April 19, 2024, 08:13:11 PM

Author Topic: SWO - Exclusive Interview with Jabloteh's Terry Fenwick.  (Read 8501 times)

Re: SWO - Exclusive Interview with Jabloteh's Terry Fenwick.
« Reply #30 on: January 07, 2009, 09:45:54 AM »
We have an English coach in TT doing such a great job with one of our top clubs,he is probably more aware of Trinidadians culturally than Maturana and can probably speak fluent Trini,Maturana as far as I understand cannot even speak English.Tel has 8 years of Trinidad life and I find it strange that he has never been mentioned as an alternative to other coaches who have come and gone.I FEEL THAT HE WOULD HAVE DONE A BETTER JOB THAN MATURANA, HAD HE BEEN GIVEN THE JOB,OF COURSE ITS TO LATE NOW BUT IF WE FAIL TO GET TO S.A THEN T.FENWICK SHOULD TAKE OVER TT,THE TTFA MUST LET BYGONES BE BYGONES AND THINK OF THE BIGGER PICTURE OF 2014.
Hang on in there Tel,your time will come...soon.

no disrespect sah but whats your basis of saying fenwick is a better coach when he hasnt had any international exposure,meaning he hasnt coached a country successfully, maturana has and has doen well against spanish countries, which is who we are playing other than the US in the hex, fenwick has coached locally and has done horribly in england, what makes you think we want a long ball set up, i like the current, put the ball on the ground, short passing brand of football we playing

« Reply #31 on: January 07, 2009, 10:35:18 AM »
So is Jabloteh ah long ball team ? Cause whatever they are, seems to work in our neck of the woods.
Personally, I think Mr. Fenwick would benefit us more as director of the TTFF(hey, we reach WC in spite of weselves- miracles do happen), and/or asst.coach, as well as head youth coach (professional & technical development). As well as asst. coach with Jab. Other than that, Government post, director of Sport/Study school program.

« Reply #32 on: January 07, 2009, 10:38:14 AM »
maturana has and has doen well against spanish countries

Lawd. Just now we go mash up Spain.

« Reply #33 on: January 07, 2009, 10:54:56 AM »
long ball team ??

« Reply #34 on: January 07, 2009, 10:57:25 AM »
I real respect this man for the committment he has shown to Jabloteh and by extension TnT and the development of local youth.

« Reply #35 on: January 07, 2009, 12:27:18 PM »
Which other local club won these 3 titles in the same year ?

« Reply #36 on: January 07, 2009, 01:45:27 PM »
We have an English coach in TT doing such a great job with one of our top clubs,he is probably more aware of Trinidadians culturally than Maturana and can probably speak fluent Trini,Maturana as far as I understand cannot even speak English.Tel has 8 years of Trinidad life and I find it strange that he has never been mentioned as an alternative to other coaches who have come and gone.I FEEL THAT HE WOULD HAVE DONE A BETTER JOB THAN MATURANA, HAD HE BEEN GIVEN THE JOB,OF COURSE ITS TO LATE NOW BUT IF WE FAIL TO GET TO S.A THEN T.FENWICK SHOULD TAKE OVER TT,THE TTFA MUST LET BYGONES BE BYGONES AND THINK OF THE BIGGER PICTURE OF 2014.
Hang on in there Tel,your time will come...soon.

no disrespect sah but whats your basis of saying fenwick is a better coach when he hasnt had any international exposure,meaning he hasnt coached a country successfully, maturana has and has doen well against spanish countries, which is who we are playing other than the US in the hex, fenwick has coached locally and has done horribly in england, what makes you think we want a long ball set up, i like the current, put the ball on the ground, short passing brand of football we playing

We could say de same thing about Latapy.

« Reply #37 on: January 07, 2009, 02:34:25 PM »
I was always under the impression that the majority of people on this Board was against our setup bcoz almost daily there are post condemming Corneal,JW,Camps,Corneal Snr,and finally Maturana,no one can deny that;Maturana has been cussed at every turn.I have said what I did because of Fenwick's achievements with Jabloteh,TF also speak our "language" and players might be more receptive of his ideas.I have never asked for Maturana to be sacked as many others have been asking but if we do not get to S.A then,I feel TF should be given the job.By the way our players play in England so the long ball shouldn't be a big problem,we dont have to be long ball specialists but a mix is just as good..Regards to you Contrversial.

« Reply #38 on: January 07, 2009, 05:11:40 PM »
I was always under the impression that the majority of people on this Board was against our setup bcoz almost daily there are post condemming Corneal,JW,Camps,Corneal Snr,and finally Maturana,no one can deny that;Maturana has been cussed at every turn.I have said what I did because of Fenwick's achievements with Jabloteh,TF also speak our "language" and players might be more receptive of his ideas.I have never asked for Maturana to be sacked as many others have been asking but if we do not get to S.A then,I feel TF should be given the job.By the way our players play in England so the long ball shouldn't be a big problem,we dont have to be long ball specialists but a mix is just as good..Regards to you Contrversial.
Yuh mad sah?? what we need is ah new face who not familier with non ah our players so he could have ah non bias selection policy, and with latas there we could achieve that easier than with corneal.

« Reply #39 on: January 07, 2009, 05:29:34 PM »
Yuh mad sah?? what we need is ah new face who not familier with non ah our players so he could have ah non bias selection policy, and with latas there we could achieve that easier than with corneal.

But wouldn't Latas have his own bias?  Wouldn't this "new face who not familier with non ah our players" also have his own bias?

Didn't Beenie have a bias when he excluded Dwarika?  Didn't he have a bias when he kept selecting Kelvin Jack over Shaka?  What about when he didn't play Latas except for 20 mins in de World Cup?
« Last Edit: January 07, 2009, 05:32:07 PM by palos »

« Reply #40 on: January 07, 2009, 09:03:12 PM »

But wouldn't Latas have his own bias?  Wouldn't this "new face who not familier with non ah our players" also have his own bias?

Didn't Beenie have a bias when he excluded Dwarika?  Didn't he have a bias when he kept selecting Kelvin Jack over Shaka?  What about when he didn't play Latas except for 20 mins in de World Cup?
And it was all his own! same goes for st claire, but maturana on the other hand had corneal whispering in his ears telling him who to look @ and who he should use as oppossed to who, and yes i know that for ah fact! i too have my credable sources just like ah few of yuhs on the board, i just don't involk it like some of yuhs do trust meh.

« Reply #41 on: January 08, 2009, 06:06:45 AM »
I like the fact that TF pulled no punches in this interview. It could be one reason we won't see him around the national set up. You think JW want lyrics in dey ass :-)

De pepper sauce line make meh laugh.

Good interview Flex. I have more respect for TF now. However, I feel he still has an assinine way about him which may cause problems. No doubting his results though.

« Reply #42 on: January 08, 2009, 06:25:26 AM »
I like the fact that TF pulled no punches in this interview. It could be one reason we won't see him around the national set up. You think JW want lyrics in dey ass :-)

De pepper sauce line make meh laugh.

Good interview Flex. I have more respect for TF now. However, I feel he still has an assinine way about him which may cause problems. No doubting his results though.

Hit d nail vb bout his way.

« Reply #43 on: January 08, 2009, 07:03:44 AM »
He have an assinine way about him..but plain talk bad manners...Jabloteh is the most professionally run football club in the country. Their youth system prolific..they consistently produce...their training methods commendable...and they getting results. Yuh hadda respect dat.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #44 on: January 08, 2009, 11:36:14 AM »
Can somebody explain to me what an 'assinine' way is?

« Reply #45 on: January 08, 2009, 12:26:32 PM »
Bobby Knight, Bill Parcells, etc., I guess.

« Reply #46 on: January 08, 2009, 03:49:49 PM »
Bobby Knight, Bill Parcells, etc., I guess.

Nah dred... in addition to 'asinine' only having one 'S'... I don't think the definition fits any of these men... Fenwick included.

"foolish, stupid... unintelligent" ways?

Just can't see it.

« Reply #47 on: January 15, 2009, 04:55:49 AM »
Fenwick laments no national role
T&T Newsday.

TERRY FENWICK, coach of top local football club CLICO San Juan Jabloteh, is eyeing a role as part of the Trinidad and Tobago team’s technical staff.

The 49-year-old former England defender made his views known during a recent interview on the local football website socawarriors.net.

Fenwick, who guided the club to three Pro League titles, in 2001, 2007 and 2008, stated, “I can’t believe I’ve been here for nearly eight years, on and off, and not been asked to contribute in some way to the national effort. I see that as my duty.

“Maybe if the blinkers came off and (the) powers that be looked at the positives I possess, things may have been different.”

Fenwick, who played for a number of clubs in England, including Crystal Palace, Queen’s Park and Tottenham, is also bemused at the lack of players from Jabloteh who have earned selection on the national team recently.

“We finished the season 32 points clear of third-placed North East Stars, our team is totally locally-based and very young,” he said. “We have never had more than two players selected in this current national regime.

“After a successful season, only now, the national technical team have acknowledged (captain and midfielder) Trent Noel and Robert Primus,” he continued. “Both players have rightly received rave reviews for their endeavours this season from players, coaches and pundits nationwide. Why have these guys not been recognised for their abilities before now?”

Admitting that it took time before he gained the respect of persons within the local footballing fraternity, he now feels at home in Trinidad and Tobago.

“Like so many countries around the world, TT has its issues but I am a very positive person and I see so many beautiful people around that I believe good will prevail.”

Fenwick is entering the second-to-last year of his contract with Jabloteh and he cherishes every moment he has with the San Juan-based outfit.

“(The club) have remained committed to the development of these youths using football as the vehicle to life,” he said. “Many of the disciplines we demand at Jabloteh are lessons for life. I take great pride in the role I play.”

When asked what local club he admires the most, he did not hesitate to state St Ann’s Rangers.

“Against the odds, Rangers are trying to compete with the big guys and in the correct manner,” he said, “good football through the development of youths, fair play to the players and management of the club.

“I would love to see Rangers secure a good sponsor so they could go the extra yard, then they might upset the big guys,” he pointed out.

Concerning his aim for the 2009 local season, he noted, “I believe the quality of our squad (is) deep. Jabloteh will only be looking to add two to three players (who) must add value.

“Consistency is always key to success,” Fenwick continued. “Jabloteh will take every game one at a time and hope to repeat the successes of 2008.”

« Reply #48 on: January 15, 2009, 05:04:30 AM »
Newsday get permission from we??....only Lasana have liberty on here, everybody else have to check with the mods, but aye, aye....  :D

« Reply #49 on: January 15, 2009, 05:17:03 AM »
Newsday get permission from we??....only Lasana have liberty on here, everybody else have to check with the mods, but aye, aye....  :D

Well in all fairness, we use them stuff too... HOWEVER...

What get me is, we always credit the writer and post the source, they only put the source.

« Reply #50 on: January 15, 2009, 06:44:13 AM »

Agree Newday is part of d propoganda press.

« Reply #51 on: January 15, 2009, 08:15:18 AM »
We have to start donig de same to de Newsday, post they article and dont post a name who wrote it...

« Reply #52 on: January 15, 2009, 08:40:34 PM »
By de way, de Newsday making Fenwick look like he begging for a T&T job.....

Terry should call them up....

« Reply #53 on: February 06, 2020, 08:37:55 AM »
Nice bump just to get to know what Terry ideas is.

« Reply #54 on: February 09, 2020, 01:43:38 AM »
Depressing how little changed in the 10 years after that interview

« Reply #55 on: February 09, 2020, 05:08:12 AM »
“We finished the season 32 points clear of third-placed North East Stars, our team is totally locally-based and very young,” he said. “We have never had more than two players selected in this current national regime.

Precisely the points gap between Liverpool and 4th placed Chelsea at the time of posting. Don't ever expect to see Klopp coaching Die Mannschaft.  ;D