March 28, 2024, 12:45:57 PM

Author Topic: Robert Hadad Thread  (Read 11420 times)

Robert Hadad Thread
« on: March 30, 2020, 07:13:18 AM »
Hadad ready for TTFA challenge
T&T Guardian

Newly appointed chairman of the FIFA-designated Normalisation Committee (NC), Robert Hadad, was surprised by the call to head the unit but expressed a genuine willingness to help put T&T football back on the right path. This after the William Wallace-led T&T Football Association (TTFA) was disbanded by FIFA on March 17 after it was elected on November 24, 2019.

Hadad, who was placed in charge of T&T’s football with immediate effect, spoke passionately on i95.5fm Isports' Saturday programme with host Andre Errol Baptiste on the road ahead.

“Football here in Trinidad and Tobago is huge, people love the game. It is a privilege to be involved in it, whatever the circumstances I am coming into," said Hadad, who is one of three Chief Executive Officers of the HADCO Group of Companies.

"I have watched the TTFA have many challenges over the years. I know fans and people love football, it brings out a sense of patriotism in everybody. We long for an association, a national team to be proud of, makes all of us feel good and I share that aim and that is why I agreed to help and that is what I want to achieve."

He is part of five-member NC appointed on Friday to take over the governance of T&T football along with retired international banker Nigel Romano, a Director and Partner at Moore T&T, who is also a former chairman of the JMMB Bank, as well as American-based Attorney and Environmental Law Specialist Judy Daniel. There are two members still to be named by FIFA in the coming days.

Surprise call from FIFA

According to Hadad, a couple of weeks ago he got a phone call and was bluntly asked if he was interested in being a part of the NC?

"It took me back a bit and I sat down and said wow!" said Hadad honestly. "I do not know where this came from, I am guessing that they asked around. When they contacted me, I was taken aback and surprised. A couple of friends of mines called me and said, some people are asking about you, I didn’t know who it was."

However, he didn't let the uncertainty deter him from taking up the challenge with current pandemic nudging him towards committing to the post.

"This Covid-19 shook me up and I said, I really should get involved and make a difference. I saw the patriotism and the dedication of many members in our government and people stepping up to the plate and making an effort and our health care workers," Hadad internalised, saying to himself: "You have a talent, you have an ability, why don’t you get involved in this and try to make a difference, and it drove me to the point, where I said 'Yes FIFA', I am interested.”

He was interviewed by about three to four people from FIFA about his life and career, his involvement in football and if any affiliations.

"I don’t know, how they picked me. A few people in FIFA contacted me, they are from the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) and CONCACAF, " said Hadad, who describes himself as a 'real family man'.

Hadad worked with Brown, Camps

“I have been in the family business (Hadco, Lighthouse, Peppercorn and Nova), for the last 30 years. We started our own business, my two brothers and I. Our father died at 49 and we had to decide to take care of our family.

"My degree is in accounting (University of the West Indies). I am a real Caribbean Boy. I love my country and I love everything about T&T, said Hadad, who worked in accounting at Peat Marwick, before the family business got going in 1992. However, it was while working at Peat Marwick in 1990 he got into the administrative side of the football.

"I worked with Ralph Brown and Ollie (Oliver) Camps at the end of the 'Road to Italy 1989'. I was an auditor and my assignment was actually working on the Road to World Cup Fund and doing the audit for them afterwards, so it's kind of funny, that 30-plus years afterwards, I am here now, trying to make an impact, back in football and maybe turn things around a bit.

“I love football, I love sport, I am a real sports fanatic it is a big source of problems with my wife and myself. When we sit at night all I want to look at is sports, she wants to look at a romantic comedy, every night it is the same story she falls asleep after five minutes," said Hadad said jokingly. he revealed that his youngest son piqued his interest in the sport locally. He is an aspiring goalkeeper with Queen's Park Cricket Club football team and he made it onto the national team.

Meeting with football stakeholders

Hadad, who is involved in a sponsorship mechanism with the Camboulay Foundation, has become the most popular individual in local football as former executive members have already reached out to him.

“My phone has been on fire. I spoke to Mr Wallace (William, the former president) and I got a Whatsapp message from Mr David John-Williams, telling me congratulations. I kind of know all the players here at stake, in the association. I have already spoken with Ramesh Ramdhan (TTFA general secretary).

"My objective is for people to recognise that I am not here favouring one side or the other. I don’t know why we are here, I know it is not the fault of any one particular administrative group. I am guessing that we are here because of many mistakes along the road. I am just here to try with the team that I am involved in to make things better. The best way we could put TTFA back on the right track,” said Hadad.

He explained that “We came together already, individually Nigel Romano and myself, Judy and myself, have spoken a few times. We are in touch with each other but at the end of the day, we need to decide, when those other two people come on, what are the assets of those two people the bottom line for us is that over the next two weeks we cannot do much, we are going to be strapped down like everybody else in our homes. "FIFA did what it had to do for whatever reasons. I am just seeing an opportunity to put T&T football back on the right track."

NC now running TTFA day-to-day affairs

Moving forward under FIFA, Hadad cited that the NC has a clear remit, to run the TTFA daily affairs, analyse the current financial situation with a quick debt repayment plan and decide exactly how they are getting there, where are they getting this money to cover each expense. "We will looking at the statutes and the regulations so that we can comply with the FIFA statues because that is very important and then we have to organise an election,” explained Hadad.

Hadad revealed he is not interested in any remuneration for this job: “I made it clear when I took this job that I am not interested in any payment. Outlined in the contract is a stipend for expenses and whatever, but to be quite frank with you, I am so happy in my life and my skin. I love where I am in my life and I am just ready to give back to my country and at this time of need.”

Confidentiality is key in the process

Hadad went on to touch on the importance of confidentiality, on the TTFA office, meeting with individuals that will aid in getting T&T back on the right path.

“Everybody has to respect that (confidentiality). We must keep the matters of FIFA between us and FIFA and what is to come out to the wider population will come out. But at the end of the day, we are not here to dig up any bones that have been buried over the years and go back and figure out, who did what and who did that. We are not interested in that, we are interested in taking a position of the day and making a better organisation for all of us to be proud of,” said Hadad.

Seeking advice from Guyana's Urling

He explained that the current situation at the moment with the offices of the TTFA will remain unchanged and that he plans to reach out to the former head of the NC in Guyana Clinton Urling to get some information, so I am planning to spend a lot of time on Skype or zoom but we are not going to the office because it is illegal and we have to respect that. So we in holding pattern for a couple of weeks,” said Hadad, who added that all contracts given by TTFA will be upheld.

“I am guessing we have to maintain the contracts with everybody, we cannot walk in there and cancel a contract of anybody but we will have to read the contracts. We will have to find out exactly how long these contracts are for and have to meet with the coaches. We're probably going to have to meet with everybody, the technical director and the rest of the members of the staff and decide what is the best way for football. But I am clear in my mind that we need to divide the business into the day-to-day running, cleaning up of the accounts payable, the technical side. All of that will be decided in the next couple of months.

Hadad said, "I am going to follow the guidelines of FIFA. I am not a 'yes man' so I will challenge FIFA. Me and my team we will challenge them because we know the dynamics of our country, we know what Trinbagonions want and we are going to try to do our very best.”

Re: Robert Hadad Thread
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2020, 09:02:53 AM »
"I have watched the TTFA have many challenges over the years. I know fans and people love football, it brings out a sense of patriotism in everybody. We long for an association, a national team to be proud of, makes all of us feel good and I share that aim and that is why I agreed to help and that is what I want to achieve.

Despite your enthusiasm, I wouldn't plan on more than a cautious to lukewarm to polite welcome from anyone other than the "architects", the usual suspects, the opportunists, the vultures, the "not cynical" and those who have a FIFA dog in de fight.

P. S.  Congrats on gehhin a thread.   :) Everyday won't be Carnival.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2020, 09:17:09 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2020, 12:06:06 PM »
Strikes me as wholly naive with little knowledge of the background involved. Shows the mindset of FIFA that they went back to that reign...

« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2020, 12:40:33 PM »
Hadad ready for TTFA challenge
T&T Guardian

"My degree is in accounting (University of the West Indies). I am a real Caribbean Boy. I love my country and I love everything about T&T, said Hadad, who worked in accounting at Peat Marwick, before the family business got going in 1992. However, it was while working at Peat Marwick in 1990 he got into the administrative side of the football.

"I worked with Ralph Brown and Ollie (Oliver) Camps at the end of the 'Road to Italy 1989'. I was an auditor and my assignment was actually working on the Road to World Cup Fund and doing the audit for them afterwards, so it's kind of funny, that 30-plus years afterwards, I am here now, trying to make an impact, back in football and maybe turn things around a bit.

SMH.....  >:( :banginghead: :banginghead:

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2020, 07:42:15 AM »
Captains butt heads over wages.
By Joel Bailey (Newsday).

CHAIRMAN of the TT Football Association (TTFA) normalisation committee Robert Hadad and embattled TTFA president William Wallace have openly differed on how TTFA staff members (administrative and coaching) will receive their outstanding salaries.

Wallace and his executive were removed on March 17 by FIFA who in turn set up a normalisation committee due to mounting debts accumulated by the TTFA.

However, Wallace, through his legal team of Matthew Gayle and Dr Emir Crowne, has issued an appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) over FIFA’s decision to scrap his executive, who was elected into office on November 24, 2019.

Last Friday, FIFA announced that they were presenting grants valued at US$500,000 to its member associations, as well as entitlements for 2019 and 2020.

In a letter, on Monday, to the TTFA staff, Wallace wrote, “FIFA is now preparing to release funding to the TTFA that it has thus far refused to release prior to the purported appointment of the normalisation committee.

“For your peace of mind in these difficult times, as soon as I am notified by the general secretary (Ramesh Ramdhan) and/or First Citizens of the receipt of the monies from FIFA, I will take the necessary steps to ensure you are paid as owed.”

Hadad, who was recently declared by FIFA’s general secretary Fatma Samoura as “the only legitimate leader of the TTFA, recognised by FIFA and Concacaf”, said on Monday, “Mr Wallace and his team will not be getting any money from anywhere, and nor will they be allowed to sign any cheques on behalf of the TTFA.

“They have control of the bank account now and we’ll have to wait on the CAS hearing,” Hadad continued. “But we will seek alternative ways of dealing with the issue. If better sense can’t prevail and they want to keep control of the accounts, because they want to put the bank’s back up against a wall, that’s their call.

“They’re interfering with people’s salaries. At the end of the day, who in their right mind will remove somebody from office and leave them signing cheques?”

Hadad, who is a businessman by profession, also commented on the letter issued by Wallace on Monday.

“They’re also circulating a letter from the TTFA, on a TTFA letterhead, and they’re not allowed to do that,” Hadad said. “That is fraud. You were removed, on March 17th, you were given a letter saying you were removed. You need to abide by that.”

Wallace, through his attorney Gayle, issued a pre-action protocol letter to First Citizens’ general manager Kinols Forde on April 17, declaring that Wallace and his executive members were the sole signatories to the TTFA’s bank accounts.

Wallace said on Monday, “As the president of the FA, I am willing to do what I have to do, to make sure that people get paid.”

The former T&T men’s football team manager pointed out, “As far as I’m concerned, I have not resigned as the president of the Football Association. Therefore, as far as I’m concerned, I am still the president. If the president has to do ‘x’ for the people to get paid, I am willing to do that. I’m not abdicating my responsibilities at all.”

Asked about the process for the distribution of funds, Wallace replied, “I’m hoping that, when the monies come, that (Ramdhan) will consult me, and then we’ll take it from there.”

Offline socalion

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2020, 12:03:47 PM »
Who the hell This Robert Hadad think he is ? Robert Hadad you should be the last person using the term fraud as it relates to football matters , be reminded you were fraudulently inserted to the so called normalisation committee by  ( in funk tino )  and he gang  @ Fifa  ! Robert Hadad yuh brave oui !

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2020, 12:23:24 PM »

“They’re also circulating a letter from the TTFA, on a TTFA letterhead, and they’re not allowed to do that,” Hadad said. “That is fraud. You were removed, on March 17th, you were given a letter saying you were removed. You need to abide by that.

Well, Mr. Chairman, although it isn't ideal, it isn't fraudulent ... but it does go to the heart of the matter contended.

Everything in due season. Everyone in the country is on notice as to the state of play. Be still and do yuh best and lehwe see how the cookie crumbles, nah. Remember ah tell yuh everyday  won't be Carnival?
« Last Edit: April 28, 2020, 12:25:16 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2020, 11:23:37 AM »

“They’re also circulating a letter from the TTFA, on a TTFA letterhead, and they’re not allowed to do that,” Hadad said. “That is fraud. You were removed, on March 17th, you were given a letter saying you were removed. You need to abide by that.

Well, Mr. Chairman, although it isn't ideal, it isn't fraudulent ... but it does go to the heart of the matter contended.

Everything in due season. Everyone in the country is on notice as to the s
Who the hell This Robert Hadad think he is ? Robert Hadad you should be the last person using the term fraud as it relates to football matters , be reminded you were fraudulently inserted to the so called normalisation committee by  ( in funk tino )  and he gang  @ Fifa  ! Robert Hadad yuh brave oui !
tate of play. Be still and do yuh best and lehwe see how the cookie crumbles, nah. Remember ah tell yuh everyday  won't be Carnival?
So tings go sometimes,yuh right,he shouldn't be chatting bout fraud.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2020, 11:26:53 AM by frico »

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2020, 08:31:28 AM »
Hadad, TTFA technical staffs discuss strategies.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee Robert Hadad, in the first meeting with coaches assigned to the National Teams’ programmes outlined strategies that will reverse the fortunes of T&T football.

In a zoom video session on Wednesday night, Hadad, a businessman also discussed ways to resume all programmes, contracts and remuneration, given the limitations due to current coronavirus (COVID-19) restrictions.

In addressing the staff members, Hadad said: “This is a brand new time for all of us. I am not here to play the blame game. I am here to fix the game of football. I never had any idea that I would be here today. I want to sit with you all and really work out what it is we need to do to get the football to where it needs to go.”

He added: “What I can tell you is what I know very well is business, and my team and I will focus on how we get out from the debts we are in. And we have to get out of these debts so we can plan a way forward. Football is not in a lost place. It’s just in a disorganised, deranged place and we just need to get it back together.”

Technical Director Dion La Foucade, who chaired the meeting commended the members for utilising the past few weeks to connect to their players and fellow staff members for online learning and team meetings. And Hadad committed to holding further discussions with each team, specific to their respective programmes and scope of work and requirements. “We will meet on an individual team basis, on an individual group basis. We will be talking to all of you with respect to your individual contracts and we will spend time with each one of you. And we will talk of what we expect of each national team,” he said.

Hadad asked each member to maintain their mental and physical wellbeing during the current pandemic. “Preserve your physical and mental health as best as possible. We may have disagreements as we go along. But what I will tell you is that I am the person that will try my best, my team and myself, to find the right path so that we can move forward in a very positive manner.”

Among those who attended the meeting were: Terry Fenwick (senior men’s head coach) and his assistant coaches; Ryan Augustine and Chad Appoo (Beach Football coaches); Constantine Konstin (Futsal coach and his assistant coaches); Derek King (Under-20 head coach and his assistants); Richard Hood (Women’s U17 and 20 coach and his assistant coaches); Angus Eve (Men’s Under-17 coach and his assistants);

Jason Spence (Girls Under- U15s coach and his assistant coaches) Keith Jeffreys (Boys Under-15 coach and his assistants);

Kelvin Jack (National goalkeeping coach) and Yale Antoine (Administrative and technical support staff).

“I am please with how the meeting went. There is nothing that I want more than to see T&T football in a better place. The speed at which you saw the Home of Football opened is the speed at which you are going to see a football field get green again. And I am going to fight every day for more”, Hadad said.

Hadad who was appointed to the committee alongside banker Nigel Romano and Environmentalist Attorney Judy Daniel has since been in conflict with ousted president William Wallace and his vice presidents Clynt Taylor, Joseph Sam Phillips and Susan Joseph-Warrick, for the right to run the affairs of the sport after he and team were appointed by FIFA on March 27. Meanwhile, Wallace is maintaining that he’s still the president following the TTFA annual general meeting (AGM) election which he won on November 24 last year.

The ousted executive is pursuing justice through the Court of Arbitration for Sports (CAS) after the FIFA moved in on March 17 and appointed a normalisation committee due to a burdening debt of $50 million, coupled with an inability to show ways of managing the football association’s financial affairs.

« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2020, 07:42:07 AM »
NC rescues 3 T&T footballers stranded in El Salvador.
T&T Guardian Reports.

T&T Football Association (TTFA) led by the FIFA Normalization Committee (NC) sprung into action to assist three national footballers, who Guardian Media Sports reported on Thursday, were left stranded in El Salvador.

The NC, which is headed by businessman Robert Hadad and comprises attorney Judy Daniel and retired banker Nigel Romano, has teamed up with the Unicomer Group and the El Salvador Football Federation (FESFUT) to ensure that national footballers Jomal Williams, Jamal Jack and Jomoul Francois, currently stranded in El Salvador, are kept safe and healthy until they can make their way back to T&T in light of coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic restrictions.

The players, who have each represented the Soca Warriors senior team, were playing in El Salvador's Primera Division for the 2019/20 season but were facing increasing pressure to meet their daily demands after that country's government implemented lockdowns which forced the cancellation of the remainder of the season.

Defender Jack offered his genuine appreciation to all those involved in making the provisions possible.

“Mr Robert Hadad, a heartfelt thanks to you and your team for reaching out to us. We appreciate what you did for us,” said Jack. “I am sincerely grateful for the assistance.”

Jack and Francois joined El Salvadorian clubs Jocoro FC and Independiente FC San Vicente respectively in Januar while compatriot Williams signed for AD Isidro Metapan in July.

In March, the government of El Salvador declared a national quarantine in the fight against COVID-19 and has imposed strict measures to reduce the spread of the virus which has directly limited the footballers' movements and access to food and other supplies.

Managing Director of Unicomer (Trinidad) Ltd Clive Fletcher liaised with Unicomer Group Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Mario Siman to ensure that the players are now housed together and taken care of until T&T's borders are reopened.

The Unicomer Group operates in 27 countries from its headquarters in El Salvador and operates retail brands of the Unicomer Caribbean such as Courts, Courts Optical, Ashley Furniture HomeStore, RadioShack, Lucky Dollar and Servitech.

"TTFA would also like to acknowledge the tremendous assistance offered by Meybely Lopez and the president of the El Salvador Football Federation, and the player's clubs in making the arrangements possible," according to the football association's release.

"The TTFA will continue to communicate with the players to ensure that they are as comfortable as possible until they can return home. The players have expressed thanks to the Unicomer Group and the El Salvador Football Federation for their continued support."

Thank You from T&T trio based in El Salvador

RELATED NEWS

Hadad takes credit for helping stranded Jomal, Jamal and Jomoul; Wallace kept out of loop.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Jomal, Jamal and Jomoul are now under one roof in El Salvador. It might sound like the making of a sitcom but in fact it is one of multiple stories about the impact of Covid-19 on Trinidad and Tobago internationals across the globe.

In this case, 26-year-old Jomal Williams, 32-year-old Jamal Jack and 24-year-old Jomoul Francois were playing professionally in El Salvador’s Primera División, only to find themselves trapped abroad when travel restrictions hit. El Salvador’s football season was scrapped and they are unable to return to Trinidad.

Williams has 19 senior international caps for the Soca Warriors with two goals while Francois and Jack have three and two appearances for the Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Senior Team respectively.

A release from Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) media manager Shaun Fuentes claimed that the Fifa-appointed normalisation committee chairman Robert Hadad reached out to help. (The release was sent via email as the TTFA’s website is down due to non-payment since Hadad took charge).

“The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association led by the Fifa normalisation committee has worked with the Unicomer Group and the El Salvador Football Federation (FESFUT),” stated the release, “to ensure that Trinidad and Tobago footballers Jomal Williams, Jamal Jack and Jomoul Francois—currently stranded in El Salvador—are kept safe and healthy until they can make their way back to T&T in light of Covid-19 restrictions.”

Unicomer (Trinidad) Ltd, a group of companies which includes popular furniture store Courts, also got in on the act.

“Managing Director of Unicomer (Trinidad) Ltd, Clive Fletcher, liaised with Unicomer Group CEO Mario Siman to ensure that the players are now housed together and taken care of until T&T’s borders are re-opened,” stated the TTFA release. “TTFA would also like to acknowledge the tremendous assistance offered by Meybely Lopez and the president of the El Salvador Football Federation, and the players’ clubs in making the arrangements possible.

“TTFA will continue to communicate with the players to ensure that they are as comfortable as possible until their return and thanks the Unicomer Group and the El Salvador Football Federation for their continued support.”

Williams represents AD Isidro Metapán and lives in Santa Ana in west El Salvador while Jack’s employers, Jocoro FC, are based in the north eastern side of the country and Francois plays for Independiente FC in central El Salvador.

“Mr Hadad, a heartfelt thanks to you and your team for reaching out to us,” stated Jack, in the TTFA release. “We really appreciate what you did for us. I am sincerely grateful for the assistance.”

But what exactly did Hadad do? Wired868 asked the normalisation committee chairman for more details.

“The normalisation committee reached out to the El Salvador Football Federation to see what assistance could be made,” said Hadad, via a WhatsApp message. “And then Unicomer reached out and came on board to help and we all continued to work together with the players to get them into a more comfortable situation as quickly as possible.”

And what was the assistance?

Hadad did not give further details. However, one of the three players explained that Unicomer (Trinidad) reached out to an employee based in El Salvador, Meybely Lopez, who arranged to have Francois and Jack driven to Williams’ apartment in Santa Ana.

It was a four hour drive and the players are very grateful for the support. The curfew regulations in place in El Salvador meant that Francois and Jack were unable to even travel across the country.

There was no other relief provided to the players and none sought. Williams’ apartment is leased by his club and they are not about to turn him out. The Trinidadians believe they are well stocked with food for the moment.

Still, they are anxious to return home while Williams is nervous that his passport expires on 2 June.

As it turns out, the chain of events was as follows: El Salvador-based players reached out to Pro League chairman Brent Sancho; Sancho contacted Commissioner of Police Gary Griffith; Griffith passed information to Minister of National Security Stuart Young; and Young alerted normalisation committee chairman, Hadad.

Incidentally, TTFA president William Wallace also tried to assist the three players and contacted Young for help.

At just after midday on Friday, Wallace emailed Young in his capacity as Minister of National Security:

“Good afternoon Mr Minister, I hope all is well. I know that you are well aware with what is happening with the TTFA and the FIFA and the status of the elected officers. I am reaching out to you from as the elected president of the TTFA as well as on a humanitarian grounds to facilitating the return of three of our national players who are stuck in El Salvador and are pleading to return home.

“Could you please consider this request since these players went to ply their trade with the full blessings of the TTFA. Regards.”

At the time of Wallace’s email, the three footballers were still scattered across El Salvador. It is uncertain whether concrete plans were already in place to have them united.

Young, according to Wallace, did not respond to his communique. The TTFA president counted at least three emails sent to the national security minister since Fifa controversially sought to replace him with Hadad at the helm of the local football body. Young, who recognises Hadad as the de facto TTFA boss, has not responded to a single one.

Sancho, a former World Cup 2006 player, has also publicly thrown his support behind the normalisation committee.

The three players will accept help from wherever they can get it. Griffith sought to assure Williams that an expired passport is not catastrophic, as the Ministry of National Security can arrange an emergency order paper to get him home.

At present, the main issue is logistics. There are no direct flights from El Salvador to Trinidad. So, if the boys are to return on a commercial flight, they must first travel to another Central American country—in the midst of a global pandemic.

“I am trying to see how I can get them out of El Salvador,” Griffith told Wired868. “[This situation] was forwarded to the relevant authorities and I am liaising with Brent Sancho on it. There is no flight from there for Trinidad and we can’t charter a flight for just three persons. But we are working on a solution.

“Hopefully we will have them out of there long before his passport expires.”

« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 09:40:11 AM by Flex »

« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2020, 04:55:36 PM »
DJW don't advice me — Hadad.
By Walter Alibey (Guardian).

Robert Hadad, chairman of the FIFA-appointed Normalisation Committee has dismissed accusations that he has been taking advice from former T&T Football Association president David John-Williams during his management of the football association.

The claims were made during an interview with Ramesh Ramdhan, the football association general secretary on Monday, who accused Hadad of unfair treatment as he attempts to receive outstanding salaries from the normalisation committee for the past six months.

The former T&T and FIFA referee appears to have been the only member of the T&TFA administrative staff who is yet to receive his wages while the other staff members have been paid. Ramdhan said, apart from not paid his salaries, he did not get a reason for the delay.

Ramdhan has since threatened to write to the FIFA to inform them about the situation, as well as take legal action against Hadad, a director of the HADCO Group of Companies, and the normalisation committee, which also comprises former banker Nigel Romano and attorney Judy Daniel.

However, during an interview with Guardian Media Sports on Tuesday, Hadad, the chairman of the normalsiastion committee which is responsible for the governance of T&T football since March 27 with a mandate to: Run the TTFA'S daily affairs; to establish a debt repayment plan that is implementable by the TTFA, and to organise and conduct elections of a new TTFA Executive Committee for a four-year, has made it clear that he was not being taking advice from John-Williams but was conducting his investigation into the state of football in the country.

"I am speaking to David and William (former president William Wallace) because a lot of the decision they made when I am investigating I need to speak to them. I need to ask them questions on the Home of Football. David specifically, has a lot of questions to answer. So to say I am taking advice from him, that's not true."

The T&T football boss also responded to concerns by Ramdhan that he is not being paid, Haded responded by saying that he has to ensure that every claim is legal and legitimate. A concern that was raised by the Board of Directors of the T&TFA which did not approve the two-year contract that was arranged by then TTFA president William Wallace.

According to Hadad, Ramdhan is one of many asking for monies he believes is owed to him. Everybody who is owed money, has a legitimate claim and I am bombarded by a lot of people in the payables, so a lot of people have been asking about the money we owe them and he (Ramdhan) is one of them. We have to investigate the legality and legitimacy of every claim, and until I verify every one individually. So, coaches, we are in the process right now. Just like I said with the admin staff, we were in the process and we are in the process. But this is not an overnight process. It takes a while to verify it. You need to interview people one by one and unfortunately, even part of that interview process we have to go through the legitimacy of it."

Ramdhan said, "The United TTFA administration was also bombarded by people, but I am not in that category. I gave my service of self secretary for the performance of a duty, a constitutional duty, and I belong to the staff, I am the head of the secretariat. I have never bombarded you. In fact, I have never even asked about my salary."

« Last Edit: July 21, 2020, 05:01:38 PM by Flex »

« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2020, 05:30:44 AM »
First off,  that Guardian headline is a national tragedy.

Second, if you are not going to pay the man (Ramdhan) while paying others, at least have the perspicacity to glean that you should inform him of the adverse news, and any accompanying rationale for it,  prior to acting. To believe that he would  be permanently unaware of the payment of others is to be wallowing in ignorance. Then, of course,  there is the issue of basic courtesy. Also, from a net strategic viewpoint it undermines the confidence building that should be part of a normalization process. Not to mention, the underlying decision-making has added to the volatility of an already incendiary reality.

That stated, Ramdhan is learning that his ass was not tagged with immunity for being "helpful". 

« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2020, 12:41:07 AM »
‘This is ridiculous!’ Hood and Eve slam lack of communication as coaches remain sidelined.
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

On 29 April 2020, Fifa-appointed normalisation committee chairman Robert Hadad introduced himself to Trinidad and Tobago’s national football team coaches and promised to meet them shortly to discuss their existing contracts and owed remuneration.

Hadad, the co-CEO of family owned business HadCo Limited, assured coaches that he was introducing a professional approach to the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) and was only ever a phone call or text message away.

Four months later, Hadad is yet to fulfil his promise; and Trinidad and Tobago Men’s National Under-17 Team head coach and National Under-20 assistant coach Angus Eve said football staff feel totally neglected and disregarded.

“He said at [the April meeting] he would meet with coaches individually about the validity of their contracts, monies to be paid out and the way forward,” Eve told Wired868. “Since then we haven’t heard anything from Mr Hadad. I called his assistant, Amiel [Mohammed], between three weeks to a month ago to ascertain what is the status of that meeting that Mr Hadad said he would have with us and if we are going to have those meetings at all.

“Amiel said he would check and there has been no communication back to me since.”

Eve said requests for information from technical director Dion La Foucade and director of football Richard Piper also yielded nothing, with both men claiming to be in the dark.

At present, the normalisation committee does not have control over the TTFA’s bank account due to a legal conflict with besieged football president William Wallace. However, Hadad’s normalisation committee followed a precedent set by previous local football bosses in directing Concacaf to wire salaries straight to employees’s accounts.

Piper and La Foucade were both paid this way along with office staff. Inexplicably, unlike previous occasions when this has been done, Hadad has not ensured that coaches are paid—and he has offered no explanation about the snub.

“We are in a pandemic and no industry has suffered the way entertainers and footballers have struggled,” said Eve. “We are owed salaries and as far as I know the Fifa money is available—even if it isn’t here in Trinidad. Fifa even gave [the TTFA] an extra grant of US$500,000.

“I am very happy that the office staff got paid but we are employees of the TTFA also. So what about us?”

Trinidad and Tobago Women’s National Under-20 and Under-17 Team head coach Richard Hood agreed.

Last December, Hood became the first coach to begin training under the Wallace-led administration. He inherited a team that failed to get to the final four of the Caribbean Under-17 competition in 2018 and, in February, turned them into Concacaf Under-20 quarterfinalists—just 90 minutes away from a World Cup berth.

Hood and his staff have not received a cent for their efforts.

“We have not heard anything from the normalisation committee following the Zoom meeting we had so very long ago, when the chairman assured us that individual meetings would be arranged with individual staff,” said Hood. “What has become of that? We have worked extremely hard and I dare say, we have done well. But really that shouldn’t even be a consideration.

“The fact is that we have worked and we deserve to be rewarded for such work.”

Hadad, as always, did not respond to requests for comment from Wired868.

Trinidad and Tobago football, Eve said, deserves better than this. Trinidad and Tobago’s all-time most capped senior player in full international matches, Eve started all three games in his country’s debut in a Fifa tournament, the Portugal 1991 Fifa World Youth Championship, and wore ‘red, black and white’ in three senior World Cup qualifying series—including the successful 2006 campaign.

Since then, Eve has become a serial winner at Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) level as Naparima College head coach and is no slouch in the Pro League, where he leads Club Sando.

But, as a national coach, he feels let down.

“First, I want to say thank you to [technical committee chairman] Keith look Loy and William Wallace for giving me the opportunity to be a national coach again—because my record speaks for itself locally, yet I hadn’t been a national coach for nine years,” said Eve. “But I feel on both sides of the fence, I haven’t been communicated to. I respect Wallace a lot; but they went to court and they didn’t come and talk to the coaches, the zones, the football parents, etc, before they did so.

“The action they took affects all of us; and seeing that they brought us in as coaches, they should have at least communicated with us.

“And it is the same for ‘Rob’ [Hadad] who hasn’t had any communication with us at all—we only found out that other employees were being paid through the media. There is no communication from both sides of the fence to the stakeholders of football.”

Hood, the Police FC head coach/technical director, was especially miffed at the initial reason Hadad gave for their non-payment.

Hadad, on 29 April, told coaches that he needed time to review their contracts. Incidentally, La Foucade and Piper received contracts after Hood, yet were both paid.

“I think that it’s a bit ridiculous that after six months or so, the current administration cannot sort out the situation regarding coaches’ salaries, as it pertains to their contracts and what is owed,” said Hood. “Particularly in the case of [my] staff that obviously worked from December to the culmination of the Women’s Under-20 tournament. That cannot be disputed.

“If it is a case of verifying our terms of employment as has been reported, then I would think that a simple meeting could be arranged where we can supply a copy of our contracts. So of course I’m frustrated by the lack of communication as well.”

The normalisation committee’s mandate, by Fifa, is:

1. to run the TTFA’s daily affairs;

2. to establish a debt repayment plan that is implementable by the TTFA;

3. to review and amend the TTFA Statutes (and other regulations where necessary) and to ensure their compliance with the FIFA Statutes and requirements before duly submitting them for approval to the TTFA Congress;

4. to organise and to conduct elections of a new TTFA Executive Committee for a four-year mandate.

From all accounts, Hadad has failed miserably in each aspect.

Five months after his appointment, the normalisation committee—which also comprises of vice-chair Judy Daniel and Nigel Romano—is yet to meet the TTFA’s general membership while creditors are as frustrated as the football coaches over Hadad’s perceived disregard to their grievances.

Eve didn’t single out the businessman, though. He said the local game has receive sub-standard administration for much longer than the past six months.

“We need better governance and I would love somebody in football who has football at heart—regardless of what is going on with you personally, you must put the game first,” said Eve, who noted that gifted players like Kevin Molino and budding stars like Molik Jesse Khan are the ones who will suffer most. “I am thinking very seriously about running for this kind of [administrative] post because I don’t seem to be making the contribution that our local game needs as a coach.

“We in football need to talk to all stakeholders when we are making decisions because we are representing everybody. It cannot be that I am on top so I don’t have to tell you anything and I can just go about my business and do my thing. That is egotism.

“I hope we are mature enough as a society to understand what I am saying. I am not on either side of the fence. I am only pointing out how both sides can do better, so we can go forward.”

Look Loy disputed Eve’s claim that the TTFA abandoned its coaches, though—even though they are unable to pay them, since Fifa secretary general Fatma Samoura said they only recognise Hadad as head of the local game.

“For myself i created a whats app group with staff from all the different teams, not just coaches, and I have always updated them,” said Look Loy. “So even if it is an informal method of communication, I do communicate with the coaches and just today I spoke to two coaches.

“Of course it is in an unofficial capacity because it has never been explained what is the role of the technical committee under the normalisation committee, which is the only body that Fifa says it recognises.

“[…] I cannot talk for Wallace and I am not the president but I can safely say that I am in touch with coaches and other staff. So to say that nobody has spoken to them—I don’t know how else to respond that.”

Although Fifa announced the removal of the TTFA president and vice-presidents Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Sam Philip, the football body’s committees remain in place. However, Hadad has not communicated with Look Loy since he took up the reins on 27 March.

During that period, Men’s National Senior Team head coach Terry Fenwick held multiple training sessions. Otherwise, the local game appears to remain dormant and rudderless—Covid-19 restrictions notwithstanding.

Wired868 was unable to reach Wallace for comment.

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2020, 12:53:58 AM »
Why?  This eh no surprise that the terms of the appointed committee has not been bet-

He acting ' normal' li,e all the other TTFA  leaders before.
That is how we does role we doh need ah normalization committee - we done know how to  emulate FIFA's business -

One leader build and get her personal centre
Re for excellence- thanks FIFA

Another get - home of football- thanks FIFA -- ooops he dint have time to move in and another dog come take he bone now that dog fighting  he master .
Lead ent we Normal? :)

« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2020, 07:51:42 AM »
Hadad: It’s been problem after problem.
By Narissa Fraser (Newsday).

Head of TT Football Association (TTFA) normalisation committee Robert Hadad says it has been problem after problem since his appointment after FIFA threatened to ban T&T if the ousted executive does not obey its statutes. The world governing body of football issued its final warning on Wednesday.

On March 17, FIFA removed TTFA president William Wallace and his executive, who were elected in November 2019 and, instead, appointed a normalisation committee led by Hadad – a businessman – to run TTFA’s affairs.

Wallace and his executive appealed their removal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in Switzerland. The team later indicated it did not believe CAS would give it a “fair hearing.” So on May 18, they appealed to the local High Court.

Since then, the two bodies have been at loggerheads over which playing field their legal battle should kick off on. FIFA insists the matter can only and “must” be heard at CAS.

The most recent development was on August 12, when Justice Carol Gobin denied FIFA’s request to strike out the claim because its rules prevent member associations from starting proceedings against it in the local courts. FIFA has since appealed.

But in a letter to Hadad on Wednesday, FIFA reiterated the matter should be heard at CAS, adding that it is “very concerned regarding the decision of the claim and the argument used to dismiss FIFA’s application.

“In this context, we draw your attention to article 58 of the FIFA statutes which expressly contains the prohibition of recourse to ordinary courts of law unless specifically provided for.

“FIFA takes such a principle with utmost seriousness and therefore considers that it is the responsibility of its member associations to ensure that this principle is implemented...A failure to comply with this directive would result in the commencement of suspension proceedings via the relevant FIFA bodies.”.”

It said the ousted executive has until September 16 to withdraw its claim from the local High Court.

Speaking with Newsday on Wednesday afternoon, Hadad said, “I am trying to do a job of getting football back in good stead and (it has been) from one problem to the next...It is self-explanatory. FIFA is clear that all member associations must follow their statutes.”

He later issued a release, saying, “FIFA has been clear from the day of the appointment of the normalisation committee, and on several occasions since, that the committee alone has the mandate to run and manage the affairs of the TTFA. FIFA’s letter reaffirms this position.

“Members of the previous administration know very well that FIFA statutes require all FIFA member associations to manage disputes through CAS. And members of the previous administration also know very well the consequences for any member which disregards that key requirement for FIFA membership. Ultimately, our teams and their coaches and players, and of course our fans, are the most important thing for the future of football in our country.”

Calls to Wallace went unanswered, but Newsday understands he wrote to FIFA president Gianni Infantino on Wednesday.

The letter said, “Normalisation is a draconian and unfair act which seeks to undermine the independence of the TTFA and ride roughshod over the will of the electorate who voted for the United TTFA slate in November 2019. Added to this, the fact is, that in all the countries that were normalised, in all instances, it is clear that the incumbent executive was in breach of FIFA statutes or acted in a manner that justified FIFA’s intervention. In the case of TT, the two reasons |given by FIFA for their intervention clearly had nothing to do with the new executive.”

Wallace said his team remains “willing and ready to work with FIFA to resolve the outstanding issues” but normalisation should have never been an option.

“By refusing to work together with us, and by repeatedly refusing to engage in mediation as we have called not less than six times for FIFA to do, you run the risk of irreparably damaging football in TT.“FIFA cannot continue to ignore our calls to mediate an agreement between the TTFA and FIFA and maintain any moral authority. FIFA must recognize and work with the duly elected executive of the TTFA. Likewise, TTFA must recognize, and does, the need for financial assistance and guidance from FIFA in resolving TTFA’s current financial malaise.If you will not talk and if no agreement is reached, the TTFA is left with no choice but to continue on the path FIFA has forced us down through the courts.”

TTFA technical committee chairman Keith Look Loy said he preferred to comment after he chats with the team’s lawyers – Dr Emir Crowne, Matthew Gayle, Jason Jones and Crystal Paul – on Thursday.

Gayle told Newsday he found the latest development to be “regrettable,” adding that the letter was an “overt threat.”

Look Loy later sent Newsday a response to Hadad’s release, which was sent to the ousted executive as instructed by FIFA. He said, “Oh, he (saying he) cares about players and coaches. The day after they were locked out of the Ato Boldon Stadium, and after leaving them high and dry for five months.

“FIFA demonstrates it is prepared to throw him under the bus by charging him with getting the ‘former officers’ to drop the case.”

This story was originally published with the title "United TTFA gets September 16 deadline before FIFA ban" and has been adjusted to include additional details. See original post below.

The world governing body of football, FIFA, has issued a final warning to the ousted TT Football Association (TTFA) executive to obey its statutes. FIFA said failure to comply "would result in the commencement of suspension proceedings via the relevant FIFA bodies."

On March 17, FIFA removed TTFA president William Wallace and his executive, who were elected in November 2019, instead appointing a normalisation committee led by businessman Robert Hadad to run TTFA's affairs.

Wallace and his executive appealed their removal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS) in Switzerland. The team later indicated it did not believe CAS would give it a “fair hearing." Instead – on May 18 – they appealed to the local High Court.

Since then, the two bodies have been at loggerheads over which playing field their legal battle should kick off on. FIFA insists the matter can only and "must" be heard at CAS.

The most recent development was on August 12, when Justice Carol Gobin denied FIFA’s request to strike out the claim because its rules prevent member associations from starting proceedings against it in the local courts. FIFA has since appealed.

But in a letter to Hadad on Wednesday, FIFA reiterated the matter should be heard at CAS, adding that it is "very concerned regarding the decision of the claim and the argument used to dismiss FIFA's application.

"In this context, we draw your attention to article 58 of the FIFA statutes which expressly contains the prohibition of recourse to ordinary courts of law unless specifically provided for.

"FIFA takes such a principle with utmost seriousness and therefore considers that it is the responsibility of its member associations to ensure that this principle is implemented."

It said the ousted executive has until September 16 to withdraw its claim from the local High Court.

« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2020, 11:05:01 AM »
This guy is a joker

« Reply #16 on: August 27, 2020, 11:10:31 PM »
Hadad as I said before is a figurehead and was a recommendation from the govt

Djw is running the show from behind the curtain and has then govt support

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #17 on: September 02, 2020, 05:25:10 PM »
Hadad as I said before is a figurehead and was a recommendation from the govt

Djw is running the show from behind the curtain and has then govt support

Present the ocular proof until then making ludicrous assertions is just attempts at mudding the well.

« Reply #18 on: September 14, 2020, 01:00:37 AM »
Dear editor: Is Hadad fronting for DJW? Does toeing the line with Fifa really help our development?
Wired868.com.

“[…] The reality is most of our current footballers do not have a real future, as the standard of our football has dropped to an all time low.

“[…] Why are we overly concerned about a Fifa ban when there is much groundwork to be done to address the more pressing need of the viability and sustainability of professional football in T&T?”

The following Letter to the Editor on the impasse between the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association and Fifa was submitted to Wired868 by Louis Carrington:

It is clearly evident that there is more in the mortar than on the pestle. There are questions that need to be answered urgently if right-thinking persons are to respect the Fifa normalisation committee.

Firstly, one must ask who is Robert Hadad and how did he become the person Fifa would have selected to head the normalisation committee. The answer to this question would definitely help in connecting the dots in the otherwise uncertain map.

This is especially so given that Fifa’s original choice was the former finance manager under the previous administration, who might I add was already at the time subject to an investigation by the William Wallace administration as part of the dealing of the David John-Williams administration.

Secondly, Hadad in his capacity as normalisation head has suspended the general secretary of the TTFA for, as he stated, contracts entered into by the TTFA. Ironically though, the general secretary was the only administrator from the Wallace administration standing and possibly too much involved in the affairs of the TTFA.

It therefore begs the question; and Hadad should seek to clear the air as a matter of urgency, as it is not sufficient to blanket the issue by saying ‘contracts entered into by the TTFA’. There is need for specific references so as to clarify the nature and date of these said contracts.

Clearly, whatever is the agenda of Fifa, it is of such great importance that they are prepared to do whatever it takes to secure their position—even if in the eyes of the rational man, the dots do not connect and their approach is high-handed and draconian.

Is it that FIFA is complicit in its handling of matters of concern that it cannot afford to be aired publicly, hence the urgent need to ensure the following:

1. The removal of the duly elected executive by whatever means necessary.

2. That no one connected in anyway to the Wallace administration is in a position to report on the inner working of any cover up that may be in the making.

3. That Fifa is not subject public scrutiny in an open court.

4. That their anointed son continue to be in charge of football in T&T albeit in a clandestine manner.

To achieve these objectives, cloud the real issues with the threat of a ban of TTFA, which would have the effect of the sympathetic support from those who either have their own personal agenda or cannot be bothered to analyse the situation to ascertain what are the real issues.

To digress and address another issue that should in my view be a lot more important than Fifa’s proposed sanction: the Trinidad and Tobago Pro League, after many years, is still unable to market and sustain itself.

Many clubs have come and gone in the years, while others have barely survived. Survival being attributed to two main factors, which are the government subvention to clubs and/or clubs being in a negative position to its employees and creditors.

I raise this as an issue because I see it as having greater significance than asking the question of what will happen to aspiring footballers if a ban is imposed on TTFA. The reality is most of our current footballers do not have a real future, as the standard of our football has dropped to an all-time low.

As a people we have very short memories. In order for T&T to record a victory we were forced to engage Anguilla, the lowest ranked Fifa nation in 2019.

Currently, we do not produce footballers consistently capable of staking a claim on the international market. Our players who ply their trade overseas now do so in lands far afield with little or no historical tradition of being top football nations, or in the MLS and USA lower divisions.

Many see the MLS as below par and it is often termed as the ‘retirement league’. It therefore begs the question: why are we overly concerned about a Fifa ban when there is much groundwork to be done to address the more pressing need of the viability and sustainability of professional football in T&T?

If government was to remove its subvention to Pro League teams—and that could be a likely possibility in these times and in the future—how many of those teams would survive?

My people, wake up remove the proverbial yampee from your eyes and face the scene and unseen dragons head on.

Change only comes with commitment and sacrifice. To allow Fifa to continue to bully member associations and get unbridled support from those who see no further than their noses is to continue to toe the line.

Let’s demand answers. The beginning of lunacy is to do the same thing repeatedly and expect a different result.

« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2020, 01:03:48 AM »
Hadad: Let's pray for T&T's football
By Jonathan Ramnanansingh (Newsday).

CHAIRMAN of the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee Robert Hadad believes divine intervention may be the only solution to help save the TT Football Association (TTFA) from escaping possible sanctions from the sport’s global governing body.

Owing to the ongoing legal entanglement between FIFA and the ousted TTFA executive, Hadad, like many other local football enthusiasts, breathed a sigh of relief when there was no mention of the debacle by FIFA president Gianni Infantino during his address to Congress on Friday.

Since the removal of TTFA president William Wallace and his vice-presidents from the helm of the local fraternity, in March, after just three months in charge, the ejected administrators are contesting the legality of FIFA’s decision to dethrone the executive and install the Hadad-led committee to run its daily affairs.

According to FIFA, the decision to remove TTFA’s top-order was based on its “low financial management methods” and “massive debt.”

Wallace is the head of the United TTFA team that successfully challenged for leadership of the TTFA in November 2019. Its ousted members are Clynt Taylor, Susan Joseph-Warrick and Joseph Sam Phillip.

On September 14, Justice Carol Gobin, in the Port of Spain High Court, granted an injunction to the United TTFA to stop Tuesday’s proposed Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM), which was called by the normalisation committee to deal with United TTFA’s legal battle against FIFA.

FIFA, however, on August 26, gave the United TTFA a deadline of September 16 to withdraw their case from the TT High Court and have it heard at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), or face disciplinary action (either a ban or suspension) at Friday’s FIFA Congress.

When this matter was overlooked at Congress, a letter was sent out on the same day by FIFA secretary general Fatma Samoura to Hadad which gave T&T a final deadline of September 23 “to withdraw all types of claims against FIFA before the T&T courts and comply with the obligations under the FIFA statutes.

“Failure to comply with this directive within this revised deadline will result in the matter being brought to the attention of the relevant FIFA bodies to decide on the suspension of the TTFA (TT Football Association).”

On this most recent statement to the ousted executive by FIFA, Hadad kept his words short but called on TT’s football loyalists to lift the future of the sport in prayer as the possibility of suspension or expulsion still looms.

“I’m just happy we lived to fight another day,” he said after the legal matter was not discussed at Congress.

“Join me in saying some prayers for this country’s football. That’s all I could ask for anyone to do,” he added.

When pressed further for a comment on FIFA’s exclusion of the matter at Congress and future of T&T football, Hadad replied, “I don’t want to make any comment more because this is a court matter. I don’t really want to say anything at this point. Bear with me until we see what happens on Wednesday.”

United TTFA, however, has stood their ground against FIFA and remain undeterred by the new deadline date set by the governing body. According to United TTFA member, Keith Look Loy, the United TTFA has no intention of withdrawing its case from the local court even though they risk FIFA sanctions.

If the TT High Court rules in favour of Wallace’s regime and deems the installation of the normalisation committee illegal, thus confirming Wallace’s administration as legitimate leaders of TTFA, an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) will be held to deliberate the fraternity’s leadership moving forward.

This was revealed in a document issued by removed TTFA president Wallace, on Wednesday.

They remain confident of a legal victory but the statement also read, "Should United TTFA not withdraw its High Court case against FIFA, we expect the matter to be settled in October. If the High Court decides against TTFA, we here pledge that we shall drop the matter and not pursue any appeal.”

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2020, 08:56:14 AM »
Let's pray that figure heads and puppets of corruptive  elements at all levels be eradicated- let's pray for competence intelligence and visionary leaders

Let's pray for transparency - let's pray that FIFA would cease from brokering backdoor deals and provide a model of good governance.

Let's pray that what appears to be Normal  is free of an agenda reeking of
 Self indulgence

Yes and let's pray for those who are suffering and paying the price for all the bs- our players, our youths, our nation- once more let's pray from all forms of foreign domination.

« Reply #21 on: September 22, 2020, 02:51:21 AM »
I initially suspected naivete on his part, but it's pretty clear that ignorance and a callous disregard for the future of the game is a more fitting descriptor.

« Reply #22 on: September 30, 2020, 12:46:18 AM »
Hadad: I’m not in charge of football

THERE seems to be a level of indecision concerning who is entrusted with the role of running the affairs of local football.

On Tuesday, chairman of the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee Robert Hadad said “I’m not in charge” when asked about the situation regarding payment of salaries to the the TT technical staff members.

And ousted TTFA (TT Football Association) president William Wallace commented that the issue over who should conduct the affairs of the sport locally is before the High Court.

On Monday, the coaching steering committee, in a letter addressed to Wallace (who is the head of the United TTFA group that successfully contested the TTFA elections last November), said the normalisation committee (comprising Hadad, Judy Daniel and Nigel Romano) was unable to pay the coaches as FIFA has stopped its funding, in light of its suspension of the TTFA.

Last Thursday, FIFA suspended the TTFA in violation of FIFA statutes. The United TTFA was late in withdrawing its case against FIFA over its decision to remove the TTFA executive and install a normalisation committee in March.

Hadad, when contacted on Tuesday, said, “I have nothing to say to (anybody) about (any) topic.”

Pressed on the matter regarding the salaries for the technical staff members, Hadad remarked, “I have nothing to say. I’m not in charge of football. That’s for Wallace to do.”

He continued, “I have nothing to say for a long time. When this whole matter is resolved, then I might have a few things to say. At this time, talk to them.”

Asked if Hadad was ceding power to the United TTFA, Wallace laughed before responding, “All I can say is that it’s a matter before the court at the moment. But FIFA has been recognising (the normalisation committee) as the TTFA and FIFA has indicated that do not recognise me.

“Any funding that has to come to TT football has to come through him. At this point in time, I don’t know if that has changed, but that is the last thing I know, that is the TTFA as far as FIFA is concerned.”

Wallace pointed out, “I don’t know what’s going on at all. That is the matter that is before the court, to determine who’s in charge of local football. For the time being, the court seems to think the United TTFA are the people in charge but FIFA has a different view so that’s where we’re at.”

Asked if it’s just a virtual standstill, Wallace replied, “Yes.”

However, Wallace said, “(Hadad) was active and doing what he’s supposed to do. He was speaking to the coaches, he was getting money to pay staff, we never tried to stop anything. I never tried to stop the operations of the normalisation committee, except when they were going to call the (extraordinary general) meeting, which was illegal, because the court had a different opinion on that.”

Offline ABTrini

« Reply #23 on: September 30, 2020, 06:00:54 PM »
Hadad: I’m not in charge of football

THERE seems to be a level of indecision concerning who is entrusted with the role of running the affairs of local football.

On Tuesday, chairman of the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee Robert Hadad said “I’m not in charge” when asked about the situation regarding payment of salaries to the the TT technical staff members.

And ousted TTFA (TT Football Association) president William Wallace commented that the issue over who should conduct the affairs of the sport locally is before the High Court.

On Monday, the coaching steering committee, in a letter addressed to Wallace (who is the head of the United TTFA group that successfully contested the TTFA elections last November), said the normalisation committee (comprising Hadad, Judy Daniel and Nigel Romano) was unable to pay the coaches as FIFA has stopped its funding, in light of its suspension of the TTFA.

Last Thursday, FIFA suspended the TTFA in violation of FIFA statutes. The United TTFA was late in withdrawing its case against FIFA over its decision to remove the TTFA executive and install a normalisation committee in March.

Hadad, when contacted on Tuesday, said, “I have nothing to say to (anybody) about (any) topic.”

Pressed on the matter regarding the salaries for the technical staff members, Hadad remarked, “I have nothing to say. I’m not in charge of football. That’s for Wallace to do.”

He continued, “I have nothing to say for a long time. When this whole matter is resolved, then I might have a few things to say. At this time, talk to them.”

Asked if Hadad was ceding power to the United TTFA, Wallace laughed before responding, “All I can say is that it’s a matter before the court at the moment. But FIFA has been recognising (the normalisation committee) as the TTFA and FIFA has indicated that do not recognise me.

“Any funding that has to come to TT football has to come through him. At this point in time, I don’t know if that has changed, but that is the last thing I know, that is the TTFA as far as FIFA is concerned.”

Wallace pointed out, “I don’t know what’s going on at all. That is the matter that is before the court, to determine who’s in charge of local football. For the time being, the court seems to think the United TTFA are the people in charge but FIFA has a different view so that’s where we’re at.”

Asked if it’s just a virtual standstill, Wallace replied, “Yes.”

However, Wallace said, “(Hadad) was active and doing what he’s supposed to do. He was speaking to the coaches, he was getting money to pay staff, we never tried to stop anything. I never tried to stop the operations of the normalisation committee, except when they were going to call the (extraordinary general) meeting, which was illegal, because the court had a different opinion on that.”

Then who the fire truck is steering the ship? If he was given a mandate from FIFA should he not be dealing with the issues of contracts and the current mess?
 Is that not what a normalization committee is for? To restore some semblance of normalacy? Of isthis man another " puppet head"

« Reply #24 on: October 02, 2020, 01:53:53 AM »
It's a blistering admission from a man paid significantly more than Wallace to "run" TTFA football.

Will he be returning his FIFA salary?

« Reply #25 on: October 27, 2020, 04:07:18 AM »
Hadad waits on FIFA
By Jelani Beckles (T&T Newsday).

NORMALISATION committee chairman Robert Hadad has sent the TT Football Association (TTFA) membership letter, which states their willingness to accept the normalisation committee, to FIFA.

On Sunday, Richard Ferguson on behalf of the TTFA membership, sent the letter to Hadad.

On Monday, in a Whatsapp message to Newsday, Hadad said he forwarded the letter to FIFA. “Yes I have forwarded the request and waiting on a reply.”

On Monday, Hadad also responded to the TTFA membership letter, saying, “The normalisation committee will discuss these matters with FIFA and Concacaf.”

On Sunday, at an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM), the majority of the TTFA membership voted to accept the normalisation committee to run local football. In doing so, they hope to remove William Wallace and vice presidents Clynt Taylor and Sam Phillip (United TTFA) from office.

Since March, Wallace and his team have been in a battle against FIFA concerning the world football body’s decision to replace the United TTFA and appoint the normalisation committee.

At the EGM, a total of 33 members were in favour of accepting the normalisation committee, while two members decided not to vote.

Santa Rosa FC and a Tobago Football Association representative did not vote. Three delegates did not respond when called upon. The EGM was chaired by Ferguson.

It was the second defeat in three days for Wallace after the Court of Appeal overturned Justice Carol Gobin’s High Court decision which stated FIFA acted illegally in removing Wallace’s executive.

Ferguson, in the letter to Hadad, said the way forward is “for the TTFA to fully comply with its obligation as a member of FIFA, recognising the legitimacy of the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee, and bringing its own statutes in line with the FIFA statutes.”

The TTFA membership letter also gave their commitment “to fully cooperate with the normalisation committee in the fulfilment of its mandate as stated in FIFA’s letter of March 17, 2020” and “be it further resolved that all court matters existing between the TTFA and FIFA shall be immediately brought to a stop.”

The motion was tabled by Osmond Downer, one of the delegates of the TT Football Referees Association, and was seconded by Keith Jeffrey of Central FC.

The TTFA members also said they regret what transpired over the past year.

“Let me take this opportunity to humbly apologize to you, the other members of the normalisation committee, FIFA, Concacaf and CFU (Caribbean Football Union) for any embarrassment and inconvenience caused by TTFA representatives over the last year. I also hope that a strong positive relationship can be re-established as we move forward for the betterment of football in TT.”

After the EGM, Wallace told Newsday he expected the outcome of the meeting.

“There (are) no surprises. Basically this is what the membership has been saying,” he said.

Wallace said it will not be necessary for him to officially resign.

“The point about resignation may be very moot simply because once the normalisation committee is recognised and accepted, it means that there will be no need for a resignation. Once that occurs there will be no need to resign from anything because the normalisation committee would automatically replace the officer.”

RELATED NEWS

Hadad gets TTFA communication, waiting on go-ahead.
By Roger Seepersad (T&T Express).

Over to FIFA

Chairman of the FIFA appointed normalisation committee Robert Hadad has confirmed that he has officially been informed of the decision of the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) membership to recognise the legitimacy of the normalisation committee, however he is awaiting a response from FIFA as to the way forward for T&T football.

“I am still waiting on a reply from FIFA as to what is the next move. I have forwarded the letter from Mr (Richard) Ferguson and I am waiting on them (FIFA) to reply to me as to where we go from here,” Hadad told the Express yesterday.

He confirmed that he had received an official correspondence from the TTFA following an Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) held on Sunday.

“Once I have a better, clearer indication of where they (FIFA) want to go, I will let you all know,” he added.

Sunday’s EGM comprised 38 delegates and 16 observers during which Osmond Downer, who is a delegate of the T&T Football Referees Association, tabled a motion recognising the legitimacy of the Committee and bring to an end all court matters between the TTFA and the world governing body.

The motion was seconded by Keith Jeffery of Central FC and was endorsed by the membership with 33 delegates voting in favour of the motion. Two delegates abstained from voting while three did not respond when called upon.

Chairman of the EGM, Ferguson, in his letter to Hadad entitled “TTFA Letter of Acquiescence to FIFA Normalisation” stated the TTFA’s intention to comply with FIFA’s normalisation committee and also included an apology from the TTFA for any “embarrassment” caused by “TTFA representatives”.

“Based on the meeting, the TTFA must advise that its members have agreed to abide with the conditions of the Normalisation Committee and will co-operate fully to ensure that the mandate of the Committee is realised.

“In addition, let me take this opportunity to humbly apologise to you, the other members of the Normalisation Committee, FIFA, CONCACAF, and CFU for any embarrassment and inconvenience caused by the TTFA representatives over the last year,” Ferguson wrote.

“I also hope that a strong positive relationship can be re-established as we move forward for the betterment of football in Trinidad and Tobago,” the letter stated.

The normalisation committee was appointed in March just as the Covid-19 pandemic surged to all parts of the world.

Its mandate, according to the FIFA website, includes running the TTFA’s daily affairs, establishing a debt repayment plan that is implementable by the TTFA, reviewing and amending the TTFA statutes to ensure their compliance with FIFA statutes and to organise and conduct elections of a new TTFA executive committee for a four-year mandate.

According to FIFA, “the normalisation committee will act as an electoral committee, and none of its members will be eligible for any of the open positions in the TTFA elections under any circumstances.

The specified period of time during which the normalisation committee will perform its functions will expire as soon as it has fulfilled all of its assigned tasks, but no later than 24 months after its members have been officially appointed by FIFA.”

The TTFA was suspended by FIFA on September 24 after president William Wallace and his executive decided to challenge their removal from office by FIFA in the High Court.

« Last Edit: October 27, 2020, 04:09:33 AM by Flex »

« Reply #26 on: November 20, 2020, 05:48:20 PM »
WATCH: The news of the ban on local football being lifted has simultaneously lifted the spirits of the entire football community, with many looking forward to a brighter day for the sport locally.

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/iX2zYZ9U2wk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/iX2zYZ9U2wk</a>

Hadad: Long road to recovery for TTFA
« Reply #27 on: November 21, 2020, 10:09:43 AM »
Hadad: Long road to recovery for TTFA
T&T Express

Chairman of the Trinidad & Tobago Football Association (TTFA) normalisation committee, business executive Robert Hadad said it will be a long, arduous process to restore credibility and stability into the organisation and the sport in the two-island republic.

Hadad was speaking on Radio I95.5 FM, after World football’s governing body, FIFA announced on Thursday that T&T were free to return to international play, following the lifting of a suspension on the TTFA with immediate effect.

The end of the suspension followed the recent decision of the T&T Court of Appeal to reverse the ruling of High Court judge Carol Gobin that FIFA’s appointment of the normalisation committee was illegal, null and void, and of no effect.

Recognition of the authority of the normalisation committee by the membership of the TTFA was also another reason FIFA general secretary Fatma Samoura gave for the lifting of the suspension.

Hadad said he and other members of the normalisation committee were relieved that months of legal wrangling was now over, but they were now dealing with the reality of the magnitude of the work ahead of them.

“We are ready to work, but we are very concerned that there is a lot of work ahead of us,” he said. “There is relief, definitely, because we are very happy that T&T is back into football and we can start playing again. But the work now starts for us. We will surely follow our mandate (from FIFA).”

The TTFA was suspended this past September, after the executive committee at the time—led by William Wallace—took FIFA to court over its decision to appoint the normalisation committee to temporarily manage the sport in T&T. FIFA claimed that the TTFA, under Wallace’s leadership, “had engaged in various acts of serious mismanagement”.

At the time, FIFA said “such a situation is putting at risk the organisation and development of football in the country and corrective measures need to be applied urgently”.

Hadad said the work to restore credibility in the TTFA was divided into “four main buckets”.

“The first is to get the operations of the TTFA up and running again, getting the committees in place, taking a look at the league in T&T from grassroots to the professional league and what they will look like because it is no secret that some of them are all over the place,” he said

“We also have to get the national teams – male and female at all age groups – up and running again and ensure we have the right staff in place to coach and manage these teams.”

He added: “Another area is the past debt, which is a big area. We have to sit down and put some committees together to deal with that immediately.

“And the fourth area is the corporate governance. Thankfully, we have good support from CONCACAF and FIFA, so hopefully we will be able to get all of the governance issues rectified.” The TTFA suspension had put in jeopardy the Soca Warriors’ participation in men’s qualifying competitions for the 2021 CONCACAF Gold Cup and 2022 FIFA World Cup.

But Hadad said players had already started train again under the guidance of head coach Terry Fenwick and he expected things to be ramped up in the coming weeks.

“We are going to definitely have to sit down and have discussions around the current coaching staff and this has been said to them already about what they roles are, and we may have to tweak some and rearrange some, but I do not want to commit to what that would look like now,” he said.

“Terry Fenwick has done a great job of getting the men’s national team back out on the field last week and I see that they have been training. I want to the Commissioner of Police (Gary Griffith) and other staff of the TTFA they managed to get the players back out on the field.”

He continued: “We have also been in touch with the guys that are playing overseas…Many of them are fit and ready to go, and some of them are on their way back home now.

“Hopefully, Terry will be able to put together a team and they will train very hard and we will get up and running big time from next week—and we will be able take a look at who he wants to form the coaching team around him.”

« Reply #28 on: November 22, 2020, 07:56:50 AM »
Hadad says TTFA debt a huge task.
By Ian Prescott (T&T Express).

Salaries first

THE ISSUES of salaries owed to Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) administrative staff, coaches and players is among the first issues chairman Robert Hadad expects to confront, now that his FIFA-appointed normalisation committee has been given the green light to proceed following the lifting of an international suspension against the country on Thursday by football’s world governing body (FIFA).

Lifting of the suspension combined with the halting of recent court action against FIFA by William Wallace’s executive has given Hadad‘s committee space to work at addressing the huge debt facing the TTFA. Hadad’s comments came during an interview with regional cable TV broadcaster SportsMax.

“We believe that we have a good grasp of the financial situation at this time and we are starting to address all of the salary issues as our first priority,” said Hadad, “and I know it’s a big question in everybody’s mind.”

Hadad said it was a huge relief that FIFA’s suspension of T&T had been lifted in under two months and after months of conflict with the former TTFA executive.

Hadad said the normalisation committee now has to go to work at re-organising and tackling the TTFA’s huge $70m plus debt.

“It’s a big relief to get over all of the problems we have had to deal with in the past with the battle between the United TTFA and the TTFA and FIFA, and it’s a good place to be today that we don’t have any of that looming over us anymore,” Hadad declared.

“It’s great that everybody (is) celebrating that the suspension has been lifted in a very short time frame. However, it doesn’t take away the debt and the governance issues that we have to deal with,” Hadad announced.

He added: “We have to get the bank account back up and running. We have a lot of work to do.”

Hadad also disclosed that he had been in contact with men’s national team captain Khaleem Hyland and assured that he will also be tackling outstanding monies owed to the players as well.

“He is representing the players and they are very excited,” said Hadad. “We are going to work with them to get their payment to them and most importantly get them back training and fit as fast as possible.”

Hadad reinforced the fact that FIFA money can only be used for football development and not debt consolidation.

“We can’t use the money that we have now for football because we have to study current football. We have to get current football back up and running,” Hadad said.

Hadad also revealed that in short time, overseas pros such a Joevin and Alvin Jones and Kevin Molino will rejoin the national team in training under Englishman Terry Fenwick and that priority is being given to have the national teams back up and running.

“A lot of the national teams don’t have national coaches because their tenure expired in August. So, we have to look at all the different teams and see who has contracts,” Hadad said.

The local business tycoon is also hopeful that in short time FIFA will appoint the two additional members of the normalisation committee as promised because serious work has to begin in the restructuring of the TTFA.

“We are going to put a committee to deal with past debt and the negotiation of it probably will be headed by Mr (Nigel) Romano and the legal matters are to be headed by Judy Daniel. We are going to put different groups of people to deal with different things.”

“We have a huge debt to clear up and everybody has to be patient. But I think they should celebrate because I am going to be in contact with everybody and we are going to negotiate and discuss all their claims and come up with payment plans for everybody that they will be happy.”

Video - Hadad: Players And Coaches To Be Paid

« Reply #29 on: November 22, 2020, 11:36:52 AM »
Video - Hadad: Players And Coaches To Be Paid

Mis-management of WHICH past adminstration, Mr Hadad ? All ? most recent ? Till the dawn of Time ? or in the fullness of Time ?

What about most recent contracts ? As the representative of FIFA who removed the last admin for inadvertently making those contracts, you will now honor them without review ? So what was the problem with the last admin, if then the only issue was they blew a whistle on debt , if contracts are deemed ok to proceed as is ?

add: Personally I have no issue with the current coaching staff, I only have issue with the value of the new contracts. If the United TTFA was removed because of incorrect procedure in creating said contracts and inability to show proper reduction of debt that wasn't created by whomever, why not analyze, revise and repair all existing causes of debt and contracts ? It seems to me Normalization committee is in exactly same position the United TTFA was, just they (UT) was bullied out and lunch money taken. Unless I missed some of the above  process was already done. Anyway, I think I am.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2020, 11:54:16 AM by maxg »