March 28, 2024, 04:39:08 AM

Author Topic: 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread  (Read 8823 times)

Re: 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup Thread
« Reply #30 on: April 09, 2021, 12:51:02 AM »
T&T, Montserrat Gold Cup qualifier set for Fort Lauderdale
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T and Montserrat will play their preliminary round of the Concacaf Gold Cup clash at Inter Miami CF Stadium in South Florida, the home of US Major League Soccer club Inter Miami.

The match in Fort Lauderdale, Florida will be one of nine qualifiers to be contested between July 2-6, leading to the final three nations qualifying for the 16-nation Gold Cup group stage.

For 2021, Concacaf’s flagship competition will for the first time include the preliminary prior to the 16 team Group Stage.

The 12 nations participating in the prelims qualified through their Concacaf Nations League performances and will compete for the final three spots in the Gold Cup Group Stage.

The Terry Fenwick-coach T&T squad who are also in the midst of their Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifiers will come up against Montserrat on July 2 or July 3 while the matches between Haiti-St Vincent and the Grenadines, Guatemala-Guyana, and Cuba-French Guiana, Guadeloupe-Bahamas and Bermuda-Barbados, are also scheduled.

The winner of the T&T-Montserrat encounter will then face the winner of the Cuba-French Guiana match in Round Two of the preliminary playoffs on July 6 for a spot in the Group phase alongside Mexico, El Salvador and Curaçao in Group A.

The Haiti-St Vincent and Bermuda-Barbados winner joins the USA, Canada and Martinique in Group B.

The Guatemala-Guyana, Guadeloupe-Bahamas winner joins Costa Rica, Jamaica and Suriname in Group C.

Honduras, Panama, Grenada and invited guest Qatar, next year’s World Cup host, are in Group D.

Most top players are not likely to play in the Gold Cup, which runs from July 10 to August 1.

The Gold Cup is expected to be a key part of what is sure to be a vibrant summer of football in the region, which will include the Concacaf Nations League Finals which starts in June.

“We look forward with great anticipation to this summer’s Gold Cup, which will undoubtedly be enhanced by this new Preliminary Round,” said Concacaf president and FIFA vice president Victor Montagliani.

“The past year has been very challenging in our region and our thoughts are with all the communities that have suffered. We hope the opportunity to watch the best men’s national teams in Concacaf compete in our flagship tournament can provide fans with some hope and enjoyment.”

“All 12 of the competing nations in the prelims will get a full Gold Cup experience at the excellent Inter Miami facilities and we look forward to a great set of games,” added Montagliani.

“We look forward to hosting the Gold Cup Prelims tournament in our stadium,” said Inter Miami CF Managing Owner Jorge Mas. “Our facilities in Fort Lauderdale were built with the intent of giving our fans opportunities to enjoy the world’s game knowing that our vibrant culture and sports-centric region would be attractive for global teams and competitions. This is just the beginning of the great things that lie ahead.”

The Inter Miami CF Stadium, a brand-new football-specific stadium was inaugurated just last year and is the new home of T&T winger Joevin Jones, who signed for the club last month.

The centralised venue, which includes an 18,000-capacity stadium sitting adjacent to a 50,000-square-foot training centre with seven fields spanning across 34-acres, will allow for teams to play matches and train in one location.

For Round One of the Prelims, the teams were drawn into six matchups and will play as follows:

Round One – July 2 and 3

Matchup #1: Haiti vs St Vincent and the Grenadines

Matchup #2: Guatemala vs Guyana

Matchup #3: T&T vs Montserrat

Matchup #4: Cuba vs French Guiana

Matchup #5: Guadeloupe vs Bahamas

Matchup #6: Bermuda vs Barbados

The six Round One winners will qualify for the second round and will play as follows:

Round Two – July 6

Matchup #7: Winner Matchup #1 vs Winner Matchup #6

Matchup #8: Winner Matchup #2 vs Winner Matchup #5

Matchup #9: Winner Matchup #3 vs Winner Matchup #4

The winning nation in each of the three Round Two matchups will advance to the Group Stage of the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup, where they were drawn

Draw Delivers Prelims Matchups and Groups for 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup

Concacaf yesterday conducted the first ever Gold Cup draw to set the scene for the 2021 edition of the region’s flag into Group A, B and C as follows:

Group A: Mexico, El Salvador, Curacao, and Winner Prelims 9

Group B: USA, Canada, Martinique, and Winner Prelims 7

Group C: Costa Rica, Jamaica, Suriname, and Winner Prelims 8

Group D: Honduras, Panama, Grenada, and Qatar.

« Reply #31 on: July 08, 2021, 03:43:26 AM »
FYI

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) will pocket US$100,000 (TT$680,000) in prize money for getting to the group stage and US$125,000 (TT$850,000) if they advance to the knockout stage. Thereafter, Concacaf pays US$1 mil (TT$6.8 mil) to the Gold Cup champion, and US$500,000 (TT$3.4 mil), US$200,000 (TT$1.4 mil) and US$150,000 (TT$1 mil) to the second, third and fourth placed finishers respectively.

« Reply #32 on: July 11, 2021, 12:37:46 PM »

« Reply #33 on: July 11, 2021, 01:30:37 PM »

VIBES GALORE!

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/499163547852878

it annoys me that some people doh get why this is ah good ting......strength through positive vibes is always good and can build momentum

« Reply #34 on: July 11, 2021, 07:38:35 PM »

VIBES GALORE!

https://www.facebook.com/TeamTrinbago/videos/499163547852878

it annoys me that some people doh get why this is ah good ting......strength through positive vibes is always good and can build momentum

You are exactly right. Fight and celebrate!  Some of these deluded fans think we are Brazil or Argentina!

« Reply #35 on: July 12, 2021, 04:48:27 PM »
JA is up 1 - 0 on Suriname. 17th mins. Jamaica started controlling the game from the beginning. However, the Surinamese a slowly growing into the game. Expect a good game.

« Reply #36 on: July 12, 2021, 04:57:06 PM »
JA looks really good. 2-0. Good goal

« Reply #37 on: July 12, 2021, 05:11:00 PM »
Suriname has a very small side. These yardies dwarf them

« Reply #38 on: July 13, 2021, 08:26:54 PM »
Qatar vs Panamá. IIII. :wavetowel: And others likely.

« Reply #39 on: July 13, 2021, 08:46:52 PM »
The quality of the games has improved. By this time we would have seen a couple of blow outs. Well Grenada up next against Honduras. Let's see if Grenada take a page from Eve's strategy and park it up.

« Reply #40 on: July 13, 2021, 08:52:37 PM »

IIII I Entertainment.

« Reply #41 on: July 13, 2021, 09:13:31 PM »

IIII I Entertainment.

I saw parts of the game. End to end action. Not bad. There is an attacking mid field player on the Qatari team by the name of Afif. Wears an  afro. Swear the guy looks and and plays a bit like Leo Brewster. Unbelivable. Good player though.

« Reply #42 on: July 13, 2021, 09:21:04 PM »
Observation: the lack of hesitancy and undelayed forward passing by Afif are a mini-memo for a player named Muckette. And even with that Afif is still nanoseconds behind Modric. His decision-making, engine, conviction and technical range could have him elsewhere, but Qatari $ is keeping him warm and at home.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2021, 09:22:35 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #43 on: July 13, 2021, 09:35:44 PM »
The quality of the games has improved. By this time we would have seen a couple of blow outs. Well Grenada up next against Honduras. Let's see if Grenada take a page from Eve's strategy and park it up.

Apparently not. Not surprised.
« Last Edit: July 13, 2021, 09:37:16 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #44 on: July 13, 2021, 09:51:11 PM »

Yep. Very open game. So far Grenada has been impressive. They have some big players. Two league 2 players (England). And one league 1 player. And about four to five players playing in the 5th and 6th tier in England. Plus two Scottish premier league players.

How they scouting more Brits than us?

As I typing this Honduras capitalized on a mistake from the Grenadian keeper. 1-0 Honduras

« Reply #45 on: July 14, 2021, 02:32:22 AM »

Yep. Very open game. So far Grenada has been impressive. They have some big players. Two league 2 players (England). And one league 1 player. And about four to five players playing in the 5th and 6th tier in England. Plus two Scottish premier league players.

As I typing this Honduras capitalized on a mistake from the Grenadian keeper. 1-0 Honduras

1. Another classic example of a negative pass that was neither helpful nor necessary. The defender had three options wide right (space to play into, a supporting player or kicking it out of play). However, he goes negative and not wide of the post. Balls of this type should be played at an obtuse angle not an acute angle (very similar situation to the situation that gifted Canada a goal versus Haiti a few weeks ago; similar even in the weight of the pass and both GKs suffered for the weight+ their resolution of the situation).

Many of these situations result in goal because of the direction of the pass.

2. Even before that defender went negative,  the player from whom he received the ball also went negative when he also had a resolution wide right. This is less obvious and if in that player's situation, I would likely have made the same pass, but it is a situation that should still be put on the tables from a Grenada point of assessment because they were poorly organized at the moment the episode happened (again similar to Haiti vs Canada).

3. The GK's first touch should have taken him away from goal instead of across the face of the goal (but this is a reflection of the problems associated with GKs who are not fluid with their feet). Not satisfied with having gone across the face of goal once, he attempted to do it again. BUT, there's something else as well: elite GKs would have resolved the problem by attacking the ball. Review the moment and you'll see that the GK chokes his own space by deliberately waiting on the ball. Wait if delay is going to positively influence the outcome or provide a tactical advantage. It did neither.

3. Should the goal have been disallowed based on Bengston's push of the GK on his chest? I think there's a case for that.

4. Was the 2nd goal offside? Seemed questionable. I gather it was challenged.

Tell yuh what doh, in Norburn they got a good pick-up!
« Last Edit: July 14, 2021, 02:44:22 AM by asylumseeker »

Trinidad and Tobago continuing top GK tradition at Gold Cup
« Reply #46 on: July 14, 2021, 11:57:03 AM »
Trinidad and Tobago continuing top GK tradition at Gold Cup
Concacaf.com

When it comes to goalkeeping, Trinidad and Tobago have a long tradition of producing some of the best shot-stoppers in the Concacaf region.

Names like 2006 FIFA World Cup hero Shaka Hislop and Jan-Michael Williams evoke great memories for fans of the Soca Warriors.

Now in the 2021 Concacaf Gold Cup, Trinidad and Tobago are continuing that tradition of top goalkeeping.

Nicklas Frenderup served as the GK during the Prelims, conceding just two goals and making the decisive save in the penalty shootout win versus French Guiana that earned Trinidad and Tobago the ticket to the group stage.

Marvin Phillip then delivered a Man of the Match display against Mexico in the group stage opener, making seven saves in a 0-0 draw.

Looking back on the French Guiana Prelims decider, Frenderup was proud that he came through for his country.

“It was a big thing for me. I have worked over a long period to be able to make that match-winning save. I think it’s the biggest moment in my career so far,” said Frenderup in an exclusive interview with Concacaf.com.

“It means a lot to me to help my team and my country, but it’s not only about me, the team has played good matches. We have good defense, midfield and strikers, so front to back we work together as a team,” added Frenderup.

The fact that two different GKs were able to step in and have big performances in less than a week for Trinidad and Tobago reflects the great bond shared by the men who play that position.

“We push each other every day. We also have Adrian Foncette, we can’t forget about him because he’s a brilliant goalkeeper as well. But to talk about Marvin’s performance against Mexico, it was brilliant. I’m very proud of him and sometimes you need to take those chances that you get. He took it and so I’m really proud of him and I hope he keeps going because he’s a good guy and a good goalkeeper. The keepers here, we help the team,” concluded Frenderup.

« Reply #47 on: July 16, 2021, 12:40:14 AM »
Kind of disappointed in Haiti performance in the latter part of their game against Canada. They just fell apart towards the end. They play good attacking football. Move the ball around with a confident ease. Wish we can play like that. The only excuse is with there injuries and covide situation. They only have 3 subs. Need to get some clarification on that.

« Reply #48 on: July 16, 2021, 06:15:18 AM »
Kind of disappointed in Haiti performance in the latter part of their game against Canada. They just fell apart towards the end. They play good attacking football. Move the ball around with a confident ease. Wish we can play like that. The only excuse is with there injuries and covide situation. They only have 3 subs. Need to get some clarification on that.

That's it, but one reason or another tends to prevent them putting together a complete tournament at tournaments across levels. If Haiti is ever able to deliver the full package, it would be something to behold.

« Reply #49 on: July 16, 2021, 07:41:33 PM »
So people just beginning to accept we simply just not good enough. Best we can do is beat up mediocre and terrible Caribbean opposition and pack our team in our half against Central American teams to hope for a draw

Is that the future of our football?
« Last Edit: July 16, 2021, 07:44:12 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #50 on: July 17, 2021, 01:20:16 AM »

Maybe the Trini Brits don't play football or their parents don't encourage them to play football.

« Reply #51 on: July 17, 2021, 03:42:02 AM »
This is jack warner and Jeffery web’s legacy on full display, two selfish men who went out in search of their own fortunes at the expense of caribbean football. Now look at the state of football in CFU, every gold cup and world cup qualifying the caribbean teams are the first to be humiliated and eliminated out of the competition.

haiti, martinique, grenada, Suriname, guadelope and next TT all had very poor showings, and thank God for jamaica that we in the Caribbean could still hold up our heads. now we have this puppet from barbados who don’t even have the good sense to install a proper working CFU website so the public could see what’s taking place with football in the region, yet he’s fine and dandy to keep his position, and since we in CFU don’t see anything wrong with this poor level of representation and administration, then we should take our whipings and stay quiet…..right?

Did anyone noticed that in the last CFU election fat boy david tried to get a foot in the door for his taste of the action? my guess is that he wanted to continue where Jeffery left off and to do the bidding of his trainer gianni while hiding seven zeros in Panama. whatever the matter, we in CFU needs more investment in the sport especially when we hold the second amounts of votes in fifa. We better!
« Last Edit: July 17, 2021, 03:57:37 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #52 on: July 17, 2021, 05:36:33 AM »
Suriname played well against costa rica ... Trinidad have fallen of badly ...Imagine a perofmance like that against mexico we are ranting and raving about...

« Reply #53 on: July 17, 2021, 07:27:53 AM »
Suriname played well against costa rica ... Trinidad have fallen of badly ...Imagine a perofmance like that against mexico we are ranting and raving about...

I agree with you that we have fallen. We know that. But the performance is something to rave about.  I have experienced that euphoria with the 74 youth team in Ottowa. Mexico tied one game in the entire tournament. Who you think tourmented their arses for  that game. WE.  And why? Roderick Warner(trainer) and Alvin Corneal prepared us physically and mentally for that tournament. Imagine no Normalization Committee and FIFA. I magine no covid. Imagine if Fenwick did not have these obstacles. The outcome could, may have been different.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2021, 07:30:06 AM by Deeks »

« Reply #54 on: July 17, 2021, 09:24:53 PM »
Panama vs Honduras = a proper GC match.

« Reply #55 on: July 17, 2021, 10:11:19 PM »
Qioto finished with flourishes of a player named Samuel Eto'o (particularly on the ball over the top from Alvarez).

« Reply #56 on: July 17, 2021, 11:37:02 PM »
i saw Qatar play Grenada and even Grenada is playing better football than TT hiring local coach's for the past 10 years has totally destroyed TT football.
grenada played better than TT? Mate I don’t know which game you were watching but I believe you better get your eyes checked, in fact get your brain checked. grenada was the absolute worst of all the CFU teams in this tournament, their defense was shite and their offense only went as far as the 18 years box. honduras ran rings around then and so did qatar. I think is time to sell your tv and pick up knitting, your time will be better served.

« Reply #57 on: July 17, 2021, 11:48:17 PM »

I agree with you that we have fallen. We know that. But the performance is something to rave about.  I have experienced that euphoria with the 74 youth team in Ottowa. Mexico tied one game in the entire tournament. Who you think tourmented their arses for  that game. WE.  And why? Roderick Warner(trainer) and Alvin Corneal prepared us physically and mentally for that tournament. Imagine no Normalization Committee and FIFA. I magine no covid. Imagine if Fenwick did not have these obstacles. The outcome could, may have been different.
twinkle twinkle little star how I wonder what would have been, and I would say nothing spectacular. deeks you see the longer we keep fooling ourselves into thinking that a good coach is the answer to our short comings and ignore the fact that we have to fix football from the youth level to the pro league, then is the more we set ourselves up for disappointment after disappointment.

the reality is that our lads are not quality players compared with the top 10 teams in concacaf, the fact that we can’t even beat El Salvador is ample testament that we lack quality and need to go back to the drawing board and find “LONG TERM” solutions to this problem, instead of fighting up to qualify every few years for a tournament that shows up our deficiencies. that foolishness makes no sense to anyone with a smidgen of intelligence, it’s like going to a black tie function in a dirty smelly designer suit, it defeats to purpose.

what we need is solid definitive solutions and even more solid minds to get it fixed, but you see all this nice football that we waiting to see happen in a red white and black uniform? mister man uncross your fingers because it is not happening until we acknowledge that we have a serious problem that needs immediate attention, so stop wondering.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2021, 11:55:32 PM by pull stones »

Offline ffisback

« Reply #58 on: July 18, 2021, 07:20:51 AM »
i saw Qatar play Grenada and even Grenada is playing better football than TT hiring local coach's for the past 10 years has totally destroyed TT football.
grenada played better than TT? Mate I don’t know which game you were watching but I believe you better get your eyes checked, in fact get your brain checked. grenada was the absolute worst of all the CFU teams in this tournament, their defense was shite and their offense only went as far as the 18 years box. honduras ran rings around then and so did qatar. I think is time to sell your tv and pick up knitting, your time will be better served.
Did I say anything about being the worst team in CFU ?I said Grenada played better football in there 2 games than we did in our 2 games they tried to have build up play from the defence to the fowards TT build up play was non existent.

« Reply #59 on: July 18, 2021, 08:14:36 AM »
Did I say anything about being the worst team in CFU ?I said Grenada played better football in there 2 games than we did in our 2 games they tried to have build up play from the defence to the fowards TT build up play was non existent.

Grenada just did not have it against Qatar. Qatar played a much more skillful game than them. Apart from having problems in their mid-field, Grenada made a lot of errant passes and mistakes at the back. Miss the cross easy tap in. Qatar has some good players. Their stopper, I think is the captain is very good. And a douglah fellah called Afif. The Qatari Leo Brewster. Real nice. Check them out in their next game.