March 28, 2024, 09:23:00 AM

Author Topic: FIFA appoints normalisation committee for Trinidad and Tobago football  (Read 102804 times)

TTFA going to CAS for justice after FIFA takeover
« Reply #30 on: March 18, 2020, 07:46:50 PM »
TTFA going to CAS for justice after FIFA takeover
By Walter Alibey and Andre Baptiste (T&T Guardian)

Disappointed by what they considered to be an unjust, unfair and disrespectful act by the world governing body for football (FIFA), the T&T Football Association under the leadership of William Wallace has turned to the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) to overturn a decision by FIFA, which on Tuesday appointed a Normalisation Committee to run the affairs of T&T football.

The TTFA has retained the services of attorneys Dr Emir Crowne and Mathew Gayle two prominenent sports lawyers.

Ramesh Ramdhan, general secretary of the embattled football association, revealed on Wednesday that their attorneys would be writing to the FIFA to begin their fight against the decision.

"We took a while to get over the shock, it was total disbelief. Since then we have pooled our resources together and have decided that this is injustice, it is disrespect, it shows some political play going on here to protect, I don't know who, but clearly, this is unprecedented when you look at what those committees are set up to do. It is in cases of political interference, political turmoil, democratic processes such as elections. Our elections were supervised by the FIFA and CONCACAF, so there were no issues with the elections, but now they are saying because of the same financial deficiency that we pointed out to them when they were here, they are now using that as a reason, but we have gone beyond that, we have put things in place."

"What we are doing now, is using the same thing that they sent and petitioning the court of arbitration for sports to deal with this matter. Because to not do that, will be to allow injustice to prevail," Ramdhan explained.

In a letter dated March 17 to the TTFA general secretary Ramdhan FIFA wrote: Under these serious circumstances, and in accordance with article 8 paragraph 2 of the Fifa statutes (which foresees that executive bodies of member associations may, under exceptional circumstances, be removed from office by the Fifa Council in consultation with the relevant confederation and replaced by a normalisation committee for a specific period of time), the Bureau of the Council decided, on 17 March 2020, to appoint a normalisation committee for the TTFA.

On receiving the news on Tuesday President William Wallace told Andre Errol Baptiste on iSports on i95.5fm radio programme that: "We are not going to roll over and die."

According to the local football boss “There is still hope, we have written to FIFA and we are awaiting a response and we will take it from there. When Fifa arrived, we gave them a report from our finance professionals detailing what structures and areas need to be addressed in a report form and they told us great, that was half of their work done so now to read these statements on the financial structure, it's strange. Also, as it relates to the debt, we gave the team an MOU (Memorandum of Understanding) with one of our partners on how we planned to address the debt issue and as I have stated we will clear the debt in two years. So what I am saying, if they had questions on the documents, we presented, they could have called us to discuss, that is all and ask for more proof."

Wallace said he is also awaiting a response from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) in light of what had transpired.

"Incidentally, I got a call from the president of the Union - Randy Harris, and he asked about the account being frozen and I mentioned how it was a court matter and we are working on it. He told me that 'T&T is very important to the Caribbean in football so we cannot allow FIFA to send a Normalisation Committee." and that 'Whatever support we can help with at the CFU, we will'. But of course, they do not have much funds but he also stated that when our conversation was finished he was going to call CONCACAF," said Wallace.

Word of the normalisation committee had both men taken aback, particularly as it is felt the FIFA was contradicting its policy. According to Ramdhan "In summing up the visit by the FIFA/CONCACAF team over the days of activities here, they were quite pleased. As a matter of fact, they commended us for taking certain measures to rectify the financial issues we faced, and we had already done a paper to take to the Board for approval, therefore this decision runs contrary to what we were told."

Ramdhan said his association was not informed of the decision and had to get it from the website.

The FIFA correspondance continued: 'The specified period of time during which the normalisation committee will perform its functions will expire as soon as it has fulfilled all of its assigned tasks, but no later than 24 months after its members have been officially appointed by the FIFA administration. The exact date for the normalisation committee to complete its mandate will be communicated by the Fifa administration once its members have been appointed.

In the interim and before the normalisation committee is fully operational, the TTFA administration’s management will be supervised by Mr Tyril Patrick, who will directly report to Fifa. The TTFA administration—in its entirety—will therefore report to Mr Patrick until the normalisation committee has been put in place.'

Re: FIFA appoints normalisation committee for Trinidad and Tobago football
« Reply #31 on: March 18, 2020, 08:10:05 PM »
We ent taking this one lying down at all.

DJW, nasty man Selby and FIFA and dem extend theyself too much with this one. We ent taking that so!  :cursing:

They bounce they head bad

« Reply #32 on: March 18, 2020, 08:44:17 PM »

Wallace said he is also awaiting a response from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) in light of what had transpired.

"Incidentally, I got a call from the president of the Union - Randy Harris, and he asked about the account being frozen and I mentioned how it was a court matter and we are working on it. He told me that 'T&T is very important to the Caribbean in football so we cannot allow FIFA to send a Normalisation Committee." and that 'Whatever support we can help with at the CFU, we will'. But of course, they do not have much funds but he also stated that when our conversation was finished he was going to call CONCACAF," said Wallace.
Am very pleased to read this whole article, and especially this part...hopefully they will prove me wrong about CFU

« Reply #33 on: March 18, 2020, 11:40:05 PM »
I think I saw on the news where they were taking fifa to court, I think it’s some sort of sport arbitration court, did anyone else heard or is privy to this info?

« Reply #34 on: March 19, 2020, 01:19:15 AM »
They must really think that all people from TT are that docile and stupid...

The sell outs are fools and have a value they can be bought at, but the rest who actually want to see our football progress don’t have a price..

Fifa if they lose this battle, which I am hoping for may try to ban TT football, the next question will be, Cfu will have no choice but to come together as a bloc once again and finally use that power ....

« Reply #35 on: March 19, 2020, 02:41:25 AM »
Allyuh mad?!? Its 2020, the days of Trinbagonians taking this shit are over. Petition signed, money donated. Fack dem, lets go!

« Reply #36 on: March 19, 2020, 03:08:54 AM »
Who's up for the fight? It's time to rumble with an uncompromised message. It's time to protect recent gains. It's time not merely to respond, but to act decisively. It's time to be clear and certain.

Our passport and values are worth nothing if our response is acquiescence.

Do not cosign bullshit and endorse history repeating itself.

Amen

« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 05:48:20 AM by Tallman »

TTFA to lose sponsor after Fifa takeover
« Reply #38 on: March 19, 2020, 06:16:20 AM »
TTFA could lose sponsor after FIFA takeover.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

ONE of the latest sponsors of the TT Football Association (TTFA), Caribbean Chemicals and Agencies Ltd, said it is not willing to continue its sponsorship of local football if Fifa reverts to the “same old.”

On Tuesday, news spread that Fifa decided to disband the TTFA, led by William Wallace.

On Wednesday at 2.40 am, the TTFA received an email from Fifa saying former TTFA employee Tyril Patrick will lead the local football body, before a normalisation committee is selected to run T&T football.

Patrick served as finance manager under David John-Williams, who was ousted as TTFA president in November 2019 after serving at the helm for four years.

According to an article on the Fifa website, “The decision (to disband Fifa) follows the recent Fifa/Concacaf fact-finding mission to TT to assess, together with an independent auditor, the financial situation of TTFA.

“The mission found that extremely low overall financial management methods, combined with a massive debt, have resulted in the TTFA facing a very real risk of insolvency and illiquidity. Such a situation is putting at risk the organisation and development of football in the country and corrective measures need to be applied urgently.” Caribbean Chemicals was one of the many sponsors to jump on board since the TTFA held its elections in November. William Wallace was elected as president, replacing John-Williams.

Since being elected Wallace has gathered a number of local and international sponsors including local-based company Caribbean Chemicals, which signed a four-year partnership worth $1.5 million just two weeks ago. The agreement was supposed to support the development and improvement of playing pitches at senior, junior and school levels. Among the other sponsors that the Wallace-led TTFA attained was a four-year $25 million deal with Avec UK, the largest partnership the TTFA has been involved in since the Fifa 2006 World Cup in Germany. Sports and Games also signed a four-year deal with TTFA recently.

Speaking with Newsday, shortly before the news broke that Fifa decided to hire Patrick, chairman of Caribbean Chemicals Joe Pires said, “I really have no comment until I see what Fifa wants to do and what they are doing. Logically my concern would be if they go back with the old same old I would be not interested, but if Fifa is interested in carrying football forward as the rest of T&T is we would be interested in continuing the discussion of us staying on as a possible sponsor. If it’s back to the same old, same old we not interested.”

Asked what he meant by same old, Pires said, “Well it depends on who they appoint to the board. We will be extremely concerned if they revert to the past. We are thinking future, we are thinking forward which is what we were sold on (when we decided to sponsor)...I don’t know what they are going to do, what their thinking is, I don’t. When I start to see who they appoint to the committee and who the people are going to be that’s when we will make a decision.”

Please click here to sign this Reinstate United TTFA as executive board of Trinidad & Tobago Football Association.

« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 09:31:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #39 on: March 19, 2020, 06:36:10 AM »
Solidarity needed. Now more than ever!!

« Reply #40 on: March 19, 2020, 07:30:18 AM »
Okay, this is what somebody posted on a DMV( DC) chat. He heard that somebody we know very well wrote a letter and blow the whistle after the very contentious meeting that  TTFA had the other day. Is this true or not ?

« Reply #41 on: March 19, 2020, 08:28:12 AM »
WATCH: Why has Fifa shut down the TTFA Board? And what can besieged TTFA president William Wallace do about it?  Wired868 editor and journalist Lasana Liburd talks to TV6 Morning Edition host Fazeer Mohammed

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/775PSAcNOqE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/775PSAcNOqE</a>

« Reply #42 on: March 19, 2020, 09:22:55 AM »
FIFA puts ex-TTFA finance manager in charge.
By Jelani Beckles (Newsday).

FIFA has appointed former TT Football Association (TTFA) employee Tyril Patrick to lead the local football body before a normalisation committee is selected to run T&T football.

Patrick served as finance manager under John-Williams, who was ousted as TTFA president in November 2019 after serving at the helm for four years.

On Tuesday, Fifa disbanded the current executive led by president William Wallace. According to an article on the Fifa website, “The decision follows the recent Fifa/Concacaf fact-finding mission to T&T to assess, together with an independent auditor, the financial situation of TTFA.

“The mission found that extremely low overall financial management methods, combined with a massive debt, have resulted in the TTFA facing a very real risk of insolvency and illiquidity. Such a situation is putting at risk the organisation and development of football in the country and corrective measures need to be applied urgently.”

Up to press time on Tuesday, the TTFA did not receive any correspondence from Fifa on its decision.

However, former general secretary of the TTFA Ramesh Ramdhan, who worked under Wallace, said the local football body received an e-mail early Wednesday morning confirming the appointment of Patrick and the decision by Fifa to remove Wallace and his executive.

Asked if Fifa contacted TTFA, Ramdhan said, "I did so at 2.40 am this morning. They apologised saying it was sent to the wrong e-mail address."

Asked if the e-mail contained the appointment of Patrick, Ramdhan said, "Yes, that is in the letter as well."

Video - TTFA v FIFA: Wired868's Lasana Liburd talks to TV6 Morning Edition

Please click here to sign this Reinstate United TTFA as executive board of Trinidad & Tobago Football Association.

« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 09:32:47 AM by Flex »

« Reply #43 on: March 19, 2020, 10:52:56 AM »
We had years of three former corrupt and/or disorganized football administrations. For the first time in decades, a president sets a plan in place to eliminate the debt and erase the scandalous activities of the past and now is the time FIFA attempts to act.

“The mission found that extremely low overall financial management methods, combined with a massive debt, have resulted in the TTFA facing a very real risk of insolvency and illiquidity."

But they put the finance manager who oversaw that situation back in charge. If that is not a questionable corrupt decision, I don't know what is! This TTFA is a legally, constitutionally elected organization. There was no election fraud or current proven financial fraud. At least, FIFA has not provided any evidence of that. How could FIFA after only three months and with the hope provided by this President suddenly decide to remove the President and disband the organization? Where were they all these years? As someone earlier said, this is a blatant coup d'etat and another demonstration of the corrupt, immoral organization that FIFA is. Is there a forum where we fans can raise our voices? Let's support Wallace's return to office if he has to be voted a second time.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 10:56:05 AM by Storeboy »

« Reply #44 on: March 19, 2020, 11:16:00 AM »
Whatever we do, we should all do it together...strength in numbers. Let's decide what our plan of action should be.

« Reply #45 on: March 19, 2020, 11:45:29 AM »
Very informative video between Lasana and Fazeer, the CFU nations really need to come together in unified support.

« Last Edit: March 19, 2020, 02:17:46 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #47 on: March 19, 2020, 01:01:03 PM »
Forum, from a policy standpoint, continue to refer to William Wallace as President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association. Naturally, this practice should apply to other members of the federation's directorate as effectively unaffected by the FIFA pronouncement.

Do NOT recognize the replacement apparatus in any form.  Do not accord the replacement apparatus any legitimacy.

Reserve legitimacy for the Wallace administration. Refer to Mr. William Wallace as the legitimate president of the federation.

This practice should be particularly prominent in communicating with media entities.

« Reply #48 on: March 19, 2020, 03:24:04 PM »
Forum, from a policy standpoint, continue to refer to William Wallace as President of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association. Naturally, this practice should apply to other members of the federation's directorate as effectively unaffected by the FIFA pronouncement.

Do NOT recognize the replacement apparatus in any form.  Do not accord the replacement apparatus any legitimacy.

Reserve legitimacy for the Wallace administration. Refer to Mr. William Wallace as the legitimate president of the federation.

This practice should be particularly prominent in communicating with media entities.

Excellent!

« Reply #49 on: March 19, 2020, 04:05:22 PM »
They must really think that all people from TT are that docile and stupid...

The sell outs are fools and have a value they can be bought at, but the rest who actually want to see our football progress don’t have a price..

Fifa if they lose this battle, which I am hoping for may try to ban TT football, the next question will be, Cfu will have no choice but to come together as a bloc once again and finally use that power ....
you setting up yourself for failure by depending on these black "BOYS" in CFU. remember those were the ones who betrayed jack warner and bin hamam, if they had taken the bribe and hushed their pie holes then at least the caribbean would've had a voice, but today we are in more dire straights because montagliani and infantino could care less about CFU.

i predict these uncle toms all backing away because they don't want to lose their fifa subventions. you all think that black people sell out in joke, and before you all attack me for being racist i do have black blood, indian blood white blood and chinese blood so i could attack all of them.

Offline raj

CAFCECAFA
FIFA’s normalization committees – what are they and how do they work?
29th October 2018  Michael Smith Mugote  No Comments
Whilst FIFA has been a topic of discussion over recent years for a variety of reasons, FIFA’s powers to intervene in its member associations’ governance receives little attention. Such powers are exercised by imposing “normalization committees” on member associations that FIFA determines are not complying with the FIFA Statutes (the Statutes).

Out of FIFA’s 211 members, a number of associations have recent or current experience of normalization committee intervention – Kuwait, Guinea, Guatemala, Greece, Argentina, Thailand, Mali and Benin to name a few. In the last two months, normalization committees have been appointed in Ghana1 and Uruguay2 and the mandate of the Cameroonian Football Association’s normalization committee has been extended from February 2018 to 16 December 2018

FIFA has also recently released a statement regarding the suspension of the Sierra Leon Football Association following government interference in the organisation and administration of the nation’s football association following allegations of wrongdoing and corruption against the president and General Secretary. It is not clear if a normalisation committee will be appointed for Sierra Leone and FIFA plans to await the outcome of the trial against the President before decided on any further action

In light of this, this article analyses the role of FIFA’s normalisation committees. Specifically, it looks at; When FIFA is entitled to intervene, circumstances in which FIFA has intervened, how normalization committees are constituted, the scope of their powers, what happens if there are disputes, key examples of normalization committees, comparisons with other sports, legitimacy of FIFA’s interventions

When is FIFA entitled to intervene?

FIFA’s power to intervene is derived from the Statutes.

Article 8 provides that:

“All bodies and officials must observe the Statutes, regulations, decisions and Code of Ethics of FIFA in their activities.

Executive bodies of member associations may under exceptional circumstances be removed from office by the Council in consultation with the relevant confederation and replaced by  the normalization committee for a specific period of time.

Every person and organization involved in the game of football is obliged to observe the statutes and regulations of FIFA as well as the principles of fair play.

The exceptional circumstances in which FIFA may intervene are not clearly defined but tend to involve a member association’s failure to ‘manage their affairs independently and ensure that their own affairs are not influenced by any third parties’ even where such influence is not the fault of the member association. Furthermore, member associations are required to comply with the principles of good governance, including but not limited to political and religious neutrality, prohibition of discrimination, and judicial independence10.
The appointment of a normalisation committee is regarded as a last resort, when FIFA considers that the domestic governance of the game has irretrievably broken down. The constitution of a normalisation committee usually follows the suspension of a member association by the Council, where that member association is unable to confirm that it has demonstrated that it is able to comply with the requisite principles of good governance.

Whilst suspended, a member association loses all of its membership rights as defined in Article 13 of the statutes, and national and affiliated club teams are not entitled to take part in international competitions until the suspension is lifted. Other member associations are also not permitted to have sporting contact with the member association during its suspension.

Circumstances in which FIFA has intervened

FIFA appointed a normalization committee for the Kuwait Football Association (KFA) on 18 January 2018 following a 2015 suspension for alleged government interference in the affairs of the KFA. Similarly, FIFA intervened in Mali’s Football Association (FEMAFOOT) for government interference after the Mali Sports Minister dissolved the executive committee of FEMAFOOT.
In the case of the Football Association of Thailand (FAT), the executive committee was removed following a ban to the FAT’s president for a breach to FIFA’s Code of Ethics. He was given a suspended 16-month sentence by a Thai court for falsifying documents to amend the FAT statutes ahead of the FAT’s presidential election. A normalization committee was set up in 2015.

FIFA intervened in the governance of the Uruguayan Football Association after the sudden resignation of its president in July 2018. His resignation followed the release of compromising audio recordings, the content of which is unknown (although there are some suggestions that these recordings contained comments about sports administrators, a member of the government and sports journalists). FIFA’s intervention was based on the lack of guarantees for the electoral process. The normalization committee for the Ghanian Football Association was appointed following similar concerns regarding breaches of ethics in the member association and government interference.

Constitution of normalization committees

Normalisation committees are composed of an adequate number of members identified by FIFA and the relevant confederation and stakeholders. What is viewed as an adequate number of members varies, and normalization committees have been composed of three members in Uruguay, four in Ghana, and six in Thailand by way of some examples.
Members of normalisation committees are not required to have any particular skill-sets, but it is usually the case that members hail from the country in which the national association is based. Normalization committees tend to be made up of members from different backgrounds, albeit with some knowledge or experience of football and financial and legal affairs.

For example, the three members of the Uruguayan Football Association’s normalization committee include a member of the FIFA Governance Committee, a former executive of one of Uruguay’s top clubs, and an economist (the former Secretary of Economic and Financial Affairs at the Uruguayan Football Association). The four members of the Ghanaian Football Association’s normalisation committee include a well-connected businessman known for sponsorship deals for Ghanaian football clubs, a former CEO of a telecommunication network, a lawyer, and a former board member of a Ghanaian football club.

The members of the normalization committee are then confirmed by FIFA’s Bureau of the Council (which deals with all matters requiring immediate attention between two meetings of the Council). FIFA retains the right to add or remove any members of the normalisation committee as it sees fit.

All members of the normalization committee are required to pass an eligibility test in accordance with the Statutes and the FIFA Governance Regulations, which is conducted by the FIFA Review Committee. FIFA describes the content of such eligibility checks as open-ended and vague which require clarification on a case-by-case basis. FIFA aims to make their application as objective and certain as possible. In conducting these checks, the Review Committee has been mindful of the guidelines stemming from decisions taken by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in a small number of cases relevant to the conducting of integrity checks. Standards vary depending on the position for which the eligibility checks are applied, as the CAS has held that the integrity check is an abstract test to assess whether a person is perceived to be a person of integrity for the function at stake. As such, a direct violation of the FIFA Code of Ethics is no prerequisite to a person not passing the integrity check. However, a history of financial impropriety and an involvement in national or local government are severely frowned upon by FIFA.

It is worth noting that the Review Committee does not have any investigatory powers and makes a decision based on the information available to it at the time.

Scope of Powers

The normalisation committee takes over the day-to-day running of the member association whilst drafting new statutes and policies for the association that adhere to the FIFA Statutes and the relevant national law. The new statutes must contain, at a minimum, provisions relating to neutrality in politics and religion, prohibition of discrimination, independence from any political interference, judicial independence and respect of the Laws of the Game.
The normalization committee also organizes and conducts elections for a new executive committee. None of the members of the normalization committee are able to run for any of the vacant positions in the elections. Members of the existing executive committee are required to vacate their posts whilst the normalization committee undergoes its work. If they wish to take up positions in the new executive committee, they are expected to contest the positions in the elections organized by the normalization committee. Potential candidates for the executive committee are required to undergo integrity checks as per the FIFA Code of Ethics, regardless of their previous position, which is carried out by the FIFA Review Committee using the same guidelines as set out above.

FIFA can continue to monitor the member association’s progress by way of a monitoring committee, implemented on a case-by-case basis. The normalization committee remains in place for a specified period of time and will disband when all the required tasks are complete. FIFA has the discretion to extend the relevant period of time for as long as it is required, as in the case of Cameroonian Football Association (FECAFOOT).

It was announced in September 2018 that FECAFOOT’s normalisation committee was making good progress but that certain important tasks had not been completed. Notably, the adoption of statutes ensuring compliance with the Statutes had not been completed, nor had the organization of elections for the new executive committee taken place. As a result, the Bureau of the Council viewed an extension to the normalization committee’s mandate until December 16, 2018 as necessary. There is no limit as to how many times FIFA can extend a normalization committee’s mandate, although it expects the normalization committee to provide a roadmap so that the mandate can be fulfilled in the time provided to it. Similarly, the normalization committee for FEMAFOOT (the Mali Football Association) was extended to October 31, 2018 so that the key aims of revising the statutes, setting up the judicial and conducting transparent elections could be met.

What happens if the member association disputes the appointment?

There are no easily available records of member associations challenging the appointment of a normalisation committee. The Statutes provide that confederations, member associations and leagues shall agree to comply fully with any decision passed by the relevant FIFA bodies which, according to these Statutes, are final and not subject to appeal. Further, member associations are obliged to comply fully with the decisions of FIFA bodies at any time.
Some member associations have attempted to challenge the appointment of a normalisation committee through local judicial means. FIFA tends to respond to these sorts of challenges by promptly suspending the member association until the election of a new executive committee is conducted. For example, FIFA suspended the Benin Football Association (FBF) after a local judicial court approved an injunction to impede the holding of the 2016 presidential election, despite the FBF being overseen by a normalization committee since September 2015.

Member associations have been willing to appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) on a number of matters involving FIFA, including audit orders (in the case of the Ivory Coast Football Federation) and membership. However, the outcome of such an appeal would be difficult to predict. Whilst the CAS has upheld appeals against FIFA in cases such as the Gibraltar Football Association’s application for FIFA membership, it has also shown a willingness to approve a sports governing body’s intervention in governance matters where necessary – for example the suspension by the IAAF of the All Russia Athletics Federation from IAAF membership35. Any appeal to the CAS would most likely turn on its facts.

Past examples

Whilst normalization committees can achieve FIFA’s desired outcome, there are notable examples which open the process up to criticism for being largely ineffective and for preserving the status quo rather than revitalizing the situation.
The example of Guinea demonstrates how smoothly the normalization committee process is supposed to run, with a relatively quick and positive outcome. Guinea had a normalization committee imposed on it by FIFA in April 2016 following internal wrangles which brought all football competitions in the country to a halt. The normalization committee completed its task 11 months later, with the adoption of a new constitution and the election of a new president in March 201737.

The case of the Hellenic Football Federation (HFF) is particularly dramatic. FIFA intervened in October 2016 following extensive governance issues including the Greek Sports Ministry’s cancellation of the Greek Cup final in 2016 as well as the postponement of the 2016-2017 season due to a dispute between Greece’s football clubs, the HFF and the government over the selection of referees. FIFA established a normalization committee in October 2016. Elections were held in August 2017, despite threats and an alleged arson attack. The new executive committee is still monitored by FIFA. The normalization committee was criticized for its inclusion of some individuals who could be deemed to have a conflict of interest and links have also been drawn between those implicated in match-fixing cases and their potential influence over referee appointments. It has also been reported that as many as 75% of second-tier games in Greece are showing signs of match-fixing.

The Argentine Football Association was largely leaderless until Luis Segura became president after a suspicious 38-38 vote by a 75 person Congress. Segura was later charged by US authorities with fraudulent administration and FIFA set up a normalization committee in July 2016, which was plagued with issues including a players’ strike for non-payment and postponement of the Argentinian league. Many have criticized the new executive committee. The new President is a former president of a Third Division football club and is joined on the board by the presidents of Boca Juniors and of Independiente. People have unsurprisingly questioned the suitability of the new board members.

Comparisons with other sports

FIFA is not the only organization in pursuit of good governance and it can be suggested that FIFA’s actions complement the wider change of attitude towards governance issues in sport.
Other sports governing bodies have taken steps to intervene where serious issues over governance have been raised – see for example the unprecedented decision in December 2017 by the IOC to withdraw funding from the Association of International Boxing Associations (AIBA). The approach taken by the IOC was different to that taken by FIFA insofar as the IOC suspended funding until it was satisfied that the AIBA had demonstrated sufficient compliance and the IOC has not (yet) stepped into the organization of the AIBA’s affairs.

The IOC has placed other federations under similar scrutinies, such as the International Weightlifting Federation and the International Biathlon Union. Parallels can also be drawn between FIFA’s actions and the IAAF’s decision not to reinstate the Russian Athletics Federation’s membership, yet these governing bodies have not gone as far as FIFA in respect of direct intervention.

Legitimacy of intervention

The protection of the integrity of the game is of utmost importance to FIFA particularly at a time of significant scrutiny (and reform) of its own governance. FIFA’s own governance is in the process of changing, but many have noted that the 2016 reforms did not go far enough – with standards falling far short of those expected of a UK listed company. Whilst normalization committees often have the desired effect of bringing a member association’s governance in line with FIFA’s expectations, the difficulties lie in the determination of what good governance is in the context of a truly global sport.
Further, given the integrity issues historically faced by FIFA, questions could be raised regarding the organization’s role as moral arbiter – perhaps an independent body would be more effective in decisions such as these.

The establishment of a global independent body as a method of oversight of regulatory and governance affairs would be an admirable aim, however, the hurdles of doing so are unlikely to be overcome any time soon. Any independent body would first face the challenge of obtaining sufficient funding to conduct such wide-ranging and extensive work. There would need to be agreement from FIFA’s 211 members as to the mandate of the independent body and people of sufficient expertise would have to be appointed to carry out that mandate. How these independent people would be chosen and the integrity standard to which they would be held is another area of contention – including the question of whether they would be subject to the same integrity checks as currently imposed by FIFA. As we have seen, global governing bodies such as WADA are not immune to criticism, despite broadly being seen as the legitimate and authoritative body for matters within their scope of expertise.

To FIFA’s credit, its assertion of authority over the governance of its member associations cannot be questioned. FIFA has certainly not been afraid to flex its muscles in ensuring its authority is not undermined. For example, a normalization committee was imposed on the Guatemalan Football Association (FEDEFUT) in December 2015 but FIFA announced in 2016 that it was no longer able to operate after a FEDFUT general assembly rejected the normalization committee’s mandate. FIFA promptly responded to this by suspending FEDEFUT. A joint FIFA and CONCACAF mission visited Guatemala and took the decision in May 2018 to appoint another normalization committee. The Chairman of this committee wrote to FIFA confirming that the normalization committee was fully operational. Given the history of normalization committees in FEDEFUT, FIFA took the decision to appoint an International Steering Committee to oversee and monitor the implementation of the normalization committee’s mandate. If this was challenged by FEDEFUT, it would be automatically suspended once again.

Conclusion

These examples of intervention should serve as a stark warning of the significant consequences of corruption within football. FIFA is willing to step into member associations when it considers its position is being undermined, with the suspension of (and subsequent imposition of a normalization committee on) the member association a very likely consequence.
FIFA provides global rules which must be universally applied. These rules were not designed for the purpose of a single situation, which creates challenging situations when applying specific rules to hundreds of countries around the world, each with different ideas of standards of governance. The regulations put in place by FIFA are binding and must be observed at all times by every member association. The compulsory nature of the FIFA regulations flows from the need for FIFA to be able to achieve its objectives as set out in the Statutes.

Although individuals will have varying opinions on FIFA itself, normalization committees have been effective in a number of cases and continue to work as a method of implementation of good governance. Whilst the use of an independent body would be desirable, the status quo is working and FIFA remains the only organization with sufficient authority to enforce such action. FIFA must, however, be alive to criticism in acknowledging its failures and be prepared to monitor member associations, scrutinize the appointments of committee members, and keep a watchful eye over the suitability of candidates for executive committee positions

« Reply #51 on: March 19, 2020, 05:32:24 PM »
WATCH: Former Trinidad and Tobago footballer and ESPN football analyst Shaka Hislop said FIFA's timing to send in a normalisation committee to run Trinidad and Tobago football leaves many questions unanswered.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/w398Ojp2Tn0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/w398Ojp2Tn0</a>

« Reply #52 on: March 19, 2020, 05:50:06 PM »
I just come to say.....FIFA mudder's c*$%nt!!

:cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :pissedoff: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :frustrated: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead: :busshead: :busshead: :busshead:

« Reply #53 on: March 19, 2020, 06:09:54 PM »
The crabs done start to act up.
Pro league say they not supporting any action to fight FIFA decision and ready to work with normalization committee.

So far only Point Fortin Civic Center say they wasn't aware of no Pro League board vote.

Ah setta kiss me arse Uncle Tom's in T&T

« Reply #54 on: March 19, 2020, 06:14:19 PM »
FIFA ‘too big’
CAS not the way to go, says Pro League

Mar 19, 2020

https://trinidadexpress.com/sports/local/fifa-too-big/article_9050c836-6a3d-11ea-b0a0-e763643c5d59.html

The TT Pro League, a board member of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association, yesterday issued a statement that it was not in support of the Association fighting world football governing body FIFA in the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

“We have instructed our representative on the former TTFA Board, Mr. Brent Sancho, that the TT Pro League will not support any move by the former administration to engage in any legal battle against FIFA over their removal from office,” the release, which came late yesterday, said.

The TT Pro League Board is comprised of 11 professional clubs making up the local professional league. Sancho, who is also the owner of Central FC, confirmed the position taken.

“We had a conference call today and the decision was taken,” Sancho said. “We felt that it was not the right decision to go, in terms of going to CAS,” Sancho said.

Trinidad Express checks found that some of the clubs had indeed taken such a position while at least one, Point Fortin Civic, were unaware of such.

“I was not aware of that decision,” stated Civic director Gareston Craig. “I do not know when that meeting took place.”

At least four of the clubs confirmed that they were part of the decision. One official of a prominent club, who wished to remain anonymous, stated that the Pro League had run football independently for 18 years and it had nothing to do with TTFA. As an independent operation, he said, their focus was on developing football without engaging in mudslinging.

Further, the League Board stated that it accepted FIFA’s intervention.

“The Board of the TT Pro League has unanimously accepted the decision by FIFA to establish a Normalisation Committee to steer the financial and statutory affairs of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association.

As a football company who have (sic) invested over two hundred million dollars into the national economy over the last 18 years, the TT Pro League stands ready to work alongside the Ministry of Sport and the FIFA appointed Normalisation Committee for the continued development of the game.

“At a time when the dreaded coronavirus is taking its toll on the health and economic welfare of the country, on the request of the Minister of Sport, we are sending a proposal by March 31st for rebranding the professional league, use of community fields and developing a proposal for a partnership with FIFA, the Ministry of Sport and Corporate Trinidad and Tobago.

“While we cannot pre-empt any selection by FIFA, we would like to see the Normalisation Committee comprise of (sic) credible non-partisan persons from the local legal, sporting and business sectors. We at the Pro League feel the time for mudslinging, character assassination and egotism in our football must be replaced with a greater resolve to collectively address the challenges ahead.”

« Reply #55 on: March 19, 2020, 06:15:04 PM »
The crabs done start to act up.
Pro league say they not supporting any action to fight FIFA decision and ready to work with normalization committee.

So far only Point Fortin Civic Center say they wasn't aware of no Pro League board vote.

Ah setta kiss me arse Uncle Tom's in T&T

You really expected any different?  You forgetting is over 30 years we had to deal with Jackula et al??  Partly because all man jack who was benefit ting from the corruption bend over and took it up de rear.....once dey was getting dey cut, firetruck TnT football!!

« Reply #56 on: March 19, 2020, 06:16:36 PM »
........aaaaaaahhhh boy!!  Brent Sancho.....smh.......just smh......

« Reply #57 on: March 19, 2020, 06:29:34 PM »
The Pro League couldn't abide by expertise solicited and rendered by UEFA regarding the T-League, but now it is wiling to suckle at the breast of a barren and infertile FIFA through the guise of a Normalization Committee from which it anticipates benefits? I suppose it would be too optimistic to expect Ms. Julia Baptiste to resign as a matter of principle.

« Reply #58 on: March 19, 2020, 06:32:29 PM »
........aaaaaaahhhh boy!!  Brent Sancho.....smh.......just smh......

It could be that he is expressing the league's position rather than his personal position, but as he did not clarify he remains exposed to everything you have stated.

« Reply #59 on: March 19, 2020, 06:34:22 PM »
The Pro League appears willing to be a casualty in this medi. So be it. It was always heading in that direction.