This old dude is a DJW apologist or what? he needs to put blame where it rightfully belong. in this article he talks about defending dennis when dennis is the one overlooking good players to play the players that he likes, so when he gets flogged with the players he insists on, then who’s fault it is exactly?
as for the players, if Alvin don’t know by now that’s how trini players are, they get besides themselves and very swellheaded with the littlest of success.
I get the impression, only your opinion and analysis matters. Anyway, although I don't agree with everything Alvin Corneal writes, have some respect even if he is an 'old dude'. He has played, coached and involved in more National football than most of us will ever experience in our lifetime. We tend to not give credence and disregard our past heroes and representatives while they are alive.
Read, assimilate, agree or disagree but shouldn't be necessary to denigrate. We all get the(and your) DL point. I think Alvin just expressing an opinion, no one can know for sure what will be the correct answer.
God can pick our best players and Jesus coach the team, and look how as man, he get crucify- doh I not really a bible kinda guy- yet so many still believe and follow.
Btw, what's YOUR plan ? Yes, Fire DL, replace DJW, revamp TTFA. Then we sure to win the next 5 of 10 ? I don't really think so nah. In your plan, include your coach suggestion, how you gonna pay him, players you select - hoping your coach selects the same players - and their incentives to them, given the situation we are in today, future program and technical development, financing, and finally time-frame for future successes. If we have a new coach today, would the your best team win the next 3 games ? If so, throw yuh candidacy hat in the ring, man. I sure you will get a ton of support with those guarantees you promise.
oh did I smash your corn? I take it you must be a senior citizen, well get this, it’s our elders ( hope it’s appropriate enough for you) who have us in this quagmire and they’re quite happy with the outcome from sports to quality of life in trinidad, and I see no one apologizing.
this is why we remain the boo boys of concacaf. we are quite happy with underachievement and mediocrity is our comfort zone. most rated teams in concacaf including El Salvador knows that when they’re coming to trinidad to play a home and away leg it’s easy points in the bag guaranteed, we are a low hanging tree and everyone knows that. they don’t feel that way going to Jamaica or haiti even though we have way more resources and facilities at our disposal to be a much better footballing nation than those two, yet we still suck at the technical and administrative level.
the USA lost a few games in the hex and missed out on the World Cup and their federation president handed in his resignation despite winning the gold cup countless times and going to the World Cup every time since 1990 and at our expense. for the past 25 years mexico has changed coaches for every world cup despite the success of those coaches by winning the gold cup and taking them to a world cup, is it any mystery why we struggle just to get a draw against these teams?
it’s poor thinking like mr corneal’s that have us hamstrung as a nation in totality, be it sports quality of life education economics technology infrastructure politics. the people who are in charge in this country and those who are appointed to high positions are only there as a means to an end. but please don’t take my word for it.
we went to a world cup for the first time and after the taste of success you would think that we would build on it, but jack warner had other plans. in his mind going to the world was a way of getting even richer in spite of setting our football back 20 years, and only for the good of his own pockets.
Raymond timkee was doing a decent job of getting our football out of the doldrums, yet it wasn’t even 4 years when our football fraternity decided he wasn’t working fast enough for them, as somehow we were entitled to more success than we were experiencing so they put DJW in the drivers seat, and this appointment proved disastrous as he took football back another 10 years. same could be said for politics and other areas of our existence. we are so prone to poor thinking.
pat manning had us on a treadmill to development but mrs persad bissessar had other ideas, she interrupted that progress under the pretext that she could do way better just like DJW, but it was only a means to an end, her intent was to steal and make her friends wealthier while destroying the good work that was put in place by the previous administration.
so please sir, not because I don’t live in trinidad means I don’t know the mentality of the people or what’s taking place there. I am there a few times a year and those people are not patriotic and could care less about that country. everyone is out for themselves or on the take and no one cares about service to nation, instead everyone is looking for handouts or a way to beat the system, in fact it’s quite sickening to behold.
it’s true that mr corneal has been in football for a very long time and has made his contribution, and he should be commended for his long standing service (point taken), but so did mr Sunil gulliati and el paco hernandez, but that didn’t stop their people from making plain how they felt about them? and i think I’m entitled to say what I feel about Alvin corneal without being made to feel like I’ve commited treason.