lucky again.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2019, 09:56:25 PM by Deeks »

« Reply #84 on: August 20, 2019, 09:26:11 PM »

Heard Keshorn finished 9th at the last DL event smh

Anyway something to keep the thread lively  ;)

https://www.facebook.com/SocaTv/photos/a.1122023934539133/2831827900225386/?type=3&theater

« Reply #85 on: August 21, 2019, 02:44:46 PM »
Men's 100m finalist???

Right now we don't have a single M100m dash worlds qualifier!

I think the last time that's been the case was like 1991.

I love the optimism in here, but trust and believe...

WINTER IS COMING....

With very few exceptions, all there is is a decline in our established stars, and NOTHING coming through the youth ranks makes me think "future prospect".

It's the usual, where one year some very young upstart runs well and is hailed as one to watch, only to disappear soon after.

I tried for a decade to avoid this by calling out the flaws in our system and the removal of the jokers running it, as well as changes in how we prepare our teams, but here we are.
Well if the ones in charge don't listen to your advice then we real backward. With your experience and connections with the advancements in T&F, when someone like you offer advice everybody should at least be listening.

« Reply #86 on: August 21, 2019, 02:55:21 PM »
I see only one medal at the world championships.

4x400 men

Don't know where else we getting one.

« Reply #87 on: August 27, 2019, 12:30:44 AM »
I see only one medal at the world championships.

4x400 men

Don't know where else we getting one.

If this happens (only one medal at Worlds) and the NAAA TT with its current leadership don't wake up and start listening to the advice of people like Ato then they never will.

Lets' see what transpires.

« Reply #88 on: August 31, 2019, 07:14:01 PM »
FIRST GOLD AND WORLD RECORD TOO!

Congrats to Akeem Stewart  :beermug: https://tinyurl.com/y2grae8o

« Reply #89 on: September 22, 2019, 01:30:06 PM »

T&T squad for World Champs...and its a small team simply because enough our athletes did not meet the qualifying standards to compete

Kyle Greaux, Jereem Richards (200m), Machel Cedenio (400m), Andwuelle Wright (long jump), Keshorn Walcott (javelin), mile relay squad