March 28, 2024, 07:33:54 PM

Author Topic: Can anyone caption the players in this photo?  (Read 6502 times)

Can anyone caption the players in this photo?
« on: July 05, 2008, 01:40:11 PM »
found this one in my pops old stash...

Re: Can anyone caption the players in this photo?
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 01:49:12 PM »
You haddah be real good if you watching ppl from behind.

The fair skin fella might be Graeme Rodriguez.

Offline Diambars

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2008, 02:02:14 PM »
it look like Garnett Craig next to the goal keeper and and sugars wearing #8.

« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2008, 02:05:49 PM »
found this one in my pops old stash...

That's a task .  alvin musta been about 30 there in that photo ?  BTW yuh could ask alvin , he does be on here too.
« Last Edit: July 05, 2008, 02:08:00 PM by just cool »

Offline Diambars

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2008, 02:10:46 PM »
#4 looke like Reynold george and the Mervyn Joe in the whit shirt with the glasses.

« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2008, 02:26:12 PM »
GK Look like Maurice and 8 Look like Chinapoo, 4 may be Joel Rahim

« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2008, 04:25:37 PM »
The guy next to the GK look like Hutchinson from Tobago and i made out Michael Chance Dedier from Memphis,yes the guy in the white shirt is Mervyn "zip nose" Joseph.It really hard to make out fellas boy.

« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2008, 04:56:42 PM »
Where was that game being played? In Arima?

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2008, 05:41:38 PM »
De light skin guy is not Rodriguez, that look like wayne joseph who play for maple with reynold george
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2008, 06:06:39 PM »
The light-skin guy might be Ian Bain.
I remember he went back home to play in the WC qualifiers against Haiti. I can't remember what year( Spain WC???)
 it was.

If that is Ian, then Mike Grayson and Keith Eddy were on that squad also. Mike told me they reach Haiti the actual day of the game because they missed the flight from JA. Alvin indeed  was the coach.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #10 on: July 09, 2008, 07:37:37 AM »
De light skin guy is not Rodriguez, that look like wayne joseph who play for maple with reynold george

You are correct. That is Wayne Joseph (light skin guy on the chair, stopper Maple) and Michael Dediere to his left looking back ( forward, Memphis). Looks like Allan 'Peru' Anderson on the grass with hands open. Garnet Craig afro next to keeper ( stopper, Maple) Looks like Ian  'Donkey' Lakhan ( stopper Memphis no:5 ) Looks like Renold George no:4 (stopper Maple no:4)

« Reply #11 on: September 12, 2010, 07:29:42 PM »
Can someone give a location and date (at least the year) for this please?

« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2013, 05:58:33 AM »
Watch Birchall and Cyrus faces.  :rotfl:

« Last Edit: November 24, 2013, 06:01:24 AM by Flex »

« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2013, 11:44:39 AM »
Cyrus have a Usian Bolt look

« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2013, 12:09:11 PM »

soon to be an Asian Bolt look  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2013, 12:27:17 PM »
I love that kit. Love the fade on the shoulder.

« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2013, 01:13:22 PM »
is de ref wey deflect Birchy bullet

« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2013, 05:47:43 PM »

Star, how you come to that conclusion?

« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2013, 07:49:11 PM »
I will guess..Michael Maurice, Bede Archibald, Leon Carpette, Steve Khan, Kendall Walkes, Curtis Murrell, Gordon Homer..Alvin Corneal..

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2013, 11:52:31 PM »
I will guess..Michael Maurice, Bede Archibald, Leon Carpette, Steve Khan, Kendall Walkes, Curtis Murrell, Gordon Homer..Alvin Corneal..

I want to believe that was the TT team for the the 82 WC(Spain) qualification. I say so because I remember Ian Bain going home to play for the team. And if I am not mistaken, that is Bain on the middle chair. And it looks like Gerard Homer to his right. They had to play Haiti. They lost the first game in Port au Prince. They either won or tied the return.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2013, 12:21:56 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #20 on: November 24, 2013, 11:54:15 PM »
Look like Alvin Corneal was de coach in da pichure

« Reply #21 on: November 25, 2013, 10:36:53 AM »

It is Alvin. All what is said about him. I know a lot of people have issues with him. He was one of the best TT has ever produce. Ranking in the top 10 to top 15.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #22 on: November 25, 2013, 03:31:49 PM »
I think the picture is from Haiti WC qualification in 80.  Lost in Haiti 2-0 and we beat Haiti in Skinner Park, Bert Neptune scored 1-0
Out of WC first round

Bain is the light skinned man for sure

Alvin was coach in 79 CFU in Surinam. We lost all  three games if I remember St Vincent, Surinam and Haiti
Then we played Netherland Antilles twice and draw both times, not sure of the scores
He then won the CFU in Puerto Rico 81,
then we get licks 4-2  from Canada and TFA brought in a Dutch man to coach.

« Reply #23 on: November 25, 2013, 04:45:34 PM »

It is Alvin. All what is said about him. I know a lot of people have issues with him. He was one of the best TT has ever produce. Ranking in the top 10 to top 15.
true.  But I would say Alvin Corneal ranks in the top 5 T&T players ever bro.

Latas
Yorke
De Leon
Alvin
take yuh pick

And in no particular order either.

Offline Anbrat

« Reply #24 on: November 26, 2013, 08:41:04 PM »
Palos, add Warren Archibald to make it 5!

Offline ANC2

« Reply #25 on: December 01, 2013, 08:29:57 AM »

Latas
Yorke
De Leon
Alvin
take yuh pick

Alvin is from my time and was good, sweet left foot, but not in those guys class at all. Players  like Alvin, Sedley, Aleong and that generation deserve  credit, but in my
opinion were not better that Baptiste, Charlo, Franco etc. In Alvin and them times we was getting 6 from Surinam and 4 from Jamaica.
Yes we beat Surinam in T&T, Aleong was a boss, but it was he only game we win. Yet those high lights we see on tv history.  When Archie, DeLeon, and Gally came in as youngsters (early 60's) we started beating Haiti 4-2 and thing.

All these were better

Archie
Steve David
Nakid
Nixon
Gally
« Last Edit: December 01, 2013, 08:41:27 AM by ANC2 »

« Reply #26 on: December 02, 2013, 08:44:18 AM »

Latas
Yorke
De Leon
Alvin
take yuh pick

Alvin is from my time and was good, sweet left foot, but not in those guys class at all. Players  like Alvin, Sedley, Aleong and that generation deserve  credit, but in my
opinion were not better that Baptiste, Charlo, Franco etc. In Alvin and them times we was getting 6 from Surinam and 4 from Jamaica.
Yes we beat Surinam in T&T, Aleong was a boss, but it was he only game we win. Yet those high lights we see on tv history.  When Archie, DeLeon, and Gally came in as youngsters (early 60's) we started beating Haiti 4-2 and thing.

All these were better

Archie
Steve David
Nakid
Nixon
Gally

It was unfortunate that I never got to see Franco, Baptiste and Charleau. And  I believe they were real good. I was young in the mid 60s when TT started to play in official world football. Alvin, Lincoln, Gamaldo, Sedley, Gerry Brown, I had the good fortune of seeing them in action. TT football was up and coming then. I can;t remember TT losing 4 to JA in any official game at that time and the 6 we got from Suriname was a return leg of the 66 WC, after we had won the first leg(correct me on that). And Suriname had pro players from Holland. And that was a rear occasion for TT to get 6 from a Carib. team. Most of our games between TT and Suriname used to be close affair until the coup in Suriname led to an exit of players to Holland.

I remember in 70 WC, TTFA played all the games away, due to lack of funds. We lost to Haiti 4-2 and tie 0-0. And I think we lost 4-0 to Guat and tied 0-0(correct me on them scores).

« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2020, 04:35:40 PM »

« Reply #28 on: December 01, 2020, 03:44:39 AM »
Heard of all those guys except McVarron, Young and Belgrave. Frank Gamaldo is Victor Gamaldo's older brother. Turton brothers from the Sando area. They had a younger brother name Ed. Was a national sprinter and also played football. Later in life he migrated to the US and became a physio. He was the physio for the 74 youth team in Toronto. One of the nicest guys guys you could ever meet.
« Last Edit: December 01, 2020, 04:01:33 AM by Deeks »