March 28, 2024, 05:55:27 PM

Author Topic: Horse racing  (Read 2847 times)

Offline dtool

Horse racing
« on: June 11, 2020, 09:52:07 PM »
Need some help
I don’t have the answers to these questions
1) When was the last time that we had
     horse racing in POS
2)  What was the result in the last race of that
     meeting
3)  Same questions as above for
 Union Park

Thanks
Dtool

R the

question
2)   

t
E
when was the last time
Were
E
E

Re: Horse racing
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2020, 05:54:54 PM »
Breds, I wish I could have answer that for you. I left in Jan' 77. They were still running the horsies there. I maybe wrong, it could be 82 when the last time they raced in the QPS.

Offline dtool

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2020, 07:11:54 PM »
Thanks
Digging deep
Just remembered that POS had two
 months with racing June and December

« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2020, 10:07:29 PM »
Breds, imagine we used to have 4 race tracks. Now we could barely support one.

Offline dtool

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2020, 10:45:16 PM »
Some news
Two good books
1 Memories of the Turf - The history of horse racing
   In Trinidad and Tobago by John Cozier and Leonard Robertson
2 Under the Fiddlewood Tree
    Joe Hadeed - A life in Racing by Marlon Miller

Last race in POS - January 15th 1994 (166 yrs)

Arima (Old) Opening day was scheduled for August 27th 1960
but shifted to September 3rd 1960
First winner The Tutor  (Byron Clarke jockey)
Final race meeting on June 8th 1992

Tobago (54 yrs racing) Stands catch afire
 End October 12th 1984

Union Park Last race September 11th 1993
Van’s Dream (Ricky Jadoo - jockey) won
the final event

Checking on the opening day of the new Arima
meeting

Be SAFE

« Reply #5 on: June 16, 2020, 09:57:20 AM »
Breds, nice piece of info. I was not a die hard horseman, but I used to be in the QPS with meh cousins or friends. I used to go the cage and placed bets for my cousins. It was absolute friggin fun. The atmosphere on the north side of the track was teenagers' dream. Spinning wheel, darts, throwing money on the squares, pan rong the neck(Woodbrook) Modernaires. The best was when it rained. Upset for so!