March 28, 2024, 05:29:41 AM

Author Topic: Biggest Dictator News Thread  (Read 1362 times)

Biggest Dictator News Thread
« on: July 16, 2013, 10:35:37 PM »
Just been reading today's  Guardian and I was struck by the perceived threatening manner in which the  public works minster is advocating  to sway voters:

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2013-07-17/vote-unc-or-else

Parts of the  article states that a constituent is better served if its mp is part of the existing government.  While this may be meritorious, it does not make it morally or ethical.
Does not a government had a duty to serve all its constituents regardless of their political affinity?  Why hold people at ransom? why threaten people  for votes? Read the reasons he gives as to why  service would be better- seems like all ministers agree to do each other a favour and if you in opposition. then yuh sheet outta  luck unless yuh could present good reasons!!!!!

There is something inherently wrong with this perceived threatening manner in which ministers in government could publicly come out and make those assertions. Ids thsi what the people voted for?

The PM is also stating the amount of funds that were given to the Mp for that area and allegedly teh improvements were not evident- I ask who was  making the minister at that time accountable? As the leader shuld you not ensure that there are procedures and policies to ensure  accountability for public funds?

And if yuh ministers throwing big parties and yuh not invited should yuh not have an awareness if tax payers money is rolled in with donations?

How could the people stand by and listen to both sides and vote in good conscience for either party? Shame on  politicians for playing with people's livelihood and forcing people to recant to the wills of those in power. SHAME SHAME
« Last Edit: July 18, 2013, 08:25:36 AM by AB.Trini »

Re: Breaking news:Dictatorship in TnT
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 08:29:17 PM »
The latest one is full ah laughs- The Zaboca Party- green on the outside and yellow on the inside. It seems like too many people are clinging to either party , ethnicity or bobol. There seems to be little apparent reasoning or  focus on the individual merits or on the credibility of the young PNM candidate- this man appears to have some qualities that are needed these days in the political arena .
« Last Edit: July 24, 2013, 08:58:49 PM by AB.Trini »

Re: Breaking news:Dictatorship in TnT
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2013, 08:16:50 AM »
And the threats and scaremongering continues: more like the pot CALLING THE KETTLE BLACK
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Dont-sell-out-for-box-drains-216382511.html

Don’t sell out for box drains
Moonilal warns worshippers:
By Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 21, 2013 at 11:22 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 22, 2013 at 10:51 AM ECT
United National Congress (UNC) deputy political leader Dr Roodal Moonilal yesterday warned Sunday morning worshippers at the Devi Temple in Chaguanas against selling out their legacy of UNC representation for a box drain or road that will mash up in five or ten years.
“As happy as you are that you have gotten a road or a drain, and that is only in some places, eh, the drain will mash up. Do you know in five to ten years you will come for a drain again? That box drain go mash up. That road go mash up. It will need fixing again. When you build schools and send your children to school they will become doctors and engineers. They will upgrade not only themselves but their whole communities,” Moonilal told the audience.
He and several of his Cabinet colleagues, including Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan, Transport Minister Chandresh Sharma and Food Production Minister Devant Maharaj, attended Sunday morning service at the temple on the invitation of Maha Sabha secretary general Sat Maharaj.
“When we build schools, the Maha Sabha builds schools, we give children that opportunity. But today, people want to sell out that legacy for a box drain. That will mash up. The road will be damaged but your education will not go,” said Moonilal.
He referred to his former Cabinet colleague, ex-MP for Chaguanas West and now interim political leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Jack Warner, only as “he”, saying that “he” wanted to throw out the UNC from its safest “homeland seat”.
“The people of Chaguanas West have always voted for everyone we have ever selected. Today he is saying forget that history, forget your values and vote for (him) because I did give yuh a few box drains.”
Moonilal said he had paved several roads in his own constituency of Oropouche East, but that did not give him the deed to that area.
“I am in the Government and the Government has resources and I use the resources to help the people who elected me. That is my duty.”
The problem, though, Moonilal said, was not July 29, the date of the by-election, but after.
“I see what happening here already. When they get some votes on the 29th they will want to intervene in local government elections. If we do not play this right we stand to lose Chaguanas borough for the first time in life; we stand to lose Siparia; we stand to lose Mayaro; Rio Claro; Tunapuna.
“All of those they will intervene and seek to defeat us and when they do that, in the general elections they will seek to defeat us in the marginal seats. You know in 2001 we lost the whole government by 195 votes.”
He continued: “I am convinced the UNC and Khadijah Ameen will win the election, but we must not win by a narrow margin. We have to win by an overwhelming victory—a landslide. We must win by a landslide.”

Why tHEY eh hire Cro Cro to sing a rendition of this song  at the Renzie Compex: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-roUT3G5Bq

Biggest Dictator News Thread
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2020, 12:02:33 PM »
African dictator's son in town for Carnival
T&T newsday Reports.

Four days after a court in France upheld a three-year suspended jail term and imposed a fine of US$33 million against the flamboyant vice president of Equatorial Guinea, he arrived in TT.

Teodorin Nguema Obiang and his delegation docked outside the Hyatt Regency Hotel, in Port of Spain aboard a 90-metre superyacht around 1.47 pm on Friday and several people on board were seen later that evening on deck during a barbeque.

Obiang, 50, the eldest son of President Teodoro Obiang Nguema, is reportedly here to enjoy the revelry of T&T Carnival after being smitten last year. The yacht itself has attracted scores of curious onlookers, not only by its sheer size, but it also carries an Augusta Westland helicopter on board.

Instagram photos show Obiang posing with cricket legend Brian Lara at his Lady Chancellor home and on top of a music truck at the Socadrome as Yuma masqueraders paraded last year.

There was no response to a message sent to Obiang seeking comment about the purpose of his visit.

His father seized power of the oil-rich African nation in 1979 after overthrowing his uncle Francisco Macías Nguema, in a bloody military coup. Obiang was appointed vice president in 2016.

According to international media reports, Nguema, who has been described as one of Africa's longest-serving leader, and his son, have been accused of misusing the country's oil revenue but they both deny any wrongdoing. International human rights groups have also accused the president of the systematic repression of opponents.

A World Bank report said that almost three-quarters of the 740,000 people in Equatorial Guinea live in poverty.

A national security source confirmed Obiang's arrival but noted that he was not a fugitive or wanted by any international law enforcement agency.

One online vessel tracking site showed that the superyacht, Ice, travelled from Barbados to T&T on Friday.

A BBC report, published on February 10, reported that French authorities triggered an investigation against Obiang after a campaign by Transparency International and other anti-corruption bodies.

Through his team of lawyers, Obiang denied the charges, claiming that his wealth had come from legitimate sources.

He was not in court for his trial or appeal.

Obiang is the first African leader to be sentenced in France for ill-gotten gains. However, the United States and Switzerland have seized his assets, including a fleet of luxury cars and other property.

He has challenged the French charges which related to his acquisition of a six-floor mansion in Paris by arguing before the International Criminal Court of Justice that it should be offered the same protection as a diplomatic building.

According to an AFP news agency report, in 2016, Swiss prosecutors seized 11 luxury cars belonging to Obiang.

The cars – among them Lamborghinis, Ferraris, Bentleys and Rolls Royce – were sold at an auction for about US$27 million.

In a plea deal with prosecutors, some US$23 million will go to social projects in Equatorial Guinea, a former Spanish colony where poverty is rife.

Prosecutors argued Obiang had plundered his country's oil wealth to buy luxuries, including a private jet and Michael Jackson memorabilia. In 2018, the Brazilian police seized more than US$16 million in cash and luxury watches in the luggage of a delegation accompanying Obiang.

Transparency International rates Equatorial Guinea 173rd out of 180 countries on its 2019 Corruption Perceptions Index.

US officials accused Obiang of “shamelessly” looting his country and Obiang agreed to hand over more than US$30 million worth of properties, including a mansion in Malibu, California, and a dozen luxury cars.

Obiang, however, managed to keep his US$38 million private jet and collection of Michael Jackson memorabilia, which includes a crystal-studded glove.

Equatorial Guinea vice president Teodorin Nguema Obiang. -

An Augusta Westland helicopter on the Ice yacht in Port of Spain. - JEFF K MAYERS

An instagram post of Teodorin Nguema Obiang and Brian Lara in 2019. -

Luxury yacht Ice with an Augusta Westland helicopter on board anchored at Hyatt Regency waterfront, Port of Spain on Saturday. Reports are that Equatorial Guinea vice president Teodorin Nguema Obiang arrived on the vessel for Carnival. The French court recently fined Obiang US$33 million on corruption offences. PHOTO BY JEFF K MAYERS - JEFF K MAYERS