April 27, 2024, 11:22:09 AM

Author Topic: Scouting for Talent Thread  (Read 31781 times)

Re: Scouting for Talent Thread
« Reply #120 on: June 12, 2023, 11:37:37 AM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/P8pdvoTVTQg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/P8pdvoTVTQg</a>

Ajanni and Jacob greene got starts on saturday

« Reply #121 on: August 19, 2023, 03:12:29 PM »
https://www.wolves.co.uk/news/under-21/20230815-barnett-pens-wolves-extension/
Barnett pens Wolves extension

Ty Barnett has penned a new contract with Wolves to secure his future at the club until at least the summer of 2026.

The attacking midfielder, who has risen through the academy ranks after joining at the age of 13, became a regular feature for James Collins’ under-21s in the second half of last season.

Barnett signed his first professional contract with the club in August 2022 and, in 2022/23, netted three times in Old Gold, before adding two more to his tally as an under-19 group lifted the Premier League’s Next Generation Cup in a post-season tournament in Mumbai.

The 18-year-old has continued his development throughout the summer, spending his pre-season on both Portugal training camps with the first-team in a valuable learning experience.

Academy manager for football, Jon Hunter-Barrett, said: “We’re all delighted to agree on new terms for Ty. He has the ability to create and score and is very good in one v one situations.

“He’s featured quite a lot for James Collins’ side this year and will continue to do so, alongside making sure we consider the next phase of his development and give him the exposure he deserves to have.”

Hunter-Barrett feels the time Barnett has spent training with the first-team will provide him with a number of benefits as he continues his development with the under-21s.

“He got that experience of playing with men and understanding how to be more durable in the game while, at the same time, doing the things he enjoys doing on the ball. He’s beginning to understand the other side of the game which will definitely help him in his career.

“Ty’s versatile and can play either in higher areas or in deeper areas if required. He’s an integral part of the team in helping us progress and get the ball forward to create and score.”

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #122 on: November 24, 2023, 02:06:54 PM »
Need some reinforcements for march
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline Thomo

« Reply #123 on: January 08, 2024, 10:20:25 AM »
Ty Barnett, the 18 year old attacking midfielder at Wolverhampton was promoted to the senior team and was on the bench for the last 2 games versus Chelsea and Brentford.
Here are some highlights:
https://youtu.be/iTMj4bC3sDc?si=pTpBp-edPTwVmJz5

« Reply #124 on: January 09, 2024, 01:21:50 PM »
I like how he drives the ball forward and he looks lively.

« Reply #125 on: January 09, 2024, 04:59:35 PM »
Ronnie Mauge son Jaime is at Ipswich Town Academy

« Reply #126 on: January 09, 2024, 08:59:46 PM »
Eve not calling any of them...

« Reply #127 on: January 10, 2024, 05:03:41 AM »
CHATS SIGN JABARI CHRISTMAS
Chatham Town Football Club are delighted to announce the signing of Jabari Christmas this afternoon.

The 18-year old attacking midfielder joins following a spell with EFL side QPR and has also recently featured for our Academy, having already worked with Coach Tim Moffatt since he was 8 years old.

He also had a short spell with Glasgow Rangers and recently had a trial with Premier League side Southampton FC.

Jabari is a highly-rated prospect and a player the club is extremely looking forward to working with.

« Reply #128 on: January 11, 2024, 06:21:37 PM »

« Reply #129 on: January 17, 2024, 12:59:48 PM »
https://www.sufc.co.uk/news/2024/january/15/antwoine-commits/
ANTWOINE COMMITS FUTURE TO BLADES

Young striker Antwoine Hackford has committed his future to the Blades.

The talented teenager, Sheffield born-and-bred, his signed a new contract until the summer of 2026.

He, of course, made his Premier League debut as a 16-year-old, Chris Wilder introduced him as a substitute against Crystal Palace at Selhurst Park in January 2021.

Antwoine commented: "I am delighted to have signed, and I know now that I need to push on in these next two years to earn the next contract.

"Being born in Sheffield and being involved in the setup since I was nine, it is an honour to have been handed this opportunity and to be in a position to keep representing my boyhood club.

"Along with Andre (Brooks) and others, this again shows you the belief the club, myself and the staff have in the young players here.

"Like Brooksy and Oliver Arblaster, Antwoine is a Sheffield lad and I know through experience just how special that connection is between the local players and the supporters.

https://www.sufc.co.uk/news/2024/january/15/antwoine-commits/

Offline Marcus868

Scouting our players
« Reply #130 on: February 02, 2024, 07:27:22 AM »
With WC 2026 on the horizon when are we going to seriously start scouting players to get them to our team? :worried: :frustrated: :-[

Antwoine Hackford (Sheffield Utd u23)/ Dante Sealy (FC Dallas)/ Lakyle Samuel (Man City u21)/ Darius Lewis (Botafogo B)/ Steffan Yeates (Pacific FC)/ Jayden St Paul (Norwich City)/ Ty Barnett (WolverHampton)/ Tino Quamina (Arsenal)/ Kieran Ngwenya (Partick Thistle)/ DJ Buffonge (FC Emmen)/ Danny Imray (Crystal Palace u23)/ Samory Powder (Detroit Titans)/ Seth Powder (Real Monarchs)/ Marzuq Puckerin (North Carolina FC) / Rio Cardines (Crystal Palace u21)/ Tyrese Spincer (Toronto FC)/ Kai Phillip/ Jahiem Wickham (Syracuse Orange)/ Deron Payne (Volendam FC)/ Devyn Payne (ADO Den Haag u21)/ Roald Mitchell (New York Red Bulls)

We have an aging team and its time for more injecting of the younger players that are playing at a high level (in training academies). TTPFL is good, but that can't be our main pool if we want to make WC 2026!!

Our coaches/ team staff need to be doing more (or at least telling us more) about what's our plans to qualify. 2024 is a very significant year for us!

Re: Scouting our players
« Reply #131 on: February 02, 2024, 07:51:26 AM »
Well said, it seems like we're not using our resources to scout players effectively. I mean we can't bring everybody but we can certainly identify the top 2-3 to target who can help/fit in to the team then go from there.

« Reply #132 on: February 02, 2024, 12:16:53 PM »
Hey everyone,

In addition to Ryan Inniss, are there any players who are unable to represent this country due to our second generation parent rule?  Is there a list?

« Reply #133 on: February 02, 2024, 01:03:59 PM »
Marcus there is another player in the crystal palace academy that is eligible i think and dont forget roka's brother but he is part of the austria youth set up

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #134 on: February 02, 2024, 01:58:36 PM »
Marcus there is another player in the crystal palace academy that is eligible i think and dont forget roka's brother but he is part of the austria youth set up

Didnt know there was a 3rd player at Crystal Palace... they playing consistent high quality football. We definitely need to find them. Eaden Roka is Noah's Brother, He's 16.... but yeah he should be a part of u18 or u20 setup all now.

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #135 on: February 02, 2024, 02:02:48 PM »
Well said, it seems like we're not using our resources to scout players effectively. I mean we can't bring everybody but we can certainly identify the top 2-3 to target who can help/fit in to the team then go from there.

Yeah we should all be looking for players and posting them on social media and wherever we could to bring awareness to the national team(s)...  but then again giving the information is one thing, hopefully it helps and the powers at be seriously pursue them. If we have all these high quality players competing for spots... the football quality and culture has no choice but to improve.

« Reply #136 on: February 02, 2024, 11:19:52 PM »
worthwhile thread

to bad angus plans to not select any of these players, but hopefully with the NC gone, the new admin will pressure him to select the best

« Reply #137 on: February 03, 2024, 05:45:28 PM »
Andover's Josh Chatee aims Trinidad and Tobago squad
By By Ken Gaunt (Andover Advertiser)

18th October 2023

AN ANDOVER man has moved 1,800 miles from his home to continue his football career in Sweden after failing to win a pro contract at Reading, writes Ken Gaunt.

For Josh Chatee, 26, the Scandinavian country has become almost a home away from home as his sixth season there is coming to a close.

The talented midfielder has two ambitions, one short term and one long term.

The first is saving his club Bodens BK, who play in the Swedish third tier,  League One North, dropping down a division.

The other is stepping up his bid to break into the Trinidad and Tobago national squad.

He is eligible through his grandfather and conversations have already taken place with senior officials.

Josh said: “ I am aiming towards next year and trying to make things happen. The most important part of that is to get a Trinidad passport.

“At the moment my club are in a relegation battle and it is also important for me that we do not lose our status.

“I want to be playing at a high level.  My contact is up next month when the season ends and I am sure we will have a conversation about that.

“But at the moment it is important we pick up some points in our last four games. That’s the goal.”

Josh admitted it was tough being told he wouldn’t get a contract after coming through Reading’s academy. But he soon shrugged off that disappointment.

“The football foundation helped me a lot,” he said. "So I went out to Sweden and I had three coaches in my three months there!

“But I decided to continue playing there and I enjoy the lifestyle in the country. Apart from a short spell with Portadown in Northern Ireland, it’s where I have developed as a pro.”

Josh intends to stay in Sweden until December and do some training before returning to a Hampshire winter.

He still retains a soft spot for Reading and knows some of the players and staff there, adding:  “The sports science team organised a fitness programme for me when I came home last season. It was a really nice touch.”

« Reply #138 on: February 04, 2024, 10:33:29 AM »
I came across this player already  i believe he has a younger brother also that plays football. Time to set standards Angus ...

Offline ffisback

« Reply #139 on: February 04, 2024, 07:03:28 PM »
I believe Bradley Wright Phillips and a player from Scotland I forgot his name both have grandparents from TT.

Offline ffisback

« Reply #140 on: February 04, 2024, 07:07:26 PM »
Andover's Josh Chatee aims Trinidad and Tobago squad
By By Ken Gaunt (Andover Advertiser)

18th October 2023

AN ANDOVER man has moved 1,800 miles from his home to continue his football career in Sweden after failing to win a pro contract at Reading, writes Ken Gaunt.

For Josh Chatee, 26, the Scandinavian country has become almost a home away from home as his sixth season there is coming to a close.

The talented midfielder has two ambitions, one short term and one long term.

The first is saving his club Bodens BK, who play in the Swedish third tier,  League One North, dropping down a division.

The other is stepping up his bid to break into the Trinidad and Tobago national squad.

He is eligible through his grandfather and conversations have already taken place with senior officials.

Josh said: “ I am aiming towards next year and trying to make things happen. The most important part of that is to get a Trinidad passport.

“At the moment my club are in a relegation battle and it is also important for me that we do not lose our status.

“I want to be playing at a high level.  My contact is up next month when the season ends and I am sure we will have a conversation about that.

“But at the moment it is important we pick up some points in our last four games. That’s the goal.”

Josh admitted it was tough being told he wouldn’t get a contract after coming through Reading’s academy. But he soon shrugged off that disappointment.

“The football foundation helped me a lot,” he said. "So I went out to Sweden and I had three coaches in my three months there!

“But I decided to continue playing there and I enjoy the lifestyle in the country. Apart from a short spell with Portadown in Northern Ireland, it’s where I have developed as a pro.”

Josh intends to stay in Sweden until December and do some training before returning to a Hampshire winter.

He still retains a soft spot for Reading and knows some of the players and staff there, adding:  “The sports science team organised a fitness programme for me when I came home last season. It was a really nice touch.”
TT law states he has to be under the age of 18 to get a TT passport from his grandparents.

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #141 on: February 06, 2024, 05:58:38 AM »
worthwhile thread

to bad angus plans to not select any of these players, but hopefully with the NC gone, the new admin will pressure him to select the best

So...... our coach picked a local squad to train and found a german based player and a danish player that playing in the FIFTH TIER of football. That is what our scouting has brought so far,  :cursing:  :frustrated: but we planning to play canada and make copa  :bs:. Then to hear its a young squad and we in the rebuilding phase and the team needs time. Meanwhile, I have spoken to players playing in Holland 1st and 2nd division that want to play for us and they not getting a look in!!

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #142 on: February 06, 2024, 06:04:03 AM »
Need some reinforcements for march

The current coach seems to only be interested in the local pool which if we be honest, has its benefits, players available to train etc, but the quality not on the same level as our international players (and this is not speaking ill of the players... it just is what it is). We are about a 6 weeks out from that game and we have a local squad together, going to play friendlies against Jamaica local based players (who not playing for the big games btw) and we may get some good results possibly, but that means what? we have to play canada ranked 48th in the world, guess who ranked 49th? Venezuala, you would think that common sense dictates that we get a friendly against them .... but coach has a plan  >:( :o :banginghead:

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #143 on: February 06, 2024, 01:40:38 PM »
So we have 3 Payne brothers eligible and none even gets a look at. Can't even find information past 2022 for Marc Mikkelsen(Gangia) so where did Angus scout him?

« Reply #144 on: February 06, 2024, 11:07:02 PM »
When i told you guys, this man is a set man, set for sabotage, I meant that, he will not select the best players..

The new admin needs to fire this man and start over to save our WC 2026 campaign

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #145 on: February 07, 2024, 07:08:17 AM »
So we have 3 Payne brothers eligible and none even gets a look at. Can't even find information past 2022 for Marc Mikkelsen(Gangia) so where did Angus scout him?

You right, I actually spoke with Deron Payne (The middle brother) and he told me they willing to play for trinidad so IDK whats going on... I also spoke with DJ Buffonge (who has top quality football academy training - FULHAM/ MAN U) and he says he applied to play for us a while now and "it's not working out as yet". Yet we found these two very unknown guys... also he found a player that unattached - not currently playing football.... HOW??? Let's hope we start making better decisions as a team soon cause we wont make it anywhere at this rate.  :(
« Last Edit: February 07, 2024, 07:31:15 AM by Marcus868 »

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #146 on: February 07, 2024, 07:10:43 AM »
When i told you guys, this man is a set man, set for sabotage, I meant that, he will not select the best players..

The new admin needs to fire this man and start over to save our WC 2026 campaign

Coach poor tactically, poor at scouting players, poor at decision making... I mean he has a liking for the local national players (which is great and could help men get exposure and contracts) but at what expense?

Offline Marcus868

« Reply #147 on: February 07, 2024, 07:27:09 AM »

Coach poor tactically, poor at scouting players, poor at decision making... I mean he has a liking for the local national players (which is great and could help men get exposure and contracts) but at what expense?

With social media, its easy to talk to the guys, I spoke with Judah Garcia, he said he is fit and playing for his club but just not getting picked. (But if his brother Levi only touches a field - Coach begging for him to play). Then when we mess up coach always saying its a young team and they not match fit  :frustrated: :frustrated:. EG. He did that and picked a local team that recently started preseason training and lost a game and used those excuses.... and the following day I looked at Ajani Fortune play in MLS Playoffs and Leland Archer the same week play in the USL final. (But we don't have match fit players)

Offline chelsealife

• You must be the change you wish to see in this world
  • Its BLUE, what else matters?
« Reply #148 on: February 07, 2024, 08:37:40 AM »
If we only lose DJ Buffonge to Montserrat it would be so dumb, hes still only 25. And who is Jonathan Assue? Where has he come from? All it says is unattached, who was he attached to before. Another thing to look at is the timing of the camp. Why before Carnival? U20 coach says no Carnival for his players so why Angus keeping a 3 day camp before Carnival steups
« Last Edit: February 07, 2024, 08:42:25 AM by chelsealife »

« Reply #149 on: February 07, 2024, 11:45:56 AM »
for all intents and purposes, two fellaz went home for Carnival and talk to Eve saying they want to try out. Eve then say lemme see your videos, then come tru, the locals having a camp in a few days. You can't have no formal invite for players at clubs on non-Fifa dates. so we have to temper the "scouting" talk.  [disclaimer: this is my rumshop talk - no verifiable info involved].