March 28, 2024, 11:59:39 AM

Author Topic: Neighbours and Test cricketers.  (Read 8418 times)

Neighbours and Test cricketers.
« on: June 25, 2019, 08:18:57 PM »
Which two neighbours from TT living on the same street, both ended up playing cricket for the WI.

I only know of one instance but I have a feeling I am about to be surprised. ;-)

NOT TALL MAN.

vb

Re: Neighbours and Test cricketers.
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2019, 03:11:40 PM »
Joey Carew and Willy Rodriquez.

« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2019, 11:08:38 PM »

Deeks,

if you know that for sure then cool.

But I have another answer.

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2019, 06:38:41 AM »

Deeks,

Breds, You know that is wildest friggin guest,

« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2019, 10:45:15 PM »

Deeks,

Deeks,

Actually both Carew and WR grew up in Woodbrook so you never know. But as you are not sure. But points for proximity. LOL

HINT: They were both batsmen but did not play for the WI at the same time.

« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2019, 05:38:47 PM »
darren ganga and jason mohammed?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2019, 05:44:40 PM by College »

« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2019, 10:41:30 AM »

Deeks,

Deeks,

Actually both Carew and WR grew up in Woodbrook so you never know. But as you are not sure. But points for proximity. LOL

HINT: They were both batsmen but did not play for the WI at the same time.

Then is Charlie Davis and either Joey Carew or Willie Rodriquez. Ah voopin VB. She always know that I was a voopah. Changed the lyrics from the chutney Soca.

« Reply #7 on: July 25, 2019, 11:26:44 PM »
Deeks keep voopin.

College, I am unaware of that answer unless you can verify.

TM go ahead if you wish.

« Reply #8 on: August 19, 2019, 07:59:28 PM »
Well like TM buss, so let me give some hints.

They both scored centuries at Test level.
They both played county cricket.
They are not from POS.

« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2019, 12:53:08 PM »
Well like TM buss, so let me give some hints.

They both scored centuries at Test level.
They both played county cricket.
They are not from POS.

They both have family that have played cricket for TT.

« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2019, 03:17:23 PM »
Bernard Julian and Gus Logie.

« Reply #11 on: August 28, 2019, 01:43:22 PM »
Bernard Julian and Gus Logie.

Deeks,

Julien from North, Logie from Sobo Village in South TT.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

But yuh trying breds  :)
I think that deserves one more hint. They became Coaches post cricket.

« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2019, 05:06:14 PM »
I doh know de answer, but I just have this feeling that dey from Barrackpore.

« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2019, 05:55:11 PM »
I doh know de answer, but I just have this feeling that dey from Barrackpore.

No. But good educated guess. But I think only Ganga from Barrackpore scored a Test century.

« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2019, 12:35:07 PM »
Any more hints and I will just be giving the answer.

They were both considered all rounders, scored Test centuries and played county cricket. Both went into coaching after cricket.
Both have scored double centuries in FC cricket.

« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2019, 04:55:02 AM »
Gerry Gomez is one?

« Reply #16 on: September 06, 2019, 05:39:44 AM »
Willie Rodriquez. Ah vooping again!

« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2019, 07:23:02 PM »

« Reply #18 on: September 11, 2019, 02:25:38 PM »
I'm gonna go with DfJ Bravo and Jeff Stollmeyer ... although I'm not sure the latter played county cricket.

« Reply #19 on: September 11, 2019, 02:29:46 PM »
I'm gonna go with DfJ Bravo and Jeff Stollmeyer ... although I'm not sure the latter played county cricket.

« Reply #20 on: September 11, 2019, 07:20:10 PM »

I don't think either played county cricket.

JS was from POS and Big Bravo from Santa Cruz.

These individuals I am talking about lived on the same street.

« Reply #21 on: September 11, 2019, 08:48:34 PM »
Byron Asgarali.

« Reply #22 on: September 12, 2019, 11:06:53 AM »

« Reply #23 on: September 12, 2019, 02:00:55 PM »
LAST LAST LAST hint...

They are both from the East. They both have family that have played for TT.

« Reply #24 on: September 12, 2019, 02:06:14 PM »
LAST LAST LAST hint...

Larry Gomes and ... Phil Simmons?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2019, 02:15:36 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #25 on: September 12, 2019, 02:27:23 PM »
LAST LAST LAST hint...

;D ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

SSSHHEEEEEEW.........that took long enough. ;-)

« Reply #26 on: September 12, 2019, 03:56:08 PM »
LAST LAST LAST hint...

;D ;D :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

SSSHHEEEEEEW.........that took long enough. ;-)

Once yuh say LAST LAST LAST hint ... ah had to get in. :)

Ah say VB running a scheme here. Maybe the "neighbors" actually lived in de same house (Larry and Sheldon) ... but Sheldon didn't fit de Windies billing.

« Reply #27 on: September 12, 2019, 10:44:46 PM »
Guys, Sheldon was one of the nicest senior players in QRC. He was real approachable. He interacted with the lower formers and joked with them. Stephen Gomez was another fun guy. Remembered him playing scooch with us. Sheldon was an excellent striker. Scored plenty goal for  us in his senior year. But his heart was in cricket. He was on the TT U-19 team. He, Bernad Julien, Richard Gabriel made the TT Shell Shield team. But he could never get off the mark in the regional games. He made about 3 consecutive ducks. It messed up his cinfidence. But when the WI played TT, he was selected 12th man because of his excellent fielding. It was real painful for we QRC boys. But he is really a nice dude.

« Reply #28 on: September 13, 2019, 09:29:50 AM »

I don't think either played county cricket.

JS was from POS and Big Bravo from Santa Cruz.

These individuals I am talking about lived on the same street.
Big Bravo did play county cricket for Surrey and Jeff Stollmeyer, according to mulitple sources is from Santa   Cruz.  I cant believe took so long with all the hints.... I should have known. LOL

« Reply #29 on: September 13, 2019, 05:59:07 PM »
Guys, Sheldon was one of the nicest senior players in QRC. He was real approachable. He interacted with the lower formers and joked with them. Stephen Gomez was another fun guy. Remembered him playing scooch with us. Sheldon was an excellent striker. Scored plenty goal for  us in his senior year. But his heart was in cricket. He was on the TT U-19 team. He, Bernad Julien, Richard Gabriel made the TT Shell Shield team. But he could never get off the mark in the regional games. He made about 3 consecutive ducks. It messed up his cinfidence. But when the WI played TT, he was selected 12th man because of his excellent fielding. It was real painful for we QRC boys. But he is really a nice dude.

What you are saying about Sheldon does not surprise me. I interviewed his brother Larry back around 1996/97. The man was the nicest most down to earth fella you could ever want to meet. And I have interviewed a lot of nice people. No offence to them but Larry was so cool and humble.