March 28, 2024, 03:35:26 AM

Author Topic: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Games (6 & 9-Sept-2019)  (Read 32718 times)

Offline noize

Re: Thread for T&T vs Martinique Games (6 & 9-Sept-2019)
« Reply #150 on: September 07, 2019, 05:33:14 AM »
Our football has become so pathetic that the captain says " They had a plan not to lose the game " and the coach is congratulating the boys for their performance. Is this the mindset that Lawrence has put in place ?  We not even playing a powerhouse it's Martinique who just out played us and we hoping for a draw..look at the stats...SMDH
:banginghead:
Match Stats
MTQ    TRI
Possession
56%   44%
Shots (on Goal)
21 (6)      7 (5)
18   Fouls   12
1   Yellow Cards   2
0   Red Cards   0
3   Offsides   4
9   Corner Kicks   3
4   Saves   5
« Last Edit: September 07, 2019, 07:32:07 AM by noize »

Re: Pick yuh Team for Martinique
« Reply #151 on: September 07, 2019, 05:42:29 AM »
btw, my team woulda win  ;D

Of course! You picked about 15 players.  :devil:
Well the bracketed (4) were possible subs, after the coach confused the hell outta the attacking starters. Instructions on field Not being what was worked on during the 5 days of training. Didn’t have time for strategy.

Btw, who were his subs

Doh mind me ... ah understood, although it did remind me of life before paragraphs :) Unfortunately the formation thingy doesn't allow for 4 lines but you should play with it.

Subs?

17.Ross Russell Jr (16.Alvin Jones 71)

3.Joevin Jones (11.Levi Garcia 71) :)

7.Ryan Telfer (20.Jomal Williams 76)

Ah hope yuh ready fuh de home game pick yuh team.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2019, 06:46:46 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #152 on: September 07, 2019, 06:53:44 AM »
Les footballeurs martiniquais se concentrent sur les prochaines échéances
By Martiniquela1ère

Troisième entraînement ce mardi soir (3 septembre 2019), de la sélection de Martinique de football. Les joueurs sélectionnées sont réunis au stade Georges Gratiant au Lamentin, comme la veille, afin de répéter des séances de jeu car les échéances arrivent rapidement.

Les martiniquais préparent leur premier match de la Ligue des Nations de la CONCACAF (vendredi 6 septembre 20189 à Fort-de-France), face à Trinidad et Tobago.

Pour cette rencontre, le sélectionneur Mario Bocaly a dû remanier son groupe par rapport à celui formé à la Gold Cup. Il explique à Manuel Larade comment il a procédé à un rajeunissement de l'équipe.

https://la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/footballeurs-martiniquais-se-concentrent-prochaines-echeances-745473.html

(There's an audio clip of Mario Bocaly describing elements of difference between GC 2019 Martinique and Nations League Martinique.)

truehaitian, give us you take on the coach's comments pre-match.

The post-match assessment is that their hybrid squad of pros and non-pros deserved more than a point.

Somehow I feel we were preparing for Gold Cup Martinique.

https://m.la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/ligue-nations-concacaf-martinique-meritait-mieux-1-1-face-trinidad-746687.html

« Reply #153 on: September 07, 2019, 08:27:59 AM »
WATCH: Dennis Lawrence and Sheldon Bateau post-match press conference - Martinique 1-1 Trinidad and Tobago

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/dFEBOJW_iJE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/dFEBOJW_iJE</a>

« Reply #154 on: September 07, 2019, 10:01:18 AM »
be­fore re­leas­ing to Shel­don Bateau in­side the area. But be­fore Bateau could have got­ten an at­tempt at goal, de­fend­er Am­broise Fe­licitet stormed in to sweep his legs from un­der him

Ok Bateau B2B from CB more often or as ah regular tactic.....dais not d first time dat movement produce goals and chances, I can recall at least two others.
.....thoughts....opinions ???
« Last Edit: September 07, 2019, 10:03:04 AM by lefty »

« Reply #155 on: September 07, 2019, 02:51:45 PM »
For what it's worth ... the opposing view of Mario Bocaly and his captain (in French).

<a href="https://youtube.com/v/V6MsvMl-GAA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://youtube.com/v/V6MsvMl-GAA</a>

« Reply #156 on: September 07, 2019, 03:55:51 PM »
So we back with Joma? We get punished for wearing capelli. How much money DJW got for that?

« Reply #157 on: September 07, 2019, 04:43:08 PM »
Les footballeurs martiniquais se concentrent sur les prochaines échéances
By Martiniquela1ère

Troisième entraînement ce mardi soir (3 septembre 2019), de la sélection de Martinique de football. Les joueurs sélectionnées sont réunis au stade Georges Gratiant au Lamentin, comme la veille, afin de répéter des séances de jeu car les échéances arrivent rapidement.

Les martiniquais préparent leur premier match de la Ligue des Nations de la CONCACAF (vendredi 6 septembre 20189 à Fort-de-France), face à Trinidad et Tobago.

Pour cette rencontre, le sélectionneur Mario Bocaly a dû remanier son groupe par rapport à celui formé à la Gold Cup. Il explique à Manuel Larade comment il a procédé à un rajeunissement de l'équipe.

https://la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/footballeurs-martiniquais-se-concentrent-prochaines-echeances-745473.html

(There's an audio clip of Mario Bocaly describing elements of difference between GC 2019 Martinique and Nations League Martinique.)

truehaitian, give us you take on the coach's comments pre-match.

The post-match assessment is that their hybrid squad of pros and non-pros deserved more than a point.

Somehow I feel we were preparing for Gold Cup Martinique.

https://m.la1ere.francetvinfo.fr/martinique/ligue-nations-concacaf-martinique-meritait-mieux-1-1-face-trinidad-746687.html
Good practice for me because I'm learning French.This is what was said in that bit of French,"Third training session on Tuesday night ofthe selected Martinique players.The players selected will be united at the Stadium in Lamentin as the day before to repeat play sessions because they need to mature quickly.For this meeting the selector Mario Bocaly has to rework his group of players for the match on the 6 of September."
Not much anyway,that is nuff homework for me tonight.I'll say this,French is 20 times more difficult than Spanish.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2019, 04:52:26 PM by frico »

« Reply #158 on: September 07, 2019, 06:21:42 PM »
It is one year to the day since we last won a match.  :cursing:

and the drought will continue under this current slow uncreative style of play being implemented by DL

Offline ffisback

« Reply #159 on: September 07, 2019, 07:17:47 PM »
Univision Deportes is bringing the games I will be out of town on Monday night so I don't know if I will see the game a draw is a good result to get in Martinique but in TT they must get a win I only saw the 2nd half and from what I saw it does not matter which team DL faces he always play the same way.

« Reply #160 on: September 08, 2019, 04:42:08 AM »
Cuba got hammered by Canada, 6-0. Curacao beat Haiti 1-0. Very good game. Curacao looking good. El Sal. beat St. Lucia 3-0. Looshans were no match for them

« Reply #161 on: September 08, 2019, 06:06:59 AM »
Our football has become so pathetic that the captain says " They had a plan not to lose the game " and the coach is congratulating the boys for their performance. Is this the mindset that Lawrence has put in place ?  We not even playing a powerhouse it's Martinique who just out played us and we hoping for a draw..look at the stats...SMDH
:banginghead:
Match Stats
MTQ    TRI
Possession
56%   44%
Shots (on Goal)
21 (6)      7 (5)
18   Fouls   12
1   Yellow Cards   2
0   Red Cards   0
3   Offsides   4
9   Corner Kicks   3
4   Saves   5

Damned if you do and damned if you dont.  While i respect the view of all of the posters, I constantly see overwhelming negativity in here.  Our football is in a sad state, but this is a good result on the road given our form of late. 

Let's see how Monday goes.  They get a pass in this game, since a point away is a decent start, but anything other that a victory on Monday would make this result useless. 

I see tonnes of complained in here, lol. 

Imagine a man start to bad talk our best player at the Gold Cup and he was blamed for the goal, lol. 

I believe that DL is NOT the man for the job, but honestly, the negativity in here is overwhelming.  We got a point on the road!

« Reply #162 on: September 08, 2019, 09:10:34 AM »

I believe that DL is NOT the man for the job, but honestly, the negativity in here is overwhelming.  We got a point on the road!

Andre, how much negativity is appropriate for 10 games without a win? Keeping in mind that under this same coach we had a 9-game winless streak.

« Reply #163 on: September 08, 2019, 02:00:53 PM »
Tallest, we could win 4 out of the next 6 games and win the CONCACAF Nations League and Denis overall record will still be poor.  So i am not into his record.  I already stated that he should have been removed from this role. 

However, whether his record poor or not, a point on the road vs Martinique isnt a bad result.  That is simply my point.

« Reply #164 on: September 08, 2019, 02:01:50 PM »
Phillips
David
Bateau
Cyrus(4)
A Jones
Fortune(1)
george(3)
Molino
Joseph(2)
Carr
Telfer

bench :L Garcia(1) 45 ', Jones(2) 71 ',J Williams(3) 65', Mitchell(4) 82 '

Leading 2-1 at 45'      Leading 3-1 81'  Final score  3-1 TT

and the Loto 6/49 #s this week will be  7,19,22,33,34,46   ;)

doh forget where y'all get it
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 02:15:19 PM by maxg »

« Reply #165 on: September 08, 2019, 03:49:16 PM »
Yuh ready fuh yuh Pro League Second Division debut.

« Reply #166 on: September 08, 2019, 03:53:49 PM »
Tallest, we could win 4 out of the next 6 games and win the CONCACAF Nations League and Denis overall record will still be poor.  So i am not into his record.  I already stated that he should have been removed from this role. 

However, whether his record poor or not, a point on the road vs Martinique isnt a bad result.  That is simply my point.

I think we all recognize that a point on the road is not the worst scenario. What many reject is the optimistic sheen that it's pissing rain when in actuality things simply just stink of another liquid.

However, as well, there should be a distinction between away points. Going to Martinique is not going to Guatemala although both have historically had their challenges. It's very convenient to reduce the argument to point accumulation on the road, but it should never be reduced to that in dismissal of the quality of the product on display.

That stated, I think Martinique is not coming to Trinidad to be cautious (their away match) and I do not think they are tremendously worried about our product. I think Bocaly has what he believes are the measure of our team and it's now up to DL to present a different mix to combat that. At home we have to be enterprising against Martinique's hybrid of amateurs and pros and to make their trip to the HCS entirely inhospitable.

One thing that we haven't been negative about on this thread is the officiating. I'm going to change that a bit. I think the ref missed a trick here and there: notably what should have been a card when their defender challenged Telfer's back rather than the ball. Card accumulation is influential on the match and it was merely minutes later when the ref was liberal in giving us a card for a garden variety foul.

Looking forward to DL pushing for 3 points with ambition and enterprise.  The selection of Telfer was encouraging because it reflected intent to put the ball down and play.  I thought he might have been inclined to endure with the aerial strategy ... although Carr has approach play that is comfortable with the ball on the carpet.

I like maxg's nod to playing both Carr and Telfer off each other with support. Whatever DL comes up with will be experimental (or ought to be) because the status quo has not worked. He has a clean slate to work his way back to credibility.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 05:28:29 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #167 on: September 08, 2019, 06:33:07 PM »
Yuh ready fuh yuh Pro League Second Division debut.

Then again, yuh might not want the frustration of a mere $ US  8,000 budget infusion. Clearly there will be no promotion and relegation given the inequitable distribution of monies to be received across the divisions (over 100K for the 1st tier and less than 10K for the second). That's nothing short of preposterous and is not forward-thinking. The teams that constitute a second tier should be well-considered in how they merit access and are incentivized. It might make sense also to permit Defence Force and Police to have teams in the second tier in addition to their PL teams.

I've spent a lot of time engaged with Ascenso teams and what I just read is hugely disappointing and borderline ignorance. Since FIFA and CONCACAF are determined to defer to the will of the self-interested, let the beatings continue. I daresay no decision-making with long-term implications for the interest of national football  should be made concrete through the TTFA president's office until after the next ballot. Where consensus is to be had, it should be utilized without undue influence of the self-interested ... particularly in an environment in which they can make no claim to having made football a commercially viable and profitable enterprise .. absent the sequestering of funds.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2019, 06:47:50 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #168 on: September 08, 2019, 07:06:08 PM »
How is Aubrey doing? Saprissa had a scare with more than 10 players having puked and reported stomach discomfort, fever and other symptoms/indications ... Aubrey among them. Possible case of salmonella. Might have to factor that in.

Not ah worry! Aubrey's non-international teammates thrashed Grecia 6-0 today. Means that Saprissa coach Walter Centeno returned to the club he was building at Grecia and knocked out all de windows.  :)

« Reply #169 on: September 09, 2019, 12:42:50 AM »
Soca Warriors seek full points vs Martinique.
By Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

T&T's So­ca War­riors will be hop­ing to get a boost play­ing at home on Mon­day night in their re­turn match against Mar­tinique at the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League foot­ball match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo. Kick-off is at 9 pm.

On Sun­day at a me­dia press con­fer­ence both head coach Den­nis Lawrence and team cap­tain Shel­don Bateau shared their en­thu­si­asm about the match and what is at stake.

"Win­ing your home match is mas­sive­ly im­por­tant but it is how you go about get­ting that vic­to­ry is the most im­por­tant thing," said Lawrence, a for­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er.

"I think the boys will hope­ful­ly be fine and ready for the game we haven't been home for a while so I would like to be­lieve they are ex­cit­ed and look­ing for­ward to play­ing in front of T&T pub­lic again."

He is mind­ful though that the na­tion­al team still has worked to do if they are to take down the Mar­tini­quans, who scored first in the open­ing match at the Stade Pierre Alik­er Sta­di­um in Mar­tinique on Fri­day night. Cyril Man­dou­ki ben­e­fit­ted from a de­flect­ed ef­fort from a left side cor­ner, that fell in his path, fir­ing past goal­keep­er Mar­vin Philip. It was thanks to a 65th-minute penal­ty from Jo­evin Jones which helped T&T share the points with Mar­tinique.

"Some­thing we need to im­prove on our set-piece. They cause a threat from set-pieces in terms of de­liv­ery and the way they at­tack the ball," said Lawrence. "So over­all we just need to make sure we try to get on the front foot and don't al­low them to build mo­men­tum as they did in Mar­tinique which was ex­pect­ed as they were at home."

Lawrence had his play­ers rest for most of the week­end in prepa­ra­tion for to­day's match.

"I think it's more about re­cov­ery more than prepa­ra­tion be­cause the big part for us is the re­cov­ery that's the prepa­ra­tion," said Lawrence. "We play on such short no­tice and then hav­ing to trav­el and ar­riv­ing here so it's a short time so we couldn't spend much time on the foot­ball pitch so re­cov­ery was the most im­por­tant fac­tor."

Bateau too shared his ex­cite­ment say­ing: "The first was for us to re­cov­er af­ter the match and now we know what to ex­pect and we're back at home. It's been a while since we played at home."

Offline ffisback

« Reply #170 on: September 09, 2019, 01:55:07 AM »
If TT does not win tonight I would not be surprised if fans in the stadium start to publicly call for DL head.

« Reply #171 on: September 09, 2019, 04:55:51 AM »
If we do lose this match which is likely judging from the first,DL should be sacked or he should gracefully hand in his resignation.DL cannot take TT anywhere except the Hasely Crawford Stadium,some may even doubt that,he can easily go down as one of the worst we have had.If we happen to win by luck and chance we still won't get far,someone will cut us down.

« Reply #172 on: September 09, 2019, 05:34:05 AM »
Soca Warriors seek full points vs Martinique.
By Rachael Thompson-King (Guardian).

T&T's So­ca War­riors will be hop­ing to get a boost play­ing at home on Mon­day night in their re­turn match against Mar­tinique at the CON­CA­CAF Na­tions League foot­ball match at the Hase­ly Craw­ford Sta­di­um in Mu­cu­rapo. Kick-off is at 9 pm.

On Sun­day at a me­dia press con­fer­ence both head coach Den­nis Lawrence and team cap­tain Shel­don Bateau shared their en­thu­si­asm about the match and what is at stake.

"Win­ing your home match is mas­sive­ly im­por­tant but it is how you go about get­ting that vic­to­ry is the most im­por­tant thing," said Lawrence, a for­mer na­tion­al de­fend­er.

"I think the boys will hope­ful­ly be fine and ready for the game we haven't been home for a while so I would like to be­lieve they are ex­cit­ed and look­ing for­ward to play­ing in front of T&T pub­lic again."

He is mind­ful though that the na­tion­al team still has worked to do if they are to take down the Mar­tini­quans, who scored first in the open­ing match at the Stade Pierre Alik­er Sta­di­um in Mar­tinique on Fri­day night. Cyril Man­dou­ki ben­e­fit­ted from a de­flect­ed ef­fort from a left side cor­ner, that fell in his path, fir­ing past goal­keep­er Mar­vin Philip. It was thanks to a 65th-minute penal­ty from Jo­evin Jones which helped T&T share the points with Mar­tinique.

"Some­thing we need to im­prove on our set-piece. They cause a threat from set-pieces in terms of de­liv­ery and the way they at­tack the ball," said Lawrence. "So over­all we just need to make sure we try to get on the front foot and don't al­low them to build mo­men­tum as they did in Mar­tinique which was ex­pect­ed as they were at home."

Lawrence had his play­ers rest for most of the week­end in prepa­ra­tion for to­day's match.

"I think it's more about re­cov­ery more than prepa­ra­tion be­cause the big part for us is the re­cov­ery that's the prepa­ra­tion," said Lawrence. "We play on such short no­tice and then hav­ing to trav­el and ar­riv­ing here so it's a short time so we couldn't spend much time on the foot­ball pitch so re­cov­ery was the most im­por­tant fac­tor."

Bateau too shared his ex­cite­ment say­ing: "The first was for us to re­cov­er af­ter the match and now we know what to ex­pect and we're back at home. It's been a while since we played at home."

Persistent problem known to all and sundry and particularly known to you. Need I take you back to San Jose, Costa Rica in June 2017? Issue both on the road and at home. Still not fixed and the same personnel are involved. Where's the surprise?

« Reply #173 on: September 09, 2019, 07:05:53 AM »
Why oh why we cannot get a coach from Europe,Africa or South America,we just don't have locals capable enough.

« Reply #174 on: September 09, 2019, 08:50:14 AM »
Whey allyuh team , mouthers   ;D

« Reply #175 on: September 09, 2019, 09:12:44 AM »
Why oh why we cannot get a coach from Europe,Africa or South America,we just don't have locals capable enough.

I actually think that Denis CV is better than most of the coaches that we can afford.

nb: THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT I WANT HIM TO STAY IN THE ROLE

« Reply #176 on: September 09, 2019, 09:22:43 AM »

I think you wrong about local, in addition, we cannot afford a top coach, maybe you want another, he who name I cannot call, Seinfeld, Sanford or maybe a son of one of the 3 Stooges. We have ppl who know the game, always had, foreign and domestic, however they are not stooges, and we don’t stand up for or support them during the tough times. One day we will afford the Alex or Pep, some ppl want, even if normal results don’t change. We have to fix ourselves, no coach can do that. We went World Cup , best in the world, and since we ketching hell to win game in our region, so where we develop. News flash: Jack carried us, with his ruthlessness, fifa money and political savvy. Our guys played their best to also make it possible, is Bahrain we fight up with, not Brazil.
We need only to use all our resources to improve and achieve, develop locals, bring back and support all expats. We need to work together, get outta the pissin contest and who have the biggest...resume.. maybe we could try a local woman coach. Not a joke , no dick to waste time with.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 09:26:04 AM by maxg »

« Reply #177 on: September 09, 2019, 09:32:36 AM »

I actually think that Denis CV is better than most of the coaches that we can afford.

nb: THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT I WANT HIM TO STAY IN THE ROLE

Was DL's salary ever made public?

That aside, it's conceivable that DL would thrive in another environment with another team. Happens all the time.

« Reply #178 on: September 09, 2019, 09:37:56 AM »
Seen Kenwyne on Facebook saying a while back that DL isn't necessarily at fault. It's poor administration and a lack of 'soldiers' and man like Joevin (and others) don't actually care about football.

The amount of shouting DL does have to do on the sidelines, I wouldn't doubt it.

« Reply #179 on: September 09, 2019, 11:16:00 AM »
Phillip
J. Jones
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
N. Garcia
George
Fortune
Telfer
Carr
Molino

Phillip
J. Jones
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
Fortune
George
N. Garcia
Telfer
Carr
Molino

Phillip
Julien/David
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
J.Jones
George
N.Garcia
Molino
Carr
Telfer

Phillip
David/Julien
Bateau (C)
Cyrus
Alvin Jones
Molino
George
N.Garcia
J. Jones
Carr
Telfer

But to be honest, if the forum's graphic could produce 4 lines, I would find room for Judah. What I expect DL to do is an entirely different matter.
« Last Edit: September 09, 2019, 11:22:38 AM by asylumseeker »