March 29, 2024, 02:37:53 AM

Author Topic: Sitting at the wicket.  (Read 5727 times)

Sitting at the wicket.
« on: September 11, 2019, 03:35:28 AM »
In what First Class match in the WI did the batsmen refuse to bat and the player at the opposing end took off his pads and sat next to the stumps and the Umpire.

Not Tall Man.

Re: Sitting at the wicket.
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2019, 02:28:12 PM »
Ok the match was in TT.

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2019, 06:00:00 PM »
Nobody will get this one.

Tallest go ahead.

« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2019, 03:02:01 AM »
It happened in the eighties.

« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2019, 09:07:20 AM »
Domestic or regional FC?

« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2019, 05:10:30 PM »

[/quote]jy
Domestic or regional FC?

Regional and Rangy Nannan was the Captain.

« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2019, 01:11:53 PM »
I guess if you weren't in TT in those days, you would not know. It''s not on youtube or anything.

But when TT realized the batsmen weren't taking the game seriously, it became ridiculous, one spinner tried to bowl a bouncer.

All the batsmen started begging for a chance to bowl. You will see they had very economical overs - impressive for batsmen if you don't know the real story. ;-)

« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2019, 01:52:07 PM »
In what First Class match in the WI did the batsmen refuse to bat and the player at the opposing end took off his pads and sat next to the stumps and the Umpire.

Trinidad and Tobago vs Australia, Guaracara Park, March 9-12 1984

« Reply #8 on: September 17, 2019, 02:24:56 PM »
VB, heheheh ... that is a very loose definition of "regional". :rotfl:

I eh going to wait fuh yuh. We done know TM right. Kim Hughes and his temper tantrum. The other batsman was Wayne Phillips and at one point he did more than sit ... He was actually stretched out flat on the ground. At the end of it all, when questioned about his refusal to score runs, Hughes declared he didn't give a damn about cricket in T&T.

It's episodes like this that should be motivation for Windies players to regain the dominance anyone who grew up watching cricket in the 70s and 80s was accustomed to.

Damn good question. I vaguely remember any of it but just did a quick refresher.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2019, 02:32:40 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #9 on: September 17, 2019, 02:33:47 PM »

I saying de same ting, but I accustom. Is not de first time VB giving wrong address.  :devil:

« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2019, 12:55:23 PM »

I saying de same ting, but I accustom. Is not de first time VB giving wrong address.  :devil:

Not at all. Inter island cricket in the WI is considered Domestic by Wisden.

This was definitely Domestic but not regional. Or perhaps it's semantics.
But I said FC and this was definitely FC.

But TM you are correct.  :)

« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2019, 01:40:16 PM »

It was a First Class match, but neither domestic nor regional. It's usually described as simply a Tour Match.

« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2019, 02:56:39 PM »

It was a First Class match, but neither domestic nor regional. It's usually described as simply a Tour Match.

and First Class!!!!   ;D

« Reply #13 on: October 21, 2021, 09:47:35 AM »

I eh going to wait fuh yuh. We done know TM right. Kim Hughes and his temper tantrum. The other batsman was Wayne Phillips and at one point he did more than sit ... He was actually stretched out flat on the ground. At the end of it all, when questioned about his refusal to score runs, Hughes declared he didn't give a damn about cricket in T&T.

It's episodes like this that should be motivation for Windies players to regain the dominance anyone who grew up watching cricket in the 70s and 80s was accustomed to.

Damn good question. I vaguely remember any of it but just did a quick refresher.

I am pretty sure it wasn't Hughes who sat on the ground. Might have been Border.
BUT it was definitely Hughes who said he didn't care about TT cricket and he wasn't there for it. I went to the ODI at the QPO just so I could boo him.  ;D

« Reply #14 on: October 21, 2021, 12:21:28 PM »

I am pretty sure it wasn't Hughes who sat on the ground. Might have been Border.
BUT it was definitely Hughes who said he didn't care about TT cricket and he wasn't there for it. I went to the ODI at the QPO just so I could boo him.  ;D

Border did not play in that match.

Farcical end to match blamed on Hughes

« Reply #15 on: October 22, 2021, 12:23:54 PM »
You know I could've SWORN that Border played in that match. I remember that Simmo went to field at forward short leg without a helmet. And an Aus. batsman offered him his helmet but it couldn't fit.

I REALLY thought it was AB.