March 28, 2024, 02:20:10 PM

Author Topic: FIFA appoints normalisation committee for Trinidad and Tobago football  (Read 102828 times)

FIFA relies on insulation from state laws.
By Gyasi Merrique (Guardian).

Not very often has public legal order been able to force FIFA to submit to the rule of state law. In fact, throughout its 116-year existence football’s world governing body has meticulously designed its legal framework to insulate itself as much as possible from the state laws of its various member associations as well as larger supra-national institutions such as the European Union and others like it.

Except for some historic and landmark cases such as the Bosman ruling of 1995 and indeed FIFAgate, FIFA has largely been untouchable when it comes to public or state legal order intervening in the general order by which FIFA governs football and governs itself.

In the case of the Bosman ruling, which can be likened to an industrial relations matter with far-reaching implications for the game at every level, the European Court of Justice’s judgment banned restrictions of movement on EU players allowing those who were at the end of their contracts to move from one club to another for no transfer fee. It consolidated three earlier decisions in favour of Belgian footballer Jean-Marc Bosman against the Belgian Football Association, Royal Football Club de Liege as well as UEFA.

Meanwhile, in 2015, United States prosecutors began proceedings into allegations of corruption and collusion between several football officials and executives of sports marketing companies.

More than 10 FIFA officials have been charged, indicted, and pleaded guilty on multiple counts of fraud, money laundering, and bribery. All of those officials faced simultaneous bans by FIFA from participating in football-related activities.

FIFA itself has not faced any sanctions and has gone about its business of "reform" within the walls of the organization and most importantly, out of the reach of the public legal order.

Several academic examinations of FIFA’s private legal governance structure as well as its increased economic clout over time, seem to suggest that any attempt to drag football’s global governing body over into public or state legislative order is futile, to put things mildly. In fact, according to a case study on FIFA’s private legal order published in 2018 - Private order building: the state in the role of the civil society and the case of FIFA - often public legal order acts as an enabler of sorts.

One excerpt reads, “…not all the credit behind the expansion of FIFA’s private order goes to FIFA alone. Public orders, such as the sovereign jurisdictions of FIFA’s member associations and supranational organizations like the European Union (EU), influence the evolution of the order.”

The study contends that regulatory autonomy granted to FIFA and private institutions like it, through the historical and traditional reluctance of states to trespass FIFA’s governance - from its control over tournament schedules, its commercial enterprise and setting of its own financial and political framework - has largely enabled the body to evolve into the self-governing juggernaut that we know today.

This idea speaks volumes given FIFA’s establishment of its headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland, a country that has also traditionally avoided the intervention in the affairs of private entities residing within its borders.

Moreover, this is precisely the assertion being made by the United TTFA – a body within Trinidad and Tobago made up primarily of the duly elected TTFA officers at last November’s Annual General Meeting that has since been removed from office by FIFA.

Led by the TTFA’s elected president William Wallace, vice presidents Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillip, and Susan Joseph-Warrick as well as a couple of other local administrators, United TTFA has challenged FIFA’s appointment of a normalization committee to steer T&T football for a maximum period of 24 months. Having been disbanded less than four months after being constitutionally elected and within weeks of reportedly alerting FIFA to alarming financial malpractice of the previous administrations, Wallace and company have sought to challenge FIFA’s legal dominion by filing a matter at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in Lausanne, Switzerland.

It has since withdrawn that case at CAS, FIFA’s prescribed arbitration body, choosing instead to file its matter with the High Court of Trinidad and Tobago. Upon withdrawal, United TTFA said: “It became clear that CAS was prepared to ignore its regulations to facilitate FIFA in its handling of TTFA vs FIFA.” It claimed that after CAS asked it to pay the entire cost ($40,000 Swiss Frances or TT$277,000) of proceedings upfront, contrary to normal practice, United TTFA had “serious doubts" about being afforded a fair hearing.

United TTFA is now leaning on the High Court of T&T in a bid for the state’s legal system to 1. Declare FIFA’s set up of the normalization committee, on March 17, 2020, null and void 2. Grant a permanent injunction preventing FIFA from interfering or overriding the outcome of the democratic process 3. Grant a permanent injunction to prevent the FIFA from interfering in the day-to-day management of the TTFA including use of its bank accounts and property.

This unprecedented challenge can certainly be lauded on principle even if the anticipated consequences, which we will also explore, can be potentially damaging for the local administration of football.

Branislav Hock, one of the contributing researchers on the 2018 publication as well as another published in the Yale Journal of International Law titled, Between the Green Pitch and the Red Tape: The Private Legal Order of FIFA has found the entire scenario and posturing of both parties interesting.

Hock says, “What this case shows in Trinidad and Tobago, at least from the limited knowledge that I have about the case, is that under FIFA statutes if you want to be a member you need to follow the rules, as long as these rules are in compliance with some basic fundamental rights and if they are in essence acceptable for society at large.”

However, United TTFA continues to use its defence, the TTFA's establishment by an act of parliament in 1982. Hock, Senior Lecturer of Economic Crime at the University of Portsmouth in the UK, who has studied extensively, the relationship between public and private legal orders as well as the advantages and disadvantages of both, says “It's a part legal question, a part political question.”

He added “FIFA’s legal order, except perhaps in the Bosman case when the FIFA legal order indeed was challenged by the state laws, has been able to resist any major interference of the public orders. You can go to the national court and say maybe you can go against the association (FIFA) at the national stage but the question is whether you have enough power and means to harm the association.

"Ultimately, you can win the dispute in the national court but the association can say you don’t have to be in our association if you don’t want to follow these rules. It's ok that you are established based on the law of Trinidad and Tobago but you are a member of our association based on the statutes of FIFA.”

The High Court of T&T is essentially being asked to deliberate whether Article 8.2 of FIFA's statutes can be applied to the TTFA. It allows FIFA to disband the Executive bodies of member associations "under exceptional circumstances by the Council in consultation with the relevant confederation and replaced by a normalization committee."

However, according to the TTFA constitution, only article 38 speaks to the dismissal of a person or a member and specifies that dismissal can only be carried out at the General Meeting with the person in question being allowed to defend against any such motion.

Hock says, “It's not one or the other, definitely both apply but they apply in different contexts and for different reasons."

He adds that beyond the issue of whether or not FIFA’s intervention in the affairs of Trinidad and Tobago football was justified or not, the TTFA’s challenge can have a deeper interpretation as it relates to the umbrella body’s execution of power.

Hock said, “FIFA is able to design specific rules that benefit actors within football. These are not some default employment rules for example. These are rules that fit the purpose. If a player goes to court and gets some temporary ban from going to work, playing – their career might be over. That’s why we need a swift dispute resolution system. So there are many advantages to this private order.”

“But generally, the rule is to leave these private orders alone if they are legitimate. They will probably do many good things. But what we need to discuss is 'When the state or public order should intervene? When should they step in and fix something? And why the public order should know better than the private order.'

FIFA has retained the services of Trinidad and Tobago based law firm of Dr. Claude Denbow SC and the matter will be brought up in the T&T High Court is expected to be heard on June 16, 2020. It has also refused to accept an olive branch extended by the United TTFA offering to take the matter to mediation.

All I could make of this is that fifa is adamant about removing this bunch, and they would stop at nothing to get it done, and I could only hope wallace has a ace up his sleeve, because if not then he is threading on thin ice with absolutely no visible means of support anywhere.

The fat boss and his stooges must be smiling from ear to ear making plans for his return, i only hope they're familiar with the saying “who laughs last”.... well you all know the rest.

Ferguson: Football faces emotional effects from FIFA fight
« Reply #483 on: May 31, 2020, 08:37:35 AM »
Ferguson: Football faces emotional effects from FIFA fight
By Walter Alibey (T&T Guardian)

The country stands to face severe emotional effects from an equally emotional action by the United T&T Football Association (TTFA), Richard Ferguson, the owner and manager of T&T Pro League campaigners Terminix La Horquetta Rangers has said.

Ferguson, a beaten presidential candidate at the TTFA elections in November last year, said there seems to be an absence of logic by the United TTFA’s team of William Wallace, Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillips and Susan Joseph-Warrick and their supporting cast in its fight to retain the right to be managers of local football, a right they feel was taken away when the sport’s world governing body- FIFA, appointed a Normalisation Committee to govern the affairs of the sport on March 17.

Since then the ousted TTFA executive has taken its fight to overturn that decision through the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS), and now to the High Court in Port-of-Spain, which contravenes a direct violation of the FIFA Statutes that puts the twin-island Republic in line to be banned.

Speaking to Guardian Media Sports on Friday Ferguson said: “We have to sit down and think carefully about what we are doing, things don’t seem to be operating logically in that situation, people need to calm down, they need to be unemotional and they need to work out if what they are doing makes sense or not.

“The more people sit down and watch this thing objectively, it is not making sense. Really and truly, football belongs to the FIFA, it does not belong to T&T, it does not belong to TTFA, it does not belong to the government, it belongs to the FIFA. The FIFA runs the game because you’re playing in FIFA tournaments so you really and truly have to humble yourself and follow the rules of the FIFA.”

The man, who has made a huge impact on local football with his Ascension Invitational Football League last year, said he likens the decision by the United TTFA to a player who has gotten a red card for something he may have been innocent about, noting, although you may not like the red card, you have to humble yourself and come off the field.

FIFA’s red card which ousted the United TTFA executive from office follows a visit by a team from the CONCACAF and FIFA in February to find out about the issues plaguing the embattled football association, such as a FIFA stated debt of TT37.4 million, as well as ways to fix them.

According to Ferguson, a lot of the decision-making had to deal with emotions and that decisions cannot be made when one is emotional. He noted that the country stands to lose big time in finances and emotionally.

“I hope that FIFA does not punish the entire country because of a few gentlemen break FIFA rules and I hope that good sense will prevail.

“Whilst there are some financial costs involved, I believe the emotional effect will be a lot worst. Football in T&T is the most popular sport and it influences the lives and cultures of the people in T&T and should T&T be banned from playing international football, it will have a huge emotional effect and you cannot quantify that. It is not only embarrassing but it’s also emotionally terrorising,” Ferguson said.

The latest round in the football saga sees the TTFA extending its arms for mediation talks with the FIFA legal team.

Football doesn't belong to the people... well yes!

The land don't belong to the people. The slave masters own it. So if you watch it good, this slave rebellion not making sense.  :banginghead:

f**k outta here Ferguson

Re: FIFA appoints normalisation committee for Trinidad and Tobago football
« Reply #485 on: June 01, 2020, 01:42:27 AM »
Neo colonialism

Explain Zimbabwe Ferguson? Where they find this plantation owner to speak?

« Reply #486 on: June 01, 2020, 08:10:27 AM »
Football doesn't belong to the people... well yes!

The land don't belong to the people. The slave masters own it. So if you watch it good, this slave rebellion not making sense.  :banginghead:

f**k outta here Ferguson
i totally agree with you, but I think it’s time for wallace to throw in the towel and realize that he’s licked. the fact that fifa has not responded to him after his 4th attempt to broker a truce is evidence enough that this is a coup d’ etat, and they would rest at nothing until they get their way.

I think mr wallace should resort to a plan “b“ by establishing a rapport with the football stake holders while pushing a comprehensive move against DJW by exposing his corrupt practices, and having him audited by the state, who know’s, maybe they might uncover more than they should.

but to continue with this evident fleeting endeavor will not help his cause especially in the local court which could spell trouble even if he won, where he and his executives could face life time bans together with the federation and I think that is exactly what fifa is hoping for, come on william wallace use your head man and live to fight another day.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2020, 08:19:10 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #487 on: June 01, 2020, 10:15:31 AM »
Things are no where close to being apocalyptic.  Fly the flag high. Fly it proudly and let the the process unfold.

« Reply #488 on: June 01, 2020, 04:18:51 PM »
Soca Warriors...... :devil:

« Reply #489 on: June 01, 2020, 06:49:48 PM »
Things are no where close to being apocalyptic.  Fly the flag high. Fly it proudly and let the the process unfold.

Amen!!!
I think those men missing the point.

Accepting ANY less than non-interference with our autonomous body TTFA is akin to accepting another man coming into your house and ravaging your wife and kids and you saying well the man was bigger than me, I cyar win.

I can't believe Soooo many people willing to accept this nonsense like it's nothing! Whey Sah

« Reply #490 on: June 01, 2020, 07:45:23 PM »
I can't believe Soooo many people willing to accept this nonsense like it's nothing! Whey Sah

Better belief it!!!

Right is wrong, wrong is right in FIFA debacle
« Reply #491 on: June 02, 2020, 06:54:49 AM »
Right is wrong, wrong is right in FIFA debacle
By Astil Renn Cumoto (T&T Express)

A friend once told me we live in a world where right is called wrong and wrong labelled right. No truer words especially when one looks at the present scenario involving the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association and FIFA, the world governing body for the sport of football.

Just to go back a little, William Wallace and his executive were democratically elected into office last November to run the affairs of local football for the next four years. Wallace headed his slate and was also elected president. That was the easy part...or so they thought.

Four months later, Wallace and his executive are in a battle of survival with the world body for the sport. The duly elected executive headed by William Wallace was removed by FIFA and replaced by normalisation committee.

For redress, the TTFA sought out the international court of arbitration for sport. This proved not to be in the best interest of the TTFA. The next move for Wallace and his executive was the high courts in the twin-island state of Trinidad and Tobago in which a Football Association was established through an act of Parliament.

What is somewhat difficult for me to come to terms with is the non support of Concacaf, the Caribbean Football Union and former national players at home.

In some quarters, there is a call for Wallace and company to throw in the towel. Don’t take on the world governing body for the sport. Some are even saying Wallace must see Trinidad and Tobago football as the bigger picture if there is to be a revival of the game locally. But, I recall former world champion Claude Noel taking the World Boxing Association to court for the right to have his title shot which won this country’s first world title.

But, back to Wallace and his executive. They did it the right way to get into office but, it appears to me by the treatment they have received they went about it the wrong way.

What are the lessons William Wallace a school teacher by profession learned from this experience? Right is wrong and wrong is right.

My heart bleeds for William Wallace and his executive. My advice to him is to stay strong, don’t be bitter after this ordeal but come out better than you entered. I salute you and the men who stand with you in this courageous fight.

TTFA coaches to approach PM Rowley for help
« Reply #492 on: June 02, 2020, 07:15:39 AM »

Fed up they have not been paid for the past three months (March, April and May) of 2020, the coaches of the T&T Football Association have agreed to approach Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to assist them in getting the salaries owed to them.

They are complaining that Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee and members deputy chairman Judy Daniel and Nigel Romano have been silent on the matter.

Guardian Media Sports reached out to chairman Hadad via WhatsApp on Monday but messages to his cellphone went unanswered.

The coaches, who withheld their names for fear of victimisation, said they are fed up of not being paid, particularly amid a pandemic, although the FIFA has made available a Pandemic Relief Fund, in addition to football grants to its Member Associations, however, no monies have been paid to the TTFA to date.

In an interview on Monday the coaches said: "By this week we intend to reach out to the Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to discuss unemployment relief funds given out, but nothing concerning the coaches. At the end of the day, we are humans too. You gave maxis, you gave the hotels in Tobago, you have everything in place, but at the end of the day we are humans too."

They added: "We can't go to NIS (National Insurance) to discuss the grant because we have not paid NIS, so we are nobody then?"

Hadad appears to have his hands tied in a battle to gain full control of the embattled football association from former TTFA president William Wallace and the rest of his executive team of vice presidents Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillips and Susan Joseph-Warrick, all of whom are battling the sport's world governing body- FIFA, for the right manage the affairs of local football following their election back on November 24, 2019.

The last time the staff of the TTFA was paid, was in February when Ramesh Ramdhan, the football association's General Secretary borrowed money to pay salaries, due to the cash-strapped position of the TTFA.

Since then a garnishee order in February by the former technical director Kendall Walkes had put a freeze on the TTFA bank accounts, a freeze that was removed after Walkes liquidated the accounts months later.

On Monday last, the ousted TTFA members agreed to take their fight to the High Court in Port-of-Spain after removing their challenge against FIFA from the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) in Lausanne, Switzerland. The decision to take their fight to the high court is a direct violation of the FIFA Statutes and the TTFA Constitution and puts the country in a position to be banned.

Three days later on May 28, the TTFA asked the FIFA for mediation which was eventually rejected.

According to the coaches: "We have not heard anything about payment of salary and that is disappointing. Nobody can get on to Hadad, he hasn't been saying anything and he comes to fix the football."

The coaches are also contending that staff members, both the technical and administrative staff, can be paid, despite challenges to secure the use of the TTFA bank accounts. " You can pay the staff. The CFU can pay the staff, the money can come through them (CFU), it can come through CONCACAF or it can come from the FIFA direct, so it comes like they are on games. CONCACAF paid money before, direct to people's accounts," the coaches explained.

The coaches' only point of contact has been Ramesh Ramdhan, the football association's General Secretary, but Guardian Media Sports learnt Ramdhan has had a gag order placed on him.

The technical staff comprises- Terry Fenwick (Men’s Senior Team), Derek King (Men’s Under-20 Team), Angus Eve (Men’s Under-17 Team), Keith Jeffrey (Men’s Under-15 Team), Richard Hood (Women’s Under-20 and Under-17 Teams) and Jason Spence (Women’s Under-15 Team) headed the various technical staffs.

« Reply #493 on: June 02, 2020, 08:09:58 AM »

Better belief it!!!
deeks get real! I support going to CAS, I also support going to the high court if there are no repercussions of an impending suspension or ban from football. now please explain to my why mr wallace would want to fight fifa if he has no support, that’s like a vagrant wanting to work for high tech company but he has no qualifications, no place to live and no clothes to wear to work, it’s just crazy.

mr wallace and his executive doesn't even have the financial support to fight their case in the CAS which is the right forum for their complaint, neither does he have the support of any other federations in the region or influential people with money.

in all honesty I am extremely disappointed with these men as to how broke and destitute they, and to make matters worst they want to fight the case in local court which would bring a suspension, and as far as I can see this is exactly where fifa wants us to go so they could get rid of wallace and his executive for good.

have you noticed that fifa don’t want no kind of olive branch with the executive, they don’t want to work with them and they are not cooperating in anyway shape or form, that’s because they want them out of the way, and if wallace and company takes god out their thoughts and go the high court route, fifa will grasp the opportunity to suspend them for sure, and then where does that leave them?

they would not even be able to fight the next election leaving a clear path for DJW to get back in power and ultimately that’s what fifa wants. IMO wallace should either take his row back to CAS or fall back and work behind the scenes to strengthen ties with the football stake holders locally in preparation to contest the next election.

please open your eyes people, why is that so hard to see that he’s heading into a trap set by fat boy and infantino? he’s going exactly where they want him so he could be banned and pushed aside, and then DJW find an easy way to waltz right back in as president. that’s what allyuh calls standing up, I thought war was a strategic endeavor? going to the high court will only get him banned, trust me, and who the he’ll does that help especially when it will be taking us back to square one? think wallace think!
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 05:16:42 AM by pull stones »

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #494 on: June 02, 2020, 08:17:58 AM »
What part of all this farce is " Normal"? What corrective measures have taken place since the inception of the FIFA  normalization committee?

All we have seen are divisive elements and increased fractions among the local and regional football bodies in terms of their allergiencies to the " football gods"

How could the resulting actions thus far be better for TnT football or aspiring players? We have become the laughing stock of the Caribbean and  it's time the public demand  for the betterment of football in TnT  proactive measures  that would stabilize the situation rather than having stooges and clowns parading about and braying for some iota of an international e t from the almighty omnipotent football  dogs of FIFA.

« Reply #495 on: June 02, 2020, 09:18:01 AM »

Better belief it!!!
deeks get real! I support going to CAS, I also support going to the high court if there are no repercussions of an impending suspension or ban from football. now please explain to my why mr wallace would want to fight fifa if he has no support, that’s like a vagrant wanting to work for high tech company but he has no qualifications, no place to live and no clothes to wear to work, it’s just crazy.

mr wallace and his executive doesn't even have the financial support to fight their case in the CAS which is the right forum for their complaint, neither does he have the support of any other federations in the region or influential people with money.

in all honesty I am extremely disappointed with these men as to how broke and destitute they, and to make matters worst they want to fight the case in local court which would bring a suspension, and as far as I can see and this is exactly where fifa wants us to go so they could get rid of wallace and his executive for good.

have you noticed that fifa don’t want no kind of olive branch with the executive, they don’t want to work with them and they are not cooperating in anyway shape or form, and that’s because they want them out of the way, and if wallace and company takes god out their thoughts and go the high court route, fifa will grasp the opportunity to suspend them for sure, and then where does that leave them?

they would not even be able to fight the next election leaving a clear path for DJW to get back in power and ultimately that’s what fifa wants. IMO wallace should either take his row back to CAS or fall back and work behind the scenes to strengthen ties with the football stake holders locally in preparation to contest the next election.

please open your eyes people, why is that so hard to see that he’s heading into a trap set by fat boy and infantino? he’s going exactly where they want him so he could be banned and pushed aside, and then DJW find an easy way to waltz right back in as president. that’s what allyuh calls standing up, I thought war was a strategic endeavor? going to the high court will only get him banned, trust me, and who the he’ll does that help especially when it will be taking us back to square one? think wallace think!

Ok, then let DJW get reelected.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #496 on: June 02, 2020, 09:40:10 AM »
Let's not reassure t any football executives with the letters JW in it land  we talking the  rise of  local magnate  of  building an empire  through the profits of football
We talking any executive past or present who owns a football team cannot  runTTFA  for the general good without some self seeking get rich  erection of what amounts to bea Taj Mahal - from the centre of excellence to the Home of football  - these monuments have co e with a price

« Reply #497 on: June 02, 2020, 11:11:07 AM »
Good one ABTrini
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 03:50:26 PM by Deeks »

Romano: Payments after paying mechanism worked out
« Reply #498 on: June 02, 2020, 04:44:37 PM »

Businessman and former banker Nigel Romano, who is a member of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee, said his committee has been working on a payment mechanism to ensure that the staff and coaches of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) can be paid.

On Tuesday, Romano, responding to a Guardian Media Sport report on Tuesday where the coaches were seeking to take their plight to the Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, said the last thing anyone wants is for money to be sent to the bank and then it cannot be accessed.

The three-member normalisation committee of chairman Robert Hadad, his deputy, attorney Judy Daniel and member Romano, has found itself in a battle for the right to use the football association's bank accounts at First Citizens Bank in Port-of-Spain as the rightful owner.

The then TTFA executive of former president William Wallace and vice presidents Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillip and Susan Joseph-Warrick were replaced by the normalisation committee on March 27 after the sport's governing body felt the embattled football association faced a real risk of insolvency and illiquidity on March 17.

Since then the ousted TTFA executive has been in a battle to regain control of football governance in T&T, by taking FIFA to the Court of Arbitration of Sport (CAS) in Lausanne, Switzerland, and then to the High Court in Port-of-Spain.

However, both Wallace and Hadad failed to convince the bank that either was the rightful owner of the accounts. The First Citizens legal team of Kendell Alexander from the Johnson, Camacho and Singh law firm, called on both men to walk with a legal document as proof that either is the owner of the accounts. This took place although both men were in pursuit of legal action to prevent the other from claiming the accounts.

Romano stressed that once a paying mechanism is worked out the staff and coaches of the football association, maybe, can get paid before the month (June) is up. He did not reveal how his committee was seeking to work out the payment mechanism but dismissed the thought that FIFA, the Confederation of North, Central America and the Caribbean Association Football (Concacaf) and the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) could provide direct payments to the personal bank accounts of staff members or coaches.

"Once we organise the payment mechanism, then we can pay. We are taking advice on what's the best way because the last thing you will want to do is to have the monies put into a bank account and then you cannot get the money out," Romano said.

"The money still has to come into Trinidad before it can get to their bank account, it cannot go directly to their bank accounts."

Meanwhile, with almost three months gone and nothing concrete to show for their existence, Romano promised his committee will reveal what its plans are to take football forward, saying they did not feel comfortable sharing it at this point.

However, he said his committee has been holding talks with UK sportswear supplier Avec Sports to ensure the country gets value for money.

Romano said, "Avec has been talking to us. Once we get all the legal and appropriate advice we will make a decision to ensure that we get the best value for money."

He promises that his committee will also look at all the other deals secured by the Wallace-led administration to have talks with them.

When contacted, Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Shamfa Cudjoe, could not respond to concerns by the coaches as she did not see the report. And later, George Elias, Communication personnel for the Prime Minister, said it would be better for the Sports Minister to treat with the matter.

« Reply #499 on: June 02, 2020, 05:13:12 PM »

Fed up they have not been paid for the past three months (March, April and May) of 2020, the coaches of the T&T Football Association have agreed to approach Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to assist them in getting the salaries owed to them.

They are complaining that Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee and members deputy chairman Judy Daniel and Nigel Romano have been silent on the matter.

Guardian Media Sports reached out to chairman Hadad via WhatsApp on Monday but messages to his cellphone went unanswered.

The coaches, who withheld their names for fear of victimisation, said they are fed up of not being paid, particularly amid a pandemic, although the FIFA has made available a Pandemic Relief Fund, in addition to football grants to its Member Associations, however, no monies have been paid to the TTFA to date.

In an interview on Monday the coaches said: "By this week we intend to reach out to the Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley to discuss unemployment relief funds given out, but nothing concerning the coaches. At the end of the day, we are humans too. You gave maxis, you gave the hotels in Tobago, you have everything in place, but at the end of the day we are humans too."

They added: "We can't go to NIS (National Insurance) to discuss the grant because we have not paid NIS, so we are nobody then?"

Hadad appears to have his hands tied in a battle to gain full control of the embattled football association from former TTFA president William Wallace and the rest of his executive team of vice presidents Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillips and Susan Joseph-Warrick, all of whom are battling the sport's world governing body- FIFA, for the right manage the affairs of local football following their election back on November 24, 2019.

The last time the staff of the TTFA was paid, was in February when Ramesh Ramdhan, the football association's General Secretary borrowed money to pay salaries, due to the cash-strapped position of the TTFA.

Since then a garnishee order in February by the former technical director Kendall Walkes had put a freeze on the TTFA bank accounts, a freeze that was removed after Walkes liquidated the accounts months later.

On Monday last, the ousted TTFA members agreed to take their fight to the High Court in Port-of-Spain after removing their challenge against FIFA from the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) in Lausanne, Switzerland. The decision to take their fight to the high court is a direct violation of the FIFA Statutes and the TTFA Constitution and puts the country in a position to be banned.

Three days later on May 28, the TTFA asked the FIFA for mediation which was eventually rejected.

According to the coaches: "We have not heard anything about payment of salary and that is disappointing. Nobody can get on to Hadad, he hasn't been saying anything and he comes to fix the football."

The coaches are also contending that staff members, both the technical and administrative staff, can be paid, despite challenges to secure the use of the TTFA bank accounts. " You can pay the staff. The CFU can pay the staff, the money can come through them (CFU), it can come through CONCACAF or it can come from the FIFA direct, so it comes like they are on games. CONCACAF paid money before, direct to people's accounts," the coaches explained.

The coaches' only point of contact has been Ramesh Ramdhan, the football association's General Secretary, but Guardian Media Sports learnt Ramdhan has had a gag order placed on him.

The technical staff comprises- Terry Fenwick (Men’s Senior Team), Derek King (Men’s Under-20 Team), Angus Eve (Men’s Under-17 Team), Keith Jeffrey (Men’s Under-15 Team), Richard Hood (Women’s Under-20 and Under-17 Teams) and Jason Spence (Women’s Under-15 Team) headed the various technical staffs.

Respectfully, what's the PM's role supposed to be in resolving payment? To negotiate? To front the $ until such time as the disbursement is available for redirection to government coffers? To appeal for resolution? What?

Why be concerned about victimisation? Yuh trying to feed yuh family, ent?  If yuh standing up, stand up! Doh half step. Seems to me that a letter to Zurich should be where the plea is presented, but I'm betting allyuh don't want to sign that!
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 05:18:03 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #500 on: June 03, 2020, 02:16:01 AM »

Businessman and former banker Nigel Romano, who is a member of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee, said his committee has been working on a payment mechanism to ensure that the staff and coaches of the T&T Football Association (TTFA) can be paid.

Moving along predictably.

We live in a finite world of permissible 'payment mechanisms'. Be wary of "creative solutions". 
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 02:28:49 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #501 on: June 03, 2020, 05:27:44 AM »

Better belief it!!!

in all honesty I am extremely disappointed with these men as to how broke and destitute they, and to make matters worst they want to fight the case in local court which would bring a suspension, and as far as I can see and this is exactly where fifa wants us to go so they could get rid of wallace and his executive for good.

have you noticed that fifa don’t want no kind of olive branch with the executive, they don’t want to work with them and they are not cooperating in anyway shape or form, and that’s because they want them out of the way, and if wallace and company takes god out their thoughts and go the high court route, fifa will grasp the opportunity to suspend them for sure, and then where does that leave them?

Ok, then let DJW get reelected.
and who does that help exactly deeks, have you forgotten the last 4 yrs? can you seriously tell me that you as an avid football fan able to take a re-occurrence of that clueless kind of mismanagement for another 4 yrs?

i'm telling you right now i would never support TT football if that fat ugly bastard was ever to become TTFA president again, in fact i just might burn down his house and never come back to trinidad if that ever were to happen that's how much i despise that man, even more than i despised jack warner.

wallace should use his head and not his ambition. he's literally jacking up his chances of ever being the federation prez, but if he chills and realize his limitations he could actually come back stronger in a couple years. pls wallace take warning.

PS. the players don't want to play for DJW nor do they like his fat behind, the man is a bloody pig and the very worst federation prez thus far, even worst than oliver camps the absentee land lord.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 05:33:06 AM by pull stones »

« Reply #502 on: June 03, 2020, 06:33:46 AM »
Let's not reassure t any football executives with the letters JW in it land  we talking the  rise of  local magnate  of  building an empire  through the profits of football
We talking any executive past or present who owns a football team cannot  runTTFA  for the general good without some self seeking get rich  erection of what amounts to bea Taj Mahal - from the centre of excellence to the Home of football  - these monuments have co e with a price

There's definitely one waiting like Chelsea Clinton.

CAS chastises United TTFA; action against FIFA officially terminated
« Reply #503 on: June 03, 2020, 07:07:25 AM »
CAS chastises United TTFA; action against FIFA officially terminated
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

The Switzerland-based Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) dealt out a scolding to the executives of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA), while also confirming the official termination of their action against the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

William Wallace was also informed that CAS will keep the 1,000 francs deposit, which his financially-challenged group had lodged to register an appeal before the international court two months ago.

Operating as United TTFA, sidelined Football Association president Wallace and his three vice-presidents filed an appeal to CAS on April 6 challenging FIFA’s intervention in Trinidad and Tobago football, when replacing the TTFA executive with a normalisation committee on March 17. United TTFA subsequently withdrew the appeal on May 18.

Yesterday, CAS delivered the official termination notice of the matter between the TTFA and FIFA. Rendering the termination notice, Dr Elisabeth Steiner, deputy president of CAS’s appeal division, took the opportunity to defend the international court.

“I confirm that the Court of Arbitration for Sport is independent and impartial from all parties; the CAS’s independence has already been confirmed by several national and international tribunals,” Steiner declared.

“Any statement to the contrary, such as the ones which have been published in some media, is totally unacceptable,” added Steiner, who is an attorney-at-law in Austria.

United TTFA attorney Dr Emir Crowne had written CAS’s head of arbitration Antonio De Queseda, on May 7, noting irregularities in the procedure against FIFA. Crowne also questioned the 40,000 Swiss Francs advance cost of the proceedings, of which FIFA refused to pay its half-share up front.

“I write to you to formally raise our clients’ very grave concerns over a number of irregularities which have arisen in these proceedings. These irregularities have caused our clients to believe their right to a fair hearing has been impugned,” Crowne had said.

“On its face, therefore, the CAS appears to be a willing participant in the respondent’s (FIFA) gamesmanship, especially if the CAS had Institutional knowledge that the respondent — an entity with immeasurable financial resources — would not be advancing their share of the arbitration costs, and especially since it was the respondent themselves who asked that the matter be heard before a three-person panel, thereby tripling the cost of the proceedings.”

“To be clear, even if our clients applied to the CAS for legal aid, it would still not remedy the apparent institutional bias that has arisen. As it stands, there are very real doubts that the CAS remains an appropriate and fair forum for the resolution of this dispute.”

In an earlier correspondence, via De Queseda, CAS’s response was that those allegations were untrue. “Whereas on 8 May 2020, the CAS Court Office sent a letter to the parties which relevant part reads as follows: As an initial matter, the alleged irregularities raised by the appellants (United TTFA) are rejected.”

And the CAS defended its decision to use a traditional three-member arbitration panel instead of the single arbitrator requested by TTFA attorneys -- given the legal complexity and sensitivity of the case. Further, CAS shifted blame to the TTFA representatives.

“More importantly, in view of the fact that the counsels for the appellants (United TTFA) failed to provide a single reason to justify their request to submit this matter to a sole arbitrator,” CAS had stated.

Yesterday’s final correspondence between Wallace’s team and the Court of Arbitration confirmed that the case is now closed. CAS further announced that because no arbitration panel was yet formed, the TTFA’s costs will be limited to just its registration fee.

“Consideration that the present order is rendered without costs, except for the Court Office fee of CHF 1’000 which was paid by the appellants and which is retained by the Court of Arbitration for Sport,” Steiner explained. “The appeal filed by the appellants shall be deemed withdrawn and the procedure CAS 2020/A/6915 Trinidad and Tobago Football Association et al. FIFA shall consequently be terminated and deleted from the CAS roll.”

« Reply #504 on: June 03, 2020, 09:18:57 AM »
There is no requirement that mandates counsel to state a rationale for arbitration via a sole arbitrator. As such, to present the absence of a rationale as a consequential deficiency is a hollow attempt at distraction.

CAS is constructively engaging in an ad hominem attack in rendering that response as its public position.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 09:25:25 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #505 on: June 03, 2020, 06:42:10 PM »
Dear editor: Why Fifa’s normalisation committee won’t help T&T’s football.
Wired868.com.

“The real problem with the TTFA isn’t generally about the president of the TTFA. The problem is and has been the individuals representing the member associations.

“[…] History speaks for itself about what our presidents have done because our democratic membership allowed it to happen…”

The following letter to the editor on Fifa’s decision to implement a normalisation committee in Trinidad and Tobago was submitted by FC Santa Rosa official, Jason Laban:

It is said that sometimes the best thing to say is nothing. I generally try to follow that when it comes to matters of politics—however I feel like this is one of those times that something needs to be said.

The footballing and general public have been exposed to numerous articles as well as television coverage of this whole matter of the TTFA vs Fifa and the Fifa’s normalisation committee. What is being said is always about the fight or the stance taken by TTFA against Fifa and/or how it will affect our football in Trinidad and Tobago.

Let me start by saying this, either direction this matter goes Trinidad & Tobago football will suffer. The question is: do we suffer to become better; or do we suffer and continue to suffer?

The reality of the TTFA has always been about politics and self-interest rather than football. I am a stakeholder and I’ve been fortunate enough to be allowed entry at TTFA meetings for some time now. Due to that access, I’d like to share this perspective with the general public, as I have with my friends.

The real problem with the TTFA isn’t generally about the president of the TTFA. The problem is and has been the individuals representing the member associations.

I say that for a couple reasons: 1. The president usually comes from a member association and 2. The members have the ability to a stop a president if wrongdoing is taking place.

History speaks for itself about what our presidents have done because our democratic membership allowed it to happen.

And this is why Fifa and its normalisation committee cannot help our football. The facts are that Fifa stood by and allowed the TTFA’s debts to balloon, money to disappear, projects to be run without proper accountability and the deterioration of our national football teams—without stopping the guilty administrations, much less intervening in any way.

Apart from Fifa’s failure to show it cared about our football over the years, a normalisation committee does not have the power to change the culture of the TTFA or its membership. And until that is done, Trinidad and Tobago’s football will keep going around and around in the same cycle as before.

Members of the TTFA have shown how highly they regard self-interest, low accountability, corrupt practices, egotism and nepotism. And for those reasons, they have prioritised support of presidents who served their interests over what should be the most important thing of all: FOOTBALL.

I recently read an article where the acting TT Pro League chairman, speaking on the current TTFA administration’s court matter against FIFA, said: “This appears to be a moral stance for Wallace but certainly not for the country.”

This can only be expected from someone representing the Pro League—a league that consistently struggles financially, has no academies to develop young talent and is owned by private individuals who receive taxpayers money to pay their players!

Imagine if privately owned companies like Carib or KFC received funding from the Government of Trinidad and Tobago to pay its workers. How is that for morals?

(We can dig deeper into how much our talented youth players are paid versus the executives of these privately-owned clubs, but we’ll leave that one alone.)

There are TT Super League members who claim they are excluded from decisions, yet don’t attend meetings and don’t reply to emails

We have regional associations that are practically non-existent, with limited to no teams playing football and whose representatives come to TTFA meetings and say they are only there to vote and don’t want their time wasted with discussion because they ‘didn’t come for all of that’. We have members whose associations only exist on paper, yet are allowed to travel with TTFA contingents.

I give those examples to show what some of the TTFA membership looks like. Some of them don’t even know what a moral, principled stance towards country and football looks like.

If Fifa wins in courts or current TTFA administration submits, nothing changes with our football or the culture that controls our football. If you’re happy with the state of our football, then this would be your preference.

If the TTFA wins its legal battle and Fifa decides to ban us from international football, sad as that may be, it won’t last forever. And, during the period of our international ban, maybe we can focus our energies on development plans and improving our football for our eventual return to the international game.

The TTFA’s fight with Fifa is a moral stance for country. Do we suffer to become better, or do we suffer and continue to suffer?

I would prefer we suffer to become better. But then again, I’m in the TTFA for football and not politics, or self-interest, or egotism.

« Reply #506 on: June 04, 2020, 12:23:13 PM »
WATCH: Investigative sports journalist Philippe Auclair who has done work with the Guardian UK, BBC and France Football, spoke to Ryan Bachoo on the latest developments taking place between TTFA and the FIFA.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/x6OFpGYhtdo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/x6OFpGYhtdo</a>

« Reply #507 on: June 04, 2020, 07:55:02 PM »
WATCH: William Wallace and Keith Look Loy talk about TTFA vs FIFA

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/c1dcJ64vFsE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/c1dcJ64vFsE</a>

Unpaid TTFA staff still caught in middle of TTFA/FIFA fight
« Reply #508 on: June 04, 2020, 08:06:27 PM »
No compromise: Unpaid TTFA staff still caught in middle of TTFA/FIFA fight
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express)

THERE will be no compromise between William Wallace and his sidelined executives of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) and the FIFA-imposed normalisation committee.

TTFA president William Wallace and technical committee chairman Keith Look Loy were both guests on the Field of Dreams programme on cable television on Monday. There, a combative Look Loy defended the Association’s decision to prevent access to its bank accounts by FIFA’s normalisation committee, chaired by local businessman Robert Hadad.

But while these two Goliaths battle, feeling the effects are ordinary TTFA administrative and coaching staff who have not been paid for four months.

The TTFA is owed US$1.25 million in FIFA funding. However, with both the Wallace-led TTFA and the normalisation committee claiming legitimacy, bankers First Citizens have withheld access to the Association’s accounts, barring a compromise or a court decision favouring one of the parties. In the meantime, TTFA staff have remained unpaid since February.

“We have nothing against the staff,” Look Loy said on the programme. “If FIFA wants to pay the staff directly from money that is owed to us the TTFA, they are free to do that.

“We wish they would pay the staff,” Look Loy added, “so that the staff can be paid for work they have done. They are owed.”

While the political battle rages on, an adult TTFA staff member spoke to the Express of having to once again depend on parents to make ends meet. Not paid since February, the administrative staffer shared with this newspaper the hardship faced by not being paid for four months, especially during the Covid-19 global pandemic.

“You can’t pay bills. You can’t do anything,” the TTFA staffer said. “People are calling and asking for money and for three months you have to tell them you have not been paid.

“Whatever little you have, you have to use to make sure you can eat. So all bills are packed up. You are struggling,” the staffer explained.

“There are some of us whose families are dependent on them. I am now dependent on my parents who are pensioners.”

The staffer is eagerly awaiting a call for a meeting or news that things have been resolved.

“I have not heard from the past (Wallace) regime,” said the staffer, who also reached out to TTFA general secretary Ramesh Ramdhan, who is working with the normalisation committee.

“All of them (normalisation committee) are saying they working on it, but everything is tied up with all the court matters and what not and what not.” Normalisation committee member and National Flour Mills chairman Nigel Romano was recently quoted on a television programme as stating they (normalisation committee) are working on paying the staff. Aside from access to the FCB accounts, the normalisation committee also has the difficulty of trying to protect incoming FIFA funding from garnishee orders from creditors who are owed approximately $50 million by the TTFA.

“Once we can organise a payment mechanism, then we can pay. We are taking advice on the best way because the last thing you would want to do is have the monies to put into a bank account and then you cannot get the money out,” Romano said.

Speaking to moderator and former national footballer Steve David, Look Loy spoke of a strategy of preventing the normalisation committee from taking control of T&T finances and banks accounts at First Citizens.

“We are not blocking the staff, but the FIFA normalisation committee will not control the TTFA bank accounts, because it cannot overturn an elected government,’ Look Loy insisted.

However, the ordinary TTFA employee has a different view of things.

“We, the ones in the office, are the ones who are always affected by these things,” the staffer lamented.

Meanwhile, Look Loy‘s focus has not shifted from the battle to have FIFA rescind its decision to replace Wallace’s four-month old executive.

“We have blocked them at every turn. They tried to put Terrell Patrick—who was signing checks with John-Williams—to put him in charge. That was blocked,” he said.

“They tried to impose a normalisation committee, we blocked the committee from getting access to the bank accounts,” Look Loy added.

“This little Trinidad and Tobago has forced the FIFA Goliath to respond to his case in the local court,” said Look Loy. “They were shocked because they did not expect us to stand up, and now they have to come in a different stadium to play.”

« Reply #509 on: June 05, 2020, 12:11:47 AM »
So what allyuh think?