March 28, 2024, 05:53:21 PM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Canada Game (10-June-2019)  (Read 7454 times)

Thread for T&T vs Canada Game (10-June-2019)
« on: May 17, 2019, 12:26:31 AM »
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the T&T vs Canada game on the 10th of June 2019 in Los Angeles will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

To be updated.

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers:

To be updated.

Defenders:

To be updated.

Midfielders:

To be updated.

Forwards:

To be updated.

Coach - Dennis Lawrence (TRI).

Canada Squad

Goalkeepers

To be updated.

Defenders

To be updated.

Midfielders

To be updated.

Forwards

To be updated.

Coach.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Re: Thread for T&T vs Canada Game (10-June-2019)
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2019, 07:53:53 AM »
Let Greg Ramjitsingh play this game...

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2019, 10:34:23 AM »
The irony...

:D

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2019, 04:03:08 PM »
Really was to see Greg start for this game.

Come Dennis, test him.

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2019, 06:23:23 PM »
is this game a " closed doors " session ??..so no TV or streams etc ??

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2019, 07:47:03 PM »
is this game a " closed doors " session ??..so no TV or streams etc ??

Probably nothing visual in real time. However, when we played Iran in Brazil under seemingly comparable circumstances, match footage eventually became available.

The US probably has a drone sorted. Or something comparable. Doh trust "closed door" in the US.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2019, 07:48:36 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2019, 12:01:49 AM »
T&T, Canada face-off in final dress rehearsal.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T's se­nior men’s team will play their fi­nal warm-up be­fore the start of the 2019 CON­CA­CAF Gold Cup cam­paign with a closed-door friend­ly against Cana­da at the Ti­tan Sta­di­um in Cal State Fuller­ton, USA at 3 pm (6 pm TT time) on Mon­day.

Both teams have been en­gaged in train­ing in Los An­ge­les for the past few days and are fine-tun­ing ahead of the open­ing Gold Cup match­es. T&T faces Pana­ma in Min­neso­ta on June 18th with the Cana­di­ans tak­ing on Mar­tinique on June 15th at the Rose Bowl in Pasade­na.

Cana­da’s head coach John Herd­man has se­lect­ed a 23-man ros­ter with play­ers to­talling 400 caps. Their squad in­cludes un­capped No­ble Okel­lo and Ka­mal Miller join­ing vet­er­ans 36-year-old At­i­ba Hutchin­son, Jonathan Os­o­rio, Rus­sell Teib­ert, Samuel Piette and Mi­lan Bor­jan. Oth­ers re­turn­ing from the 2017 Gold Cup are cap­tain Scott Arfield, Lu­cas Cav­alli­ni, Maxime Cre­peau, Alphon­so Davies, Ju­nior Hoi­lett, Mark-An­tho­ny Kaye, Cyle Lar­in and Jayson Leutwiler. Davies, an 18-year-old at­tack­ing mid­field­er with Bay­ern Mu­nich, was named to the 2017 tour­na­ment all-star team and win­ner of the Top Scor­er and Best Young Play­er awards.

"All of the play­ers we want­ed on the ros­ter and need­ed on the ros­ter stepped for­ward. I think that's ex­cit­ing," Herd­man said in an in­ter­view.

Mean­while, T&T has nine re­turn­ing play­ers from its last Gold Cup ap­pear­ance in 2015 - Goal­keep­ers Mar­vin Phillip and Adri­an Fon­cette, Daneil Cyrus, Mekeil Williams, skip­per Khaleem Hy­land, Ke­van George, Cordell Cato and Jo­evin Jones. Min­neso­ta Unit­ed mid­field­er Kevin Moli­no played in the 2013 Gold Cup but missed out in 2015 due to in­jury.

Both teams have met twice dat­ing back to 2000 with the pre­vi­ous match al­so be­ing a closed-door friend­ly at Cen­tral Broward Re­gion­al Park in Lauder­hill, USA with Cana­da com­ing away 2-0 win­ners in 2012. Pri­or to that T&T won a 2002 World Cup qual­i­fi­er 4-0 at the Queen’s Park Oval in Sep­tem­ber of 2000. The goalscor­ers then were Rus­sell Lat­apy, Stoke­ly Ma­son, An­gus Eve and Reynold Car­ring­ton be­fore a sold-out Oval. T&T al­so won the ear­li­er se­mi-fi­nal round World Cup qual­i­fi­er that year 2-0 in Ed­mon­ton with Dwight Yorke and Eve on tar­get, Cur­rent T&T head coach Den­nis Lawrence saw ac­tion in that match.

Hy­land ex­pects the match to be a keen­ly con­test­ed one.

“It’s an im­por­tant match be­cause it is our fi­nal ac­tu­al game sit­u­a­tion be­fore the Gold Cup starts,” Hy­land told TTFA Me­dia. “We’ve been work­ing hard for the past few weeks and the Japan game was a good test to see where we at right now. And I ex­pect this match with Cana­da to give us an­oth­er good in­di­ca­tion of our cur­rent ready state be­fore the Pana­ma game. I know the play­ers are ready and hope­ful­ly we can ben­e­fit from this match which will be worth­while to the prepa­ra­tions be­fore we head to Min­neso­ta,” he added.

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2019, 08:46:50 AM »
Good thing I checked inhere because i was thinking this game was Wed.

Is it pretty much the same roster from the Japan game? 

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2019, 04:56:30 PM »
Guess there is no live streams for this game then?

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2019, 05:01:59 PM »

Correct.

https://twitter.com/TTFootballAssoc/status/1138203112601149447

However, this is how CAN started:

Borjan, Brault-Guillard, Cornelius, Piette, Hoilett, Davies, Hutchinson, Kaye, Arfield, Cavallini and Osorio.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 05:04:49 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2019, 05:06:58 PM »

Correct.

https://twitter.com/TTFootballAssoc/status/1138203112601149447

However, this is how CAN started:

Borjan, Brault-Guillard, Cornelius, Piette, Hoilett, Davies, Hutchinson, Kaye, Arfield, Cavallini and Osorio.

Thanks for confirming. 

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2019, 05:07:37 PM »

Look at what is in the skipper's hand.

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2019, 06:49:39 PM »
We lost 2-0.

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2019, 06:54:35 PM »

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2019, 07:10:08 PM »
The irony...

:D

Who was in Goal?

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2019, 08:12:54 PM »
We cyah buy goals!

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2019, 10:22:41 PM »
For f**k sake could someone give a run down on the game. bad enough the game was off limits, but could anyone at least update us on the starters the subs and who did what when and where?

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2019, 10:26:57 PM »

« Reply #18 on: June 11, 2019, 12:14:08 AM »
Really was to see Greg start for this game.

Come Dennis, test him.

He played in the second half, from the video, I made out Foncette (Ramjitsingh), Mitchell, Jones, Paul, Williams, Cyrus, Molino, Winchester.

Scotty Arfield scored the two for Canada

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Klkebj-eFkg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQAnHM_O0f4

https://twitter.com/CanadaSoccerEN/status/1138306011465314306

« Last Edit: June 11, 2019, 12:31:06 AM by Flex »

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2019, 05:55:54 AM »
We cyah buy goals!

Interesting. Is this image representative of the overall game trend?
We whole back four not even in the image.
Canada back 3 don't look troubled at all.

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2019, 06:31:25 AM »
We cyah buy goals!

considering the 23 man roster has only one forward who not likely to play far less score ??? ??? .........besides ttfa say they have no money to buy goals ::)

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2019, 06:51:40 AM »
So after the Japan game man ran in the forum and say we should be giving the team credit for holding Japan to a draw instead I was saying the way the team played against Japan is not a winning style. It was too conservative and they showed no assertiveness, no aggression to win. They probably played the same way against Canada, but this time got their ass beat. Let us see what happens in the Gold Cup
« Last Edit: June 11, 2019, 06:55:22 AM by Sando prince »

Offline noize

« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2019, 07:15:16 AM »
The current style of football we are playing is not gonna take us far. No cohesion,  no midfield posession, no attacking runs off the ball. Hart had this team playing much better football before that "lard ass" replace him with Tallman who at heart is a defender and it shows in his style of football we playing.

« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2019, 07:19:21 AM »
The current style of football we are playing is not gonna take us far. No cohesion,  no midfield posession, no attacking runs off the ball. Hart had this team playing much better football before that "lard ass" replace him with Tallman who at heart is a defender and it shows in his style of football we playing.
You talking too much sense!

« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2019, 07:47:50 AM »
What I got from the highlights says to me that the intensity was lacking to the point where our players were for the most part ball watching in the box of all places, Canadians were left unmarked in the box of all places to do what ever they liked to the point where the number 8 got two easily uncontested unmarked shots at goal and at this level that is unheard of.

The two goals were a total carbon copy of each other, the attacker #10 turned up two of our players then played out to the left winger for a cross two touches from a header with the goals scorer #8 unmarked in the box to volley home, again the attacker this time # 20 turned up two defenders played out to the wing who successfully crossed in to the #8 unmarked on top the box who played to the # 20 who headed back to the #8 unmarked again for a simple volley, now in this day and age of football this shit is unacceptable, these were two easy goals that scored because our players were ball watching and leaving players unmarked, that’s it.

dennis needs to put a stop to this “lazy man Paul” type of football. you can’t afford to leave no one unmarked in or around the box that’s just unacceptable for this level. as for winchester, dude this is prime time football not pro league. you need to get your touches together because at this level it’s seldom that you get a clear one on one from such a brilliant pass and not have your touches together.

it was because of two poor touches that you goofed to the point the keeper dictated the play and pushed you to the left when you should have been going to the right instead. you guys are professionals and need to do better or else forget football, maybe take up sewing as an alternate profession. you fellers need to get serious, it’s the only path to success.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2019, 01:03:09 PM by pull stones »

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2019, 08:02:24 AM »
I await the panama game

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2019, 08:40:06 AM »
i respectfully disagree. I believe regardless of who coaches this team the players will always revert back to the system that conceive them, that lack of intensity - lazy - complaisant- nonthinking system they’ve grown accustomed too, the system that nutured them from the ssfl to the pro league, it’s a trinidad thing where they want the trimmings that go with being a professional footballer without the hard work.

Just looking at these guys and it’s not hard to see that they don’t put in the extra work on and off season, the kind of work that makes special players like messi ronaldo and neymar. their touches are poor, they make terrible decisions on and off the ball their passing is elementary their marking is beyond poor and their finishing leaves much to be desired, it’s no mystery that jovin and molino are head and shoulders above these guys, they got the opportunity to develop their skills in a proper environment. if you remain in the pro league past age 24 then how in the world could you compete well in such a primitive environment?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2019, 08:42:06 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2019, 08:50:25 AM »
you’re forgetting stern and stuart Charles who are attack minded in the mix along with dennis? trust me mate it’s not the coaching, we scored on Mexico in mexico not to mention beat the United States out of a World Cup spot. In the end hart was losing a lot and too easy teams, the reason we missed the last gold cup was because hart losed out to martinique and we even failed to qualify for the Copa América centenual three times which goes to show that it’s not the coach but the players who got complaisant.

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2019, 08:54:19 AM »
i respectfully disagree. I believe regardless of who coaches this team the players will always revert back to the system that conceive them, that lack of intensity - lazy - complaisant- nonthinking system they’ve grown accustomed too, the system that nutured them from the ssfl to the pro league, it’s a trinidad thing where they want the trimmings that go with being a professional footballer without the hard work.

Just looking at these guys and it’s not hard to see that they don’t put in the extra work on and off season, the kind of work that makes special players like messi ronaldo and neymar. their touches are poor, they make terrible decisions on and off the ball their passing is elementary their marking is beyond poor and their finishing leaves much to be desired, it’s no mystery that jovin and molino are head and shoulders above these guys, they got the opportunity to develop their skills in a proper environment. if you remain in the pro league past age 24 then how in the world could you compete well in such a primitive environment?
There are a few other players playing and developing in non primitive environments as you described that are not being selected. So who's fault is that?
I just saw 4 mins of highlights but the past few games I've watched we've been lacking the intention to progress out of our half. Good ball movement at times but usually lateral and backwards. It will difficult to advance in a tournament playing that pragmatic unless you have a top striker that can finish on half chances from good delivery of forward and diagonal passes.

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2019, 09:15:30 AM »

There are a few other players playing and developing in non primitive environments as you described that are not being selected. So who's fault is that?
I just saw 4 mins of highlights but the past few games I've watched we've been lacking the intention to progress out of our half. Good ball movement at times but usually lateral and backwards. It will difficult to advance in a tournament playing that pragmatic unless you have a top striker that can finish on half chances from good delivery of forward and diagonal passes.
i did not mean to offend anyone, just stating the obvious. a lot of people tend to blame the coaching for our poor string of results but I see many chances being flouted like the one on one with winchester, now nine of if ten times a well developed striker puts that away with relative ease, in the Japan game two easy chances were also dashed jomol Williams Levi Garcia and Nathan Lewis being the culprits and I’m sure if you go back and watch many of our games clear chances are being made but poor finishing take precedence over efficient skillful finishing and for that you can’t fault the coach.

You also cannot fault the coach for defenders leaving attacking players unmarked in and around the box, that’s basic knowledge and basic practice, something our boys seem never to learn from. go back and watch the highlights, both goals were scored by the same bloke in the same fashion a cross from the same side, three touch’s which include a cross a header and a volley by the same goal scorer, a text book training pitch play executed to perfection. go back and watch danial Cyrus and leston Paul ball watching on both situation, no intensity to shut the play down simple lapse in concentration coupled with ball watching, how in the world could you blame a coach for that?